Possible Proton Savvy Interior Shots!

A little bird passed me these photos of what could be the new Proton Savvy interior. I must say it really really looks good. Has a bit of BMW feel in it.

I do not know if this is the real Proton Savvy as it was given to me by an anonymous source through email.

Click more for the rest of the photos…

Really nice and smooth curves. The Lotus-inspired dashboard meter design that’s in the Gen2 and the Proton Saga LMST is still there. Good news is there’s a glovebox unlike the Gen2. Twin cupholders at the gear console area. Satria GTi type of silver trim around the gear console.

Two main meters. The meters have a yellowish back. Very sporty.

Very very very nice custom designed Clarion integrated CD player. I really love the silver and black design. Big volume knob in the middle makes it easier for the driver to reach and feel to minimize distractions when driving. The buttons are big and clearly labelled. The player has a red LCD panel.

Air cond vents adjustment. Hope that they don’t break or something like Saga/Wira/Satrias.

A sporty steering wheel which reminds me of Audis. Proton has been using this steering wheel design alot. It is even in the new Perdana V6 with the Alfa grille. I like the design. But volume and track skip buttons on the steering would have been nice. I don’t see any there.

Here is the gear console again. This position of cupholders make more sense over the Wira/Satria cupholders as in the Wira/Satria they block the air cond vents.

Check out the meter panel. Seriously looks very nice. Red coloured backlight.

Gear position indicator in the middle, which I presume is for the automatic transmission models?

Here seems to be Proton’s attempt at fixing their “crazy fuel meter” problem. It seems that both the fuel and temperature indicators are digital on an LCD display. Also displayed on the LCD is the clock and mileage. Let’s hope this will be in the final product… it looks great!

The CD player area again.

A shot of the seats. Look at the front windows. There’s some kind of unique curve to it where it goes downwards a bit after the door knob. I wonder why it’s designed like that.

Rear seats.

An overall view of the interior.

Overall, I have to say I like what I see. Not that I don’t like the Myvi’s interior. I like them both! But interiors do not make the car. Since these are just photos we can’t say yet what the build quality is like… but it looks very promising.

Let’s see what happens after the launch of the Proton Savvy on the 8th next week!

Related Tiara Replacement Model posts:
Tiara Replacement Model Available For Booking
Tiara Replacement Model On The Road
Tiara Replacement Model Again
New Tiara Replacement Model Spyshots
Tiara Replacement Model Ads in Newspapers
Proton Sassy – The Name for the Tiara Replacement Model
Proton Savvy: Proton Renames The Sassy Tiara Replacement Model to Savvy
Proton Savvy Launch this 8th June
Possible Proton Savvy Interior Shots
Proton Savvy Photos
Proton Savvy Quality Control TUV Audit
Proton Savvy Launch at 5pm today!
Proton Press Release on the Savvy
Proton Savvy R3 ?
Proton Savvy R3 Concept at Proton Edar Mutiara
Proton Savvy Automatic to get Renault’s Quickshift 5

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Impressive!

• Fashionasia on Jun 04, 2005 at 12:52 am

quite nice wor…..look wise i think Savvy "is potentially" nicer than Myvi. But then Id trust Perodua better than Proton. Hope after all your research we can heed your advise at which is a better bargain. Cheers!!

• i disagree. i think myvi won the interior war by the look of these pictures. the design just looks too proton-like. at least myvi is hip and trendy. myvi 1, savvy 0

• Lee Wye Jon on Jun 04, 2005 at 2:01 am

Wow! IMHO this is a lot better than Myvi's interior design. I wonder about the plastics though.

• crash on Jun 04, 2005 at 2:09 am

Lawa Giler….! Can 'hit' the myvi lah…

• Okay design, but the execution… …duhh… still leaves alot to be desirable.

Hated the big single slab plastic panel on the Gen2 inner door panels. Really cheap to the eye & to the touch. Brings down the interior feel of da car alot. Looks like Proton's repeatin their mistake on this new model.

Why can the Myvi's inner door panels shine with a quality feel, with a nice mixture of hard/soft plastic & cloth trim?

One will question with Proton's capacity & years of experience in car-making, why cant they just spend a little more(thoughts & money) to put together better inner door panels(for this car) with adequate design and more essentially–adequate quality?

& the inner door panels look so thin, what like 2cm thick? The occupant will feel kinda insecure when sittin inside the car.

I'm not being critical about Proton as our National car-maker. But again & again they seem not content to amend their mistakes.

In this case, they're trying hard to design a nice interior… …but for quality? Try harder

• Freaky on Jun 04, 2005 at 2:48 am

Eh?

seems more detailed than Myvi eh..

at least giving the feel of they wanted to show improvement on their new car.

• In this case, they’re trying hard to design a nice interior… they got that right… but for quality? Try harder

• I'm feeling jealous…

• Freddie on Jun 04, 2005 at 3:33 am

i'm frederick walker, who was quoted in the star today and i have to say i'm excited about the interior of the car. i booked online and crossed my fingers but i'm gaining confidence that proton are doing their job. plastics look better too.

• Kenneth on Jun 04, 2005 at 3:47 am

"Let’s see what happens after the launch of the Proton Sassy on the 8th next week!"

You called the Savvy a Sassy again :P

Anyway… if that's really the interior, it's a big improvement from the Gen2.

