Proton Gen2 1.3 in showrooms

The Proton Gen2 finally comes with a 1.3 engine despite it being available overseas in markets such as the UK for some time. With the introduction, Proton introduces a new colour for the Gen2 – WHITE! I have to admit white looks hot on the Gen2.

The Gen2 1.3 will come in both manual and auto models. Good news is the 1.3 auto comes with a 4-speed automatic gearbox instead of the 3-speed that the Wira and Iswara 1.5 gets.

The 1.3 16V DOHC S4PH engine makes 95hp at 6000rpm and 120Nm of torque at 4000rpm, compared to the 1.6 S4PH which makes 110hp and 148Nm torque.

It looks like the 1.3 and 1.6 Campro is basically the same engine but with the stroke shortened to 73.mm instead of 78mm with the 1.6 Campro. Bore is 76mm.

Interior trim is basic. The back seats do not have headrests and the dashboard only comes with a casette player. No integrated CD player there.

As for the exterior, there are no spotlights, and no sports rims. Only metal rims with covers that look like the 1.6 Alfa-ripoff sports rim design. The door handles and the body strip is not body colour coordinated, but black in colour.

The Gen2 1.3(M) and the Gen2 1.3(A) cost 45K and 48K respectively.

There is also a high-line (HL) 1.6 Gen2 model that comes in white, for those that desire a little more with their white car :)

Thanks to Rushdi for the notification.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Chan Lok Kheng on Aug 04, 2005 at 3:37 am

I've seen the white coloured Gen2 in Australia for quite sometime at the showroom, and I'm not so sure whether they offer special bodykits here, I've seen one white Gen 2 which is pretty hot, low profiles and sharp side skirts, haven't seen any in Malaysia when I was back in Malaysia for my holidays tho…

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 04, 2005 at 3:41 am

Wow! cheap lets buy it now..no waiting list.

• didiz on Aug 04, 2005 at 3:44 am

this gen2 ada side skirting yg berbeza dengan gen2 biasa. perhatikan betul2.

• Lee Wye Jon on Aug 04, 2005 at 3:50 am

45k? wow! People might even consider this over the Myvi.

• buloh on May 18, 2023 at 5:18 pm

Hi, I’m from the future, specifically 2023. The Gen2 is now being sold for only RM5k, in comparison to the 2005 Myvi which still retains a value of around RM13k.

• 4JB1-T on Aug 04, 2005 at 4:19 am

But for some reason it might stole attention from Savvy..

Bigger interior.. slightly bigger engine.. no cd player but that can be fixed. And the price is not much different..

Another weird move by Proton.. Let's hope this time Proton don't bash over Savvy for this.. Like what they did to Wira..

What do you guys think?

• Proton is trying to fill in the budget family car gap ler.

• moo_t on Aug 04, 2005 at 4:54 am

I suspect it is make so as a Myvi killer, after they fail on Savvy.

It is time for people who order Savvy to mourn.

• ManInGermany on Aug 04, 2005 at 5:33 am

If this edition is in responses to the Savvy's failure, then SYABAS to Proton for listening to the PEOPLE.

• bumboy on Aug 04, 2005 at 6:36 am

they made this version for export market when gen2 first launch. campro was designed as 1.3 and 1.6.

i think it wasnt launch here so that it wouldnt cannibalise the wira/iswara market.. which proton needs to milk money from.

• KahPing on Aug 04, 2005 at 6:48 am

Js vy curious wheter this ver 1.3(M) Gen2 was underpower?? My bro's 1.3 Satria ,was underpower… the car drag like cow,with lighter body compare to Gen2 .

Anyone test drive 1.3's Gen2 before?Care to comment its perfomance?

• ZAHANIF on Jul 02, 2012 at 12:00 pm

performance? mine was about 180km/h at gear 5. and 3rd gear can achive 1ookm/h. wanna race with me? KLANG SELANGOR

• Mikael_Bonaparte on Aug 04, 2005 at 7:15 am

Don't think it'll really sell. Sat at the back of the car, when the car goes over the bump, your head bumps the roof, not the car I want. But if they can sell something else at the price with e.g. perhaps a 1.3L SRM, I'll take it.

• akari on Aug 04, 2005 at 7:41 am

wow this really will stop some ppl who going to book myvi, with the price 48k + no waiting list for now, n he confirm kill savvy @@ what they thinking??? holy proton

• What is the price diff between the high end and low end models?

• notorp on Aug 04, 2005 at 8:07 am

For those uninformed, this model was FINALLY released locally because there is NO DEMAND in the overseas market and there is NO STORAGE room in the Rawang factory to accomodate this OVER Production.

• MutantTomato on Aug 04, 2005 at 8:30 am

Haihhhh Proton Proton Proton… you make a nice looking car but everything else gives problems… what la you!! :| Do ya really think this model would help Proton boost sales and possibly outdo/overtake MyVi? I personally don't think so la. This is just another Gen2 with different specs. What I mean is, even though it boasts a 4 speed gearbox and quite a good power and torque output, it is still basically a Gen2. We all know the perennial problems with ALL Proton models. I think people are choosing the MyVi over Protons simply because of one thing; reliability. If it were pricing, then logically, the Savvy would be selling more right? But it is not the case? Why? No quality la brother! :)

If you were to change the engine, strap on a nice bodykit, put some "ganas" rims, do a good paintjob with some smart looking vinyls and decals, I think this car would even be suitable for "Need For Speed: Underground." However, it would have to be "NFS: The Malaysian Rule Breaker." Race on Federal Highway, score major points for breaking as many traffic rules as possible, try to not get your head smashed in by "mat rempets" and earn enough dough to pay off the cops who stop you! :) :) :)

• gen2owner on Aug 04, 2005 at 10:11 am

mutantTomato; your owned gen2 ? you've tested gen2 ? drive it more than 1 month ? if not. don't say a word lah. I have one gen2 and it's better than Myvi lah. Not all proton models problem. 1.6 gen2 with 1.3 myvi.. ohhh tinggal belakang lah Myvi.

I'm very proud ada malaysian people like you suka kondem you punya own product. Very good negative impression you have. Maybe you can design one car lah, engine bikin sendiri lah ye. Let see you can or not… buleh cakap je lah.

• kahping on Aug 04, 2005 at 10:30 am

Manage do some get some data… i think Gen2 1.3 are underpower, isnt it?

Satria 1.3

Power (hp) 83 @ 6000rpm

Torque (Nm) 100 @ 4000rpm

Curb Weight 910kg

Wheel 13 inch steel

Tyre 155SR/13 = underpower

Gen2 1.3

Power (hp) 95 @ 6000rpm

Torque (Nm) 120 @ 4000rpm

Curb Weight 1175kg

Wheel Alloy 15 X 6.0 JJ

Tyre 195/55 R 15 = ?

• last yr got campaign selling 1.3 gen2 for proton staffs to test the performance of the engine. one of my friends have one. he tested his 1.3 M gen2 – climbed up genting, engine dies off… he is a technical guy (trainer in automotive)… he told me that he cannot high rev the engine in order to climb up genting or else the engine dies off. so he went back to KL coz afraid that the car won't start at all after that…

maybe now the problem solve already. I hope…, coz proton already release the car to public.. other issue was not highlighted but i don't think accessories issue is major problem. other equipment taken out from 1.6 is rear disc brake replace with drums.

overall performance wise = got dragging when started to accelerate from 0, maybe similar to myvi 1.0

absorbers = Wira 1.6

• napps on Aug 04, 2005 at 5:17 pm

MOST IMPORTANTLY: HAS IT GOT A BLOODY GLOVE COMPARTMENT? HEHEHE!!!

on a more serious note, i think the next move proton should do is stop producing wiras and iswaras, so the gen2 1.3 would really become a wira replacement and cut savvy starting price to 33K…..

• JIN-2 owner. on Aug 04, 2005 at 5:33 pm

Guys,

Think twice if you want to buy a Gen-2 (JIN-2 I called). Mine…. 7 weeks at EON Glenmarie….got to replace the whole engine…. till now no status and maybe have to wait for another weeks. I'm thinking of bringing them to the tribunal. Kasi hentam satu kali…. What are you guys think.

• Dear napps ,

"next move proton should do is stop producing wiras and iswaras"

they can stop producing wira and iswara, BUT they cannot stop selling it.. :)

look at the OVER stock that all the dealers have…. this dealer are looking for empty land to park the cars now.

Gen2 1.3 at RM45k and RM48K…. i will consider,…. but U buy first to so that if the review is good, then I buy.

• kenji on Aug 04, 2005 at 6:05 pm

What you mean by "stop producing wiras and iswaras, so the gen2 1.3 would really become a wira replacement" ? Not so fast lar please, I was going to buy WIRA ler. gen2???.. test drive liao…. personally I dun think I like gen2.. still prefer WIRA.

• narrowband on Aug 04, 2005 at 6:05 pm

Yeah. Wth are they still doing producing Iswaras?

I doubt that the new Gen2 has any glove compartments… The black door handle and side bumper in black, very the ugly ler. And since no spotlight, the decided to leave two gaping holes at the front bumper izit…

The engine performance aside, that plastic-cover-on-metal rims has got to go… It's a huge turn-off (on any car).

The 1.6 Campro (M) I know, is thirsty. Wonder how this new one compares.

Noise level also higher than Waja 1.8 at high speeds.

• hokkien lang. on Aug 04, 2005 at 7:11 pm

the worst car of the year……..

• Philip Quek on Aug 04, 2005 at 7:15 pm

Dear guys,

If u wonder whether Gen2 1.3 is underpower, let me tell u something. My housemate drove the Gen2 1.6 (A) on our PLUS highway, straight line, flat surface, and she pushes the paddle to the limit and maintain that for sometime, guess what is the top speed? What a shocking 170km/h only !!!, even my fren's wira 1.5(A) and go for 180km/h.

Can any Gen2 1.6(A)/(M) owner clarify this? Thanks

• Fauzi on Aug 04, 2005 at 7:42 pm

i think good move by p1

p1 should consider 1.3 Waja (or any 1.4?) also

fuel price going up, 1.3 cars good enough for city driving

• Mutant Tomato on Aug 04, 2005 at 7:53 pm

To "Gen2owner," what crawled up your ass and died?! I know many people who bought a Gen2 and regretted it! I have tested a Gen2. I said I wanted to buy one if not for all the standard problems. When I say standard problems, I mean power windows, leaking seals, low roof for rear seats, noisy engine at high revs, lack of power, etc. I had a Proton Wira for 10 years. I know Protons quite well…

Look at the stupid comparison you've made… " 1.6 gen2 with 1.3 myvi.. ohhh tinggal belakang lah Myvi." Gee… YA THINK?! An RX7 is RATED as a 1.3 although it is a rotary turbo… So? If RX7 and Gen2 race, how? The RX7 will rip the metal off your Gen2!

I'm saying it again; the Gen2 looks nice. I wouldn't mind buying one if not for the standard problems. "Gen2owner," if you talk so much, have you ever driven an export quality Proton? I have, in UK! Its a dream come true! The quality, driveability, handling, interior quality, EVERYTHING is good! So, do you still think I'm simply condemning Proton? Do you still think I'm making baseless judgements and allegations?

Don't simply flame people if you don't understand what they are saying you F**KING MORON…

• on-and-off on Aug 04, 2005 at 7:58 pm

my god..read this = > http://www.whatcar.co.uk/RoadTest_FullVerdict.asp…

wonder what are the ppl at proton were thinking when designing cars…cut corners n give crappy components (to save costs cost their supply chains are crappy??)..under table $$, then make few ppl rich..then pass all the sucky products to malaysia…

actually i wonder, why are we NOT using the export model of all protons..?? they purposely give us non-compliant models so we die faster arr??

AARRGGHHHH!!!!

• Aris Tee on Aug 04, 2005 at 8:15 pm

awesome… the price is right, it already has the looks… hope it'll sell well.

now, will they EVER stop selling the Saga and Wiras, or will the Saga continue to the year 2020? :-p

• hey xxx tomato, before you go n fxxxing the moron,

wait…

you said 'bout export quality proton

if what 'notorp' said (refer up!) 'bout this gen.2 1.3 being unsold export stocks

& what yo said 'bout the export quality proton… then what we have here,

go & check it out…

• Sharfox on Aug 04, 2005 at 9:11 pm

Dear Mr. Philip Quek,

I'm one of the owner. I dunno the others who claims they own a G2 or test drive a G2. I owned this machine since July 2004 and Till now I've recorded about 75,000km on the trip meter. (U can check with Mutiara Damansara coz I used to send there for service, is there any G2 with the trip meter like that?… It's mine).

So far, I have drive the machine from KL – Kuala Perlis, KL – Skudai, KL – Terengganu. I drive along every highway in Peninsular Malaysia. So far I've recorded 210km/h. I dun dare to push any further afraid the tyre will burst. If that lady can drive bout 170km/h I bet it's the auto one.

To others…… Please refer to G2 owner if U want further details of the car. It's unfair to compare it with Waja, Wira or Iswara. G2 is G2. Do I have anything to complain?… Yesss… power window failure but they fixed it already. They give us 100k warranty. SO, WHAT'S DA PROB HERE?

• JIN-2 owner. on Aug 04, 2005 at 9:38 pm

Mr. Sharfox,

You are a very lucky person ha! let me tell ya da prob. My Gen-2, power window motor not working, side mirror switch not working, two of the tyres bengkak, wiper water tube putusssss, now the whole engine is jahanam. I bought this car on March this year you know.

Toyota standard, only 4 defect per car. If you compare it with my Gen-2 I think it shuold be scrapped already.

• peter pan on Aug 04, 2005 at 10:47 pm

whosoever choose gen 2 compared to myvi…..they r digging their own GRAVE….proton has been traditionally known to produce SHIT quality cars…when i mean SHIT …it is really BIG SHIT quality….sorry proton …i m just telling the truth

• Saga Iswara will never die… Proton are not paying royalty anymore for this model… price keep on increasing which means Proton lagi banyak untung loh… why need EOL…

• Philip Ong to Philip on Aug 05, 2005 at 8:32 am

what kind of a 1.5(A) wira your friend has? mine only hit 160km/h flat out. My friend tested his waja…flat out 190+km/h..a manual…the wira is only a 3 speed auto. I doubt it can hit 180km/h unless some parts has been tweaked.

• jeevs on Aug 05, 2005 at 11:17 am

Fantastic move proton! This is Myvi payback time!

• when and saw it. the quality has improved alot(waaaaay better than myvi'squality)and it handles great not underpowed at all.

