Volkswagen wants 50% plus 1 share

Proton seems to be a hot item right now. News is that Volkswagen now wants 50% plus 1 share stake in Proton Holdings Bhd, and wants management control. This would make it the majority shareholder of Proton if the deal goes through. Khazanah Nasional owns 42.7% of Proton and is the current majority stakeholder.

Volkswagen is not the only car manufacturer with eyes on Proton. It’s reported that Hyundai is also interested in using Proton assembly plants, but details are still sketchy at the moment.

My oh my. This is getting interesting. First 30% was too much, even sparking calls for public debate. Now it’s 50% plus 1 share. This deal could cost Volkswagen AG roughly 2.75 billion ringgit for 50%+1 shares at RM10 per share if everything goes through.

Source: Dow Jones, AFP

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Jason on Aug 01, 2005 at 3:43 am

30% is already too much, now they want 50% + 1 share. Then they can do whatever they want then? This is not collaboration but rather "I WANT TO EAT YOU UP". The Government should decline. We can always try HYUNDAI, it might not be that bad. In fact and at least if I m not wrong the Koreans should be more humble, just look at KIA and NAZA. VW and Audi have very strong base in China but the Koreans are still searching for one. I think we should not waste this chance. Give the Koreans 20-30% stake but insist that they invest at least an assembly plant for export only. This will do good to Malaysia. Then we can share platform, accessories etc. Get the Koreans to make Malaysia their South East Asian regional HQ and export base to SEA. With the Koreans we can ask and insist, with VW I think it will be tough.

• Bigjoe on Aug 01, 2005 at 4:18 am

I always thought it would be 50%+1 at least. It seldom works any other way with majors. Lesser players may take 30% but not the top ones. It doesn't make any sense otherwise with Thailand allowing 100%. The best Proton can hope for is to give them the option of buying 50%+1 if the set certain targets like export, technology transfer, model launches etc.

• ali allah ditta on Aug 01, 2005 at 4:32 am

When Volkswagen takes over Proton,Volkswagen will be assembling their cars in the proton plant,while Proton models will be phased out eventually.

When Volkswagen takes over the management,sure enough they will sack Dr.Mahathir as advisor. Probably they will ask German Chancellor Gerhard Schroeder to be its advisor.

I wont be suprised also to see the old beetle will be back and will be renamed PROTON VOLKS.

• Jason on Aug 01, 2005 at 6:25 am

P1 is a PLC, if I m not wrong unless you are a Government Agency with special conditions, exceeding 32% you will be triggering GO. Meaning you have to do a General Offer to buy out all the shares in the market. Besides, by having 30% shareholding in a PLC you are already in a very strong position. By having 50%+1 share means they can eat up the whole P1 and do whatever they like. If not profitable sell-off or worst still shut it down. Then we will be in deep trouble. We have to be very careful, they conquer Malacca then and eventually the British control the whole of Malaya. We don't want them to control our economy this time and this is called "Globalisation." It is DANGEROUS, now the Government protect P1 means it is protecting a local semi-Government owned Company and its own interest. If VW takes over the entire P 1, it will be run as a private company, "Cut Cost, Retrenchment, Shut down plants, it might even buy most of the parts and accessories from China, assemble the cars in Malaysia. We must accept the facts, parts made in China are very very much cheaper than Malaysia and they sure can make very high quality parts. Look at Honda producing cars in China for Europe market. WE MUST BE VERY CAREFUL, if not we will end up slaving for others just like our forefathers……

• cloudz on Aug 01, 2005 at 7:57 am

i wonder why vw is so interested with that PROTON!!!…

is proton that good or wad they want from proton??

my head is full oF ???????????????????? now

• jason on Aug 01, 2005 at 8:09 am

Who took out my 2 comments. R u guys pro VW or what?

• paying 2.75 billion to put their hands on 4 billion and a brand new assembly plant… it seems like a pretty good deal to me…

• hokkien lang. on Aug 01, 2005 at 10:10 am

i willing to see proton take over by asia company than europe 1 . English and US want see ur market down tru beyond 0…….. look in history in CHINA…..

in the past CHINA are giants in market… tea, porcerlien, asbestos,and more..