• kenneth: alamak, accidentally! :P

• karheng on Jun 04, 2005 at 5:04 am

"Savvy…." smirks like the black pirate in Pirates of the Carribean….

• karheng on Jun 04, 2005 at 5:10 am

but honestly….Proton can sometimes be all looks only…it may look good…but the quality can be left to be desirable

• Mellissa on Jun 04, 2005 at 6:15 am

It kinda looks a bit cheap and tacky to me. Not that I'm a huge fan of the MyVI's interior either, LOL. Now a car with a nice interior — the Volvo .. ahhh.

• deutsche leute on Jun 04, 2005 at 7:36 am

volvo? nice interior?with that flat thru pastic mid panel for the audio headset u mean?..nah not that begeisterung.take a look at the new e90 3 series bmw.now that what i call pure dirvin xperience…

• jonahdiary on Jun 04, 2005 at 8:51 am

An old joke on proton which i think it's true. If Proton QC personnel found out there is small defect, they will say, biarlah mekanik luar yang buat!…..8(

• akari on Jun 04, 2005 at 9:23 am

how come i totally cant accept the new interior look of this car? or i got proton fear? the air-con part is really make me faint, n hope the real car's quality will better than these photo are seem to be made by cheap plastic, is the big hole on the left for dustbin purpose?

• Chapree Da Grande on Jun 04, 2005 at 10:10 am

well, when it comes to interior, it's all personal choice. Later, there will be some hello kitty doll on the dashboard or car models added by their owners regardless MyVI or Savvy or any car outthere…*LOL*

There's not much difference between this one and MyVI interior…personally, I like this one better. Hope it's an actual product (regardless which ever model proton want to put it)…not clay model *LOL* Quality? Pictures doesn't mean anything…got to go feel the real deal first hahah~

• akari: the big hole on the left is also in the wiras, satrias and putras. it's for you to keep stuff.

• Yo Paul, when this baby gets introduced to the public, we'll go check it out kie? Looks promising. I'll bring the ixus. :D

• auyongtc on Jun 04, 2005 at 7:03 pm

sounds like a date… i better not tag along :p

• I still can't accept the design of the steering it can't match to the deskboard design.it is just too big I think….and where they place the clock…???

• SHT: the clock is at the meter area. in the red lcd.

• mr charmy on Jun 04, 2005 at 11:01 pm

aiyah.i dunno bout proton`s study but from my fren of myvi designer,they took the feasibility study bout da space and userbility of user very strictly(probably for compact car & under Daihatsu n Toyota).u can see that everything in proper position and easy to reach even sometime it makes the appearance not so attractive..

>just my opinion

• sometimes there are some words are better left to be unspoken…..like HIDEOUS

• Potong on Jun 05, 2005 at 2:03 am

Three generations of proton cars is more than enough for me!!!

• auyong, *grrr*…

/me smacks auyong & tries to get paul to help

come along lar, it'll be fun… stalking the car launch :P

• Is that a window winder handle i c on the back door panel? Wat? No power windows at da back?

• auyongtc on Jun 05, 2005 at 3:54 am

Haha… I smell something fishy… smacks me and get paul to help? :p

Cannot lar, I'll be in Tokyo that week :(

• Leong on Jun 05, 2005 at 5:21 am

I don't know you guys. The design do looks nicer but somehow look like the 80'S!!!!

• Fredo on Jun 05, 2005 at 6:14 am

I previously owned a Waja 1.8. What I can say is better do a bit of research especially on the cost of the maintenance charged by Proton's SC. They really know how to rip their customers off. Most of us had to resort to service this car at a Renault specialist workshop as Proton's SC mechanics are totally dumb on how to troubleshoot it.

I am not going to go on rambling about my problems but for buyers of this car…good luck and make sure you have lots of free time cos you will end up spending time at the SC.

+ve comments on the TRM, good effort on the design part…the rest, will judge later when its out!!

• skyline on Jun 05, 2005 at 6:23 am

walau…tis 1 oso is car ah????proton r not standard la…..so cheap design!!!a bad car la….aii…..

• too plasticcy. unacceptable built quality. cheap plastic dash. However, good design.

• akari on Jun 06, 2005 at 6:02 am

Paul: yea i have a wira with that hole too which i doubt when i meet serious accident the air-bag really will come out to safe my life or not =D but the hole on this car is a XXL and almost face on sky d =.=; hope that's my eyes mistake that i still cant see the bottom of the hole =.="

• Bad Guy on Jun 06, 2005 at 7:23 am

Look at the pictures, my heart was broken cause the income tax I've paid (5 digit a year), part of it had been inject into a company that produce such a terible design and quality car. No harmony at all. Worst is the Gen2 style steering. I'm wondering what is the motive of lauching this model. To ask some sympathy from somewhere and hope the protection will be extend and more money to be inject? Now I know why peoples don't wanna pay tax. I rather buy an old AE86. Anyway, if this car sell at RM12k each + 2 years warranty and parts' price listed at the all showrooms and service centers, I have nothing to say but have to appologise for what I had said.

• Bad Guy on Jun 06, 2005 at 7:46 am

After 20 years being a PenTanSaGua, I hope some high paid personal from the manufacture will feel shame when they receive their pay every end of the month! But I guess they probably won't, cause they are driving luxury vehicles and laugh at those poor 20 years suppoters and say : I'm not PenTan, but you are SaGua…hahaha!

