Karamjit will not be able to defend APRC title

I previously blogged about Karamjit Singh’s plight here. Here is a quote from that blog.

Karamjit will not be participating in the current round, Round 3, which is in Rotorua, New Zealand on the 17th and 19th. Round 4 would be in Hokkaido Japan. But guess where is Round 5s venue? No where else but MALAYSIA! (19-21 August 2005) It would be a shame to see that our own Flying Sikh (Karamjits nickname) cannot even compete in his home grounds because he could not secure sponsorship!

That was back in June. Two months has passed and he still has not been able to get sponsorship for the Malaysian leg of the championship.

He also has to miss the Britain rally because he could not find ANY sponsorship by the closing date on 10th August 2005.

So far in this year’s rally, Karamjit only managed to complete 3 stages with private sponsorship funds as a temporary measure while trying to secure long term sponsorship. Private sponsorship funds don’t really amount to much.

Karamjit is last year’s defending champion and this year he does not even have enough sponsorship to come back and defend his title.

He won the title last year with sponsorship from Proton but they did not even give enough funds to complete the whole championship. The Ministry of Youth and Sports had to give an additional RM500,000 sponsorship. But with this cash he went on and won the championship in both the drivers and manufacturer’s title.

Now that he has missed 4 out of 8 races, there is no more possibility of him defending his title.

Because of all his absense from races due to lack of funds, teh FIA has slapped a USD20,000 fine on him. That’s roughly RM76,000.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• narrowband on Aug 14, 2005 at 7:45 pm

The government is financially assisting in sports like Athletics, Aquatics, Bowling, Football, Gymnastics, Hockey and Squash. These are "funds allocated" for the eight "core sports".

They hate Rally, I guess. Even though Karamjit is doing well in the international arena, when the people in the ranks are not interested, then they're not interest ;)

• Ambayah on Aug 14, 2005 at 8:14 pm

Better resign lo, or change nationality la Karamjit.

• who bigshot likes rally really? Maybe TM but he's gone, DrM also gone, definitely not Mr Proton Chairman Azlan!

do we really think foreign automakers going to sponsor malaysian; tough lucks man!

with current gov very conservative in spending, maybe karamjit should try the AP kings or maybe MIC!

• tiuniaseng,

policy makers n those in powershould do their homework berfore approving budget allocations for sports..ppl like karamjit who deserves so much more than this should just migrate where ppl will recognise his talent and provide him with facilities and financial assistance.

Ministry of sports can PEI JU NAR TIU HAI

anti agendamelayu@ anti bangsa malaysia

• terrence on Aug 14, 2005 at 10:49 pm

dun think this will happen if it's Saladin. as to why the gomen refuse to sposor a proven athelete who won so much flying the malaysian banner, is really beyond my comprehension.

so i really urge allen oh and karamjit to change nationality

cheers

• terrence: saladin only has sponsorship for lubricant and tyres from foreign companies. the rest is sponsored by his father.

• Mat Rempit on Aug 14, 2005 at 11:49 pm

Better resign maa…join to my club

• auyongtc on Aug 14, 2005 at 11:53 pm

No need to go far Karamjit, just ask our next door neighbour, Singapore. Maybe they're willing to give you citizenship and sponsorship too…

Blardy stupid Msian govt, such good talent also don't support. This is truly a disgrace. What can we expect from the government for support when we had no choice but to support buying local cars, or paying for the cost of AP for foreign cars… We support them, they don't forking support us…

OMGWTFBBQKANINACHAUCIBAI!

• Pentan Sakua... on Aug 15, 2005 at 12:28 am

Karamjit very unlucky la….

If he is born under the right BANGSA, he is already a LATUK now…..Too bad, he is SINGH…So, he have to KEPALA PUSING a bit la, to get sponsorship…

• sinleong on Aug 15, 2005 at 3:22 am

Maybe he can ask Bollywood to make a movie about him and get money for sponsorship.

• hokkien lang. on Aug 15, 2005 at 7:09 am

firstly… izzit, karamjit got thier main sponsor from P.E.R.T. …?

secondly, this very sensitif question….. change race, from (bla….bla… bla…) to malay…. u know they will support if malays in that sports….

you can see this in superbike championship…… they sponsor everything 4 him…

• wirawan on Aug 15, 2005 at 7:30 am

It happen again. Maybe Karamjit should go to Finland, over there they recognise PURE TALENT that he have. Don't give up!

