Proton Sassy – Tiara Replacement Model (Now Renamed to Savvy)

Sassy is the destined name for the new Tiara Replacement Model by Proton. Proton spokespeople gave this name which means “stylish” or “bergaya” as the Proton spokesperson said.

The Proton Sassy or Tiara Replacement Model should be due very soon with the newspaper ads appearing much more frequently and booking forms available on Proton Edar‘s website. I don’t have any launch dates at the moment but I will update as soon as I get hold of the information.

I wonder if they got the name from the Korean show My Sassy Girl :P

Anyway here’s a shot of a clay model for a Proton dashboard. I wonder if it will be used in the Proton Sassy.

Click for a larger picture.

Looks like the sporty Lotus-type of look is still there. The Audi rip-off steering is still there. I don’t really like that colour which is supposed to give a luxury feel. This is a 1.2 litre small car. Somehow it doesn’t really suit the exterior image.

So guys, who are you rooting for? The Proton Sassy or the Perodua Myvi?

UPDATE: I have received information that Proton has renamed the Sassy to Proton Savvy. More about it here.

For more photos of the car, you can check out the previous posts I’ve made below.

Related Tiara Replacement Model posts:
Tiara Replacement Model Available For Booking
Tiara Replacement Model On The Road
Tiara Replacement Model Again
New Tiara Replacement Model Spyshots
Tiara Replacement Model Ads in Newspapers
Proton Sassy – The Name for the Tiara Replacement Model
Proton Savvy: Proton Renames The Sassy Tiara Replacement Model to Savvy
Proton Savvy Launch this 8th June
Possible Proton Savvy Interior Shots
Proton Savvy Photos
Proton Savvy Quality Control TUV Audit
Proton Savvy Launch at 5pm today!
Proton Press Release on the Savvy
Proton Savvy R3 ?
Proton Savvy R3 Concept at Proton Edar Mutiara
Proton Savvy Automatic to get Renault’s Quickshift 5

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Fashionasia on May 24, 2005 at 8:52 pm

the question is….how much

• Sassy? That sounds so….sissy.

• fashionasia: 43-45K for the 1.2 Manual model. that's the inforamtion i got from proton edar's booking page.

• wil@theblackjournal on May 24, 2005 at 9:00 pm

This actually looks pretty neat but Proton "Sassy"? That is a major departure from the previous Malaysian theme.

• berserk on May 24, 2005 at 9:06 pm

hmm,

looks like a perodua kelisa on the outside, looks hell ugly inside, probably doesn't have ABS, VVT or air bags.

conclusion: MyVi is going to kill the sassy

• dannyFoo on May 24, 2005 at 9:30 pm

I'm just wondering how powerful is the air conditioning system though those vents look pretty huge.. :|

• CincauHangus (Aaron) on May 25, 2005 at 2:04 am

Hey Paul. Remember me? You used to fix my computers years back. How are ya? Been a long time since i visited your blog. And i cannot believe it was the first in the myvi yahoo result page. lol..

anyway, where did u get the clay model for that dashboard?

• karheng on May 25, 2005 at 2:05 am

Perodua MyVi all the way. Simply because the Sassy is going to be all problematic and you'll need to visit the proton service centre a gazillion times. And the dashboard is probably the ugliest one i've seen my whole life. Ie. Colors don't match, bad curves, probably there'll be flippety switches and handles, and there is…a space for AIRBAG in front of the passenger's seat? How about the driver?

• Johnny on May 25, 2005 at 5:02 am

What a lousy name for the Tiara Replacement Model! Is this name confirmed or is somebody at Proton pulling your legs, Paul? The Perodua Myvi wins hands down anytime if it is to be compared to the sissy looking Proton Sassy. The Sassy is an awful looking car with horrible colour scheme for its dashboard if what I saw here is true. Anyway, let's wait for it to be launched first before we jump to any conclusions. It's The Battle of The 2 Ps now (Perodua vs Proton) with their latest models. This is good competition which will benefit potential car buyers.

• narrowband on May 25, 2005 at 9:00 am

go myvi, anytime.

the sassy doesn't give me any good impression at all. even its name makes me feel like the guys at proton are just 'trying abit too hard' – i mean, 'sassy'?? give me a break.

previous names have been in malay, why the change.

by the way, Paul, will you be doing any coverage on Toyota's recent launch, the Toyota Innova? love ur local automotive news coverage. – Or do you only cover Malaysian makes?

• Because your proton wira isn't called proton wira when it comes to an oversea land like Australia. I guess they just want to unify all the names.

• William Chiew on May 25, 2005 at 10:13 pm

looks like a mix-breed with Germans and out come a 'sissy'……come on proton.. u can do better than that…

• tul Nafsiah on May 25, 2005 at 11:57 pm

Dear Paul

Found your website very interesting and useful.Keep up the good work!

Like the name Sassy ( but then, I'm a girl) but design doesn't look too good; dislike the name Myvi – they could have been more creative but design looks good. Kenari i feel is taller and has more boot space, not bad design too. Still, will check out the showrooms tonite as they told me it's due.

• Mellissa on May 26, 2005 at 3:29 am

MyVi .. although I think Sassy is a nicer name compared to MyVi. But hello, MyVi all the way :P

• graceshu on May 26, 2005 at 6:41 am

SASSY sounds like my hairstylist's best friend's name.

• alkazapper on May 26, 2005 at 8:34 pm

base on my B-A-D experience in past with Proton (screw all ov-em from The Factory to The Dealers to their Agents and their sucky price!!!??) I WILL NEVAH buy any lousy Proton Cars!

Perodua is just right for me. Although, when they said that 80% of the MyVi are of locals content, they could atleast be reason with the price tag. I mean, c'mmon 80%???!! the price for MyVi should atleast be less than 30-35K?! Quality?! yeah sure, its okay. But for the price? I think its a RIP-OFF! Might as well stick with my re-furbish Nissan Skyline. Atleast I don't have to pay installment.

• komen on May 26, 2005 at 9:07 pm

Apsal proton tak reti bt keta asyik keta yg nampak hodoh jee, kali ni model yg agak ketinggalan zaman selepas gen 2 klu gen 2 masalah bumbung rendah dan kotak stereng rendah..tah apa pula kali ni..dah 2 langsung tak menarik laa…tak macam MYVI ada kemajuan dlm permotoran ada van ada car ada macam pickup..

• sassy the don on May 26, 2005 at 9:17 pm

hahaha…shame on you proton! try to resolve the power windows problem first before you "dare to change konon!" introducing new models!

• YeeKuan on May 26, 2005 at 11:18 pm

Proton have no new idea. Only replace and follow.. What a shy , Man !!. Come On lah. Proton… Create your own style…

• Accord Kia on May 27, 2005 at 12:45 am

shame on you….lousy proton. no improvement at all. always changed some front or back features then can said is new car again. nowadays still selling wira and iswara…..wat a joke!!!!!!!

Proto Juara …..the world's most lousy design!!!

• Des J315 on May 27, 2005 at 2:20 am

the launch date is end of JUN juz asked from the salesman ….nthg they say about it n juz say tat the design is more nicer than Myvi lol tat all .. haha..

• jan van der Kraats on May 27, 2005 at 3:56 am

Paul,

Very good website. I am looking for Proton news for over the last 2 years. what is the easiest way to collect all this news?

• proton car alwys got planty of problem….since

proton saga until the latest ..all also got

problem…..so ..wat u think……??

• komen on May 27, 2005 at 5:22 pm

Proton memang banyak masalah sejak dr keluaran seperti waja,perdana dan yg terbaru ni gen2 terbakar di tgh jln raya hahaha…apasal proton tak bt perubahan. asyik bt keta yg pelik2 jee..yg model baru ni pun nampak cam tak menarik dah bontot dia bulat depan panjang alamak teruklaa…klu wira plak asyik bumper depan dan belakang jatuh kee nak kena ikat ..came on laa proton jgn asyik ikut design org lainn jeee bt laaa design sendiri baru laa malaysia boleh……………

• OoiYiHao on May 27, 2005 at 7:56 pm

i think this car will be worthless after 2 or 3 years. Just like what happen to the Tiara 1.1 now, can easily buy at RM2000. Better they dun call it is Tiara Replacement Model, just making people think it will be same as Tiara! Plus this car technology is from Renault not Japan! You can see mostly car from France such as Peugeot,Citroen and Renault car is cheaper than any import car from Japan or Italy. Because the spartpart for these car is dam* expensive!

• helloboy on May 27, 2005 at 9:13 pm

Calling it the Tiara replacement model is a big mistake the Tengku is making. It reminds us of the ugly and unreliable car called Tiara. Ask the ex owner of Tiara, they all got cheated as there is no second hand value for the Tiara. Naming it Sassy is just trying a bit too hard to make the crow looks like the peacock !

Will there be a Juara replacement model next ?

• helloboy on May 27, 2005 at 9:41 pm

Iswara – surviving because no money to buy other

car

Wira – surviving coz want to be seen a class

above the Iswara owner.

Waja – almost dead, proton shoot themselve on

both legs when they introduced Gen2.

Gen2 – the only hope for Proton now

Arena – dead

Tiara – buried

Juara – doomed from birth – do you wanna be seen

driving a Juara ??

