Toyota Fortuner SUV

If we look at the SUV market in Malaysia, it seems that Toyota is missing a contender. Honda has the Honda CR-V, Ford has the Ford Escape and Nissan has the Nissan X-Trail. No, the Toyota RAV4 doesn’t count.

UPDATE: Facelifted Toyota Fortuner for the 2009 model year unveiled.

Introducing the Toyota Fortuner. Click the thumbnails for an enlarged picture.

The Toyota Fortuner is the SUV incarnation of Toyota’s IMV platform, which stands for International Innovative Multipurpose Vehicle. Toyota created this platform when they realised their people mover vehicles in most countries were looking pretty dated. An example of the IMV platform vehicles are the Toyota Innova and Toyota Hilux. The Fortuner has already been introduced in Asian countries like India and the Philippines.

The Toyota Fortuner shares the same platform as the new Toyota Hilux which was just recently introduced in Malaysia. In other countries it comes in either a 2.7 Petrol model or a 3.0 Turbodiesel model. But I’ve heard that in Malaysia the 3.0 Turbodiesel model will be replaced by a 2.5 Turbodiesel, probably the same one used in the Toyota Hilux. I’m not particularly thrilled at the idea of that, since the Toyota Hilux is kind of underpowered. The Fortuner looks even heavier than the Hilux. The 2.7 litre engine is the 2TR-FE which is a 4 cylinder twin cam 16V engine makign 160ps at 5200rpm and 241Nm torque at 3800rpm. The engine features VVT-i technology.

I like the design. It has the old Toyota Harrier/Lexus RX300 shape to it. But I am wondering why the petrol needs a 2.7 litre when the Harrier makes do with a 2.4 litre engine.

The car isn’t exactly a contender for the CR-V and the X-Trail. I think it’s targetted at the Ford Everest. Huge people mover SUVs. The Ford Everest was based on it’s pick-up cousin too, the Ford Ranger. Sharing the same platform saves development cost I suppose.

I’ve heard the car is due to launch in September 2005. More updates when I get confirmed information.

For complete specs on the Toyota Fortuner, you can check out Toyota Philippines site for the specifications here.

Update: The Toyota Fortuner is now available in Malaysia. Head on here for prices and full specifications.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• reizan on Jun 12, 2005 at 9:50 pm

i heard about the fortuner quite a while back and has since checked on the websites for the spec. To be frank – 2.5L turbodiesel is really going to be underpowered especially if it is going to have to carry 7 people around. However, i really like the design and am looking forward for its launch.

I heard it is going to be around ~RM150k? Can't wait for it to appear here in Malaysia

• passerby on Jun 13, 2005 at 12:00 am

Nothing to do with this car in particular, but just thought I'd post it here.

News article "Malaysia urged to reform car import" at business week

PS: congrats on your quiting smoking!

• WINGZ on Jun 13, 2005 at 2:31 am

wat bout toyota harrier ?

• Harrier not count meh?

• the harrier is not counted because it's 1 step above. it's a luxury SUV.

• saad khan on Jun 16, 2005 at 3:13 am

fortuner is a very ideal suv, and people of india are waiting for its launch here, but toyota should price it around tata safari and ford endevour for a large voulumes of sales. waitin anxiously for its launch.

• I LOVE CARS on Jun 18, 2005 at 1:36 am

i went to thailand during the mid term school hols. i saw that fortuner zillion of times hauling on the roads there. that suv is big and it's really beautiful – x5, xc90, m-class might loose a vast amount of customers when it's launched

• I really hope that UMW will launch the Toyota Fortuner which powered by the 3.0 litter diesel because I think the 2.5 litter is not enough powerful.Also,fix with dual airbags but not only one airbag!!!

