Converting your Perodua Myvi to a turbo?

You’ve got a Perodua Myvi. You got fire-hot looks. Even hotter if you have lips, skirtings and nice sports rims slapped on. Now you got to give the car a motor worthy of it’s fire-hot looks! :P

The premium model Perodua Myvi comes with a 1.3 DVVT DOHC engine designated the K3-VE. This same engine is used in most 1.3 Daihatsus like the Daihatsu YRV, and of course the Toyota Avanza and the Perodua Kembara DVVT.

To make the Daihatsu YRV go even faster, Daihatsu added a turbocharger with an intercooler to it’s already powerful K3-VE engine. This makes the engine have one of the highest output and torque for an engine of it’s class. The turbocharger kicks in from low-boost RPMs to provide excellent driveability. The DVVT mechanism continuously adjusts the valve timing according to engine speed.

This makes the K3-VET a formidable performance engine. You can enjoy thrilling power at high-end RPMs and hard weight-pulling torque at low RPM.

Engine Specifications

Displacement in cc 1298
Engine Model K3-VET
Max.power (Net), kw(PS)/rpm 140 ps (102.97 kw) / 6400 rpm
Max.torque(Net), N*m(kg*m)/rpm 18.0 kg*m (176.52 N*m) / 3200 rpm
Engine type In-line 4 cylinder DOHC 16-valve Intercooled Turbo
Cooling System Water-cooled
Valve Mechanism Horizontal Ranging DVVT
Fuel System Electronic Fuel Injection (EFI)
Turbocharger Turbocharger with Intercooler
Fuel Type Unleaded Regular Gasoline
Compression Ratio 8.5:1
Bore, mm 72
Stroke, mm 79.7

A K3-VET in a Perodua Myvi will be FAST! The Myvi is only 953kg, and the K3-VET puts out 140ps. That’s some crazy power-to-weight ratio. The downside is YRV half-cuts only come in 4-speed automatic. Manual fanboys will have to find some other alternative.

Other related Perodua Myvi posts:
Perodua Myvi
Perodua Myvi TRD Bodykit
Perodua Myvi Logo and Test Drive
Perodua Myvi Launch
Perodua Myvi Colours – The Myvi Rainbow
Perodua Myvi Specifications and Price
Perodua Myvi Interior
Perodua Myvi Engine Bay
Perodua Myvi Technical Datasheet
Perodua Myvi Photos From The Showroom
Perodua Myvi Forum
Converting your Perodua Myvi to a turbo?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• NO COMMENT..

• nurul evolution on Mar 29, 2010 at 7:01 am

bajet dalam berapa kalau nk convert turbo ni?

• hazwan on Sep 05, 2010 at 1:39 pm

aisayman…. mahal gak tau… engine half cut paling mahal RM6k.. paling murah RM 5k… tu tak termasuk upah pasang lagi… kurang2 RM 600… tp bila dah convert memang berbaloi bleh sama pick up ngan kete 1.8… JPJ pun lepas cause cc sama ngan engine asal…

• in kedah…..have a some body want sell turbo engine RM8000.00.
      if u want convert all for your myvi car……in RM10,000.00 all….you just drive if you brave or not…..

• daniel on May 03, 2011 at 1:50 pm

bro last time my brother test b16a dengan yrv turbo last time at hiway plus utara selatan. yrv enjin have good launching with myvi lighten body. i follow with my old skool car 13b rew. third gear can be 190kmh.. nice.. but cant bet my old skool car la. here i like 2 know how much hp for yrvturbo?

• NO COMMENT.. I'M REALLY LIKE THIS CAR..

• Andrew on Jun 02, 2005 at 5:12 am

Paul,

Have you actually driven a Myvi? The looks are good, but what concerns me the most is the handling and the operation of the car! More feedback on this please!

