UMW Toyota hikes prices from January 1, 2016 – all models in Malaysia affected, up by as much as RM9.6k

Toyota-2016-Prices

New prices for all UMW Toyota models in Malaysia, effective January 1, 2016 have been announced. As you can see in our table above, all models and variants (except for the Camry Hybrid) see an increase, ranging from RM3,170 to RM9,598. We’ve also included the official price lists of all models below.

The Vios range, for instance, goes up by 3.2% to 4.3%, while the Hilux line-up suffered the most, up between 5.8% to 8.6%. Only variant left unchanged is the Camry Hybrid, which retains its pricing into 2016.

Back in October 2015, UMW Toyota announced that its prices would go up come the new year, citing the sharp depreciation of the Malaysian ringgit against the US dollar. It was mentioned then that the hikes would be between 4% to 16%. Thankfully, however, the biggest increase now stands at 8.6%.

It’s also worth mentioning that the Toyota Alphard MPV has disappeared from the UMW Toyota website. Is this a sign that the new third-generation model will be introduced here soon?

Other than Toyota, new 2016 prices for three other makes have been unveiled so far – check out Honda, Peugeot and Kia.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Najib Razak on Jan 01, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Big thank you to Najib and team

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 9
    • 120k Car but no VSC? on Jan 01, 2016 at 5:58 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 215 Thumb down 553
      • Same L0rrrr on Jan 01, 2016 at 6:13 pm

For those of you who cannot afford this luxury car, please consider low end kimchi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 404 Thumb down 213
        • Anti CO2 on Jan 01, 2016 at 9:56 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 254
          • karam singh on Jan 02, 2016 at 1:54 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 100 Thumb down 253
          • Ah Beng TRD Vios godcar on Jan 02, 2016 at 2:00 am

I am glad they upgraded the vios TRD to luxury class segment with the new pricing..it is a magnificent piece of monster on the road!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 34
          • Songlap Songlap Malaysia 2016 on Jan 02, 2016 at 10:32 am

One man can songlap RM2.6 billion is just one news we know. What about the other times he songlap that we don’t know about? I think it runs to hundreds of billions.

Taib songlap US$20 billion (RM85 billion) also nothing happen to him. Infact he was rewarded for his songlap and made Governor and given Tunship.

What about the songlaps by the other Menteri and Government officials?

It all runs to hundreds of billions per annum the Songlap.

This is why we get low spec lousy cars with super high prices and prices are ever increasing. Our guardians are more interested in Songlap than fighting for the rakyat to get good and safe cars that are also reasonably priced.

Even more so when the Guardians (government) themselves own 90% of all car companies in Malaysia. Government themselves own all car companies in Malaysia, so, it is the Government that is the culprit screwing the rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
          • Where is Najib's Promise?? on Jan 02, 2016 at 10:41 am

The question we must be asking is, where is Najib’s promise?

Where is Najib’s promise? Najib promised 30 million people 2 years ago before the election that he would reduce car prices by 30 percent.

He said the 30 million people need not worry because BN always kept their word and never mungkir janji. He said if people voted for BN, he was 100% sure to reduce car prices by 30 percent.

Najib, in his speech told people that BN knew how much people suffered paying for their cars and he felt very sorry for the people, thus, he was sure to reduce car prices by 30%.

It is a well know fact, that we Malaysians are paying 3x the global prices of cars. And double whammy, not only we pay 3x the global prices of cars, our cars are stripped down so bad, it hardly lacks any safety features. Even our top D segment cars each have about 20 less safety features than the same car costing 3 times less overseas. For example, a 10 airbag Toyota Camry CBU in the US cost US$22,000. In Malaysia, this cost RM180k. And loads of safety spec taken out. For example Tyre Pressure Monitoring System and many others. Camry Hybrid in the US is US26,000. Come to Malaysia, should be tax free. CKD it using Malaysian parts should be even cheaper. But here sell RM175k

Now, what happened Najib? Where is your promise?

Najib also said that by 2020, we would become high income nation. He said our GDP per Capita would be US$48,000. That would mean, per month, the average Malaysian would be earning US$4000 (RM17,000) per month.

Raja Nazrin, Sultan of Perak said this was pure lies. He said it is an utter lie because 78% all EPF contributors are earning RM1200 and below.

Do you see the average Malaysian earning RM17k per month by 2020?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 5
          • DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2016 at 12:58 am

Najib promised a lot of things. But he couldn’t control the fall of global oil prices. He couldn’t control the fall of Malaysian economy due to shitty UMNO/BN policies for the past 30 years. Pakatan couldn’t have done any better because you can’t change a deeply-ingrained system within a few short years.

We pay high prices for cars due to numerous factors. But if you’ve worked abroad before, you’ll know that the low price of cars came with other caveats. The price of fuel is 3-4 times what it is in Malaysia, for instance. The price of the spare parts and the cost of repairs & servicing are also much higher. In terms of total cost of ownership, although cars in Malaysia could cost 2-3 times higher than the equivalent car in the US, in terms of TCO, cars in Malaysia are only around 20-30% more expensive over a 5-7 year period. Even if Proton did not exist, there will still be taxes on imported goods, such as cars and sales taxes for CKD packs. There’s no such thing as there being no taxes if we don’t manufacture the stuff locally.

Najib/BN/UMNO promised to make Malaysia a “developed nation” with “high income” by 2020. Even if our economy miraculously improves by 20 times and everyone earns RM20k per month, do you think Malaysians will suddenly be polite drivers? Do you think Malaysians will be less racist? Being a developed nation isn’t just about the economy and GDP. Are the people doing their part to make M’sia a developed nation? The government does not make the country. The citizens do. And Malaysians are definitely not qualified to be denizens of a developed nation.

