New people mover for Malaysia: Suzuki APV

Suzuki Malaysia launched it’s second model, the Suzuki APV (All Purpose Vehicle) here on Thursday. The Suzuki APV is a 8-seater small rear-wheel drive MPV that runs on a 1.6 aluminium block long stroke engine making 92hp.

It’s pretty much a van-styled body with a boxy and tall body and the engine under the seats.

The car will cost you RM61, 888 for the 5-speed manual transmission, and RM69, 888 for the 4-speed automatic. Not too bad. Cheaper than the Toyota Avanza, since it’s fully imported from Indonesia.

However a turn-off for most people will be the looks of the thing. It looks pretty dated. Such designs can KILL a car, like the Proton Juara.

But the box design is essential to provide maximum interior space inside. Attempts to somewhat soften the boxy look with a small curvish nose and all. But it ends up looking somewhat like a less classy smaller version of the Nissan Serena, or a Toyota Alphard.

The Suzuki APV looks like a promising competitor for the Toyota Avanza, however the small man looking for a budget people mover to bring his big family around would be looking for a car which is cheap to maintain. How Suzuki’s after-sales service and availability of spare parts, and overall reliability of the car would be will make the average small-income man worry. Suzuki has been missing from the Malaysian market from a long time and they don’t have the trust that Toyota has built over the years. However one plus point would be that it is fully imported from Indonesia. Malaysians wet their pants at the sight of the text “fully imported”.

Suzuki is targetting 5% of the MPV market with this Suzuki APV. This translates to about 200 units sold per month. Let’s see how they fare.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• mamatd on Jul 16, 2005 at 8:06 pm

Paul.

There was another Suzuki product running about earlier to this on. ARV or something similar sounded to that. It's not that well-sold, I guess.

Yes, looks count. Juara is a very good example of a product that was not properly tot of! Who should be (dis-)credited in coming out with that horrendous design?

mamatd … malu lah nak mengaku engineer di malaysia nie…

• Hi Mamatd,

I believe you are referred to Suzuki ERV. The ERV was contracted assembly to INOKOM kulim by Lion Suzuki, before change hand to Suzuki Malaysia. ERV is not selling well may be becoz of it boxy style.Don't know about the future of ARV?

• surfnux on Jul 16, 2005 at 8:57 pm

OMG!!! That car also got here already? When looking from the side, the car just looked like a moving rectangular box. Its design is just so tall and plain square almost like proton juara.

but for the prize, it will be a good choice for a family car.

• Aris Tee on Jul 16, 2005 at 10:08 pm

fyi, Juara was designed by Mitsubishi, and is a best seller in Japan. Can be seen almost everywhere in Japan… shows that the Malaysian car industry isn't matured enough to receive radical modern designs yet… just my 2 cents

Visit the Juara Club at http://groups.yahoo.com/groups/protonjuara

• Ironically Proton has not learnt that Malaysians cannot accept radical designs… evident with their "dare to change" and "dare to dare" campaigns.

• Leong on Jul 17, 2005 at 3:23 am

I think Malaysian have perceptions that tall boxy cars like Juara seems to be less stable when cornering. They also might fear that Juara might be easily flipped during highway if a strong gust of winds blowing.

Other most logical reason why Juara was not sucessful is probably the design itself. We should be proud as a Malaysian because now we have our own attitude, requirement and taste. Last time, we just follow other which were a hit in developed countries and WE have to follow their taste and preference. Now WE have our own preference and Juara is not very prefered one. Proton Dare the Change.. good.. but make sure it suits Malaysian taste. Not foreign counties taste.

• Agree. Proton always didn't consult their customer and sensitive to their malaysian customer. First came the Proton Juara, then Proton Arena. They didn't have continuity in their product, i.e : Honda having their 7th generation ciciv, whereas Proton decide to use the "Replacement Model". even Iran critisized our Wira is too old to market !!

• Philip on Jul 17, 2005 at 7:10 am

Talking about Proton doing some market research before rolling out a 'new' model. I think Proton really need to do some market research and learn about the taste of the target market segment.

I have to admit this car does look boxy from the outside and even from the inside(check out the indonesian suzuki website). I must say this is a serious contender to the Avanza but it may ultimately lose out on a few points. Some have been mentioned by Paul, and I want to point out that the rear of the APV rest on a set of leaf springs. Wouldn't that make the ride bumpy and less comfortable? Consumption of the car would be higher I guess, not because of the bigger CC but because it doesn't run on a VVTi typed technology. Isn't the bhp a little low?

• the engine probably has different tuning to provide more power at the low end to transport the 8 people. that's why peak hp is slow.

• Human Sannz on Jul 17, 2005 at 10:04 am

Yes i really agree that proton wira is too old to be competed in the market.I have a proton wira 1.6Xli and i found that it is very high in fuel comsumption.RM43 can go around 260km on the city roads.Is it really high??? I considered wanna trade this car and buy either MyVi or Savvy.Which one is better har??? can i know the standard fuel comsumption for the wira 1.6??? Is the Satria GTi a 'fuel thirster' too???Since Paul are having a satria Gti, can u answer me???

Fully appreciated by the Sannz

• I believe the previous rebadge Tiara is the definite failure, wheresa Savvy will having the same faith! As of today, only secure 5000 orders since it was launched last month. . We, Malaysian no need "tank" to protect our life. We need advanced safety features (Either active or passive).

For those having interest, do ensure you get the full maintainance cost prior make out your mind.