Thanks

• Paradon on Oct 04, 2010 at 12:36 pm

I am currently owning a Myvi SE. Regarding on the handling I would say just install stabilizer bar in the engine bay, 1 front anti-roll bar under the front and 1 rear anti-roll bar under the cargo side (Using Ultra Racing brand, all these 3 for RM630). Since our local cars are being called “tin Milo” these will increase your rigidity to bend-and-twist force in longer run.
      Changing the stock hard absorber to softer or fully adjustable might help reducing bounce feel during cruising on our wavy highway. Keep on using Continental tyres, they are performing really well.
      Hope this helps

• Is the 4 speed auto on the Myvi identical to the one used in the YRV turbo? Or is it a different beefed up autobox used for the turbo? Input please, this is interesting.

• Wai: I've actually checked up on the gear ratios for the Toyota Avanza, Perodua Kembara DVVT, Daihatsu Terios, Daihatsu YRV Turbo, and the normal K3-VE YRV and they all are using the same gear ratio for the 4 speed automatic. So I presume the gearbox is the same model, although the turbo gearbox might be built stronger? Not sure.

• antlvk on Jun 02, 2005 at 5:37 pm

piston need to be changed as compresion is higher on MYVI… or turbo will be on lwer boost cannot fullfill 140HP

• antlvk: transplant terus only, not bolt on :P

• freebsd on Jun 04, 2005 at 2:12 am

Dont forget to upgrade the brakes and suspension when you upgrade the engine. hate to see the myvi to be like those kancil turbos moskitos on the road.

• Paul can u in anyway find out which manufacturer makes tha turbos on the K3-VET or the model or code of the turbo? Thats gonna make it alot easier for us future MyVi owners to maybe do a bolt-on job for the K3-VE for compatibility's sake. Thx

• antlvk on Jun 04, 2005 at 8:54 pm

recommended only those myvi with abs to upgrade to turbo….

4x disc brake not always good.. with bas then good….

fast don't kill but skidding does.. hahaha

• F-R: i think it's a TD04. TD025 seems too small.

• Paul Tan,

I would like to ask u….I have bought MYVI but I wanna add turbo in that K3-VE engine….do u know where can add it(turbo)? how much?

Thank u….

• can anybody tell me what is the top speed of myvi coz they say trm is much power than myvi

• tommy on Jun 18, 2010 at 7:19 am

top speed on 15 rim i reach 165 then i think it cut or slow down by itself

• Ezmil on Jun 08, 2005 at 11:17 pm

You can always "rojak" the 5 speed manual box from MyVi 1.3 with the K3-VET engine. Dump the auto box. Surely your MyVi will fly :-) The only thing is to find a suitable heavy duty clutch to cope with the power.

• the myvi handles like crap!!!!test drived it.what a pity the myvi looks good but was let down by its lame handling.

• JRspeedtrekker on Jun 09, 2005 at 4:55 pm

is it true NIL?…or ur standard is just too high…have u benchmarked (compare with Merce, volvo,or bmww, eh)…ur honest opinion will help me determine my decision whether to buy one or not…anybody else have other opinions?…

• Rosli on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:52 pm

Paul Tan,

Any info on fuel consumtion of Myvi?

• tommy on Jun 18, 2010 at 7:29 am

my myvi on 14 rim orginal did about 410-420 on the highway,after i change to 15rim with 195/55 tires was reduce to 370-380, speed was not constant from 100 to 160

• P2 salesman on Jun 10, 2005 at 10:44 pm

take it easy…. we have yet to see more MyVi on the road, already you guys talk about Turbo.

• myvi..gempak la

• Ammed on Jun 17, 2005 at 9:09 am

Can anybody give me rough idea about the body part for passo TRD Sport?

• any one can tell me how much is the YRV turbo half cut cost????

• atong on Jun 22, 2005 at 10:11 am

dear paul

i'm wondering if i wanna convert myvi into a turbo, do i have to change d whole thing or juz add on to d original 1.3DVVT myvi's engine? thanx

• atong: both also can. but if you bolt-on, because of the different compression ratios and also because of reliability, you can only boost low bar, around 0.3 to 0.5 bar.