What about high income? Do we think that by some act of miracle, we can be doing the same thing we’re doing today, and our incomes are higher? What would make our incomes higher? Why would we suddenly get higher pay? Hardly anyone talks about this, but expect to be richer if we’re a “developed nation”.

Is our productivity increasing? Are we moving away from commodities and focusing on services and intellectual property? Are we moving towards high-margin tech industries and giving up on high-volume low-margin manufacturing? What are we doing with ourselves to ensure we get onto the high-income bandwagon.

Again, nobody knows.

Idiots just mouth off about what politicians promise vs. the reality on the ground today and in the next few years, but not doing anything to make it happen. Idiots who bitch and whine about unfulfilled political promises are as much a part of the problem as underperforming politicians that give empty rhetoric. Combine both of these, and what do you get? A third world country.

And that’s basically what Malaysia is, and will continue to be, for the next few decades.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 45
          • TQ BN Cybertrooper on Jan 03, 2016 at 10:19 am

Poor Donkey aka BN Cybertrooper. Trying to pretend to be neutral but actually a paid BN Cybertrooper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 9
          • Real Idiot on Jan 03, 2016 at 10:32 am

A real idiot is a person who accepts taik thrown onto their face and sits and do nothing in life

• Mat Matlan on Jan 01, 2016 at 10:39 pm

Kesian my Toyota salesman friend, Sam Loo. Even harder now to sell more than 2 sushi cars per month. #2kerja

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 40
          • Toyota Moving Coffin on Jan 02, 2016 at 10:39 am

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 202
          • The Life of an UMW Director on Jan 02, 2016 at 3:57 pm

When is the UMW directors going to take a pay cut instead of passing the buck to the rakyat?

15 years they enjoy good pay plus very high bonus.

First year ringgit jatuh, they are quick to raise prices.

Go and see who the UMW directors are. All UMNO goons. UMNO cheats their own bangsa also they cannot even see it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
          • Joker on Jan 02, 2016 at 10:02 pm

How much is UMW director earn? Are u sure a lot? Pls share how much?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • Kimchi ftw on Jan 02, 2016 at 2:54 am

hahaha luxury car with 2 airbags and outdated safety system

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
          • Mana Monyet Berbaju Merah? on Jan 02, 2016 at 10:51 am

Woi Monyet baju Merah, tak buat joget dan silat lagi depan UMW ke?

Atau masih jilat bola Najib?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
          • Ketuanan Rules on Jan 02, 2016 at 3:45 pm

the problem with Malaysia is that the ketuanan make so much of noise about stupid things. Want respect la, want separate trolleys la, want certain types of rooftops la etc.

So much of energy is spent on bodoh issues and not on forcing Najib to keep his promise to reduce car prices.

I blame these bodohs. They spend too much time on nonsense until real world issues don’t know how to handle

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 10
          • Terima kasih UMNO on Jan 02, 2016 at 4:02 pm

Now the monyet is speechless. Government told them, if they cannot afford, to work 2 or 3 jobs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
        • Stupid Msian Cars on Jan 02, 2016 at 9:16 am

FYI, this is not a luxury car. This is supposed to be everybody’s car. But the stupid system we have in this country make all this everyday everybody’s car into luxury cars. Its pure madness to be paying for something that’s supposed to be cheap at the price Malaysian that’s ballooned sky high. Go Google the meaning of LUXURY and gain more automobile knowledge globally and stop talking and thinking like a juara kampong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
          • Terima kasih UMNO on Jan 02, 2016 at 4:00 pm

Now, where all the UMNO members are hiding their face? Ooops, they don’t care, they already got billions in contracts.

It is the small ikan bilis who suffer and is told to do 2 or 3 jobs to survive.

In overseas, a B segment car like Vios, can be bought straight without loan by even the guy who wash toilet or work in McDonalds. He just have to say about 5 months pay, and pay for his B seg outright without loans.

• Same L0rrrr (Orig) on Jan 02, 2016 at 11:58 am

You fake Same L0rrrr shut up! Stupid boss from UMW keep on increase price for Toyota! I need to consider to move to Honda oledi!!

• Ketuanan Rules on Jan 02, 2016 at 3:47 pm

Now see which is more important? Suffer and pay high car prices or make so much of noise about houses with certain types of rooftops that is offensive?

• The Life of an UMW Director on Jan 02, 2016 at 3:53 pm

Do you know UMW Directors have been taking home more than 12 months bonus every year for the past 15 years?

Most of the directors earn tens of millions per annum (just on director fees and bonus). I put that in figures for your…..say RM20 million per year. Free Camry and free petrol as company car. Unlimited entertainment allowance (ie makan anywhere for free ie hotels everyday). Each time makan, even RM500 for 2 people considered very normal.

Most of the directors all bring their families and kids makan in posh posh restaurants also and yet claim under entertainment allowance. This happens everyday. Being a GLC, they never question, janji got receipt.

And then, the bodoh Malaysians, pay through their nose to buy a bogus car with ZERO SAFETY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
          • DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2016 at 1:07 am

UMW is a conglomerate with many business units. While the other business units are making lots of money courtesy of getting sub-contracts in the major mega-projects of the last few years, their UMW-Toyota division is not looking as rosy.

Obviously, their solution is the typical brainless Asian approach – let’s raise prices and milk those gullible brand-worshipers. If there was no demand for Toyotas, they wouldn’t dare do such a thing. But thanks to continuous worship by die-hard Toyota supporters, UMW-Toyota is able to pull this off and still thumb their noses at their competitors.

From these comments, there are many who are pissed with UMW and won’t buy a Toyota.