• Is 180km/h really that hard to reach? I don't really know much about cars but i manage to clock my mom's old iswara carb 1.5(A) at 170 – 180 not to sure what is the exact speed but i know it wouldn't budge anymore. No modifications at all. If you think i am just saying for the sake of saying i would be happy to show you.

• I cannot find this Gen2 in Melaka showroom, the SA say Gen2 1.3cc "mana ada".

waiting to see the car before I comment again.

• tan swee hua on Aug 06, 2005 at 3:47 am

even cut down to 45k,the GEN 2 price still too high consider to the performance and quality. sad!

• tan swee hua on Aug 06, 2005 at 3:53 am

MyVi really meet the market's demand,with reasonable price, somemore it

is DVTi engin man,wat about GEN 2 and savvy ? inferior technology …..

problem here and there….hopefully proton learn something from perodua.

• pomen_kete on Aug 06, 2005 at 9:40 am

why we must proud we myvi? 2nd national car? bullshit..

Perodua Owned By daihatsu.. and. Daihatsu curently owned by TOYOTA!..

i still remeber those in dahatsu said..

Toyota bought us.. then we(daihatsu) became as a CHEAP CAR manufacturer..

Then toyota swith to EXspensive car like Camry, Etc etc lexus harrier bla bla..

Avansa = cheap.. build at P2 factory after p2 owned by daihatsu..

Wah! So proud lah stupid people..

Dont be sooo fanatic.. buy what u can afford.

For me it's better use my old toyota le 1.6 ratther than 1.6 Gen2. fork off to myvi too!.. because i have toyota.. toyota own all of their benefits.. i dun care..

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 06, 2005 at 3:57 pm

Yalah pomen_kette,

This time your comment is CORRECT. Paro2 is not a national own factory.

But they still call national car because as Latok Raf fee dah said before if the local parts acheive errr…let say about 30% (to be confirmed by Latok, just forgoten) or more it can call national car.

Buy Myvi or Sawi or JIN2 will support Local vendors.

• SEE FU on Aug 06, 2005 at 4:12 pm

Special to pomen_kete,

Your expression is too soft!

Which one is better? Let's other to judge Okay.

Option 1:

Wah! So proud lah stupid people..

Dont be sooo fanatic.. buy what u can afford.

or

Option 2:

WahAI! So proud KAH you people who use ass to think ….

Dont be sooo fanaticLAH.. buy what u can afford ONLY. Aiyah….faka….huha huha..

• gen2owner on Aug 06, 2005 at 6:37 pm

Mr. Philip Quek;

210km/j Gen2 manual

Mutanttomato;

go to hell with your tomato…

• wilnet on Aug 06, 2005 at 7:56 pm

it is always applaudable to be patriotric but come one lahhh if your home team sucks big time, u canT support them blindly!!! im using a wholly own national car because i cant afford anything else; if not for the proctection scheme we have i'll be driving a ford falcon or something. proton has protection for ten years, they should buck up and perform- look at the koreans! iswara/saga is a decade old and still in production w/o significant improvement.. wira apart from face lift is basically the same… perodua is slightly more innovative; so what if they are not 100% malaysian own.. but they are still a mile behind daihatsu (let alone toyota)… some people have no physical problem with their car; good for them- my car went in; in one year 4 time for reverse sensor problem 3 for power window; is that what i am paying for…? even with no such problem the sound proofing or wind proofing is horrible is anY local made car.. why are we being fed sub standard car just because we are patriotic and ought to support our country's produce??? or just because we are poor and cant afford something better??? or both? this is a poor man's and a blind patriot's problem.

with a decade of protection it is time for them to buck up… if their quality is as good as daihatsu to say the least, I'll gladly buy them and never ever buy a non malaysian car…

a poor runner should not be given a head start to finish on par or better with a better runner- encourangement and head start at first okie lahhhh but not forever and ever… how is he going to improve and where is fair play..? *sigh*

• MrKoment on Aug 06, 2005 at 11:57 pm

If Proton can produce QUALITY cars, they no need any protection whatsoever. People always support a good product. Any brand come in imported Toyota, Brabus, Lincoln, Lexus, Infinity, Acura, Cadillac, JiangLing, DongFeng, Alado, Maruti, Mahindra, TATA, n other car brand even sounds like canned food from China, all come here to Malaysia – no problem for Proton as long it produce QUALITY cars. Dont worry about China cars – its all can food quality. Dont worry about India cars – its all drunken with toddi. Straight f*ck face competition with Toyota n Cheverolet in any car categories offered. To be the best got to f*ck the best in or outside country like they did here locally.

• if you guys really believe in 'no protection', remove all the 'protection' (don't be hypocrite) and believe me in no time we will be swamp by the people from indonesia and china, who any time willing to do our jobs at half pay or lower – think about that!

we will be 'tuan' but no $$$$

and you buy your 'Toyota' with your shit!

think, don't be hypocrite,

;-)

• Agree with jet

• Went to proton showroom in subang and salesman says "GEN.2 1.3 tak adalah. ONLY FOR STAFF. 1.6 ONLY FOR SALE.

• wilnet on Aug 07, 2005 at 6:36 am

put an average B grader in a C average class.. he will be the best but he wouldn't improve much.. but a B grader in a A average class .. he might not be the best but he will have to work harder not to be left behind. I think the B grader would perform his personal best in the later situation than the former.

I personally belief that any sort of favourtism is bad for fair play. Human excellence strive in competition… but we are in Malaysia and the playing field is not level- for better or for worse in many cases; But the formula seem to work and we are doing OK, so don't fix it if it aint broken (??)

tis dun really bother me… but what does is that people that blast proton are often called unpatriotic and people who support perodua are often reminded that it is not 100% wholly local owned…

why do proton and perodua for (all the matter) always get bad review overseas? a. they are bias and hate malaysia b. our cars are not good comparatively (?) ….i think B.

so why cant proton take all this cricticsm and improve, instead of doing so many facelift but everything inside stays the same..? why do we blindly defend thm just because it's made in Malaysia…?

that's all, i dun run m'sia or proton but i do hope it can really improve and comparable to other more established makers and i can stop taking leave for repair appointments.

• wilnet: what you said is true but we should give our national car makers another chance ( failure is the stepping stone to sucess ) i know they have failed us many times. But i own a proton too. it has several small problems, however overall it is not too bad.

• I own a 3 year old Wira 1.3 manual. It shows few problem like aircond system, engine suddenly stop for no reason. But it all had been rectify and I can't do anything about it. My wages just enough for this national car.Had to live with it. At the moment I'm still supporting proton, eventhough I don't like Gen2 and Savvy, Waja is OK. Yet Proton forgot their loyal national buyer by giving an inferior product compared to what they offer to international buyer. Hopefully new Proton's CEO can do something about this. VW involvement should bring technolgy and design wise for proton.Local buyer will support as long as you hear what people want.

• Accord Kia on Aug 08, 2005 at 10:48 pm

Dear Jet,

the government should protect our labour not our national car.

• Nexona on Aug 08, 2005 at 11:48 pm

Jet

Please dont conclude that all Malaysians are dependant on Proton national project.Where's the fact that the majority of Malaysians/industries are NOT dependant on Proton at all.

Get your facts clear.

• Mat Singapore on Aug 09, 2005 at 1:22 am

Best of luck to GEN2!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!1

I support you PROTON!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Dear Accord Kial,

i was just highligting one of the obvious considerations when discussing about 'protection'

anyway, globalisation is coming soon.. not just our 'national car' will be swallowed, our lives too; so be ready everyone

engineers/technicians in proton/perodua will easily find jobs with the automotive giants; how about us the 'car buyers'?

from the recent fuel price increases, our government has shown its unwillingness to subsidise/protect us forever (probably, this means proton will be sold to volks?)

have a nice day,

;-)

• Dear Accord Kia,

sorry for the misspelling (typo error) of your name

;-)

• Nexona

you misunderstand my statement; it's not in supporting of proton/perodua or about proton/perodua only

it's just, 'be careful with what you wish, you might get more than what you bargain for'

no need to request for the lifting of the 'protection', we'll soon lose it, in every aspects; remember this word – globalisation

enjoy it while we still have it

• 'Mat Singapore' also support proton,what la..u ppls here..so malu lah!anyway…dun lupa to stick the minature flag on u ppl cars this month!..MERDEKA DAY la!…what else!…already lupa ka?…MERDEKA!

• kahping on Aug 09, 2005 at 2:50 pm

Im not Robinhood, I pay my $ for quality car. If i can afford, i wouldnt low quality proton. Stupid Gov make stupid car corn poor ppl.

• sad malaysian driver on Aug 09, 2005 at 6:50 pm

yep…

crazy proton do stupid things. They better get a CEO in quickly… It looks like they have no direction what evey in what they're doing…

Maybe it's just a plot to sell off all the stock they have before they sell proton to VW?

• sad malaysian driver on Aug 09, 2005 at 6:54 pm

ps… anyone been to the proton website… what the heck is proton doing selling leather chequebook / passport holder???

• yvonne on Aug 09, 2005 at 10:18 pm

look great…

• megahyper on Aug 11, 2005 at 12:24 am

I think with that kind of protection (rebate,kickbacks, govt. grant, lotus to help me), and impose ahem…. protection money (AP, excise duty, import duty and whatnot) on the others, and at the same time, importing/employing foreign engineers/consultant to "transfer technology" and of coz (haha) a ready market whose deprived of valuable good model for years! I think the rest is a no brainer. As Myvi has proven. Tell you what, if you give that kind of benefit to anyone with some common sense, they will perform much better than proton. so where's the problem? it's proton and prolly the adviser. They have the money, the expertise, the AP, the support (govt) and the scapegoat market. What else does they want?

• Wah~This web help alot before i get myself a gen 2…anyway…promotion time!merdeka!!!!! I'll put malaysia flag on my "BMW 5 Series"

• I want that gen 2 auto……….. the price is right and it is a beaut….. gen 2 has the best backside too….. cheers.

• diabloCruiser on Aug 17, 2005 at 6:27 am

I have already book that car, its coming in 2 mths time…. Went to inspect the car…very nice…except it comes with a cassete player…and also no sports rim….and also drum rear brakes… ;) still overall all this can be overlooked with the price and also WHITE color….very striking….. I can't wait for my car to come……

yeah…

• Stone on Aug 19, 2005 at 7:54 am

I think when it comes to Proton cars, we should reflect on the age old wisdom

"IN THE KINGDOM OF THE BLIND THE ONE EYED MAN IS KING"

• Jadore on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:02 pm

Only white color available for Gen 2 1.3? Any others colors??

• Just test drove Gen2 1.3cc, a bit disappointed, becoz it seems like a little bit underpowered if compared to Saga 1.3cc … other's is still ok… and when the car is on 100km/hrs, it's a bit too noisy inside the car, the wind sounds and the engine sound as well … but it's still can be considered since it's price is quite reasonable …

• Jadore on Sep 05, 2005 at 1:10 am

Hey Jry,where u test drive it? I just went to Jln Genting Klang show room. no test drive for Gen 2 1.3. u drive auto or manual??

• MazdaManiac on Sep 05, 2005 at 7:10 pm

These are just rejected cheap things returned from other countries becoz of failed the QC checking. these cheap things then re-sell in malaysia and boasting that they are new model or new technology or whatever, in fact they are just returned items because of failure. Malaysians, PLEASE OPEN UR EYES!!!

• yeong on Sep 17, 2005 at 2:22 am

Huh..2 months need to wait? I've just booked gen2 1.3 manual also last week but the shit dealer told me shortest 2 weeks, longest mayb jz 1 month..Shit..I've been waiting n waiting..It's gona end of year n d car value is reducing man..Hey bro, when u get any notice pls notify me..I cant wait 4 that long.. :(

• Dun cheat…..there no such thing as gen2 1.3

• O-P: there is… check the showrooms.

• GEN2 KOTA TINGGI on Sep 17, 2005 at 7:19 am

aku pakai gen2 1.6(a), lepas pantang 1000km trus masuk highway plus.. bole speed 190km/h ooo tu pun bole pegi lagi tapi jalan dah jam la.. gen 2 ok apa, cuma tak bes bila compressor air con on bunyi bising kat dalam, pastu nak letak barang tak ada laci dashbord.. para2 mcm rumah stingan je..jutera gentu tlg la buat laci dashboard.. semua kete ada beb..

• all cars have gloveb on Oct 05, 2005 at 7:55 pm

why there is no glovebox in jentu ? simply b`coz they don`t know how to construct a proper glovebox as what happen to waja lousy glovebox that can`t close properly. The solutions ? just eliminate the glovebox in jentu and replace it with kicap shelf. habis cerita.

• Yaya..i just saw it this morning. 49k on the road then deduct 2.9k during promotion….but, 1. can it go up genting? i wondering… really under power?

• infinity on Oct 09, 2005 at 11:57 pm

well…the white gen2 1.3 looks cool..i was thinking of getting1…especially now that it's only 46k..but i would really glad to know if the car is good…when i say good, i dun mean to have something like city or vios…is it value for money??is the 1.3campro enough for the car??btw, i dun drive at 180 or 210km/h..i follow the speed limit..max maybe 120km/h…no money pay saman…later blackmark lagi susah…

• yaya…i'm thinking to get 1…

1.3 is eco enuf & during promotion it;s really cheap!

"value of money"…just dun wan a new car that affcet my monthly saving.

some info here :

gen2 1.3 (A)

OTR price : RM 49K

Discount : RM 2.9K

Loan % rate : 2.9

9 years : RM 512/ month

Spec : No sport rim, no egine imobollizer captor, no spoiler, 1.3cc & no backward sensor, others same as gen2 1.6 (standard).

subang show room : only grey colour available, kota kemuining : white, puchong : Chili Red

Book it now before 23/OCT (proton promotion time)

• I remember reading about quite a few owners complaining about the lack of power, even on the 1.6. Now, will the 1.3 (A) redefine the meaning of insufficient power? Wonder if it'll beat the Wira 1.5 (A) in this category?? ^_^

Hmm.. I can already anticipate what the Proton guys will tell the new 1.3 owners regarding complaints on lack of power: "itu sebab maksimum torque kat 4,000 rpm!" So all drivers of this car are expected to upshift only at 4k rpm!

• abert on Oct 11, 2005 at 9:42 pm

beli Gen2 1.3 pastu carik la half cut Gen2 1.6, tukar enjin dia…hehehehe..

• infinity on Oct 12, 2005 at 12:15 am

about the power…it's very relative…depends on the driver…if u drive like a grand prix driver,then only a grand prix car satisfies u..u dun expect to drive a RM46k car like a RM460k car..otherwise,i believe this gen2 1.3 can satisfy your need…and pocket..as i said earlier…i dun expect to get smth like city or vios with my RM46k..perhaps half of it..anyway…it's stylish…doesn't it??i dunno bout u guys…but i love the white machine…LOL!!!

