Autocar Proton Savvy Review

Denis Wong of Autocar reviews the Proton Savvy and gives it pretty good comments.

They have photos with very good angles of the black Proton Savvy with a Malaysian number plate.

Read the rest of the review here at Autocar.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• eAthena-Xeir4s on Aug 20, 2005 at 5:22 am

We need a Myvi review! From the same person that did the Savvy review , Of course.

• hfrshah on Aug 20, 2005 at 5:38 am

cool.. finally a good review of anything related to Proton. autocar did review the Daihatsu Boon, essentially the same car as the Myvi, and it was pretty decent. not class leading -no surprises there- but up to the job.

• Lee Wye Jon on Aug 20, 2005 at 8:01 am

Cool… I still maintain that the Savvy would have got a better response if it was launched earlier than the Myvi.

• armandd on Aug 20, 2005 at 8:04 am

actually, the savvy is a good car, but some people hate to admit it…

• a guy from your frie on Aug 20, 2005 at 8:23 am

the savvy is indeed a good car. let's face it, if it were to be launched a yr ahead like it was planned, i would say that *almost* everyone would hav good comments on it. i see a good potential of this car to be modded. the thing is, i don't like the back look, and i don't like the back seat where tall people can't sit. i like gen2 too, its just that the back, when i reverse, i can hardly see, and that tall people can't sit at the back *comfortably*.

the monster ad, is really ridiculous, however, as u all know, the guy that survive the horrible and famous "savvy accident" did "survive!", so actually savvy is not tough but SAFE! Denis is indeed correct, the handling is really good, compared to Myvi. i don't wanna comment about Myvi, as to me its a great car, but nothing is pefect ok.

that's all. cyal!

• I suspected early on that the savvy would be appealing to the Europeans; considering heavy Lotus & Renault influence. My bet is that it will be Proton's best seller in the UK especially after the whole savvy line-up has been completed, assuming, of course, that the pricing is right.

BTW does anyone know where the savvy with AMT is going to slot in (in terms of price) and will the conventional automatic transmission be offered as well?

• hokkien lang. on Aug 20, 2005 at 9:26 am

oh my goddess……..

now proton will laugh at us …, if they read this bolg….

• MALAysian:SayNoToPro on Aug 20, 2005 at 9:52 am

#

NF said,

August 20, 2005 @ 1:07 am

>I suspected early on that the savvy would be appealing to the Europeans; >considering heavy Lotus & Renault influence. My bet is that it will be Proton’s >best seller in the UK especially after the whole savvy line-up has been >completed, assuming, of course, that the pricing is right.

not sure about tht since in uk car is not a very expensive item…somemore they have a lot of choices to choose.

http://www.autoblog.com/entry/1234000380049080

again..hmmmmm

• MALAysian:SayNoToPro on Aug 20, 2005 at 10:00 am

some how it also remind me the review by top gear….

"my 1st lotus"….hehehehe.

…but seriously they got to do something about the car outlook….the front look pretty much like toilet seat.

• AlexC on Aug 20, 2005 at 10:57 am

If the car would size up like a sedan with a better ass, i think that might be fine… but for this one, fits for a small sized female… if you'd look at volkswagon golf gti, you'd know what i mean… compact car with the with about or more than wira and length about slightly less… this car is definitely out… even if the price is cheap, it is relative to the size, taken myvi as second thought… toilet seat front, ugly looking ass; a failure is always a failure, no matter what angle or perspective it is looked at… put it this way, nothing is perfect, but this is far from being fair at all… to prove it, the sales volume says it all…

• AlexC on Aug 20, 2005 at 10:59 am

compact car with the width about or more than wira and length about slightly less…

typo error, sorry… excuse me as i just came back from clubbing for the weekend…

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 20, 2005 at 3:50 pm

"A toilet seat front and ugly rear" you guys already know Sawi identity. New bench marking for other car maker leh!

Honestly, the car is good but I still not buying it cause you guys will call that "xxx see above identity xxx" if I drive to the Plub. Kuak..kuak..kuak!