• Silhouette on Jun 28, 2005 at 12:20 am

Actually, the turbodiesel engines have tremendous torque. While a 3 litre D4D TD engine would be much better for the Fortuner (in terms of power), the road tax would be in the region of ~RM3000!!! Compared with 2.5 litre TD which is ~RM1700. So, in order to have a good balance that's palatable to buyers, I think 2.5 litre is the sweet spot. Note all the diesel trucks are 2.5 litres. I own the Ford Everest and 2.5 litres is quite sufficient. It won't win a drag race with a beemer, but it'll power up the steepest hills with no problems while some of the petrol engined cars fall by the wayside… oh.. and the everest turbo is intercooled while the Fortuner is not

• ghteh on Jun 30, 2005 at 12:24 am

I'm going to get my Toyota fortuner this Friday, for your info fortuner, in Thailand came with 3 model 2.7 VVTi, 3.0 intercooller turbo Manual and Auto, the thing that make fortuner deferent the Hilux is the rear suspension which is fortuner using coil spring but Hilux using leas spring, you can visit toyota thailand at www.toyota.co.th

• Toyota Fan on Jul 01, 2005 at 5:56 am

I am also looking forward to the release of the Fortuner here in South Africa. The latest Hilux was recently released here and what a bakkie it is!! Only downfall is the ground clearance when you do some serious offroading as we like to do here in SA. The Fortuner is only due for launch early next year here in SA. I would like to know what the owners of these Fortuners have to say about the vehicle.

• beeboy on Jul 06, 2005 at 5:57 am

would like to know if there will be a 4×2 fortuner with diesel engine. thanks.

• Vmotor on Jul 10, 2005 at 8:20 am

Hi Paul, i have got some questions for you?

Can you forward me the features and specification abt Toyo Fortuner diesel & petrol, it would be very very helpful, if you able to explain to us about the petrol consumtions/ performance of Fortuner.

Cheers

• just get my fortuner from thailand, but i'm confuse with the 4X4 gear the gear got LL, N,HH, and HL, i don't know how to use it, Please advise.

• Darrein leom on Jul 06, 2010 at 4:26 pm

Lis Low gear, H is High gear and HL is High combine with L.LL is use when you lose traction in mud or when you go uphill, n is neutral, HH go to all place with 4 wheel drive, but you must remember, using HH can cause transmission broke when your car is lose traction in mud, just stop the car and change to LL when lose traction. HL same with HH.

• Dear all,
        My bro bought Toyota Fortuner 2007, 2.7 2TR engine AT, 4×2.
        Can we remodify 4×2 into 4×4. Is there any possibility t do this please advise.

• art habitan on Jul 16, 2005 at 3:26 am

toyota thailand:

please export as many fortuners in the philippines. there's a long line of toyota buyers waiting. For god sake, if i'll be lucky, i can have a taste of your fortuner in the middle of 2006. Alterra is one good alternative!

art

• jayant on Jul 21, 2005 at 9:53 pm

awaiting it's launch this sept 2005 in india. wat wuld it be priced heard around 10 – 12 lacs inr is it so.wuld there be a diesel and petrol version too and wats the milage its expected to give which is very important in the indian context, wat wul d the net on road price be of the vehicle.

regards

jayant

• Bikram on Aug 02, 2005 at 4:15 am

I hear, rather read in one of the popular Indian auto magazine today (1st Aug'05) that says "Fortuner" launch in India is going to be delayed by a year or so…tentatively by Aug'0;.since Toyota is not able to cope up with it's Innova production locally. The import option perhaps is there, but that's goign to push up the price anyway.

Already in one of the local newspaper I read that, for Innova since they kept several variants…they (again refering to Toyota) are not selling the low end variants; and hence now they are gearing up the productions for the top 2 variants.

• zohaib ahmed on Aug 15, 2005 at 2:50 am

hi,

i have been your cutomer since the launch of your qualis, now i have been waiting for your FORTUNER intimate the launch of yr much awaited SUV. WAITING FOR YR EARLY RESPONSE.

THANX

ZOHAIB .

14/08/`05

• regular user on Aug 20, 2005 at 8:15 pm

was told Fortuner will be launched on 26 August in M'sia. Price around 160K

• The price is out:-

2.7(A) Petrol –> RM182,888

2.5(M) Diesel –> RM165,562

I think is too expensive.