• I believe the previous rebadge Tiara is the definite failure, wheresa Savvy will having the same faith! As of today, only secure 5000 orders since it was launched last month. . We, Malaysian no need "tank" to protect our life. We need advanced safety features (Either active or passive).

• December on Jul 18, 2005 at 7:36 pm

im gonna ask something that is totally irrelevent, paul, how much is the new suzuki swift going for? im in love with it

• suzuki on Jul 18, 2005 at 10:30 pm

Dear All,

this column is written for Suzuki APV,

NOT proton….. talk about proton in other column, or just forget about proton totally.

for now… this is Suzuki APV.

Thank you for your attention

• suzuki on Jul 18, 2005 at 10:53 pm

dear December,

Suzuki Swift is double $$ of a Perodua MyVi.

at RM80,000.00 with 1.5cc engine complete with Air-Bag, ABS with EBD, fully imported.

• December on Jul 19, 2005 at 12:21 am

dear suzuki

thank you for your kindness, i will be get you a teh tarik

regards.

• Gebang on Jul 26, 2005 at 11:54 pm

For me, the APV Suzuki is nice car for big family like the most malaysian family. The price is better than other MPV (1.1 to 1.8 class ) in Malaysia. How about the spare part for Suzuki APV ? (Please respon to my question )

• Loong on Oct 01, 2014 at 1:14 am

Saya dah pakai suzuki sejak tahun 2005. Masalah saya gear box belakang sudah berbunyi kuat dan masih tak boleh repair.dimana ada recond exel bagi suzuki apv 2005 modal.Tolong betitahu saya dimana makanik yang mahir repair Apv dekat Seremban,N.S.

• Khairul Syafiq on Nov 09, 2017 at 7:47 pm

suzuki apv saya masih elok lagi..tiada sebarang masalah

• Hi

Very impressed with new Suzuki APV. Very spacious. Sometimes felt regret when I bought Hyundai Matrix last 2 years. Matrix suitable for5 person. APV body is very solid. Only thing is the door is slightly different because too high. From 10 points, I give 7 for APV.

• shah_Laksmana Jaya on Aug 03, 2005 at 1:01 am

I just bought Suzuki APV, just wait loan to be approved and will receive somewhere next week , i dare to buy coz believe its better than Korean Car. But most of my companians say that the 2nd Value is bad, how about the spare part hah… anybody have an idea about that?

• Hi there,

I actually just seen this vehicle last nite, looks nice… Very spacious, Price also very attractive. I just worried on servicing and spare parts.

M actually thinking of getting one for myself. Any opinion for me?

Thanks n regards.

• kongim on Aug 13, 2005 at 12:46 am

Recently I bought a new Juara for MR 37000 (2001 Stock).

Its is 4 speed auto transmission, self contained electric power steering, front mcpherson strut with rear coil over spring, trailing edge arm with anti roll bar suspension, electronic lcd counter on the odometer, accomodated 4 adult passenger and 2 below 10 year old, electronic fuel injection engine.What can you ask for that amount of money. It is better than outdated Iswara with carburettor engine. Look at the spec. It is simply value for money minus the looks. But who cares in a monopolised market like Malaysia

• Dear Suzuki, I´m interested in APV. Please send me a dealer contact to buy and send to SOuth America.

Regards,

Pio

• shah_Laksamana Jaya on Aug 22, 2005 at 11:57 pm

My loan has approved, got to wait two weeks, the salesman promised within this week , just now called salesman said AP yet to release, hopefully can get before this friday…………be patient ……any suzuki man here to comments?

• Vinay on Aug 23, 2005 at 3:40 am

Dear Sir/Madam,

I am looking for the following used cars:

SUZUKI MODEL : EVERY NO : DA52V

YEAR : 1998, 1999, 2000 GRADE :

OPTIONS : AIR_CONDITION,POWER_STEERING

5 DOOR, 4 SEATER, 660CC, HIGH ROOF, AUTO TRANSMISSION, ANY COLOUR, C

Please let me know the costing of the car. The models which I am interested in are mentioned above. Your prompt reply will be much appreciated. Thanks.

Regards,

Vinay

• there are not many APV(s) on the road…i have seen some… i like it…

i like economical ppl carrier

• Melvin on Sep 04, 2005 at 4:19 pm

Dear All,

I believe i wuz one of the first to drive the APV on the road ! We paid for the APV in cash hence we got it on the road within 3 days…

So far to me the built is good and interiors practical and easy to use. The gearbox is superbly smooth…

Cheers !

• shah_Laksamana Jaya on Sep 09, 2005 at 11:55 pm

dear Melvin,

I am one of the customer who waiting for Suzuki APV, on my part …. everything already settled (loan and full deposit), but the problem right now is AP, The dealer promised me before National Day Celebration, untill now i still can't get my APV, to Melvin ………….Congratulation , Heh next step we set -up Apv Club ok….????Please reply.

• I am very interested in getting 1 APV (A/T) as my family car, but I need feedback from the APV owners regardin its power (will it under power since it is only 1.6 especially to the A/T), its FC, and more.

Please advise.

Txs.

• Huzaifa on Jun 15, 2012 at 7:54 pm

The power of suzuki is unmatchable is too much powerful car.
      The comfort level of this car is also v high leg space is too much in back seats better than a jeep or 4wd

• Melvin on Sep 12, 2005 at 5:56 am

Shah..

hope u wud have gotten ur APV by now. Mine had it's registration problems too, on the 2nd day the JPJ failed them..said the APV is not a SUV category, it should be regiatered as a VAN ! omg.. something like open panel van..but it really made my Suzuki agent go wild as it was their first APV case in KL for registration. Anyway as usual, our poor JPJ guys never give a CLEAR guideline on what's possible and what's not.