• MALAysian:SayNoToPro on Aug 20, 2005 at 4:23 pm

http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/20…

some more to add…….duh….duh…

• hfrshah on Aug 20, 2005 at 5:18 pm

yup i agree. Savvy's looks are simply atrocious. but bear in mind tho that only malaysians have this fettish-like attraction to sedan cars. europeans seem to take hatches more seriously. but yeah, who knows how the Savvy will do. it all depends on the marketing department. i hope they take a different approach than the local monster ads. and please dont go too fa, anyone remember

"Waja – Asia's answer to BMW" ?

• to proton, please do something to the savvy's back

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 20, 2005 at 6:03 pm

One proposal to Proton: Sawi should add a big Spoiler at the back to cover the ugly nose!

• I still think MyVi is better than Savvy.

forget about when the car was launch, (actually only 2 week apart), but MyVi order had surpass 55,000 units, if Savvy is better, MyVi order will not had such respond till now.

Savvy is a good car, but launch at the wrong era. If this car was sold as Tiara, it will be a good sale, but today people are looking for MPV,SUV etc, and MyVi have the MPV/SUV looks and feel.

proton…. u need to try harder.

• bl20zer on Aug 20, 2005 at 7:37 pm

Hey, I saw this car at Damansara (HELP Institute) around 0945hrs..I think he was at the back of my Proton TIARA! hahahahaha…

• MALAysian:SayNoToPro on Aug 20, 2005 at 8:36 pm

Waja – Asia’s answer to BMW.

Savvy-your 1st lotus.

hehehe to those really own lotus…you should try out savvy…let us know how it compare to savvy.

compare Waja with BMw ….hahahaha…

this advertisment people is getting funnier each…providing us lot of

jokes… hahaha.

• edw, maybe savvy appeal to specific segment only, e.g. younger/single person who want power but myvi appeal to more segments (wider) that's why selling much much more…

if you notice ahh, since gen2, proton launched model that appeal to specific segment (although its intention maybe not so), gen2 also for younger or power driven people… that's why their sales not that good….

but i think most of its buyers likes the cars (gen2 and savvy) very much…because they are the person for it

if you ask them of course they'll say they have good car

my brother in law a few days ago bought 2nd hand gen2 (1 year old) for rm42k to replace his kancil (2nd car); he says the car's good, he even clocked 190kmh on the way back collecting the car- this from some one who drive accord and stream

• rafreez on Aug 20, 2005 at 9:55 pm

I've got news from some proton svc advisor, the cost of svc for Savvy would be estimated about RM500 bcos of the renault engine parts…I'm not sure how far is the truth in this guys words but please (Savvy owner)who had gone for the 1st Savvy svc please confirm this…..About Savvy rear design, I think it is batter that Myvi, if u compare Myvi rear bumper doesnt u guys notice it looks like a fat guy with a SOGGY butt or a pretty girl wearing a very big size jeans….please take another look at Myvi.

• hfrshah on Aug 20, 2005 at 10:13 pm

the Waja 1.8(also using a Renault engine) has a higher servicing cost compared to other Proton cars. the reason being that some parts have to be imported from Europe and Euro is very strong. theres a strong possibility that the Savvy will suffer from the same problem

• MALAysian:SayNoToPro on Aug 20, 2005 at 11:00 pm

damn i am young(20-25?)….but i prefer…Myvi ~!~! :D

i think the market sales stats speak for itself….if you mean younger like below 20…

thts why…no wonder the GEN2 n Savvy sales so bad…coz most youngster below 20..still not working yet….no money…hahahah….i thought most youngster prefer….sporty car/cute … just my 20 cent.maybe different people different need….

• quoting -ve comments:

savvy, ugly back and toilet seat front!

myvi? big frog on the road! the driver? frogman!

hah hah haaha…….its so easy to critise!

but paul, seriously, i noted the mention of under power in savvy aka power vs built = under power, does it mean we can/should higher power engine, maybe myvi 1.3 into it to commensurate the built

maybe savvy r3 should put higher capacity engines, toyota ones maybe…

comment paul…..

• jet: R3 tunes whatever's already in the car so I think an engine swap would not be possible for them. but there's clios with 1.5 and maybe 2.0 engines. i reckon those could fit into the Savvy… especially the 1.5 one.