• sujen on Aug 24, 2005 at 1:52 am

The price is out:-

2.7(A) Petrol –> RM182,888

2.5(M) Diesel –> RM165,562

it is quite expensive for a locally made car

harrier would be affordable

please TOYOTA management RM 182,888

is very high

bring down please!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• sujen on Aug 24, 2005 at 1:55 am

i tough of getting one but looking at the price

totally out of mood

• FortuneTeller on Aug 26, 2005 at 1:33 am

WOOOAAAHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!

PRICE SO DAMN HIGH!!!

I WANT TO BUY IF THE PRICE AROUND RM150K

UMW TOYOTA PLEASE LOWER DOWN THE PRICE, LOTS OF PEOPLE WANT TO BUY FORTUNER!!!

• James on Aug 29, 2005 at 8:32 am

I think the price is too high, 150K for 2.7v 120K for 2.5 would be more competative. doesn't feel the luxury inside. looks like hilux design

at that weight , believe it would be underpower and fuel consumption high.

• JUSTINE on Aug 29, 2005 at 10:17 pm

TOO EXPENSIVE…AND ALSO 2.5L DIESEL UNDER POWER.MIGHT AS WELL GET RE-CON PRADO FOR THAT PRICE AND FURTHERMORE VERY POWERFUL

• Gerard Lim on Sep 13, 2005 at 11:27 am

Fortuner – Had a test drive and was disappointed with the following :

Handling : There was too much intrusion from the suspension to the cabin area. Every uneven road surface could be felt from the driver's seat.

Tyres : UMW Toyota's choice of tyres on the Fortuner is simply to soft on the

sidewalls. Feels wobbly and unstable.

Performance : 2.7VVTi engine feels sluggish with claimed 158bhp / 241nm.

My previous Prado 2.7 definitely feels more powerful with 158bhp / 245nm.

Interior : Feels cheap! Centre console cover / lid once opened feels fragile and

cheap. Soft plastics you could literally twist the cover. The previous Prado plastics are of stonger materials.

Price : UMW expected good sales during the launching but response poor and

alot of convincing to do to get someone to part with RM182,888 with cheap components carried over from the Innova!!

• toyota fortuner on Sep 27, 2005 at 2:35 am

When is the model toyota foruner being introduced in India?

• renjith on Sep 27, 2005 at 10:32 pm

hi

i bought one toyota fortuner in muscat oman last week. ( 4 ltr, V6, 235 bhp )

really satisfied with it. very good torque at very low rpms. at 120 KMH rpm is slightly above 2000. its really worth money. all the features of PRADO ( size,power,seating) in less price. its costed me onroad 11000 OMR. ( 1 OMR =2.69 USD )

in india it will definitly cost more that 20 Lakh. Nissan x-trail is 8000 OMR here and sells in india at 18 Lakhs. CR-V also same. (all top end variants)

• SHARAN on Oct 06, 2005 at 7:39 am

CAN I KNOW WHEN FORTUNER WILL BE LAUNCHED IN INDIA

• Hayden on Oct 11, 2005 at 6:21 am

This website is for Lexus Harrier RX300 RX330 RX400h parts and accessories for Japanese or Lexus models. If you own these vehicles and can't find hard to get parts, we can source them. Thanks!

• rohit on Oct 22, 2005 at 11:51 pm

when fortuner will be be coming to india?

pls advise

regds,

rohit

• Toyota Indonesia has only launched the 2.7 petrol version, sadly they are still "testing" the diesel. Perhaps next year… if the Piston Gods are kind, we may get the 3.0 turbo diesel.

Anyone got one yet? What's the comfort level? Roads in Jakarta/Indonesia generally are tough on suspension and passengers!

Was talking to Toyota mechanic very briefly, he mentioned the Prado engine wasn't a good unit, he's seen too many come in between service intervals. Anyone out there who can shed some light on this? I didn't get to complete the conversation with the mechanic, so don't know it that was the petrol or diesel unit.