• infinity on Oct 12, 2005 at 12:25 am

btw…it also depends wat car u were driving b4 buying gen2 1.3…for ppl like me who are using kancil…then gen2 certainly have greater power…welll…slowly slowly go up ma…after got gen2 for sometime…then change la to city or vios…then can compare again…heheh…

• wattashi on Oct 12, 2005 at 1:50 am

Pelan-pelan kayuh!

• Twoxer Hayzen on Oct 13, 2005 at 1:19 am

About the Gen2.

I have owned one since February. A 1.6 with complimentary leather seats for CNY.

The day we collected the car, we arrived at the showroom at 830pm but left at 945pm. Why? The side mirrors didn't work. The fuse had to be changed TWICE.

Great.

By day 5, the car had been in Mutiara Damansara 3 times. The 3rd time? The whole joystick and housing of the side mirrors came of from the centre console!

Wonderful.

The weather-strip has been changed 3 times since; the engine has been re-tuned twice due to lack of power; the undercarriage has been re-tightened twice. The screwcover for the left front door keeps coming off each time you close the door.

The sunvisor has been replaced once as it keeps coming down.

POWER: For a 1.6 it really disappoints. My lady drives that car, and even my 1.4 litre Japanese car can outdo it on stretches.

We are considering selling the car as it's just a bad car. I gave up on PROTONs this year, when I bought the Japanese car. I gave up on my 16 month old Perdana V6! The interior flooded due to gaping holes in the firewall between the engine bay and passenger compartment.

Don't even think of saying I'm not patriotic. But I won't buy anything just because it's Malaysian; please realise that we need to help others of course but if you help others at the cost of your own happiness/money, then its simply dumb!

I promised myself I will never buy another PROTON until it gets at least a 3-star rating by a veritable car review magazine in UK or Australia.

Anyone willing to bet if I'll ever get to eat my words?

• Proton Boleh on Oct 14, 2005 at 12:17 am

There is still no 1.3 Gen.2 Manual yet, only automatic available – sure underpower la. Funny thing, now they launch a1.3 Gen.2 automatic first compared to when they first launch 1.6 Gen.2 manual back then. But 1.3 Gen.2 automatic ? will be like kura-kura

• Fendi on Oct 14, 2005 at 10:22 pm

Does the Gen-2 1.3 Automatic consumes more fuel compared to the Gen-2 1.6 Automatic? Hopefully someone out there can furnish me with the answer to this question.

Which of the two cars is more economical in terms of fuel consumption and maintenance; a Proton Iswara 1.3 (M) or a Gen-2 1.3 (A)? Hope to get some opinion from the people out there.

Any idea when the Gen-2 1.3 Manual will be in the market? How much will it cost?

All the best to all of you!

• Wife just book gen 2 1.3 auto, grey colour…. why, b' cos it is a beautiful car, just the right price, auto (wife has a sore left knee), excellent ride and handling and a big booth. Cheers…..

• Unlucky Twoxer Hayzen! So far my fren around me nvr face dthis kind of problem..u r just bad luck! I'm waiting my white colour gen2…about the perfomance…tell u later after i get my car!

• Fendi on Oct 16, 2005 at 7:29 am

I wonder have Zool has driven the Gen-2 1.3 Automatic. Is the handling the same as the Gen-21.6's? Thank you.

• i dun think so…..gen2 1.3 no test drive provided

• If they can sell gen 2 in UK then its ok. As for me I am still driving my faithful WIRA auto 1.5. Bought it in 2001, trouble free, no trouble going up bukit mantin, bukit putus (kuala pilah) or bukit tangga (Jolobu) or Karak Highway.

• In Seremban my wife is the first buyer, now it is selling like hot cakes. Many people are ordering it…. there are lots of SAVVY too in Seremban with the latest number plates NBR……

• Fendi on Oct 17, 2005 at 9:41 pm

Is it true that the Gen-2 1.3 A is selling like hot cakes now? Maybe Dzul can furnish me with some evidences on it.

• i bought my proton only a year ago. but now,i am counting the day when can i sell that car…

• mr.jay on Oct 18, 2005 at 5:12 am

any 1 have bought this 1.3 auto already? tested ok? i just wonder now this 1.3(a) gen2 got improve annot….or still a SHIT car…

• Hei, proton is a good car what.

• yezzer81 on Oct 18, 2005 at 11:01 pm

GEN2….it's okay……

• Tested! QA PASSES….Good handling and more power than wira 1.5 (A)!

Price & spec is reasonable!…who haven't book….sorry….it's out of order already!

• just saw in the showroom. considering price same as myvi , i deffinately buy gen.2 1.3. looks nicer handle better and more unique. too many people buy myvi.

• just saw in the showroom. considering price same as myvi , i deffinately buy gen.2 1.3 auto. (no manual for me. too much traffic jam )looks nicer handle better and more unique than myvi. too many people buy myvi.

• Balik raya or deepavali, sure can put more stuff or kueh raya and lemang in gen 2's booth…..

• Wow!!! it has a compression ratio of 10.0:1 … thats very good.

• Wife' got gen 2 1.3 on thursday after 8 working days… she's loving it… soaks pot holes and undulating roads with ease … no back ache.. or sore knees… thanks proton for lovely car. Now we can balik kampong in comfort. So Fendi have you book your gen 2… I am sure you will have to wait until raya to get your car… cheers…

• When u get ur car?why mine still not yet get?!!!!!!!!!!!!!! where u buy the car?—zool

• manson on Oct 21, 2005 at 7:15 pm

Hi, Zool, would you mind share more with your new gen2 1.3? How about the power and fc? Thank you.

• My wife got it from EON Seremban. This raya we will convoy balik kampung (me in my faithful reliable WIRA auto with 2 kids and wife with lovely Gen 2 with my other 3 kids) cheers…..

• roni_united on Oct 21, 2005 at 8:41 pm

It's nice. Now the price more less. It became a killer for MyVi.

• i think zool cheat…i ask around….gen2 1.3 still not yet reach!shyt…..wen only it come..price less?less how much?

• manson on Oct 22, 2005 at 4:47 am

i ask proton edar at jln ipoh, they said gen.2 1.3 car only can delivery after hari raya. Red and white color need to wait longer time. I might book tomorrow.

• dem it…i had booked last 2 weeks, that time th SA said it will reach before oct. Now…delayed…mean i'm going to pay for another rm 2.9K (which a discount during oct promotion)

• benunited on Oct 22, 2005 at 8:01 pm

6.5/10

• 6.5/10 mean?

• Twoxer Hayzen on Oct 23, 2005 at 9:08 pm

Hello guys,

It's really nice to see all the new or future Gen.2 buyers waxing lyrical about their car.

If you noted from my previous entry, we had a lot of problems with the car. I don't mean to sound cocky but this car was bought not via a salesman, but via the CEO's office, i.e. under the watchful eye of the (now retired) CEO.

The car was given an absolute priority in terms of service; it went through TWO pre-delivery inspections, even the factory tag attached to the keys had "VVIP" posted on it, and yet we experienced all that.

We tolerated the problems mainly because we were able to secure excellent service from PEdar, due to the connection. But we rarely snitched to the CEO when there was a problem; we merely called the Mutiara manager and got things fixed.

But in our regular lunches and SMS to the CEO, we always updated him on the issues.

We're always wondering what kind of service a regular Joe or Jill gets from PEdar. Going by my previous experience before being accorded VVIP treatment, its always "It;s a PROTON, so the problem is common", or "There's nothing wrong with the car", or "We've fixed the problem" – only to have the same problem within hours of getting the car back.

Back to the car, on October 4th we sent the car to Mutiara for its regular service and pointed out the following issues:

* sluggish engine

* rattling sound inside the front RH side door

* loose weather strip on front RH side door

* loose weather strip on rear LH side door

NOTE: ALL weather stripping was changed from colour-coordinated brown to ugly black about 2 month into ownership

We collected the car on the morning of October 7th.

Verdict:

* engine returned to normal (We re-tuned it sir, maam)

* rear LH side weather strip came off when checked at the centre (We changed it sir. Ok. I'll change it again)

* driver's side weather strip worked ok

* rattling sound fixed

Today's update:

* both weather strips loose again

* rattling returned

My lady, the main driver of the car says, "I've stopped listening and counting".

When we tried to tarde in the car last weekend, we were quoted an astrounding RM40k! That's an unbelievable RM18k loss, or 31%!

Why?

The current promotions. It may seem like a winning situation for current promo buyers, but please note the value of the freebies is around about RM3,500, or about a 6% discount:

* they pay road tax & insurance for first year (RM1,600 + halved road tax at RM125 (1.6L). Lets say RM1,800.

* they pay first 3 months instalment (about RM1,500 value)

* freebies (tinting, some other cheap accesories)

In the first year typically you lose 10% of the car's value, but give Gen.2's reputation, used car dealers now place a 5% premium, totalling 15%. This is a real bummer.

Selling the car won't be easy either. Note that AFTA will be in full force by 2008 or earlier. Newer, better cars will come out from names like Honda, Nissan and Toyota, and they will be cheaper. This means the demand for PROTONs will fall, making their used value even poorer.

Effective last week, PROTON no longer qualify for the 50% duty rebate. But PROTON said today they will not raise car prices, for now. On the surface it looks like a winning position again for you.

But understand deeper. 50% is not a small issue. PROTON cannot change their prices now as tyey are contracted to dealers, insurers and finance companies of volume under the promotion. Any price increase will mean a sales decline, as the public awaits the new car prices for foreign marques, expected to trickle in beginning tomorrow. PLEASE NOTE THIS LAST LINE.

That 50% is going to cut into their margins. Any company's financial position is usually tabulated on a 5 year projection, including an annual breakdown. PROTON has incorporated their 50% rebate for the next 5 years, but everything's down the drain now.

Where will they recover the 50%?

Cheaper parts, poorer quality. Case in point? The "all-new" PROTON Saga.

The top-of-the-range Saga now retails at RM38,000. There are many reasons for this really cheap price.

* Investment into the dies recovered a long time ago

* More local (read "poor quality, cheap") components

Point number 2 is pertinent.

The Saga has a very thin door panelling, and the plasticky feel of the interior (despite looking very sporty, I admit) will not get by even the most lax of car reviewers.

The quality of the foam used for the seat is also lower than an Iswara (the sucessor to the original Saga), even compared to ones made 3 years ago.

That's how PROTON reduces on their price.

True, the Savvy and Gen.2 belong to a newer generaton of PROTONs aimed for the international market.

But domestic pressures will ensure that PROTON continues to cut corners to improve margins, which means the users will end up with cars that lack quality.

Monthly payments will still be cheaper though. Through EON Bank and PROTON – Commerce, they should be able to counter slightly cheaper foreign brands.

News is there will be a reverse of what is happening now. National cars now attract a higher interest rate because finance companies see the money in volume. But to counter an expected slower sales due to higher prices and similar priced Nissans and Hondas, the interesr rate for national cars will decline.

Cheaper installments, yes, BUT poor quality cars.

I am so glad I put my Perdana V6 "to sleep" 2 months ago.

I'll end my entry just as I did the last one:

I promised myself I will never buy another PROTON until it gets at least a 3-star rating by a veritable car review magazine in UK or Australia.

Anyone willing to bet if I’ll ever get to eat my words?

• The children enjoyed the ride in the gen 2 1.3. Saw a red one in a show room in Senawang while servicing my Wira Auto, looks ok. But it is sold. A grey one seen earlier have been registered. Proton must have painted the cars by batches… soon the white coloured gen 2 will arrive. A friend of mine who saw my wife's gen2 wants to buy it for his wife… he sells and rent out computers… he thinks the booth is large enough to put computers.

Of course any car you buy now will depreciate a lot the next day. Why? There are too many second hand cars around and its easy to buy new cars with low percentage for car financing. We bought gen2 by trading our kelisa manual cos my wife needed an auto. Gen 2 1.3 is the cheapest and modern loooking auto car around, and will all round disk brakes

• Regarding cutting corners, all car manufacturer do it. My friend's new foreign car does not even have a clock???? Some cars sent here use cheaper parts than the one in EU. Others opted out certain things and get parts from other developing countries. Anyway my wife's kelisa had a very big drop even though it is only about one year old, luckily insurance and road tax was free, therefore just enough to get a deposit without forking out any extra money.

• Zool stop bluffing! gen2 1.3 still not available yet!!!!!!

the stupid proton delay it again….cham, promotion end soon..am i going to get a more expensive gen2?

• manson on Oct 25, 2005 at 5:40 am

http://www.caranddriving.com/exchange/ncrt_c.asp?… Gen2 1.3 review

Hence the importance of the 94bhp 1.3-litre GLS entry-level variant we’re looking at here. The performance isn’t much different from that of the 1.6-litre models with rest to sixty taking 15.4s (as opposed to 12.6s for the 1.6-litre) and maximum speed of 112mph (118mph for the 1.6). Unfortunately, the fuel consumption story is likewise (40.4mpg combined as opposed to 39.2mpg for the 1.6). What is different is the price – £8,795 (or £9,595 if you go for the automatic) that could make all the difference between getting potential buyers into the showroom and losing them to more established rivals.

Upon reaching said showrooms, those potential customers should be favourably impressed – and not just by the car. A recent national dealer survey saw Proton’s dealers rated as second only to Lexus for helpfulness, which shows how the network has been pulling its socks up in recent times. As for the car, well despite the more affordable price, 1.3 GLS buyers still get the same specification as 1.6-litre GLS customers. And that means air conditioning, alloy wheels, a CD player with a 10-disc autochanger, twin airbags, remote central locking with an alarm/immobiliser, electric front windows and reverse parking sensors. Try asking for that little lot for under £13,000 from your local Ford or Vauxhall dealer.

"To sum up the Proton GEN-2 1.3 GLS is easy. Just get yourself a Ford price list and see how much you pay for less…"

Otherwise the GEN-2 package is as you were. The chassis is shared with the Impian saloon and that’s a good start. The Impian is one of the better handling compact cars and the dimensions, when translated to the GEN-2, give it a squatly purposeful, wheel at each corner stance. The exterior detailing shows a number of well-judged contemporary features from the sculpted headlamp units to the bold design of the hatch and the coupe-like window line.

Although the GEN-2 will doubtless sell on the basis of its looks and value proposition, a great deal of attention has been paid to how the car drives. Proton now own 100 per cent of Lotus and they want a return on that investment. Quick witted steering and an alert feel are Lotus trademarks and the GEN-2 isn’t found wanting in this department. Factor in a chassis that corners without a great deal of understeer or body roll and you have a setup which will be more than adequate for most of the target market. The more demanding minority may well find themselves wishing for a little more engine so good is the ride and handling. The ride is firm without lapsing into harshness and float over longer undulations is well suppressed.

