Petronas Considering Quitting F1

First it was the rally scene, now it looks like the Malaysia will some of lose it’s exposure in the Formula 1 scene too. Good thing we are still hosting 1 of the races so it isn’t too bad.

Petronas is considering transferring it’s Sauber sponsorship to BMW, which recently bought over the Swiss team. Petronas has been involved in Formula 1 for the 10th year now.

The Sauber Formula 1 car’s current paintjob.

It’s just too bad. I think the Petronas green looks really nice on the car. At least I can still see it on the BTCC Proton Waja and the Petronas FP1 superbike too.

But we have to view this piece of news in both a “half-full, half-empty glass” point of view. It could mean Petronas will transfer sponsorship to the new team, or terminate sponsorship.

Half Empty: Reuters via Yahoo! News

Half Full: PitPass via SportsNetwork

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Peter Lim on Jul 01, 2005 at 12:32 pm

I saw it coming when Petronas has been so aggrasive with its 10 years in F1 promo this year. i guess the objectif and target has been met.

• Well..for once, I think the government's (Petronas is government…right?) investment went quite well..with F1. But it's seems like they have no where to go with BMW coming in. THey have their own engines and their own engineers.

• auyongtc on Jul 01, 2005 at 6:18 pm

Well, like you all said, really no point sponsoring such an able team now that BMW bought it. But should Petronas leave F1? IMHO, no..

Look at the bottom F1 teams, Red Bull Racing, Jordan Toyota, Minardi – they all may be smaller and even privateer outfits, but this is where most rookie drivers started in F1. Why not sponsor such a team? With a smaller team, Petronas can have a bigger involvement, providing their wallet is thick enough, that is.

Think about it, Petronas' sponsorship in Sauber includes getting their name plastered on an engine, a Ferrari-rebadged engine. What does this prove? Nothing! Just a name, and everyone know it's a Ferrari V10 engine!

• Omar Affifin on Jul 01, 2005 at 6:32 pm

Once more thing, Sepang Internation Circuit might host the Formula 1 race for the last time next year, due to the increase of the sanction fees/rights by FOM/FIA. FYI the organiser of the F1 in Malaysia is the only one in the world thats do not make enough money to cover its running cost of the event. The gov. might have to rethink its objective on this. With more and more country eyeing a slot, F1 has not problem to find a replacment for the Malaysian round.

• Omar: are you sure? even USA covers the cost of it's events? F1 is pretty dead in the USA, might be even worse off than here.

• Mango on Jul 01, 2005 at 8:01 pm

Oh My God…!!! No way…

I love F1. We love the sport…!!!

• peter pan on Jul 01, 2005 at 9:57 pm

Wat a SHAME!!!!!!

• Omar Affifin on Jul 02, 2005 at 2:23 am

Malaysian dont have a strong motorsport following, unlike the west, i my own opinion, Sepang Circuit is actually too far for a country like malaysia. Malaysian generally are lazy…… we want every thing at our door step, we woud like to part our car as close to the entrance even at the expense of blocking other cars. The biggest mistake our beloved gov. did was demolish the batu tiga circuit. It never fails to draw crowds for any event, big or small. anyway the damages has been done. i've been to every F1 race in sepang since 1999 90% of the ppl there on the grandstand and vip suites knows nothing about F1 other than the word RED, Ferrari, 'Shoemaker' etc.

I too hope that F1 will continue to be held in Sepang for many years to come….. FYI Sepang has been given the honour to host the 1st F1 race of the year next year…… its gonna be even more presure for the ppl involve.

• (A.W.O.L) haa… long time no see, yo Paul, what's up… had some family matters to settle & balik kg, anyway i'm back…

hmm good issue you got here, hehehe always predict that's every single thing that Dr M did while in the office if not all will eventually some of it shows it flaws… Sepang Circuit is one of them, & still many to come.. me? i do like to watch those Petronas sticker car swinging around the circuit (in tv screen that is), but me myself never have the chance to be in that circuit, why? coz i am one of theee RAKYAT that never had a chance to have these kind of luxurious time & money to spend, accept work hard for just to make a living!!!

so what ever happen to Petronas F1 team will never effect most of the rakyat accept life will go on, fuel price will still rise, toll price will still rise, & hey! for the next mellenia M'sia will still be govern by the same party: BN, even every body knows the leading party is so corrupt!!! & EVEN IF 80% M'SIAN CAST A VOTE FOR ANOTHER PARTY, BN WILL STILL WIN..

and for me, consider myself very lucky can still brows internet reading Paul's Blog. hehehe

all & all it is CITRA WARNA MALAYSIA!!!

• Jawa oh Jawa, if not for the corrupted leading party, you will not be browsing and working at you current job for that matter (you must be exhausted just to work and no play).

My advise is for you to go to Singapore and request for permanent citizenship there. Your hardwork attitude and no 'Malaysia Boleh' semangat is just right for the Singaporean Kiasus…Orang cerita pasal Petronas, kau cerita pasal BN!!

• wa sea hokkien lang on Jul 26, 2005 at 8:10 am

everyone have their own opinion and comment in every issue that our sifu

paul write here even if that person talks out of topic……

• wa sea hokkien lang on Jul 26, 2005 at 8:20 am

by the way i agree with with omar say malaysian wants evrything at the door step… if this still read by people…..

you can see when we go to shopping in at mall every 1 park wants parks close at enterence… right?

• codered on Sep 28, 2005 at 6:28 pm

Adnan, we don't need people like Jawa in S'pore. Work hard only will bring us to nowhere. We work smart as well, if not we will never achieved developed nation status. Don't let yourself influenced by this go bloc peoples. My cousins in M'sia whom are children of 'penoroka' have graduated from UM and now are doctor, lawyer and accountant.If you have a miserable life, look at yourself rather than to see if you have enough subsidiary that are spoon feed by the govt.

Anyway I will be missing the Sauber Petronas F1 team next year. Do you?

• codegreen on Oct 14, 2005 at 10:29 pm

Can the F1 11th mysterious team be Petronas??