Dr. M’s AP Formula

Dr. M has spoken again on the AP issue after a long silence. He was in Gurun, Kedah recently attending the 80th birthday bash that Naza Automotive Manufacturing Sdn Bhd had hosted for him.

There must be a balance. If the APs are to be issued, let them not reach a point where they can kill Proton and if Proton is allowed to progress, let it not come to a point where it kills other parties.

He didn’t mention any particular formula or ratio though. Anyone think this would work?

Source: Bernama

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• this only make Malaysia not gone improve on there own way. there think for them self that not for all Malaysian.

no other world have been practice this way. and no prove that proton have been protect till now will make it batter n batter at less proving it out.

• batter ke better?

• AlexC on Aug 26, 2005 at 2:22 pm

Talk cock!!! Someone must be senile here. Shouldnt be any APs in the first place. Putting a cap to the number of AP would even raise the value for it in black market. Say if you put 10,000 AP a year, so if by mid year you reach that limit everyone only can buy local cars then???

And can proton really progress until someday it kill other parties??? What, does this mean putting political parties at risk, shadows other major manufacturer's sales or putting a hole through malaysian's pocket with pieces of junk further??? I think the last is more likely…

• DR M, r u really sure that if proton someday might kill other parties, you will give a point that wont hurt other parties???? u r making a very stupid statement.

• Basically, he wants Proton to have control over imports. Which is about the same as that other stupid suggestion by some Proton dealer association bloke that says everyone else needs to get Proton's permission to import. In other words, bullshit.

• cameljoe on Aug 26, 2005 at 6:21 pm

More politico talk, sounded like a plan but all smoke and mirrors. The bottom line was that the locals was not brave enough to take the acid test knowing that they're short on capabilities. We do not want to see Proton fail but at the same time these ppl just can't run back to mama at the first sign of trouble.

Unfair competition will always be there but have Proton really made a product worth the admiration and commitment of local buyers? Look at Japan, Korea, US and Europe…..they have in someways meet consumer expectation why not here? They do not need gov't protection because they have the confidence and backing of the local market. Just my 2cents.

• iesnek on Aug 26, 2005 at 6:29 pm

wtf, kill proton? They don't need any help, they've already done it to themselves.

• conclusion is he dont let proton get killed, that's it. others statement all is bullshit , he just wan to bluff ppl to let ppl think that he very mercy to other parties. what i wan to say is………..nah!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• SEE FU on Aug 26, 2005 at 7:23 pm

Talk KOK ar? NO EYE SEE, MO GAN TAI HUI……..

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 26, 2005 at 7:24 pm

Go To BED lah!!!

• rafreez on Aug 26, 2005 at 7:52 pm

Proton has 2bil in cash, why dont the use all that money to go all out, do their best. Seek global market intensively, design or propose new line of cars faster. If proton new line of cars is ready, why not promote and produce new cars faster. Come out with SUV, MPV that now days are hot in the market. How stupid can some one be for not looking at the market demand. dont watc apperentice. if after they tried their best and we flunk…then at least we have tried our best. learn from mistakes not ask daddy's….but if really proton comes out with SUV or MPV cars like Toyota wish, the new fortuner, I'll sure buy one

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 26, 2005 at 8:15 pm

I think POTONG can make SUV or MPV but just they do have enough skills or cost management for those products, It will have bigger risk of Unsold conditions at oversea or even locally.

Apparently if products performance is bad or lower than Korean made, many problems and Cost higher than Japanese brand new models or even German brand, who will buy it? Everyone is know how to make a choice rights?

However, I do agreed with Rafreez that more practise and training will sharpen the skills. Therefore they should make the start sell the GEN 1 SUV/MPV and improve the cars slowly and upgrade the cars components design GEN3…10 with zero payment to Malaysian first hand buyers or give 1/2 price for testing the car from them. I think I will buy these 1/2 price car from them and feedback the problems to POTONG.

• MutantTomato on Aug 26, 2005 at 8:22 pm

Is it just me, or did you guys notice that all Perodua cars names begin with K, except MyVi? So imagine is they made an SUV. Being big and all, would they name it Perodua Kerbau? :D ahahahaha! Lawak Bodoh…. :p

Aiiihhhhhh…. I don't know why these Govt people and them Proton people don't get something so simple and easy; something us common "orang biasa" get. Just improve build quality and people will have confidence in Proton once more and people will buy Protons over other cars… Jeez! Its so simple really….

• they only invest money into their own pocket….. what they acting now is just shown that they got do something to Proton..

• AutumnAshes on Aug 26, 2005 at 9:45 pm

i think dr.M must be on dope when he said that. isn't it a reality of the REAL business world, where the fittest survive? if you can't improve, that's it, either you evolve into a better product or you become obsolete….but NO, PROTON wont do that! instead they act like cry baby asking for mother's help when they themselves can't handle their own problems. in fact, come to think of it, their mother has been helping them since they were born!!

