The 2004 AP List

The 2004 AP list is out. Khairy says he did not get any APs. Someone connected to Rafidah is pissed off. The government denies the Naza Ria was given national car status.

On the criteria for awarding APs, the ministry said if a company used 80% or more of the APs it received, for the following year it would be given another 20%.

Those that used 75%-80% of the allocation would have their allocation increased by 10% in the following year. AP holders who used 60%-70% of their allocation would have their allocation increased by 5%.

For those who used less than 60% of the number approved, their allocation for the following year would be based on the number of vehicles they had brought in in the previous year.

How do we know if this list is unaltered?

We shall see if Dr. M has anything to say about this.

All of this started from allegations that the misuse of AP and underdeclaring import values has hurt Proton sales. It’s evolved to much more than that.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Cyder300 on Jul 28, 2005 at 4:39 pm

While there is much dramatics, accusations, counter accusations, dodgy AP lists, unclear answers in bolehland……over in Thailand, ppl have sign trade agreement with US to ship Thai-made trucks overthere.

• Cyder300: Yup, I blogged about it here.

• And while we are still busy bickering about how to protect our Proton in the market within our own country (gosh this is embarassing), which of course deviated into something else, Korea's Hyundai (started round about the same time as Proton did) has just opened its $1.1 billion plan in the US

has just opened its $1.1 billion plan in the US. I still remember the tag line for our first Proton Saga – Kebangaan Negara. Wonder if that is still true, or is it "Kemaluan"?

• Proton is only 20 years old, while Hyundai has been in the US market since 1986. It took them 19 years in US to open it's plant. Hyundai has actually been around since 1967. That's 38 years.

Hyundai Motor Group originally manufactured cars for other brands including Ford, and Mitsubishi, along with their own cars to be sold in their domestic market. These original cars were essentially re-badged Fords and Mitsubishis manufactured by the South Korean company.

Source: Wikipedia

• napps on Jul 28, 2005 at 5:51 pm

this AP issue is getting out of hand. if this drags on, some big names are going to fall…starting with the crying makcik pidah….hell, it could even bring down BN?!! meanwhile, i'm going to grab me big bag of chips and big gulp and watch the buggers slug it out….this is better than wrestling, dude!!!!

• I think I have enough of this "bolehland" , the way Cyder300 puts it.

I just want to read about new car development, new model laungh world wide, spyshot, new technology. (example the 2006 civic, hybrid engine)

reason : if malaysia and proton would like to stay at where they are, I will just need to move forward myself.

• Conan on Jul 28, 2005 at 6:43 pm

everyone is basically accusing everyone else.. why can't they just accept the fact that Proton cars are low in quality… It's not all the APs tat is damaging Proton… Why ppl just like to point fingers at others when they should be looking at how to improve Proton and woo Malaysian to buy Proton?

• HANG JEBAT on Jul 28, 2005 at 7:06 pm

…bla bla bla & bla bla bla…

hehe.. sorry Paul, just kidding ok…

anyway just wanna say that it is so damn good to read your blog, keep up the good work.

• Michael Lee on Jul 28, 2005 at 7:28 pm

Fully understand the complete frustration – we NEED to move on. There is a saying – everytime you point a finger at someone, 4 fingers are pointing back at you. Only trouble in Malaysia is that sometimes this also equates to 1 for you, and 4 for me. No … it is sickening … but you do need to get to the bottom of the matter before you can move forward.

Let's see what Dato. and the Backbenchers can come up with. Power to them – and hopefully, to all concerned and ashamed Malaysians as well.

• visitor on Jul 28, 2005 at 7:56 pm

So let us see how they are going to come up with a story to cover this issue. Or another big issue going to be expose ? Let us wait and watch.

• Wingz on Jul 28, 2005 at 8:11 pm

hehe .. you always HERD the one you luv dude ….. MOOOOO~~~~~

• Michael Lee said,

but you do need to get to the bottom of the matter before you can move forward.

Sorry Mike, There are too many issues under the carpet, Universtiy intakes, Chinese primary school, medical degree not recognized bla bla…some already have maggot climbing around as it has been ages…of coz worms, flies and xiu keong (cockroaches) are expected there too.

• cokelight on Jul 28, 2005 at 8:17 pm

There are 4 groups of people in this AP saga.

1. Those who got the APs and think that the APs are their birth rights.

2. Those have nots who wants to be in group 1.

3. The Proton people who needs to buck up and not blame APs for their woes.

4. The rakyat who have no APs and are the victims of the AP.

Now we know why the NEP fails !

• Michael Lee on Jul 28, 2005 at 9:15 pm

Hee hee … just love what cokelight just said … and it is those in the second group who may make a difference this time Abu … the noise in the PWTC was loud enough to scare away the flies and maggots. … and just in case you think I disagree with you … add land grabbing VIP's, wholescale approval of dubious projects to your list.

• cokelight on Jul 28, 2005 at 10:41 pm

Wow Dr.M…you are indeed the vintage old ginger at your best. The tennis ball is now blasted back to Rafidah's court. Can she return the shot or will she set Pak Lah up as her shield? ..or cry out for God again.

This soap opera is getting to it's climax. Yasmin darling, would you like to make this into an award wining film ?