But for every anti-Toyota ranter here, there’s at least 50-100 more uninformed people out there who’d willingly plonk down their hard-earned cash for a Vios or Hilux without much thought. That’s the demographic that UMW-Toyota targets, not the educated well-informed segment. Make no mistake, that segment is pretty huge.

Unlike Honda, UMW-Toyota is just one of the many business units of UMW as a whole. Do you think they’d bother if they lose the number one spot to Honda for a while when they’ve got other more lucrative gravy trains running?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
          • TQ BN Cybertrooper on Jan 03, 2016 at 10:21 am

Poor BN Cybertrooper. Trying so hard to give a neutral picture. I hear Bn Cybertroopers are paid RM10k just to sit in cafes and write good stories on country

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
        • fanofthisite on Jan 03, 2016 at 2:44 am

try be a bit objective and not take it so personally

• Angah on Jan 01, 2016 at 6:49 pm

Hold our purchases, maintain our current rides or by second hand and not from AP kings. We customers should be the one dictate the price…

When the buying stop, the killing can top…
      If we work together, we can win this..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 183 Thumb down 1
      • Albert on Jan 01, 2016 at 8:45 pm

Angah, OMG…..Vios Sportivo at Rm 97K…3K short of the rm100K mark.
        In Kangaroo Land,you can get a Honda Civic top specs with this amount of money.
        MALAYSIANS must be very naive to pay such HIGH price for a 1.5 litre car.
        NO NEED BUY NEW CARS ANYMORE. Go for 2-5 years old preowned cars.Plenty of choices from Mudah,carlies etc websites.
        Just like shark fins,the KILLING will stop once the buying stops.
        BOYCOTT overpriced cars,until their sales drop and they give discounts.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 1
        • Crony Crony Malaysia on Jan 02, 2016 at 10:42 am

If the Government really cares, they won’t raise prices. ALL car companies in Malaysia are fully owned by various Government GLC, EPF, Khazanah, PNB etc.

Honda is owned by DRB which is fully Government GLC crony.

Toyota is owned by UMW. Fully Government crony and GLC

Mitsubishi also another gomen crony GLC

Hyundai, Ford and BMW also owned by Gomen (Sime Darby) GLC.

Government forget when ringgit was strong they never reduced car prices. But ringgit weak they increase the car prices pulak????

How come???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
          • DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2016 at 1:11 am

Mamak shop syndrome. Harga minyak naik 10 sen per liter, harga teh tarik naik 20 sen segelas. Harga minyak turun 10 sen per liter, harga teh tarik tak turun-turun. Harga minyak naik balik 10 sen per liter, harga teh tarik melambung lagi.

This is what happens in shitty third-world low-mentality countries with lowly-educated and unethical populations, from the bottom level all the way to the top, across all races and political divides.

• alldisc on Jan 03, 2016 at 8:32 am

Sime Darby auto Bavaria is no more distributor but only dealer status. BMW Malaysia is the one handling import, planning and marketing etc.

Same goes to mercedez Malaysia and, VW group Malaysia (VGM). Tan CHONG is perhaps independent doing Nissan, subaru and Renault.

Mazda is owned by Berjaya group, not GLC but a big crony. The big list

Alfa – sime darby GLC
            Audi – drb GLC… Waiting for Germans to come in
            BMW – BMW Malaysia. Independent
            Citroen – naza. U know I know who
            Chevrolet – naza.
            Ford – sime Darby
            Ferrari – naza
            Honda – drb. Waiting for Japanese to come. Already they had, taking charge of sales marketing and planning. Drb did not want to sell hrv but Japanese team say we must sell hrv. Look at the success now.
            Hyundai – sime Darby
            KIA – naza
            Land rover – sime Darby
            Jaguar – sisma (once a big umno crony)
            Lexus – UMW PNB
            Maserati – naza
            Mazda – berjaya group
            Mercedez Benz – MBM
            Mitsubishi – drb
            Nissan – tan chong
            Perodua – UMW PNB
            Proton – drb
            Porsche – sime Darby
            Renault – tan chong
            Suzuki – drb
            Subaru – tan CHONG
            Toyota – UMW PNB
            VW – VGM
            Volvo – anyone knows?

• TQ BN Cybertrooper on Jan 03, 2016 at 10:24 am

BN Cybertroppers will blame the world for complaining. Cause they are getting free RM10k to do easy job. Sit at home goyang kaki and write on good things BN is doing

• Albert on Jan 01, 2016 at 8:52 pm

The Camry G and Hybrid specs,difference is only 10K now.
        Might as well get the Hybrid.How come no increase in Hybrid pricing? You mean they buy in Ruppiah,not Us Dollars or yen? Or their gross profit is too high until they dont mind absorbing a little increase.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 3
        • Crony Crony Malaysia on Jan 02, 2016 at 10:44 am

Sampai hari ini pun anda dikelentong dan diperdaya. Harga kereta dunia sangat murah lah brader. Masuk Malaysia, jadi 3x ganda harga kereta dunia.

2015 year, LHDN/KDRM will collect the record highest ever tax revenue in the history of Malaysia since 60 years of independence.

Just on GST alone, Government has collect RM50 billion in tax. Not even included income tax, corporate tax, Petronas Private UMNO Free Money Bank, EPF, Khazanah, Ministry of Finance Inc investments etc.

In total, because of GST government is projected to collect record and yet, they hantam Malaysians with super high car prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
        • abukik on Jan 02, 2016 at 10:48 am

Everything is internally under control by themselves.

• Malaysians are Rape Victims on Jan 02, 2016 at 10:48 am

2015, LHDN/KDRM collected the record highest ever tax revenue in the history of Malaysia since 60 years of independence.