• Button on Aug 15, 2005 at 9:56 am

wirawan i agree with ya… that should be the spirit.. join other car manufacturer.. i bet he should have a better shot at it.. when malaysia have the capability to sponser Karamjit, then he come back and represent malaysia, and not pleadging sponsorship

• h311fire on Aug 15, 2005 at 10:04 am

aihhh… malaysia really sux… They rather see a screwed up racer like alex yong through than karamjit singh.. Lotsa respect for karamjit singh. he can even drive in the snow and get a decent result…(eventhough he hasn't driven in the snow before) WTF is the malaysian government and companies doing….sponsoring a proven looser like alex 'boh(no use in hokkien)' yong 'tau foo' instead of karamjit singh. aih ppl world champion okay…maybe karamjit should try to go into F1 also brighter future or change race…maybe sunat his kukubird than can get more support…i'm sorry but its just way too obvious that government and other companies don't really like to help other races unless ur dick is sliced…maybe someone in this blog should start a donation drive or something…sorry for being rascist but just can't forking stand it anymore…

• Ambayah on Aug 15, 2005 at 11:23 am

To PENTAN & HOKKIEN:

What about that chinese fellow Alex yong (Loser)? Chinese badminton players? Think about that man. I know there might be some racial issues, but not completely.

• all because of kulitism. sad sad sad

karam…whereever you go, we will continue to support you.

• hokkien lang. on Aug 15, 2005 at 6:00 pm

to Ambayah …..

well you see if there win the world title…..how many days news shows thier victory…. if other win it see they coming back..and cerlerbret as warrior…..

i don't want to say anything and any more we wait and see

pentan

walao eh.. wu lang tu lan wa lang eh… aiseh…….

• Interestingly, Alex Yoong seems to have no problems getting funds to participate in the new A1 GP series.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A1GP

Maybe Karamjit is not skilled in the "kissing sponsor's ass" part of the sport.

• AlexC on Aug 15, 2005 at 7:27 pm

Alex Yong's grandpa pump money see him go for race ma… think wat, he can meh??? lose after few rounds… check out his background, rich asshole la… but karamjit is someone to be respected… makes us malaysian proud, and too bad, our government sucks big time… and if you guys talk about money sponsors for other sports, i can assure you guys that the money goes into the coffers of the organizers(was one of the participants)… Equation seen:

Karamjit singh + Government(Tiu Nia Singh) = kepala pusingh

• Why not ask money from Ananda Khrisnan???? I think he has lots of spare money from Astro, Maxis etc….

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 15, 2005 at 7:53 pm

I think is the "JJ" skin issue again. If he decide to XXX..skin off then everything is easy mah. Abdullah Kamagit Sings to apply the sponsorship will be approved much easy. Don't you all think so?

After Abdullah KS won the race, they will make CM on TV and to show the world. SEE our Malaybumi has many achievement even World RALLY race. Skin a bit dark is not a problems.

I am sure The Government will fully support him cause only Malaybumi needs help not Chinese or Sigh or Indian………or Alien or X-men.

• xamel on Aug 15, 2005 at 9:29 pm

Hi all,

I don't think race is an issue here. I believe that people are more into F1 and Japan GT nowadays. Rally have been sort of brushed away from Malaysia's motorsport book. So, the most popular sport will attract more sponsors. More sponsors means more money. More money means more return for the Government. If not, why would Government invest a lot of money on Sepang Circuit?

Ask around your friends, what motorsport they like. I'll bet most of them would give F1 and Japan GT as the answer… or maybe some Drag racing.

For me, Rally is the real motorsport. Driving skill really counts when you're a Rally driver.

• stupid rafidah on Aug 15, 2005 at 10:00 pm

aiya sorry lah sensitive issue here i also dun want to comment but have to comment also

aiya alex yoong different he is rich he got his own money to buy himself into f1

karam dif he have to look around for sponsors,what is the god damn government doing

