Crazy Volvo 164 Modification

Everyone says the Johoreans have the most mental and crazy car modifiers in the whole of Malaysia. Here’s some proof to back up that claim. Any KL-ite or Penang-ite got anything crazier than this?

It’s a Volvo 164 I think, from the badge at the back of the car. It has a number plate to match too. A classic beauty restored, then modified like crazy.

Here’s some history on the car. The Volvo 164 was in production from 1969-1975. It had a carburetted 3 litre engine making 148hp to 175hp depending on which model. The car was a real wheel drive and came with either a 4 speed manual or 3 speed automatic transmission.

Look at the number of exhausts on the car. They look like cheap straight flow mufflers to me. But cheap x 10, including piping (assuming all of them work) should cost about 1.5K! Crazy!

Another thing funny about the car is it has words on the back that says both Weber DCOE and Fuel Injection. So which is which? LOL!

The aftermarket meters on the dashboard is probably as many as the exhaust mufflers.

For more facts, figures and photos of the Volvo 164, check this site out.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Tan Yee Wei on Aug 09, 2005 at 2:52 am

Holy Cow… siao one. On another note, i've seen a Chrystler something along the Federal a few months back with 4 exhaust pipes. THe wierd thing was that they are not completely black inside… Turns out they were not connected to anything…like WTFFFFF

• It's cars like these that make me want to change my number plate to start with W or P.

• sinleong on Aug 09, 2005 at 3:11 am

Haha!! This is crazy man!!! the most exhaust pipes I ever seen in my life!!!

• Lee Wye Jon on Aug 09, 2005 at 4:20 am

wahlau… siao ah? hahahaaha

• HEY! im a johorian! and i've seen this volvo getting it's exhaust pipes welded while i was fixing my alarm system! omg! it's a twin turbo thingy! hahaha! i was surprised to see and old uncle driving it lah… and inside got all the dials and shit! i wondered what it could do….

where did u take the photo at?

haha wow! such a coincidence that u would post this up… are u johorian too?

• oh! holiday plaza…. pirated cd/dvd haven… nice 1…

• sorry! i couldn't edit previous comments!

anyways, on a few occasions, i've seen a Mercedes Benz 300SE 1980 something mod-ed like heck also. it also got a sticker at the sides proclaiming that it's a guiness record holder for spotlights or someting…

heck that old merc got like, spotlights all over the front, he got them wheels, rims and suspension mod too i think, the car looked pretty tall compared to my dad's 280 SE…

and he's fashion sense is that of the volvo driver's… hahaha, i think they're nuts wei!

• poonster on Aug 09, 2005 at 5:55 am

FUGLY!

• MutantTomato on Aug 09, 2005 at 9:54 am

hmmmm… :) Ohh! If any of you guys are from Subang or went to Taylors to do A Levels, then you should know Mr George the Chemistry lecturer. This fella is one weirdo! You should check out his car man! Its always in the Taylors area, near Twinsheds or near Silva's. Its a black car, possible an old Toyota or Mazda. It has all sorts of metal contraptions welded onto it! The guy even keeps potted plants in his car for crying out loud!

See? This proves that prolonged exposure to solvents can seriously harm the brain! :) :) :)

• hokkien lang. on Aug 09, 2005 at 10:50 am

that not 'teruk compear than in my place…

in my place banting there is a chinese guy put all … i repeat all our country flag… the whole car.. i tell you….and 'kerana mu malaysia' at the back of that car… if ou PM of DPM see this car he sure happy 1…

• hokkien lang. on Aug 09, 2005 at 10:54 am

mutant tomato …

if he read this sure he give you F forever in your course….

ha… ha… ha…

• MutantTomato: Yeap… Mr George's car is famous in SS15. Apparently he sold the car to Lotus (the mamak) owner edi. So if you want to search for it, it's probably in front of Lotus.

• teohchew nang on Aug 09, 2005 at 1:48 pm

YAH, i've seen Mr George car since i first came down to Subang (5 years ago) until today.

• how lah on Aug 09, 2005 at 7:05 pm

Top Gear and Jeremy Clarkson have a section on thesite called Carbage. This should be in there.. together with some Malaysian cars that have already made the list.. haha

• Mutant Tomato on Aug 09, 2005 at 8:28 pm

Hokkien Lang: Bro, I never had him as a teacher. All my friends were in Taylors. So, I used to hang around there a lot. One day, I see Mr. George coming out of the building. I asked them who he was and then they told me everything about him and his car. :)

J: really ah bro? No wonder I haven't seen his car at the normal haunts la.

Teochew nang: Yup! I think everyone in Subang knows his car la! Even us non Subang-ites! :)

• December on Aug 10, 2005 at 12:46 am

MutantTomato : i know that eyesore man, everytime u pass by lotus, u can see the pile or scrap metal there, i heard he is smart yet retarded, the car explains his retardness, oh well, he might call it passion, but for forks sake, its ugly..ugghh

*proceeds to puke*

• auyongtc on Aug 10, 2005 at 5:10 am

I think this ah pek tried to turn his car into the DeLorean (Back To The Future) with all the dials, etc

• hokkien lang. on Aug 10, 2005 at 7:50 am

mutant tomato….

i'm joking only….. i know you are not his student…..

no fun no laugh mah……

• abe pie on Aug 10, 2005 at 8:38 am

Hey guys.. that mr george car has alot of colors, got wheel on top of bonet, two muffler on the roof. maybe it was GTi version .. ha ha ha ha ha ha

Mr george is not my teacher/lecturer, but his car is in front of my office. always see the car . The MPSJ also don't know wat to do or does it have commercial value…..? mr george always breakfast alone himself but now he got a friend(sure girl one maa) to have breakfast with him at Restoran Nasi Kandar. hehe he

• MutantTomato on Aug 10, 2005 at 5:56 pm

Hokkien Lang: Bro, I know you were joking la…. :)

Yup! I have seen some MPSJ fellas samaning other cars and whent hey come to his ca, they don't know whether to saman it, tow it away or just leave it! The more experienced MPSJ dogs already know his car la so they just leave it alone.

• auyongtc on Aug 10, 2005 at 6:52 pm

Free parking tips in Subang Jaya: dress up your car like that Mr George's one :p

• I believe Mr George's car is a Subaru. Can't remember which model, it came out during the late 70s or earlier 80s. I think it is fugly.

• moo_t on Aug 11, 2005 at 1:28 am

My friend has some photo about a car audio thief moded car, the thief being caught when breaking into a kancil. Interested?

• moo_t: sure… use the contact form to send to me ?

• koolspyda (Member) on Nov 26, 2006 at 11:43 pm

meters on dash were contributed by ……? heheh