Just on GST alone, Government has collect RM50 billion in tax in just 3 months. Total for 2015 is over RM100 billion. Not even included income tax, corporate tax, Petronas Private UMNO Free Money Bank, EPF, Khazanah, Ministry of Finance Inc investments etc.

In total, because of GST government is projected to collect record and yet, they hantam Malaysians with super high car prices.

• BodoSombong on Jan 01, 2016 at 7:45 pm

UMW Toyota & Najib men. The higher they go, the harder they fall.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • OMG…good job UMW Toyota…let see ur sales drop like HELL…puihhh …Buy Mazda better , i heard no price increased.

• Wow UMW havent learnt from their lesson being lost of sales to Honda especially in passenger vehicle. Prepare to suffer more lost of sales to Honda with such SIGNIFICANT increase in price. Worst among all car manufacturers

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 2
    • To them..no money dun come c toyol car..who cares lose sales to H…still many shai in msia will buy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
      • Kimchi ftw on Jan 01, 2016 at 5:04 pm

full spec tin kosong vios for 97k ?? Seriously ?? With those lousy spec, I would rather go for City, Cerato, or Elantra.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 7
        • dugongx on Jan 02, 2016 at 4:57 pm

Even HRV is only RM4k more than dino vios but it is a 1.8 liter and much bigger too. Those TRD buyers are really illiterate.

• HR-V is like Toad inspired design.
            how to compare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
          • Jeez Stupiak on Jan 03, 2016 at 4:41 pm

Vios is like taik. how to compare?

• alldisc on Jan 03, 2016 at 8:37 am

Let’s say on average Toyota net profit per car is 10k. Multiply by 80k units sold this year.
        They already earning 800 mil ringgit.

Who cares.

• Still kosong on Jan 01, 2016 at 11:27 pm

The best selling Hilux gets the biggest increase? If the Vios, Altis or Camry is still the best seller in their segments, you can bet the price increases will be more than this. That tells all about the greedy UMW, really.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • I told already Toyota very greedy with 200% profit margin after G tax.

• alldisc on Jan 03, 2016 at 8:46 am

It seems u don’t really know how the industry works…. We can say CKD pack for vios perhaps is just 5k in costs……….. But assembly is expensive because the jigs alone cost millions of ringgit. Let’s make it 10k on average per vios……. Add 10k costs of operation, marketing, parts and warranty……now 25k. Then there’s the 75% excise duty. That means add another 15k…… Already 40k. ……. UMW and dealer sharing profit is 20k. Plus buffer 5k for discounts. Now already 65k. Add 6% get and voila… U get a vios J.

• Altis Up Rm7k??? on Jan 01, 2016 at 4:11 pm

Already not selling well. Now they raise rm7k?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • DPCraft on Jan 01, 2016 at 4:13 pm

Just when you though Honda City is too expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
    • City is not expensive.. but is it worth the long term ownership after the sluggish soft CVT problem is spreading?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 20
  • Aero (Member) on Jan 01, 2016 at 4:16 pm

UMWT and ASSB have to sort out their value and supply chains. HMSB’s price hike is not as severe (no more than 3% for all models). Why is UMWT’s price hike so extreme ?

I’m guessing that UMWT’s CKD models have lower local content than the City and Accord. In other words, UMWT imports more parts and components from other ASEAN members and many trade in USD. I don’t know if this is 100% true, but it’s my best guess.

Or worse, UMWT is using the ringgit depreciation to increase their profit margins. We’ll never know for sure, there is no transparency at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 5
    • Albert on Jan 01, 2016 at 8:59 pm

Aero,you dont seem to understand who owns UMW.PNB wants record profits .They are declaring 6-8 percent dividends,lately.Banks give a paltry 3 percent interest.
      Dude,UMW,Perodua ….all got massive duties…to send record profits back to HQ.You got it?
      Thats why our Toyota dIStributor is only interested in MAXIMUM PROFITS,PROFITS,PROFITS…..iMMORAL AND SHAMBOLIC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 01, 2016 at 10:07 pm

Toyota CKD models have imported content from Thailand and local content from Malaysia. The main contributors to the increase in Toyota prices in Malaysia are two-fold:

1. The greed of UMW that’s already selling under-spec’d cars for inflated prices. Case in point – Vios and Altis.

2. Dumb buyers who don’t know better, and are gladly fueling UMW’s greed

But hey, at the end of the day, it’s a free market. Why bother bashing. If we don’t like it, we just don’t buy it. Simple as that. There are many others out there who are none the wiser who keep buying Vios, Altis, Camry, etc. so it’s their choice. If we’re better informed, we can always choose something else. No one’s forcing us to give money to UMW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
      • Mana Monyet Berbaju Merah? on Jan 02, 2016 at 10:52 am

once pro BN, now don’t know what to say??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
        • DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2016 at 12:46 am

Perfect display of third-world uneducated mentality. Criticizing Pakatan hypocrites = Pro BN. With such low intellect, I guess you know why you’re a bottom-feeding wage slave with a dead-end job?

Car prices going up and ringgit value depreciating has nothing to do with the government at the present moment. Even if Malaysia was being ruled by Pakatan, the same things will happen. If you don’t understand why this statement holds true, please read the paragraph above again.

• Janji najix tak ditunaikan,penipu Rakyat! on Jan 01, 2016 at 4:19 pm

Don’t worry about buying Toyota product with price jack up due to this, coz Salesmen will give u more discount to compensate the raise. Why this happen? Wonder why Toyota salesmen always offer discount when customer walk in,especially Vios. Teruk obsolete technology, perhaps.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
    • andrekua on Jan 01, 2016 at 5:10 pm

Man, I don’t buy discount story. Now that the economy is not doing better, they would offer discount. When it’s back to normal, bye bye discount and suddenly it’s a lot more expensive.

