Perodua Myvi Handbrake Problem

A forumer dawn at the Perodua Myvi Forums has alerted us of a problem with the Perodua Myvi rear drum brakes. Apparently something is wrong with the left rear drum brake, causing the handbrake to have not much gripping power when parked on a slope.

He recounts his experience:

VERY IMPORTANT! Please be very careful when parking your cars on hills and roads which are angled. Your hand brake does not really work. I parked my car last night, pulled my hand brake and let go of my front brakes. I didn’t realise the car was moving. At the same time, I reached out to get my cell phone from the holder, my car hit the wall.

Later, I go find my friend and we test. I pull the hand brake, but one person is still enough to push the car and the car rolls. OMG!!!

So tomorrow, I’m gonna plaster the front bumper, paint a bit and get a new number plate. Damn, gonna cost me like RM200+. Damn it. If can, I will post some pictures but I gonna finish this as soon as possible so my dad doesnt find out, but I’ll try and see whether I can borrow camera.

Forumer songfui81 also mentioned that Perodua has been alerted of this problem with the left rear drum brake. Perodua Myvi owners with chassis number PM2M301S002000001 to PM2M301S002002500 should send your cars back to the Service Center to see whether your car is affected and fix the problem.

For Perodua Myvi automatic transmission owners, please shift your gear to the P position when parking to take advantage of the gearbox parking lock in addition to your handbrake. For manual transmission owners, put your gear into first gear on uphill slopes or reverse gear on downhill slopes when parking.

Original Forum Thread at Perodua Myvi Forums

Update: Perodua Myvi owners have experience some other problems. Read this.

Other related Perodua Myvi posts:
Perodua Myvi
Perodua Myvi TRD Bodykit
Perodua Myvi Logo and Test Drive
Perodua Myvi Launch
Perodua Myvi Colours – The Myvi Rainbow
Perodua Myvi Specifications and Price
Perodua Myvi Interior
Perodua Myvi Engine Bay
Perodua Myvi Technical Datasheet
Perodua Myvi Photos From The Showroom
Perodua Myvi Forum
Converting your Perodua Myvi to a turbo?
Perodua Myvi Photo Album
Perodua Myvi Handbrake Problem
Perodua Myvi – You are not booking the price!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Ah, can't wait for all the early adopters to work out the kinks :)

• akari on Jun 30, 2005 at 12:24 am

wtf??????? like this also can?????????????

luckly i'm not getting my myvi so soon yet, now i believe what ppl said don't get first batch car, in this case perodua will fix the bumper for us? if reverse kena ppl's car how arr?? @@ gosh

• fishtail on Jun 30, 2005 at 12:46 am

Moh Gau Chor!! And just when you thought the 'younger brother' was doing better than his 20 year old 'elder brother.'

• cheayee on Jun 30, 2005 at 12:52 am

Hai…..and everyone is saying that the Myv1 is better than the Savvy…I just booked the Savvy and people say its got bad reviews.

now, there comes the one for MyV1…*every dog has its day * lar.

• crash on Jun 30, 2005 at 12:59 am

PM2M301S002000001 to PM2M301S002002500

So about 2500 unit got same prob.

• very mature of Perodua to recall the car and fix the problem.

I will check my car once receive this week.

• Wingz on Jun 30, 2005 at 3:39 am

hehehe … ginee pig try 1st …. :P

• savvo on Jun 30, 2005 at 4:46 am

hahhahaha (laugh at loud ! )

wtf!!.. aha.. copy laa copy la lagi.. :p

actuallly.. i dont know why i saw ugly myvi on the road today..

Look fat.. like fat lady with a really fat ass!..

i'm sorry.. i dont know why it look so ugly like that.. in picture it's okay.. but real on the road.. omg..

maybe after modified with passo bumper etc and change the logo of p2 to toyota or daihatsu be better look ..

sori.. it's really like big fat ass lady on the road..

• Wingz on Jun 30, 2005 at 7:00 am

so fast got ppl use unmod MYVI to drift ledi ar ? lol!!!

• daniel on Jun 30, 2005 at 7:19 am

what to expect? first batch of cars and summore m'sian made cum exact copycat of anuther model.. what u guys expect? haiyahhhhh

• at least p2 have the guts to recall and rectify the problem…if p1…close eye and slowly wait for the solution (if there is any solution at all)

• bm5an on Jun 30, 2005 at 9:09 am

aiya wai ..

almost p2 fan gonna say lkike that.. why u must protect and defend them?.. just bcause u like it? shit… u dont even have any share in p2 .. :D

all in the name of national car is SUCKS!

• I remember some time back, before I got my Proton, the advice I got from my friends were,

"keep a very very save distance from the car in front, Proton brake do not work well, the car will continue to move"

I found the same problem with my car when I collected the car, made 3 complains to the workshop, what they did were only adjust the handbrake cable.

I send the car to "tepi jalan" workshop to solve the problem.

Wai is correct, "at least p2 have the guts to recall and rectify the problem"

hurray to P2

• Accord Kia on Jun 30, 2005 at 7:44 pm

i always proud of P2. keep improve

• bian_fab on Jun 30, 2005 at 7:51 pm

pls rectify the information guys. does that problem apply for manual transmittion or auto?

By the way got lots of kedai potong & accesories. Just buy the reverse action handbrake n then u lumba la.