Sassy – is the power window reliable?

• Well guys,first of all before you guys jump into conclusion let me tell you that I am not a Proton staff so my comments is just directly from my heart so just this is what I am goin to say:

1. To me there is nothing wrong with the model so call TRM or what ever they may call it "Sassy" or "Sissy".

2. I trust that from the ads they have beeing trying their level best to prove that Malaysian can produce such a car or in other words level with other peniors in the automobile industry.

3. The best part of it is, they have some kind of international certification known as TUV! I trust that none of you guys read the ads cos you guys do have that negative thinking about the model therefore none of this pre ads border you all. That is why you guys always jump into conclusion so fast! That is totally wrong dude!

4. Correct me if I am wrong, based on our MMA report there are 60% of Proton cars on the road nationwide! Why is that if there is to many complaints on the car? Are those drivers or owners are mad enought or Proton is giving away their cars for FREE? Well if you dont trust me than look out from your window and count your self every 10 minutes!

5. Don't be so emotional about the interior cos I have seen MYVI and their interiors look even worse than Kancil. So cheap and the best part is the model is totally a copycat from Daihatsu Boon. So nothing to be proud off. Well may be just because of TOYOTA is now being their shadow and you guys fall for that!

6. Beside looking at the price, MYVI with 1.3 AT cost almost RM 52K ++, well if me as a customer I should go for WAJA 1.6 MT with so much improvement mainly on ride & handling by LOTUS is just around RM 59K – RM 62K.

7. Well you may say what ever you like about PROTON by I have been driving so long from model to model and I trust that it is a good car just that due to so many cars on the road makes it too obvious for the defects and complaints. I guest if you want to compare with other national cars Proton have more bigger name than Perodua even the share raised up to RM 7200 per lot. Tell me about it.

Last but not lease, I am so sad to hear all you guys complaining your own national car such Proton. Not like Korean people who are been so nationalis, and majority are driving their own national car not like you guys, always complaining as is you guys are so good in the industry!

Let me as you, ARE YOU MALAYSIAN? If yes, stop condeming the national car cos from business perception, they (Proton) is one of the biggest tax payer contributing towards our economic growth. You should be a shame of that!

Thats all I am going to say!

To me New Proton Models will eat Kancil RAW!

• Adding to my first statement about Proton Vs MYVI, have you guys have a close encounter with the new China car " CHERY " ?.

Let me tell you guys something good about it. They thought they can penetrate Malaysian market by producing such a good, cheap, spacious car but from my point of view it is a HUGE mistake..why?

5 comments on the car:

a) Design is damn ugly and it is recommended for taxi service instead of being a commercial or private car.

b) Engine is so low and does not fit to be on Malaysian road mainly Kelantan or those country famous with "Banjir".

c) The interior is damn ungly like those 70s "Starky and Hutch" story. The desk board is so cheap and it looks so square as is you are seating in a box!

d) Such a big body with so small rim..Fuhyoooo so good ahh..The best part you can change the rim but pay extra la..RM 1190 (No to sure about the model) probably CHINA made like those toys i guest.

e) I got a shock of my life after looking at their display model by which the 1st gear is on the right end side…oh my god what an idiot does such model! You tell me Proton is worse but this is even worse than any car.

So why not just give a good commend on this car instead rather than shooting your own Malaysian made car.

By the way, why border about Renault engine? I guess Renault won the F1, does than mean they are worse engine producer or probably they cheat by putting merz or ferrari engine instead and cover with Renault cap? Better send CSI to investigate.

Well I do agree that TIARA is a mistake but give them a break cos those people who plan the product is just being human like you! I guest all of you in this chat room may drive either LOTUS, FERRARI, JAGUAR or AUSTIN MARTIN and many more excellent car..or perhaps just riding a motor bike..well you should know something that Proton is now coming out with motorbike known as AGUSTA..does that mean you should condemn the motorbike just becos of Proton?

Well be smart la next time before condeming cos your family members may now driving one of it ok! Perodua may have less complaint becos not so many driving the car.

So do not try to give your negative ideas about the car until you test drive ok…I trust Proton cos they have good ride and handling from LOTUS and by 2006 another giant will join them in R&D that is VWagon. 2 international renouce company being a partner to Proton will eventually maintain the market share by 2008 (WTO).

I guest your point of view is just blank cos you should read more and educate your self further than just making a wild comments on the product.

If you all do not have faith in the product just live it as it is! No harm allowing them to sell.

Good day

• I support you PROTON and I don't give a shit about what people may say about your car. To me PERODUA or any other cars is just a car. No sentiment what so ever but you PROTON is our infra and we should be pround of you being a national leading automobile.

You are right Pak Lah, Malaysian have 1st class infrastructure but 3rd class mentality. The people who likes to condemn our own Malaysian product is as good as killing Malaysian name.

Wake up guys….don't allow our country to be like Indonesia and Iraq..we should be helping the country to maintain the sustainable growth of the GDP from time to time. Proton, Perodua and all national companies are the biggest contributors towards our economic growth…

So buy Malaysian and asta lavista WTO!

Keep up the good job PROTON…no matter what you name the car you should be pround and confidence in the product not just like those who are good in condeming the product.

I will be the first to witness your launching. GO GO PROTON..who cares about MYVI..(half Japan Breed)!

Chiao

• I LOVE CARS on May 29, 2005 at 7:22 pm

Of course the sassy.

it's original.

whilst myvi is just a badge-off boon.

sassy is more boy-ish.

lots of charisma.

myvi's shapes a bit ugly

• Jason on May 29, 2005 at 10:04 pm

Thank you for pronton supporter. i am a student study in Australia. I am driving a Proton Waja. Although, it has comed a lot problem for my car, but i am still proudly using a national car.

So pls support our national car.(Athough i have abilty to buy imported car, but i still support malysia car, coz iknow that without us support, how could they improve).

love our country, love our nation, care our home made product, what ever races you are.

• Jason on May 30, 2005 at 4:00 am

hey ! Rayet, Don,t be so angry!!
    The old people always say, how much you pay then how much u get.

So if a wira selling at $84000 as same as honda city and toyota Vios, your center lock problem will automatically solving.

Those big company like Honda, Toyota and Nissan,gt very long time history, and they have powerful in their finance ability. it mean they gt enough money n time to doing improvement and R&D.

The proton couldn’t do as well as those big company bcoz of finance problem and the time for R&D. Other than that, the car accessories is signing under contract with the car production line. if some of accessiories not fits well, they also can’t change it. bcoz they will losing alot of money, if they change it or breach the contract.

For example the drawer of waja still really damm. i change 6 times for my Waja.
    last time, i went bc malaysian, look for the new version waja still the same. Ai ! ai! ai !!

But dont so mention on it. When i using Waja, i look kancil as shit(so small and made by MILO tin). But when my father driving my car, he say my car totally SHIT. bcoz he driving E class.
    when driving a proton, u will looking for japan car.But when u driving a japan car u will looking a euro car like BMW.

Anyway give then some times

love our country, love our nation, care our home made product, what ever races you are.

• rayet on May 30, 2005 at 4:42 am

some ppl think that complaining about proton is a bad thing… well when a company as big as proton uses the ppl as R & D test drivers & sells better spec version of the same car at cheaper prices to other countries… loyalty is the last thing u should ask for…

look there are a lot of protons out there because for the average joe or jane thats most likely the only new car we can buy thanks to high taxes on other car makers…and in there lies the problem

the idea that just because u r cheap, doesn't mean u have the right to treat your customer like shit… yes i used the word shit coz went i bought a new car from proton what i wanted was something that would give me no problems like a 2nd car would… what i got was a car that require me to send it for service at 8.30am and only get it back at 4.30pm.. problems from brakes to power windows to central locking which didn't work even after complaining 3 to 4 times.

1 service that ended up with me having to pay for towing charges because the service guy didn't fix in some of spark plug properly ( this was told to me by protons emergency breakdown service guy, who only reply to my call after 3 day.. wow.. maybe proton should remove the emergency part of that service..)

the problem is when they totaly disregard us as buyer and treat us as if we need them and not the other way around.. what proton needs to do is start realising that the support of yr customers and their complaints are things to be consider seriously and acted upon.

The mentality of ~if u don't like don't buy itlah or complaint about it~ by certain ppl shown how narrow mind they are.

The only time u don't hear a complaint is when a customer isn't your customer anymore.

after my experince with proton i decided to buy a 2nd hand toyota corolla which i'm glad to say has not required me to finish my annual leave to service it… ( Damm durable car.. )

but now dues to petrol issues ( the cost of petrol & my toyota having a levin 24v engine heheh ) and the Myvi 8 cent a km thingy.. i am wonder about buy a malaysian car again…

but has proton and perodua reach a point where they can say don't worry we are a malaysian company and we care about our customers coz u can't expect loyalty if u can deliver can't u..!

You don't hear this kind of complaints about toyota or honda.. is it too much to ask for proton & perodua make us proud to owe their cars…?

• Thanks to those who support my statement which I think that somebody should stand on our Malaysian product such PROTON otherwise what I see or read is only complaints and that really hurt my feeling towards Malaysian people.