• uh..bmw lookalike navi/ice system, but only ICE and NO navigation and etc.what a cheap copycat. NO airbags,i presume NO abs also. NO rear power windows.omigosh..what a shame..even the old tiara has 4 power windows.UGLY outdated style meters! lose to MYVIs 100 times. aircond controls are located so damn low.having a hard time adjusting the controls in the waja already.very distracting to driver. rear headroom looks very small..even gen2 my head already hit the roof..i wonder what abt this joke2? only interior colour scheme is good,only part that wins the myvi. overall this car is really anoter JOKE by PLOTONG.when will they ever learn?? even the old tiara is more practical. GEEZ man

• captjoe on Jun 06, 2005 at 6:31 pm

just a bunch of blind bashers whom make their statement base on hatred,anger and selfishness.Seem like those bashers are Mr Know-Everything

Keep up your good work Proton..seem like they applying continous improvement…anyway..hey…it just a third attempt ma…they learn so much from Waja n Gen2 tough lesson.quite good la for third attempt if like this..

Cant wait for SRM and Proton Ultimate

• LOOKS WAAAAAAAY BETTER THAN THE MYVI INTERIOR.

• proton boleh on Jun 06, 2005 at 8:27 pm

WAHLKAU!!!! WAT A NICE INTERIOR….

DO U BELIEVE TAT PROTON CAN DESIGN DIS KIND OF INTERIOR….

• angle on Jun 06, 2005 at 11:45 pm

not bad lah,but i'm still more prefer MYVI,p2 myvi is the best!!!

• what's heart of the car, DOHC, SOHC?? if not DOHC, point– then like DVVT function?? The heart of the car make a lot of diff. also. Hyundai built own engine by less than 20years car making experience, malaysia car maker (i mean proton)… >20years with lousy quality car fit with foreign engine. I wonder why proton can produce better quality if the car is export to other country(double quality standard??) In malaysia, just chinchai QA buyoff… waiting to see the quality of the sawy…

• Accord Kia on Jun 07, 2005 at 2:10 am

i tell you….the interior is best but the exterior is KANASAI.

• Proton Owner on Jun 07, 2005 at 6:16 am

My 5 year old Proton Iswara 1.3S sedan looks much nicer than this weird looking car!

• bit disappointed… i thought with the help of lotus, nicer look of the car will be came out but for me, this car exterior design seems to be …. uncreative. Myvi may be the better one

• i prefer myvi :P

• to brother2 kat atas sane:

sendiri makan pengat,

sendiri mau ingat..tok sah

gado2..dua2 malaysia gak!!

yang gado2 org malaysia gak..ishish

malu sihh..peace malaysia!!!

yiipiiee..andreandre..ariaba..yariaba

*aku gak yang best naik bas je..haha*

• Plastick again

• batman on Jun 07, 2005 at 11:29 pm

kira OK la ni….

kereta model lain yang hodoh dan banyak masalah pun orang beli…. tak bising pun

• montoyol on Jun 08, 2005 at 12:59 am

kenapa kalau produk yg ada logo proton jer,seolah olahnya ada yg tak sudah…..tapi kalau produk yg sama guna logo tayatala,kutibala,kiakitala…leh plak terima…hai dah memang dasar tak senang dgnhasil org.

• bard_pakai_waja on Jun 08, 2005 at 3:09 am

just wait and see wat the full specs and showroom inspection gonna be….

winner:

1. the clarion audio system well second to none!

2. the meter panel looks better than gen.2 but the red lights just distracting u at nights (u'll know why they put the all te caution lights at the panel (engine, heat, battery) plus handbreaks lights and the doors ajar lights red.. )

3. the dashboard walllaweiihh trim like bmw loorrr

4. the cushion.. nicely trim and color to perfection

5. exterior.. front looking nice (somewhat like evo 7.. correct me if i mistaken

loser:

1. again renault engine.. how much the oil filter gonna cost dis time??

2. to much plastic on the side door's panel.. same wif gen2??

3. the back seat window aint power window

4. the air-cond controller.. same like waja… down under just the position change

5. exterior: The back looks odd and small

dunno:

1. SOHC?? DOHC??

2. the luggage capacity??

3. the engine under the hood layout??

4. any reason for the front door's curve??

5. the user friendly… i know dis sound stupid.. but many of the cars nowadays are developed for the drivers easiness and less distracted by the car itself

6. the front wiper… is it gonna be like gen.2?? or gonna be like perdana or waja?? where the wiper is off.. it will be invisible from the inside..

7. Are they use those cheap hooks to hook the front and rear bumper to the chasis??

This is just my 2 cents…

• ggstr on Jun 08, 2005 at 4:15 pm

komen camnie la bagus… takde berat sebelah

• proton sarsi on Jun 08, 2005 at 5:27 pm

so it looks like now proton will use the same steering wheel design on all model. At least there won't be that silly campro logo on this baby!

• Pretty cool…..