Just like when I’m buying formula milk for my kids. When their sales is bad, you get unbelievable price. Once they achieve their target, they thought their brand value went up and start hiking every now and then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Vision on Jan 01, 2016 at 4:21 pm

The hike is more than Honda , it’s going to be a tough year for UMW in term of sales…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 0
  • Okay one. Toyota will sure gives you fat discount to maintain their quantity.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Zoom zoom on Jan 01, 2016 at 4:26 pm

Most greedy so far…a kosong altis 1.8E without vsc n 2 airbags up 7k to 121k ??? Mazda 3 GL 109k with 6 airbags and vsc looks so good deal now..lol .. Hopefully Toyota sales down 50%

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 3
    • triple wing on Jan 01, 2016 at 7:34 pm

Hopefully don’t regret when the time want to sell off..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
  • dodgeviper88 on Jan 01, 2016 at 4:33 pm

Am i the only one wondering why the Hybrid is still the same price? As I know the hybrid tax-examption is only till 31 Dec 2015. Something I missed out?

• Greedy toyota on Jan 01, 2016 at 4:34 pm

2016 will be a good year for mazda. Mazda 3 and cx5 so value buy now. Once they CKD their Mazda 2 & 6, the rest can bungkus ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
  • Kelvin on Jan 01, 2016 at 4:35 pm

It seems toyota has more imported components than honda ? Anyone can verify

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
    • alldisc on Jan 03, 2016 at 8:49 am

Affected by low ringgit lah. Parts maybe obtained in ASEAN countries but payment possibly in US dollar. Same goes to royalty to TMC.

• sutheshkumar on Jan 01, 2016 at 4:41 pm

It seems that the Safety pack for the 2.0V Altis is also no longer on sale.

• The voice of a Sarawakian on Jan 01, 2016 at 4:46 pm

Price hike for Toyota? Doesn’t matter. Because Idiots in Sarawak will still buy Toyota. Vios, Hilux, Altis… As long as there is a toyota badge on it. Really idiots. I am a Sarawakian and I think people here need more knowledge on cars! Especially on the safety part! Not just looking at the resale value!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 5
    • BetterIdiot on Jan 01, 2016 at 6:29 pm

You are a true idiot Sarawakian. Those werent yr money they spent.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 51
      • The voice of a Sarawakian on Jan 02, 2016 at 8:07 pm

o? My likes vs your likes ; My dislikes vs your dislikes, who is the ultimate idiot now hmm???

• bunny on Jan 01, 2016 at 7:27 pm

same case as KK. you can see more newly registered vios than city. the ratio is like 5:1 (vios:city)… wonder wats up with east Malaysians only care about r.v. I bought an asx last year, but all my aunts and uncles question my purchase. mind you, they were asking “why didn’t u get the rush instead? why Mitsubishi le? no value after 3 years”… madness laaa most east Malaysians! thakfully me n my mum didnt inherit such stupid reasoning of buying a car. phew!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • dugongx on Jan 02, 2016 at 5:08 pm

Lots of ppl are retarded. Thats y UMW sell TRD models. Totally Retarded Drivers.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2016 at 1:14 am

Yes, east Malaysians are generally a bit dumber and have lower IQ, similar to Indonesians and Filipinos.

That’s why BN relies on East M’sia to ensure they win elections. Pakatan do not know how to play the game, so those political novices have been unable to make inroads to Sabah and Sarawak.. not because east Malaysians are clever, but because PR are dumber.

• The voice of a Sarawakian on Jan 02, 2016 at 8:14 pm

I feel you man.
        Omg man…seriously? Rush? A “Car” with no ABS? Buying a Perodua is it? My god…all these Uncles Aunties really should start open up their minds!
        People here also talk about practicality. Saying buy Toyota good because spare parts are easy to find which is a complete BULLSHIT. Just recently my colleague’s first generation Vios one side mirror got hit off by a motorcyclist. She went so many places searching for a replacement. The answer she got is NO, we don’t have your model one side mirror. Where is the practicality then?
        Bloody idiots everywhere in Sarawak. FFS please stop buying Toyota la….wait until they improved themselves then buy.

• Sam Loo on Jan 03, 2016 at 8:14 pm

Consider a 12 month old kimchi. Very dai mai

• Those who could hold off buying new should seriously think of doing so. Give it a year or two. Hopefully the situation would improve enough for us to jump back in.

• andrekua on Jan 01, 2016 at 5:05 pm

If there’s one thing that Malaysian companies are good at, that’s price increase across the whole industry. It’s like someone behind is orchestra the whole thing. Damn…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2016 at 1:17 am

Of course there’s a cartel behind the whole thing… GLCs control these automotive cartels, just like triad-linked tycoons control the cartels of Low Yat, Sg Wang, etc. shopping complexes. Only the truly naive or dumb ones believe there’s actual market competition in Malaysia.

• Honda has factory in Melaka..but not Toyota..all imported frm Thailand & Indonesia..thats why maaa :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • Normal Guy on Jan 01, 2016 at 9:26 pm

Cakap also need substance la. Kilang ASSB in Shah Alam do what then? Empty aluminum cans? LOL.

• Lau..toyota got factory here in shah alam..known as ASSB..they assemble fortuner, vios, camry & camry hybrid, innova, hiace & hilux …only altis import from thailand..used to work at toyota before..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
      • Avanza is CBU indonesia.
        Innova is CBU indonesia.
        Rush is CBU indonesia
        Alphard and Previa CBU Japan.
        Prius and Prius C CBU Japan.
        86 is CBU Japan
        Hiace is CBU Thailand.
        Fortuner is CBU Thailand.

