Toyota Innova Launching on the 27th

Toyota is set to launch it’s new Toyota Innova model on the 27th May 2005. This is the latest in the range of Toyota people movers known as the IMV platform. IMV stands for International Innovative Multipurpose Vehicle. Toyota created this platform when they realised their people mover vehicles in most countries were looking pretty dated.

Most of you might have already heard of this model as it’s pretty hot in Indonesia as the Toyota Kijang Innova. It’s a true 8-seater model unlike most 7-seater MPVs.

There are two models available, the 2.0G and the 2.0E. Both models come in either 4 speed automatic with ECT or 5 speed manual versions.

The Toyota Innova is powered by a 2 litre 4 cylinder 16 valve DOHC VVT-i engine which is good for 100kW (roughly 135hp) and 182Nm of torque. This is an improvement over Toyota’s previous flagship budget people mover the Toyota Unser which only has a 1.8 litre engine with no variable valve timing.

Some of the features that the 2.0G has are ABS, driver side air bags, front ventilated discs, rear drum brakes, 15 inch alloy rims and a CD player with MP3 support.

The 2.0E model does not have airbags or ABS but everything else is pretty much the same except the trim level with a bit of chrome here and there and better interior.

Both the models have those really pretty Optitron meters which I really like! :P And they both have load-sensing proportioning and bypass valves.

Some of you must be wondering what is this “Load-Sensing Proportioning and Bypass Valve (LSP & BV)”. It’s something mounted to the rear suspension of a vehicle and it senses the weight distribution of the vehicle and automatically varies the amount of hydraullic pressure put on the rear brakes. This helps reduce rear-wheel lock-up during braking.

How much does it cost? Toyota’s website has listed them so I’ll just list the prices in Peninsular Malaysia.

Individual Private Company Pvt Commercial
2.0G Auto RM 102,900.00 RM 103,788.00 RM 103,718.51
2.0G Manual RM 97,900.00 RM 98,781.50 RM 98,677.89
2.0E Auto RM 92,900.00 RM 93,773.70 RM 93,629.14
2.0E Manual RM 87,900.00 RM 88,768.50 RM 88,596.64

This will be a great alternative to the Naza Ria and to people who don’t really like the dated look of the Toyota Unser. It kind of reminds me of the more expensive Toyota Wish because of it’s design.

It’s not known whether Toyota will launch a diesel model anytime soon, but since it has done so for the Toyota Unser, we can presume there might be a diesel version for the Toyota Innova in Malaysia. In other countries, there is a diesel option for the Innova runing a 2.5 common rail turbodiesel.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• William Chiew on May 25, 2005 at 10:10 pm

one cannot match Toyota's quality…

• surfnux on May 25, 2005 at 11:34 pm

Quite expensive. :p its 76k in Indo for 2.oE Manual. But I can say, this is classy and got class kind of car. Interior is very smooth compare to Avanza which is kinda rough.

• Daniel Ong on May 26, 2005 at 4:10 am

A worthy buy especially when i thought of getting Naza Citra which is in the same price bracket. A diesel powered will be great. I dunno whether i can wait long enough though. I'm sure to sell off my Wira Aeroback of 2 years which is full of problems now. I wonder what's the waiting period?

• limct on May 26, 2005 at 4:43 am

thanks for the reviews!

• Jonahdiary on May 26, 2005 at 4:44 am

I think this is bigger version of Toyota Avanza. One can easily figure out between Delux and Normal version by its side molding at the car doors. With side molding one is the deluxe version.

Anyway, inevitably this car is high petrol consumption. Now I'm waiting for another new landcruiser of Toyota which will be lauched within next few months.
    www.dancewithshadows.com/toyota-fortuner-india.as…

• Hey Paul, your blogs could actually become one of the best source of knowledge and entertainment for alot of people as it helped me to get updated and know more about my interests – car, technology plus a little of makan and life. Could use a bit of light traveling! It's simple, always updated with the latest trend but please keep up one crucial element: practicality! I think I belong to a group of who knows the basic yet wish to know more technically yet not straight into sea of engineering terms! It has entertaining values…ever thought of being a teacher or guru?! hahah…

I wonder if you have ever thought of helping crowds like us – who owns a simple car (while knowing which car exactly we will buy when we strike that damn lottery!) would like to learn more of the basics of essential of car's maintanence, and finding ways to improve it a little by little. So how about a simple faq section of what are engines and absorbers, simple gadgets to make driving fun and cool and etc…?

• Jonahdiary on May 27, 2005 at 3:07 am

Correction:

It's not deluxe and normal version.

Toyota Innova should differentiated by higher end and lower end version. Or G and E version.

• jonahdiary: in some countries there's actually a trim level higher than the G which is the V spec version.

• narrowband on May 28, 2005 at 12:11 am

I think this car will be a hit. The Unser's production has stopped and all units have been sold, and Innova is gonna be just as good, if not better. Toyota really tapping into this market very well… First the Unser, then the Automatic Unser, then Avanza.. Now this. They're just what Malaysians love. Phenomenal popularity!

• ManInGermany on May 31, 2005 at 6:31 am

This vehicle can surely accomadate my family of four plus my parents and in-laws ALL at one time. What is the fuel consumption like?… anybody please!!