• dont fight2 lorrr!!!!…. tefuk dada tanya selera which one u`r like it… keindahan itu subjectif

Y all of u nak fight2…. nonit la…. ok!!!

cancincaau

• river on Jun 08, 2005 at 10:58 pm

Whose idea to putting the twin cupholder there??? Meter with yellowish back? I thought it changed color after the long-term sunbathing…. hehe

• no-nonsense on Jun 08, 2005 at 11:11 pm

They should sell this savvyparila at rm8,000, with dated interior like datsun 120Y & kapchai style meter reading i think proton saga 1985 model is better.

• laila on Jun 08, 2005 at 11:30 pm

nice interior looks for cars less than 40k….

• j.low on Jun 08, 2005 at 11:50 pm

Always remember, Proton is Dr. M ,Dr.M is Proton.

• cincai kira on Jun 08, 2005 at 11:52 pm

Have a good laugh when visiting proton showroom today !

• Zerglink on Jun 09, 2005 at 12:04 am

It look like mini waja… and the name sucksss!!!

• Saya setuju gan saudara mantoyol & batman. kalau nak compare gan kia picanto lagilar buruk rupernya tapi orang bli gak coz kete import. Tak suka tak payah beli. membazir air liur jer…

• hardly cheated on Jun 09, 2005 at 1:28 am

see what happen to Juara Naga & tiara, won`t they ever learn a lesson.

• ken koh on Jun 09, 2005 at 4:56 am

aiyah! First batch car aren't stable yet. do u all still remember Gen2? many problem occured…

• The apperance copy Citreon (C3) design but using Renault engine.. It looks like "Rojak" again. I prefer Snow model…

• aboy gurun on Jun 09, 2005 at 5:30 am

kuikuikui x cantik tp aku dah booke kete myvi lagi cun

• TOMMY on Jun 09, 2005 at 6:27 am

LOOKS NICE BUT I THINK THE ENGINE PART WILL BU QUITE EXPENSIVE SINCE ITS RENAULT

• citizen on Jun 09, 2005 at 7:20 am

aircond cool enough or not 1???the aircond "hole" looks very small…are they still using those cheap parts again?? are the "clipping" the bumper like Wira also?? NO STANDARD LAR!!!!

• hamdani on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:18 am

enjin power ker tak nie??

• workshopman on Jun 09, 2005 at 3:38 pm

the interior is okay but not the exterior (just the opposite of MYvi, I think)…hope the performance and quality have been improved than the previous model…the price is okay 4 a 1.2 car at 40-43k…if one don't really mind the external appearance and have confidence in the product, then its a good alternative to Myvi,coz u r saving a huge(?) 8k for the highest version…very well proton, u should do better considering u are the pioneer in the industry here…just pull ur socks higher!…tepuk dada tanya selera…

• along on Jun 09, 2005 at 4:00 pm

I don't really mind to pay 8k more 4 the high version of MYvi 4 atleast pro2 have better records…20 years and proton have not given us better products, y ah…hei buck up la…hope I'm right…

• Natalie May on Jun 09, 2005 at 4:17 pm

hi, may i know how fast can Proton Savvy go?

Thanks.

• river on Jun 09, 2005 at 4:25 pm

Aiya… apalah kita pula yang fighting??? People make comment pun good to Proton mah… no matter good comment or bad comment, I think proton will appreciate all of them. Apalah ada orang gago gago marah orang yang give negatif komen???

• Karimpin on Jun 09, 2005 at 4:49 pm

Wow! intresting.

• NAZIM SUHAIMI on Jun 09, 2005 at 5:32 pm

another fail product by proton, terrible……..shame to be malaysian

i doubt what 20 year of history of proton

still produce this type of shit car

terrible, …………

just cannot imagine the shit car…..

KL

• hmmm Myvi better ah choo say!hnaha

• knock-knock on Jun 09, 2005 at 6:18 pm

kutuk…kutuk jugak…tapi must give constructive comments…we all want to see proton do well ,don't we?…frankly, just how many years they need to come up with nuch satisfactory products. huh?…anyone can answer this?…hopefully people in proton (and others too) will hear and perhaps implement some of it.

• j.low on Jun 09, 2005 at 6:26 pm

Remember,Dr.M is Proton Savvy, Proton Savvy is Dr.M

• the dashboard…. reminds me of BMW in 1980s 5 series… OLD OLD design.

Proton did it again, taking over un-wanted, no longer in production car from other manufacturer, change the make-up and logo>> remember Tiara ??

myvi 1 savvy (silly) 0

• donjuan on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:01 pm

What the hell…is there any people wanna buy these car after My"V"…this car interiors sucks!

• donjuan on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:02 pm

What the hell…is there any people wanna buy these car after My"V"…this car interiors sucks! What happen to proton???

• Angku on Jun 09, 2005 at 8:27 pm

This is the best Economical Car that Proton ever built. The rear is a newly disgn Ultra man style with Eagle Eyes lamp in front makes it look very cool. I like it very much cause it's an original Malaysian Car but the name should be The New Proton Eratech…and not Proton Savvy.

• ah long on Jun 09, 2005 at 9:20 pm

tak lawa langsung…ko org ni selera rendah betullah…

• cool pic eh on Jun 09, 2005 at 9:51 pm

come on u guys..its al camera tricks..dun jz go dissapoint ppl by taking da nice angle n mk the viewers regret later…better ugly pic n 'nt tat bad aft al'…

• cbljkkj on Jun 09, 2005 at 9:57 pm

The car looks like an oddity by itself.Have you guys looked at the car's rear?? Looks like ultraman's face.I dont really care "that" much on looks but rather quality.

