Kuala Lumpur Air Pollutant Index

The government has lifted the 8 year ban on Air Pollutant Index figures today.

I will not talk much about it. It’s not as if we can’t see how bad the haze situation is. I’m here in an office in the Mid Valley Boulevard and I cannot see anything outside the window. It’s all just grey, as if the window was cemented close.

If you want to translate the severity into figures… here’s the API values today.

Source: MalaysiaKini

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• melvin.foong on Aug 11, 2005 at 2:28 am

They farking lied about it. NO DOUBT!

• I'm just waiting for the State of Emergency so I don't hav to go to work :) Of course I could also die, but heck you can't hav everything..

• Galvin on Aug 11, 2005 at 2:52 am

Fuck…I'm in Klang and the API is already at *choke* DANGEROUS!

• cloudz on Aug 11, 2005 at 3:01 am

ahhh..i'm from klang utama..as u can see..we hav form a genting lowland here..just minus the fresh air and cold air..is exactly the sameeeee..

i wonder how school can still go on..

• EngLee on Aug 11, 2005 at 3:35 am

KL API index is only 180?! I can't see the name of the opposite building! And, I'm going back Klang later.. How am I supposed to breath tonight?!

• Michael Lee on Aug 11, 2005 at 4:30 am

An article in today's NST said that a number of Malaysian companies in Indonesia were among the main culprits – and knowing that buggerall is going to happen in happy Indonesia, any chance that we sue these Malaysian culprits in our local

courts ? … on second thoughts, … forget it.

• We as the rakyat has the right to know about the API reading. Our health, our next generation health are important. Pak Lah proved he managed a transparent government although it is still translucent not transparent yet. How abou the APs?

• Today topic:

Save Malaysia otherwise migrate to Australia !

What will u chioce for both option?

• AlexC on Aug 11, 2005 at 7:18 am

Malaysia/Indonesia … same shoe la… just say sorry lo… no action would ever be taken la… c how malaysia is helping their economy… banning all other workers and maids just to take theirs; and at same time create more social problem in our country too… and how they increase the pakistani workers in lately… all becoz in same shoe la… china goddamn cheap labour, but never allow labour also… different shoe ma… so haze or no haze, gotta live with that la… forked up government…

• Conan on Aug 11, 2005 at 7:35 am

Our government really like to cover this.. cover that… hopeless.. yeah, maybe they don't want the rakyat to panic.. and they said that if the API hits 500, then only declare "emergency"…wat's wrong with them??? really dunno… Anyway, as a start, all schools are close tomolo (thursday) and friday

• Agreed AlexC…I have had the experience when I was in form 5 at 1990…its 15 years from the first incident and this is not resolved. Good quote from our environment ministry "We might consider making rain if the siutation is worsen"…f**k this is not bad enough??? need some casualty only consider its worst? Well 2 countries running by the same kind of ppl…same type of ppl…haze oni ma…sweep under the carpet la like our M'sian govn always do…later when it comes raining season everything is over. Biasa wat…"Tak Apa Lah"..another ironic proof!

• Ohh not forget to mention…i oso stay in klang and the condition today is totally suck up. I watch out from my building and saw the KL "missing" in the haze and the Menara TM is "gone"…imagine how worst is that? 3 accidents along the way i drive home and things are not getting any better at all!!!

• hokkien lang. on Aug 11, 2005 at 8:54 am

i agree that… what you say.. who? most of it our govmen always 'TAK APA LAH' not ih this case but ALL TYPE OF CASE include our live man…..

i give you one example… got two bridge… new and old. the old 1 always got accident there but no 1 die and six feet under …. but new brige got olny 1 accident.. the victim die on-the-spot!

do you think which bridge their upgrade? of course the new 1 , the new 1 kill people life mah.. , the old 1 does't mah..

• guys, i agree of wat u all have voiced out!!!!totally agreed!!!!!shit, i get sore throat oledi, and feel like fever now…..ha ha chiu!!!! man, this shit gov, yesterday news said want to wait api up to 500 only declare "darrurat", wtf!!!i am working in pusat bandar damansara, the condition here very worst, things only can c within 1km, f**K gov!!!!!!!!!!

• and i would like to add up here, our f**king good neighbour, indonesia, nearly every year cause the same problem to us, it just the matter of the level of pollution…..nearly every year like that, wtf, and this pak indon never compensate to our losing, apology only is useless!!!! really uncivillize ppl!!!!