The cabin is a bit of a treat if you’re used to acres of dull grey and boring details. It’s styled by – you guessed it – the Lotus Design Studio and features a set of vertical air-conditioning knobs on the centre console support and a nice metallic finish that together really are a cut above the class standard in terms of aesthetics. The steering wheel is also massively more sporting looking than the apologetic tillers seen in most cars of the Proton’s ilk as is the instrument panel with its twin cowled binnacle and metallic look to the dials themselves. Everywhere you look there are neat design touches, from the unorthodox handbrake grip to the semi-circular door pulls.

As we’ve said, equipment levels are very competitive, though metallic paint will require you to dip further into your pocket. The only really significant grouse in this respect is that anti lock brakes aren’t featured across the range with only the top 1.6-litre GSX model getting ABS as standard. Work that one out.

To sum up the Proton GEN-2 1.3 GLS is easy. Just get yourself a Ford price list and look at the £11,500 price tag attached to the cheapest, most basically specified entry-level version. Were the Malaysian car to be a world away in terms of build quality and dynamics, the cost difference could be justified but it isn’t. All right, so this Proton still isn’t screwed together quite as well, nor is the quality of materials used quite as good – but there’s not too much in it. Against that, the handling is just as good, the styling more attractive and the specification on another planet. All of which ought to be enough to elevate this car to a place on your shopping list, even if you were thinking of spending a good deal more than £8,800 on a Family Hatchback. Pricier isn’t necessarily better.

• manson on Oct 25, 2005 at 5:47 pm

FACTS AT A GLANCE

CAR: Proton GEN-2 1.3 GLS

PERFORMANCE: 0-60mph 15.4s / Max Speed 112mph

FUEL CONSUMPTION: (urban) 27.7mpg / (extra urban) 54.3mpg / (combined) 40.4mpg

• Fuel consumption looks ok, with 1.3 Double Overhead Cam Engine (DOHC), MPI and a compression ratio of 10:1

• finally proton extend the promotion till end of nov.

And my white gen2 only will reach after raya….

• manson on Oct 26, 2005 at 4:19 am

My wife just booked this car today, she feel ok about the power, just same as our old Iswara 1.5A.

• manson, where u buy the gen2? got test drive?

• Its been a week since we got the car (gen 2 1.3), and has gone 800 km, must reach 1,000 km at the end of the week so that we could do the first service before raya. At present we never drive it more than 90 km/hour and it is a pleasure to drive, good response and excellent ride and handling. Its well crated and I think it is a beautiful car. My wife's colleagues looked and enquired about it, some thinking of getting one.

• manson on Oct 26, 2005 at 10:04 pm

You need to be a sincere buyer then you can test drive at Proton Edar Jln Ipoh branch, but it depend on they got the car for test or not, so you better book the time with them first.

• I just visiting Proton Edar Glenmary and they have Gen2 Centennial Edition (MCKK). Its white and come with leather seat, double airbag, refined interior. Its really nice, the price around RM70k but get a discount around RM9,000.00, so its good or not..Planning to get either Wira SE or this one.

Zool may I ask your opinion about the Gen2 1.3 fuel consumption, its really o.k or like the wira 1.5 auto. Right now I'am driving Wira 1.3 manual. So can explain little bit..thanks in advance.

• nvr listen to zool…he bluff alot..

• At present our gen 2 1.3 is about 995 km, thus will service it this saturday. Regarding fuel comsumption, have not tested it yet because have not had our first service. From data given in websites the fuel comsumption is slightly better than gen 2 1.6 auto. One EON salesman who is driving a gen 2 1.6 auto said that the gen 2 1.6 auto has better fuel comsumption than WAJA 1.6 auto and Wira 1.5 auto (he once owned all of them)…. hence gen 2 1.3 auto should be tha best. My daughter saw a red gen 2 1.3 last wednesday on the road. One thing for sure gen 2 1.3 auto has all four disk brakes unlike my wira auto, drum brakes at the rear.

• Fendi on Oct 28, 2005 at 10:22 pm

Zool said,

October 21, 2005 @ 7:40 am

Wife’ got gen 2 1.3 on thursday after 8 working days… she’s loving it… soaks pot holes and undulating roads with ease … no back ache.. or sore knees… thanks proton for lovely car. Now we can balik kampong in comfort. So Fendi have you book your gen 2… I am sure you will have to wait until raya to get your car… cheers…

–> Congratulation, Zool! I hope the car will serve your wife, children and you well (for good causes, of course).

I have not bought any new car yet, as I think my Iswara 1.3 is still working fine. A Gen-2 1.3, with its current price, seems interesting. However, it comes with Automatic transmission, and I am afraid I will lose my clutch-control and gear-shifting skills if I were to have one. Besides, its headroom is rather small for people like me (my height is 175cm). However, if it comes with manual transmission, maybe I might get interested to have one.

I have driven a Waja 1.6 A. I thought it is a small car until I drove it. It is spacious and feels good when driving it. The steering system is quite light; the wheel is not shaken at high speed. Is it a Waja's characteristic?

Point to ponder on: If Proton does not manage to sell cars anymore, what will happen to its workers? There are thousands of people earning their living by working with the manufacturer. Their incomes part of our country's economy too. If they all lose their jobs, what would be its possible consequences on us? Any idea, anyone? These questions are not the sarcastic ones: They are truly to elicit information.

Keep commenting, people!

• Wife's gen 2 1.3 had our first 1000 km service on saturday. Due to promotion ererything was free, labour, lubricant and oil filter. Services for 5,000 and 10,000 are also free. This is the first gen 2 1.3 to be serviced by EON Seremban. I have two cars but when we go shopping nearby I cramp all 5 children and wife in the gen 2. Guess what? It amaze me to find the pick up and cruzing speed are not affected. It has no problems going up 4 stories to a shopping mall's packing space. After service I tested the car up bukit mantin and back…… passed with flying colours… truly amazing …. overtake a honda accord and a new sentra on the way.

We once had 2 iswaras, mine a 1.3 sedan and wife a 1.3 aeroback. They serve us a good 7 and 5 years respectively free of trouble. I only send them to EON for service in the first year, after that to an ordinary foreman to change just the lubricant oil and filter, and sometimes the fuel filter and air filter. Once a year I do electronic tuning at a tyre shop. It is truly a peoples' car.

• Took the gen 2 1.3 to KL from Seremban yesterday (Sunday). Fill the car full of petrol before going and fill it again after coming back from Seremban. It is a crude way of measuring petrol comsumption and not a perfect way. Anyway travelled 176 km. with about RM 20 of petrol. When driving in Seremban speed was about 70 km/h and KL 80 km/h but along the Highway it was 110 km/h accept near bangi 90 km/h. I always believe in driving at national speed and using the indicators when changing lanes or going in and coming out of junctions. Have use indicators for years and believe me it never fails on me. Along the way to KL I felt sleepy so took a 10 minutes nap at the Nilai R & R with the engine and air cont running. Not sure if the gen 2 1.3 has been tuned electronically. Used to electronicaaly tune my other cars immediately when I first got them. Probably will do it after raya and do more testing on the Mileage. Selamat Hari Raya/ Eid Mubarak… Maaf Zahir Batin and Happy Deepavali/ Divali to all Malaysians and people of the world.

• Mr.jay on Oct 31, 2005 at 9:23 pm

wat the the gen2 price now…the promotion until end of nov….if after this promotion..??? wat price will be?

• Danny on Nov 01, 2005 at 3:52 am

zool: what is your gen2 1.3 top speed?

i want to know coz i want to buy want too.

• I do not know the top speed as I seldom do more than 110 km/h. However whenever I drive the gen 2 1.3, I can't smiling from ear to ear… its so comfortable. I think it has stabiliser bars both front and back as well as disk brakes front and rear. Cheers..

• I do not know the top speed as I have not done more than 110 km/h. Anyway whenever I drive this car it makes me smile from ear to ear as it is so comfortable. It has stabiliser bars both front and rear bulit in when I look under the car. It has also front and rear disk brakes and 15 inches tyres. Cheers

• Danny on Nov 04, 2005 at 12:18 am

Hello Zool

how is 0-100kmh time?

fast or not for your gen2?

• Not sure about the time, but there is a boost of power in between. Maybe it is comparable with my Wira 1.5 auto. At stanstill from trafic lights it could be quite quick. Probably b'cos of DOHC. One think for sure even with 5 people on board there is no loss of power or feel a drag unlike my wira auto, probably b'cos of higher tought (not sure of the spelling) and higher compression ratio.

• wtf…u guys believe zool bs? No 1 receieved any gen2 1.3 yet! The stock is still not ready!

• Danny on Nov 05, 2005 at 7:30 pm

the first day got 3 stock white gen2 1.3 at autocity. me go to see and the sales person says no need to book now can take. coz me the first person go there ,somemore got discount RM2700.

• Local dealers here have chilly red gen 2 1.3 in their showrooms. Mine was the first stock, grey in colour… all sold out. It looks like a normal 1.6 gen 2… unless you look more closely.

• zerocool on Nov 07, 2005 at 9:23 pm

I've got my gen2 1.3, white on 28th Oct, before Deeparaya (Yeahoooo!!)…i guess mine was the only gen2 1.3 plying around in penang during the long break. It has acceptable handling and power, compared to my old wira 1.3 aeroback…..took my family balik kampung from penang to alor setar during Deepavali and back; this baby handles well with 6 of us onboard! Bout fuel consumption, i've break the 1000km mileage, and the consumption is like 13-14 cents/km. It's a good buy definitely for average income earners like us!

• Syieda on Nov 09, 2005 at 10:25 pm

Congratulation Proton,

And lovely sales girl, Kak Zaida.

Booked my car on 14 October, on 27 October after 8 days I already derived my second car. First one is Iswara 1.3 Sedan.

A few add on to it (Auto Start Engine and Air-Cool tinted), Look like luxury car. Remote start and cool inside the car. Very comfort journey Balik kampong for Hari Raya,

Value for money. Gen2 1,3 Auto No more “sakit lutut” during Jam.

Smooth journey for 400KM none stop from Perak to Johor. 110 – 120 KM/H.

Slow a bit during climbing the road other all ok.

Offer still valid until end of this month. Got discount for about RM2700.

cheers…

• Fendi on Nov 11, 2005 at 12:25 am

Nice to hear the comments from Proton Gen-2 1.3 A owners who are enjoying their new machines. I hope the cars will serve them well.

Just a few questions to Syieda. How much did it cost you for the fuel from Perak to Johore?

Thank you.

• Syieda : ur 1.3 gen2 is the sample? I had booked a gen2 1.3 on early of oct but till now no news yet..the SA said, what u c on the road now was the 1st sample in each showroom, if u cant get the 1st sample car…mean u wont received ur car if u book again another gen2 1.3. Already 1 1/2 month..wondering what proton is doing!!!!! Abit disappointed…

• Syieda on Nov 14, 2005 at 5:26 pm

Me again,

In Bahasa Melayu lah senang sikit nak cakap :D

I ingat Gen 1.3 Auto makan minyak lebih banyak dari 1.6 Manual. I ada My friend, dia kata minyak dia 7.5L/100 km, I nak cecah 8.7L/100km pun tak boleh. Terbaik boleh dapat 8.8L/100km itu pun long distance. I balik kampung hari tu 400KM Isi minyak RM50 habis. Entah lah so Confuse.

OP-You booking kat mana KL? Booking kat proton Edar Selangor cepat sikit kot. So kesin kat you. Berapa ratus you booking? takut nanti terlepas tarikh promotion lagi problem tak boleh discount.

• Syieda- i buy at subang proton edar, i asked others proton edar also not yet received wor. Those who driving now is the 1st sample car.Proton edar shah alam kat mana? some more i buy white colour

Promotion thing, proton said as long u placed ur booking during promotion time then sure can get the discount, but not sure how the proton edar side! i placed rm50 only..hehe

• Finally..the SA called me and might can take the car this week.Cant wait to c my babe…

• zerocool on Nov 14, 2005 at 10:43 pm

Syieda : Yur rite! Even my gen2 1.3 auto pun 'telan' lebih petrol daripada my old wira 1.3 manual! The consumption is bout RM 50 for 382km (ave.). I drive normally using the highway, with max speed limit not excessing 100km/h. :( Itu pun belum consider city driving lagi!!

• hey guys, we do need to pay the downpayment 1st before they process the doc? Or before get the car? Not pay at the time we take car?

• zerocool on Nov 16, 2005 at 3:17 am

OP dude : I guess u need to pay the downpayment first before the car loan and customs clearance processing can be done. Unless the salesman is yur very good buddy and will pay for you first, then collect from you when u collect yur car ;)

• haha…ok zerocool pro!

• manson on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:08 pm

Hi, Anyone received your Gen2 1.3 after Hari Raya? PE said only deliver end of this month (Nov).

• hai….y have to argueing leh…..

got money then go buy import car la!!

no money ma buy kancil lo…..

oso car wat….important save petrol money…..

if really got money then jus think to buy more powerful car…..

good luck for Proton la…Hope Gen2 can have good selling …..

if not….hahahaha….jus sell back ur wira or iswara la!!!!

designer of Proton….design some useful car and more reliable to use and the important is the price of the car….We are Malaysian….

Why have to pay more to buy our Own design car….

U stupid ah…..go to learn from other country la!!!ppl buy their own product where got so expensive de…..Celaka Betul….

think bout it oledi geram…

for me…i will choose to buy import car even have to pay more liao,

why still wan to pay for Prodon or Perodua where the quality is not good and the price are similiar the same….Head of Proton and Perodua….when u fall sleep…please think about it la….

benefit to all Malaysian la!!! u wan to earn money…jus export more to other country la…dun jus set the pricing so high and want all the Malaysian to buy such "expensive" car again la!!!!

• Hello ,I received mine this week , Gen 2 1.3 A White .

Order on Oct'24

• chaeh 40milesapart on Nov 19, 2005 at 6:43 am

side skirt tu mcm diperbuat dari fiber je ??? ..huhuhuhuhu….

1.3 ni syst brek bhgn belakang pakai disk ke drum??

kompius la ….

• chaeh 40milesapart on Nov 20, 2005 at 12:59 am
  • of course rear use disc brake lah.

Anyone test your gen2 1.3 top speed please let me know.

Thanks.

• jumly on Nov 20, 2005 at 9:33 pm

aku pon dah tempah 20 oktober lalu..chill red.. sales kata may be dapat bulan ni jugak…

• chaeh 40milesapart : You such an idiot…asking or suspect something that already published out..shame on u..drop own ur own water face only!

