Government Commited to Removing Protection for Proton

Our PM was quoted saying this in a report by Associated Press.

Proton is our car. We want Proton to succeed. We have been protecting Proton. The protection is being reduced gradually because that is the right thing to do. While we gradually reduce protection, Proton must improve quality and capability so that it can compete with other cars.

Looks like Proton has to find someone to buy it fast, otherwise market share will continue to drop below 45%.

The days of Proton vehicles being unnaturally much cheaper than foreign makes are over.

Even now from what I observe, Malaysians are turning to longer and longer loans so they can afford non-Protons. They do not care if they pay an additional 2-3 years longer than the usual 5 year loans people take. They don’t want to suffer with low quality Protons anymore.

Mahaleel has spoken, Dr. M has spoken, and now the PM has spoken. Now the ball’s in Rafidah’s park.

Somehow I think we should not be too happy about this. I don’t think we are going to get cheaper cars in the end. I have a really bad feeling that foreign CKDs will still be as expensive as they are now, just that Proton is going to be more expensive. Sigh. Really, nothing for us to be happy about.

Full story here.

Source: Associated Press, via Yahoo News.

Rafidah remains tight lipped
Government Commited to removing protection for Proton
Rafidah instructed to reply Dr. M
Misconceptions over Proton subsidy unfortunate
Proton vs. MITI Round 3
Mahaleel’s job safe for now
Tengku Mahaleel given 1 week to explain
Mahaleel’s job on the line
Rafidah’s cheap shots at Mahaleel
Malaysia’s new automotive policy delayed
Tengku Mahaleel critics government auto policies
AP holders told not to compete with Proton

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Jul 08, 2005 at 2:38 am

sometime.. i just think..

This all matter started caused by the BAD and Stinky mouth of the rafidah aziz (or she's the one those have a AP? = korean car masuk malaysia = approved = dapat duit? )

even i knew almost out there hate proton so much.. but do we are proud with it b4? .. oh come on.. dont be hipocrate.. Just because oF MYVI .. u think proton sucks? .. huh.. how like that aa ..

ermm.. closing Proton not only just like that..

not just like eating Kacang.

Close the proton mean :

Loses of thousand jobs!!! . in proton s.alam, in bandar proton, in proton edar in bla bla.. Perhaps, even proton takeover by another.. but surely there's still lots of impact.

It's not a simple and easy thing all the way..

Think! Think people.. think out of the box..

Aiyaa Rafidah.. Lu sudah tua maa.. jangan bising2 laa.. turun pangkat.. balik rumah kampung.. jaga cucu sama buat ibadat laa..

i dont think u do sooooo much for malaysian lah..

give to more younger and creative leader to be lah..

cukuplah Mak Nenek oooii..

• daniel on Jul 08, 2005 at 3:06 am

heh.. well said mitsu.. closing down proton is NOT the answer.. improving, upgrading and maybe changing the parts supplier (as the parts now sucks..) maybe the answer.. but as mitsu said.. it's not as simple as that.. if ONLY it was.. wont life be a bliss?

• suanie on Jul 08, 2005 at 3:17 am

so it's not that people are getting richer.. it's that they are willing to get longer loans.. I always wonder how it is that more people are able to afford keng cars what with everything else rising except our pay cheques.

• my b now is a right time for government to do a right thing! is not rafidah have to do is a fact that will do. we cant think that how much people will suffering in proton. we r thinking of how our country future will effect for all nation, that the thing we see not just only proton. if the thing not doing right why not we make it right rather than feed a BANGAU than give to a dog n eat!. do u know how much our TEX will do cost by this people who don't no how to do a business. we not paying a TEX for government to do a KANPONG style n not benefit for all nation but for some minority group only if the government know how to look to future. we don't 1 our country like indon o philippin just because of feeding the BANGAU at the end all cant do nothing to do a batter thing. we not like indon only a group than there start making noise without thingking a future for country, we not making noise now but don't no how in the future gone b. good government will b look in the future n more transparent. I see our guvernment make a right move of the right way.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Jul 08, 2005 at 3:44 am

thanks daniel.. n u r right..

also the vendors.. they also making money from the proton.. bumper, aircond, radio, even a small part as Door knob :D still an income to workers..

in past years, proton have many JASA, i think.. without proton. most foreign car company will never ever low their car price.. Caused to compete with the protective proton, they get low their price.. in term of lowering price to compete proton, they assemble their car in malaysia = more jobs created..

and without proton.. i dare to say, we never see many car on the road as today.. Buruk2 proton, lembik2 proton.. dah ramai yang balik kampung, balik raya, pergi kerja sekalipun using the sucks proton :p.

Even roman's empire didn't build in tousand years.. and this proton?.. Comparing to the misubishi, toyota, bla bla bla.. they started their company since 19th century or less.. proton just 21 years old.. not too much we can put our hope..

Tg mahalel maybe not so powerfull to lead proton.. Late ceo (i not remember who. arwah Tan Sri yahya?) those buy share in Lotus Eng. is a very good step.. but how much we can take from it? Why so slow aa?..

