Toyota Fortuner in Malaysia

Toyota has launched the Toyota Fortuner here in Malaysia with two models, a 2.7V and 2.5G model.

The Toyota Fortuner 2.7V has a 2.7 litre VVT-i V6 petrol engine which makes about 160ps at 5200rpm and 241Nm torque at 3800rpm. This TR family of engines has been developed specifically for use in SUVs and trucks.

For those who like diesels, Toyota Fortuner 2.5G is powered by a 2.5 litre 4 cylinder turbodiesel, probably the same common rail turbodiesel found in the Hilux. The diesel powerplant makes 102ps at 3600rpm and 260Nm torque at 1600-2400rpm.

The Toyota Fortuner has a full-time 4WD system featuring a Torsen LSD, with a second set of gears (4H and 4L) with lower ratios.

The dashboard design is the same as the Innova and Hilux but with different trim levels used to portray a different feel. There is a multi-purpose display above the center console of the dashboard that can be programmed to show various information. This feature is also found in the Toyota Innova.

The market leader for full sized SUVs is the Ssangyong Rexton for now which costs about RM170,000. I wonder how Toyota will fare against that beauty, even if it is a Korean.

With the introduction of the Fortuner, all three Toyota IMV platform vehicles are now in Malaysia. The other two are the Toyota Hilux and the Toyota Innova.

The Toyota Fortuner 2.5G is priced at RM161,104.69 while the Toyota Fortuner 2.7V will cost you RM178,023.80. These prices exclude insurance.

I really don’t know how well Toyota will do with the Fortuner as from what I’ve heard everything about the car feels pretty cheap, and it is based on a RM90,000 Toyota Hilux after all. Okay, maybe not exactly cheap but it does not feel like a RM180,000 car. Everyone was expecting it to be positioned in the 140-160K price bracket.

Check out my previous post for more pictures.

More information is available at UMW Toyota’s Toyota Fortuner portal.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Maybe Toyota is too embarrassed to price their car below a Korean make..

hehe

anyway, looks like its time for a Fortuner vs Rexton showdown…

Place your bets…

• michly on Aug 27, 2005 at 3:28 pm

Nothing surprise… just another SUV for Toyota.. the price is too high.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 27, 2005 at 3:48 pm

What a car from TOYOTA! Same old style, looks the same as old Harrier with new head lamps and rear lights. If RM80K I will buy one!

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 27, 2005 at 4:46 pm

Who wants to be Malaysia ASTRONAUT? Check your body and performance!!! Check the star today.

• observer on Aug 27, 2005 at 5:21 pm

paul, have seen the fortuner whilst in Manila. was released earlier, bout a month ago. Interior does look decent, but for 180K.. definitely not worth the money in my opinion :-S

• hfrshah on Aug 27, 2005 at 5:47 pm

Paul, the 2TR-FE is an inline 4 engine right?

180k is a tad too much, but hell its a Toyota so it wont bomb like the Everest did

• Is this SUV another product of the TOYOTA IMV PROJECT??

The rear and the side seems has the American touch which impressed me much. But the front is bit Siamese.

Please don't tell me that THE GREAT TOYOTA MOTOR COMPANY is starts using local designers at their plant in Indonesia and Thailand.

We may say that beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder. But we can never deny that beautiful auto design lies in the hand of American or European designers. Since when the Asian ever impress the auto world in designing car.

JAPANESE is for quality and innovative technology

WESTERN is for ''design'' and creative technology

While the rest ASIAN nations are for quantity only like the Korean and the Mainland Chinese.

• eventually people are hoping Toyota to produce car at cheaper price.don`t you know that Toyota is not `cheap car` manufacturer? :-)

• Why malaysia not lunching 3.0 ??? 2.5 …..scare will underpower…… the design look ok for me…got hilux plus harrier feel. But the price a bit high loh. Plan to buy one for 2.7….but i will do lot of research first..hehe…is money u know…

• cameljoe on Aug 27, 2005 at 8:27 pm

Way too expensive for a local assembled and IMV project vehicle. The Suzuki Grand Vitara is much better price, its the cheapest among the SUV, but not full size like Harrier and Fortuner. However, you are getting a CBU unit from Japan with a CKD price. Trim, quality, finishing, features on the Vitara is better and a 2.0L engine is much cheaper to maintain compare to the 2.7L Fortuner engine seeing the oil prices can only go up. UMW is getting more greedy!