Not that they (Proton) is right but just what our Jason brother highlighted to all of us that is "Do not compare with other competitors" like Honda, Toyota or even Merz cos these people are in the industry for a long long time. And of course their QC is good due to lots of models being produced before Proton.

• Adding to what i said just now, yesterday on ASTRO news was highligted about the Malaysian automobile industry and the person who gave the statement was EON former Managing Director. According to him with the combination of both renounce automobile giant such as LOTUS & VWagon under PROTON wings could be a good start in penetrating the market after AFTA & WTO.

Although EON currently having a super dealership that is to allow them not only selling PROTON but HYUNDAI, ATOS, and many other models as part of their new business plan. However, he commented that PROTON still their main bread and butter as the percentage of selling the car is high and with the new TUV certification they are confident that people will start believing in the car again.

Despite all the negative comments at last we here positive comments on the product. We believe in u PROTON, as long as you believe in us, please ensure that your QC is the best among all Malaysian cars and imported as well. Let the whole world shout you name each time the want to buy cars.

I have done what i believe should be done long time after visiting this chat room. That is I am being a Malaysian.

Will YOU? When? Start believe in your product so that they can improve further, don't just kill their dream cos it is yours as well one day…..

Thanks to those who support Malaysian.

• ahmad hakim on May 30, 2005 at 8:21 pm

saya adalah pemilik gen.2 Saya ingin berkongsi pengalaman ttg kereta ini.

Saya rasa inilah kereta proton yang pertama dan terakhir yang saya miliki kerana mmg byk problem gen.2 ni.

*Masalah power window adalah ciri2 'istimewa' gen.2. Boleh dikatakan 90% pemiliknya menghadapi masalah yang sama.

*Kedudukan tempat duduk belakang yang tidak ergonomik dimana penumpang terpaksa membongkokkan sedikit kepala kerana bumbung terlalu rendah.

*Bunyi enjin dan angin yang agak bising masuk ke dalam kereta bila kelajuan melebihi 110km/j. *Absober yang agak keras.

*Tiada banyak ruang untuk meletak barang2 yg kecil sehingga laci pd dashbord pun tak dibuat!

*Terasa 'terkurung dan lemas' apabila berada dalam kereta kerana bumbung yg agak rendah dan kusyen depan yang tinggi.

*Reverse sensor terus menerus berbunyi walaupun tiada apa2 halangan di belakang. Sampai sekarang pusat servis tak dpt detect apa masalahnya..

Inilah masalah yang saya hadapi hampir setahun memiliki gen.2. Saya banyak habiskan masa berulang-alik ke pusat servis. Saya juga mempunyai sebuah kenari yang saya rasa jauh lebih baik perfomance drp gen.2 yang proton bangga2kan itu..Saya adalah seorang rakyat malaysia yang menyokong produk keluaran negara kita. Bukan saya nak kondem membuta tuli proton ttp byk sgt problem menyebabkan saya rasa kecewa utk memiliki kereta proton. Lebih baik pakai kereta perodua..walaupun hanya 'salin' drp model daihatsu tetapitiada byk masalah dan tetap buatan malaysia daripada buat kereta sendiri(katanya proton)ttp byk masalah yg terpaksa pemilik tanggung!

• helloboy on May 30, 2005 at 8:40 pm

To all the supporters of PROTON. Go buy a JUARA tomorrow and trying being pround of it. You will know what I mean !

• Jason on May 30, 2005 at 8:54 pm

Fist of all overall all the comments on RR brother. In my mind, RR is such as wonderful people. He clearly show out how is proton take part in our economic growth. He is the people who really support our national product. thank you RR Brother.

People now a day, are always thinking themself more than others. They buy the euro car or japanese car to fullfill their sactifaction. In the same time, they do not mention where the cash flow are really going to in the automobil market.

The answers is japan or euro.

So i am always thinking, when spending moneny to fill in country pocket better than own country pocket. so it will help the growrh of my own country.

Micheal Schumicheal pump in Shell petrol may be powerful than my car. But i pump in Petronas will more meaningful than his car.

In Malaysia, malay will be more advantages in political, Government, education and even entry in the university. But it won't broke my heart to love my country.

Proton will success in one day and standing beside the BMW. Merz, Audi even Ferrari.

(:p sorry if i was dreaming too far)

• Jason on May 30, 2005 at 9:09 pm

Hey up stair ones, wat funny with juara.

Proton make mistake in designing Juara. U could don't buy it. But pls don't laughing it. Bcoz when you laughing it, other country people also think as same as you n follow u.

In conclusion, something likes make others lagughing wt your poor national car Meanwhile laughing YOU in the same times.

(#@$@#%#$%^@ malaysian design this type of car!!)

Sorry if i too rude

• Thanks bro Jason. Well what can we do to those who like to bad mouth our national car. Like the late John Lennon song "Let I Be" so "Let it be" cos 1 day they we realise wht is the true meaning of contributing towards Malaysia economic. It does not matter what as long as you support for sure things could be better one day.

So far PROTON came out 10 variance models. Probably JUARA and TIARA may not be a success model for PROTON but somehow they tried to come out with better car such as Perdana V6, WAJA and Gen2. Does that mean all PROTON cars are bad?

I am not sure whtr you guys know about this which I got it somewhere from automobile magazine saying that during the Mitsubishi deal with PROTON, Prdana and Juara is a must model to be absorb by PROTON. That is why by no choice they have to sell Juara.

Like wise, i dont think PROTON R&D staff have such a bad taste by producing JUARA unless they have no option (rules by contract). Correct me if I am wrong.

See, you need to know more about your national cars activities before you make such comment. Come on guys, Malaysia started as Agriculture country and now thanks to PROTON we can proudly known our country as semi Industrial Country.

The best part is we Malaysia among the 11 top countries who produced automobile. Iregardless of model or what ever you may say..Proton still selling!

To Gen.2 owner, well I believe that Proton noted about the comments and I trust that they are doing their level best to overcome the problem.

I guess if LOTUS or POSH without deshboard will be ok, but if Gen.2 well!!!!!!!!! Probably I should suggest free luggage for he buyers.

LOTUS design ma…..why MY-VI so perfect ahhhhh….so blind la lu all….

• No comment about CHERY? Wah so good ah??? The limo type car can sell? Well guys, the car is totally nuts!

If you say SASSY is not a good name, tell me about CHERY! What kind of name is that? A food or car?

MY-VI…eeeeeemmmmmm no lah…used to be Malasian product but now already DAIHATSU, so "TAK MAIN la". I still buy Malaysian goods….so sorry guys.

It is ok for me to loose some rather than I sold my country vision to others. I trust one day they will be a major player in the automobile industry…Go Go Proton!.

• Accord Kia on May 31, 2005 at 1:27 am

goverment should minimize the imported car tax….dont try to protect national car…this will cause them "not challenge not improvement"

i will be pround if they think they dare to fight with branded cars.

do u think that our proton car price is cheap??? i not think so….. if the government didnt increse the national tax on imported car. we also can get it the same price for imported car which is more reliable.

wat i wan to say is….proton car is only wan to maintain their selling target…..they just wan to sell cheap which is not relaible and safety.

proton, try to increase car quality and the price is not important if the buyer think that your car is worth.

• too expensive!can't effort to buy.

• Birdman on May 31, 2005 at 4:37 pm

Yes what u are saying is true about the tax but I trust that our gov must have thier rational in ensuring that all Malaysian product is control and do make profit.

Selling cheap is not the issue here, but so far Proton quality tend to improve, I got few friends bought new WAJA Enh, WIRA Special Edition and Gen.2. So far no complaints in fact according to one of my friend the WAJA Enhance is good especially on the turning and handling. I guest they have done their home work.

I personally drove the car from KL to JB at it seems to be fine and smooth. Well I may say that Proton is getting better now..

Sorry readers, I tested and see is believing..

• Ayooo, what is this taking about…no need to bising-bising la about our Proton. I do not know about anyone but I am driving GEN.2 grey color and so far I only having tiny mini problem that is on my CAPTOR system.

That one i think not Proton problem but CAPTOR la..I already call them and fix the problem..Gen.2 ok la…may not be a BMW or Mercedes but I am pround to drive my own country car la…

• Ahmad on May 31, 2005 at 4:47 pm

Halooo, good to hear got supporters for Proton. Otherwise kesian Proton asyik kena hantam je…Ok la brother semua, seriously I dengar new model from Proton boleh tahan. Sporty look and strong pulak gitu..Wah..cc 1.2 tapi boleh pecut sampai 170KM..wah laju nye dengan cc kecil ni..pakai engine apa ye?

Dengar kata dah dekat nak launching dah..so kawan-kawan jangan place booking apa-apa kereta lagi tunggu dan lihat dulu mana tahu better than other cars….

Nak beli kereta national je..baru lepas grad so tak dak duit lagi..so kena cari low downpayment la ….Proton kira ok kot…ada jenama gak..Perodue dah tengok macam kancil diubah suai je..tak sesuailah…

• Deal all readers, I got a few engineering friends at PROTON, according to them the new model is stylish and suites for lady owner and man. It is aerodynamic, stable and power.