HUrmm. proton need a new powerfull CEO i think.. :D but who? Anak Abdullah Badawi? Huh!

• what r u talking about?, proton car r the most expensive car that our Malaysians have to! to buy, is like idiot give TEX money to government to do business n get return n build up our nation for our Malaysians to live more quality life but at the end only burdens. just because our car national proton built a cheep quality car n TEX up foreigner car s height 300% than!. if com pair whit currency other foreigner car will more cheaper than us n good quality! idiot.

• kahping on Jul 08, 2005 at 5:21 am

longer loan? no thanks…

Proton? no thanks..

who decide our fate?

• hmm so hard to think of all these!!! let us just pray to god & make this world a better place to live, espacialy for our beloved peacefull M'sia!!!

No doubt about Proton "jasa" & if not by Dr M own idea of creating it, we might not be like we are today.. but the sad is when he stay in the office to long, greedy build up by itself, or may i call it evolve… the good thing turn bad & even ugly, & that's what happen.

so now it's up to us… the future is ours.. let us work together.. !!! all these oppinion are quit good actually, just from this blog, & there are more… so lets hope there will some wind of change in this country!!!

• just pray for god 1 of us. n have a new good generation who more transparent to build up our country who can stand up n voice up not depending what ever easy can come n than we wait n see but at the end we all who seafaring. we all work n Pay OUR TEX just 1 to build up our country not to volt to who people suck our blood at the back n act like there know how to do a thing in front n do littell bit thing to gen a volt for there own minority party only.

• akari on Jul 08, 2005 at 7:49 am

"Just because oF MYVI .. u think proton sucks?"

– everyone know proton sucks, myvi have nothing to do with proton's quality. lol

"coz of proton most foreign car company will lower their car price…"

– i tot coz of proton most foreign car have higher car price with the tax? lol 50++k u want to buy toyota vios or proton wira?

"and without proton.. i dare to say, we never see many car on the road as today.. Buruk2 proton, lembik2 proton.. dah ramai yang balik kampung, balik raya, pergi kerja sekalipun using the sucks proton :p."

– without proton, foreign car are almost same price with current proton, road will full of foreign car but not proton… all ppl used to drive proton because of they cant afford to buy foreign car due to tax that protect proton! do u think they really willing to buy proton after all?

• mysticdreamworks on Jul 08, 2005 at 10:19 am

hehe..

without high TEX ..

how come gov survive then :p

for me it's typically malaysian gonna blame this, and this.. then pro for this and anti for that.. bla bla..

Proton is a good idea.. the BAD is the way it go

• akari on Jul 09, 2005 at 4:52 am

ya… without high tax, our country where have money to buy sub-marine? somemore good result students cant get their scholarship, what the heck?

• neurra on Jul 10, 2005 at 8:31 am

without proton, foreign car are almost same price with current proton, road will full of foreign car but not proton… all ppl used to drive proton because of they cant afford to buy foreign car due to tax that protect proton! do u think they really willing to buy proton after all?

so stop complaining and pay where it fits ur current status.. proton was there to sell at a price range well for the moderate achieving workers out there.. at least proton was there to supply it.. quit complaining and work harder to earn more salary if u don't want proton..

support proton la.. they're always renewing themselves.. how can they be continuously motivated if the rakyat ppl are so demotivated? complain complain complain..

• sekot on Jul 12, 2005 at 4:00 am

change the mgmt. Still remember Ghosn? Change the policy. Ask Proton to source the parts anywhere.. look at the 1st class vendor like denso, delphi, JCI, Faurecia, Bosch,Kayaba. they are world clss supplier.. not like some xxx vendors who only know how to make money & doesnt even know how to pay their workers… damn.. sumore screw Proton.. how on earth that the prototype/goshi parts pass all the stringent test within the cycle but the production ones fail? Not to say that Proton have good design all the times but please … takkan bracket kecik pon boleh fail easily?

• do u think we PAY TEX till now just yesterday? we r paying TEX more than u work s twice s u work, so do u think we have to tell Proton o BANGAU how to do n improve the thing that there think there doing grad!. do u think our national money for blind people to testing ground!

do u think proton doing will now, from who money?, me u every 1 of us s Malaysians who pay TEX more o less o not pay at all . if there not doing well give a try for people who can do batter. we not see proton just yesterday ,is more than 20 +++ year n just do product that not till a standard for international but only a dangerous for something that need it.

• akari said,

July 8, 2005 @ 8:52 pm

ya… without high tax, our country where have money to buy sub-marine? somemore good result students cant get their scholarship, what the heck? .

my cury! do u think our TEX pay n used by our government to do n protect this people BANGAU? ,do u think for how long!. do u know how long Proton been protect by now but there still not to improve n sell a rubbish to our Malaysians have only to buy a product that not even a standard to some of country who same type category production of car!

IF our TEX pay is equal n go to some improvement we Malaysians don't mind for that but not to PROTON . is like do a shit n sell back to us Malaysians.

TO protect Proton must have some improvement in their Business n bring back a benefit to our Malaysians.

We r losing at the back if we still protect Proton who cant do nothing.

Do u think Proton car only RM44 .