New 2006 Toyota RAV4 to be unveiled at Frankfurt Motor Show

Toyota will unveil it’s 3rd generation Toyota RAV4 at the Frankfurt Motor Show in September this year. When the RAV4 first came out 11 years ago, it set fire to the compact SUV market and the 2nd generation RAV4 remains a best seller in the European 4X4 market. The 2nd generation Toyota RAV4 is available locally as a CBU model from Toyota and is powered by a 2 litre VVT-i engine.

The new 3rd generation 2006 Toyota RAV4 will be bigger than the 1st and 2nd generation RAV4s and is rumoured to be powered by a bigger engine. There are talks of a 3.0 litre V6 producing 230hp, but nothing is confirmed.

Thanks to DOG THE WAN for the scoop.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 27, 2005 at 11:34 pm

Nah!! this is called SUV! Nice looking man.

• Rafidah on Aug 27, 2005 at 11:40 pm

better wait for Naza Sorento!

• armandd on Aug 27, 2005 at 11:40 pm

i hope that it won't be overpriced as the previous generation. nearly RM200k, very expensive lah…

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 27, 2005 at 11:55 pm

My pleasure Paul!

• hfrshah on Aug 28, 2005 at 2:34 am

the old one was priced at 174k-181k. this one should be around the same price as Toyota most of the time doesnt apply massive price-hike when replacing models.

if they ace the pricing, this car will kick Escape's butt

• Pentan Sakua... on Aug 28, 2005 at 7:10 am

Wahhh..why all nice car cost more than RM150K??? Below RM100K got none mehhhh……….?????????????? Like this mati hidup balik 10 kali also tak boleh beli…..

• China 2×4 and 4×4 to be launched in Sept 2005 called Dadi Shuttle and Dadi Tourer, CBU models to be selling from less than RM100K, 3 years warranty, service and engine oil. 2.4 litres… Watch out next month!! CKD will be out next year selling below RM85K, with ABS, Reverse Camera and Airbag….. something to watch out for…. value for money!!

• Petrolsaver on Aug 28, 2005 at 10:47 am

Huhuhu… Still Prefer An Electric Fuel Car, Rather Than Buying A Fully-Petrol Car… I Watch A Clip On Discovery, Believe It… Only 4.3liter For 100km… That Surely Would Be Tremendous…

• Dear Paul, can u blog something abot PSA-Toyota join venture in Chezh? I love to know more about it. 3 compacts cars from the same platform but different badges. Citroen A1,Peagout 106, Toyota AEGO. I'm eager..Maybe can be something for local automative players to learn.

• AlexC on Aug 28, 2005 at 9:15 pm

I think this car wouldbe priced at above 200k, comparing the current rav4 we have here… nice and bigger design, but even the current rav4 are over valued…

• the new model TOYOTA FORTUNER also very nice!!! what's the selling price?

• Its freaking cool man! but always a challenge to 6 foot guys like me..especially at the back seat.

• farid z. on Sep 01, 2005 at 5:38 pm

hey..do you guys know about the latest civic 7th or 8th generation will be launched at malaysia..?