The best part of it is that the used some kind of strong metal that can hold up to 2 elephants..They must be joking! But it is true according to them.. Last but not lease the car can easily cut MY-VI and other models within the range.

So we just look and see ye…I tend to change my KELISA..not so stable when you drive up to 140km/ph..esp when turning …I dont like big car so I will only choose small but sporty and stylish. MY-VI look like AVANZA that has be shrunk from rear and Renault from front..funny look la…

• TUQTIK on May 31, 2005 at 5:25 pm

to Accord Kia,if u think price is not important and u can afford for an opt, well go ahead with other imported brands.But pls remember,PROTON is the major TAX CONTRIBUTOR, which helps in developement as well as many people rely to,eg. jobs…etc.

• Jason on Jun 01, 2005 at 12:35 am

Seen that, the war is alreally started but

I suggest that compare those car after coming up………

Thak you for all The Malaysia Car Supporter.

Malaysia Boleh

• i agree with accord kia opinion..

DARE TO CHANGE…PROTON?

• and to TUQTIK…where the hell did u get those info..Please read fact. read books. bye2.

• Accord Kia on Jun 01, 2005 at 1:53 am

eh…proton…the car seems so sporty and stylish but the name is too lousy la….

if your ppl dont know how to name it….pls advertise on newpaper to ask us give your a hand to name it.

’sassy’ is the second worst name than ‘juara’

• Proton Fanatic on Jun 01, 2005 at 2:55 am

Kia even worse, cos in chinese means "Takut" so will that fallunder worse name as well?

By the way, what TUQTIK said is true, Proton is still major contributors towards economic as well as infra for Malaysia.

Who ever comment on that should read more!

Read more The EDGE and other economic books ok!

Regards.

• MAuix@ on Jun 01, 2005 at 7:24 am

Proton, Perodua, Proton, Perodua, Proton, Perodua, Proton, Perodua, Proton, Perodua, Proton, Perodua, Proton, Perodua,

still the same what?

WE ARE MALAYSIAN!!!

• Both sassy and myvi suxx. Coming with some kind of design and than with expensive pricing. Where are the development quality. Every new things come, both adding prices. Both suppose to maintain price and develop overall quality. I will not buy them. I will buy more mercedez rather than wasting money over these jokes. Your price does no matter to me but to Malaysian. Both of you Pro and Pero do not know how to work la. Wasting company money and put a big price to cover your overhead.

Both small cars, sassy and myvi suppose to be 30-35k on the road. or it will give a big impact over your reputation in the next 3 years as government still covering your weakness for many years and you still cannot put yourself together with global manufacturer. Good Luck.

• Frank Johnson on Jun 01, 2005 at 8:05 am

Hey people believe me its not gonna be called sassy … close but not bulls eye … u will find out newt week tho .. cant reveal it … hehehe

• Frank Johnson on Jun 01, 2005 at 8:23 am

Its really sad to read about how malaysians condenming their national automobile .. the right thing is to contribute .. hey cmon ask wat u can do to your country .. I may not be a malaysian .. yet but someday i will .. and as a foreigner I am contributing to your nation by being part of the team to launch your nations pride n joy …

• Frank Johnson on Jun 01, 2005 at 8:25 am

I have seen the car … I know wats it gonna be called … seen the TV ad and I think its gonna be great … just wait n see!

• guys, they have renamed the car to Proton Savvy. Check out my post here

• komen on Jun 01, 2005 at 4:52 pm

Yaa aku sokong pasal korang komen proton…aku rasa proton ni dah tak ada idea langsung laa.kli ni pula model savvy apa benda tuu..dah bentuk pun ganjil bonet langsung tak ada kreativiti laa.

Come On la proton jgn bt malu rakyat malaysia..kalau dulu pasal wira yg di jual lt eropah langsung tak ada harga kt sana dah tu kena kutuk plak orang2 kat sana kononnya proton punya design dah ketinggalan zaman kali ni plak langsung tak kena beli…aku kecewa ngan proton sebab aku sendiri ada guna keluarannya WIRA tp dah jual tahun lepas..masalah nya setipa kali nak gi eligment setipa kali kena tukar chamber..dah tu bumber belakang asyik nak jatuh jee dan begitu juga dgn lampu tepi di depan..skrg nu aku guna KENARI fuhh jauh perbezaannya dr WIRA….apa2 pun PROTON kena berubah dr skrg kerana2 silap2 perodua boleh kalahkan proton….

• komen on Jun 01, 2005 at 4:59 pm

SAVVY…………salah satu jenama tayar yg terdapat di luar negara

http://www.worth1000.com/entries/111500/111679FKm…

• Barry Ong on Jun 01, 2005 at 7:51 pm

Guys,

I may not be an expert in car industries with great analyticals skills like you all but this is my 2 cents worth.

To be a Malaysian, we are deprive of getting good quality car just because of National project, e.g. Proton. Just because of the Malaysia Boleh statement, we want to challenge every single thing out there and be a proud owner of it.

Imagine this, if there is no this stupid car called Proton…..we would be driving good car with 50 – 60k. Just to save guard this stupid project, we are made to pay high price for some filmsy car and also konon to spur up the economy..

What the heck is this????

We were given excuses by the servis assistant whenever we complain abt our car, standard answer to all proton owner is , Biasa lah, ini kan Proton……, to all the mangkuk there, biasa your A**, we spent 60+ thousand to hera your boiasa?????

Wake up proton,if you cant get Malaysian a good car, at least spend some money to train all your servis personnel so that they can handle it more proffesional, not a stupid warung kopi type of excuses…..

Again….. Biasa my A**..

cheers to all.

• Kepada sesiapa yang mengkritik kereta Proton memang bodoh..Kita tak sepatutnya mengkritik tapi kita kenalah menyokong.

• komen on Jun 01, 2005 at 10:55 pm

Hello …apa benda nak sokong klu buatan dia orang tak ada kualiti…..cakap jeee malaysia boleh tp problem power window pun tak reti nak selesaikan…aku rasa org yg sokong tu yg bodoh sebenarnya tau pakai jeee cam org pompuan kakakak….

• ANJANG AKI on Jun 02, 2005 at 12:59 am

aku sedih pada yg hanya tahu untuk mgutuk….tp x ada satu pun cadangan.setidaknya pun bagilah cadangan yg membina.klau dah rasa diri tu pandai sangat,ayoh turun gelanggang,buat sendiri kereta dan biar org lain pula yg menilai.memang senang utk mngata org….Kuman d seberang nampak sangat,tapi Gajah tepi hidung buat2 x reti plak…hampaehhh.Oleh itu pada yg tau dok ngutuk tu sedar2lah ya….

• Hello semua…. saya sentiasa menyokong kereta keluaran malaysia….tetapi tidak sekarang, sekarang saya bahagia dgn kereta buatan toyota yg tidak pernah memberi masaalah sejak setahun digunakan oleh sy. Pada tahun 1996, sy telah membeli sebuah proton saga buatan tahun 1991, kereta ne tidak langsung memberi masalah kpd saya. bila sya bertukar kepada satria & seterusnya wira juga tidak mendatangkan masalah melainkan power windownya yg kerap rosak ttp kosnya agak murah. Selepas menukar kpd waja, sy terus serik kerana sy terpaksa menukar aksober setiap 6 bulan sekali, menukar power window lebih dr 4 kali, dan juga door handle lebih dr 3 kali dan kos membaikinya agak mahal, servis dr proton servis juga amat teruk kerena mengambil masa hingga 1 bulan utk menukar alat ganti yg baru dan yg terakhir kereta sy padam dgn tiba2 ketika sy d kesas highway. puncanya disebabkan cam sensor rosak yg menelan belanja lebih dr RM 1000, sy tidak tahan lalu sy telah menjualkannya dan serik utk membeli kereta keluaran proton lagi, proton pls buat sesuatu jgn sampai tiada org yg percayakan dgn keluaran produk malaysia. GUNAKAN BARANG2 YG BERKUALITI BAGI MENGURANGKAN KOS PENYELENGGARAAN DAN SETERUSNYA MENGEMBALIKAN KEYAKINAN RAKYAT TERHADAP PRODUK MALAYSIA

• azamreeves on Jun 02, 2005 at 1:52 am

well…..after reading all the comment,i can conclude that most of the nasty comment coming from x proton owner.

I'm not a proton supporter but using proton wira due to its price tag which is affordable and yet spacious.

I'm quite satisfide with my car and the spare part can easily find everywhere in KL.But make sure you buy original since i've experience bad time when i buy cheap mounting .my engine start to shaking like hell.

I ask my friend( he is the manager of eon servis at shah alam area),and he told me that i'm buying local mounting product which cheap but can't last long.