• THOMAS on Jul 28, 2005 at 11:18 pm

Actually, PROTON complete with no tax avantage, TOYOTA ALTIS, TOYOTA VIOS, all pay taxes around 22% of selling price; WAJA & GEN2 also around 22% of selling price.

PROTON should improve QUALITY to win back customer; GOVERNMENT also need to look at underdeclare problem, to make all car model complete in same ground & no tax losses.

• Michael Lee said,

July 28, 2005 @ 1:15 pm

Hee hee … just love what cokelight just said … and it is those in the second group who may make a difference this time Abu

hohoho..Totally agreed Mike, Well people post their comment here all have a disagreement…. – with our government's unequal and out of logic policies. yea land grabbing…and numerious construction project + the infamous 1 mil "celebration" in guangzhou….that 1 classic man!

• 1 doubt i would like to know based on what cokelight said:

1. Those who got the APs and think that the APs are their birth rights.

2. Those have nots who wants to be in group 1.

Is our Tun at the 2. category??? :p

• cokelight on Jul 29, 2005 at 1:11 am

No lah Abu, I think old Ma is at group 3. I feel he is honestly concerned about the future of Proton. I mean look at how the little Savvy fared. I can't help feeling that the Proton people are really desperate now. What can you expect with 'cars' like Juara, Tiara, Arena and now Savvy :)

If we look real hard, Rafidah may just be another pawn or scapegoat to be sacrificed in view of the imminent failure of Proton.

• OMG…means thats another round of broke down in tears by rafida…god I hate to wake up in the morning seeing something like that man!!! close shot sommo…wahliao :O

• cokelight on Jul 29, 2005 at 1:30 am

Someone should advise Madam Rafidah not to put on any make up if she wants to cry again tomorrow.

• True Malaysian on Jul 29, 2005 at 5:45 am

I would like to bring up a concerned matter regarding our beloved ex Prime Minister regarding how the incumbent Industry Minister says thing that has a hidden agenda.

When some irks or says, "I will have god as my witness" that simply means "GOD is on her side"

Does that mean that Saitan is on Dr Mahathir's side? GOD simply cannot come in to be the mediator in this matter. Leave the ALMIGHTY out of this. HE has many many more unsolved problems to solve in this world right now.

As what Dato Zainuddin Maidin said " Nasi sudah jadi bubur. Sekarang kita makan sahaja lah bubur itu". If the Iron Lady could just soften up and come up with a sincere apology during the UMNO assembly, matters would have been different now. Headline would not flash AP issues or coffee shhop talk may not be focussed on the Automobile Industry, but may bring about the issues of another AP, that was partially sidelined.

Dato Seri Rafidah Aziz should think over very carefully and as Malaysians, a deferred apology sometimes help. To ask for forgiveness ,"Minta Maaf" is a very beautiful gesture that is the virtue of Asian culture.

• AlexC on Jul 29, 2005 at 4:44 pm

Sometimes i wonder what the AP and NEP is meant for… come on, its post colonial age… we ARE born in this land… is it skin colour that make us different??? every race grew up together, had the same level of education, fair share of employment opportunities and so on… if you call the uni quota system (back then when i was studying) fair play… come on, what are you trying to protray here??? malay are less capable breed??? need more than crutch to stand??? sorry if i spark some racial remark here, but that is one image that the government portrays to us non malay, to me at least… why NEP fails, its because you guys are so used to government help that everything comes easily, thats why you guys resort to make easy bucks on this… we strive hard to earn our living, any possible means… thats what makes us a better… there is no way to spoon feed all the way and make someone learn… give aid but let them stand for their own… this way you wont be getting problems like 46,000 F class contractors waiting only for the government to feed them, without they're helpless… i'm not quoting this in due to any disrespect to any race, just the policy created by the government which doesnt promote self reliance, thats all…

• cokelight on Jul 29, 2005 at 6:37 pm

To the person who brandish the kris , I think you already know why the NEP failed and will fail again. The rakyat knows, so there is no use being in denial mode and blame others . Keep your kris to yourself. Do not shame your honourable father.

• KiLLersHik on Jul 30, 2005 at 3:39 am

those poor malays shld tear down those malay culprits profiteering blood out of the ordinary hard earning citizens; bumi or non bumi related. those enormous houses are not legal or ethical is perceived fr the way it is profitted

while i see enormous houses by chinese success and businesses are all hard earned and NOT at rakyat expenses like the above because govt policies never really pro non bumi so theres no way the chinese cld hv gotten loads of cash (for free) if not for their own sweat and blood.

so, i beg u ppl pls do not envy the filthy rich chinese because theyve got big big house. they earned it dammit. look at the bumis himself is profiteering fr their own races. thts even serious crime.

in my eye, msian richest man is sugar king robert kwok, built empire streches over the globe on his own . bank expert dato sri teh hong piao. casino king mr.lim. etc etc pls respect the chinese. at least respect them for the regular charity they do.

• KiLLersHik on Jul 30, 2005 at 3:42 am

continue the malfunctioning NEP without any new improvements and fairness, we can sure see how badly msian will continue performing in the future. because ppl is not doing wht he/she SHLD be. and quote someone said, let the politician run the country and businessman runs the economy, it will naturally comes down to an equilibrium