• Syieda on Nov 22, 2005 at 5:30 pm

Hero, I Baru try 145KM/H Belum Top Speed lagi, RPM taksampai lagi 4000 But very Stable. Tapi 1.6 member kata Campro engine sedap bawak pada RPM 4000 sampai 6000. Member I pernah bawa 1.6 Gen 2 210KM/H.

• Don't go speeding beb, better eat satay than pay speeding fines.

• CP See on Nov 23, 2005 at 4:17 am

Hi all, new here but I like to tell U all that I just got mine Gen2 1.3 after booking it for 1 month 7 days. Mine is the Metro Grey and it look like the 1.6 model with the 1.6 emblem missing at the back below the CamPro modif. The plastic cover for the rims look like shit. Have to change both the front seats as there are burned holes from "rokok kretek". Mine main complain on the car is that I can't see the speedometer/tachometer due to steering wheel, have to stoop lower in order to see mine speed/rpm.

• Syieda on Nov 23, 2005 at 5:18 pm

Dear CP See.

What you pay is what you get brother.

Don't smoke when drive :D

• syieda , thanks for the info about the gen2 1.3 speed.

Thanks , I appreciate it.

If can please update about the top speed.

• bvouge gen2 on Nov 23, 2005 at 7:29 pm

eeeeee…lu orang semua stupic…apa la kita mesti support malaysian product..lu orang jgn compare la toyota ke!!!honda ke!!!if u all got money buy la what car u like or mampu…xcually i have toyota vios n gen2 1.3 auto!!!!DUA2 SAMA BAGUS….LU ORANG PAKAI GEN2 SAMPAI ROSAK SEBAB LU ORANG XDE OTAK…LU PUNYA CAR XDA PEGI SERVICE..BAWAK MACAM ORANG GILER!!!lu org punya silap mau complain proton pulak…lu lahir malaysia bukan jepon so jgn lebih2 complain malaysian punya product la…haiya kita orang malaysia…orang melayu,india,cina all MALAYSIAN….BUAT SEMUA PEMANDU GEN2 JGN RISAU…GEN2 BAGUS NO PROBLEM…I USED…ALWAYS OUTSTATION JB NO PROBLEM…YG PENTING KERETA SELALU SERVICE…SEMUA YG PAKAI GEN2 PROBLEM BECOUSE THE OWNER PROBLEM!!!!!!HEHEHEHE…..PROTON IS GOOD….SUPPORT MALAYSIA PRODUCT!!!!!!

• TITI GEN2 on Nov 23, 2005 at 7:34 pm

YES SUPPORT MALAYSIAN PRODUCT…..

• BVOUGEGEN2 on Nov 23, 2005 at 7:36 pm

GEN2 BEST

• BVOUGEGEN2 on Nov 23, 2005 at 8:01 pm

THANKS TO SALES MAN ( MR MENG )…..FROM UTAMA TANGKAS..DANAU KOTA…

THAT COMPANY DELIVERED THE CAR TO ME 6 WORKING DAY ONLY….LOAN CUMA 3 HARI SAHAJA DAH APPROVE…REGISTER 1 DAY,SIAP SERVICES BEFORE DELIVER TO ME…XCUAALY 4 ARI SAHAJA TP SATURDAY N SUNDAY INC….WHAT EVER SALESMAN CHINESE BETTER THAN MELAYU…WALAUPUN I ORANG MELAYU…SINCE NOW NO PROBLEM WITH MY GEN2…HOPE SESAPA YANG NAK BELI GEN2 JGN RISAU….JGN LENJAN PAKAI BAIK2 OK…SERVICE JGN LUPA!!!!!

• mr.jay on Nov 25, 2005 at 3:45 am

any1 can take some photo to let us see?

• Mr.Jay..no worry, i'll get my gen2 tom..white in colour! haha…finally…the SA help me find from another show room. I'll upload it soon..

• simon on Nov 25, 2005 at 9:29 am

My Gen2 1.3 was delivered to me yesterday after one month of booking. The car looks very sporty and everyone in the family like it. There is no problem about power, it can easily go up slope. BUt, there is some minor faults like engine stopped but fan still running, back door's lock not functining properly, noisy engine.

• lantismazdaspeed on Nov 25, 2005 at 7:32 pm

wa nak beli sebijik pasni tapinak projekkan dulu savvy bini aku

• mr.jay on Nov 26, 2005 at 12:34 am

wah…..got problem…..

now buki bintang sg wang there got showroom….is white color….

• haha..just received my babe today in white colour, well..here my opinion after drive it. Power hmm…auto wira 1.6 power than it a bit..that what i an compare…and the fan still running wen u off the car..weird?any1 know why?design..ok for me..i like it. other nvr look futher yet…because sky turn dark..but the SA help to tint (air-cool), plate number on window and a perfume free of charge..ok or not? Overall..i think it's worth, value of money! Hope it funtioning well!

• hmm..second day notice more problem again, opposite driver door lock spoiled.When press alarm lock, it wont go down or up..need lock or unlock manually. Tinted (air-cool) many bubbles..shyt…some noise wen u start press oil…any1 know y?

• Draken on Nov 27, 2005 at 10:11 am

hehe… kool was lying. i test drive gen 2 1.3 last week. carrying 5 ppl, the car needs you to really step hard the acceleration pedal till 4000rpm to change gears to go up hill. typical right? but sure can go up genting NO WORRIES.

Self intro. 19yo from kuching, swak. car driving experience nearly 2 years only so i'm not a pro car tester!~ Just my opinion. N i can only compare it to my dad's cars ok!~ (and a test drived myvi 1.3auto)

———–

Strong Points (gen2 1.3 auto red)

———–

1) Handling. Nearly as good as vios. (I once do a cornering with vios at 130kmh scared the hell out of me, but stil survive here haha!) Better than my-vi and hilux and wira 1.5.

2) Power. Win wira 1.5 auto. At lower rpm about same (lose i tin) as myvi. At higher rpm win myvi alot. But nothing like Vios. And is a weakling compared to Camry or hilux. Overall rating of 87% if I give Vios 100%

3) Exterior design including the metal rims. Advantage of metal over alloy is that metal offers better protection during accidents. It doesn't crack; just bends!

4) Price. Cheap!

5) Space. Bigger than vios!

————

WEAK POINTS

————

1) Interior. SUXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX! The front part stil "ok" but the door is made ugly with its stupid lookin handles. I wil remove it!

2) No auto side mirror. But actually i tin this is good, cos we often hear how often the electrical parts break down. Nobody needs to adjust their side mirrors everytime anyway.

3) Power window? Hear it breaks often? Dono yet. God bless!

4) Engine?? Hear some unlucky ppl will experience dead engine.. God bless my car!

5) No cd layer. Easily fixed i guess!

————

CONCLUSION

————

1) trade in the wira i'm driving for a white gen2. Theres alot of other colored stock here except black highline 1.6 and white 1.3 !!HOTCAKES!!

2) Worried about:

a) Engine breakdown?? Happened to sme ppl while other ppl experience gd result.

b) Suspension. Heard some ppl experienced loose screws. …! Otherwise its a whooping feeling to drive this babe

c) Air con…….? Proton always have cool aircon. I hope gen2 is as good and have nothing to complain.

3) I only chose this car cos:

a) I cannot stand to drive in a fat myvi. I dislike the front lamp as well. d interior is great though.

b) I love the handling.

c) I love the max speed.

d) I love the design.

e) Fuel? Alot cheaper than driving an old wira or high powered camry.

Car wil be here next week. Wish me luck.

• Now my car ~90% ok already…just left the "noisy engin/exhaust sound"…u guys who owned gen2 1.3 also same? When u start car…u pull to "D" and car is stop…the sound come out!but when u press oil…it's ok back…what happen? Vibration of the exhaust pipe cause this? Any1 know what?

• zerocool on Nov 29, 2005 at 2:41 am

Don't bullsh$t Draken…….the fuel consumption for gen2 1.3 is worst than wira…..my old wira 1.3 junk drinks 9 cents / km, a dude friend drives a wira 1.5 manual with a consumption of 11-12 cents / km…..now my gen 2 1.3 telan 13-14 cents / km!! U better re-confirm on that.

OP – Dude….i got the same thing too….didn't really paid much attention until u brought this up……i also dunno why le…

• Draken on Nov 29, 2005 at 9:27 am

my wira is real lousy. the engine is too old n worn……. that's y drink fuel like water. and max speed only 90kmh hehe… whomever bought that old car sure is "lucky"

any other prob u guys faced with d 1.3 ? reply asap!~

btw, the engine noise u just mentioned…. hmm.. could it be warming up? When i start vios, it start at 2000rpm when in "P" mode until the " engine temperature" warning light disappear. But if pull to "D" then rpm meter fall back to original.

maybe for gen2 is warming up also? i din notice when test drive.

• Heelll oooo on Nov 29, 2005 at 5:50 pm

of course auto eat fuel more little bit lar .

But the top speed is high u know ,

don't mess mess .

satria 1.3 only max 130 (and shake a lot).

• Jal lennon on Nov 29, 2005 at 11:37 pm

I received my white machine last Wednesday …. after waiting for about 1 month & 1 week. I think mine having the same too … sometimes fan still running when engine is off …. but I encountered another mystery on sunday when I tried to reverse, there was no power at all even I pressed accelerator in full … this happened for about 5-10 seconds …. after that it was ok up till now …no problem . Dunno why!

Anyway ..maybe in two days time, the mileage will be 1000 km … after the service, i can really test the machine.

• how much is a fuel tank of petrol for gen 2 1.3 auto ?

• nasha on Nov 30, 2005 at 5:31 am

i mean FULL tank of petril for gen 2 1.3 auto

• nasha on Nov 30, 2005 at 5:32 am

how much is a full tank for gen 2 1.3auto?

• Draken on Nov 30, 2005 at 6:04 am

the idiot at proton edar gave away my white to others although i booked first! the shipment came yesterday, today all white n nearly all red gone cos everyone hurriyin to buy it while offer last!

sob sob… just now drove my machine. is the last red…. bopien liaw…. wat 2 do? have 2 get it today cos the offer won't last any longer.

i tried the "d" gear stuff… din c anytin wrong…… no noise at all

i check door… can open n close –good!!

wiper- windscreen- power window all workin fine…

everytin's fine…

except brake… there's always the metal noise when i brake the car to a full stop, even when braking slwly n slightly…

i ask: "how come brake got sound?"

he say: "all brake like this one…"

i ask: "noler… my vios don give this metal sound when i brake ler…"

he say: "this is proton car, cheap 1 mar… vios is 80k wat u xpec?"

again… the proton controversy!~

1) hey u guys got see the newer kind of blue? it's 1.6 manual (not sure got auto or not!) but looks superb (sporty!) with spoiler. the blue is the same as the blue of savvy.

2) the 1.3 does not come with a cd player. Is it possible to buy our own n fix it? cos the "slot" seems weird.. a lot bigger than normal cd player.

• Jal lennon on Nov 30, 2005 at 5:25 pm

Draken … u can change the cassete player to other brand … and u need to buy something like a case to fit the new player into that weird slot :) .. and u might even have more space to put something there ….

This morning … mine is already making 820km … cant wait

• GeniusKing on Dec 01, 2005 at 2:27 am

Please update bout the top speed :)

• gkl83 on Dec 01, 2005 at 7:21 am

it is possible to plug addtional cd changer as extrenal with the casette player in order to play cd?

or any current cd player can replace it prefectly?

• kelvin on Dec 01, 2005 at 8:51 am

anybody know when gen21.3 manual will be available???

• Hi, can any1 pls tell me when will the gen2 1.3 manual come out to the market?

• GeniusKing on Dec 01, 2005 at 5:51 pm

gen2 1.3 manual I sure 100% will buy it .

Gen2 top speed is always high .

Plus its big interior . (bigger than savvy a lot)

I sure think than 1.3 manual at the moment won't come out because

THE PRICE will clash wit other model and made other model like savvy

will not be considered.

• hey guys,

I go trough all da comment you guy's put on.

make me think twice before place an order. just feel not confident with the big boy toy. maybe I have to wait a bit longer.

if I do, I preferd the 1.6 HL.

bro, can someone advice???

• Jal lennon on Dec 01, 2005 at 9:50 pm

Leo … I think it's becoz it's still too early for us the owner of Gen2 1.3 to comment because most of just got the car recently. Honestly, so far I havent had any slightest feeling of regret for taking this model and not the 1.6 or Myvvi. Hopefully I'll still feel this way for years to come.

• Lovely car

• If the gen2 1.3 manual still not come out before 2/2006 is tat ok if i get the auto 1? any comment?

• but some say the gen2 1.3 auto is underpower….

• GeniusKing on Dec 02, 2005 at 2:46 am

i'm sure not underpowered wit 95hp .more than 1.5 wira auto (eighty something hp).

• gkl83 on Dec 02, 2005 at 2:47 am

mike:

depend how we define "underpower"

maybe they was "racer", desired for more power, tats y they said underpower… maybe for those auntie who drive slow was powerful :P

however, i also interested on 1.3m, when proton to sell it? curious tat y they launch the auto transmission 1st rather than manual… dun tell me because 1.3m will kill savvy manual, even 1.3a killing the savvy AMT too…

• Draken on Dec 02, 2005 at 4:19 am

whose brake got sound? i brake slowly……. also got sound of metal cranking, just like other proton cars. otherwise no other parts got prob..

• A man on Dec 02, 2005 at 6:11 am

Draken , you drive wat car actually

• gkl83 said,

u can replace it with FM modulator..i just bought it. quality just like listen to radio..rm97 + pen drive 67 (256)

Gen2 1.3 (A) Full tank = rm 67 (quite eat petrol guys)

My white gen2 still having the same problem…guys it's not brake sound..it's the thing that connect to move back tyre (sorry..dunno how to call that).

When u started the engine…1st press oil sure noisy 1! Den pres more better…it's noisy during less press oil..and when u stopped with D gear..the sound getting clearer..shit..what happen?

• Draken on Dec 02, 2005 at 7:41 am

>>

what do u mean? but mine only got sound when brake fully to stop. or do u mean suspension? it does not give sound when going over bumps so i don tin is suspension problem.

my engine don have those "weird" sounds u speak of… the engine is quiet……

:P

so far, i tin this machine is better than the 1.6…….. hopefully proton really did improve the quality after its 1.6 failures

• Draken on Dec 02, 2005 at 7:48 am

Question for O-P Where can i get the FM modulator? I found one on http://www.moresales.com.my but it cost RM120. Where do u live?

another question on TRACTION CONTROL

When going down hills, the rpm will retain at 2000rpm if we did not accelerate….. right?