Back to our discussion again,it depends on your budget.If you have extra money ,you can opt to buy more reputable car such as toyota,nissan,honda etc..but bear in your mind that this come together with extra expenses for your roadtax + insurance + maintenance + sparepart.

myself dreaming to drive honda accord one day but i'll make sure can afford all the expenses.ehehe

that's all

• kalau yer pun nak sokong kerete proton biar bebetul sikit, memang yer pun selalu timbul problem. rabak ler jugak duit aku nak repair. kerete made in malaysia patut nyer kualiti the first not quantity

• hunter on Jun 02, 2005 at 8:32 am

hey there.

do you know anything about the new wira which is suppose to come out this year.Its' said to be better than the earlier proton….sassay look ok…

• komen on Jun 02, 2005 at 4:26 pm

Yaa betull tuuu..apa plak nak kecoh2 pasal proton. ada yg berperasaan sampai nak marah lebih2 ni ..dah memang betul proton bt banyak kesilapan kenapa nak sokong lagi.sepatutnya proton belajar dari kesilapan masa lalu seperti TIARA, JUARA yg memang jelas projek tak jadi…

kalau TIARA jln jauh sikit dah mati enjin tak tahan panas, kali ni SAVVY plak masih pakai enjin yg sama macam TIARA..selain 2 ada ke patut3 lubang jeee kt RIM …Klu JUARA pula bentuk badan dia sebijik macam keranda orang mati …KALAu waja pula panel pembuka pintu asyik kena tukar baru jee…macam mana org nak percayakan lagi….

• Din Beramboi on Jun 02, 2005 at 4:40 pm

hallo everybody, this morning while flip through my newspaper I come across article about Proton by author Wan. According to him Proton is among the 5 reliable car in UK. This does not come from him but from UK source.

I tak tahu lah pasal apa they can honor our car but not us as Malaysian? Of course la itu ini rosak before this, but majority asyik modified sana sini, tukar absober, tukar rim from standard 15 to 17 or even the biggest they can fit, mana ada jalan beb. Rosak la kereta tu jugak. Like people la, if cannot carry weight up to 100 KG dont try ok, it will hurt yrself and make you look like a fool!

Nak kata Kelisa, I drove Kelisa before, does not suite Man driver at all. The shape totally sissy. Ride & Handling biasa je…Honda, not bad but expensive gak road tax 2.0, maitenance if ikut spare part boleh tahan mahal, there is one time I have to waite up to 4 months for the parts..CRV.

Finally I tukar to Perdana V6, not bad..powerful and interior confirt. So I am happy now with the car.

• Jason Teo on Jun 02, 2005 at 6:30 pm

hmm,

looks like a perodua kerisa on the outside, looks ugly inside, probably doesn’t have ABS, VVT or air bags.

conclusion: I will choose MyVi insteat of sassy

• Accord Kia on Jun 02, 2005 at 10:39 pm

to azamreeves, give me five for Honda Accord.

if the UK source is true about proton is the top 5 reliable car in UK then why malaysian still complaint about it??? unless we are buying those second class proton car which rejected by the UK.

• TRUENO on Jun 03, 2005 at 1:00 am

Paul, i saw one Toyota Trueno park at Amcorp mall, damn cool.man

i heard that Toyota gonna to launch the Trueno again, isit true?

• anjang aki..betapalaa dangkalnya pemikiran anda.

kesian…tak boleh nak berfikir.

• mofamano on Jun 03, 2005 at 9:20 pm

apalah korang ni…bising -bising, bukan nak mengutuk tp proton ni banyak meniru dari mencipta. Dari saga ke perdana cuma pandai ubah kulit saja. Hakikatnya isi semua japun yg punya. Layak ke korang panggil kereta buatan malaysia? Layaknya dipanggil kereta yg luarannya buatan malaysia gitu!. Buat engine cakap cam pro tapi campro nya tak ada pun. Tampal saje sticker.

Jadi kepada proton, gua juga menyokong anda tapi jangan suka menciplak dan menipu org2 yg ada kat kg tu.Gunakanlah kepekaran anda dan duit yg dilaburkan untuk buat design yg dtg dari org malaysia dan berbanggalah .

• komen on Jun 03, 2005 at 11:38 pm

Yaa hidup mofamano!!!! aku skong ko dr depan belakang..betull tu memang tak layak .baik lagi guna duit 2 untuk cipta design sendiri..enjin sendiri..ni asyik2 ambil kepakaran org luar. dulu mitsubishi tp tak tahan nak bayar cukai..ambil pula kepakaran lotus..kononnya dah beli saham lotus…aduh!! proton sedar la jgn bg malu rakyat malaysia..jgn asyik nak tiru..klu nak design kami rakyat malaysia sedia membantu untuk memberi ilham untuk design akan datang…ewahhh

• i do believe that we should support malaysian product. But most of us who buy national car are salaryman, so we dun want to waste time and money to send our car to workshop to fix problems arise from factory defect. Hopefully the QC department in proton will consider this. Althought the design is old, i think Wira still a good car which is spacious and cheap compare to car with same spec.

However i still feel that protection given to Proton all those year are tossed into drain. Now they still want protection!! COme on, compete with other and give us malaysian a fair choice to pick. Don't win the market just because the government push the price of others until so high, win our heart fair and square.

• I'm truely shocked with the degree of ignorance some people like RR is: His comments of 30/05/05 says:

1.nothing wrong to call it “Sassy” or “Sissy – will a naturally balanced man would like to be seen associated w/ sissy? NO WAY.

2. To use ads to prove that Malaysian – I'd have thought a wise manufacturer would use track record to convince. Just read comments from the ex. & present owners, a tree is justify by its fruits not its advertisements.

3. TUV or ISO – please! don't lie to yourself.

4. 60% of Proton cars on the road nationwide – all of them are the victims of the tax structure imposed by Gov. on non national car makers.

5. MYVI's interior is not any better than my Satria but I'm going for it, yes, because they are the shadow of the Toyota's track records, and I fall for it because I don't intend to miss appointments because of the car makers' faults.

6. MYVI with 1.3 AT cost almost RM 52K ++ – at RM51,300 is a damm value comparing to Honda Jazz. While Waja is only a worthy winner compare to Wira. LOTUS!, I guest you have never lived in the UK, the British don't even buy them, there is why they are now in the hand of Proton. I hope the same won't happen here.

7. Yes they are not too bad so long they don't design it themself. Satria & Wira are copies of others too, that's why they reliability speaks. Proton is definitely bigger name, just check who the shareholders or ADVISER are. The share price? you mean it has raised up from RM 9200 to RM 7200 per lot in the past months. That is a DROP not raise.

I'd opt for Proton if they can be on pile with DAIHATSU not to mention Honda. Korean are driving their own national car because their cars sell all over the world, while our cars are sold like a pahriah in the UK.

Stop condeming the national car cos from business perception, they (Proton) is one of the biggest tax payer contributing towards our economic growth – People in Proton are also holding they stomach, laughing. Please do your maths,investigate how much tax payers' monies, the Gov. has pumped in for them to generate our ECONOMIC BLUNDERS. By the way, are you a tax payer? Jason is not yet.

Your last comments: You should be a shame of that!

– Yes, I'm a shame to be seen in a Satria, but in 4 to 8 months time I'll be UPGRADED to MYVI, my vivi. Wake up my friends.

• semut api on Jun 04, 2005 at 10:38 pm

apa ni??????buat perabis duit tabung aje bikin model baru…..dah tu bikin orang nak muntah aje…..tapi tak pe USAHA TANGGA KEJAYAAN …..kalau tak laku letak dalam kapal …tenggelam kan kat laut..dapat lah ikan-ikan tu merasa naik kete ……

• TAN SRI JAMES on Jun 05, 2005 at 5:43 pm

WALAUEH……THIS "RR" IS A REAL PROTON SUPPORTER HUH….ANY SUPPORTER FR PERODUA??

• TAN SRI JAMES on Jun 05, 2005 at 5:48 pm

FOUND ONE…… BY THE NAME"YGS"….. THTS A GOOD ONE……. CHEERS

• TAN SRI JAMES on Jun 05, 2005 at 5:50 pm

YO PAUL THIS IS A GOOD SITE I M GLAD I WAS HERE……. KEEP UP THE GOOD JOB…..ADIOS

• TAN SRI JAMES on Jun 05, 2005 at 6:02 pm

YO CAN SOMEONE SUM UP THE "PROBLEM"….SORY ""PROBLEMSS"" FOUND IN THE SO CALL national car for me…….

• aytam on Jun 06, 2005 at 6:56 pm

Aku setuju ngan pendapat korang semue..memang proton tak boleh keluarkan keta yang hi tec sikit.mesti ade problem..takkanla bende simple cam lighting panel meter kat waja tak reti design..merah membara..macam warna kat neraka je..proton x friendly la.

• angguk on Jun 06, 2005 at 7:03 pm

Wei..ok pe keta proton..buek aku yang gaji kecik ni bolela..

• aytam on Jun 06, 2005 at 7:12 pm

Wei Proton Bangun..Cmner keta baru aku.

1.Power window prblm

2.Bumper jatuh

3.Lampu jatuh

4.Lighting meter merah menyala

5.Pintu susah nak buka

6.Absorber keras

7.Bumbung rendah

Cmner nie tido ke..

• komen on Jun 06, 2005 at 7:39 pm

yaa betul 2 SEMUT API klu tak abis jual nanti bg jee kt MONSTER GARAJ untuk di ubah suai lagi bagus kannnn…

• judge on Jun 07, 2005 at 2:13 am

boleh tahan.80% gagal macam juara dan tiara.

depan dah okey…belakang macam tak best..tepi nampak macam kia picanto… bumper

macam gen2… besar bumper macam…. entah la…

suka ati korang la…pendek kata… tak best…

ingat kan futuristic…hampeh..anyway good luck

proton…semoga laku dalam pasaran???