• FiveElements on Aug 27, 2005 at 1:17 am

Another idiotic comment!!! I think Malaysian are generally sick of it!!!! What AP???? There shouldnt be AP at all. Does AP really help the Malay????? The answer is YES. Only those on the top (in the politics) and those who can afford to throw our ex pm a birthday party at this multi-million ringgit plant.

If PROTON cannot survive just closed it down. Or just sell it off. Damn….this people at proton are making shit loads of money where we the tax payers are in return ripped off by our so call NATIONAL CAR MAKER!!!!

It's just ridiculous that government own majority shares in corporations…..yeah..corporation like Khazanah……what the hack………????

Malaysian open your eyes, look around what is happening now!!!!!

• naruto on Aug 27, 2005 at 7:44 am

totally fuksht bullsht

• Mikael_Bonaparte on Aug 27, 2005 at 7:58 am

HIs baby la, Potong is his baby, his child, he wants to protect it, that's why. But business wise, it's plain stupid.

• Apai Mau on Aug 28, 2005 at 12:15 am

Better buy an MPV like the Grandis/Chariot/Innova etc. from these AP guys for a lower interest rate

• DR sss M.D. on Aug 28, 2005 at 6:25 am

what da F***!

• DR sss M.D. on Aug 28, 2005 at 6:31 am

Proton…dont be a child….try to improve ur self…not by this childish way..otherwise u all will not improved at all…..still at shit level…

• Waaaa…U all talk like u all can make beautiful in design and highly performance car…Do u know how much Proton or any car manufacturer have 2 spend just to produce a prototype car.? If Proton want to make cars that satisfy u all..I think most Malaysian wont buy it because of the price is high.U all said Korean cars have more quality than Proton..? Naaahhh…try to compare 2 years old Waja with Sephia..which car's engine make more noice like it have been 5-6 years old..Yeah I know most of the models by Proton having problems even they not even reach 6 months on the road.This are due of high volume production by proton..they assembled 3 times more cars than Toyota's plant in Sect. 15 S.Alam per day.More output that's mean less time to inspect the car thoroughly.High daily output but still buyers have to wait months to receive the cars.Imagine if proton slowing the output like toyota to maintain the quality.I think people like u guys the one will 'kecoh'.We cant compare Proton with Japanese manufacturer..they make cars long before Malaysia reached independence.U guys maybe not working with a car's manufacturer, that's why u dont know how hard to make a world class quality cars but still have to maintain it at a low price.Please take note..Perodua is controlled 49% by Daihatsu while Mitsubishi only held minor stake in Proton.Proton goes up or down wont effect Mitsubishi. I'll continue later..

p/s : Guys..dont forget..if not by Dr. M's visions and effort,Malaysia dont have it own national cars..he make the world 'realised' there's a rapidly developed country 'near' Singapore..like Malays said…"jgn jadi kacang lupakan kulit'.

• Wilfred on Aug 28, 2005 at 4:38 pm

Still want to being protecteed?????

com'on man….

20 years already….how long you still wanna under umbrella????

my next car…..will never be proton….

foreign car will be…..the least is perodua….

• Kanasai on Aug 28, 2005 at 7:20 pm

i m a proton driver… and many of my frens is also a proton driver. u know wut they think…. "Proton will not be their next car!!!!"

• Kanasai on Aug 28, 2005 at 7:32 pm

To Juan…

yeah… is so hard to produce home made car. but u think is easy to earn money and GIVE it to easy tak apa home made super low quality car? i think is easy for u to give it to them (for 20 years) but not for us. i felt cheated as a comsumer by Proton… of what? everything!!! n pls la, if others manufacturer can produce low cost but high quality car, then we too can do it. but again, why our national car, NATIONAL CAR FOR GOD SAKE!!! have such small tiny little problem like power window failure, unknown sound from engine, break sound, high vibration and droping parts (i think not enuf glue) to the bigger problem like overheat engine and paint came off!! is this wut we pay for!! i will be driving proton for another 2 years and by then is proton have not roll out with a better car, i op for Perodua or Naza.

• AlexC on Aug 28, 2005 at 9:13 pm

Went to showroom with a friend… new car price increase for AP will slit your throat… confirmed cars will have at least 10k price increase… toyota wish increased for about 18k itself… never ending increase to car prices even before the AP dispute is over yet… and yes wilfred, am not going to buy proton either… cant afford ap cars, cheaper jap or perodua for me too…

• mat kot on Aug 28, 2005 at 9:41 pm

kereta proton tidak bermutu dan mahal sekali ,bagi proton mati ,baru kita orong bolen dapat kereta murah . bayangkan toyota vios dijual dengan harga

iswara !