• junkard on Jan 02, 2016 at 9:28 am

All above are junks

• Aero (Member) on Jan 02, 2016 at 9:09 pm

Wrong.

Avanza is CBU Indonesia.
          Innova is CKD Malaysia.
          Rush is CBU Indonesia.
          Alphard and Previa are CBU Japan.
          Prius and Prius C are CBU Japan.
          86 is CBU Japan.
          Hiace is fully built in Malaysia and exported to Thailand.
          Fortuner is CKD Malaysia.

Corolla Altis is CBU Thailand.
          Hilux is CKD Malaysia.
          Vios is CKD Malaysia.
          Camry and Camry Hybrid are CKD Malaysia.

All of UMWT’s CKD models and the HiAce are built in the Assembly Services Sdn. Bhd. (ASSB) factory in Shah Alam. ASSB has been assembling Toyotas since February 1968.

• CKD is assembling isnt.
            where does the parts come from?
            Engine? gearbox?

• Aero (Member) on Jan 03, 2016 at 7:39 pm

@jeez

Yes, CKD stands for complete knock down and CBU stands for complete built up. For CKD, assembly plants import cars in kit or pack form, which they assemble themselves with either labourers or robots. For CBU, the cars are imported wholesale, no assembly required.

Think of CKD as a Tamiya car, and CBU as a Hotwheels car.

The parts usually come from other ASEAN countries as part of the AFTA/ASEAN CEPT. Not all parts and components in a CKD car are made here, many are still imported. It is difficult to determine who supplies who due to a lack of transparency and accountability in most ASEAN countries. The car companies want us to remain oblivious to the inner workings of the industry, they profit on the stupidity of ASEAN citizens. (Which is why our car safety standards are so poor).

As for the engine and gearbox, car companies can either import or assemble them on a local engine/ gearbox assembly line. Most CKD plants here import their engines and gearboxes. Tan Chong Motor was the first Malaysian company to have an engine assembly line for the Nissan Sentra in 1988. Currently, I believe only Proton, Perodua, Honda and maybe Nissan and Toyota assemble engines locally.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2016 at 1:19 am

LOLLLLLL!!!! That explains why uneducated people drive Toyotas!!! They believe that Toyotas are fully imported!!! This is pretty funny, actually…

• TQ BN Cybertrooper on Jan 03, 2016 at 10:26 am

Only uneducated is the BN Cybertrooper who earns RM10k per month, the rakyat’s money

• DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2016 at 4:12 pm

So, how much is DAP paying you yo be am idiot? Just because someone has a different opinion than what Pakatan says, it means the person is paid by UMNO? I’ll consider myself lucky if the UMNO and Pakatan assemblyman don’t come soliciting for political donations from me during the election season!

• Power Ranger on Aug 03, 2017 at 4:41 pm

that’s why i prefer myvi … hahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha …

• Aero (Member) on Jan 02, 2016 at 9:20 pm

Yes, you are absolutely correct. UMWT currently imports more CBU models from Indonesia than Thailand. However, I am unsure about their supply chain for parts and components.

It’s a well-known fact that Indonesian-assembled Toyota models are not built to the same high quality standards as the Thai models or even our Malaysian ones. Indonesian-made Hondas have massive quality problems too (for Japanese-badged cars). That is why Thailand is still the top exporter for Japanese cars in ASEAN. Indonesia will take some time to train and build up their vendors to global standards.

Currently, Thailand has the most number of suppliers (2,231), followed by Indonesia (780), Malaysia (610) and the Philippines (325). Two Malaysian vendors managed to rank in the Global top 500, namely APM Automotive and Sapura Industrial. Malaysia exports more car parts than actual cars in terms of value.

• DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2016 at 1:21 am

Indonesia suffers from the “Friday Car” problem, same as Malaysia. Thailand, obviously, does not have such an issue.. not trolling, this is a fact. Just ask anyone who has worked at the automotive assembly lines before…

• Aero (Member) on Jan 03, 2016 at 7:49 pm

You’re probably right with Thailand not having the ‘Friday car’ problem. It’s because many of their plants are huge and highly automated. They also have more skilled labourers that are well-trained to global standards. In the Philippines and Indonesia, most plants are labour intensive because their governments look at the automotive industry as a means of keeping thousands of people employed. For Malaysia, we are half-way between Thailand and Indonesia. We have some advanced plants, but also some old school ones. lol

• Taxxx on Jan 03, 2016 at 6:56 am

So that’s why Indon Honda and Toyota are cheaper than bolehland despite different tax structure?

• Aero (Member) on Jan 03, 2016 at 7:55 pm

There’s too many factors involved in the pricing, it’s not possible to get a straight answer. But yes, I’m guessing that sub-standard vendors is one of the driving factors behind low prices in Indonesian-assembled cars.

You’ll be surprised, many of our Malaysian vendors are very competitive. APM especially, formerly Tan Chong Motor’s Datsun/ Nissan parts division, is one of the best in ASEAN. The real money is in the parts vendors, not the actual cars. It’s a well-kept secret.

• Kancil Hybrid on Jan 01, 2016 at 5:20 pm

Eh, kata hari tu lepas menang GE harga kereta akan diturunkan. Kata hari tu GST akan rendahkan harga kereta. Kata hari tu RM lemah baik utk negara.

Oo lupa.. Itu semua kata yang keluar dari mulut menteri2 Bodoh Ngok.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 2
    • nicely said… tepat dan padat

• Ponggiri Ponggiri on Jan 02, 2016 at 1:11 pm

Bodohlah BN kalau turunkan harga kereta. Sebab negeri2 yang paling banyak daftar kereta baru semua undi pembangkang.
      Macam PAP diSingapore. Kalau tak undi PAP tak dapatlah habuan. No apartment upgrades for opposition areas.