So, the question, HOW TO REMOVE TRACTION CONTROL

because if we use neutral gear when going down hills will save quite some petrol haha

• morning guy's,

thank's Jal Lennon for the feedback and be proud with your toy.

I think that what people always say. Kalau dah cinta, gula jawa pun rasa cokelat. maybe i'm going to place an order soon. then it 'll be a Xmas or a New year TREAT.

• Jal lennon on Dec 02, 2005 at 4:47 pm

Hahaha Leo! It's true.

Mine just had 1000km service yesterday. Thank god … there's no problem apart from the fan sometimes still running when the engine is off(but it does not happen all the time). Just start the engine again & off …then the fan will stop. Still a mystery. I ask the guy at Proton Edar Service Centre, they didnt know what to say.

Funny thing is, the guy at Proton Edar didnt know that it was a 1.3 …. not 1.6. They even thought that it was 1.8 hahaha

I think I'm interested in getting one of those FM modulators.

• A
    oon Jal,

Dont supprise with those thing, it happen and will happen again. Arent you scarry??? I think your's is the first car they service, then they dont know exactly what to do. They'll start open this and that which is not suppose to. Is it possible? eeeiiii… watch out men. Isn't there any extra screw, bolt or nut???

Dont think so yah… Just kidding Jal. They are profesional.

So what …. Test the power…

let me know so that I dont have to think futher more.

• gkl83 on Dec 02, 2005 at 11:39 pm

Jal lennon:

if ur car stopped for an hours or a day, the fan still turning also?

• Jal lennon on Dec 03, 2005 at 12:03 am

gkl83 … nope … just for few minutes

• Draken on Dec 03, 2005 at 1:58 am

proton guys r not professional……. gosh!~ thats so scary…. i wont service my car haha!~

Pls explain about the aircon problem

U mean the air con still on after you can pull out the key? or that the key is still inside, perhaps at standby mode?

i din face any prob with dis car yet…. but wanna know more 1st just in case

• hey guys..i bought the FM modulator at lowyatt, KL..rm96 the cheapest at that area.The shop slot very small…named "notebook" behind the PC zone. Must buy the one can input mp3 player/pen drive… some only can input pendrive..no quality. I suggest to buy at PC fair this saturday..sure can get cheaper.

regarding the noise…it can be heard when the car stopped but in "D" mode. If u push to N…silent back. No idea le…hate it…noisy…start moving time also got such sound..

Guys, did u notice that got 2 speaker in front? Got function? I hear no sound from it. :-(

• http://vis.en.alibaba.com/product/50067575/502226…

This type what i am using, Draken!

• gkl83 on Dec 03, 2005 at 7:07 pm

O-P:

a nice technology… :D

cant play unlimited song from USB device…

better than CD which only can play for 10-20 songs only… :(

but quality will really like radio type? the sound was stereo or mono?

pls update the latest lowest price for me,quite interest on it too :P

is ur player got the "balance" features? maybe the feautres set the front dun hv sound…

• betterthanU on Dec 04, 2005 at 4:40 am

hey stood , cd can play 100 more songs.

only albums are kiamsiap and limited to about less than 20 songs per album.

• CKTang on Dec 05, 2005 at 12:42 am

I test drive gen2 1.3 at to kulim friday at 160 km/h to kulim highway.

that was good.

• gkl83 on Dec 05, 2005 at 1:25 am

100 songs? u means mp3 format or low quality sound?

• gkl83 on Dec 05, 2005 at 1:28 am

regarding the fan still turning after the off the engine…

my fren's savvy also hv the similiar problem after drive 5000km, maybe is normal for new designed proton cars…

• Draken on Dec 05, 2005 at 2:56 am

Turn aircon off before turning engine off! This actually helps to prolong the life of your aircon as well. Dono la, my fren say 1. So I owez turn off aircon before turning off/on engine

• need4speed on Dec 05, 2005 at 3:25 am

before off engine u should off the aircond and before start ur engine make sure ur aircond off first.. so do the player.. cant wait for my 1.3 gen2.. hehe book oledi

• It is good that the fan is on even after the engine is off to cool off the engine…… just like an Audi. When ever I switch off my Wira engine I turn on the switch (not the engine) to let the fan turn to cool off the engine.

• Jal lennon on Dec 05, 2005 at 9:38 am

I always turn off the aircon before off the engine and vice versa … but i think this is not that major problem.

I’m beginning to like this machine more and more …. I think the performance is getting better & better …. havent test the max speed … only tried up to 130km/hr.

• CP See on Dec 05, 2005 at 5:50 pm

Hi Again,

Very happy with mine Gen2, just came back from a trip to Penang and its a real joy driving up, down, winding road at B.Feringgi to Ayer Hitam. Going uphill on Auto is a bit of a drag but putting it on Low Gear 3/2 make the drive smoother. Not really sure about the fuel consumption but I think it quite economical.

Oh about the not being able to see the speedo/tacho meters well I was stupid, did not know the steering could be adjusted higher. LOL.

Had to fixed in a reverse sensor as I think its a very important component lacking since the back window is high and limited view.

I prefer the grilled like cover they replace instead of the fog light, after all I do not drive often during the night.

About the fan remaining 'ON' even when the engine is 'OFF', well it normal, I notice that it turn itself 'OFF' when Temp. gauge is needle is below the 1/2 way between the 70 to 90 degrees mark(approx. > 80 deg C).

Things that I want to fixed:

1) the ori. 1.6 alloy rims

2) clear plastic window hoods(to prevent rain when windows open a inch)

3) the ori. CD player

4) window tinting

5) back window wiper

• jumly on Dec 05, 2005 at 6:36 pm

I still waiting my gen2 1.3 chill red. But sales said there have problem with production in proton.. So a little bit late to get the car. I started booking 20 october..waiting too long.. bosannn.

• Jal lennon on Dec 05, 2005 at 7:08 pm

I agree with u CP See … things that u wanna change, I am thinking bout the same thing too … especially on reverse sensor & back wiper

• Hi guy's.

Any body who own a gen2 HL model, query on auto cruise. what the status. Ada ke tak? your reply is much much appreciate.

thank's.

• CP See on Dec 05, 2005 at 9:01 pm

Aiyoo, susah liow, price of ori. 2nd hand alloy rim gone up to RM500/ since most of us 1.3 owner want our car to look like 1.6. LOL

Oh Jal, the reverse sensor that I installed cost me RM200/ inclusive of installation there are cheaper ones but black colour.

As for the back wiper, think I ask EON for price 1st. before deciding on ori or imitation.

Does anyone think it is possible to add a MP3 CD Head Unit connected to the Aux. "IN" and have anyone try it yet on cars that has only Cassette Player?

• baru order gen2 1.6(m). dgr cerita pomen takut plak kalau rosak pasal semua guna sistem berkomputer… yeke? cd player dia boleh tukar ke? pelik je

• gkl83 on Dec 06, 2005 at 3:54 am

jol :

how much the 1.3 m OTR price now? got the promotion now? interested to book it too…. :)

• need4speed brother on Dec 06, 2005 at 5:12 am

its not your gen 2 lar..its ours father .perasaan mu saja tu ging

• gkl83 on Dec 06, 2005 at 7:57 am

op:

oops… i read wrong, thought urs 1 was 1.3m(actually was 1.6m)… sorry… :P

• ha? Mine is 1.3 (A) white la…

CP : u got no problem with the noise? U car no noise? When u pull to "gear" and step the brake.

• CP See on Dec 06, 2005 at 4:42 pm

O-P I think U should step on the brakes 1st b4 putting the car into D, the sound from the brakes could be due to engine high tuning. I have the shrieking sound when braking and moving forward with engine at idling speed during traffic jammed.

As for the front speaker on the doors, there is no speaker in the holes, It just a allocated space for putting in speakers.

• Jal lennon on Dec 06, 2005 at 4:46 pm

What noise? I guess for an auto car, it's normal if there's a sound when u first put in "D" while stepping on the break pedal and releasing it …. even Mercedes Benz & Volvo got that sound.

• CP See on Dec 06, 2005 at 4:51 pm

Oops sorry O-P did not read your earlier tread, mine best guess on the sound is from choked catalytic convertor, when U start the engine do not accelerate, same as when switching off engine do not rev up the engine. Hope this help.

• My wife loves the car so much I don't get to use it much. Probably will buy one myself when I've paid off my WIRA auto.

• pagi tadi salesman call ckp kereta yg anda order xde stok Gen2 1.6 utk(promosi 20th anniversary)… kena tunggu promosi (Proton Bersamamu) dlm bln bln 12 nie.. mintak2 lagi turun dia punye harga.. .. mmg proton nk buat promosi ke??? … kalau xde baik ambik myvi… cipan punye salesman.. ckp belit2!!! bulldog shit btol

• need4speed on Dec 09, 2005 at 4:39 am

kau bising buat apa buduh.. org mau menerek jak kecoh betul lahhh.. perasaan mu laaa

• anyone on Dec 10, 2005 at 4:33 am

top speed please? :)

• jol & need4speed quiet!

• Draken on Dec 11, 2005 at 12:58 am

Today.After turn off engine n everything…

but when i pass by the bonnet, heard the sound of the fan inside. it's still on, cooling the engine?

don tin is aircon cos i din use aircon on that trip.

bout 2 min later, after i unlock the car again for another drive, the fan off itself….

dono…..

• i think the fan is on bcoz they use european style engine… i.e Renault. they already configure it to run until the engin is cooled at cetain temp.

• anyone on Dec 12, 2005 at 1:31 am

oh oo…

something unexplainable happened to u :)

• Draken,

No worried, i heard from proton service guy said..the machine will on the fan wen temperature more than 90 degree. So u can check out our temp meter always show less than 90 because of fan cooling down the machine.

So, wen u off ur car..if temp inside >90 degree…it will still running…but if less than 90 degree..it wont run. Av1 have the same situation here..so dun worry…it's not machine problem..just it design to be like that.

And regarding the noise…Finally i found the cause during 1K service…it's because the exhaust too close to the car body!

The fixed it…now very quiet..Hehehe~

• actually can u guys who already own the car give some detail about the price, the loan interest (which bank), how much montly payment… thinking about getting one myself hehehe

• How come the 1.3 gen 2 in M'sia din come wif manual?

• 0-100kmh time?

What is the price of the gen-2 1.3cc?

• Atuk, go and ask at proton edar la! Loan any bank will do..Ur Sale assistant will do for u! Just ready ur money then ok!

car price : 49K

Down payment : 10%

Loan interest : 2.9% (but heard that going to incresea soon)

Loan preriod max : 9 years

• curious tn on Dec 13, 2005 at 6:44 am

i just got my gen2 recently (3 weeks ago), it was just fine..until one not-so-fine day when the salesman that im dealing with had no responsibility over my new gen2..he took the car for sandblasting and came back with a few sharp-scratched on the driver's door.

Unsatisfied with what happened, i asked for compensation on it and they(proton) are willing to swap a new gen2 door with my scratched door. Please can someone enlighten me on this…should i swap it or not…By swaping it do u think it will cause any problem to the door in the future..i'm really confused.

thanx

• anyone on Dec 13, 2005 at 5:38 pm

better than your heartpain everyday for regretting not to swap it.

• tipah on Dec 14, 2005 at 1:11 am

hi! every1…I love 2 share with u all of my certain experiences due to the same problem that appears after couple of days after using the gen2 1.3A. At 1st I was thinking to have a low cc car which can save the fuel a bit compared to 1.6 car so I intend to buy a manual car 1.3…I like the sporty design of gen2 but I've got no choice in having auto car. Luckily the interest is quite low for 7 yrs loan so I just grabbed the oppurtunity. The car is ok for women but not for guys since it has no power to speed, a bit slow compared to 1.3 mannual car. The main doubts is the fan keeps on turning eventhough the engine is stopped. Is it true like what O-P said? If so, it's ok. Just a bit weird! Like turbo…wow! Anyhow regular services can save u a lot. Having fun with your dreamt car!!!!

• seroja on Dec 14, 2005 at 4:35 pm

can any1 explain how does the AFC [average fuel consumption] works? what does it mean by the figures that appears on the meter screen? lazy to read…..sorry….

• Jal lennon on Dec 14, 2005 at 7:36 pm

AFC …. the average litter used per 100 km ….. ie how many litter used per 100 km of travelling

• lady676 on Dec 15, 2005 at 1:23 am

hi.. its quite intresting to read a colorful comments on tis gen2.. n very useful info.actually i'm intrested to buy 1 too.. is juz tat i'm a bit late to make a booking coz the promotion is over :(

previously i went to few showrooms ( btcaves, near giant s.alam & ttdi jaya) but only SA in ttdi jaya give a good servc. so finally ive paid some $ for booking fees.. i ask hm wether if i want the promotion package but 2006 model but he said tht even 2005 model is out of stock! and the promotion is valid til end of oct only.. and juz ystrday he kol me n said tht the int has been incr to 3.1% til end of dec and it will inc again in jan.. so guys.. if u really want this gen2 better book now..!!

i managed to test drive tis car last few wks .. and found tht its not that bad actly.. is juz tht the pick up is quite slow (whn d first time u press d accelerator to speed) but aft tht it go smoothly.. i did try emergency break n its ok too.. not too 'jerky'..other thn tht i dunno wht to test.. hehe.. (typical 1st time lady buyer i guess….)

so now i hv to wait for 2006 model n hoping for a new / better promotion for NY or CNY .. ;)

• zerocool on Dec 15, 2005 at 3:10 am

My gen2 1.3 almost reached 5000km…..just need to ask u guys something. When Proton says service the car at 1000km, then 5000km intervals, does it means wait till the mileage meter reaches 5000km, or should we wait till 6000km (coz 6000km minus 1000km mileage after 1st service)……the reason i'm confused is bcoz the service sticker (pasted at the top windscreen) shows next service to be 6000km….

lady 676,

the slow pickup for the Gen2, if i'm not mistaken, was due to Campro engine giving slow acceleration at low RPM, but at high RPM, it has good pickup

• zerocool! Did u really service ur 1K? if yes..u cant read? The sticker nvr show u? 5K service mean 1K + 5K = 6K

• My wife's gen 2 1.3 has done the 6,000 km service. What a difference. The engine is smoother, everything is better.

• lady676 on Dec 15, 2005 at 11:54 pm

hi zerocool, txs for d info ;)

O-P, can u xplain a bit more bout the FM modulator tak.. where to install, what is d function, etc.. macam menarik…

can anyone advice me which is better.. cd changer or fm modulator? i thnk cd changer coz its stil can play cd w mp3 format.. what do u thnk?