APV club ?

• YK Liew on Sep 13, 2005 at 7:59 pm

Like Chew, I would like some feedback on the Suzuki APV driving performance on the road.

Can someone reply to us..

TQ.

• shah_Laksamana Jaya on Sep 14, 2005 at 12:37 am

Dear Melvin,

Thanks for replying my massege, I am waiting my first new APV ,i got to wait .for AP approval (is said to be held by government) Mine is 2nd Batch, already parked at Port Klang Depot . Still done have AP, there are about 300 APV have had arrived…..but can't register..dont have AP …U lucky …. coz received 1st Bacth, I have contacted HQ(DRB-HICOM) they said end Sept or early Oct 05 …..wonder … Why????? I think DRB waits for government declaration about new automative policies which I heard will be announced on 2006 Budget ???

• YK Liew on Sep 15, 2005 at 4:08 pm

Dear Melvin,

Since u have took delivery, how is the performance on this apv? Like Chew, I want to know from the user how is the handling of this car, fuel consumption, etc if U have all the info.

Thanking you in advance.

• maven on Sep 17, 2005 at 11:24 pm

Maybe you wanna look this, a news bout Mitsubishi Maven who got the same look with Suzuki APV.
    http://www.auto-asia.com/viewcontent.asp?pk=10252

• Hi everybody.

I interested with APV, thinking to buy next year. I'm realy like the 8 seater & spacious in APV. cheeper than Naza Citra by RM10k. Hope can get usedfull review here. Tried to get some in internet, but hardly find it.

Congrat to you guy who already owned it. .

bye.

• Calvin on Sep 23, 2005 at 8:15 pm

Hey everybody,

I liked the APV style look & booked one in early Aug 05, the salesman promised can get the APV

in 10days , but wait until today still no news on it.

Every time I called they said wait another one two weeks……………..

Dont know what really happen?????????????????????????????

• shah_Laksamana Jaya on Sep 28, 2005 at 6:11 pm

Calvin,

I just went to dealer & called Suzuki Malaysia, the APV have already AP released and now at gleinmarie Shah Alam for PDI inspection , there are 300 APV and 300 Swift about to be delivered within this 2-3 day to dealer (end of September 05) . I still waiting as all clearance has been made……Hopefully somewhere next week APV willbe at front of my house ………….yeahhhhh ..

to SAM you can look at preview at www.suzuki.net.my

• Calvin on Sep 28, 2005 at 11:46 pm

Hi Shah,

I heard that JPJ will take 1 week time to issue the registration card & roadtax for imported car. Hopefully you will get your APV next week.

As for me, I already cancelled order and go to Naza Ria.

Good luck.

• Felix on Oct 12, 2005 at 10:28 am

Hi Every body,

I have a Suzuki ERV for 3 years now. I love it and very satisfied with it. It carries me travel over 65,000 KM to date and not having a problem. Only recently I found that the front disc brake shoe need to be changed and I have to hunt for it…for the APV, it looks to me like the ERV turn middle age…a bit fat..

:)

• MPV duty increase? anybody here know whether APV pricing affected?

• mel 6840 on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:25 am

u guys can't get ur apv not because of duty it's because of u know the issue of ap????now i think they want to know who willing to pay more ….who pay more who will get it…..government always said no money ……one AP cost how much and they gave out how many AP's each year …….lately they listed out their names so total holder multiply the cost of one AP ……then how much …..where is all the money gone Ha ha ha

• mel 6840 on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:32 am

juara is good compare to other proton modelsif u talk about quality……the whole thing is from japan …..where as wira latest model, gen 2 ,savvy…… somemore good coz they treat those car owner as their Qa officer for free……u buy u check then tell them they up gradebut don't forget to pay first……no laku they blame other brand …….this is wat a pure malaysian do bisness…… so till the end the car owner is their scape goat

• mel 6840 on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:39 am

japanese design for them(proton) once they know how to do they kick those japs out compare perodua …market …..big gap…..so i hope perodua don't follow their way be smart…..talk about Quality perodua is much more better than proton why…… both also malaysian made car….. then ask the the public

• Chern on Nov 01, 2005 at 1:49 am

I like the appearance of the APV, but I don't plan to buy it. Who do you think will buy such a car with so many seats? I heard that many buy it just for their big enough family, is that right? Are there anyone else who will purchase this APV for other purpose?

• khoso on Nov 11, 2005 at 9:28 am

Hi all

Every thing is ok . But please Answer my question .What about APV suspension . i heard rear suspension is leaf spring . will this be comfortable for rough roads thanks I am new here

BYE

KHOSO

• Hi KHOSO

OK lar on normal road but if rough ………….. like Kangaroo

• Audrey on Nov 20, 2005 at 7:53 am

Hi, everyone!

I believe some of you're driving your APV on the road now unlike those in East Msia & I just can't wait for my customer's car to arrive in KK here before end of this month. hopefully they've declared the AP after waited for months. If, you would like to find out more about the SUZUKI Automobile APV,SWIFT & GRAND VITARA) please do drop by any of the dealer's thru out Msia for advices

• YK Liew on Jan 06, 2006 at 4:31 pm

Dear Suzuki APV car owner,

I would like some feedback on the fuel consumption and performance of this MPV. I am still interested to become an owner but require more input from you before I do so.

Thank you for your feedback.