• mr. Paul Tan is there a possibility that i can convert my newly baught Myvi from right hand drive to left hand ?

if so where can i buy the parts needed for it?

pls email me back for some answers.

thank you.

iSko (philippines)

• tommy on Jul 03, 2005 at 9:50 am

Mr Paul Tan, I'm thinking of buying the Swift. hows your rate/comparision with the Myvi. Everything from engine power/acceleration to handling to braking…to name a few. whats the top speed for myVI and swift.

• usin ali on Jul 19, 2005 at 4:51 am

hi paul.. n u guys

since u're the man.. perhaps you could do me something huh.. wanna find out actually… wats d price of these absolute gorgeousness trd sportm bodykit n its availability… the turbo bolt-on cost… engine transplant cost… supercharging possibilities perhap.. ahaks… hmm.. thought that you might ave some ideas on this..

regards…

• usin, for the prices i highly recommend you check out the Perodua Myvi Forums instead. There's a community of Myvi owners there. Some of them have already found out the prices for bodykits.

i don't know much as I don't own a Myvi.

• is dvvt more powerful compare to vvt-i?

• Ashes on Aug 06, 2005 at 12:53 pm

I've read sumwhere in a Myvi forum, the passo TRD sport M body kit will cost around 10K++ in a shop in sumwhere in bangsar. Ouch.

• Ashes on Aug 06, 2005 at 12:54 pm

I've read sumwhere in a Myvi forum, the passo TRD sport M body kit will cost around 10K++ at a TRD shop in bangsar. Ouch.

• HwaQC on Aug 09, 2005 at 4:10 pm

if Ashes is right, the 10k++ tag for the sport body kit is surely high…maybe theer are other more practical things that one can upgrade to add confort rather than just look…anyway the car is not bad looking what!…well people can just do crazy things just to beautify their baby and accessories people will defionately reap more than the ir fair share…its very easy to add some beauty with that amount of hard earned money but to earn it with your swea is really realy hard…think twice…somebody else will always have better modified baby than yours…think many times!

• paul, where can i find modified kelisa models? n btw, im kinda confused with daihatsu's models of sirion and coure… thankx.. :)

• shaharjuna on Aug 18, 2005 at 5:10 am

waa..i already booked myvi 1.3sxi..have to wait b4 hari raya puasa to get..what size of sport rims should i put?any recommendation guys!

• shaharjuna on Aug 18, 2005 at 5:20 am

i ve already seen myvi with full of passenger and its dame lowered..look not nice and i think its must not very well driven during the corners..anybody have experience wit this?myvi's owner?

• Vincent on Sep 01, 2005 at 11:22 pm

Sorry if this is out of topic. As the fuel price going up the roof, can turbo charging the engine helps to reduce the Fuel consumption? I am driving a proton wira (2001) and is looking at the possibility of using TD025.

If it is possible, what is the minimum setup required? Can we just bolt it on and use it?

Thank you.

• alongso agis on Sep 11, 2005 at 6:15 pm

nak tanya ket sapa sapa tau, mana leh dapat body kit myvi,nak cuba nak cari tang mana,saya ket puchong

• Sadam on Sep 13, 2005 at 6:14 am

The K3-VE engine is a powerful engine, but the engine used in the Toyota Avanza, Perodua Kembara DVVT and Premium model Myvi was a DOWNGRADED version of it because the original K3-VE was a turbocharged engine, designated the K3-VET. It's truly unbelievable.

• Joegioamani on Sep 15, 2005 at 11:12 am

Why upgrade to so powerful?!? I think nobody have racing licence here. We earn our licence of driving safely, not dangerously! Seriously think and look around those who have accidents. I'm not scare of death but the people around us will suffer.

• would tranpslanting the K3VET into the MYvi be worth it? i mean. its still new and of course the K3VETs come only in halfcuts. the engine can still run. until the time comes. and problems come out of the original K3VE then i think converting to a turbo is optional.

• Noor Salamon on Oct 03, 2005 at 7:55 pm

There's nothing wrong with myvis infact i'm found out that it is

practical for the Malaysians usage , whereas at the same time it's

fuel saving . Whatever kind of cars came out in market we as human will never ever satisfied …..if so i suggest to those whom might concern the most you'd better makes your own car so that other people may put condemn on you ….