• benghooi on Aug 27, 2005 at 9:10 pm

Everybody,

View the model today, it looks cheap compare to a Sorento or Rexton. Both Korean comes with Sunroof, electric front seat and rear disc brakes at almost similar pricing except road tax pricing are higher in the Korean makes. UMW is not giving us the best deal, just compare Fortuner in Singapore and Thailand. Their trims are better, eg. tyre Bridgestone Dueller is used whereas here I don't know what brand as they look like cheap second hand.

Toyota's 2.7l petrol engine consume at the rate of 11.4l/100km (as in the Japan 2.7l Prado specs) and I think we will be looking at 17l/100km for town driving. Just do the mathematics if you are driving in KL, RM 50 petrol for 2 days? It will be this cost when petrol price increases to RM 2.00/litre.

• China-made SUV alrea on Aug 27, 2005 at 10:41 pm

China brand like Jiangling, Landwind n many other China brand that sounds like canned food that make ur stomach ache already copycat this Fortuner….either directly under licenced from Toyota or some sleezy Chinese Mao-Zedong-idoled engineers steal the blueprint n bribe some China authority to joint-venture factory n roll off the models similar to Fortuner.

Later some conned Malaysian autocrats/ autoidiots to form some joint-venture mass produce, canned-food-style efficient SUV factory somewhere in Kepong, Jerantut, Ulu Tiram, Batu Pahat or some bogus idle cheap state industrial lots once occupied by rats kingdom…to become premium manufacturer of SUV – Sick Utility Vehicle, crooked from China, made in Kepong, Malaysia. Any federal minister please stop launching this sick product from China – gonna make ur stomach ache…even in lauching they provide free canned-food from China for titbits, hightea.

Fortuner—-May the fortune be with you! (Toyota, watch this tagline—its a killer…hahahaha)

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 27, 2005 at 11:14 pm

Paul, There is a small little concept car from TOYOTA called ENDO. Check this out!

http://response.jp/issue/2005/0827/article73746_1…

Sorry only in Japanese.

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 27, 2005 at 11:17 pm

New RAV4!!! Debut!!

http://response.jp/issue/2005/0827/article73747_1…

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 27, 2005 at 11:19 pm

Paul, This is my dreams Car!!

Click on the pictures….there are more……..more…..more!!
    http://response.jp/issue/2005/0826/article73622_1…

• armandd on Aug 27, 2005 at 11:27 pm

wahh, very expensive one lah…

• boon long on Aug 27, 2005 at 11:31 pm

the price is too HIGH! i rather buy Rexton because it is CBU model from Korea whereast Toyota Fortuner is made in Thailand! it is not worth to buy it!

• Rafidah on Aug 27, 2005 at 11:34 pm

stupid fool only go to buy this car! wait for Naza Sorento which is going to launch by end of this year. That will cost around RM110-130k only. It is worth to wait for it.

• better get your CBU Rexton while you still can. Competitive Supreme plans to make it CKD soon!

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 27, 2005 at 11:49 pm

With this price I can buy Mitsubishi EVO MIEV in year 2010. Cause AP system will be gone and no body using Combustion engine anymore!! FUEL CELL OR Full EV only on the road!! CHEERS!

Wanna to see ghost car or not?? Make sure you don't eat anything before you click this …..I will not responsible if you OMITTT…..the foods. 3,2, ….1 click
    http://response.jp/issue/2005/0823/article73564_1…

This car is C2 citroen ANDO…..Enjoylah!! HA ..HA

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 27, 2005 at 11:51 pm

Please continue clicking the photos……you will see more!!

• Pentan Sakua... on Aug 28, 2005 at 7:06 am

Wah…How come all nice car cost more than RM150K. Less than 100K got none mehhh?????????????