English willing to do any thing to get what they want… yes 1 more.. silk… recall two monk beheaded b'coz they smuggel out silk egg….

i think proton are the best place to grow the market for europe market…you know to bet CHINA again..

• 2centstot on Aug 01, 2005 at 10:19 am

it's blardy obvious what VW wants with the 50%+1 offer…the total control of P1…and i'm blardy sure their are not interested in P1's tech or design…VW want the assembly plants…they will simply turn M'sia into their SEA gateway to assemble and distribute their VWs…well…i don't have much to say on VW's motive…it's purely business….as for P1…well they put themselfs in this sticky situation…years of protection and monopoly…and they are still produecing crap…might as well close it down and spare us any more future crap….

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 01, 2005 at 4:18 pm

Paul, I think VW is only playing the TRICK. As you all may know WE—> Malaysian Government will not agreed to let Outsider to control PROTON. This proposal is closed to " I DON'T WANT TO CONTINUE WITH THIS DEAL NOW, IF YOU WANT TO WORK WITH ME PLEASE LET ME TO DECIDE AND I NEED 100% CONTROL, EITHER TAKE IT OR F**K OFF"

It's sound like "I wish to buy your PROTON WAJA with RM50, as you know your WAJA had many problem, and I am willing to offer you this special price. I am very interest it and I willl paid by CASH, Do you agreed!"

I guess you all can understand the meaning of it. Cheers!

HYUNDAI?, I think the feeling like "Lost an ORANGE then take a LEMON rather than nothing". Because their Brand are still not good, they are still stranggling floating in the middle of sea but a bit better than PROTON (Sinking in the middle of sea). Working with Korean is a big problems of TECHNOLOGY transfer and languages problems. How can a student from MMC can teach PROTON well? The original Teacher MMC still cannot teach PROTON well.

Don't you think so?

• sell 50 +1 %, then remove the protection. Car like Vios will sell around RM50K, Camry selling about RM70K….

• bumboy on Aug 01, 2005 at 6:49 pm

we are missing the point here. like i said before in other posts, VW wants Lotus, everyone wants lotus. 2.75bil buys VW lotus (which could probably be worth more by itself), a production plant for SE Asia, and ASEAN biggest car market. the bean counters are real pro i tell u.

• WORLD on Aug 01, 2005 at 6:51 pm

ermmmmm

• they have to eventually do something. they have to eventually sell it with the rate that they are going. WV could be the best candidate? remove the protection, and peroduo too maybe will go down?

• akari on Aug 01, 2005 at 11:56 pm

just produce VW car, forget proton crap models, nothing to pity about. as long as they take 50%+1 n our grov still can shake leg earn money by their car export to other country but not by produce low quality product force own country ppl eat all n not really good selling at outside. we want better quality car…

• big hairy on Aug 02, 2005 at 2:10 am

You all seem a bit worried about it…why?.VW have a history of buying car companys who dont have great reputations, look at Skoda and Seat who VW bought out. Both these companys had a bad reputation in Europe. Look at them now, both have excellent products and are doing very well. So if VW do buy Proton, which im hoping they do it will be for the better.

• That will b a good news that a 50- 50+1% business cos there need there advice. sin that we depending to each other n trad mark, s we know VW was height standard why have proton to advice sin proton not even know what is quality there should no.

if same all this proton who make decision it will the same thing will happen like now on.

in business who is who batter, is looking to a profit making not to who color there r at the end.

• Refuse the deal, Proton, refuse!

– MENJ

• ManInGermany on Aug 02, 2005 at 3:46 am

(First 30% was too much, even sparking calls for public debate. Now it’s 50% plus 1 share. ) – seems like Volkswagen is giving Proton a "take it or leave it" offer.

• Lotiman on Aug 02, 2005 at 4:32 am

50+1% will not happen!!! No need to debate anymore. Proton is the place for "You know who" to dig money.