• 1st service RM101.97

http://chinese.cari.com.my/myforum/viewthread.php…

• Mellissa on Aug 21, 2005 at 7:42 am

i'm even younger (17) and i still prefer the myvi, lol. i don't know why but i see the savvy as a more "guy" car. i can't stand how it's so small. i'm claustrophobic, i think :P plus i'm 5 feet 8 too and i find it too cramped. i need my space, lol. but i have to admit, it seems like a decent car though.

• Savvy? on Aug 21, 2005 at 8:01 am

I really shouldn't be doing this. Everyone's entitled to their own opinion. Some (altho few) can find good things to say about Savvi, despite the thrash that Savvi is. There's even people who so cleverly segmentized car markets by age, Craving for cramped, small space car, anything, to say something good about Savvi.

I pity these people. And the one who reviewed Savvi and say good car, I don't think he had a choice(he's job at stake probably), lest he's lying and GOD will punish him for publishing lies.

In a real world semi-free market economy, Proton will sure close. Proton will not be able to compete at all. Imagine, dollar to dollar, Savvi retails at 7k in UK, how much are you paying, 42k?. Dollar to dollar, at 42k in UK, you can probably get a Lexus, or a normal aspirated Porsche 911.

Sadly, Malaysians end up paying the price. And I don't mean the prIce of the car, I mean THE COST of retaining Proton. When you are forced to buy a Proton because they make all other cars prohibitively out of $$ range, knowing you're buying thrash but still have to pay big$$$$$ for it. Knowing our contribution to EPF will be used to bail them out while they declare a RM700mil profit…. Sigh, Sad that some of you can justify that Savvi is a good car.

I will NEVER, EVER buy that reject French thrash. It matters not that Myvvi was launched first, real people know thrash when they see thrash.

• akari on Aug 21, 2005 at 8:07 am

Here have some ppl test out savvy in sepang, they fail to reach 170km/h but there's 3ppl in car i guess. People ask him how about fight with kelisa, he still prefer kelisa, also admit savvy have good handing, maybe because of using 175/50 R15.

if u can read chinese,
    http://chinese.cari.com.my/myforum/viewthread.php…

• MYVI looks like WIra with booth cut off…… I prefer SAVVY, good ride and handling European feel while MYVI Japanese feel…. its up to u.

• hfrshah on Aug 21, 2005 at 5:43 pm

thats not an entirely fair judgement.. you said it yourself, everyone has their own opinion.surely theres a lot of people that would prefer the Savvy over the Myvi.

it all depends on one's personal taste. styling and space-wise yeah, the Myvi has the Savvy licked.. but what about ride and handling? quality(maybe)? and who compare prices of cars dollar to dollar? oh, and the standard 911 costs 57k in the UK mind you

• Somebody mentioned about how small Savvy is, have they actually test the car? I mean did they even bother to test drive it? Handling aside, Savvy's space is quite spacious and much better than Kelisa.

It may look small from the outside, but try sitting inside and take a test drive. I have tested both (Savvy & Myvi), both is good car but design wise, I prefer Savvy. Myvi's look is just to plain to my liking.

• holy_cow on Aug 21, 2005 at 8:10 pm

Not that I love the Savvy or hate the Myvi or vice-versa, they're both just cars to me, but I know one thing I do hate – a faulty argument.

Myvi orders have surpassed Savvy orders? So the Myvi is better? But this operates on the premise that something which sells well must be better and, to steal an analogy from the music industry, Justin Timberlake sells a hell of a lot more than Radiohead.

Cars.my magazine had a perspective on it which I thought was quite well-judged – most people want no-brainer cars, and that's what the Myvi is. It's a brilliant no-brainer car, too. It's effortless to drive, the steering is very polite, it's very cushy, materials are good, ride is spongey and basically it requires hardly any exertion to point the thing somewhere and toddle along at 40kmph through corners. The Savvy aims to be a bit more fun to drive and, like it or not, it succeeds. So it's actually fairly easy to make a choice between the two cars, really – if you value driving fun over affordable Japanese reliability and quality, then you know where you'll be tempted to spend your money.

