Mazda Crossport CX-7

Mazda takes a shot at the BMW X3 with it’s new SUV called the CX-7. The CX-7 is derived from the Mazda Crossport concept which it had been showcasing at some autoshow exhibitions lately.

It’s evident the CX-7 takes it’s styling cues from the delicious Mazda RX-8. It’s a cross-over SUV type of vehicle which basically means it’s something like a sports car with SUV practicality. Very “zoom-zoom” indeed. And check this out, the original MX-Crossport comes with with 4 bucket seats for the front and rear seats.

Don’t know if this will be in the production CX-7 model or not. It runs on 275/45/R20 wheels… huge! But the height of the MX-Crossport is only 1.6 meters, lower than others in it’s class. The car is built to be low and wide with a long wheelbase, similiar to what Honda did with it’s new Honda Odyssey.

Doubt that funky interior will be in the production version… too funky! :P The car is very Mazda indeed. Sports car blood in everything, even SUVs. I really think Proton is trying to be Mazda sometimes.

The CX-7 will begin production in 2006.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• karheng on Jun 20, 2005 at 4:00 am

What a sweet sweet SUV. It makes me love Mazda even more.

• james on Jun 20, 2005 at 4:49 pm

wow!! very nice car..

• what will be the $$ ????

• Dear Paul.

I heard Petrol increase RM0.20 in 1st July 2005.

It this true ??

• Lotiman on Jun 21, 2005 at 5:21 am

SURELY NOT!!!

• Dear Lotiman ,

I'm sorry to disappoint you, and a lot of this forum reader too, AND myself….

BUT the true is, the petrol price will increase to between RM2.00 to RM2.50 in near future.

Government is considering remove the oil subsidy.

• reminds me of Nissan Murano abit..

any ideas when will the Mazda 1,2,3,4,5 series will be avail in M'sia?

• bangau on Jun 26, 2005 at 7:50 am

Pity pak Lah. he has no source to balance the economy. Hmmm….should ask help from Petronas advisor.