• say RIP to 30% cheaper car price.
    PM go dai pls. for the sake of everyone, go dai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
  • Sam Loo on Jan 01, 2016 at 5:50 pm

Buy a used kimchi instead.

I have not increased price yet

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • hamdankassim on Jan 01, 2016 at 6:43 pm

Waiting for P1’s turn so don’t bark so loud.
    But wait a minute, P1 still has massive 2015 stockpile lying in their yard.
    So it will take some time , probably in 6 months until its stock depletes & judging from their pathetic sales numbers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2016 at 1:23 am

Not to diss P1, but they still have 2013 and 2014 uncleared stocks in their yards. Anyone seen those Chevrolet Cruze and Malibu stocks lately? Hardly moving… no wonder Naza is dropping Chevy..

• BN=barang naik on Jan 01, 2016 at 7:28 pm

ini semua salah najib…:p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • Hentamajela on Jan 01, 2016 at 7:45 pm

Buat kat malaysia pun nak jual mahal ker…..puiiiii…

• Sammy Loo on Jan 01, 2016 at 7:57 pm

Current Toyota owners must be very happy, the RV will be even better with the price hike.

As long as it is a sushi, it will have RV. If it is a Toyota, it will have good RV. So the price increase is not a matter, you will get back more RV when you sell it later for upgrading to Lexus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 8
  • Sedarlah on Jan 01, 2016 at 8:11 pm

Toyota oh toyota. Please raise it further. Nobody cares. Your golden days in Malaysia are over.

• top spec fortuner for RM190k?

very funny UMW.

• Sam VHL Loo on Jan 01, 2016 at 8:19 pm

Where got tough year (there’s gone of their fat 12 months year end bonus), and all of their sales advisors will be given workshop training to polish their ‘badmouth skills’ towards other cars as well as better bullshitting skills in order to maintain or even increase sales. Plus any walk in customers, even if he/she looks poor wearing singlets, shorts and slippers need to be persuaded and begged aggressively to buy their jamban taik cars with this and that offers and if customer drive other cars, say that their cars are not good at this and that and thus, they better off with toyotaik junk cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Heskey on Jan 01, 2016 at 8:37 pm

My vios rv just gone up by 5k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Jan 04, 2016 at 12:35 pm

Picture yourself if you had purchased a Celaka instead of a Vios

• Others up 2%. Ini cilaka up ave 4%. Unfortunately not enuff uncles and ahbengs boycott moving coffins to affect their egos. But behind it, the sales team giving up to 10k discount just to clear stock.

• Minister 3.85 on Jan 01, 2016 at 11:00 pm

neber mind….No problem one….

Maybe BN govt gonna give BR1M for rakyat to top-up buying new cars….hahahaha

NExt time, they give top-up BR1M to compensate increase prices of milk powder, sanitary pads, newspaper, etc..

Syukur ada BR1M…..

• assman on Jan 01, 2016 at 11:56 pm

Thank god the price reduced.Happy New Year Folks

• Hopefully all buyer change their mind and buy 2nd hand car.. Haha…

• Coffin naik harga?

• dugongx on Jan 02, 2016 at 2:02 am

Hailat and haiface increase the most. owners gonna be proud of higher RV

• sukeprotong on Jan 02, 2016 at 7:53 am

im happy with 13yrs old,debt free waja..

• My opinion .. keeping my current ranger 3.2 mt last otr price rm108000 love the power n quality and look… hilux are good but the price and spec make me think twice.. serve me well no problem for me always travel to extreme conditions for my works.. hahaha

• Some people will never spend money to face problem.
      Car is used to serve us, not the other way round.

Thus.. New Hilux high spec with full safety features shall be among top of your list too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • BOIKOT on Jan 02, 2016 at 9:09 am

boycott Toyota. greedy!!!!!!!

• jclark on Jan 02, 2016 at 9:28 am

2015 GST introduced, everyone price down….2016…revert back… ^^

• Hentamajela on Jan 02, 2016 at 11:18 am

Rakyat malaysia bawak toyota dah mcm bawak ferari lagaknya….puiiiii

• Hentamaje on Jan 02, 2016 at 12:18 pm

Pnb kan kroni toyota sbb tu la kereta myvi laku sbb bank pun banyak yg sokong dia tak mcm kereta lain….sooo bodoh la u all people who support toyota ang perutdua….

• seancorr (Member) on Jan 02, 2016 at 1:21 pm

Big hike, if possible just continue driving your current vehicle and avoid buying any vehicles from every dealer until they lower down the price.

• Same L0rrrr on Jan 03, 2016 at 12:07 pm

Learn from you, buy second hand f30 at RM50k, very dai mai.

• Same L0rr Stupiak on Jan 03, 2016 at 3:52 pm

stupid don’t even know the difference between F30 and E90

• Toyota lousy on Jan 02, 2016 at 1:33 pm

In terms of spec, quality and price, honda win 10 streets than toyota. Boycott toyota and buy honda instead

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
  • mrhans on Jan 02, 2016 at 2:20 pm

hiace panel van???

• Joker on Jan 02, 2016 at 2:42 pm

Is it just me or I see a 1.3L Avanza there. Wouldn’t even go uphill with full load. Hahahahahahaaahaa

• oh, not really.
      1.3 avanza manual is quite adequate in power in transporting 7 passengers.

this is due to the RWD system built in.
      it’s even more capable than Nissan Livina 1.6A with 7 seaters.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
      • Avanzacrap on Jan 03, 2016 at 7:01 am

Lol avanza is underpower crap. When 7 passengers are in, it must be rev gao gao to get power from engine

• albag on Jan 02, 2016 at 3:57 pm

those who still gonna purchase Hilux now must be idiots.. LEL

• jacob on Jan 03, 2016 at 12:39 am

I think the no.1 idiot are the people who have bought campro powered proton and volkswagen.