People are so emotionally invested in this issue that they go so far as to say that people who say good things about the Savvy will be judged by God and so on – I mean jeez, get some perspective and look at things objectively for once. I hate what Proton has done to the Malaysian motor industry, I hate the fact that 5% of it is owned by Temasek Holdings and I hate the fact that they've never made proper use of the Lotus connection, but I do not take all those facts as reason to say the Savvy must be an abominable car, because there is no necessary logical connection. Yes, Proton has harmed a lot of people but that doesn't necessarily mean the Savvy must be a bad car. Lack of logic is what has kept half-arsed projects like Proton protected for so long, so it'e best not to exercise similar lack of logic in attempting to criticise them.

Last but not least, that Top Gear snippet was not a 'review', for heaven's sake. And I doubt Denis Wong, writing for Autocar UK, is going to be thinking about helping Proton along – he's probably more interested in impressing the UK folk with his impartiality, perhaps with the hope of getting a transfer there someday?

To the person who posted as 'Savvy?' I can only say – yes, the Savvy is a good car. Does this make Proton a good company? No. Does this make anyone who rejects the car on moral principles stupid? No. It's time to think clear-headedly about this.

• frossonice on Aug 22, 2005 at 12:02 am

I saw blue savvy with white sport rims and yes, with semi auto gear (steptronic?) at Proton Edar Puchong (in front Jusco) last Friday. Way cool for a car you guys critised so much. Yea, the plus minus gear change is there and the gear knob is round and shiny. Price? Dunno. Savvy is a small compact, like Picanto, Clio or Panda. If you want big compact like Golf or Focus, wait for SRM. Duh…

• holy_cow said,

August 21, 2005 @ 12:10 pm .

u r talking like u no batter how market wise to savy next time.

like this to say, savvy not a type to compete whit myvi my b to kelisa n kenari is yes!. by now s we can see is much different sale gap be-twin savvy n myvi, is prove that savvy is not able.

pro2 n proton savvy there have their own market to sale, if u have this much budget then u go for which 1 budget car to buy. see how u spending your money to varies point value to judge now n future

• holy_cow on Aug 22, 2005 at 9:01 am

DAN,

I don't really understand your comment, except for the part where you state that the sales gap between the Savvy and Myvi proves that the Savvy is not able. I think the sales gap is there because Proton have a nasty reputation (which they deserve), because Malaysians love Japanese products and because the Myvi had much better publicity and a better model range at launch, including the essential torque converter auto, as favoured by most Malaysian drivers, for whom driving is a chore.

The sales gap itself does NOT necessarily indicate that the Savvy isn't an able car. It's just not logical, because a good car doesn't necessarily sell well, just as a bad car doesn't necessarily sell badly.

Another example: the Volkswagen Phaeton is widely praised by car journos, so was the Fiat Multipla, but neither sold well, all due to issues peripheral to the actual quality of the car, such as styling and brand perception.

• savyandmyvi on Aug 22, 2005 at 9:31 am

pegi mampus la korang peminat Myvi or savvy..

tak habis2 nak bergaduh kat sini..

fanatik2 belaka..

padahal nak beli kereta pun lesen tak ada..

duit lagi lah..

blah laa..!

• napps on Aug 22, 2005 at 5:08 pm

i just took delivery of my savvy on saturday. had loads of fun driving it around shah alam + subang jaya on sunday. engine very punchy, interior roomier than expected. signal indicator too far from steering? what nonsense! it's just that it's on the left side a la continental cars, u need to drive it for a while to get used to it, otherwise it's just fine. my only complaint is just that there is some slight rattling noise from the front passenger's door, need to check on that later. otherwise, everything is good!

btw, have u noticed that the myvi's rear looks like rafidah's ass and the front looks like a frog's face? and u waited for how long now? 8 months? enuff said.

• automan on Aug 22, 2005 at 8:20 pm

Enough said… Bottomline, which one is going to be more reliable (less headache!) and lower operating cost? Having experience with both engine makes, my money is on the Jap. Get a mechanic opinion, just to be doubly sure.

• holy_cow said,

holy, do u own o buy 1 of this car?.

so how is a bad n good car in term of sale o resale n there technology's have to b, if there r good n not really good car that no different on it?.

