Petrol Price Hike a Hoax, but Inevitable?

Went to survey the new petrol prices at Petronas ten minutes ago, at 12:40AM. Wanted to pump my car’s tank to a full tank with the new price as I was eager to queue up with everyone else before midnight.

When I reached the Petronas near my place, I found that the prices was still the old prices. So I asked the petrol station attendants and they said that the price would only take effect at 7AM tomorrow. And they told me the hike is only 5 cents instead of the 20 cents which was rumoured.

When I got home, I discovered from SK that TV news reports had reported that it’s just a hoax. But I didn’t watch the TV reports myself so I can’t be 100% sure myself.

I’ll wait till tomorrow morning to confirm.

Anyway a petrol price hike is inevitable. Everyone better be prepared. Time to get a motorcycle!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• increased 5 cents at 7am?

are you sure?

• as I said in my blog post… i am not sure. either the rumours is wrong, or the petrol attendant is conning me. has anyone confirmed that they've seen the new price yet? i asked 2 petrol stations and they both said 5 cents.

• news on tv confirmed that no hike.

ok, i assumed that u missed the news.

• you're right, i missed the news!

• Peter Lim on Jul 01, 2005 at 12:33 pm

No hike for now……… but you never know when it will

• don"t buy any car for minsin show car ,giving me headache due to Nabira(Chervolet) intermittent petrol jaming and alternator easy spoilt after 6 month,no recommand to buy after sale poor service and respond for both hicomobil and service center minsin

• Wingz on Jul 01, 2005 at 9:02 pm

naik solar powered motorised basikal better laaa

• FlavrSavr on Jul 02, 2005 at 5:25 am

Hi. This is the first time I have left a comment on your site Paul. Firstly, thanks for all the great info on cars and other stuff! Keep it up man!

What I'd like to say here is, people can be really, REALLY stupid sometimes… So the petrol price goes up by 10sen. You go to the kiosk and tank up, lets say, 100 liters (lets get crazy here). How much do you save? RM10. When the petrol finishes? You still have to pay the new price right? And the RM10 you saved was probably used to buy a pack of ciggies and also burned away as you idled in your car while waiting for the looooong queue in front of you to finish filling up petrol.

Think about it la people! Don't be so silly! If you're buying 2 million liters of petrol, then you will save la, or if the petrol price went up by RM1 per liter.

• Colbert on Jul 02, 2005 at 7:58 am

dun believe all rumours. Govt will only increase price after the Parliament session at 4pm. Then the news will be posted on TV at 8pm. Then only the price will be effected at midnight. That's the norm. Why I know this ? Coz my ex-company is supporting Shell retail stations. Ops. MAybe I should not say that

• Accord Kia on Jul 05, 2005 at 10:13 pm

i agreed to FlavrSavr, i have no idea why ppl want to line up so long and cause the traffic so jam. i sure that no all of your guys finished your tank at that time and how much will you save if you just pump only 20 litres petrol, better dont waste your time.

• No need to fret about the petrol priceslah, do travel abroad (tak payah jauh, Thailand or Indonesia dah cukup) and see for yourselvelah how much is their petrol $.

That is why penuh dengan motosikal in these 3rd world countries as their govt.have no fund to subsidize the petrol price like our govt. Sooner or later the petrol price will increase once our govt slowly but surely reduce their subsidy. So bare with it or go for the LRT and Komuters. Better still, change our cars to the Myvi or Savvy…hehehe