• mat kot on Aug 28, 2005 at 9:44 pm

kereta proton sebenarnya mejejaskan image negara and beban rakyat semakin berat berpunca drp polisi kerajaan. sampai bila Dr M sedar drp hakikat itu? rakyat benci sama dia!

• mat kot on Aug 28, 2005 at 9:46 pm

shame of you DR M !

• DAN as i always said, your english is kanasai la. really need to do something or all the pretty girls will not accept your thing in them man.

sad…..

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 29, 2005 at 6:14 pm

Today's The Star, Dr M wanna to return the cars to PROTON. Now Even he himself had suck with PROTON now. I sound like….Ambil baliklah, Take back the cars……Padang pun SAKIT MATA!!

• No choice…now he oni got potong to hold on…without potong he's a half-death man. If Abdullah and rapida gips his son another 1000 APs guess wat will happen?

He will shut the f*** up larrrr….its all about the quota larrrr…jibet u think snake would carry a human characteristic? nah~~~

• There is only 2 ways protong will survive:

1) Get other manufacturer such as VW to involve and start producing quality cars.

2) Abolish the APs and stops any mported cars to this boleh land. Well that time you and i runs out of choice and force to buy proton..that will ensure its survival.

• Dog the wan,

you seem to have your own interpretation of the whole article….

be contructive my friend…….dont just bombared……sound childish…

DrM returned the car the cars because he disagreed with the management not because ha had soar eyes….and if you read the article carefully, he returned the VW too…..what have you got to say bout that…..jeez…pleaselah….

• Juan…

I totally agree with you…… Proton suports local SMI= local economy…i am sure if they are allowed they would source for other manufacturers abroad to attain cheaper and better quality parts= better quality cars.

Its the same as Petronas. It bailed out MISC and MAS. DRM commented " why should i have a diamond=petronas in hand when my entire family= rakyat starve. makes sense………

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 29, 2005 at 9:09 pm

To Rave bro, I agreed with you. Return of VW not related to this article, actually I just wanna to remind Paul to add a new BLOG on Dr M return the car issue! Can ar???

• DOG THE WAN: I already did that lah hehe

• not really a sakit mata issue then…..Paul, good job man……efficient…

• Steven on Aug 30, 2005 at 12:44 am

I'm new here. Think that the whole culture of Proton need to be re-engineered. Many times when somebody is being protected such as Proton, they will just becomes so comfortable on themselves and Proton should've "wake up" because of this APs, cheaper import cars, better 2nd national car (Perodua). Seems Proton's 'protection' failed. But failed in a manner that it suppose to be a stepping stone to challenge the whole Proton to become more competitive.

Lots of examples and concepts that can be adopted here and there. Look at Toyota (Vios, Avanza, Hilux, Innova). They managed to penetrate all market segment with only a little 'trick'. Price is the constrained for them to manufacture purely in Japan so small step is to manufacture outside Japan to Asia countries, which there's lots of unexplored manufacturing site (China). If Proton slowly want to become competitive, I believe first thing is to come up cheaper with the current car that they can offer and then later comes the technological innovation and a better car. Many people will agree of what i say that if eg. Proton Wira did cost reduction from the start, they suppose to be selling at RM25,000 or below now given the car design changes at snail speed.

Learn to start from the basics again will be a better option..

• FiveElements on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:27 am

TO JUAN…..

Hey mate, no offense but you do sound like one of those out there who are waiting to be spoon fed, waiting for the whole world to bring meals to your bed site and clean up for you after you finish.

Common, just to be fair….you try and work at proton……try do a shit job there for 5 months….lets see if they will still keep you or FIRE you straight away!!!! Government has given them all kind of help and protection for god knows how long….so should the rakyat till put up with this lame excuses.

Common Juan is just UGLY……what makes u think we are no better than the Japanese??? We can do it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Just there are a bunch of clowns runing the business at proton.

• aksMS on Aug 30, 2005 at 9:38 am

Proton is trying too hard to be an European cars. They want to make a Gen.2 with a VW Golf quality, the base price sky rocketed. The SMI's couldnt find a solution to make better quality and cheaper parts. Why do they still wants Proton to babysit these SMI's I don't know. I do believe Proton is capable of producing a cheaper and good quality cars. Probably cheaper than the Korean if they are not babysitting anyone.

• adam said,

August 28, 2005 @ 9:33 pm .

a dam. my English is not yours, if u like to lick my ass just feel it but dont make noise. i dont see your english in this shot comment prove u really do will dont u.

• Quest on Sep 13, 2005 at 1:26 am

I seriously feel M'sia should allow foreign car makers to invest into Proton, and not keep holding to the Malaysian Pride thing. 20 years and the quality has taken a few steps back relative to other current makes and models. Tagging it "Lotus Tuned" next Tagging it Kleeman tuned? Geez, do something about yr quality 1st. If you can't do it, allow foreign investments ie. actual ownership tie-up with Volks, to do it for you. Then you can compete.