• judge on Jun 07, 2005 at 2:15 am

one bad thing… to expensive.. 43k for 1.2

redicilous..how about 39k.. ha ha not bad aaa…

• jedi warrior on Jun 07, 2005 at 7:36 am

proton dah wujud lama dari produa,tapi kenapa budak kat proton blum pandai2 lagi buat keta????budak produa lagi gempak!!!Bandingkan keta buatan proton dan produa,interior proton dah la cheaplook lepas 3 bulan mulalah tanggal,berbunyi,terkopek dan macam2 lagi!apasal nie budak proton???tak malu ka tengok budak produa??diaorang lagi pandai buat keta!!tengok kenari,kelisa,kancil,mana ada komplen pasal interior buruk!!!!!

• mr charmy on Jun 07, 2005 at 10:22 am

waduh,penat baca banyak sungguh komen2.bagus,+ve n -ve hehehe.komen saya:

1.savvy,no komen yet but kenape nakkk jugak

ambik sav`VY` tu,follow myVI ke?

2.myVi tu hasil kerja tangan engineer perodua

jugak even for Toyota and Daihatsu.

3.myVi tu xsama kelas dengan

Kancil,Kelisa,YRV,MAX,Mira,Wira,Juara,Kembara,

Gen2 dan sebagainye.lebar,spacious, n konsep

multi-purpose compact.

4.myVi as new option utk m`sian yg terasa nak

guna model ala Honda Jazz dgn harga yg agak berpatutan,tgkla feature yg di standardize.if kata mahal pun because RM tgh xbape bagus.Proton pun face same problem instead of tax lebih from import ckd.

aiyah,ngantuk ah.pls continue.if saya ada duit lebih,saya nak beli myvi.if takat seat span `nipis` tu,i rasa dah sedap cuma maybe leh tukar fabric or beli sarung seat separa kulit.kan lawa tu..siap ada buckle lagi..kenari pun dah sodapp..

gomen,gnite

• Steve Ooi on Jun 07, 2005 at 10:22 pm

A duplicate of Kelisa. Nothing special about the design. Very ugly interior design, not compatible with the exterior. Better redesign the interior to attract buyer.

Anyway, price got to be cheap to attract buyers. Otherwise, the TRM will be a failure of ex Tiara.

• S. Sharath on Jun 08, 2005 at 8:12 pm

Don't quite like the look on the picture, might have a different view after I see it. Looks a bit small though. I think the MyVi is still the better looking of the two. Probably more economical considering that it uses a Daihatsu engine and the Savvy is supposed to be using a Renault engine. I'm having bad Tiara flashbacks.

• ASYRAF on Jun 08, 2005 at 8:41 pm

ENTAH LA..AKU PUN TAK FAHAM DGN PROTON NI…DOK SIBUK NAK KUAR MODEL AND TINGKATKAN KAPASITI PENGELUARAN JER…APE ORANG KAT PROTON TU TAK PERNAH KE TERPIKIR ATAU MEMIKIR ATAU TERPANDANG ATAU NAK AMBIL TAHU SEGALA KOMEN DAN ADUAN MENGENAI MODEL2 TERDAHULU…PIKIR LA CARA NAK TINGKATKAN KUALITI KE..NI TAK..ORANG LAIN KELUAR MODEL…DEPA PUN SIBUK NAK KUARKAN GAK..KALO BERKUALITI TAKPE LA GAK…NI..HMM..SENDIRI MAU INGAT LA…NYESAL DEN..BKN TAK NAK TOLONG "NASIONAL CAR" TP NASIONAL CAR YANG TAK NAK TOLONG MALAYSIAN CITIZEN…SORI EKK…

• azraz `kulim` on Jun 08, 2005 at 11:44 pm

entah lah ape nak dikatakan, bagi pendapat saya Myvi dan Savvy ni kalau tengok daripada mata lasat mcm same lah (MPV) ari tu ada auto show kat juru seberang perai, tengok myvi best gak, rase mcm nak beli, tempat duduk belakang pun luas bleh la kalau nak rase mcm honda jazz tu.. model proton baru ni tak tahu lah nak ckp coz tak tengok lagi, tp kalau pakai enjin mcm tiara tu emm.. kirim salam .. lah, tengok lah apa yg terjadi pada model proton tiara dan proton juara (ataupun lebih dikenali dgn van qoti mengali) tak banyak orang membeli nya.. saya harap daripada semua komen2 ini membolehkan proton terus memperbaiki daripada satu masa ke satu masa yang lain. adeus amigos..

chauu.. chibeck…..

askating azraz 7 Aaadaa….

• river on Jun 08, 2005 at 11:57 pm

yeah, u all r absolutely right, the center of the back of this car is same like the front of Iswara. Some people said that look like a nose for Iswara, now the `nose' is growing at the back of Sassy….

• river on Jun 09, 2005 at 12:18 am

Well, I don't do much investigation about car engine but I always keep my car on the the design of a car! For proton car, anyone ever see Proton Persona? I have seen it through internet and it sure look beautiful. I sent a mail to Proton and they replied me saying that that model is for export ONLY! What the heck!!! They sell the good-looking one to the foreigner and left the ugly one like juara to us. Who they think we are, some cheap craps who doesn't deserve to be seen in a nice car??? Anyone would like a look of of Persona, let me know ur email. I email u.

• river on Jun 09, 2005 at 12:21 am

oh pardon me… maybe too emotional, I mean `keep my eyes on the design of a car…' sorry for the mistake ;-)

• tanea on Jun 10, 2005 at 12:08 am

Any comment on Perdana?

• pejalan kaki on Jun 10, 2005 at 1:28 am

kita ni tak payah buat kreta ko. kan lebih baik belanja duit berbilon tu buat bendalain. buat macamanapun mesti ade yg tak kena. kalau kita mampu kita beli aje kreta import kalau tak naik aje bas. mulut kita pun tak berbuih kutuk our local car industry ni. kalau tak banyak kutuk kuranglah dosa. (this is really a foolish ideakan). pokoknya aku ni dak terlampau tired dengan kutuk-mengutuk ni.lets see all the imported car on the road. perhaps then we have no comment. we not long ago boast to have the tallest building in the world and yet we still squabble about the state of our auto industry. kalau buat referendum semua orang nak naik kreta import kot (mampu tak mampu tu tak kisaklah), mmmm….

• Natalie on Jun 10, 2005 at 4:23 pm

hey..paul..u mean savvy or sassy..make me confused :(

• natalie: it was destined to be sassy first. proton changed the name to savvy later.

• river on Jun 10, 2005 at 5:20 pm

Hey Paul, any other website where we can submit our comment directly to Proton like this? I still feel bad that they don't sell Proton Persona to their own people. Thanks!

• farra on Jun 13, 2005 at 1:46 am

hello all..i`m a malaysian studying mechanical engineering in a university in japan and i`ve always dreamed of having a career in the automobile business in the future..it`ll be great to get some experience with any jap.makers but in the end of course i`d like to settle down in malaysia..meaning proton and perodua are at my top list..why?simple-coz i wanna be a part of those ppl who work up their brain and energy producing things that can be called malaysian cars..i know some ppl who work at the two Ps and u have no idea how hard they work every single day only to be condemned by some ppl who might not even have any idea how a car is developed from the RnD to the production..it`s ok to complain and as somebody said,u stop hear complains only when they are not ur customers anymore..but hey we are all well civilised,educated ppl right?!give those guys some break..if u think they are not doing anything, i think u can be wrong..like c`mon,do u have any idea how old are the Ps compared to the world class honda or toyota?do u have any idea how hard it was for Mr honda(yess the guy who created HONDA)to even survive at the beginning?i learned that in one of my classes here..for ppl here in japan honda and toyota are among their national prides..yes,business is good for toyota at the moment when it might be a bit different with honda,but they both have their fans and their styles..there are ups and downs when it comes to everything..and for the 2 Ps,they may have a long way to go b4 they can be swhere up there and i agree that they need the support of us ppl of malaysia..who else?it`s common to look up to sthing from the outside..we in malaysia say woooa when we see a honda integra or nissan skyline on the streets of KL, believe it or not the japanese still say waaa when they see a left-side driven BMW or mercedes..it happens everywhere..but of coz,the brands usually come with quality..the same thing u choose a nike over bata when it comes to snickers..a perodua engineer moght be driving an integra to work but still he works till midnight to make sure the myvi can be launched successfully..i don`t own a car but yes i`ve driven both their cars..kancil is a bit kecik for me and proton saga is swhat old fashioned but they are ppl out there who like their kancil and saga..some ppl are rite about the problems of proton cars..and u`re right to be angree since u paid for them but these ppl designing the cars don`t do it on purpose i believe..and the ppl at service centres..they might need some more training..not only technically but also maybe manner-ly if u know what i mean..but then i think it`s the malaysian style lah..from the ppl at the cashier counters at the supermarkets to ppl at the the air-conditioned offices..we still lack the mental of serving ppl right..we don`t really get TQs when we pay at the counters,we are followed the whole time we`re in a shop like we just escaped from prison and so on..maybe i feel these things coz things are very different here in japan..u have to believe that i got culture-shocked everytime i return to malaysia for the holidays!it`s a trouma to get in teh shops!what i`m trying to say is that TRY to look at this thing in a bigger perspective..the ppl who work for the Ps have their own jobs and things are tough on them..some might take things lightly when some might be very hardworking..what about us?can we really say that whatever we`re doing rite now, we`re doing it perfect?can we say that we`re the best in our field?

i hope we can be proud for these two in the future, if not for now.