Bumboy is totally correct!!! VW won't even buy Proton Awesome design. The Savvy is current the best design in Malaysia 2005. Such high standard could not be break by anyone so easily. Not even Toyota, Honda, Ford and BMW combined.

VW only eyeing on P1 Production Plant and SEA market. And buy Lotus back to Europe. I heard Savvy only sold 175 unit in June. Again, such sales performance is hard for others to compete.

No offence…

• Pentan Sakua... on Aug 02, 2005 at 5:22 am

Nobody in the right mind will get into a business that they cannot control. Not VW, not BMW, not Daimler, not Toyota..not anybody. You dump a huge amount of money and watch it from the side? Ha ha ha ha…

If PROTON wants to improve, they have to sacrifice. Let VW take what they want. Once you have the knowhow and all the shit, then buy back..of course at a higher price…Everybody wants to make money..VW is no exception…If u don't believe me ask our AP holders…

• sekot on Aug 02, 2005 at 5:30 am

Hehhh, dont you think to run RnD you need money? These Shah Alam RnD centre have everything for warm climate. Test track, Componet lab, Emmision Lab, Skill workers, world class engineers, designers, clay modelers. Maybe they can start design all small car for ASEAN + other 3rd World Country at MAlaysia like what Toyota did with IMV project. Pay those engineers in Euro, for sure it will cost you a fortune compared to RM. Assembly plant? Proton already comply to AFTA where they have plant in at least 2 ASEAN country. Stamping, resin everything is already there. Tanjung Malim already comply to VW standard (+ running on Toyota Production System). The sales network in Malaysia is very good. They can even reach out to the rural folks very fast. Lotus? How about Lotus tuned Lamborghini? Both can share the the adaptable platform. Take a look at SEAT. SEAT are Spain national car company. They are bought by VW in 1970's. First, 50%. Now 99%. Anyway, this is what everyone in Malaysia is hoping for. To drive cheap cars and becoming foreigner slave. Thailand national car is Toyota. And Thailand Govnt do ment the rules & reguulation around Toyota's request. Good for us. May God bless us. Please VW, dont ruin our dreams. Put Proton to good use and dont rule us by proxy. Amen.

• U tell VW wipe your shit? ha.. ha. if i wore proton, buy many..many bull o Horst o what ever so that no need have to crack a head n act like there know were the money come from n simply do business, is our money our Malaysians money that come from TTEEXX do u all understand. n this people not even know how to do business n simply act like there know. don't offer so people don't buy, u offer n talk like there come out there own technology if like that batter dont embarrass VW technology at the end like mitsubishi people gone think it a lousy brand.

• malaysia is no futur on Aug 02, 2005 at 6:19 am

For those who are already in oversea and live comfortably. There is no reason for you to come back to Malaysia. Life in Malaysia is getting tougher each day.

Frankly, as a Chinese, I don't see there is any future for our next generation.

Another dangerous mentor that people always use is JFK "Don't ask what the country can do for you, ask what you can do for the country".

Is sound nice, but isn't how German Nazi and Japan militarism start the world war using the same mentor? Under the great "ask what you can do for the country".

Patriotism? Yes, I understand how you feel. Your love for the country was spoilt by the political party. Since non-malays will always be a second-class citizen, so you are probably the same in any other countries, if not better.

You get cannibalised by your own countrymen, intellectually and professionally.

As someone else advised, be a Global citizen.

Patriotism does not need you to be in Malaysia to work your due. Let no one pointed at you and say you are a traitor if your true intention is to generate good deeds for Malaysia wherever you are.

Save your time about coming back to Malaysia. Nothing will change in Malaysia. At least not even in this lifetime. Racism will still be here to stay, and also everything else.

I think there is such an entrenched discrimination against the Chinese and Indians in Malaysia, that it will take probably a whole generation to undo the damaged.

This is happening in whole spectrum of the Malaysian government, civil service, state governments and universities. Just look at percentage of malays in all these government bodies – 98%……….