.the fork up gov like to remind us chinese and indians that we are immigrants and always like to menindas us now that lim keng yaik made a statement which is a fact they cannot accept the fact pula that they are always reminding us that we are imiigrants,ya we know we are immigrants long time ago,we are proud that we are born this way.what is wrong with it,when u need help say why the malay still havent progress as the other races,we other races also come and help give ideas help formulate new NEP,we offer a helping hand,now u see everywhere some malay hold high post in jpj lah in this that this that lah school lah etc.they take advantage and menindas i dont say all ah,dun simply say ah, in skool also the malay teacher menindas kaum cina he say i hate kaum cina yang kaya and … he say next year i want malay to be ketua pengawas and he always say fork up things,damn racist.the fork up teacher also everyday escape class and when in class say miang miang thing,kena complain by parents and when kena complain pandai pandai go korek keburukan budak itu haha,akhir sekali the plan backfire on him,why cant like other malay teacher make food sell to student we buy from her win-win situation,sorry ah this is my feelings take this as an opportunity to release bheh song,wah seh hokkien lang i know got people bheh song wa lang teng lang,

NOW GO TO UNI PULA GOT WHAT FUCK UP QUOTA AND THE NO 4 TOP STUDENT IN MSIA LAST YEAR DIDNT GET TO GO TO UNI,WHY? BECAUSE HE IS INDIAN,AND STATE THAT WE ARE MUSLIM COUNTRY A FEW YEARS BACK WHY? WANNA GLAMOUR SAJA LAH,I THOUGHT WE ARE MULTIRACIAL COUNTRY WE SHOULD RESPECT EACH PTHERS RACE AND RELIGION

REMEMBER MALAYS ARE IMMIGRANT TOO,THE BUMI'S ARE THE ORIGINAL ABROGINAL HERE,THE MALAYS CAME FROM INDONESIA(PARAMESWARA)

DUN FUCK UP CLAIM OTHER PEOPLE'S PROPERTY JUST BECAUSE U CAME EARLIER THAN THE CHINESE AND INDIAN

• Chapree Da Grande on Aug 15, 2005 at 11:33 pm

Sigh, what's with this racial thingie…why it's always about the race…sigh.

Anyway, i personally feel Karamjit should just move on. I remember he got offers from few manufacturers. If this sponsor draught continues on, his talents, potientials and chance to make big money are wasted. Rally racing are not as glamorous as F1 among Malaysians although we got one of the best rally drivers in the world. Somemore F1 Sepang gave some income to economy in some ways while I doubt a WRC/APRC round in Malaysia would gave the same impact.

To have Goverment support are very hard. Really, there's a lot of non-mainstream sports out there that need attention & sponsors to make it grow. Rally are just one of the big example.

• karamjit on Aug 16, 2005 at 1:04 am

i dont understand why the government is not giving money for karamjit when he is winning rather than other sports which does not even win anything at all …..atleast he is one of the top rally driver in the world …rather than other sports…..he should join other overseas country teams

• gegaoff on Aug 16, 2005 at 7:01 am

as a world champion, no manner what race he is, he should reserve the best sponsorship from malaysia government… right? what we always ask for: MALAYSIA BOLEH!! now got ppl BOLEH, government TAK BOLEH…

sigh…

tiu niah singh ( government ) win over Karamit singh…

• anti gov on Aug 16, 2005 at 9:09 pm

i support wholeheartedly wat stupid rafidah said… fork this malaysian government… wat the fork u read newspaper everyday they said lies, scams, bullshits… wat the fork… just can pray that malaysia can change to a non racist country… so-called peaceful country where nobody fight over issues like racism… fork… everybody deserves a right for education… why malays are getting all the credit for nothing whereas we other races work so hard but ended up with a piece of shit…

• stupid rafidah on Aug 16, 2005 at 9:19 pm

come to think of it i'm kinda piss off,but still we must forgive the gov what the hell we voted for them,but remember we are not fully behind u.only behind u on the right issue,this karamjit issue is a small issue but sikit sikit lama lama jadi bukit,like in sarawak here got one girl tennis sukma player who excelled in her studies straight a's cannot get jpa scholarship now appeal to ministry of sports also no use they can't even help her,whats the point

the thing is now be smart move out of malaysia where you can have a better future education system here is not fair thats the thing that is keeping us rakyat apart it should be reviewed polarization occurs in uni why because we feel insecure,the gov should think as one nation,where were we a few years back we were still going on with the msc when the economy is bad in the 1999 financial crisis,now economy good pula i dun see progress

why not spend ur money on some field we have proven quality like karamjit rally career and we can do rnd there and the new technology can be derived there and we can make better cars that are more durable its better than giving the ap to a few people who is living on the luxury side of life when there is others who still suffer in the country,

touch your heart,dun u feel pity for the poor and the despiced people,

together towards a better country fight for everybodies right dun just fight for ur own race,we are one country full of different ethnic and races we are one

like basic cell too we have mitokondrions,nucleus,sitoplasm and so on we cannot live alone we live supporting one another,support karamjit

• Pentan Sakua... on Aug 16, 2005 at 11:26 pm

Amabayah,

3 example:

The 2 Malaysian brother's who conquer North or South pole. I lupa adi.