• zamri on Jun 13, 2005 at 9:12 pm

buruk buruk dan buruk….

• James Ikhbar on Jun 14, 2005 at 5:35 am

Money talk and bullshit walks…. Please do realize the reality that we manage to get ideas from other, studying it and make good use of it. We (Malaysia) are still in the early stage of managing the capability to create and manufacturing cars.. We are developing. What is it about Japanese cars compared to ours…. None of you guys knows how to even build an engine! Proton was there then Perodua… they are learning and making in progress. Like it or not, ask yourself… how deep is your pocket! The choice is individual and do not comment nor speculate. Never judge a book by its cover nor who wrote it. Take it or leave it… any assumption and any negative comments… keep it to yourself.

• ntahsape2ntah on Jun 14, 2005 at 6:19 am

sape kata kritik bodoh…

kalau takde kritikan camne nak maju…

tapi apa yang dikata tu ada betulnya…

lihat pada masalah yang dihadapi oleh kereta malaysia…

setiap keluaran mesti ada problem…

kalau lima dalam seratus mungkin kita boleh terima …

ini setiap keluaran semua masalah yang sama…

dah tu hantar ke pusat servis "yang dikatakan pakar" for that car… still sama… takde improvement.

orang macam kita ni je yang beli kereta2 tu… tuan2 dalam tu mana nak pakai… heh duit diorang banyak tentu dia beli kereta import..

hehehe

• "proton"!.only know how to rally car to show off but also japanese made car there used.only know how to Cline other people shit!.at the end back to Malaysian people who burden Tex only spent to people who don't no how to manage our country like people who in charge on it.proton management don't even know how to do business

• Malaysians people loos the confident on our national car! if can on the same bugged sure people gone go for japanese made car.that is not fair when the export model car the quality is much more batter even our own country made we not even enjoy our own benefit country management is like shellfish, only protect their own people who don't no how to do something at the end our country who safer but benefit only for 1,2 people only.

• From my point of view, "Malaysia Boleh" and respect our local product. I as Malaysian proud that Malaysia can produce such as good and compact car. It look nice in and out, but me as a driver looking foward for the team researh and development to upgrade the extensive of safety. Some car manufacture always compare our car to their product and tested as dummy. So please have more concern about the safety of the driver. "Life more important". Thank you.

• irene on Jul 06, 2005 at 8:34 am

from what i've read from all the comments…i'm scared to buy any car…i decided to buy savvy at first but after hearing all the comments, i think i better give a thought first….

• Asmadi on Aug 09, 2005 at 7:13 pm

Saya baru setahun memiliki Proton Wira Aeroback SE. Mulanya dulu saya pakai Kancil EX660. Satu yang mengecewakan tentang Wira… Hanya sedap bawa pada hari pertama je. Selepas itu saya mula dengar macam macam bunyi dari kesemua pintu, deskboard, dan seatbeltnya. Kereta ni pulak pantang dijemur, Kalau jemur komponen dalamannya akan reform dan inilah punca bunyi bising tu. Ramai kata, pasang je radio tak dengar le bunyi bising tu. Pada saya itu cadangan bodoh. saya memang elegik dengan bunyi yang tak menyenangkan tu. Baru baru ni Oil Seal di bocor dan saya terpaksa hantar EON untuk gantikan komponen tu. Dalam seminggu lagi saya akan jual WIRA saya walaupun baru 9 bulan pakai. Sorrylah proton… Dalam hal beli kereta saya kira saya tak perlu patriotik lagi. Lantak pi hangpa nak bankrup, aku takkan beli lagi keta jenama proton. Biar orang kata aku bankrup sebab tukar kereta kecil balik daripada tanggung kereta yang takde kualiti. Masalah masalah lain kereta Proton Wira SE.

1. Bunyi angin masuk

2. Cat Nipis

3. Spotrim lembut mudah bengkok

4. Pickup tarak

5. Deskboard Container bergegar tak berhenti henti

6. Pintu berbunyi… mungkin centre lock yang bergayut tu hantam dinding

Kalau nak cerita banyak lagi… So yang lain…pakat pakatla jual hangpa punya proton…

• i'm an owner of the new PROTON SAVVY a.k.a the so called Germany approved car. and im VERY-VERY DISSAPOINTED WITH THE CAR!!!! the first day i recieved the car, i have problems with the alarm. the emergency light flashed on all the way while i drove. I called upon my car dealer and we went to the Proton Edar headquarters. They told me that the problem is simple. they called it "OVERSENSITIVE ALARM". well i didn't mind. they repair it and i continues using my 2 weeks old SAVVY car. but what shocked me the most is, a week later, while im on my way to my hometown which is 180-200km my car was shut down. the problem? OVERHEAT CAR! luckily for me, i have a friend with me at that time. it was 7.30pm. i was confused because i have checked the car condition before i start my journey. we fill at least 20 bottles of water in the tank but still th tank was empty. my friend checked the car condition and he found out that the hose that link the water to the intercooler was pulled out. further investigestion revealed that the proton people's FORGET TO PULL THE PIN THAT WAS SUPPOSED TO TIGHTENED THE HOSE…!!! I STILL HAVE THE PIN WITH ME!

WHAT HAPPEN??? WHAT THE HELL IS THE GERMANY 100 YEARS EXPERIENCED COMPANY IS DOING? THEY PUT THE "TUV" STICKER IN THE CAR AND STILL MAKE THE SIMPLEST MISTAKES THAT MIGHT HAVE DONE GREATER DANGER TO ME!!!!!

NOW I HATE THE CAR!!! BUT WHAT CAN I DO???

PROTON'S YOU BETTER ANSWER ME AND THE WHOLE NATIONS FOR THIS. I BELIEVE, I WILL NOT BE THE ONLY ONE….!!!

BE CAREFULL WITH THE SO CALLED" BUILD TOUGHER THAT YOU THINK" CAR!! YOU CAN NEVER THINK ABOUT IT!!!

• Ameer on Sep 13, 2005 at 7:41 am

From my point of view, why Malaysian car was honoured by UK company as the most 5 reliable car in their country is because the car for UK market known as UK Spec..They made a car a better car for UK market..I.e : Satria in UK using Satria GTi body..But here, Satria body using Satria body, not strenghten to GTi body (or perhaps R3 body)..Correct me if I'm wrong, but it is a reality..

I drove a Japanese Daihatsu Turbo car year 1992 but till now, thanks God, no major problem at all..Even though the price for my car is only RM14K now, but it is more reliable than the local made car..Sigh..I am proud of my car..I don't need to change an absorbers twice a year..My absorbers now three years old..Wonder why? It is Made in Japan!!!!

• MIssy on Sep 28, 2005 at 1:00 am

Can someone help me? What's the market value for a proton tiara now? Want to sell and then can go buy a perodua kelisa/myvvy? Oh 8 1/2 years old . one owner.

Do check your language before sending in your comments. Jason especially. I mean your mistakes are there forever for all to see!!

• anak jawa on Oct 20, 2005 at 7:59 pm

aku rasa proton merupakan kereta yang baik di dalam kelasnye….

tidak di nafikan ada 1-2 masalah..dalam qualiti proton…..buktinye..sudah 6 tahun aku pakai proton…tiada masalah….

aku tetap sokong proton..cuma…bahagian q.c….tolong improve sikit..jangan makan gaji buta..sebab anda proton di caci…..long live proton…

• azami on Nov 11, 2005 at 10:59 pm

saya telah menggunakan 3 buah kereta buatan msia-proton-( sebab sparepart murah dan mudah).

Pertama iswara sedan 1.3 : Komen saya kereta ni perfect,,tiada masalah langsung dari segi dalaman dan luara..cuma hampir 6 tahun pakai pintu dan bumbung dah naik jerawat….ini lah masalah utama proton…

Kedua Wira 1.6 Auto : Demam saya pakai kereta nie sebab banyak sangat problem..pertama gear box, kedua trottle body ( 5x tukar) ketiga injun dia manja sangat,,,takleh buat kasar2,,nanti enjin semput2 wpun sudah tuning dan macam 2 lagi…

Sekarang saya pakai Waja 1.6Mt : Baru 5 bukan pakai..so far ok cuma dari segi dalaman kurang sikit…dash board terlalu simple dan quality rendah berbanding dengan wira. Bila terletak di tengah panas cover dekat dgn radio tertanggal…lagi satu terdapat bunyi2 yg kurang menarik,,puncanya saya rasa terlalu berjemur di tengah panas,,tu yg ada bunyi tu…getah yg mereka pakai terlalu rendah kualitinya…

Lagi satu nak bagitau kat hangpa semua….semua kakitangan proton yg terlibat dm pemesanan barang2 dari vendor selalu makan rasuah dari vendor2.Tambah 2 lagi bahagian QC,QA proton yg selau kena suap rasuah oleh vendor2 yg terlibat dgn proton nie. Barang kualiti rendah pun dpt masuk sebab dah di beri rasuah yg melampau2. Ini lah Punca nya kereta nasional kita yg sering menjadi tanda tanya kepada masalah2 yg tuan2 dan puan2 utarakan.

