Perodua Myvi Engine Bay

Two days more to the Perodua Myvi launch! Is everyone excited? :P Here are some more photos of the Myvi, this time of the engine bay.

Here are photos of the Perodua Myvi 1.3’s engine bay. You can look at the K3-VE engine sitting in there, waiting to be started up and driven.

The air filter box says 1.3 16V Twin Cam.

The air intake sucks air from the left side of the engine bay. Actually the engine bay looks pretty cramped. I wonder if there’s space to put open pod air filters.

From the above photo and this photo, you can see the extractor seems covered with some heatshield material. Probably because it was a hot day in Sepang?

This is a cross section of the K3-VE engine for people to see the pistons inside and etcetra. If you look at the top part, you can see there’s two camshafts because it’s a DOHC engine.

Other related Perodua Myvi posts:
Perodua Myvi
Perodua Myvi TRD Bodykit
Perodua Myvi Logo and Test Drive
Perodua Myvi Launch
Perodua Myvi Colours – The Myvi Rainbow
Perodua Myvi Specifications and Price
Perodua Myvi Interior
Perodua Myvi Engine Bay
Perodua Myvi Technical Datasheet
Perodua Myvi Photos From The Showroom
Perodua Myvi Forum
Converting your Perodua Myvi to a turbo?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Dude, way to go..been eyeing this car for mths now.good review..wish u had more diff between the premium and the non. but anyway good job a well pat on your back from me.wish to hear more and mileage and tech. data sheets if there :)

• Doc. Harris on May 24, 2005 at 6:23 am

Terrific site!

• Hey, I read about MyVi in the Star and I thought I'll check it out from the internet. Many thumbs up for your 'little' information! I realised that your blog has more meat than the Perodua website (shame on them!). I was thinking of getting a new local car, and there's no doubt which one I'll be getting now :) Just wanna say thanks for sharing the info!

• prestidge81 on May 24, 2005 at 9:05 pm

well done to PERODUA…….an awesome production here……will book for this MyVi after it launch tommorrow……

• We have booked Myvi two weeks ago because we urgently needed a second car and thought a local car would ease the financial burden a bit. We were thinking of Kenari because of its economical fuel consumption but was informed that it would be a long wait and we didnt want a black car either which requires much more washing and cleaning which we busy people couldnt afford…ehm!. Then we got to know about MYvi. So we tot what the heck … let's book it! If we didnt like it we could always go back to the Kenari. Since then I have been seaching the web for more information and then I stumbled on … guess who? Wow! What loads of work he must have put into this website. I am getting so much information from your website. THANKS! It is also getting me very excited. Hope we could view it tomorrow and decide. But most important, what do you think of the fuel consumption??

• Fenton W. Yong on May 25, 2005 at 9:27 am

Superb! Keep up the good work, dude!

• Verry good info..more exciting from day to day.

Cannot wait anymore..

• William Chiew on May 25, 2005 at 10:16 pm

that's good news…current perodua owner dun need goto kedai potong to upgrade engine…now perodua oledi mix-breed one…clone car..

• Said Mohd Fairul on May 26, 2005 at 7:32 pm

Good job to Perodua on your sixth model of MyVi.it really superb, hot and sporty.

• Nurul Aznil on May 26, 2005 at 7:33 pm

between Picanto and MyVi, which is better? I like the safety feature for MyVi but the shape and colour selection not really my cup of tea compare to picanto. But picanto didn't have dual air bags and ABS.

Anyway, nice info you got here paul. Really help… Thanks!!!

• Evelyn on May 26, 2005 at 9:17 pm

Yes! Thank you for sharing this information to all of us here! You're information of MyVi is really help! Thank you once again

• Hello, Tan. May i ask u some q?

i got budget around 50k n i willing 2 buy a car.

B4 that i prefer wira special edition la…but seen now myvi come out…so may i ask ur opinion?

If u , which one u prefer?

• nasarudin on May 26, 2005 at 10:15 pm

Definitely it looks good, but sometimes it appears more like a small version of Toyota Avanza. But, I am quite sad that the price is still quite high for a 1 or 1.3 liter and not to forget Perodua is exempted from Import Tax (on CKD), Excise Duty and Sales Tax. Such previlege is not even offered to Proton (which has to pay at least 50% from the normal rate)! As such, Perodua should consider of lowering its price…

• Melalyn on May 27, 2005 at 8:08 am

Hey,

Foudn your site when I typed Perodua Myvi on Yahoo! Search…Thanks for posting all these. Gonna get one soon! hehe…Youve got an interesting site! Don't mind if I link you?

Have a blessed day whenever you're reading this!

• Alvin on May 27, 2005 at 5:08 pm

Paul! I must say a great job done! Ur review is simply informative and captivating (the pics are nice!) Passo and Boon bodykits are sure to be a hot seller! Rmember to leave the contacts of our local suppliers!

U shld be doing more car reviews! Cheers!!

• neuss64 on May 31, 2005 at 6:14 am

paul.. one question to you. are the both 1.0 & 1.3model using the timing chain? or timing belt?

• whos care??u want u buy,don't want babai..dont angry2 lah..

melah ke,bilu ke,pink kaler ke kite tetap lakyat MALAYSIA..wakakaka atleast something better than notting,atleast copy better than do not do anything yahh..

peace malaysia!!!!

• good,nice,class,sport!best buy!

• blur-2 on Jun 17, 2005 at 5:34 pm

heard from the sales agent that myvi fuel consumption is not very encouraging .. 9km/litre @ 110 km/hr. going up to genting highlands is a no no as it is draggy. man .. i worried lah .. just booked myvi. anyone can verify ? … please ..

• Decboy on Aug 28, 2005 at 11:55 am

Hi there, May i know where can i get the body kits in malaysia?

• fred131 on Oct 18, 2005 at 7:52 pm

Anyone want to trade in myvi for 2×4 crew cab Isuzu go to Adpost.com and look for ad 2633. I want to trade in my Isuzu for Myvi

• Tom Wong on Feb 17, 2009 at 8:11 pm

Hi, would like to know if the Myvi uses timing belt or chain

Thanks

• Dr_shar on Mar 03, 2009 at 10:13 pm

juz would like to noe wats a myvi`s fuel consumption coz my car with the fuel of rm 50 went about 270km.. is tat economic???? mine is the standart auto year 009.

• JOSANILA on Apr 02, 2009 at 6:10 am

DR SHAR, fuel consumption of a vehicle can best be measured by km traveled/liter of fuel consumption. Price of fuel goes up and down from time to time.. making it a little bit confusing and nonconsistance. You can check the fuel consumption rate of your ride in it's tech spec brochure or even in the owner manual. To know the best fuel economy/efficiency vehicle you can check it out
    Cheers mate!!!

• want to know…myvi 1.0 use timing belt or timing chain?

• Hi, would like to know if the Myvi uses timing belt or chain

• hi there guys i have a myvi 1.3 dvvt on 2010 reg
    recently changed engine oil and filter and soon after seems like the timing chains started to rattle and thrown a engine management light on
    plugged it n says cam sensor
    they dont list an aftermarket chain kit?
    can anyone advise will i have to change the chain or will it tighten?