Cheers

• jeffrey on Nov 04, 2005 at 9:29 pm

I own a Fortuner 2.7 vvti and have been driving it for two months now in Singapore and so far the fuel consumption is the same as most of the big mpvs that i have owned eg the previa, mazda mpv, renault grand espace and chrysler voyager. My Fortuner is averaging around 8.8 km/l. I cannot complain about this suv as it is smooth and has a luxurious feel inside the cabin other then the hard plastics but overall it is a great car.

Well I have driven alot of suvs in the USA such as the ford explorer, the jeep, durango and the escape. The Fortuner is indeed very refined and high speed cruising is great. I still cannot understand why so many Malaysians are so unhappy with the Fortuner? It is their tax system that is creating the high price for the car!

In Singapore today car prices are very competitive and I paid 98888 sgd for it but not forgetting after 10 years I can get back close to 20sgd if I were to scrap it. Thanks.

• Rohimi on Nov 07, 2005 at 7:16 am

hello,

I'm Malaysian working in Oman. Im also driving Fortuner (4 ltr, V6, 235 bhp). I'm satisfy with the performance. Its cost me OMR 11000 (RM 107,930).

• Jun P on Nov 21, 2005 at 10:59 pm

Why is it so hard to get a fortuner here in the Phils.When will supply normalize?

• Sunny Chadha on Nov 25, 2005 at 5:06 am

When will be the fortuner launched in India

• RAJ NARANG on Dec 15, 2005 at 5:08 pm

When is the model toyota foruner being introduced in India?

WAITING FOR YOUR RESPONSE . KINDLY LET ME KNOW AS SOON AS POSSIBLE

• Capt KEn Flores on Dec 28, 2005 at 7:24 pm

please advise if fortuner 2.5 diesel is available in the philippines? How much is the price?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 4:43 pm

My dad's getting a Fortuner 2.7 and I can't wait to see it on our driveway… ^_^

• sshundal2006 (Member) on Sep 22, 2006 at 11:23 am

I am really waiting for toyota FORTUNER so plz TOYOTA launch the fortuner in 2007 jan plz its and warm request from ur fan. thanks

• genz99 (Member) on Jan 15, 2007 at 1:19 pm

What's the car km/liter for Fortuner 2.7? Just curious, for a 65liter car…..is the 2007 model coming out too? Tough to figure from the www.toyota.com.my no where it mention year's model. ^_^

• thaitanium (Member) on Aug 13, 2007 at 2:22 pm

I live here in northern Thailand and I have bought two of these vehicles, the first one 18 months ago then I had to wait 4 months for delivery just goes to show how popular they are.
    The second one I purchased a month ago I could have had my choice of 7 as they had them in stock, if this has anything to do with the fiscal policies of the new owner of Manchester city football club I have no idea.

These are on sale here for 1,250000 Thai baht around £18,500 GBP with full option leather interior etc.Both mine are 3 liter intercooled turbo models. I for one can not find fault with this vehicle, the first one I bought is used everyday and there has been no problems at all with it.

I am a UK national and when I lived in the UK I was on the the recieving end of the British car industry (when we had one) from Jaguars to Land Rovers and any wonder the car industry is finished there?
    Besides being more expensive there than the rest of Europe the service was terrible and expensive.
    Absolute nightmare from minor faults to new engines required at 10,000 miles it seems to me that the rest of the world says “I want what I want when I want it”

The British car manufacturers used to say ” You will get what you get when you get so shut up”

• Manjit Singh on Jun 01, 2009 at 5:15 am

I am also waiting for ‘Toyota Fortuner’ “The Ultimate SUV”

TOYOTA please launch this SUV within this year 2009 in INDIA.

Please let us know when is it getting launched and start the booking.

• toyota fortuner is precisely one of the best !!!!!!

• Moods on Jul 06, 2009 at 4:31 am

Hi, Have test drive fortuner 2.7v sportivio it looks pretty good specially the rear passenger row 2 & 3 where there is wind blower. Passenger feel comfortable during the long journey also the seat are spacious.There is a hitchback ; acceleration little bit slow. Is it because of the vehicle to heavy? Any suggestion to improve the pick up? Pls comment / reply. Tks

• Robert on Jul 31, 2009 at 7:54 pm

Hi, will order a fortuner 2.5D today (Phili). Really like the car. The only thing; is the D4D engine enough? 102 HP sounds little..