• Sorento Freak on Aug 28, 2005 at 7:13 am

Rafidah,

R u sure the Sorento will be CKDed by end of the year? If it is true then it will be wonderful. Hopefully, they will intall the VGT kit into the CDRi diesel to boost up power to 170ps.

• jedi knight on Aug 28, 2005 at 7:48 am

Toyota has been quite disappointing in their offerings lately, starting from the Avanza which i happen to own one. Only has a badge, doesn't feel like a Toyota at all. Same for the Vios and all the IMVs. These are not REAL Toyotas, IMHO, but models that have been squeezed out with older generation parts and designs for the SEA market. You don't see Toyota cars of this low quality anywhere else in the world. not even in neighboring Australia

• CHINESE 4x4 HALF THE on Aug 28, 2005 at 8:19 am

Watch Out for DADI of China (Shuttle & Tourer), with similar shape 4×4 and 2×4 selling for HALF the price of the Toyota Fortuner for their CKD models…. They will be launching their CKD models by January 2006. Their CBU models will still cost less than RM100K which will be launched in Sept 2005. These models will come with ABS and Airbags, manual and auto, 2.4 litre engines…

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 28, 2005 at 4:37 pm

Let's do some maths over here.

Tax 200%, original price is RM90k max. If this price is selling in Malaysia what is your comment?

That's why I always said if RM80K I will buy it!!! SEE!!

• DOG THE WAN said,

August 27, 2005 @ 8:46 am

Who wants to be Malaysia ASTRONAUT? Check your body and performance!!! Check the star today.

—-> Paul..open up a Blog for this 1…i am 101% sure our guys here got something to vent…

• Intended to trade in my re-con Harrier for this 1 if the price is around 150k…180k is too high for me ~~~~ i better hung on to my car until it gives me problem!

• a BUDGET car priced at Rm180K??!!

• its budging ur wallet…not really a budget car kekeke

• Vince on Aug 30, 2005 at 7:18 pm

Any aftermarket superchanger for fortuner? Under powered

• Wiraone on Aug 31, 2005 at 10:56 pm

Gosh, checking the price .. I don't know what is the advantage over RAV4 which has the same RRP as this one. But then again, there will be Malaysian who're stupid enough to buy them..

• hmm… after a short test drive of the 2.7 Fortuner, my comments are as follows :

1) for RM180k, does not exactly provide the class of trims expected. Seems to be a case of let's pacify the people with an MP3 player, leather seats and save on the dashboard by giving a plastic-looking one. Seems to be neither a luxury car (as expected with that price) nor just a basic car – an in between so to speak.

2) Aircond vents at the back of the third row seats only – second row? none.

3) Seats in the middle row is comfortable though.

4) Full frontal looks horrible – like the car decided it had to squeeze into some tiny space (then again, looks are subjective). I think the side and back looks are quite pleasing. Side stickers not to my liking though.

5) Ride? hmm…Malaysia is famous for roads riddled with potholes and uneven surfaces – will defintely not be an enjoyable ride over less than smooth roads unless you are used to off-roading and expect to enjoy a slightly better feel on the Malaysian city and town roads.

6) Great that it is big in size though.

7) Not electronically adjustable chair – somehow the Proton Perdana fares better here in their layout for adjusting the seats.

8) VVT (what-a-you-may-it) – not kicking in well.

9) Price? For 180k, expected the interior to be a little better.

Overall impression – It is just a "car" that you are paying for the space and the Toyota assurance (hopefully)

Would I buy it? Very reluctantly.

• Wait for DADI… its going to be launched this month. 3 years warranty with parts and engine oil. Less than half price of the Fortuner…. Built quality will not be as good as Toyota but defintely better than Nissan, Ford and Mazda, not to mention Tata.

Wanna take a peek at the car… email me, I was at the plant in China…

• Hi All,

Do blamed UMW Toyota for over pricing FORTUNER. All because of our goverment tax on SUV car is so high. The Labuan price for 2.7L (A) Fortuner is RM107k only.

• Sorry, is "Don't blamed UMW……."