My family has owned nearly every generation of Proton and i can honestly say that the Waja is the best of the crop although i kinda dislike the red colour theme meters.Makes me sleepy and drowsy while driving.The meters on the Savvy have a "Ferrari-esque" design.Proton has made a mistake by squishing the odometer and clock together.It looks worse than the current Saga meters.The meters on the Waja still remain my favourite.

Proton kinda went in the wrong direction ever since the Gen2.No glove compartment cover for the Gen2?? What was Proton thinking????The meters look tacky and clustered and the dashboard and console panels look dated and bland.An Ae86's dashboard looks interesting compared to this.

All in all, i just hope that QC and performance is not compromised this time and for all the people buying the Savvy I hope you enjoy your purchase in spite of what i have said and i hope Proton aids you in servicing and stock of your Renault spare parts.May Proton have mercy on your soul and wallet

• Angku on Jun 09, 2005 at 10:31 pm

Tolong jangan komen yang tidak baik tentang kereta buatan Malaysia biarlah orang asing yang komen jangan pula kita memburukkan lagi keadaan yang penting biar hujan batu negera kita tetap Malaysia No. 1…..

• tommok on Jun 09, 2005 at 11:30 pm

kami kutuk untuk kemajuan proton fahammm. sebab org proton tak pandai nak design kete.

• ayeims on Jun 10, 2005 at 2:40 am

saya telah menggunakan 2 kereta keluaran proton … namun apa yang boleh saya simpulkan adalah …HAMPA…kereta wira yang baru dibeli dua minggu pada 2002…dah berlongok 'error'nya…saya amat frust dan sedih terhadap kualitinya…namun…what could i say…sebelum mengeluarkan apa2 keluaran baru…perkara yang paling penting adalah kembalikan semula keyakinan rakyat terhadap kualiti keluarannya dahulu…semoga proton mampu berdaya saing…

• i'll be thinking that this car like u eat 'dodol' sedap….liat., if the suspension does well and we can watch how little french will conquer curves.

Coupla kudos comin' ur way…

• mohdshakri on Jun 10, 2005 at 8:07 am

mintak maapla, waja saya dulu entah berapa kali rosak. nak baiki satu2 pun kena tunggu satu dua bulan. last sekali alarm rosak hantar eon berbelas kali tak boleh baiki. kata order barang KL dari mileage 40k hingga 65k km tak sampai@. pastu saya jual, fed up! pakai merc buruk lagi baik. skrg nama aja proton, sorry! saya dah book myvi. rekod perodua lagi ok la

• mohdshakri on Jun 10, 2005 at 8:17 am

sambung lagi… mula2 dashboard rosak, pastu pintu tak boleh buka, tingkap jam, macam-macam lagi, lasst sekali alarm gila. hantar eon berbelas kali, sekali hantar ada yang sampai 3 hari. yang menhairankan bila nak oder sparepart empat bulan tak sampai2. proton kena nilai diri sendiri

• My comment…people who beginer in drive should begin in Myvi and who like performance in cornering road then prefer choose savvy…

Myvi a big tall body car with a small leg… like wana tumbang like that, Savvy small body car with medium leg…handling sure Savvy better lah…

Interior..Myvi look like a IVECO truck interior so bulky and cheap look as toys

interior for Savvy look better and standard a bit like a car.

exterior Myvi look like stupid fella wana go to work with facing boss fire soon..

exterior Savvy like a boss with a garang face…

Performance…Myvi better (honest) VVTi, Savvy only SOHC..but i can garantee savvy can see the myvi tail light when speed coz Savvy more good handling.

QC and quality product…Myvi better and savvy i actually no confident on it..look back few proton model..my perdana V6 also have problem..proton need to look better QC..if not everybody will claim proton car like low standard car.. but i am proton supported since 1984 my first Saga A/B.

This time..sorry i already buy Myvi..why ? coz My wife is a beginer in driving and need to fetch child to school and shoping….and me need to modify myvi kao Kao to more well handling ..

dun fire with my hones word..

Overall Savvy better in interior and handling

• river on Jun 10, 2005 at 5:12 pm

Betul, kita give negatif komen pun supaya Proton take it as advise dengan hati yang terbuka untuk lebih maju lagi. Kita orang Malaysia memang patut juga sokong barang Malaysia tetapi… kereta buatan Malaysia jual sehingga RM4X,XXX??? kasi kurang sikit le…..

• river on Jun 10, 2005 at 5:23 pm

It's good to have something different from others sometimes, but to positioin the Exhaut in the centre of the back of the car?? hmmm…I wonder that is a good idea… look like a tail or something else…

• Anti kena Tipu on Jun 10, 2005 at 11:57 pm

Dah tengok savvy kat showroom, dashboard macam plastik baldi, buleh tekan dgn jari.Alas pintu pun sama. Definately low cost scrap. Gen2 takde glovebox sebab proton tak reti nak buat.Tengok gloveboard Waja, tak buleh tutup dgn senang. Sebab tu Gen2 takde glovebox, cuma ada shelf tempat letak kicap.Senang nak keje mudah.