• I really like Myv so much,n would like 2 own it, but the INTREST …… mmm… is realy NOT FAIR.. to high,, Can anyone do something about this ??? just compare 2 Proton!!! If only the intrest is lower… thanz 4 da imput !!!!

• may i know where to get those sexy bodykits and roughly how much is the full set.. please get back to me.. desperate to pimp my myVi…

thanks LOADS…

• AdamHussain on Oct 24, 2005 at 5:10 am

Joegioamani, don't jump into conclusions. Everyone wants to drive safely, including those who drove tuned cars. Never blame the car because of an accident, blame the driver who thinks that he's a champion racer of the roads.

• Sadam on Oct 29, 2005 at 5:58 am

I would like to dedicate this to Joegioarmani. Where on earth did someone asked for a racing license just because of installing a turbocharger?

You think a racing license is FREE!? OF COURSE NOT! Upgrading a car does NOT need a racing licence, because racing licence CANNOT be retrieved from a tuning workshop. It's up to the user whether they want to upgrade or not. No one would ask for a racing licence unless they want to participate in races in Sepang.

• Tuning_Professional on Oct 30, 2005 at 3:21 am

I totally agree with Sadam. Only a STUPID person would ask for a racing licence just because of increasing the car's horsepower by 10 bhp.

• Tuning_Professional on Oct 31, 2005 at 2:33 am

Dear HEE, the DVVT and VVT-i are equals. I don't know which one is powerful. Nissan uses the CVT system similar to the DVVT and VVT-i.

• Tuning_Professional on Nov 01, 2005 at 12:14 am

An important note to everyone including Joegioarmani (although out of this topic). Who says that we must drive safely with our normal licence? Even the guys who have racing licences prefer to drive safely. No one can neglect the safety of his car when driving. Even in racing cars, they always say 'SAFETY FIRST.' If you look inside the racing car, you'll find that it has been strengthened with tower bars and body rigidity increase in order to make the car much more safer and so that the driver never gets serious injuries when an accident occurs. The comment Joegioarmani posted was totally WRONG. No car driver can kill himself unless if he neglected the safety features of his car.

• nasrul_5210 on Nov 01, 2005 at 1:37 pm

This car really cool but if its been put on turbo spec its must be more excited for me to drive it

• Tuning_Professional on Nov 07, 2005 at 5:26 am

Dear Joegioarmani, You should think twice before sending your comments. I've NEVER seen someone trying to tune his car by buying the tuning parts and the racing licence. Now imagine this- If you want to tune up your car and you asked the workshop owner this question, 'excuse me, do you have any racing licences in here?' And what answer did he gave? 'HERE'S YOUR RACING LICENCE!' And do you know what he gave to you? The answer, the PELEMPANG! Totally STUPID!

If you take a look at Sadam's comment, what he gave is totally correct.

-Racing licences CANNOT be retrieved or earned from a tuning workshop

-Racing licences are NOT free or even cheap like HELL.

-Car tuning, must need racing licence?=STUPID!

• kumar on Nov 07, 2005 at 4:36 pm

converting to turbo intercooler is to heavy for balancing

• Brian on Nov 19, 2005 at 6:23 pm

Can kembara use this "tubo intercoller" ?

How much the petrol consumtion after intall this "turbo intercoller" ?

This thing cost how much?

• Some info from K3-VET Daihatsu YRV 1.3 Turbo .

0-100 = 7.2sec .. faster than 1.8Satria GTi 7.6sec

haftcut price for K3-VET = rm7k+ with piping,steering,engine,intercooler,etc++

YRV using tiptronic , so eventhough using auto, u switch tp D gear , and then press the accelerator RPM going up like crazy , then at the steering just click , the gear will change .. like F1 ..