• zerocool on Dec 16, 2005 at 2:19 am

lady 676,

My opinion, i think that installing a cd changer in a gen2 ;-

1. Need to spend more money (> RM 600)

2. Need to open out all the dashboard mounting and re-wire the original internal cassette player head to the cd changer (even if yur cd changer alredi have console, u still need to open the dashboard mounting), which can be messy if not done by profesional (not advisable, if yur car still new)

3. cd changer prone to have problems (especially the cd reader) – i had used a cd changer for my previous car, and the cd reader head rosak after 3 mths usage – serv. technician says its normal for a cd changer to break down)

4. but sound quality is much better

I would prefer a fm modulator, since its cheap, easy to fix (just fix to yur cigarette lighter socket, and tune the FM freq. of yur existing car radio to the output signal), but sound quality suffer…

It all depends on wat kind of sound quality u want…

• Better dun use CD changer! Your wire connection in car still under warrantty!

• lady676 on Dec 16, 2005 at 8:06 pm

uhh.. really so troublesome to fix tht cd changer? hmm.. i might thk twice now.. txs 4 d xplanation guys..

but how bad is the fm mod sound quality? n.. how to dwnlod mp3 song to fm mod. ada usb port ke..

sori guys.. im a bit naive bout all tis thing..

• zerocool on Dec 17, 2005 at 3:21 am

fm mod normally have a usb port,….it also has play, stop, functions as well, so that all u need to do is just plug in a pen drive, and mp3 songs can be played

• lady676 on Dec 19, 2005 at 11:01 pm

okie dokie… i'll check it out at low yat..

txs guys.. ;)

• johnjenin on Dec 28, 2005 at 12:16 am

Thanks for this thread… i have made my decision…go for Gen2…

i'll book my Gen2 after i got my settlement bonus…thanks dude..

• Wife's gen 2 has gone 8,000 km, even fuel consumptiom and pickup gets better. Saw 3 gen 2 1.6 yellow colour in front of my house for a wedding celebration. Looks great.

• Yaya…mine reach 3K pulse..press oil getting smooth & pick up better!

• Jal lennon on Dec 30, 2005 at 6:31 pm

mine reach 3k too … getting better overall

• Rahaz on Jan 04, 2006 at 6:25 pm

My wife got one Gen2 1.3(A). Is anybody here know the cost to install reverse sensor and rear wiper.

• daniel on Jan 05, 2006 at 4:28 am

dear all,

i'm gonna book a gen2 1.3 on tomorrow, i really hope i'm not the bad one who get those "problem" product.

• I wan to install too…cant feel or c when reverse! i heard is around rm200…rear wiper…dunno le

• cyanyde on Jan 06, 2006 at 11:31 pm

I'd love to buy the Gen2. But the fact that it's designed for midgets puts me off.

• gkl83 on Jan 07, 2006 at 6:00 am

av1 got their 1.3

i still wondering when will produce 1.3 manual :(

• Fendi on Jan 08, 2006 at 3:24 am

I went to the Giant Batu Caves this evening when I saw Proton Gen-2 1.3 (A) at the Proton Edar there. I decided to have a look at the car after shopping, so there I went after I was done with buying things.

I opened the car's driver's door and went in. Wow… The smell from the car was delighting. The two-tone dashboard looked fine. Seating position was comfortable too, which was quite surprising, as some have remarked that the Gen-2's driver's position is a bit weird. If the driver's seat is adjusted, a big person could get out from the car without having hips touching the steering wheel.

Then I went to the rear passengers' cabin. My head touched the car's roof, but overall I guess it is still comfortable. It seems that the cabin was designed for small Malaysians. If I were to sit in relax style, maybe it will be comfortable.

The salesman there was helpful and friendly. He explained several things about the car; its engine capacity, accessories, seat adjustment etc. From his explanation, I found out that the car does not come with reverse sensor.

I asked him about the monthly installments, and was surprised a bit that now the bank's interest rate has soared to 3.8% to 4% annually. There goes my not-confirm-plan of paying lower monthly installments.

I walked out from the showroom with admiration on the car. Its humble look and decent interior are things that I like about the car.

Good Luck to all Gen-2 1.3 (A) owners!

• jumly on Jan 08, 2006 at 4:54 am

I got already my white gen2 1.3. So far the car is nice and good. after service 1000km i feel more power and smooth. Didn't hear anything bad like I meet one of the gen2 1.3 owner got sound from bonet that not fix properly by the proton. But the fuel is high and slow when go up the hill.

• daniel on Jan 08, 2006 at 10:21 pm

i order the metalic one, in fact in the first place i would like to order the cili red one, but the salesman told me that red is solid colour and i'm looking for matelic one.. but is ok, at least not that "sparkling" .. :P

after i check with the salesman, there is possible to change the cassatle player to single disc player, but have to top up around RM1260, after my freind intro me to one car audio installer, we can get around $600(player and installation charge), so i might go for the cheaper one, but one thing i'm concern is that once the car owner authorise outsider to install any device instead of proton workshop, if in the future the car facing any problem, proton won't bear any responsibility of that.. so what u guys said? or i might go for the FM modulator(cheaper), but is that sounds very teruk huh?

so which shop in low yat got sale the FM modulator uh? might to let me know? then i can go over there and 3838 abit.

regarding the int rate, i get 3.45%, not as what early mention 3.8%-4%…i think the salesman apply the loan from EON.

so guys(owner of gen2 1.3L), any problem u guys still face? i mean the car.

• daniel on Jan 08, 2006 at 11:30 pm

hey guys, i just found out what is FM modulator(shame of me, really a outdated old man :P )

so may i know who is using this device in your car? the sounds quality is't good? becoz i really don't feel comfortable to ask outsider to install a new cd player for me and i reallly worry that i will face problem with proton if i autorize outsider to make any changes for my car.

• CP See on Jan 09, 2006 at 7:25 am

To Rahaz and OP,

About fitting of reverse sensor, I have mine Gen2 1.3 with quite a expensive type which have a visual panel, a blue light lite-up when put on reverse gear, a pair of yellor lights when object to back bumper is at 1 meter and a pair of red lights when objects at about 0.25 meters. Of course the beeping sound get more frequent when objects to bumper is nearer. It cost rm215 but there are cheaper ones starting from rm60.

As for the back wipers, well I skip that since I use "Rain-X" which work very well with the back windows having such a small gradient, winds will blow the rain droplets away and since there is no wiper to wipe away the 'Rain-X' application, it last me more then a months before the solution wears off.

Hope this help.

Oh to others who are still weary about Gen2 1.3, well you get what you pay for, as Automatic transmission car below 50K, it is a good buy. I have no regret it buying mine.

• daniel (Member) on Jan 11, 2006 at 10:31 pm

my loan have just approved, just waiting the car come, heard that the 2006 batch will be start release after 15th Jan, wondering is't include mine :)

C P See, where u get the reverse sensor for gen2? what is the charges include installation? i intend to install it once i get the car.

anyone have any experience with the FM modulator? do share some with me, and i do need your advice.

anyone went to gen2 club web side? i did, but it look boring….what u guys think?

• CP See (Member) on Jan 12, 2006 at 4:45 am

I fitted mine reverse sensor at 1-Stop accessories shop in Seri Manjung, Perak, but I sure most accessories shop has same reverse sensors. Oh and it cost me rm200.00 for it. The original price is rm215.00 + installation rm20.00 but since I fitted windows hoods, some silvery plastic headlights and backlights frames, and seats covers, they gave me a discount.

Now, I'm proud to say that mine Gen2 1.3 looks like a 1.6 since I just added a back spoiler(without those cheesy brake lights) and a set of alloys rims.

Gen2 Club is okay if U want to get ideas on modification of your Gen2s

• daniel (Member) on Jan 15, 2006 at 4:40 am

thanks bro! i will add the reverse sensor once i get my car, and good news is, my car arrived, will collect it on next week after all the document sign, can't imagine it just took me less then 2 weeks and my car is arrived in show room, but i'm wondering, not much people getting gen2 1.3L huh? soo fast can collect it? anyhow, i got new car from my CNY.. "cheer" !!

so CP See, will u add a cd player for your 1.3? i heard from my freind it cost $600 to change a cd player, but i might go and try for the FM modulator first, chepaer mah…

• CP See (Member) on Jan 16, 2006 at 5:22 pm

Not going to add a cd player for mine gen2, I listen to radio more while going for a FM modulator is cheaper it sound lousy and it is a hassle having to download songs to the USB drives. Maybe I will get me 1 of those FM Transmitter where U can plug in a portable CD/MP3 player and its even cheaper then the modulator.

Don't know why the sales of Gen2 1.3 is down, stupid Proton did not do much Ads on local media, not like the Savvy model where they spend so much money and get so little in return. Funny when some Accessories Shops do not even know that there are Gen2 1.3 model.

• daniel (Member) on Jan 26, 2006 at 5:12 am

just collected my car on 24/1, is expected the proformance of the car, abit under power i admit, but i believe after the 1k service, it will performe better.

after driving the car, reverse sensor is a must to add on, i feel like stupid when doing reverse parking, gosh… :

• daniel (Member) on Jan 31, 2006 at 10:02 pm

just drove back from melaka, to be honest, is kind of enjoy during the journey, no doubt is abit under power, but over all is kind of comfortable.

most of the people here complaint about the air-con is too noisy, but for me, i hardly turn higher the air-con level, and i feel ok of the "noise"

but one thing i'm not sure, maybe i haven't do any service(millage still under 1k) and is abit fuel comsume, and the L/100km now indicated 8.2, when i collect the car, it shown 14.1, is the indicated accurate? can't figure it out yet, will study back the user menu later…

hey guys,,, happy chinese new year to u…. "hug hug.."

• O_P (Member) on Feb 06, 2006 at 8:19 am

hehe…getting more n more gen2 in white…shyt…no more a special attractive for public.

• O_P (Member) on Feb 10, 2006 at 8:18 am

• daniel (Member) on Feb 12, 2006 at 9:48 pm

after 2 weeks driving my new gen2, finally i need to send for 1st 1k service, hopefully after the service i can really test the car performance… "cheer"

no doubt that the 1.3L(A) is abit under power, but is quite ok for me coz i'm a slow driver… :P anyhow, is a good car.. :)

• infinity (Member) on Mar 06, 2006 at 7:30 pm

finally my gen2 1.3 dream is coming soon…sold my kancil…now no car…and the gen2 1.3 is the best valued car around..no myvi for me..too common..savvy maintenance a bit high…i'll settle for a white gen2 1.3…i read the comments above…i can c tat the real owners r not complaining, in fact, they love their car so much..strange enough…those complaining are not the owners…hmmm..i wonder..

• zerocool (Member) on Mar 06, 2006 at 11:59 pm

My gen2 1.3A alredi reached 12000km……just need to share some infor here with fellow gen2 1.3A users…..can we share infors on fuel consumption here??….mine reads 8.9L / 100km on dashboard meter…i know that sometimes dashboard meter might be innaccurate, so by using conventional method of fuel consumption calc, i managed bout 17 cents per km….(thats for the old fuel price of RM1.62, for new price, theorically it should be 20.1 cents per km). Can you guys and gals out there share yur fuel consumption infor here??…..its for the benefits for all of us also of course.

Besides, the radiator fan 'auto-switch-on-when-u-switch-off-the car' thingy has alredi stopped…..did any of u ppl out there also experienced the same thing…..i guess maybe my sensor alredi 'kong'…..wat do u think??

• daniel (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 12:39 am

zerocool & infinity,

hi there, hmm regarding the radiator fan staff, i did confirm by the proton center said that that is a function to cool down the engine, and is not harmfull at all, but some of my friends(Waja user) mention that it will consume your battery life, but i do believe that since the engine come with this function, and i will not really harmfull the battery.

talking about the fuel consumtion, mine even show 9.4L/100km, in fact i notice that once u drive a long distance by gen2 1.3L, the meter will keep on reducing, my record is 8.1L/100km while i'm speeding to Melaka for relative gathering, and now turn up to 9.4L/km is becoz most of the time now i'm just driving in city, and some more i'm not that kind of "need for speed" guys, so even i feel is abit fuel consume, but is ok for me. :)

over all, just only 1.3L didn't come with reverse sensor, is abit "complicated" for me to do reverse parking or even side parking, but i believe i will "get use to it" but sure will install a sensor soon… :)

infinity, i do hope you will get a "healhty baby" instate of some people which is bad luck, getting problem gen2, no mather 1.3L or 1.6L

cheer brother!! :)

• infinity (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 5:32 am

now got offer for the 2005 stock..cheaper by RM2600…but unfortunately..no white colour available anymore…so i decide to fork out another RM450 for the metropolitan grey…as i dun like the red colour gen2..made appointment with the salesman to book my grey machine (it was suppose to be white machine) tomorrow..hahah..yeah daniel,hope it will be a healthy baby..hahahah..

• infinity (Member) on Mar 09, 2006 at 7:44 am

daniel,

how do u usually use ur gen2 1.3?i mean do u always fetch ppl or do u usually drive alone?if always got fetch ppl, sure the consumption higher rite?

• daniel (Member) on Mar 11, 2006 at 9:40 pm

infinity,

both, sometime i fetch my mother to temple, but most of the time i drive alone. infact i willing to order the red color one, and put up a white color sport rim, it will look sporty, but think deeply, hmmm is a solid color, not really nice after few yrs, then take the grey color one, believe it will last longer.

• infinity (Member) on Mar 12, 2006 at 12:12 am

yeah…metallic colour lasts longer..it's even easier to wash..just now went to a tyre shop..my dad's good friend..he said he got1 original gen2 rims..2nd hand but still very new..only RM400…i'll take tat..lucky me…hahahah..with the metro grey and the sport rims..ppl might think it's 1.6..hahaha..only the door handle and the body strip not same colour…and also no spotlights..hahaha…

• O_P (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 6:31 am

Grey colour very down..i still very like my white prince.haha..mine reached 6000 km…air con got prroblem. Not cold enough and smoke out wen at night..i think got leaking sumway.

• infinity (Member) on Mar 15, 2006 at 7:27 am

yeah O_P…i still like white colour…but when thinking tat i need to fork out another RM2600 jz 2get a 2006 white colour gen2…i rather have a 2005 grey gen2..hahahha…the salesman bluff me…he said today can get car…then jznw he said got some problem..maybe tomorrow only can get..hopefully 2moro can get la..

