Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Jaring Rocks My Socks

Advertisement

It’s been three months now since the move to Jaring, and I’m pleased to say that Jaring absolutely rocks! I have not had a single downtime for the entire three months since my server shifted it’s co-location to it’s datacenter in Bukit Jalil, and only two occasions of the TMNet-Jaring link through Eastgate going down, where traffic was routed internationally instead of through local peerings. That caused a minor slowdown instead of being totally down! BGP4 actually works in this datacenter :P

I must commend Jaring on providing an excellent co-location environment. Good air conditioning. Clean environment. There are proper lifts and ample parking outside the datacenter, unlike NetMyne where the single lift that took us up to the datacenter floor could not fit large-sized equipment like huge Sun Microsystem servers. Speedy local peering to other local ISPs. International links are also good. NTT MSC’s datacenter was also good, but they lacked speedy local peering making it not very attractive to Streamyx websurfers.

Honestly, my experience with both Telekom-linked datacenters (Myloca and Netmyne) was nothing short of a nightmare. Every week the server would go down once or twice for a few hours at some times. Excuses given included DOS attack lah, router hang lah, router spoil lah, switch spoil lah. Following CSA’s example, I would expect them to use a “buffer overflow” excuse soon. I lost alot of potential clients because of the suka-suka down temperaments that Telekom datacenters had. What’s worse was my stay in Myloca was forced by a 1 year contract.

I’m very glad I’m out of there.

BTW, did you hear Myloca and Netmyne are merging? The sky is falling!

Details on my server move are available here in one of my previous posts.

6 Comments »

1. karheng said,

July 2, 2005 @ 12:05 am

I’m thinking of changing to Jaring Wireless Broadband..do you recommend?

2. Paul said,

July 2, 2005 @ 12:11 am

sorry karheng, i’ve no experience with jaring wireless broadband, only their datacenter services.

3. Aris Tee said,

July 2, 2005 @ 9:24 am

what jaring are you using, paul? i’m pretty interested in getting broadband, but i’m sick of waiting more than 2 years for tmnet streamyx to come and pasang at my area…

4. Paul said,

July 2, 2005 @ 12:15 pm

Aris: I’m using Jaring’s Internet Data Center to host my server.

5. bei said,

July 6, 2005 @ 8:40 am

5 years ago, jaring data center suffer hard from peering issue between tmnet. That’s the reason we moved away. Situation may have improved, but migrationg domains is not an “fun” work to do, so we stick to where we are now.

6. Kelvin said,

July 26, 2005 @ 11:11 pm

Paul, is it expensive to colo with Jaring? Your IP response seems to be stable. Are you using dedicated or shared bandwidth? We are currently with Netmyne. Your posts about Jaring data center look promising to me. Thanks.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

previous post: Alternate Image Hosts for PPS Buttons
next post: Political Correctness Reaches New Ridiculous Heights