• peterliew on Jan 08, 2006 at 7:34 am

apv 12lits per 100km for town & country roads. freeways you get 9lits per 100km. i got my apv june 2005, performance well like any other mpvs . done 10000km, nsw australia..

• mt_lau (Member) on Feb 27, 2006 at 12:39 am

For Melaka Town usage about 21cents per KM Hihgway about 19cents/km

• heman (Member) on Mar 21, 2006 at 8:56 pm

Why is the APV so bouncy & do any face the fuel problem as I an getting 50km per RM10.00

• arfman (Member) on Apr 05, 2006 at 5:38 am

it's 5.2L for 50km. 11.4L per 100km. that's about what peterliew makes with his. isn't that the normal consumption range for MPVs? I just got my APV and the fuel is burning a bit faster than that range. Guess I got myself a reason to worry…

• dinn2ks (Member) on Apr 21, 2006 at 10:39 pm

Hi there!

I bought suzuki erv last month (second hand) but got 1 problem, after drive around 20km and i stop at trafic light or trafic jam, the engine will giggle and stop. a bit hard to strat again, then shown engine check symbol at meter panel. it allways like that. is it true the ECU got proble, or just the fuel filter or air filter?

suzuki ttdi said maybe ecu. becouse after cleaning air filter no different. fuel filter they said the location is in the petrol tank.? very funny. what is the cost for ECU replacement? can I get at kedai potong? please anybody help!

• abdul hamid pin on Feb 06, 2011 at 11:05 am

hai din, nak tanya sikit pasal erv awak tu. brake dak ok ke? sebab sy baru nak beli. ok ke? setakat cameron highland tu boleh naik ke?

• Lee Williams on Dec 19, 2012 at 4:07 am

If you are in Penang, then I can recommend you a mechanic well-trained in this ERV car. If not, sorry I can be of much help.

Hope you can get it retified by a good mechanic.

Williams

• sshasan (Member) on Jul 04, 2006 at 11:05 am

Hi, I have recently bought a Suzuki APV. I find it very good to drive and am happy with it but am facing a problem in the gear shifting. The problem started with the reverse gear. It engages with a grinding sound and you can feel the gears grinding in your hands. This problem came to light in the first 500 kms. The company initially adjusted the ckutch cable etc and later they changed the complete gear box, the clutch clutch and the pressure plate. The problem disappeared but after running another 1500 kms it has started to appera agian. I have again written to the local Suzuki company but this time I have not heard from them since 4-5 days. By posting my experience on this site I would like to ask other APV owners to please share with me if they also have a similar problem in the gears. If any one is interested then start the engine and engage the reverse gear slowly. In my car it happens only occassionally i.e once in every 3-4 engagement. Pressing the clutch twice only increases the problem. I also feel a slight grinding in engaging the third gear but6 that is very slight. At present no one can explain a reason for this problem.

sshasan

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 6:56 pm

Wow…it's even taller than KL Tower…don't be surprised to find the APV on its side after tackling a roundabout…

• avanza (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 11:50 pm

I used to own a Suzuki ERV, an MPV quite similar to the APV. Purchased it in 2002 from Lion Suzuki. When DRB-Hicom took over the Suzuki, they do not provide after sales support for the ERV.

So when Lion Motors ran out of ERV parts, I was left high and dry! I had to sell my ERV for fear of not being able to use the car any further. I sold it off at 30% of the purchase price eventhough it was 3.5 years old!

How can DRB ignore ERV owners! How can Suzuki Motors of Japan not insist that DRB also look after all Suzuki sold by former distributors.

So my advice to all those reading this blog, don't buy cars from unstable distributors like Lion Suzuki and irresponsible ones like DRB.

• Ramavi (Member) on Jul 30, 2006 at 7:08 am

I am Interesting to buy an APV, just because is a familiar car, The APV has a lot of vantages, but my concern is about the comments I read above, some of them are as followas:

1.- Fuel Consumption, the data mentioned above is for manual o automatic transmision?

2.- I read a but a problem with the gear shifting, is this common or is a factory problem?

3.- Rear suspendion, it is so hard, this can be good for bad roads.

4.- The motor is complete of aluminum, what about its durability?

5.- What about the spare parts?

6.- Parts are made in Japan, for example the motor?

• domoteka (Member) on Aug 18, 2006 at 4:38 am

I own a Suzuki ERV for a few years now. I think spare parts are available,as are mechanics who were trained by Suzuki.What attracted me to the ERV from its main competitor Avanza was its specs.For a much cheaper price you get an Air Bag, Electrical Assisted Steering, Aluminium EFI Engine, Sunroof and real 7 seater capacity.

The Avanza,albeit its "Toyota" badge was just an expensive elongated Kembara. Most of you wont believe me or refuse to believe me but the Kembara engine is in the Avanza. The Avanza is also assembled by Perodua. This trickery is what pissed me off Avanza.

For me,if I were to change my ERV it will be to an 8 seater APV.

Value for money,and not paying for some overpriced rebadged "Toyota".

• Lee Williams on Dec 19, 2012 at 3:53 am

I bought my Suzuki ERV in 2001 during its launching day in Penang. I agree with you that for the price of RM60k, most of the accessories that comes with it is normally only available in cars that cost RM100k or more. It’s a very good buy.

I have been using it for 11 years already and have had no major problems and it is still running as good as ever. Climbing hills and pick-up speed is still as good as new. I’ll not sell it off. I love this car more

Hope you love your ERV too.