• daniel (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 4:38 am

infinity,

bless u brother….:)

• infinity (Member) on Mar 16, 2006 at 8:07 am

thanks daniel…

today finally the car came d!!!hahahah..i was so happy…i checked the car from top to bottom..make sure everything perfect…after everything done…i was told tat the car not yet get the clearance from the custom…haih…so hv to wait another day or 2…wat a dissapointment…

• daniel (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 11:58 pm

hey there,

i just encounter a problem with my car, the battery comdam….but luckly the replace a new one for me.

what i hear from some car dealer, they mention even my "car card" indicated the car manufacture at 2006, but is just only printed on the car, in fact it might be an old stock, due to slow moving product(gen2), the car they might store at warehouse for some time, and not frequently started the enginee, that's why the battery turn week and end up "mati".

but is a small matter for me and luckly that the car can't start at house, not at the road side, otherwise will really piss me off…. :P

so infinity, u have collected your new baby? do share something with me…

• Pdin (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 1:05 am

talking about prob, actually i m 1 of gen 2 owner, model 1.6 highline lenox black, brought at June 05. 1 month later…some prob appear

1. handle at driver side torn off…can,t open driver door need to be open from inside…..new car have prob…MAD mann…

2. Alarm broke down at dengkil R&R highway during journey to batu pahat from penang…MAD mannn….

3. Currently when drive at >110km/h weird sound appear from the engine kind of…chitt….chit….at some interval time

oil consume i think qiut lot ….7.6 l/100km at city road…7.3L/100km at highway .sped at 120km/h-140km/h

after so many time go in and out to repaired prob solve except for chitt…chit…sound.

Conclusion: U can't 'berlagak' when u drive malaysian car ….cause after u 'berlagak' prob will appear.even it was HIGHLINE model

currently ssatisfy…cause no prob occur YET!

• infinity (Member) on Apr 06, 2006 at 7:18 am

yeah..got my car 3weeks ago…initially, the 1st and 2nd gear was a bit drag..no power…3rd and 4th gear was really powerful and smooth..the consumption was abit high during the 1st and 2nd week…it reaches to 11.3L/100km…then it hovers around 10.3L/100km…after the 1st service…the consumption went down to 9.3L/100km..and now, after a long drive at the highway..it's 8.0L/100km…but sure it will increase back la…heheh..and of coz after the 1st service..no more drag..good pick up..

i was told by the proton mech. tat for campro engine, it's only suitable to use semi-synthetic oil…using fully synthetic oil will cause some sound by the engine bearing(or smth like tat)…any1 can verify tat?

and at the proton service centre, i saw workers carrying some boxes written "WRM HYBRID"…wat is tat?

and btw..when i 1st collected the car..i cant really feel wat is so great about lotus tuning…nothing so special…tat is until i drove my dad's avanza then i realized tat lotus tuning is really great…hahahha….

• daniel (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 10:45 pm

hey hey.. someone has collected the car, enjoy huh? i hope too.. :)

no doubt is abit fuel consume coz the body is kind of heavy and is just only 1.3L, nothing to blame, just imagine if proton wanna make the car more faster and then they take out more "iron" from the body, if kena serious accident, really can't imangin how the car/driver will look like…"choy.. choy…. touch wood"..

regarding the WRM Hybrid, really tak tau apa itu, maybe should check with the technition when i do 5k service….

i just changed the cassettle player to cd player.. and the "sterling"(got shoft botton one..", its look like 1.6L now.. haha.. just kidding.. but it really cost me alot.. (i felt), all staff included installation cost me $510… hmmm

• infinity (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 7:50 am

wat bout the engine oil?can use semi synthetic…but fully synthetic not encouraged…coz of some bearing thingy…izit true?

• O_P (Member) on Apr 09, 2006 at 3:12 am

hmm..just after my 2nd service. My car alingnment run abit.overall still OK. Just the aircon seem got problem, not cold enough..leakage? But i quite shock when i go service at proton service center at kessas highway. The waiting room so class and comfortable, free drink/ can online/ tv show/ sofa….and 1 thing..the service FOC! hahaa

• daniel (Member) on Apr 11, 2006 at 8:35 pm

infinity,

bro, sorry that i was unable to answer your question, maybe we should find out from the technical guy.

O_P,

sometime i do feel that the a/c is not cold enough, especially in the afternoon, and i do believe that is becoz of the weather of malaysia, damm hot man… and i might go tinted my car, it might help to get the a/c cooler.

• infinity (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 8:04 am

i saw some gen2 installing the rear stabilizer bar(located at the bottom of the car) which are luminous..i like the red1..looks very blend in with the brake lights…wat i would like to ask is..does the bar really makes the car more stable?or just for nice only?

• infinity (Member) on Apr 12, 2006 at 8:06 am

i saw some gen2 owners* installing the rear stabilizer bar(located at the bottom of the car) which are luminous..i like the red1..looks very blend in with the brake lights…wat i would like to ask is..does the bar really makes the car more stable?or just for nice only?

• O_P (Member) on Apr 14, 2006 at 7:05 am

wah…bro infinity..gen2 too stable already bcoz of it heavy weight!

• daniel (Member) on Apr 16, 2006 at 3:57 am

infinity,

stabilizer do help for conering, but 1.3L(A), how fast u wanna "throw" your conner? :P

O_P,

yap! u r totally right…. proton do "help" 1.3L gen2 save cost.. hahahaa :O

• infinity (Member) on Apr 19, 2006 at 7:06 am

hmmm…good question..how fast i wanna "throw" my corner with my 1.3(A)..but sometimes,a fast cornering really syok la..ehheheh..though it's dangerous..but syok ma..heheheh..must make sure the rpm is high only can feel the lotus tuning..heheh..if not the the cornering is fast but not "spirited"..

• O_P (Member) on Apr 21, 2006 at 4:59 am

Hmm..after reached 8K km..the fuel consumption at 9.4. Very eat petrol…rm60 only for 1 week, how about u guys?

• tn (Member) on Apr 21, 2006 at 7:04 am

hi..my gen2 1.3 has already reached 8530km. Lately at times, i have trouble starting my car… i have to start it several time befor the engine is alive….does it have anything to do with the car battery?…other than that everything is tip top.. anyone could enlighten me on this…thanks.

• O_P (Member) on Apr 22, 2006 at 11:21 pm

Hi gen2 1.3 owners…do you facing these problems?

1. Fuel consumption keep incresing. (8800 km = 9.5L/100km)- first bought only 8.9L/100km

2. When you turn the power steering to the end of left or right got "shhhhh…." sound.

3. Aircon not cold and noisy.

Please advise!

• zerocool (Member) on Apr 24, 2006 at 7:52 pm

O_P,

1) Fuel consumption meter readings in display is not really accurate, it just calculate yur average based on traveled mileage. I supposed yur meter readings goes up because since u got yur car, u do alot of city driving, rite?….try driving down the highway to JB or Penang or East Coast……bet you the readings will drop back…

2) From wat i heard, the "shhh…" sound comes from the front suspension prob…..heard from EON Glenmarie dudes that it's pretty common for all gen2 cars….need to inform this to S.A. when yur next service at EON…..they'll rectify this under obligation of warranty

3) aircon not cold…….coz u didn't put tinted mah……….isit yur first time using proton meh?….

tn,

yur starting problem is probally caused by battery (low voltage) problem……..probally due to most proton cars are left at storing shed for quite long time before being able to be sold….causing battery voltage slowly draining out

• daniel (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 6:52 am

yap yap all gen2 1.3L bro,

yap… i do face battery problem, and they have change a new one for me.. sooo… new battery….. :P

yap yap… air-con not cold is due to malaysia weather lah… if tinted.. i do believe it help alot….

yap yap yap….city driving sure will cost the consumption… my avg is 8.7-8.9

yap yap yap yap…. i also face the shhhh shhh sounds.. and is what O_P said, from 1.6L model since now still can solve….

but i my milage just reach 6K++, still no problem for starting the car, hopefully it will not happen to me…. "oh-mi-toh-foh….."

brother infinity, sounds like u r very portential to become a racing driver huh?? take care bro…. !!

is really happy to hear all the gen2 1.3L user commend, better then those who just know how to complaint but not a gen2 1.3L owner. :)

• infinity (Member) on Apr 27, 2006 at 8:35 am

not really la…i only do those "stunts" to check out the lotus tuning only..heheh..now dun do such thing d..hehee..coz i really wanted to find out wat's so great bout lotus tuning..

kids…dun try this no matter u r at home or elsewhere…it's really dangerous…hahhaha

• O_P (Member) on May 04, 2006 at 5:02 am

Zerocool

1. Fuel consumption getting higher..so do the frequency i went to pump petrol. Obviously increase alot if count rm/km.

2. Ksssh sound when turn fully to left or right a serious problem. I saw a customer claim form at power steering supplier factory state that this problem because of inner of the steering got leakage. It might affect your tuning performance and long term might causing steering oil leakage.

3. Although my car already tinted with air cool..still very hot..the air con like no gas already.. i believe some place wrong with it. Proton aircon always performance well..but my gen2 seem like got prob…hai…

• benhing (Member) on May 13, 2006 at 5:29 pm

I think G2 is ok,but compare the G2 1.3 and 1.6, unfortunately1.3 don"t have alloy rim , spoiller and many think.Yalah,only sell in rm4xxxx.Price not the main think but the quality is the one main point.if have the all accessories. I think it quet nice look.and the stereo 1.3 just have kaset player.apalah! Now the car all come with the cd or mp3 player.so gen 2=Generation kedua,but the accessories still G1.Proton,u should make the revolution so u can compare with other car maker.dont just stop like that.I know i'm not the g2 owner, but no complaint no revolution.

• O_P (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 6:59 am

Hi Guys,

I have fixed my gen2 problems.

1. Aircon not cool- They replace new one, dem cold now.

2. Power steering got sound when turn fully to left or right-Dunno what they had done, but no sound now.

3. High fuel consumption- according to the proton staff that as long the fuel consumption show below 12 is ok.

• daniel (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 11:59 pm

hey,

i also send my car back to proton for the a/c service, now what..? damm cold man!!!!! but hope it will last longer lah… :)

• infinity (Member) on Aug 13, 2006 at 6:59 am

it has been some time since this any1 left a comment..hehe..anyway..i would like to comment on gen2 1.3..I LOVE IT!!!really sticks to the road..i drove a myvi…tak boleh compare la..myvi u cant really throw a "nice" cornering..back to gen2…i drove from kl to taiping…the petrol consumption only 7.6L/100km..when i reset the reading when driving..it was 6.5L/100km…wow…but town driving a bit high la..around 10L/100km..after 2nd service..the power is much better..b4 tat…at low speed really drag..hope to c somemore comments…heheh…

• zerocool (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 2:01 am

alloooo everyone and infinity,

Long time there's no one commenting in the gen2 1.3 column…..we need to keep this column alive……btw, my gen2 1.3 has clocked 24000 km, so far….the problems encountered are :-

1) Accelerator sensor failure (check engine light switched on suddenly, sudden loss of power)

2) Brake pads totally worn out by 20000km – Proton must have been using low quality pads, can worn out soo fast

Anyway, keep contributing to this column, guys

• andreslck (Member) on Sep 02, 2006 at 10:36 pm

O_P,

Hi guys! Thought u all gone…

here my 1.3 gen2 comments (15K km):

1. My baterry break down and able to change a new 1.

2. Power rally feel dragging.

3. Noisy when on the highway.

4. Power steering turn to end of left/right got shhhhh sound, no idea what is that..steering oil leaking?

5. High oil consumption (never follow the meter) my calculation rm60=400+km

• daniel (Member) on Sep 03, 2006 at 9:42 pm

hi guys,

glad to hear from you all!!

my gen2 is touching 15k, so far so good, but talking about the Fuel consumption, is a bit hight for touring in city, so for no outstation experience for my gen2(just one to melaka when i collected the car early of this year, no service yet, can't judge at the moment)

regarding the shhh shhh sounds, proton have told me they still can't solve this problem since gen2 1.6 generation, so pray for them to solve it asap for us!

but one thing i really don't like it, after the 10k km free service, proton give me a note that the next service pridict will cost me nearly $500!! oh god.. that's quite alot, so i decide the next service(changing engine oil n filter) will go for my friend's service center.

• zerocool (Member) on Sep 12, 2006 at 5:46 pm

Hi O_P,

My fuel consumption is RM 60 = 360km :( (i don't follow the meter too). Btw, I heard that type and brand of engine oil used could also affect the fuel consumption as well. I'm using Petronas Semi Syntetic, wat about u guys out there?….mind contributing on the best engine oil in terms of performance?

• amgod (Member) on Dec 18, 2006 at 3:06 am

cheers to all fellow malaysian fren.

If Gen2 1.3 (M) FC can get rm60=400km+ i think is considered quite good already since its DOHC campro engine is bound to consume more fuel. Even in a SOHC Mitsubishi 1.3(M) engine featuring in a lighther chassis (such as Satria n Iswara), city drive FC can only archieve around rm60=420km~450km. Hence Gen2 with a heavier Chassis n DOHC engine should be able to make a good balance between performance n economical.

Regarding Gen2 1.3 capability to conquer Genting, i think it should be able to make it without much problem. My mom's 1995 satria 1.3 still can make it to the casino ;p

Thinking to get a Gen2 in 2007, hope to hear more from fellow Gen2 1.3 owner :)

• Firdaus@hp (Member) on May 16, 2008 at 3:34 am

Gen2 1.3(A) 2007- WQW 14*5 – RM43k
    ====================================

White color
    4 Disc brake
    Black Seat
    Blaupunkt CD player
    195/55/R15
    Easily reach top speed [180km\h]
    Cosumption – 6.3L – 8.3L \100KM
    KL – IPOH – JALAN² INSIDE IPOH TOWN FOR A DAY – KL [RM60]
    Handling – Same with 1.6
    Can feel the weight
    When drive fast, car move smoothly.didnt realize it was 150km\h already
    i like when sound “Grup Grup”..Sound proofing good

My 1st car :)

Sometime i lenjan my Aunt 2008 BMW 523’s
    My RM43K Gen2 is still not so bad.

• a.razak jaffar on Nov 27, 2010 at 10:18 am

i like to purchase proton gen 2 auto white colour in johorbahru where in jb to find this white colour auto gen 2

• please help me
    where is my engine number ? open the front bonnet . but i can not find it

• Aini Noor on Jan 08, 2011 at 10:15 am

Can some good samaritans out there with good knowledge of Gen2 1.3 Auto tell me why the jerking of the Gear Transmission … when you drives it slow down a bit then jerk ( coughing ) some time it happens some time it dont.

I have change 7 litres of Gear Transmission Olil – Original stuff bought from PPC.
    Change all new sparks plugs and uses CALTEX fuel.

I love the car but why must it behave that way…