Hiding E-mail Addresses Using CSS

Advertisement

Have you ever had the need of putting your e-mail address up on public domain, but you’re afraid of spam bots harvesting your email address?

This is a cool CSS trick that you can use to prevent spam bots from harvesting your e-mail address.

gro.natluap@luap

Looks pretty normal right? But view the source and this is what you get.

<span style="unicode-bidi:bidi-override; direction: rtl;">gro.natluap@luap</span>

Spam bots would only be able to harvest the gro.natluap@luap which obviously isn’t a valid e-mail address.

Related stories you might be interested in reading:

About the Author

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history. An avid electronic gadget aficionado as well as big-time coffee lover, he's also the executive producer of the Driven motoring TV programme.

1. saintis kreko says:

look like it is a good idea .. never thought of this even though i know abt the bidi function (which is not supported by all browser still in use) .. this need to be proven first .. have u tried ?

ps: i'll be quoting this soon .. (i got no trackback, so inform manually lah..;-) )

Reply Thumb up 0 Thumb down 0
  2. Jolene says:

gro? =p

3. Paul says:

ish. dodgelene.

4. LcF says:

Cool! Fast and simple!

Thanks for the tip. :)

5. Jolene says:

Told you already, .org's are so dodgy. That's why I love .net's.

6. DR KUNANATHAN says:

Received volvo satisfaction survey for my volvo 960(s90) WGK 6168 at below site http://www.volvo-css.com/voa/my. Unable to access to this site. Please assist.

Like us? Show some support! :)

Want a picture next to your comment? Register for a Gravatar account with the same email you use to comment!

Previous Story: Diesel Price Hike
Next Story: New Tiara Replacement Model Spyshots