Sumatra Fire Satellite Photo

Unrelated to cars… but I’d just like to share. You can click for an an enlarged version of it. Source is from NASA’s Earth Observatory Newsroom.

This photo was taken back on 25th June 2005. I guess the white smog that was previously over the ocean is now right over Malaysia.

A thick cloud of smoke pours from forest fires on the Indonesian island of Sumatra. Forest fires are common in Indonesia during the hot, dry months of the dry season, which runs from June to September. Hot, dry weather and winds blowing from the southwest help fires explode in Indonesias forests, and such conditions probably fed the fires seen outlined in red in this image. The winds are also responsible for blanketing parts of Malaysia with smoke. In this image, a white plume of smoke snakes north and east from the fires, moving inland over northern Malaysia. Not only does the dense haze decrease visibility, posing a traffic hazard for both air and ground travel, but the smoke could cause serious health problems.

The Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer (MODIS) onboard NASAs Terra satellite acquired this image in the morning of June 25, 2005. By afternoon, the fires had grown to the point that the narrow Strait of Malacca that separates Malaysia from Sumatra was barely visible. Unfortunately, clouds also partially obscured the view of the region.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• We have saw the same for the past 15 years…but what has been done? Imagine if their neighbour is Aussie or uncle Sam and see….

Bolehland…thats something they 'boleh' larrr….damn!!!!

• Francis Ng on Aug 12, 2005 at 12:59 am

I heard most of the plantations set on fire belong to Malaysian plantation owners. Any comments?

• JoshuaLee on Aug 12, 2005 at 1:27 am

is our government is going to help indonesia with the prevention of forest fires???

• holycow on Aug 12, 2005 at 2:49 am

This is inexcusable. We should either have liaised with NASA a long time ago to sort out some kind of alert system if they should spot anything like this, or we should have worked out an early warning system of our own. And we should be working with the Indonesian government to prevent this sort of thing in future. Why hasn't this been discussed at the last few ASEAN summits, alongside Burma and other troubling issues that should have gone away long ago?

The worst thing is that this photo proves that there is an early warning system in place. NASA has access to it. We know how bad the haze can get, why was this just forgotten?

Ok, so we know why – because everything's always forgotten in this land, where we're always looking forward.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Aug 12, 2005 at 3:03 am

it's indonesia goverment's RESPONSIBILTY all the way..

we just can help.. but the main act should be make first by THEM!..

• gegaoff on Aug 12, 2005 at 3:49 am

even if the fire at indonesia start by malayisan… but shouldn't indonesia's government notice that year ago and shouldn't they have any preventive action for this? in fact, don't think everything come from malaysian's company. those orang asli also should take responsible…

• hokkien lang. on Aug 12, 2005 at 7:39 am

so this is what god see from eye view…

like we see at ants colony….. so…………….. tiny…..

if pour water on it 'habis'……….

no wonder if we get mad…. we say "god …… you"

he… he… he…. joking olny…

• ManInGermany on Aug 12, 2005 at 1:56 pm

Doubt that the Indonesian authorities will really act on the culprits. Money is the name of the game and down there, almost everyone in power (if not all) are corrupted.

• AlexC on Aug 12, 2005 at 3:46 pm

Fire in their country and why should we clean up their backyard??? and if your neighbour do this often, you fark then upside down, but malaysia… bolehlah… fire only ma, got a straits there, cant burn us la… imagine all the damages and losses that our country incurred by having such neighbour… not only non beneficial, bring endless trouble too…

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 12, 2005 at 6:00 pm

I think some options here will fight the haze.

1) Create a Taifu to clear the sky

2) Change the wind direction: It looks like to Earth spinning direction causing the smoke going directy to Malaysia boleh land. One way is to change the spinning direction of earth or make a bigger fan to blow it back to F***ker land.

3) Drop automic bom on fire spot.

4) Ask F***ker land government to control forest fire in the future.

I guess 1), 2) and 3) is not possible maybe in year 20200000 due to some issues, but option 3) the government can do why still not success til now!

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 12, 2005 at 6:05 pm

Sorry correction.

option 3 is Atomic bom and option 4 can do so far.

• Michael Lee on Aug 12, 2005 at 7:16 pm

While all of us and our families, friends, suffer yet for another year, is it really surprising why this keeps on happening ? Look at what the clown said he was going to do … " give them a piece of his mind " …and this was after going all the way there to see for himself !!! … maybe we should have sent the guy with the keris instead.

Also, please do not forget who these Malaysian owners of the plantations are … have a look at other blogs … our NGO's ???… wonder how the licenses were issued…maybe we restore the clown, and bring the guy with the keris back … maybe we cut off our nose to spite our face … let's go back to talking about cars … got to go wash my car because of the haze … what HAZE ?

• ir_entau on Aug 12, 2005 at 8:24 pm

I think the best way to prevent haze from happening now and in the future is to build a gigantic Fan. Maybe with this, we can make our country hold the world record for the biggest fan and at the same time preventing haze…..hahaha. Build tall building oso no point la. Countries like US, China, Japan are building more taller building as i am writing now. Therefore i suggest we build the world biggest fan. LOL

• Lotiman on Aug 13, 2005 at 8:27 am

World Biggest Fan is no use!!! Bolehland should create a Tsunami machine to wash the forest. No Haze and smash the forest as they wanted. A win-win solution.

• hokkien lang. on Aug 13, 2005 at 9:39 am

to dog the wan:

olny in our imangenation…. if we have FUNG WAN( iwant mention 'strom' from x-men but she belong to US) then we create that storm and push back to owner….

• AsapMan on Aug 13, 2005 at 11:00 am

childish.

• ir_entau on Aug 14, 2005 at 5:55 pm

No use FUNG WAN is from Hong Kong and tsunami machine…..So i say we carry on with the plan of building a gigantic fan…the benefits include :-

1. Prevent Haze

2. Can return back the favor to the indons

3. cooler air (Penang Is quite hot right now)

4. Since is hot right now we can make it solar powered