• Adi lotry on Dec 14, 2005 at 8:21 pm

Yea i like it..the engine is same with my kenari`s….its powerfull in performence but its also powerfull in cash…so anybody wants to buy this engine…..think twice…the engine cost about RM9000k

• camper_davidyong (Member) on Jul 16, 2006 at 10:43 pm

can i have more information on the turbo-charger for 1.0 myvi manual transmission? Price? need 2 convert to 4wd? parts that comes along or need to purchase additional parts. tq.

• darkteror (Member) on Nov 22, 2006 at 10:42 pm

im a noob in car so can we install turbo to the normal myvi engine without buying the halfcut engine?

• kiz0202 (Member) on Dec 21, 2006 at 8:52 pm

siapa tahu dimana ader jual enjin YRV turbo dan berapa harga dia, call me..01265151113 zaki

• AcuraVtec (Member) on Jan 28, 2007 at 10:03 am

Hi guys,

Dvvt, Vvti, etc..kinda same system/variable valve timing/ but the output depends on models and specs, etc. to weight, etc. which is showing real deal power. Myvi 1.3 eats 1.5 Sohc cars.

Converting NA to Turbo, doesnt mean that racing is the reason. It will help u to climb hills esier, overtake some 70kmh huge vehicles, kick some asses that always thought their car is so mahal and faster than ur cheap ride and pist u off by vroom vroom u…its such a wonderful feeling when u trust ur car..raises ur confidence to drive even safely.

My Vtec rides always make me happy.. 200bhp NA & 250bhp Trb. Im Sabahan, from The Land Below The Wind..Banjaran Crocker, Gunung Mas, Gunung Alap..among the very challanging journey to face..tougher than the smooth road in the Innitial'D i tell u. p/s no way to reach Gunung Kinabalu by car. The roads had taken many lives especially beginners.. just like the black EVO in the I'D movie, and some 'U' corners we called them U Turn, Widow Corner, etc. 1.5 Sohc macam wira suffers a lot than the 1.3Dohc dvvt Myvi.

If u planned to add turbo in 1.0 myvi, better dont. Just buy the 1.3…

• CALVINLAI (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:27 am

Paul Tan , if i need to install the K3-V3T to my kembara (manual) it is possible , or you have any recomended ? how about KJ-V3T ?

• CALVINLAI (Member) on Nov 08, 2008 at 11:33 am

my kembara is 2003 year 1.3 manual DVVT

• halllo every one,us thinking 1st,turbo n na who powerfull ?

is me na was powerful then turbo,u know y,i say na speeding can speeding very long but turbin very fast habis lo,tat i know…

• jalak kumpangan on Jun 09, 2009 at 8:09 pm

I think Kuala Kubu (Selangor) to Raub (Pahang) route is the craziest and toughest and Tapah (Perak) to Kg Raja (Kelantan) route is much tougher than Tamparuli- Ranau route or Tambunan-Ranau or the original Tenom road. And much tougher than Initial D route. I've driven most of Malaysian road (except for Bintulu-Limbang). From my experience, MyVi has one of the worst cornering ability for new cars considering the high COG. Turbocharging is not a very wise consideration as pressing the accelerator during cornering will tend to understeer the car very-very bad. Using K3-VE alone is already bad let alone using K3-VET.

Yes, turbocharging will help overtaking and hillclimbs, but MyVi can never be considered and never will become a sporty car as for the handling. (The handling is OK for beginners and ladies but not for high adrenaline drivers. Not agree with me? Take our MyVi to MME or Sepang 1000km and may be it will take us 3 and a half minutes to do a full lap)

• am_peejay on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:23 pm

can somebody tell me how big should upgrade my exhaust sytem for my myvi turbo(bot).coz i just bot my car…exhaust system is still standard..i dont know how big should i do..1.8inch 2inch,2.2 inch…thank you..

• Hamzah b. Samsudin on Sep 01, 2009 at 8:22 am

Hi Paul,

Could u guide me 2 how 2 modify MYVI 1.3 Auto(2005) by using turbocharger? Is there other things that need 2 upgrade too? Plse let me know how much the total budget and name the workshop that r doing this modification.