• regular user on Sep 06, 2005 at 11:34 pm

Now everyone blames UMW for Fortuner at 182K (bad luck), later price of all other types of SUV will rise whether you like it or not unless you move to Labuan. Who to blame or whom to be blamed. One finger pointing at UMW, the other four should be pointing at tax lah,duty lah…. no end!

• wooone on Sep 18, 2005 at 1:07 am

Yo, dude!

I just bought a Sorento 2.5 CDRI, great in performance and looks. Interior is superb.

I booked the Fortuner before it is launch, quoted price 130k, but official price went up 165k, cancelled booking. And went for the Sorento.

Sorento 160k otr. compare to fortuner; leather seats, auto transmission, german design injectors, suspensions, gear transmissions and handlings. Beats Fortuner anytime…IMO Btw…I got two Sorento CDRI.

• wooone on Sep 18, 2005 at 1:09 am

oops, KIA Sorento CRDI, common rail direct injection, I am planning to increase its power to 168hp by installing an independant tunning chip!!!

• Toyota UMW Dealer on Oct 06, 2005 at 8:24 pm

Your can get RM20,000.00 discount when u buy the Fortuner….The UMW manager says the Fortunet dont have any ppl buy…so get many discount..

• keluarga69 on Oct 17, 2005 at 9:29 am

Really???….

Seen it in a showroom…. don't like it's interior quality… donno why!

• chredchai on Nov 11, 2005 at 6:09 am

sawadeekap,

excuse me i am from thailand…the fortuner here selling like hot cakes sending all other suv…real flat especially the ford escape top of the range v6 3000cc to a complete k.o

Can i ask you malaysian one question…that is how come nobody ever mentioned or even bother to campare the ford escape while it used to be very popular herein thailand. Can someone tell me is the ford escape never made known the malaysian or are there very few on the road that it's hard even fine a single comment on it ….i'll be expecting from this forum if anyone would be kind enough to leave a few lines.

• apexi_66 on Nov 22, 2005 at 4:41 am

Ford escape is not really famous in malaysia I think same in manila.There might be some owners but they might not be a knowing this site.

It's good to hear Fortuner is doing well in Thailand.One question I wanted to ask, is there any reported problems that occur in Fortuner in Thailand? In manila, there are some cases of Fortuner problems. Most problems occur with Innova model. Hope you can advise me on this issue.

• Aumary Heeraman on Nov 23, 2005 at 10:11 am

Good Day.

please if you can have a SECOND HAND Fortuner 3.0 G 2982cc 4WD 5MT, OR PRADO LANDCRUISER DESEL 3000 CC TO 3500 CC?

• chredchai on Nov 24, 2005 at 4:40 pm

toyota fortuner is produce in thailand and also meant for the locals here…as far as I am concern Fortuner is at present the most wonderful vehicle on the road. Thais who bought them almost everyone that I come across claims the car fun to drive with excelent steering feel and very comfortable highway cruising with such pleasant interior with very little noise intrusion. this vehicle seeems to provide a solution to people who are very much concern about road noise on long distance drive and for diesel with such little vibration and engine noise I suppose this is second to none.One final word…the whole nation is buying the hilux and Fortuner and the production line is here..if there ever is a problem after paying more than 1 million bahts I don't think they will spare the guy here.

• kerry on Nov 28, 2005 at 10:04 am

wow 1 million baht for the 3 litre engine,i.e 100,000 msian ringgit.toyota fortuner good value if sold at world price in malaysia.called toyota 4runner in us priced at us25000-30000 received good review.no complaints if priced at real value for a mid size suv.as usual MALAYSIANS U JUST GOT SUCKERED!!!!!!!!!!!!AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN.when will u guys ever learn?