Do there dont have any affect in the future on any way , if we buy a good car n a bad car in a time been s we can see in our market now ? . o car just a car to drive on.

• DAN,

There is a reason why computer keyboard has so many keys you know. I may understand if these were SMS conversation but for god sake you are way too lazy.

You are making it hard for people to understand your argument.

Or are you the type of people we call 'patuk ayam'? Typing on a keyboard with two fingers? Do you pause 5 seconds per alphabet looking for the correct key to press? hahaha…

• @ tony any way la. but u still understand wa.

in any way of correcter have there own shot form to present. tony i to lazy o u to lazy to understands n 1 to understand it.

we r talking about savvy & myvi not about me. any way who-care.

• I have a WIRA auto. It has not given me any trouble for the past fours years. My wife has a kelissa…. a good economical car, round around in town. My wife now dirves my Wira cos her legs hurts thus I am using the Kelisa for my almost daily 60 km trip to work. Although kelisa is economical it sometimes give me a backache and struggles going uphill. I may change the kelisa with a SAVVY (auto) for my wife and the Wira auto with a Wira manual. Like the ride and handling of the SAVVY after two test drives. Won't get a MYVI cos it too expensive, booth too small for balik kampong and the horn just like kelisa (pip sound). cheers….

• napps on Aug 23, 2005 at 5:34 pm

from what i can gather from the posts, buying proton is like playing russian roulette….if u get a good one, (which i reckon is about 75-80% of the time) it will serve u real good…..if u are unlucky to be the 20-25%, it will screw u up like nothing else…..hehehhehee

• Damn it on Aug 24, 2005 at 2:42 am

I'm 21 year old, but prefer Savvy. Myvi, hate it. Too spacious headrooom for what eh. Savvy, compact like a race car.really. Handlng wise, no issue, good while taking cornering. I think instead putting Waja Asia's answer for BMW,Proton better put Savvy, Asia and Australasia's answer for Lotus and BMW.hehe. Love to ride my blake savvy tonite.=).

To be frank, this truly a good car. one thing spoil of this car, the side mirror is kind a manuall adjust. Put the auto one lahhh!

• Stingray on Aug 24, 2005 at 4:04 am

savvyandmyvi: *LOL* … best punya komen kat sini so far .. kekekekeke

Savvy? : Your comments, a bit short-sighted, you know? SURE local cars would all close down if no protection.. do you know how long Koreans / Japanese protected their markets until they can stand independently? Much longer! … but the attitude here is different. Malaysians dont sem to understand that buying a fully local built car means reinvesting that money in the Malaysian economy and in the final score, protecting their own job… Just think, if it seems like tens of thousands is too much of your own money to "sacrifice" for a local car industry- but you rather give it to foreigners and bleed your own country economy to swell their fat pockets????

That is why I will always prefer to buy a local car.

Especially, since it's actually one of the most reliable with and affordable maintenance. Why do you think it has good resale value compared to exotic import? This is a practical concern.

Come on la. Proton has not really THAT bad quality. Sure the designs look a bit old previously. Still it IS one of the most reliable cars you can get. Audi, BM, Jaguar, Merc… all these are cars for ppl that can afford to send to workshop every few months bcos they have multiple cars plus drivesr to send them everywhere.

Anyway, ppl now very "aksyen" and very "want face". Rather take longer loan to buy foreign car.

LAaa… with this kind of Malaysian public, u Cannot win. If make new car with new design, people scared to buy. Too new. Prefer to buy old proven car with cheap price. But still complain, Proton still selling same lousy old cars….

• Savvy? on Aug 24, 2005 at 8:11 pm

The only way for Proton to really compete is a quantum leap in quality or sell really cheap. We are seeing neither. I am a consumer, I pay taxes and I pay for my car. I really don't care if the money is circulating in Malaysia going into some people's fat pocket, while you'll be paying 5 years plus interests for a sub-standard that you can deceive yourself about being patriotic or deceive yourself about "not bad quality".

We are made to pay too much for cars (local or otherwise) because Proton needs protection. And guess what, it's precisely this- many people deceive themselves saying it's patriotic or Proton not bad quality, that Proton will never be able to compete, and we'll have to keep paying SO MUCH for cars.