• jonahdiary on May 31, 2005 at 6:34 am

ManInGermany: of coz the fuel consumption like drinking water. but from the study tht toyota guy has done, the fuel consumption better than & more efficient than Naza Ria.

• kashif on Jun 01, 2005 at 10:23 pm

Actually i want to know any updates in regard of toyota fortuner abt. when it is coming to india or launching in india.

• jonahdiary on Jun 03, 2005 at 5:32 am

urhmm…i only know Toyota Fortuner would be in malaysia is about august…

• jonidi on Jun 14, 2005 at 8:15 pm

Here i post the Innova's selling price in Indonesia. I dunno who is cheaper ? may be u can tell me abt this.

RM 1 = Rp 2500

TYPE E

2.0 Gasoline 5 M/T STD Rp. 139.500.000,-

2.0 Gasoline 5 M/T Rp. 147.500.000,-

2.5 Diesel 5 M/T STD Rp. 155.000.000,-

2.5 Diesel 5 M/T Rp. 163.000.000,-

TYPE G

2.0 Gasoline 5M/T Rp. 167.500.000,-

2.0 Gasoline 4A/T Rp. 181.000.000,-

2.5 Diesel 5 M/T Rp. 183.000.000,-

2.5 Diesel 4 A/T Rp. 196.500.000,-

TYPE V

2.0 Gasoline 5 M/T Rp. 194.000.000,-

2.0 Gasoline 4 A/T Rp. 207.500.000,-

2.5 Diesel 5 M/T Rp. 209.500.000,-

2.5 Diesel 4 A/T Rp. 223.000.000,-

SPECIAL EDITION

2.7 Gasoline 4 A/T Rp. 270,000,000,-

(with VVT-i, ECT, Dual Airbag, ABS, MID, Multi Function Steering, etc..)

• m.mithun kumar on Jul 18, 2005 at 6:41 am

TOYOTA INNOVA (an example of LUXURY)

• well toyota is sleeping in launching the toyota fortuner, when its goin to be launched in india?

• After seeing the Toyota Innova it's no consideration at all of getting a Naza Ria or Naza Ctira which fuel consumption just like drinking water, Innova is a worthy buy.

• sunny on Aug 16, 2005 at 9:15 pm

It's a good family car for us.

• Kenny Sun on Aug 20, 2005 at 6:25 am

It was a good car and luxury but too long waiting period.

• Richard on Oct 11, 2005 at 1:07 am

From Thailand.

I visited the show room and liked the Innova the most for my purpose to haul around my growing family, weekend trips to the beach etc. Other option is a Ford Everest with 2.5L turbo diesel. Innova I think is more stylish for its MPV class. Almost convinced to buy an Innova, because its a Toyota and will have a better resale value than a Ford (imported from US), I called Toyota Bangkok head office to see if the Innova Special Edition is available here in Thailand. The girl (from public relations) said no. Carrying out the conversation, the Toyota PR girl told me Innova is not too popular with Thais. I asked her why do Thai people not like the Innova. She said because it was imported from Indonesia. I asked what is it specifically about the Innova that Thais don’t like about this vehicle. She said "because its like a can". Obviously this girl should not be working for Toyota, but I am grateful for her candidacy. I now realize, that if I buy this car it will be based on my own taste, not what the masses think. However, when it comes time to sell (4 or 5 years down the road) looks like the masses will dictate the re-sale price. Sorry Toyota Thailand, you need to work on ithe mage of this car. Looks like I’ll go with Everest (which by the way is no comparison for quality- Everest being better).

• Jared on Oct 11, 2005 at 1:34 am

Avanza, Innova, Hilux and Fortuner are rip-offs. Because of perceived good brand power of Toyota, they are now building cars just for the Asean market.. Why? I don't know. This sort of stuff will not sell in Japan or US or Europe.

All the models are not available in Japan, the build quality is less than what we use to have from made-in-Japan Toyotas.

And imagine, a bare-bone Hilux is just RM90K++, you stretch the body a little, and add two extra rows of seats … voila… you get the Fortuner at RM190K++.. They even share the same dashboard and meter panel, with only that of fotrtuner improved a little to reflect the higher premium and more luxurious image.

I won't buy faceless Toyotas for the amount of money… better opt for Wish or Estima or Harrier.. at least they are real Toyotas..

• Jared, you must remember pick-up trucks have not much tax, which explains the significant price difference. But that aside, I agree the Fortuner is too expensive. Should be around 150K.

But I agree with you on one thing lah, those IMV cars don't really feel like Toyotas.

• testanchor752 on Nov 26, 2005 at 11:10 am

testcomment19

• Who_cares on Dec 30, 2005 at 4:07 pm

Yeah! i bought one in the Philippines but i havent driven it yet. They told me its kinda luxury feel to it. Well i dont know much about it yet til' i get there. Some of the comment pretty much help me wonder a bit more wherther if its a good car or not. but toyota dont make junky automobiles so i figured i trust you all in words wise lol. I hope it wont break down on me unlike Korean car.

• apexi_66 on Jan 03, 2006 at 5:08 pm

Read this Forum for more info about this model

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 5:22 pm

This car would look a lot less awkward if it sat closer to the ground, and with slightly bigger wheels. In its current state it looks like a tall van with normal doors in place of sliding doors, and with a front engine instead of one under the driver's arse. That's how I see it…what do the others have to say? =)