The 2 Indian guys who are the 1st Malaysian to climb mount Everest.

The Chinese guy who swam Engligh channel, longer distance and faster time.

The Mamak guy who swam the English channel, shorter distance and longer time.

The Malaysia guy who went around the world and failed. His ship mast broke and he was like 2 to 3 days late.

I don't want to say anything…But who got what as REWARDS…YOU SENDIRI CARI LA…O.K?

• AlexC on Aug 17, 2005 at 4:15 am

So, to cut things short, what the fork can we do??? How many of us here can vote; and when the time comes whom do we vote for??? The MIC, MCA and Gerakan of the coalition is there because of money, not because of what they can do for the race… The only thing they raise is we non malay are happy and no problem with whatever policies the malay implement…

Right from the start before we set off to work; education… non bumi are restricted in limited quota for the brainless study further, not to mention the high failure rate in uni then… those cleverer non malay are separated and grouped with malays to help them with assignment in the pretext of racial integration…

At work, to be more successful and get your company listed, you need to give at least 30% to bumi… wtf??? now, because some party are less proficient in english and softskills, they wanna implement 4 years of higher education??? not to mention the government contracts they are giving to bumi ONLY… means we're here on our own to survive and earn a living, without any aid from government at all…

How can we, as non bumi, feel happy staying in this land??? we're born here, yet being treated as second class… najib spoke of getting non malay to join the army, police, government officers and so on to balance out the race integration there… but how far up can we go if we join??? would you rather place your bet in private sector or with the government??? If you put a chinese or indian as the defence minister, would the malay have a sense of security, not worrying about any coup??? why??? if you treat your fellow countrymen as what they deserve, you would have no worry then…

As far as i can see, there is only a false sense of racial harmony here… non malays are laying low in fear of 13th may resurrection… indonesia is one good example of a country where chinese's wealth shrouding the eyes of the malays, hence the 1998 incident… dare we voice out our feelings openly without retribution??? or we'll just stay low, hoping someday somewhere down the line something better would lie in store for our great grandchildren???

• I wonder if there are Malays as top rank gen in Singapore military…I bet they also dont want other races as their Defence Ministry.

• waa soo syok la to tiao other people..

Fisrt of all, i just dont get it, this is a karamjit topic then suddenly turn into racism bashing. Yes i do agree the gov is suck in certain things but to raise racism issue over a rally sponsor ship thing? Blamming the gov then bashing the malays?

to think back, who has been mainly sponsoring the rally team like from nearly 10 years ago(maybe –sorry I’m not really a rally fan)? Petronas, EON and.. yes the ‘pathetic’ proton. And well sad thing to know Petronas is a government own company has been involved within sponsoring karamjit for nearly 10 years. Really I don’t think that karamjit need to be Abdullah Karamjit to have those10 years of sponsorship. And now after 10 years and lack of sponsorship where the heck are those 10 ten tycoons of Malaysian mostly of them are Chinese. If they are not so damn racist why don’t they show some good faith and example to sponsors Karamjit for his rally? What about those previous 10 years? Even for Ananda Krishna the Astro tycoon with a satellite up there.. why don’t they come in to the picture and get involved show some good example to the so called stupid gov and racist malays and sponsor karamjit? Ooh no.. maybe you’ve all just forgot about this.. and maybe other racers like Michael Schumacher, valentine rossi, old tommi makinen etc2 all were sponsored 100% by their own freakin government. If this the case, so karamjit should change his nationality to those country.. and not to forget somebody did mentioned Singapore.. aas yess Singapore government surely can sponsor him.. yeah right the government.. again..

but personally for me, in this karamjit matter, there shouldn’t be any matter of racist to come up with, if there is, so all of the race in Malaysia also involved in this matter.. for me this is just sponsorship, business and profit aka making more money problem.. but well for some people if a racist still a racist, ..no matter how big or small the matter is.. anything can be use to fuel the flame, rather than thinking and working to make changes they prefer to pose hate to other people.. but seriously I think that you guys are better than that..