• ali said,

August 11, 2005 @ 10:52 am

…and this pak indon never compensate to our losing, apology only is useless!!!! really uncivillize ppl!!!!

—> Sorry la mate..from these few example. Your claim is null and void towards those indon 'bang'…

1) Steal our motocycle and transport back to their country to sell

2) Their marine can even 'tarik' our boat from our border to their border and claim we 'trespassing' their country

3) bakar and bakar and create those el nino and el nineo and still keep bakar

few years ago, aussie president howard chanted our bolehland as 'barbaric' land…if we are barbarian…wat abt our neighbours??? dinoseur??

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Aug 11, 2005 at 10:12 pm

thanks GOD for this haze..

it make us "know" who we are…

// sometime we should not blame to anything.. it's a gaven BREAK time to think that some thing we'll never thought b4.. ;)

seem like my off. aircond cannot filter perfectly the haze. Stink "hangit" goes all ever the office area.. gos.. wearing a mask in the aircond office..

looking out side of the building.. it's look so bad.. like end of the day..? :D

• peter pan on Aug 11, 2005 at 10:25 pm

I wonder wat our govt is doing with the haze problem….1 kang ho minister says we should use soft approach to deal with indonesia….HELLO ….wake up….the haze is already creating economic problems to our country….wat to wait anymore….FUCK those indons….every year they are creating the same problems to us….HOW SHOULD WE TOLERATE ANYMORE????????SEVERED TIES

• harun on Aug 11, 2005 at 11:01 pm

LET'S SUE THOSE F**KING INDONESIAN!!!!! I CAN'T TAKE IT ANYMORE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Marmitecrab on Aug 12, 2005 at 1:08 am

And the worst part of it? I still see ppl out there smoking in the haze. Now it's confirmed these ppl got death wish!!!!

• No I wonder whether government's "save the electricity policies" still in the run thanks to this haze…ask them to increase their aircond temp in their office now? ask them to off the street light now?? One hand practising some stupid policies that make ppl laugh off the other hand kena slap nicely on the policies by their holy-o-good neighbour. Pathetic hur?

No…..TAK APE LAHHHHHHHHH!!!! f**k it larrr

• Marmitecrab said,

August 11, 2005 @ 5:08 pm

And the worst part of it? I still see ppl out there smoking in the haze. Now it’s confirmed these ppl got death wish!!!!

—> Grant them the wish!!! why not? less smoker less polution oso. Many of these smoker never consider abt other's health why pity them?? Pay ur 'pei kim' to them after they gone…best we can do man!!

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Aug 12, 2005 at 2:54 am

the smooker like me = had a very stong protection in haze..

because we all playing with smoke evrday.. :p

hahaha..

what a true fact lah!.. others is batuk2.. but we smookerz still maintain.. like no haze at aall.. however still got ever like aaaaaa…. Mata yang kering? .. pedih laa..

• Michael Lee on Aug 12, 2005 at 6:33 am

… I hate to have to remind everybody … but wasn't there also something about our stupid dams running dry ? Wonder whether our great leaders are planning to do something about it, or are they waiting to announce a double emergency …

• Lucky*Star on Aug 12, 2005 at 9:15 am

Can't stand it anymore…looking out the window… a piece of white*** hardly see anything … nothing perharps… i'm in PJ by the way… And it feels like the end of world… the haze is killing the city… Yes~~ agreed with Pak Lah we pray for rain… miracle, sad..about that's only thing we can do now. And by the way, API in Kl hits 500++ MY GOD!!!

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 12, 2005 at 5:11 pm

Since haze is happening every year and will became a season for Malaysian. Special thanks to Indonesian, these f**ker.

Hei Maybe I can open a shop to supply Oxygen and clean air to clean our lung. Sure I will get rich soon. Anybody wants to buy air from me? I can charge you free for the first 10 minutes. If you wanna to stay overnight, the rate is only RM100 per night. Call my no. 010-3344-5354.

Take care of your lung and be a haze fighter!

• Michael Lee said,

August 11, 2005 @ 10:33 pm

…Wonder whether our great leaders are planning to do something about it, or are they waiting to announce a double emergency …

—-> Sorry Mike…there is no such word as "Planning" in our gov's dictionary…nor their system where you will only be told "syntax error"…but there is a lot of explanation of the word "adhoc" which is favourite for our minister and ministry.