A whole generation of malays has been brought up to think that it's their inherited right to own Malaysia. The other races are damned.

I think the malays especially those in power, are scared right now that if they will to compete openly with other races, they will surely be the loser. You will see very strong resistance to hire other races even the most qualified.

The malays are never brought up to compete on even ground. This is fault of previous PM and now the present PM has to tread a balance ground to ensure the malays are not cast away as well as to make Malaysia competitive worldwide.

In US I never met a malay immigrant, although there are thousands of Malaysian Chinese and Indian immigrants. Why? Malays in Malaysia have an easier life where they are literately prince of the land.

We have infrastructure good enough to be considered first world or better. Look at the Cyberjaya, Petronas Twin Towers, Putrajaya?

Gleaming high-rise buildings but also in every city, dirty toilets abound, litter clogging up the drains, public telephones damaged, plus unreliable rubbish collection and disposal. We just treat public facilities badly, not caring about others.

Being an urban dweller myself, I am constantly disheartened by the poor public infrastructure and upkeep in our capital city.

Faulty pedestrian traffic signals, illogical positioning of bus stops, poor public cleanliness, poor quality sidewalks (which are paved using slippery tiles), un-integrated and poorly managed public transportation system, the list goes on.

Your children can't even walk safely along the Kuala Lumpur streets, as they might be bags snatched, kidnapped, murdered, raped, or robbed, as they do not know the jungle laws of Malaysia. The police won't help much as they now have a big pile of corruption cases running after them.

You owe nothing to Malaysia, you pay your due, so live on.

So, my last advice. Don't come back unless you are really suffering in oversea.

I'm sorry this sounds very racist but I think we have to be honest in discussion.

• Pentan Sakua… said,

Nobody in the right mind will get into a business that they cannot control. Not VW, not BMW, not Daimler, not Toyota..not anybody.

ehh… I think you forget the Renault exemple, in 1999 they only took a minority control of Nissan with a 36.8 per cent stake.

If i remember correctly Carlos Ghosn then became the number two at Nissan with two other Renault guys joining the board.

• AlexC on Aug 02, 2005 at 3:06 pm

Dear malaysia is no future,

At least someone spoke up my thoughts… i thought i am the only person with the sentiment… mca and gerakan spoke about the recial integrity and contentment that we felt… which is totally untrue… i believe, there is no protests over this treatment of us as second class citizen as everyone lives in the shadow of 13th may disaster, clouded over by the brutal murder in indonesia of ethnic chinese not too far off… as far as i can see, all policy and laws are meant to benefit only the malay, and not the bumi (other native like in sabah&sarawak) as whole… calls like asking chinese to join the army or the government to be more patriotic, i see no reason as there is a limit to the career progression and no reason for a 'second class citizen' to commit more than what we believe we should…

• Well,….. finally someone know my 2nd reason why malaysia fail.

The first reason, I have posted earlier, is "business should be run by businessman and government being run by politician" , malaysia fails because "politician are running the business".

The second reason malaysia WILL fail, is "the government should NOT have a religion". People have religion, not the country or government.

I am looking for opportunity to go out of this country.

• dando on Aug 02, 2005 at 6:30 pm

VW is only interested to takeover tanjung malim plant and lotus… i'm sure they will discard proton… if this move happens, then it'll be the end for proton… thousands of ppl will loose their jobs… pity to them..

• ManInGermany on Aug 02, 2005 at 6:35 pm

If anybody is interested, try this:

www.americangreencard.com/

May god bless you.

• ManInGermany on Aug 02, 2005 at 6:53 pm

English speaking countries are better for Malaysians.

If you intend to head for the European countries, learning the native language is very important.

To Paul, sorry if this is out of topic.

• moo_t on Aug 02, 2005 at 7:16 pm

1 Euro = RM 4.50. So 2.7 Billions ringgit is less than 600 millions Euro.

So proton is CHEAP.

