Badawi: “Okay, publish all!”

MITI Minister Rafidah Aziz will publish the full list of AP recipients, after our prime minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi instructed her to publish the full list while he was in South Africa for a 3-day visit. This full list would include lists of those with showroom ownership.

Okay publish all, publish all. There’s no need to keep. Why should we keep. If by keeping we create negative perceptions, that’s not right, that’s wrong

We’re waiting. Publish! Publish all!

Regarding the 2005 list which was alleged to be in error and incomplete:

The list was the latest until 2005 and the public has seen the latest list. If there’s anything that has been left out inadvertently, then we would furnish further. But Rafidah would be in a better position. I have given and published the list on that day

Seems that Pak Lah choose option number 3 regarding the 2005 list. Passing the buck. She seems to be doing the same. Is this a game of ping pong?

As for Rafidah, she says she is still too hurt to reply Dr. M.

Bernama seems to indicate in their report that MITI has already published the 2004 list yesterday but I cannot find it on MITI’s website or MITI’s new EKP portal. But there is a pull-out in The Star today with the full list.

BTW, for tech buffs out there: MITI’s EKP portal has an RSS feed.

Sources: Bernama, Bernama

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Bigjoe on Jul 28, 2005 at 3:39 pm

Looks like there is going to be one more round at least. Rafidah is likely to smudge the data. How to verify if she is publishing the truth?

• Cyder300 on Jul 28, 2005 at 4:25 pm

So the circus continues……….it goes to show there is much abuse of power and previlage behind closed doors. All of this "drama" have very little to do with buyers loosing faith in Proton products.

It will be interresting to see what the current gov't will do about this…..will heads roll?…..stricter controls over APs?….abolish of APs?….will AFTA ever be a reality in bolehland?

• There is lot of lot of ding dong going on in the malaysian car industry… MyVi, Savvy, AP, MITI, AFTA……TM, Rafidah, Tun M, Badawi, next CEO….. next paul tan.

what ever in it…. man (woman) on the street have NOT enjoy car of a quality and price.

• usual tactics…pass the buck around…from pak lah to rafida…then from rafida to her so called excutive secretary who "do not report" to her, then to opis boy…then to the cat which lepak in front of MITI building..then to the paper which flying in front of DBKL…finally into Sungai Klang…hurray. By that time you all should have "Forget it" and "Tak pe lah" already…dont you? Just matter of time this will be swept under the carpet.

Man what a comedy…if it was made into a soap opera in other country…not sure how they feel.

• Michael Lee on Jul 28, 2005 at 7:52 pm

… well, at least it seems to have diverted attention from land grabbing VIP's, wholescale approvals of dubious projects, unrecognised universities, etc. etc. etc.

Too many for me to keep count – so we wait for the next NEWS FLASH, and then forget about all past issues … good strategy or WHAT ?

• cokelight on Jul 28, 2005 at 8:23 pm

'God is my witness' . Way to go Rafidah ! Did you ask God's permission when you hand out the APs ??

• AlexC on Jul 28, 2005 at 11:00 pm

Just wondering, how much flaws are there and whta other mismanagement from the government that they are still hiding from the citizens??? any calls from the opposition like the loud lim kit siang or karpal singh was never answered but merely brushed aside, 'no need verify' or 'it would hurt the economy' or 'racial integrity' or whatever crap it is…

I'm sure this AP release is pressure by the ex PM… must be some info that he could use to threaten the government to divulge this in the interest of proton… wonder what other shit that are still left to be uncovered… will a cabinet minister ever be charged of graft or corruption, if any??? i have my doubt…

• AlexC said,

July 28, 2005 @ 3:00 pm

Just wondering, how much flaws are there and whta other mismanagement from the government that they are still hiding from the citizens???

Thats why opposition party's proposal of "live telecast" from Parliament was never agreed by our ruling parties on the ground of "do not want public to view opposition's embarassment"….well the point you raised might be one of the reason.