Bye,Williams

• Allan Punya Van-APV (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 5:33 am

I had this APV since Oct 2005,I 'm very satisfied with the overall performance especially the solid body and engine.The fuel consumption is a bit high but comparable to most MPV…but generally better than the Naza Citra.Not too expensive….like Avanza.Any APV Club?

• haroon zuberi (Member) on Sep 10, 2006 at 1:43 am

Suzuki Pakistan has introduced suzuki apv (1.5 litre), imported from Indonesia. Someone, who is using suzuki apv may please let me know the followings:

1. Its mileage in the city and on highway.

2. If any technical problem particularly with suspension and gears.

3. While taking test drive, I realized that on high speed in 4th gear, the body vibrates. But in 5th gear it reduced to negligible. It may be due to 4th gear in high speed.

Please Comment.

Haroon Zuberi.

• uitm (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 12:17 am

Anybody out there to help? I just bought a erv 1.3 2001 model. We are a small family and quite happy with the erv until certain worries developed recently.

1. Not sure what normal feul consumption. I am getting 44 km for M 10 fuel grade (synergy-92?)

2.Can I drive all the time with the OD on?

3.Did the car come originally with a maintanance kit?

4. Any idea on who to maintan the car with?

5. Does the electric stirring agree with normal tyre alingnment?

6. I feel the timing and the idealing are too high. Can it be adjusted?

Many many thanks for your kind reply

uitm

• SERGIO (Member) on Nov 18, 2006 at 1:10 pm

Dear Suzuki

my dad is owner of an APV

and is good but its noisy i would like to know if you can rise up the power engine like 2.0 L. maybe.

• oharebrian (Member) on Mar 09, 2007 at 7:41 am

i am interested of buying a suzuki apv, however can those apv owners give me an advice on the usual problems faced by the spare-parts?

i want to know what are the weakness for the spare-parts in this SUZUKI APV.

what i want to know is that what are the parts that is easily broken?

• manmantandoc (Member) on Mar 21, 2007 at 9:34 pm

my family and i had a very bad experience with our suzuki APV…………scary…….this is very ironic since they are positioning thier APV to be a family wagon and yet my family almost got hurt and now is still traumatized. mere sight of our suzuki apv at home gives my children the creaps! my children now call our APV "A Possessed Van"

it's been more than 3 months and they still dont want to refund………all they are saying is that per their investigation, the car has no defect…………but all evidences show the car freaked out! ( we have lots of photos, videos, and a police report) they don't want to make an official statement……….our company lawyers had been demanding since day 1……..they can't even provide a theory at least…………is this a sign of guilt? now they are asking for a free repair and a meeting……….what for?

here is a copy of my original letter to my suzuki dealer …….read on and warn your loved ones…………

January 8, 2007

MR. RIZALINO ALCANTARA

Service Manager

Suzuki Auto Shaw Mandaluyong

Mandaluyong City, Metro Manila (FAX NUMBER 7256505)

Dear Mr. Alcantara:

I availed of a car lease benefit from my company, China Bank Corporation last April 2006. My wife & I chose your Suzuki APV, because of its reasonable price and value for money features. We decided that this will be the vehicle that my wife will be using everyday to bring and pick up my children to and from their school in Assumption Antipolo.

My Black APV GLX unit was delivered to my home on May 4, 2006.

During my 5,000 km change oil last October 30, 2006 (km reading 5,653) my car was declared fit for travel.

Yesterday, January 7, 2007, Sunday, at 11:00am, my wife and children boarded our APV parked inside our garage (my four children seated at the 2ndrow & my wife was at the driver’s seat). With the transmission at “P” and the hand brake on, my wife started the vehicle without stepping on the gas. Upon ignition, the car instantaneously went into very high revolution and started taking a very strong reverse motion, contrary to the “P” & the hand brake. In just a split of a second, the car bumped the right side of our gate post, creating big damage on the right fender, right side mirrors, and a broken right front wheel tire rod. It moved the vehicle from a stationary position to about 5 meters to the main road. If not for the car hitting the big gate post, the car could have ran all the way to the main street creating more harm to property including crossing vehicles.

The trauma was so much that my wife & children were hysterical! The car acted like a possessed vehicle with a mind of its own! Imagine if this happened while my wife & children were on the hilly streets of Antipolo! Imagine if one of my children or any of my house help were somewhere at the back of the vehicle! Imagine if this happened during a school dismissal in Assumption Antipolo with children walking left & right!

My wife had been a non-professional driver for almost five years already and was never involved in any automobile accident. She is also very familiar driving several vehicles which we own like Isuzu Trooper (automatic) , Isuzu Hi-lander Xtrm (manual), Starex Van (automatic), & Chevrolet Optra (manual).

Looking at the skid marks clearly left by the incident on our garage, it was very obvious that there was a struggle within the car’s functions. With the transmission at “P” position and hand brake on, a sudden surge of very high revolution at reverse motion upon ignition will definitely lead to an accident and threat to life & property.

This incident is definitely a major vehicle malfunction which is unforgivable! At 8 months and at 7,784 km odometer reading, a brand new vehicle is never expected to perform this way, and jeopardize the life of my family! Your Suzuki APV placed the lives of my loved ones in danger and by no means shall I leave this incident unsettled.

With this, I am demanding that Suzuki Auto Shaw Mandaluyong retrieve my APV and refund me (thru my employer China Banking Corporation) the full purchase amount of the vehicle immediately and without any delay.

Please see attached police report, and pictures of the incident & vehicle.