• how lah on Aug 02, 2005 at 10:19 pm

I think it's just a matter of time before things will look even worst for Proton, bearing in mind the possible scenarios:

1. VW buys Proton, assuming Proton works out like Skoda, Proton flourishes, make good cars, good profits & exports, and consumer happy, support Proton, we close one eye to "Malaysia Boleh"

2. Proton tells VW to "Fly Uncle Charlie's Kite OFF" retains the "Boleh" spirit, continues making crap cars through protectionism, babying the vendors, blaming APs and oil prices, and the consumer suffers.

It's a no brainer, actually. I hope VW gets a controlling stake.

• hrms whats the green on Aug 03, 2005 at 12:08 am

When did this topic change to racial inequality? BUT since we're there i might as well say something… to "malaysia has no future" don't have such negetive view on such issue regarding inequality, im australian chinese, my parents were malaysian chinese, i've recently came back to malaysia and i have to honestly say its a nice place… granted there are alot of retards here, like people who dont really understand what it means to que up, people bron with absolutely no manners, etc etc the list goes on… BUT its a really nice place… whats even more interesting is everyday, if that is of course you read the paper, there's always an interesting rape case and to my sick enjoyment its entertain to read… overall food is great, everything is cheap, work gives me lots of money, i just bought a cl55 amg i mean life is good. Should come back here work for a foriegn multi-national co and LIVE IT UP MATE…

by the way malaysia women rock!…

• read today's paper,

The New National Agenda and the Ninth Malaysia Plan will "give fair treatment to all races", Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said.

just withdraw the quota thing enough…. if you dare

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 03, 2005 at 5:21 pm

Hei, specially to "Malaysian has no future"

Can you tell us which countries in this world is the best place for us?

The USA? American will treat you as 3rd class citizen. Gun Shooting, Black & White peoples issues,…..Sex free….etc.

Japan? Not a safe place to live due to natural disasters, expensive of everythings.

Korea? Language problems. Nobody speak they language, Japanese language is more common used in the world.

Europe? Good place to live but pay a lot of taxes and not easy to find a job.

England? Same as American even worst. Pay your salary and tax to many lazy English peoples.

Africa? To hot and all in Black.

Australia? Good place but hard to find good job nowadays.

New Zealand? Same as Australia

China? Too many people and dangerous place to live in. Trust nobody.

Taiwan, Singapore, Hong Kong? Too small like Singapore.

Filipine and Indonesia? How to survive? Pay less and jobless rate very high.

Thailand, Myamma, Vietnam, Brunai, Saipan,? You already know lah.

What else? MARS or MOON. No oxygen and water.

So, I think if you all make a comparison then you will know Malaysia is not as bad as you think of. I agreed the MALABUMI maybe had enjoyed some advantage in Malaysia but don't you agreed that Chinese and Indian also be benefited from their lazy attitude?

Just imagine if all the MALABUMI work as hard as Chinese and Indian or even better then Chinese and Indian. I think at the end of the day Chinese and Indian will be out of any opportunity. Example: If MALABUMI can even Cook "CHAR KIUH TEL" better taste than Chinese made, then what can we do???

Just think POSITIVE way, not only NEGATIVE. You should change your formula to NEGATIVE + NEGATIVE = POSITIVE. OKAY!

Paul, sorry we have change your topic to BOLEHLAND issue again. Maybe you should create another website for these peoples, be careful of BOLEHLAND LAWS.

Cheers!

• we all not look at this Small fart thing to talk about cause there r fact, there not bone to b. still eat used hand type of mind.

the thing is where in the world have this kind of policy to restrict n no equal to there citizen to do any business even tho we pay a Tex

• non-bumi on Aug 04, 2005 at 8:53 am

following malaysia is no future and AlexC entries, altho hvg many tall skyscrapers and other mega projects ,while driving in the city, at traffic light, i see malays open their car door to spit…..or malays to throw rubbish out of their car windows….in the middle of the traffic jam….in fastfood centre, i see their little dirty b@st#rds stomping on the table like its their house while their ignorant malay parents chat on….its a sore eyes and ironism these so call 'civlised native cum owner' of the malay land….its a sad sad world

• ah fook on Aug 04, 2005 at 10:45 pm

Fuk Off…

this blog full of racist…

when a malay say a word about chinese..he accuse for being racist..but the chineseS condemn,shouting with harsh words to malays…not called racist

Can't u all be a little bit grateful race/species…where the hell in this world u can find chinese school for chinese…US got SRJK (C) aaa..Indon got aaa..be grateful la sikit!

do not satisfy with gov policy…?migrate la!