• Philip on Jun 11, 2005 at 10:10 am

The Savvy to me is a disappointment once again from Proton. How on earth are they going to compete with the bigger players in the market, not to say they can fair much better than Perodua's Myvi. If the blame is diverted to the issue of APs, then it isn't totally valid. Proton needs to sell its products based on quality not low price. Low price will not assure brand loyalty, only short term returns.*sigh*

• This question was posted on the yahoo.com.my

“Should the government protect Proton from foreign competition?”

more than 65% respondence agree to “No protection please. Proton needs to compete globally or sink ”

Having to raise my children, I know we to let them learn by themselves.

Our son Proton is now 30 years old, still studying in the University, and when there was a big bully push him around, father have to make a trip to the school to inform the teacher , and look for the bully.

Poor old father is now 65+ and one will imagine how long will father still need to do this.

Our son Proton graduated and started working is a big firm, at now age 40, married and have child of his own, his manager scolded our son proton and make him do the report again, poor old father, now at age 75+, DO YOU THINK HE NEED TO GO TO THE OFFICE TO SCOLD THE MANAGER.

GROW UP PROTON

• i know on Jun 12, 2005 at 3:00 am

There is a lot of defect on this new proton. I haven't seen the actual car yet. But I am a car fanatic. The design is different, a bit of daihatsu on the kinked door panel, a bit of BMW 5 series on the headlamps, the rear lights resembles 2nd generation renault clio. But overall effect is stunning (a good effort from proton). But again a good design does not mean a good car. I'm sure with help from lotus the handling would be superb. All this does not translate into a 'good car'. Look at nissan, toyota, these brands became what they are now not because they have nice design (think about the past e.g. nissan 130y, 1st gen toyota corolla etc) but because of reliability. Nowadays reliability is everything because we use cars to go to work, daily activity etc. A good quality car usually means a reliable car. Proton seems to miss to point. The built quality, even from the picture, is below average. We can see the interior panel gap, the exterior panel gap is not symmetry etc. With the dabate whether myvi is better than savvy, I strongly agree that myvi is better. Yes, some of the interior panels look cheap but it is still good. Just think, myvi is based on Daihatsu Sirion (had a good review even in the UK – a country obsessed with cars)which is part of Toyota, and Toyota's reliability is second to none. The VVTI engine is used in toyota Yaris (one of the best super mini in UK). Savvy's engine is from renault clio (a good car but not on par with Yaris).

SO in conclusion. PLS proton desingers, engineers, build a better quality car, don't cut cost now, work efficiently (follow footstep of toyota – low cost, huge profit and high quality). Again PLS quality, quality = reliability = good car = customers satisfaction.

• cbljkkj on Jun 12, 2005 at 12:51 pm

I dont mean to shoot anyone down and i dont intend to support either side with a biased decision, but how can you "actually" say that the Savvy has better handling just from looks.

You cant say that the MYVI is for beginner drivers as well.The only way to find out is to actually test both cars on the road.Looks, i would definitely say that the MYVI wins in my book.The Savvy really looks weird from the back.(HONESTLY THERE AREN'T MANY PICTURES OF THE BACK.THINK ABOUT IT)

I actually road tested the MYVI and the SAVVY.I would definitely say in a heartbeat that the MYVI performs better than the Savvy in terms of torque and stability.

Interior wise the Savvy looks like a carbon copy of the Gen 2 which was also crappy in my opinion because the door closes with a sound of a milo tin, So what if the MYVI interior doesnt look as good as the Savvy's?? Its the quality that counts.

I too own Proton cars and can actually say that something will definitely go wrong and some Proton staff are really lazy and slow.It took them 1 month just to fix my leaking radiator!!! What took them so long?? I have been driving a Kelisa for a year now and it has never given me problems like that before.The only problem that it gave me was a loose wire which P2 did in only 20mins

• noradzini on Jun 12, 2005 at 10:09 pm

my first car is satria 1.3 1999 model.my second car is saga 1.5 auto 1990 model.at the first time i think i want to change my saga to this model (savvy).but now when i look this car (savvy),sorry just forget it!

• sawi batang putih on Jun 13, 2005 at 1:03 am

Kindly said, it's another failure of Proton model. The bonet macam dulang. Engine Renault, 2ndhand value must be drop kaw-kaw. High maintenance cost. Should be the same as Tiara after a few years. The front design should be better than Gen2. It's a very-very lousy designlah. I'm very frustrated. Proton could do better. Who says this car cheap? RM40K maa. New Saga kereta kebal only RM38K what? 1.3 some more. And please recall back, 20 years ago Proton Saga price is only RM18K. Quality still the same or more worst?. Front and back lamp still got water go inside or not? Just look and see for this Savvy. Anybody can buy it, but don't regret once you can't get rid of all the problem. Re-sell value unable to cope the full settlement. Just use it for life. Proton for life. Not Volvo anymore.

• You are right ! on Sep 03, 2015 at 11:03 am

Yes, you are right!

You may have forgotten what you’ve written more than a decade ago, and I don’t even expect you to read this….but,

I just want to congratulate what you’ve predicted more than 10 years ago! You are spot on ! This lousy Savvy had long faded into oblivion and Myvi emerged as the most popular car of Malaysia.