I am expecting an immediate resolution of this issue. Otherwise, I will be forced to bring this to a higher level.

MR. EMMANUEL V. TANDOC

Assistant Vice President

China Banking Corporation

• hidayatmohamed (Member) on Nov 27, 2007 at 8:41 pm

Assalamu’alauikum.

Saya mempunyai sepasang Kangaroo Bar (depan + belakang) yang masih baru untuk Suzuki APV. Saya telah membelinya tetapi tak jadi nak pasang pada Suzuki APV saya.

Kepada mana pemilik Suzuki yang ingin membeli & memasang Kangaroo Bar tersebut, sila hubungi saya segera. Harga yang saya peroleh adalah yang termurah kerana saya mendapatnya terus daripada pembekal.

Siapa cepat, dia dapat.

Cikgu Hidayat Mohamed

012-3121435
    019-3454512
    016-3543134

[email protected]

• arie1968 (Member) on Apr 02, 2008 at 11:33 pm

any chance suzuki apv 2008 with new cosmetic comes to malaysian market?
    how about suzuki landy, look spacious too.

• Cikgu Akbar on Jun 13, 2009 at 12:41 pm

Saya telah memiliki Suzuki APV sejak tahun 2007……buat masa ni tiada masalah dengan engine dan segala-galanya………servis pun percuma….bawak kereta je….

Tapi bukan itu yang saya nak tanya………..SIAPA TAHU KAT MANA NAK ORDER BODY KIT SUZUKI APV LUXURY YANG BARU TU HAAH?

KALAU SESIAPA TAHU TOLONG EMEL KAT SAYA…[email protected]

• salah on Jul 15, 2009 at 7:45 am

please I have a suzuki APV car and , at one day I try to run the car but it is started but it is not runing a, and during the started the check engine light fliker " i.e on and off , on and off , countinue till end of start " when I check it by scanner tools , I find the error cod " p1621 immobolizer code world not matched " so could you spport me what i do , please

• salah on Jul 15, 2009 at 7:47 am

please notify me during the e-mail

• Where can I buy Suzuki APV 2nd hand car??

• Hidayat M on Aug 25, 2009 at 2:33 pm

Eov said,

August 24, 2009 @ 12:23 am

Where can I buy Suzuki APV 2nd hand car??

Eov,

You can buy my APV.

Contact me through my e-mail.

• WESTER on Sep 14, 2009 at 8:44 am

AS AN OWNER OF AN APV 2, IT HAS IMPROVED ON THE PREVIOUS MODEL'S SUSPENSION AND HANDLES MUCH BETTER……HOWEVER ITS A VEHICLE OF SUCH AS EITHER YOU LIKE IT OR HATE IT DEPENDING ON THE APPLICATION.FOR THE CITY ITS GREAT..BUT FOR THE OPEN MALAYSIAN HIGHWAY, IT NEEDS FURTHER IMPROVEMENTS..EG. SKIRTING ALL ROUND, SUSPENSION UPGRADE,EXHAUST ..AND MORE..SO IF ANYONE KNOWS OF A COMPANY THAT DOES UPGRADES FOR THE APV, PLEASE SHARE..TKS

• Any one would to sell Suzuki APV, please let me know. I am looking for a 2nd APV. My e-mail: [email protected]

• Hi! Hidayat M,

I would like to buy 2ng APV.

Please contact me: [email protected]

• Hidayat M,

Please sell your APV to me.

My e-mail: [email protected]

• zainudin on Jan 10, 2010 at 8:16 am

Saya ada suzuki ERV 2002, masaalahnya gearbox dah rosak, dalam posisi D, 2 dan L, gear akan terus di dalam gear 3 (saya rasa, 60kmj @ 4000 rpm)

undur pun dah tak boleh.

Ada sesiapa tahu di mana bengkel yang bagus untuk repair gearbox.

Terimakasih

• abdul hamid pin on Feb 06, 2011 at 11:12 am

Hai Din. Macamana dengan masalah gearbox erv tu? sebab sy pun teringin nak beli sebuah. Apa kata din? ok tak?

• Lee Williams on Dec 19, 2012 at 4:25 am

I owned a ERV but the only problem I had a few years ago is that ; no matter I pulled the gear lever into any position, it is always in Free Gear. It cannot engage into Drive, 2nd or Low Gear. So can’t drive the car anywhere.

I called my mechanic and told him that my gear box is spoilt and explain the problem to him. He told me not to worry and he ride his bike all the way to fix the problem for me. It is just a cylindrical platic ring about 1cm high that cracked and he replaced that. Guess how much he charge me? RM10/=. I am very surprised and very grateful and paid him RM50/= for being so kind and so honest.

I just hope that it is also not your whole gearbox that is damaged. Try to get a 2nd or even a 3rd opinion. (A gear box cost between RM4k to RM5k.)