Thanks.

• justin on Sep 24, 2009 at 7:29 pm

how much if i buy a myvi come with turbo?

• JKQ 7781 on Oct 06, 2009 at 6:28 am

I already see myvi with bolt on turbo, but i don't know how they set the turbo bar,maybe below 1.0 bar. Some said the piston must change to racing piston,some said better change the engine.

• Rahim on Apr 28, 2010 at 8:40 pm

Have anyone know, where to get engine YRV turbo manual transmition? It’s a little bit ‘susah’ to get this type of engine..

• zahry on Sep 09, 2010 at 11:58 am

is thre any option other than turbo.? i mean supercharger @ upgrade to 1.5 engine.? can we put avanza 1.5 engine to myvi.? can it fit in? will the result @ difference in hp/top speed be better than standard engine.?

• May I know where did Malaysia get half cut YRV? Why not get the full YRV car rather than to fit into a MyVi?

• MYsia on Apr 26, 2011 at 9:33 am

Because Malaysia didn’t have locally sold YRV. Imports will cost a bomb. Most people that have buy MyVi for years and then feels not enough power from the stock engine will go for YRV half cut for the most trouble free upgrade.

• ingin tahu on Mar 26, 2011 at 1:02 am

enjin mini cooper s blh covert ke myvi x?

• ingin tahu on Mar 26, 2011 at 1:03 am

enjin mini cooper s blh convert ke myvi ke x?

• boon07sport on Apr 10, 2011 at 2:51 am

betul kawan sayer stuju, dlu syer pakai k3ve, skang sayer pakai k3vet, dgn gsr boleh tapau gsr, future plannin block oversice,walbro,trotle oversice, nak beat gsr rs full perfomence plak

• Hariz on Aug 23, 2011 at 8:40 pm

I just bought myvi with Yrv engine in it. May i know what is the boost for stock k3-vet?

Is it 0.5 or 0.8 or 1bar maybe? Haha

• Fahlavei on Oct 22, 2011 at 12:13 pm

Who ever planning or in the mid of converting their Myvi to K3-VET / YRV Turbo please sell your DVVT N/A engine to me with a reasonable price so I can install into my wife’s 1998 Kembara, pity her she have to struggle with that old engine and also consume high fuel to work everyday. Pls call me 012-3033958

• Victor Chan on Jun 30, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Hi…im a myvi 1.3 owner, how much is the turbo charger price? And how do i find this turbo charger in Kota Bharu? Im very please if someone get me this information becos im very need this turbo charger..

• want to ask,engine vtec can put on myvii??

• fradz jones on Apr 26, 2013 at 6:46 pm

hi..i’m a myvi lagi best se1.5 owner..i want 2 ask,can i install turbo bolt in my car? can u tell me what risk i get if i install it? engine can tahan or no? i really need this info..help me

• Myvi original bolt on turbo, don be over 1bar boost.. Transmission tak tahan..

• I drive an cuore and i fitted the 1.3 k3ve sirion or myvi engine in and im running 15 aswell and using dunlop 165/50/15 on 6.5jwheels and my top speed that i reached with this NA engine is way more than 165km/ph 2nd gear i go 90 3rd gear 140 4th clock it in full 180+km/ph and stil sit with 5th gear but the 5th gear engine refs is high for some reason some times sounds if im stil in 4th gear and double check just to make sure but its also an very nice upgrade for me so far and im stil running standerd brakes and standerd cuore suspention non abs brakes only thing i stil need to sort out is the wiring on the cluster only fuel gage and spedo works where the myvi spedo works on abs sensors u can feel tje car torques alot more than with the 3cylinder engine but i miss the 3cylinder wngine sound becuase my head was gasflowd and had an branch fitted had an awsome sound stil thinking of fitting the k3ve2 sirion engine i bought bouth with subframe and all zar9500 k3ve i know stock is 68kw and the k3ve2 kicks out 78kw but was thinking of fitting bolt on turbo on the k3ve dot know what to do actualy wanted k3vet yrv engine in my cuore.