Patriotism has nothing to do with this. You're the consumer, it's your money (fr yr pocket), you decide.

• 'savvy?', can you guarantee the cars price lower without proton (so no protection to proton); do you think GOV people low IQ? Sure GOV will still tax the cars, proton or not!

;-)

• Stingray said,

August 23, 2005 @ 8:04 pm .

old o not old designs is proton also no R&D at all , that come from our own R&D people Malaysian people what i means. but still other buy proton o not is not a concern a concern is proton more than 20 years there should know how to do for Malaysia's . our money n hope not for Blaine people to test ground anyway.

• neurra on Aug 28, 2005 at 12:37 pm

all in all.. i just think that those supporting myvi are biased.. they just hate proton in the first place..

• Mat Jenin on Sep 02, 2005 at 8:01 am

Hello Guys;

Here's my own experience with Savvy:
    http://www.vespa.com.my/savvy/

• err…actually that review done by our (malaysian) guy, on Malaysian soil. Go buy Autocar (Asean edition) Sept.05 and you got that same review. cheerssss…

• popkorn63 on Nov 09, 2005 at 1:41 am

for me…..savvy and mivy are same at all..different title..just on mentality of malaysian make it so differents and gaps thats each others..common..all malaysian products is much good that outsiders…promalaysian.

• commentguy on Jan 04, 2006 at 8:57 pm

Hey-just wondering about the Waja ad someone mentioned here… Is is true-they said Asia's asnwer to BMW? Unbelievable…

• aerials (Member) on Aug 05, 2006 at 9:29 pm

i suka hollycow punya comment, kalau nak judge keta yg bagus dr jumlah jualan mmg x patut… macam mawi aa ramai yang minat ramai jugak yang nyampah…

• Nicotineman (Member) on Oct 08, 2007 at 4:31 pm

HAHAHA :D so much comments on Savy & Mavi :D
    Ok I’d drove a 2004 Gen 2 1.6AT for 3yrs,
    I’d pushed her to her very best,
    Raced her with a Mercs, Civic, Waja @ 185km/hr,
    JB-KL in 2hrs, 12am-2am, in heavy rain,
    In the end, only Waja & Gen 2 raced on,
    While the other 2 balless rich cowards retired our little street race!
    I even raced with a Singapore White Fairlady for 20mins in JB,
    Damn bloody hard to outrace that proudass,
    But I’d got nothing to lose,
    And I finally shaked her off after 20mins of blood boiling street race!
    At times, it’s not abt ur ride, but ur stubborn spirit to fight on,
    That really matters!
    Me & my beloved Gen 2 shared so much of life & death together,
    But due to current financial problems,
    I’ll be replacing her with a Savy 1.2AT HL ^_^

• I had an experienced racing Savvy with Proton Waja 1.6(M). tHE FIRST 30 metres that tough Waja was leading, but surprisingly Savvy managed to overtake and had won the race. Very impressive sound proof, solid and quite fast for a little car Proton Savvy. I thought my Proton Waja is fast enough due to its biggger cc compare with Sawi but suddenly beaten by this UGLY look car. I've planned to race on track betwween Viva n Savvy and i feel it's gonna be more interesting race.

• eddie on Jan 31, 2010 at 5:20 am

i've driving savy for three years,as all ppl know savy is nothing but a ugly looking car,ya it only 1.2 engin SOHC,but if u try it on Genting up or down hell u will know this not more then Rm37k ugly car not juz any other Rm48k can do,few month ago i've pay Rm48k something for a nothing then a good looking car Named "MYVI",it can't even do 120km/h in R18meter 90 degree down hell, corner,i almost bang a tree at the road site,so i sold it,for u guy are looking for cars that Rm50k below ask urself u want good looking or performence.

• boeyzmafia on Mar 02, 2010 at 12:41 am

im looking for an used car savvy…how about the maintenance cost???

• NRU43 on Apr 18, 2010 at 11:58 pm

…b.mafia, hvg Euro tech, maintenance cost doesnt hv to be necessarily higher
      …check the service records and get to know the rite people, it’ll be fun using the Savvy
      …all d best