• cokelight on Jul 29, 2005 at 12:38 am

Old Dr.M is still a force to be reckon with……don't play play

• Yea…dont mess around with the force….you will be pulverized by the "force" ~~~ join the force and you will enjoy yoru eternity of associated power (AP)! :p

• cokelight on Jul 29, 2005 at 1:22 am

oh…Rafidah dear, just when you think the nightmare is over, you woke up to Holloween. The bogey man will get you…

• True Malaysian on Jul 29, 2005 at 7:09 am

Can someone out there reveal the calculation of how the end user price of a reconditioned car is acheived? For example, A recon MB E240 manufactured in the year 2002 has an end user price of RM 250,000.00 for example. This model (WR211 (2 Big eyes) is solely imported by an Importer in Malaysia. (Does recon cars require a Franchise AP to be brought in or it is in the Open AP category?

Okay, via the internet, if one scouts for a recon MB E240 that is 3 or 4 years old, the UK dealers sells it at approx. 10,000 pounds. That will be (10,000 x 7) = RM 70,000.00

Can someone out there explain how the RM 70,000.00 became RM 250,000 or maybe more ?

Let me see (I may be wrong), RM70,000.00 add with RM 30,000.00 (AP) plus tax of RM ————.– (if it is not underclared as a year 2000 make), plus dealer's profit of RM ——-.– . Added cost of freight charges, this charges and that charges will bring the price up to RM 250,000.00.

Normally, we would accept a reasonable hike up (10% – 15%), but when the hike up amounts to RM 50,000 to RM 60,000, then that is rediculous. Anyway, there is no warranty for recond cars. SO why does an AP holder want to make so much from the poor public who has to take a huge bank loan of maybe RM 200,000 and pay thro his arse for 5 years when someone is laughing all the way to the bank.

Decision: Stop buying cars that is brought in by Franchise or Open APs. If one has to buy one, then take the car from the company that purchased the AP for RM 30,000 or less (No choice). At least you know that that AP holder will get a little less and the rest of the profit is given to the real investor company who actually paid for the car and made a TT with his own money and is going to maintain your car and advice u. The end price may be the same, but at least you are satisfied that the profit of RM 60,000.00 is divided.

Someone must find out just how much does a Franchise AP holder makes by selling his/her brand of car that is imported. If he plans not to buy and sell one because of financial constrain, then, we all know by now that he sells it for RM 30,000 or so to a car dealer. Let talk about it and find the truth.

• AlexC on Jul 29, 2005 at 3:48 pm

Remember when those few blokes in umno mentioned about the nep would not burden other races and level playing ground??? try to apply it here… a handful minority enjoyed the priviledge while everyone else have to pay for the price…

Paul: under afta, malaysia is supposed to remove the ap for fairer trade in the region… any update on this??? are they removing it afterall in sept???

• Well True Malaysian, I strongly agrees with you…guess what, my friend who is working in UK, managed to find out that BMW X5 is costing him somewhat at 12000 – 22000 where we are selling currently at RM500k+++ (70k pounds)..what does that figure tells ya?

• cokelight on Jul 29, 2005 at 6:52 pm

The spoon feeding and easy hand outs weakens their ability to compete. It's like babies who would never grow up, whining when their feeding bottles are about to be taken away. You can see this trend in those who benefited from the NEP. You can see this in Proton. They are cry babies now…

• Michael Lee on Jul 30, 2005 at 1:28 am

… you know, it is simply too stunning for words. After all that people have been highlighting, there are still leaders who treat the whole matter as though it is simply a father and daughter fighting . e.g. Malay Mail pg. 2 today – call for them to make up and to settle the matter between themselves ! No regard for the fact that the issues raised clearly affect the vast majority of our rakyat, our proud nation – far bigger than family problems – no, pls. make friends again.

Also, to those who have given their leader their full support by not even raising the matter, their blind loyalty better have been given to the person who wins – if she loses, mana mahu simpan muka lagi ?

sad…sad…sad… going fishing – and hope that the bloody Siakaps are not more intelligent.