• Saya berminat dgn apv ni. Tapi ada dgr complaint kereta ni ada masalah dgn check engine , selalu light up. Betul ke? Atau ada problem lain? Macamana eul cosumtions nya?

tq

• pengguna waja kata power steering apv lebih bagus dari waja.
      pengguna unser dan vanatte kata sistem dan keberkesanan brake apv sangat ok
      pengguna unser dan exora dan persona kata sistem penutupan pintu apv jauh lebih baik
      enjin insyaallah sampai sekarang ok (beli ada bulai mac 2006
      untuk apv yang manual aircond kurang sampai ke belakang sebab blower atas tiada
      air bateri lebih cepat kering dari kebiasaan
      pengguna accord lama dan perdana kata rupa cantik sikit je dari juwara (townbox
      pengguna kia sephia tanya berapa harga dan dimana beli
      tempat servis terhad dan jauh
      pengguna vios dan myvi kata penggunaan minyak biasa la
      tapi yang tak syoknya ramai orang nak pinjam free untuk angkut barang yang lebih dan yang besar

• Hidayat M on Jan 21, 2010 at 10:04 pm

Rmai org mula minat APV ni slps tgk prestasi dan praktikalitinya di jalan raya. Sayangnya, APV dh dikluarkan lagi. Soalan tentang enjin sy xblh jwb sbb enjin APV saya tip-top. Fuel consumption mmg b'baloi, RM0.11/km; KL-Besut melalui Bentong-Raub-K.Lipis-Gua Musang-K.Krai-Machang-P.Puteh-Jerteh=RM52.80

• Hidayat M on Jan 21, 2010 at 10:05 pm

Sayangnya, APV dh xdikluarkn lagi.

• Hidayat M on Jan 21, 2010 at 10:06 pm

Dh xdikluarkn lg.

• Idlan on Jun 04, 2010 at 9:54 am

Suzuki APV the best seller MPV car in indonesia. sygnya org Malaysia x terbuka minda .slalu usha website suzuki indo APV dah ade model ARENA dan LUXURY ..HEBAT! dan sangat2 MEMBANGAKAN sbb demand utk model ni sangat luar biasa di sana. Spare part sne pn murah. nk modified pn brg banyak .. Suzuki Apv my dad sgt tip top mcm VIP car ;)

• apakata kita tubuh club apv , senang nak berkongsi maklumat , semua sedia maklum spare part bukan senang nak dapat

• Idlan on Jul 09, 2010 at 4:16 pm

good idea but byk plan nk kne set up ni hehe.. u duduk mna? ade join suzuki club dkt fb?
    aritu APV my dad kne 7++ for oxygen sensor nsib baek ade staff suzy prihatin so dia bg special price hehe

• yahya on Aug 22, 2010 at 12:35 am

saya ada suzuki APV. saya ada problem iaitu CHECK ENGINE tidak hilang. ada setiap masa. Apa masaalah dia tu.> need info please. thank you

• Idlan on Aug 23, 2010 at 6:14 pm

same with my dad’s car .. ni kes oxygen sensor … try ke srvice centre suzuki di shah alam blh inspect everything. tq

• abdul hamid pin on Feb 06, 2011 at 11:17 am

hai Yahya, sy baru nak pakai erv 2nd hand. sy terbaca pasal masalah yg Din hadapi. Ok ke belum?. apa komen Din pasal kereta tu?

• I INTERESTED ON THE OLD SUZUKI ERV. ANY COMMENT ON SPARE PART ?
    CAN WE GET SPARE PART EASILY ?
    Normally this ERV will have what problem ?

• abdul hamid pin on Feb 06, 2011 at 10:30 am

kepada semua pengguna erv. saya bercadang membeli suzuki erv. apa komen anda dan masalah ataupun kerosakan yang selalu dialami. tk.

• abdul hamid pin on Feb 06, 2011 at 10:35 am

kpd semua pengguna suzuki erv. sy bercadang meembeli sebuah erv. apa komen anda mengenainya. samada masalah alat ganti atau kerosakan yang selalu dihadapi.tk

• abdul hamid pin on Feb 06, 2011 at 10:38 am

kpd semua pengguna suzuki erv. sy bercadang membeli sebuah erv. apa komen anda mengenainya. samada masalh alat ganti dan juga kerosakan yg dilalui.tk

• salam …camne bila nak setup kelab apv ……
    engine fuel up tu problem sensor tu hergenya blh tahan…..

• azizkepok on Dec 14, 2011 at 12:48 pm

br apv dah tubuh kelab ke?………info kat kwan2 klu dah ada kelabo

• salam …bila nak setup kelab apv ni …..

• Rachael on Feb 27, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Hi

Is it possible to get one of these in Australia? I’ve googled, and can only find the 2 Seater version. We fell in love with this little car in Bali, and it would be a great family car, but having trouble finding out if its possible. Thanks

• sya bcadang nk bli apv blan depan…ada msalah x dgn apv nie???minta pndapat kawan2 apv…

• assalamualaikum. saya baru pakai apv second. so far ok jer. cuma nak cari spareparts ssh sikit. kat kl ni kedai plg murah kat jln sentul senhui. tapi kalau kat indon melambak apv ni. buat la acc facebook boleh share info

• saiful on Feb 03, 2013 at 5:43 pm

saya pon baru ambil suzuki apv 2nd, last week, boleh lah share share apa apa info yer, bro zam, mcm mana nak berhubung dgn bro. tq

• Amcm saiful ok ke apv.lampu depan apv sy pecah sodok belakang lori.melayang rm430.br2 ni motor fan dah tunjuk tanda2 nak jahanam.tanya kay spare part rm450.penyelesaiannya buka motor fan service.pastu bubuh extra fan 12 inci dpn radiator jadikan backup.upah semua br rm150.setakat ni alhamdulillah.ok je.saiful leh rojer2 share pengalaman.0173003511

• saiful on Mar 04, 2013 at 7:17 pm

saya ada masalah sikit. kuat minyak, tak tau apa masalah, satu tank penuh sekitar 160 km je, bro zam punya ok tak penggunaan minyak nya.