• santha on Nov 17, 2005 at 11:38 pm

Hhhmmm apa yang boleh saya buat menggenangkan kereta buatan malaysia PROTON ialah menggeluh sahaja..Saya baru membeli kereta PROTON GEN2 1.6 tak sampai satu minggu pun telah membawa masalah.Semasa saya dalam perjalanan balik ke KL dari kampung halaman kereta baru saya breakdown…sayapun terperanjat mana boleh kereta baru buat masalah..saya terpaksa panggil breakdown team di kampar dan juga terpaksa bayar duit towing sebanyak RM100 untuk bawa ke service center…inilah padah memilih kereta PROTON dan juga saya diberitahu bahawa enjin kereta saya ada major problem..apakah perasaan anda jika dibagi tahu sedemikian namun itu merupakan kereta baru…SAYA HAMPA…BETUL BETUL MENYESAL..senang dia katakan tinggal saja kereta kerana akan memakan masa untuk membetulkan iaitu (1 bulan ) kita membeli kereta untuk digunakan bukan tersadai di service center..setiap kali saya call kesana untuk mengetauhi status kereta..mereka menjawab belum periksa…APAKAH INI DINAMAKAN KHIDMAT PELANGGAN..tak ada fitback langsung.enjinlah yang penting kepada kereta kalau itupun sudah membawa MAJOR PROBLEM!!!!!!…apa boleh dikatakan tentang PROTON…jadi saya ingin anda jadikanlah penggalaman saya sebagai pedoman…FIKIR SEBELUM MEMILIKI PROTON YANG TAK ADA STANDARD….

• Proton pasaran Malaysia, kualiti rendah, tiada air bag. tapi pasaran luar negara, kualiti tinggi, dashboard cantik, siap ada air bag. (tengok gambar atas – Savvy)

• ZeckLuvM'SIAN on Nov 22, 2005 at 5:08 am

What a shame!!! You as a malaysian citizens should support our industries. Have you ever wonder, car is just a car man, you have no right to put a blame on proton…ask yourself. Make an ideal comparison, is it worth it to buy Vios which the price approaching RM90K.??????. The decision is yours. But for me…malaysian made is the BEST.

• ZuelleMendoza on Nov 30, 2005 at 3:40 am

Hai….kiter ni baru bercadang nak tukar Sporty Iswara Special Edition (kaler grey jer tu) ke Proton Savvy.So,sebelum kiter bertukar keta,saya rasa elok tgk komen negatif & positif ttg Savvy.Knp saya tak berminat dengan Myvi?Sebab hari tu saya htr keta I tu servis,so terdengar lah 2 org pengguna cina yang menggunakan keta Myvi…ermm dua-dua pakai Myvi,sorang kaler grey sorang lagi kaler merah.Diorang kata banyak probs dalam keta Myvi.Then hari raya yang baru lepas ni,saya berpeluang tengok keta Savvy orang pakai.Kawan-kawan saya bagitau, diorang lebih suka tengok Savvy dari Myvi.Savvy nampak lebih ada ‘klas’ dari Myvi.Savvy nampak lebih tough dari Myvi.

Bagaimana pulak dengan Kelisa?Sebab kawan saya baru-baru ni beria-ia sangat nak beli Myvi…Tetiba jadi Kelisa.Bila tanya,kenapa tak Myvi?Alasannya; Kelisa senang cari parking.Ermmm…Yer ker?!Tapi sebelum tu, dia buat lah perbandingan antara Savvy dengan Myvi dengan test Drive kat Proton Edar….So saya pun tompang sama…nak rasa Savvy ni cam mana….Nice juga cuma roof dier rendah sangat sebab bila sampai kat bumper,kepala terhantuk.Lagi satu persoalan besar ni,…kenapa gear reverse dalam Savvy ke depan (macam masuk gear 1 pulak)?Yang tak biasa memang hancur lah depan keta tu….

Pening kepala ni nak buat pilihan…nak beli keta import mahal giler…Ada yang murah sikit pun kecik sangat.

Macam mana ni?!!!!

• ZuelleMendoza on Nov 30, 2005 at 9:44 pm

Hai Santha…kesian lah keta u tak lama pakai sudah breakdown……Running keta belum sampai 1000 u sudah bawa balik kampung.Nak cuba try test keta baru lah…konon nya hebat….mana hebatnya keta blum service 1000 sudah terhegeh-hegeh bawa balik kampung….cam ala2 anak dara melalui malam pertama tau kalau nak diibaratkan dengan keta….masih baru,bawa pelan pelan…tak kan gelojoh sangat serk!!!!

• DANNYARYAN on Dec 02, 2005 at 7:32 pm

YTH.

Saya mempunyai masalah dengan mobl saya,mohon kiranya bapak memberikan informasi kepada saya daftar harga sparepart.karna mobil saya mengalami kerusakan ( kecelakaan) sedangkan didaerah saya belum ada toko/ dealer sehingga saya merasa susuah untuk memperhitungkan biayanya.

• DANNYARYAN on Dec 02, 2005 at 7:33 pm

YTH.

Saya mempunyai masalah dengan mobl saya,mohon kiranya bapak memberikan informasi kepada saya daftar harga sparepart.karna mobil saya mengalami kerusakan ( kecelakaan) sedangkan didaerah saya belum ada toko/ dealer sehingga saya merasa susuah untuk memperhitungkan biayanya.

atas perhatian bapak saya ucapkan banyak terima kasih

• zuellemendoza on Dec 19, 2005 at 8:52 pm

Hai sumer,…

Akhirnya genap 9 Disember 2005 yang lepas, buat julung-julung kali nya saya memandu Proton Savvy dengan rasa bangga nya.Terasa seperti memandu kereta mewah pulak rasa nya memandu savvy ni.wala!!!!

Rasanya ter lalu banyak pandangan negatif terhadap kereta Savvy ni…memang buat permulaan agak dingin sambutan orang ramai terhadap savvy.Tapi saya percaya suatu hari nanti Savvy akan melalui nasib sama seperti Kenari dahulu……

Akhir kata dari saya sebelum sesiapa yang mengutuk Savvy…

BELUM CUBA BELUM TAHU!!!!!

• wildan (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 9:24 pm

hahaahhah korang ni madang kutuk je la sampai aku nk kutuk pon dah ade org kutuk heheehehe haha proton wira aku kacak bergaya 1.6 weyyy bertahan selama sebulan satu bende membanggakan bile aku tukar power window 2 kali selama satu bulan enjin nth la nape je buat hal adeiiii proton buatla terbaik sikit biar mahal asalkan kerosakan tak de adeiiii comeon la proton ……

• protonsux (Member) on Dec 04, 2006 at 6:41 pm

Proton is really a crap.Or u can said that it was a babarian car. Do u guys notice that most of the roadbully or rude driver r proton driver.They r uneducated, low standard and full of jealousy. Even a korean car is simply better than proton.

I saw a damn lousy proton wira challenge a toyota celica before, come on man. Lousy wira that can't win many cars trying to challege a powerful foriegn car. Of course the toyota celica win easily, i just wonder why malaysian driver particularly those proton driver, they like to cari pasal with those car that is far more powerful than them. I even saw they challenge BMW or Benz, however usually BMW or Benz dun even bother to race with them orang kaya memang orang kaya. Hey most people know that BMW or Benz can win u easily la if they really wanna race.

If those proton driver is full of jealousy or lack of car knowledge. Then i suggest that u should drive motorbike.

• ahmadmckk (Member) on Jul 06, 2007 at 5:19 am

thank god the current savvy is better than this one. just ugly

• mariyam on Dec 09, 2009 at 4:48 am

hello…saya baru je pakai kereta..saya pakai wira terpakai..1.5 n tahun keluaran 2002…wira tu automatik..

masalah saya:

1)kereta bergegar bila bawa perlahan semasa nak membelok dan parking….

2)bila tekan minyak nak memecut ke 60/70 km sejam, rasa tak best…kerana kadang2 pedal minyak mcm terhenjut..org kata kereta auto memang mcm tu..betul ker?

3)bila saya nak membelok atau masuk simpang,semasa nak wait turn(tunggu kereta lain jalan dulu), saya tukar kepada N..ada org kata tak bagus..tapi kalu saya berada dalam posisi D n just tekan break kaki, stereng n dashboard akan bergegar…

tolong saya..huhuhu

• tttuuuutttt on Dec 10, 2009 at 12:45 am

pesal awk report masalah kereta wira awk kat sini?salah tempat ni

• keflyena on Jan 22, 2010 at 2:48 am

saya perlukan pndpt.ok tak klu saya beli gen2 yg terbaru.telah di ubah suai dan guna enjin campro cps.ada tak masalah yang berkaitan kereta ni yang patut saya tahu?