• bian_fab: whether its manual or auto, it's got nothing to do with the rear brakes which are spoil

• Paul : any news on the petrol price increase from 1st July ?

• bangau on Jul 01, 2005 at 4:49 am

you guys are sooo bias.

• ngapatt on Jul 01, 2005 at 5:14 pm

darn.. i dont think my myvi got this kinda problem wo … after reading these articles.. i tried to push the car while my handbrake is on .. phew*** lukily no problem…

got any more problem with myvi?

p/s: i heard ppl say about that 2 holes at bonet..err.. i don't see them leh?? where are the holes huh???

• maestro on Jul 01, 2005 at 6:58 pm

"at least P2 have the guts to recall the cars….."

what kind of idiotic comment is that? i'll slap your face… of course la recall… would it be better to wait and 2500 other cars to change parking spots on their own on hilly areas….?? its not about guts la idiot, its about what has to be done… maannn…

dah la rebadge.. tu pun error lagi..

MyVi is a rebadge car… like mentioned before… there are ppl who just like foreign things… oooo… foreign car.. nice… ooo…foreign girls nice.. …

thats immature attitude… always wanting what your neighbours have…

2500 owners of the nice to look at MyVi, an advise… go test drive the savvy while your car still retains some its value… there ought to be a lot of proton critics who would love that sort of bargainm and would snap your MyVi cars from you very quickly….

honest to god, i think the critics of proton either drive a proton themselves, have parents or siblings who are driving protons, girlfriends boy friends who are driving protons… or… would buy a proton in the next few months because they really… can't afford anything else…

don't be like that pompous idiot fiance on titanic last night…bitching all the time… two seconds of titanic last night while waiting for commercial on the other channels, and i am reminded of all the proton critics… see the similarity…

• maestro on Jul 01, 2005 at 7:20 pm

"i always proud of P2"…..

…your momma must be proud of your english too… hmm.. its true that they say… ..the non-educated ones are usually the ones with the most irrational kind of behaviour and perceptions….

• su*ker maestro,

over 40,000 ppl choose MyVi, do you think anyone of this 40,000 listen to you f**king comment.

I bet with you, NON of this 40,000 ppl will give up the MyVi order for Savvy.

• SU*KER maestro ,

i think you are right too,

"2500 owners of the nice to look at MyVi, an advise… go test drive the savvy while your car still retains some its value… there ought to be a lot of proton critics who would love that sort of bargainm and would snap your MyVi cars from you very quickly…. "

if any of this 2500 MyVi owner want to swap the MyVi, I am sure the P1 SA will not hesitate to trade-in MyVi, as they can SURELY sell it at the same (or higher) price.

BUT for the zero,000,000,025 Savvy owner, pls pls do not drive your car to Perodua showroom to swap your savvy for MyVi, you will probably loose RM10,000 in the trade-in, as the SA cannot sell your savvy. :)

• takdengki on Jul 03, 2005 at 10:41 pm

hahahha belum dapat kereta dah problem… apa la… apa punya KUALITI da…

saper yang berlagak sangat kat Myvi bagus tu ? saper saper ?? Break dah problem.. the worst problem daripada kereta tak ada airbag lah.

alamat la BUNTUT yang GABAK macam skrit tu cium bumper kereta orang lain…

• tiker on Jul 08, 2005 at 9:04 pm

waa.. very good japanese quality..

• fairlady on Jul 09, 2005 at 1:49 am

hey everybody,nobody is perfect ok??!!!

• fairlady on Jul 10, 2005 at 4:14 am

hey,yesterday i pulled the handbrake n tried to push my myvi but not moving le…no problem at all:)

• i'm going to buy a myvi.is there any body kit for myvi?i saw the body kit which design by TRD,can fix in or not?

• ally1602 on Jul 18, 2005 at 11:17 am

oh well… let's just put it this way. human nature is such… not happy…bad mouth. it's either they aren't happy with what other people have or what they themselves have!! if you don't have nothing nice to say, don't be saying it at all!! what goes around, comes around!!

• support999 on Jul 21, 2005 at 5:42 pm

..if everythings is expected to be perfect, then we might as as do away with sevice centers…we heard of recalls of all the major producers all over the world…when we make anything wrong we must be ready to rectify it…is that wrong…tell us of any of the manufacturers in Japan , Korea or west who do not make recalls…its very important to us consumers, not to be left with our problems when it happen…to me to be jumpy about problems that affect very few people is just unfortunate should be tolerated, at least ( only after all the precautions have been taken)…think p2 made right decicion in cautioning it customers about some impending problems..isn't thats something that customers would appreciate ( I would surely appreciate it)…just give your brilliant ideas to solve the problems and not comdem only…guessed those jumpy people are not even MYVI owners…go shout at the mountains man…pigilah main jauh-jauh…

• LM Tan on Aug 21, 2005 at 10:15 pm

All these year, Proton has been selling to the people of Malaysia a piece of shit at premium price. For 20 years they have short change us. it time for them to pay back.

• I got this problem with my Kancil too. But it's because of my false. When first using it I always forgot to release the h/brake. The car did move but only after a few meter I realized the red light still on (and the car feel so heavy). After that incident it almost impossible to use hand brake on a steep slope unless you yanked it very hard. But what concern me is when I use the brake on wet road the front tires always lock and skid.