• Accord Kia on Jun 13, 2005 at 1:22 pm

perodua got a very good management system. they knew that quality is more important than design a new car.

they are doing step by step, they copy other cars and provide a good quality materials. when they think that they can design their own car, people still faithfull with their workmanship.

unlike proton, he still not mature but wan to act like adult, what a stupid brain!!! eventhought they are design a new car but ppl still not believe their quality.

so, perodua, i really feel proud of you. i hope i can see your own design car soon. keep improve.

• zs2004 on Jun 13, 2005 at 4:54 pm

who can tell me, dah berapa ramai booking Myvi dan berapa plak Savvy, coz` sebab beza luinching cuma 8-10 hari shaja!!!.. plsssssss

• chewy on Jun 14, 2005 at 5:25 pm

After all the kutuk.. one must not deny that Proton did grow a bit. Their main problem is the cost.. which resulted in bad quality car. They are trying to improve it, let's hope it works this time.

• sawi batang putih on Jun 14, 2005 at 10:37 pm

Do you think Proton will improve? Do you think that Proton won't cut cost for the next model? Last year Proton gain RM779.9 million before tax. Think of why Proton gain so much. Where the gain came from? Proton cut from the CEO salary? Director salary? Manager salary? Staff salary? Not right? Proton have sacrifice the quality of the car, that's the fact. Watch out, the margin will be higher this year.

• sexythang on Jun 15, 2005 at 8:57 am

come on guys…..have you guys went and asked the sales rep how many booking they have had of savvy compared to myvi????

assuming the sale rep from both company are people you know.

the savvy only registered less than 10 bookings from a big proton dealer from my place. and nobody wants to see the car anymore after the first week.

thin doors are 1980's design man. its not very secure.

• ayuni dalila on Jun 16, 2005 at 10:14 am

yeahh..nothing comes in a perfect package…we may critic on something,but PLSS be generous to give your own suggestions too!^_~

• bad car…too damn small..interior all hard plastic…ishh..another crappy Proton

• ckgoh3 on Jun 20, 2005 at 1:56 am

Hi guys I am going to tell you all a true story:

Once, there was a family known as Malaysia. In 1985, they were blessed with their first born, Proton. The family loved Proton all they can.

They gave Proton everything. They protected Proton from the bigger boys in Kindergarden. They told Proton, "You're young, you need protection from them. It's okay to make mistakes, you're young. Even if you don't

learn from mistakes…it's okay…you are young."

Proton became spoilt. He always depended on parents and used up all his allowance on useless things. When he had to do his chores, he paid

people to do it and the work is lousy, causing the parents having to call repairmen to fix all the mess that he made.

Anyway, when Proton was 10 (but he still acted like he is 1 or 2 years old), he had a younger brother, Perodua. At first, everyone thought

this younger brother will be like Proton. Anyway, this new baby was more handsome and looks smarter than Proton. Malaysia knew there is a possibilty Perodua could be smarter than Proton. Since they love Proton so much, they decided that Perodua can only learn a few things. Cannot learn the same thing as Proton. This is so that Perodua wouldn't beat Proton at what Proton is doing.

Although Perodua was also protected by Malaysia, he learn to be independent very fast. He made good friends with Daihatsu, who had an elder brother Toyota. The two of them helped Perodua in everything.

Perodua, being independent and smart, learnt a lot and in a short while, was becoming as good as, if not better, than Proton.

Malaysia realized that Perodua was becoming better than his brother. Although proud of Perodua, they still love Proton best. They paid

Lotus(which is older and well known worldwide) to be friends with Proton. Using this advantage, Proton mentioned Lotus everytime he wanted to

tell people about himself. On this own, he was still the same.

Moreover, Proton is always not updated. When doing his work, he still uses the typewriter and refuses to use the computer. Perodua, so

much younger, used the computer, with broadband for his work. Perodua was improving so much that Toyota has assigned him with his work,

codename Avanza.

2005. Proton is 20 years old, Perodua only 10. It was obvious that Perodua was the more successful of the two siblings. What is worse,

Proton said he still need his parents to help him for another 10 years.

He still need to protection from the big boys. In May 2005, Perodua was about the show Malaysia his best work so far…codename Myvi. Proton, being jealous…quickly came up with an unprofessional remark about

Perodua's work and show his work at the same time as Perodua on purpose. The future of Malaysia and her two kids are still unknown. But it would be obvious that Perodua will shine, leaving Proton crying. It would be a wonder if in 2015, Proton will ask Malaysia for another 10 years of help and protection…maybe this time…protection from Perodua as well………..

THE END

• maestro on Jun 22, 2005 at 11:49 pm

another idiot with his comments.. CKgoh.. either u drive a kancil at 35yo.. or you're just a panglipulara on the inside.. go work with Dewan bahasa dan pustaka la dei..

make friends with daihatsu and toyota.. or lotus… same what… pay money or not to make friends… who cares… if u got money… use it… IF u dont have it.. drive la a kancil… who's bitching????

so… let go CHGOH.. and dont modify your kancil too much and stay away from the straight pipe exhaust… especially if you are in bangsar area.. u'll just be making a fool of yourself..

test drive the savvy… then make your comments.. don't pretend to know what it feels to have sex.. when you've just been wanking…

jeez…

• firamin on Jun 25, 2005 at 1:42 am

How stupid was maestro when he/she doesn't understand what's true story means. Goh was teling the truth maa.. You didn't notice what's happening around you aa..Simply buy proton's junkyard car sales.Wake up maestro! STOP dreaming fairy tales. This is 2005 not 1980's.