• ameer on Mar 22, 2013 at 4:43 pm

hi bro…apv auto mmg “parok” minyak…macam air….
    so…kalau nak kurang…penggunaan minyak…kurang lah lajunya…bawa sekitar 90 km/h..pe macam boleh.
    atas pada 100….sendiri mau ingat…

ape boleh buat…nak jual tak laku….harga macam “cibai”….. pakai je buat tukun tiruan… he he he

• saiful on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:47 pm

salam 1 malaysia kpd pengguna suzuki apv, saya dah buat satu group di FB, diharap rakan rakan boleh join, jadi boleh bertukar maklumat nanti. masalah minyak saya dah selesai, saya menggunakan axel toyota hilux, tukar tabung exzos, test drive = segamat – kl – sintok – bkt kayu hitam – pdg besar – bayan baru pp – taiping – batu gajah – kl – segamat = total perjalanan 1788 km, minyak rm 336.55, jadi secara kasar = 1 liter = 10.10 km, speed maximum saya pandu 160 km/h, break belakang pon tukar guna toyota hilux, so far alhamdullilah, satu tank penuh boleh jalan hampir 400 km, boleh hubungi saya di email / fb [email protected]

• saifu on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:49 pm

lupa nak letak, nama group di fb SUZUKI APV MALAYSIA mari meriahkan disana. terima kasih.

• saiful on Mar 28, 2013 at 11:51 pm

0.19 sen per km base on my study.

• salam 1 m’sia…bro mana boleh dapat skirt depan apv,saya punya dah “hancur”.sapa2 yang tahu kat mana boleh dapat harap call saya 012 6835198 tk.

• John HL Tan on Jul 20, 2013 at 11:28 am

Hi, I have year 2005 APV model, now facing the rear differential problem. When accelerate 40km/hrs and above is very loud sound at the back. Mind to ask how i going to solve or where to repair. Tks. (John from Penang, Malaysia.)

• John HL Tan on Jul 20, 2013 at 11:30 am

Hi, I have year 2005 APV model, now facing the rear differential problem. When accelerate 40km/hrs and above is very loud sound at the back. Mind to ask how i going to solve or where to repair. Do i need to change the rear differential? How much is the new and 2nd hand price. Tks. (John from Penang, Malaysia.)

• saiful on Aug 09, 2013 at 9:47 am

try change the oil 1st, is stil same, maybe must change the rear gear, but is hard to find, i totaly change to toyota hilux rear exle, and easy to find a spare part. more chipest.

• John HL Tan on Aug 11, 2013 at 11:20 am

Last week I change the gear oil as you mention. But the noisy sound still have.

You mention that change to toyota hilux rear differential. Is it the whole rack change and which is the model of toyota hilux? Pls advise. Tks.

• salsabila on Sep 15, 2013 at 11:21 pm

macam mana dengan power dia ok tak? Maksud saya kalau isi penuh 8 orang adakah kuasanya mencukupi? Ada sesiapa sedia berkongsi info?

• saiful on Sep 17, 2013 at 5:05 pm

secara kasar, untuk perjalanan dekat atau pelahan, dia akan jadi kuat minyak, sebab kurang power, tetapi bila dah laju. tiada masalah, mcm saya, saya guna untuk perjalan jauh, jadi, jika di lebuh raya sedap lah bawa, dan dia over speed, jika di speedo saya 70 km, tetapi kelajuan sebenar sudah 100 km, jadi spedo tidak boleh digunakan, kene guna gps untuk dapatkan kelajuan sebenar, jika saya memandu pada 110 km speedo, gps saya dah baca 150 kmh, dengan demikian, jika perjalanan jauh, memang jimat minyak lah, tentang berat atau muatan 8 org saya belum cuba, tetapi, memang kurang power waktu berhenti atau nak mula jalan, tetapi bila dah laju tiada masalah. saya berjalan 1 family, 4 dewasa 2 kanak kanak + kargo. so far naik bukit masih tiada masalah, saya dah bawa ke utara sampai perlis, dan timur ke terengganu dan selatan ke JB, so far ok, tiada mnasalah.

• saiful on Sep 17, 2013 at 5:06 pm

please verify the noisy come from rear gear box or side tyre,

• jefri on Oct 02, 2013 at 3:37 pm

Hi, saya bercadang nak beli apv 2nd..nak mintak pandangan semua dari segi minyak, spare part dan lain2 info..Tq

• saiful on Oct 09, 2013 at 6:43 pm

jefri. nak beli, kene fikir habis habis, pertama, suzuki agak kurang pakai, jadi spare part kene tempah dan mahal. kedua bengkel yg boleh membaikinya,

• Moontaha Mohd Ramli on Dec 18, 2013 at 9:44 pm

Salam semua, cuma nak komen sikit pasal APV.
    Tak menyesal beli dari 2005 lagi.
    Saya cari kat fb SUZUKI APV MALAYSIA tak dapat la.
    Kalau ada yang boleh tolong?

• Moontaha Mohd Ramli on Dec 18, 2013 at 10:20 pm

Macamana nak join?
    Gua pun owner APV, dah 7 tahun.

• Just share pasal spare part apv. Oil filter or I rm20+-.pakai je kancil punya baru 8+-.

• zureen on Mar 03, 2016 at 9:08 am

salam..sy nak beli suzuki ni auto 1.6 tp bla tanya kawan2 mcm2 komen so sy nk tnya dlm gruop ni ok x suzuki ni sy family ramai..rosak snang x nk repair mntanne dia mahal x sy bukan orang senang tp kalau ada apv ni ingat boleh la kalau nk p ke kl dr kedah ni bawa family