• vikas on Aug 12, 2009 at 9:02 am

send me d catalouge & pricelist of toyota fortuner, whenever its in indian market.

thankx.

• kittu on Aug 18, 2009 at 12:20 am

As per the article above I want to correct the writer that the fortuner is yet to be released in India, I have heard about it on and off about the fortuner being launched in India for the past 6 months, but still it is yet to happen. Though they are suggesting a September release it is not yet confirmed if that is really going to happen. So it is a wait and watch scenario and secondly it is going to be priced pretty steeply somewhere around 22 lakhs Indian rupees or $45000.

This will really work against Toyota's favor coz the market scene is not in a position to digest that kind of a price structure. Thirdly a 2.5 will not be acceptable in India as a similar situation with Ford Endevour back fired as the vehicle was totally underpowered and had a very bad market reaction.

• Wambura on Sep 05, 2009 at 1:51 am

I fondly like Toyota Fortuner, am in preparation to buy it in a year to come. Hope to buy a silver colour, D4D at a reasonable price. Can you give more details on the car, please. Toyota, you lead the world of cars. Keep it up.

• I bought this beast(2.7V) about 3 months ago. Its a great hard robust car. It has poor suspension for high speed on freeways/highways. But nice when into off road due to slow speed. It drinks petrol when you do above 130km/hr (7.0km/liter)but reasonably OK like driving in singapore at 100Km/hr(8.5km/liter). Excellent sitting comfort for 6 adult n 3 children.

Good hard rough thirsty car

• preggie on Nov 10, 2009 at 10:54 am

i have a problem with my dream suv
    it has a vibration at 80kms and the steering shakes about 100 km 120kms
    disappointed. my first brand new suv or car fo that matter.
    The fortuner is a family vehicle but not to risk your family.

• preggie on Nov 10, 2009 at 10:55 am

let me know who has a similar proble with theirs

• Dear Preggie, my car drifting to right as soon as I got the car. Toyota advise me to go for camber adjustment(at my own cost). So I think you might need to do the on wheel balancing> This problem is due to wheel balancing.

My opinion. I still having wind sound coming in the driver side and Toyota getting the seal changed.

Now a days Toyota quality is questionable to other makers. This is my personal comment based on the problems that I am facing. But car and engine performances is superb.

• I prefer to drive Fortuner with 3,o Litre Engine,

• salah bakai on Feb 19, 2010 at 2:06 pm

i wonder why there is great discrepancy between those tested fortuner ? what is the plain facts? is this suv deserve riding & which is best 2.7 or 4 l ? is 4×4 is too burddening the 2.7 engine? &is 4×4 is always on in the gx2 version or it is on, only when you use the doublle gear rod?? please one engineer answer me , thanks

• DIDAR BAMRAH on Mar 02, 2010 at 10:52 am

THOUGH IT HAS A LONG LINE UPS FOR DELIVERIES IN INDIA BUT IF THE AUTOMATIC VERSION HAVE BEEN LAUNCHED THE NUMBERS HAVE BEEN ENORMOUS……I AM DESPIRATELY WAITING TO BE IN QUEUE FOR AUTOMATIC VERSION,SO PLEASE LET ME KNOW ABOUT IT ……

• surya on Mar 04, 2010 at 6:23 am

what is the price for toYota fortuner 2010 model . both petrol and diesel

• i just bought Toyota Fortuner 2.5G 4X2 Turbo Diesel. Price BND37,500. NBT Warranty 3 years/100,000km. Until now i cannot believe i got the Fortuner (the most famous SUV in Brunei). Powerfull and good price.

• Dear All,
    My bro bought Toyota Fortuner 2007, 2.7 2TR model with 4×2 wheel drive. But we require 4×4 wd. Is there any possibility to modify 4×2 into 4×4. Or it can not be remodified. Please advise.