• ah fook said,

August 4, 2005 @ 2:45 pm .

we not talking racist here. we r talking how the government r doing not fair thing n equal to our Malaysians that we talking about even any thing we do bee TeX by government. if by this TeX we r feeding u i batter feeding a dog rather then u that dont understand, at the end like indon, that there r thinking their can do batter, but there dont even know how the history n the process come from in first. like perompak kind of way. i dont think u like to b kind if it!.

ah fook. if u r like us o u r our prime minister sure long ago our Malaysia is worst than indon cause of people like u r racist then us even u not really know where r the resource's really come from who the more n most.

• Well…be positive like DOG THE WAN said, But 1 thing he mentioned there where I am not too agree to it:

Just imagine if all the MALABUMI work as hard as Chinese and Indian or even better then Chinese and Indian. I think at the end of the day Chinese and Indian will be out of any opportunity. Example: If MALABUMI can even Cook “CHAR KIUH TEL” better taste than Chinese made, then what can we do???

– If that happened. All this people will not vent any anger over here. If things are 'balance' up like BN's logo (believe me, it will never be…not atlease you, me and your grandson can see it). If it happens, i tell you we will get more bzness and be a hub than singapolian…singapolian is still laughing thus far becoz that will not happen…if that happen…where our tech, standard and econs goes beyond them…you think our ppl wanna work there? you think our ppl will encourage their ppl to move elsewhere?? THINK ABT IT!

• Ohh BTW…I recalled that our government has implemented a plan to recall our talents who work in oversea to come home…they gip them tax exemption…AP to bring their car back bla bla bla.. Can anyone tell me how many of them is still working here?

Answer: 1!!!! (Not sure he also ran back to the country he served!)

And bare in mind there are our MALAYBUMIs in there OK????? So its not the matter of racisit or wat co*k…simply becoz of the shitty policies !!!

• babadaniel on Aug 18, 2005 at 10:03 am

The PM told the journalist that Msians are capable of managing Proton, meaning to say to Ang Mo will be its CEO. I think this deal will not go through because Proton is still sukling on the gov's nipple for milk. VW being the taiko in Proton will not make things well for the people in it as major reshuffle will take place and all those "capable" engineers can really fly kite in their kampungs. Pictures of Proton being like Skoda or ……. anything better now just……….. seems to stuck in the haze forever. A major shareholders change shoud do the trick though.

• The problem with Malaysia ministers is that they are mostly underachievers academically!

That is the reason why they simply speak without logic and reasons. This is also the very reason that I admire Lim Kit Siang, Karpal, etc, who can debate intelligently with those monkeys who never bother to understand what is uttered.

Just compare the resume of Malaysia ministers with that from our southern neighbour! Then you will understand.

I know their prime minister has a first class honors in science from Cambridge if I am not mistaken. The rest of his cabinets are very highly qualified. Hence you don't hear nonsense from them.

For your information, some Malaysia ministers would not be at all qualified for even an assistant post!

Our country leaders, not necessary meaning the prime minister, but overall people in power, people of authority, etc have no integrity, no moral, no self respect and most of no accountability and responsibility.

Let's not compare with other countries, as no countries have perfect leaders, but what they have is integrity.

When they do something wrong and they know it is wrong, nobody need to tell them to resign, they won't say our Malaysia usual line "Nobody can resign me except the prime minister" – we should call this the ball-less line.

If you have integrity and honest enough, you should just resign.