Audi R9 Supercar

Audi and Lamborghini both belong to the Volkswagen Group. What does that mean? An Audi supercar.

Set to compete with the Ferrari F430 and the Aston Martin DB9, the new Audi supercar will be designed the Audi R9. It will share the same genes with the Lamborghini Gallardo but it will be slightly larger than the Gallardo.

The Audi R9 will be powered by two differnet engines. The entry-level R9 will be powered by the same 4.2 litre V8 unit found in the Audi RS4. This naturally aspirated motor makes 310 kW at 8250rpm and 430Nm of torque at 5500rpm. Power from this V8 will be put to the wheels by either a 6-speed standard manual transmission or a DSG sequential manual gearbox.

The higher end model will use the 5 litre V10 found in a Gallardo but tuned differently to produce more torque but less horsepower. This engine will be paired with Lamborghini’s e-Gear sequential-shift gearbox.

The Audi R9 is expected to be ready for production and debut in 2007.

Update: Audi has officially announced this car as the Audi R8. Details here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• AlexC on Aug 05, 2005 at 10:18 pm

Not bad looking… but why more torque but less horsepower when it could produce better??? marketing or pricing issue??? and the front lights, are they LEDs???

• AlexC: I think the kind of people who buy Audis want a smoother more refined drive.

• honourMe on Aug 06, 2005 at 4:36 am

Audi and Lamborghini both belong to the Volkswagen Group. What does that mean?

It means chicks who joined VW sexparty can drive any one of them home.

• Maver on Aug 06, 2005 at 9:40 am

Aiyark… bosan tulll… Sure this car using fuel petrol… Boring.. Where is the car that don't use petrol, since that petrol price has gone crazy and unstoppable.

• Ashes on Aug 06, 2005 at 3:10 pm

Torque is wat makes a car accelarates. Horse power is for top speed. ( got it from paul hehe) maybe Audi want to make a supercar that can accelerates faster? haha

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 06, 2005 at 3:25 pm

Awesome!

I think the F***K AP king will buy one and show it in the NAAAAAAhhhhzaaaa show room. Nah this a car mah! See no touch only me can drive it. Thank you Latok RaF fee da.

• neurra on Aug 06, 2005 at 5:34 pm

more torque eh.. that shud be interesting.. hopefully we can see 'Best Motoring – Ferrari F430 vs. Audi R9' on the test course sometime soon.. ^_^

• narrowband on Aug 06, 2005 at 7:47 pm

"Audi and Lamborghini both belong to the Volkswagen Group. What does that mean?"

It also means Proton will be producing its own supercars, soon (after VW-Proton deal is on)! Wahahaha.

• daniel on Aug 06, 2005 at 8:02 pm

kind of like will smith's car in what's-his-recentfutiristicmovie-name.. very sweet.. love the colours, especially the silver streak.. but i wish they would come up with a more superb engine.. i'm bored with 3 seconds car.. heh..

• stupid rafidah on Aug 06, 2005 at 9:46 pm

terbalik lah u horsepower make car accelerate,torque is making up the top speed,haha proton unrocks,vw rocks wakkakakaka

• acceleration is torque. top speed is a mixture of many factors like aerodynamics and gear ratios.

• killershik on Aug 08, 2005 at 9:15 am

in my definition, a superb engine means it can accelerate extremely fast, no lag and excellent fuel consumption. whts the point in building cars tht is so powerful, high bhp and torque yet drink like horse/camel in fuel .

the meaning is like this; everyone can achieve a certain target if given unlimited time. the more relevant issue is, who can achieve the target within the specified time eg 1 year. in cars, beside power n torque, can they have good fc ? if not, wht is the point since every one can build a supercar. eg put a V10/V12 engine on my mini cooper. ok….design aside.

• bumboy on Aug 08, 2005 at 6:33 pm

more torque means that can have higher gearing, to reach higher speed at lower RPM… to offset the fuel consumption of the bigger capacity engine.

• egghead on Aug 10, 2005 at 12:54 am

This looks like the car Will Smith drive in "I, Robot" !!

• American Chick on Aug 14, 2005 at 5:50 pm

I'm laughing as I read your posts. None of you can speak English well. I'm hoping you drive better than you spell. I will allow that English is not your first language, but still, your errors are hilarious.

P.S. Do you all drive Beetles– or is it Golfs? I think you do. You're all foaming at the mouth over VW, so you must. I drive an Audi TT Coupe Quattro, so I get the last laugh.

• URZU 7 on Oct 04, 2005 at 3:26 pm

Holy F***K!!!! This ride is gonna kill most competition on styling. Great wake-up by Audi, this shows they aren't dead after all!!!

………This car looks exactly like the one in I,Robot NICE TOUCH!!!!!!!!!!

• Evan Gage on Dec 30, 2005 at 4:26 am

my friend scott just put a down payment on this car. 20000. he had a a8 turned it in and got the brand new s4. and now he wants this car. the fool is loaded. he doesnt shut up about this car. i had to check it out to see what it was all about. i'm a big audi fan now thanks to him. i cant wait to ride with him in it. i'll let ya guys know what it feels like

• jeff cox (Member) on Jun 19, 2007 at 1:57 pm

saw this car on the roads in dana point, california on sunday the 17th of june, i looked up audi supercars on google and found you rweb page,thought i would post this

• cool dude (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 5:52 pm

i like the new car you have just put on the road.plz reply to [email protected]

• james on Apr 25, 2009 at 7:59 pm

i jizzed in my pants