• cannot agree more with you joe!

racist commenting racist! you all show your true colour esp alexc!

this karamjit issue stemmed from changes in proton, eon, petronas and the government; as i said earlier no more TM, DrM etc; the current batch of people in charge just not interested in rally, proton chairman azlan, he's accountant/auditor mana minat ini rally rally, minat $$$$$$$ only, cut cost!

• MALAysian:SayNoToPro on Aug 18, 2005 at 3:30 am

thats the way….no more AP…..~! good choice Rafidah….thts why so many bussinessmen claps for her…i think after so many bullshit she said….this one is the best ~!

• Unhappy Malaysian Ci on Aug 18, 2005 at 7:20 am

I support Rafidah's statement on abolishing AP. A very good move.

I doubt Petronas has much interest in sponsoring an indian with a chinese co-driver in this rally competition.

I suggest Karam go look for other teams to drive. He doesn't deserve such ill treatment from our government

• stupid rafidah on Aug 20, 2005 at 12:14 am

Yo Joe,

i know we aint getting nowhere with this racist issue if we dont give in anyway,

one advice for ya do not fight fire with fire

let businessman be business man

let politician be politician

let rakyat be rakyat

let the sports man be sportsman,

KARAMJIT(sportsman)=rakyat of malaysia

GOVERNMENT OF MALAYSIA=LEADER OF THE RAKYAT

WHEN RAKYAT NEEDS HELP WHO DO WE TURN TO?

ANSWER:THE GOVERNMENT(LEADER OF THE RAKYAT)

SO THE LEADER SHOULD HELP THE RAKYAT

I SINCERELY APOLOGIZE FOR THE RUDE STATEMENT ANY OF THE ABOVE BY WHOSOEVER(ME AND THE OTHER COMMENTERS SO BE THEY ARE CHINESE,MALAY,OR INDIAN AND OTHER RACES TO ONE ANOTHER) THAT MAY SOUND SO RACIST TO ONE ANOTHER KAUM.

ONE THING I'M STILL NOT HAPPY IS THE EDUCATION SYSTEM.THAT IS THE THING THAT IS KEEPING US APART ,WE(NON BUMI'S) ARE DENIED BASIC RIGHTS TO TERTIARY EDUCATION,U KNOW WHAT I MEAN,I DUN WANNA COMMENT MORE.

ON THE DATUKSHIP ISSUE WHICH WAS ISSUED TO A MALAY(I FORGOT THE NAME ALREADY)WHO SAILED THE WORLD .BUT THEN LATER CONVERTED TO CHRISTIAN AND THE DATUKSHIP WAS STRIPPED AWAY,WHAT DO U HAVE TO SAY ABOUT THAT JOE DOES THAT SHOW THAT THE GOVERNMENT IS RACIST?…

WHAT IS DONE HAS ALREADY BEEN DONE,

MILK THAT IS SPILLED CANNOT BE SAVED ANYMORE

A MAN IS A MAN WHEN HE ADMITS HIS MISTAKE

WE DO NOT WANT TO BE LIKE THE ELEPHANT WHO CAN SEE THE KUTU AT THE OPPOSITE PULAU AND CAN'T EVEN SEE OUR OWN NOSE(WE DONT WANNA BE LIKE PROTON)

WE MUST LEARN TO GIVE AND TAKE DO NOT JUST TAKE

WE DO NOT WANNA BE LIKE PEOPLE WHO SAY "WE FEEL SORRY FOR THE LOST OF YOUR LOVED ONES WE OFFER OUR CONDOLENCE"

WE WANNA BE LIKE"WE FEEL YOUR DEEP SORROW TOO,AND WE OFFER OUR SINCEREST CONDOLENCE,LET US HELP YOU…"

ACTION SPEAK LOUDER THAN WORDS

YO JET BAD MOVE BOMBING OTHER COMMENTERS

THEN AGAIN I WANNA APOLOGIZE FOR ANY MESSAGE THAT MIGHT HURT ANYONE

• come on, this is karamjit issue

masuk politic lah….

joint Anuar…

• stupid rafidah on Aug 20, 2005 at 5:25 pm

hehe,funnly lah u why join anuar come let us say yay to karam

KARAM ROCKS!!! RALLY KING OF MALAYSIA