Haze might be back on Monday

Updated at 1:01PM 21/8/2005

Malaysia’s Meteorological Services Department warns that the haze might return on Monday due to the predicted change in wind direction.

On the left is the wind direction on Thursday, and on the right is the predicted wind direction on August 22nd (Monday). The new wind direction will most definitely bring the haze back on Monday unless the fires are put out before then.

An excerpt from an article from The Star:

“We are working with the Indonesian Government on the project. Malaysia will bear the expenses while Indonesia will allow us to use its airspace,” he told a press conference yesterday.

Wow. What a fair trade-off.

Update:

It rained heavily yesterday in Riau, one of the areas with the most hot zones in Sumatra. Indonesia’s Meteorology and Geophysics Agency also stated that satellite photos of large vapour clouds showed the possibility of heavy rain today (Sunday).

An official from our National Meteorology and Geophysics Agency Taufik Hidayah says, “My prediction is that the haze will not arrive in Malaysia or Singapore in the next few days.”

Let’s hope he’s right!

You should also read this.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• hfrshah on Aug 21, 2005 at 4:30 am

oh wowie those sonsofbitches really dont know when to stop. the pay for oxygen stunt was bad enough(though it might appear as a pretty good laughing point to some), but now this?

there are rumours that the indonz suggested that Malaysia should do cloud-seedings over sumatera to stop the fires.. with this report i guess its true..

• sinleong on Aug 21, 2005 at 6:19 am

I'm really scared and questioned about the Government.. Why is our country so weak? Why are we have to suffer because some dumb neighbours can't watch their backs? During last week haze, government was reacting really slow.. We have to wait until it reach 500, only ask the people to stay indoors. Now, is like nothing happen again. I suggest the government to start distribute mask to people, publicly reduced the number of vehicles on the road. Stop all construction building. Cetralised all burning activities so that it can be controlled. Report every 15minutes the situation(if haze come back).. So far, when reach 500, only ask people to stay in doors. Radios aired 30 minutes of latest news. Advice people to stay indoors and drink lots of water thats all..

Even banned the open burning when it reach 500. I don't know about you, but the reaction was slow.. I hope the government to be more serious and more concern to the public safety.

• eAthena-Xeir4s on Aug 21, 2005 at 8:44 am

Agreed. Why do WE have to pay for what a goddamned neighbour is causing us for?

And it should be noted that Govt. Cash Flow comes from US , The TAXPAYERS.

1 Question :

Are we paying for haze and diseases?

One might argue that it's for our own good that Malaysia step in and put out the fires. But , NOT at our expense. My thoughts is , why not seed the clouds, and charge THEM for it. One thing , Malaysian Firms did NOT cause the fires, as the Indon Govt. said. We are not asking for compensation , hell , even our brave Malaysian are there , fighting the fires..'Nuff said….. JUST GET THIS OVER WITH!

• Maver on Aug 21, 2005 at 9:20 am

Ahakz… Probably.. Malaysia already send helps to stop the fire. Actually, the cause of the fire in Indonesia largely margin come from our own country companies… Yeah.. that's rite… Malaysian Born Company… Ahakz.. So Probably, there are no rite to accuse Indon for the haze…

• Victor on Aug 21, 2005 at 10:09 am

Pardon my shallowness if this is an uneducated question.

About the tradeoff. What are the benefits of Indonesia giving Malaysia permission for using their airspace? Malaysia will bear the expenses for the fire and also have to send planes to put off the fire?

• Victor: The benefits are… we are able to fly our firefighting planes in and put out the fires in their land at our cost.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 21, 2005 at 4:30 pm

I wish the wind direction will change and blow back to Indonezia. Sometime is nice to have some Miracle works! HELPS! some one should do some praying now.

• @ Maver,

It was reported that it wasn't our fault. In fact WWF Indonesia reported that a majority of the peat fires were in smallholdings owned by Indonesians. And here's the best pat, and I quote: "One of the biggest groups with 58 peat fires still burning on its lands is the Indonesian Government Oil Palm Industry (PTPN V), according to WWF." And now, apparently Singapore was sent a request by Indonesia to send waterbombing planes to Sumatra. Why is it that they have to rely on us when it is their problem? 400 Indonesian firefighters, a majority using buckets to fight fires…

Source: http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2005/8…

• stay indoors + wear mask la! bozos!

• hazu said,

August 23, 2005 @ 12:27 am

stay indoors + wear mask la! bozos!

—> Typical "Tak Ape" Attitude, kalou ade haze…stay in indoor la, kalou ade lebih 300 points…wear masks la…kalou ade 500 points…darurat larrr!! is same as kepala sakit…pi ubat kepala, kaki sakit…pi ubat kaki la…no surprise at all…if someone like him proclaim himself bozos…coz he is really 1.