• hambo on Jun 25, 2005 at 5:48 pm

lantak korang la…..

bagi aku kerete Savvy lagi cantik!!!!!!!

• jongos on Aug 23, 2005 at 7:50 am

BILA AGAKNYA SESAPA NAK BUAT 'KELAB SAVVY' KHAS UNTUK PEMILIK KETER KECIK SPORTY NIE…..

• ruhid on Sep 11, 2005 at 7:38 am

ok lah, kena dgn harganya….. save minyak…u all kan tau minyak naik harga.. at least dgn kereta kecil dan engin renault telah duji i litar f1, tentu kereta yg lasak dan berkuasa…. inshallah saya akan beli., dan akan modified dr segi skirting dan tukar rim 17'', pasti cun….

• neutral on Oct 12, 2005 at 4:50 pm

kelab savvy dah ada… check it….

• Lujat on Nov 24, 2005 at 10:14 am

Takde semangat patriotik langsung. Gua tak kisah pakai keta proton yang selalu rosak. Yang pasti dah tunaikan tanggungjawab kepada negara walaupun sedikit.

• rufus-x on Dec 04, 2005 at 12:16 pm

haha..gaduh aje kjenyer…myvi ke savvy ke..ddua kete malaysia daa…

komen "ckgoh3" ttg 'sejarah' tu aku suka baca..[no doubt mmg dia agak berat sebelah..tapi tu kan kenyataan!! nape perodua yg baru 10 thn tu nampak lg cpat maju drp proton yg 2x ganda usianya??]..ckgoh tu bkn compare savvy ngn myvi pun..dia compare perodua dgn proton lahh…apo la kau ni "maestro"..tak phm bhs ke??

ko tu yg patut pegi dewan bahasa carik kamus…apo la hang…..

tak nafikan,ssape yg sokong proton akan marah dgn kenyataan ni..tapi,nak wat cane? takkan nak puji je kalu asek salah kan?? and who said tht bad comments cannot be contrustive??? wat la u guys….

dan utk Lujat,brader..semangat patriotik mende plak ni?? perodua ngn proton tu kan simbol malaysia jugak…Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua MALAYSIA dgn Perusahaan Otomobil Negara MALAYSIA!! ..cuma mungkin management dia je la…..perodua mungkin la dah kena beli la..ape la..dgn toyota…tapi,kesimpulannyer..nape perodua nampak lebih cepat popular?? cuba fikir balik…bkn nak kutuk proton pun..tak guna buang air liur la bertekak…ape la…..

p/s: myvi ngn savvy dua² exterior aku tak berkenan sgt…tapi overall,ddua boleh tahan la..biasa la..pros n cons…manade mende perfect…keta bmw pun pnah diiktiraf worst car of the year…rilek laa….

• Perodua? Let look at their cars.

Kancil = Daihatsu Mira

Kelisa = Daihatsu Cuore

Kembara = Daihatsu Terios

MYVI = Daihatsu Serion

Heard that a Daihatsu Charade is coming our way, so what shall we call it,.. Perodua ……….?

So tell me what did they design? Bumpers probably.

• me gabanz' on Dec 22, 2005 at 1:00 am

aHAKZ.. SAVVY VS MYVI???

FOR ME savvy like beatiful eyeview but, her space is tigt la'

if support malaysia automotive industry?? buy the savvy.. if like quality.. buy import car la??

• necteigst (Member) on Apr 09, 2006 at 11:26 pm

I don’t know how people compare car but i want to shout my opinion as the engineering student…we all the history about the PROTON…for twenty years PROTON has manufactured a lots of car and mostly people say it SUCK!!!…but I think they miss one thing…the PROTON has try to reduce the cost to make sure all the Malaysian can afford to buy a car…the PROTON has to use low quality material to make sure the all Malaysia can afford to buy a car…that is why the PROTON is cheaper that the other imported car…but of course the quality is low but it is still acceptable as it prize…I want to ask you people…if the PROTON use high quality material and sell the car with the same prize as HONDA…would you still buy PROTON…I am sure most of you prefer HONDA…and how much people can afford it…so that is why before you give bad comment about PROTON…to improve PROTON or what ever….improve yourself first…make sure you can afford to buy PROTON car even the prize is RM70k and above…and if you still want PROTON to produce a car with HONDA quality…make you can afford it with the prize of HONDA…and for people who keep saying the PROTON design is suck…why don’t you come with your own design…or else if you can afford to buy imported car…just buy imported!!!!

• v (Member) on May 18, 2006 at 11:46 pm

Proton’s Engineer had done, then u will appreciate our efforts! one more question, R U a PERODUA SALESMAN? they claim they had sent 80 engineers to Japan to “develop” THE car..but the truth is all the critical dimension and structure of the car was designed by Japanese! wat they did was to change the headlamp! I am not anti-Perodua…afterall they r our 2nd national car manufacturer…but as their CEO said, PERODUA WILL NEVER produce their own vehicle….

For ur info, PERODUA only owns PERODUA 49%…the remaining are Japanese. If we ourselves DO not PROTON, WHO else will? WE spent close to RM500 mil to design Savvy from SCRATCH!! mind u…wat our competitor did was to spent RM200 mil just to get the BLUEPRINT!!