Buying problems for themselves.

• loler on Jan 03, 2016 at 10:49 am

Buy Vios lor much better, can fly you know, lol

• gen2lama on Jan 03, 2016 at 2:59 pm

Idiot? My campro powered proton already 480k millage. 2004 gen2.. Still the same engine….no major problem…hmmm

• Jennifer on Jan 02, 2016 at 4:23 pm

Lucky my boyfriend bought his New Altis 2.0V earlier..
    Best value sedan within RM100k – RM150k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 23
    • The voice of a Sarawakian on Jan 02, 2016 at 8:19 pm

Your boyfriend is an idiot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • salesking on Jan 03, 2016 at 3:50 pm

Can intro me you waterfish boyfriend? I want to sell him some MLM products.

• Jobless on Jan 02, 2016 at 4:25 pm

Wow better invest in Toyoda cars instead of poperty or stock market..my Vios just appreciated few thousand ringgit

• Mark Tan on Jan 02, 2016 at 5:18 pm

for those who are taking 9 years loan.
    monthly payment for RM3000, 3% interest, you have got to pay a little extra of RM35.

• Dominic on Jan 02, 2016 at 8:55 pm

Luckily we purchase the Vios G last 2 years ago where the price tag with OTR just RM85K :P

• SupportHybrid on Jan 02, 2016 at 9:08 pm

Luckily we purchase Vios G last 2 years ago for the price RM85K with OTR. Nowadays Toyota car become more expensive. What are they thinking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 11
    • iyEzilee azuera sungod on Jan 03, 2016 at 6:57 am

We think trade in to new pesona perdana. Or saga, aliyah.jimat money payment,maintenance for few year and waiting new future engine.

• Kautim Satu Malaysia on Jan 03, 2016 at 12:47 pm

your Vios now only worth 2/3 of the price in the market. Depreciation so fast…..ur car worth less that half before your installment comes to an end.

So, what so lucky, are you?

• ben yap on Jan 02, 2016 at 10:07 pm

You can see from the price list, toyota is taking advantage by increasing their prices for models that are high in demand. this is because they are looking for a shortcut to earn more.

• old dog on Jan 02, 2016 at 11:20 pm

good price increase! we will see UMW being taken out by Toyota Japan very soon since no one will buy Toyota anymore…
    1) Vios? nah
    2) Camry? huh?
    3) Prius? wah!
    4) Hilux? okla..
    5) all others? HAHAHA

now taxi will be using Innova soon, i think polis also fortuner, etc. Only cronies buying from cronies now..

• Hentamajela on Jan 03, 2016 at 9:09 am

Org jepun lama dah tipu rakyat malaysia baik toyota ker honda ker sama je….tinggal lagi org malaysia je yg tak sedar2..sbb kereta yg dah lama ada jenama ni la ramai yg tertipu…honda dgn catnya yg murah…sama je piiiiirrraaaahhh.. mabuk

• Sam Loo on Jan 03, 2016 at 10:36 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Premnath Agamutu on Jan 03, 2016 at 2:34 pm

Toyota cars are shit. Who wants to buy a Toyota? No power, can’t corner, ah pek interior.

• Sam VHL Loo on Jan 04, 2016 at 12:33 pm

Correction:

Toyota cars are shit. – In this country, all toyotaik (except Camry hybrid) are ‘highly overpriced’ POS taik cars.

Who wants to buy a Toyota? – In this country, only dumbass tai lan ngong species will buy it.

No power – Not, it’s too powerful to speed like barbarian and like to push over others out from the fastest lane, if can, out from road (esp. Vios, Hailat, Fortiunah and even Alpfart/Vellfire drivers). No wonder Toyotaik drivers are high on wanted list for police speed trap operation.

can’t corner – Can ‘drift’ corner one (remember Vios ads). Promote reckless driving.

ah pek interior – Whateverlah, you stick ‘T’ badge on it, Malaysian will buy it anyway without second thought eventhough the junk car itself is like taik.

• Doomer on Jan 03, 2016 at 4:20 pm

Seems like UMW are destined for doom in 2016.

• applegreen on Jan 03, 2016 at 5:01 pm

Where are new prices for estima and alphard? i think new price is so sky high even UMW dont want to put in the list

• I think the list shown the model that assemble locally, I think estima and alphard are all CBU import

• Minister 3.85 on Jan 03, 2016 at 6:00 pm

UMW can list 300 models if they want….buy aint nobody buying these toyota unless sohai ppl….

• Leonardo Ignatius Chong on Jan 03, 2016 at 6:42 pm

Why are we still getting the old Toyota Aurion as our Camry and not the new model US Camry?

• Anti_DonkeyKong on Jan 03, 2016 at 11:07 pm

Watch your stinky mouth DONKEY KONG! I suggest you go climb your banana tree than calling EastMalaysia dumber! It doesnt make you a clever person by calling someone else dumber! FO!
    From Pissed off East Malaysian

• Sam Loo on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:24 am

Consider a used kimchi. Best value for money

• ByPass Person on Jan 04, 2016 at 10:29 am

Hi Paul Tan PIC, I just found out there have some error for Fortuner,you are comparing 2015 metallic vs 2016 non matallic.
    By right it should be 2015 metallic 169,929.47, 2016 metallic is 179,980.00, Price Difference 10,050.52, Change 5.75%. and so on for the rest of Fortuner.

• I saw the new Toyota Alphard on the road.