• ;oiis on Nov 28, 2005 at 7:22 pm

i agree with the price of 1.2 million bahts for a 3 litre 2nd generation tubor diesel interrcooler engine in thailand which is just right for a pickup or other word a small lorry which what the Toyota Forturner afterall is. But nowadays who cares if you're bringing along the whole family in a lorry to the beach….no different than in a sedan.GOOD LUCK

• Mondy on Nov 30, 2005 at 4:28 am

Interesting to read all your comments on Toyota's Fortuner. We in India are eagerly awaiting its launch. We dont have much choice in that price bracket for modern diesel 7-seater as yet and you are all lucky to have so much choice available. Note that Fuel prices in India are very expensive wih Petrol at Rs 45/L (US$1/L) whiel Diesel is much cheaper at Rs 31/L (Us$0.7/L). There's the CR-V – (sleek but 5 seater petrol), Endeavour (Everest, tough looking 7 seater but non-CRDI diesel engine with shabby interiors), Tucson (Small), Terrcan (Old and expensive but with CRDI engine), Forester (staid looks and petrol, Grand Vitara (Being replaced, petrol and expensive), X-Trail (expensive at Rs2.5m ~US$55k) and the magnificent Prado (at Rs 4.0m about US$90k).

• Sunny Chadha on Dec 06, 2005 at 3:41 am

We are awating for the fortuner to launch in india as we do not have the choice for a 7 seater diesel suv.

• kok wai on Dec 27, 2005 at 9:33 pm

when's the toyota swiff coming in malaysia ???

• Dr. M on Dec 29, 2005 at 11:39 pm

Cek rasa, kalau M'sia buat satu SUV pon baguih juga no? Daripada naik Kembara..

• ctemblique on Jan 03, 2006 at 5:28 pm

Fortuner is a sexy SUV but reliability is a big question mark(?) I have read in one philippine site that diesel version got problems with D4D commonrail system plus the post of one guy from thailand on defects on it's brake system

• Philip on Jan 09, 2006 at 6:44 pm

All I can say is that the Fortuner is a brilliant car, 1.1 million baht here in Thailand means that buying any other car here would be a certifiable act of insanity. I've had mine about ten months now, been everywhere in Thailand and Laos, north, south east and whatever west there is in Thailand – and I couldn't be happier. I'm amazed that the car is so expensive in Malaysia – it's nudging Singapore prices there and that's crazy. My dad just came here for a holiday and now he is importing one from here to Australia – if I go back home I'll probably do the same and take this baby with me. I couldn't recommend it highly enough – although as I say, the fact that it's just 1.1 million baht is a big part of the appeal.

• khan (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 11:02 am

we dearly wants fortuner to launch in india,

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 12:48 am

Last week my dad bought a brand new Fortuner 2.7 (V-Spec), with an auto 'box, black paint, leather upholstery, dash-mounted CD changer with MP3 player, parking sensor…the list goes on… :) I've driven the car recently and I must say I'm pretty impressed with its level of comfort and refinement. Toyota's VVT-i engine is reasonably smooth and willing to do the job when required, although the auto 'box takes quite a while to kickdown when overtaking. Noise levels are well-controlled when cruising and near-silent when idle. The seats are nice, but the materials used for making the dashboard and other trims are a bit too hard. Apart from that, I suppose I can say it's good value for your money. I mean, you get 7 seats in a Fortuner compared to 5 in a Sorento…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 1:17 am

Oh and the engine is not a V6. It's just a normal inline 4-cylinder…

• domoteka (Member) on Aug 25, 2006 at 4:44 am

UMW is a very greedy company in deed! Selling the Fortuner CKD at such prices. In Thailand (as Philip said) a 3.0L see the difference, 3.0L Fortuner cost 1.1 million Baht thats 110K Ringgits.

UMW is so daring as they have been able to fleece malaysians (Bolehlah People) with their Unser and not forgeting their Toyota Kembara Long wheel base avanza. In my opinion dont buy anything from greedy selfish companies like UMW!

• tanswah (Member) on Jul 07, 2007 at 5:30 am

My toyota Fortuner was stolen 0n 03/07/07. I parked my car inside the car porch at 9:45pm on 02/07/07, when I wake up in 03/03/07 morning, my car was gone. I love my car very much and feel very annoyed. Hope the miracle will happen that I can get back my car. the chasis number is PN111NV5107001893, engine number is 2TR6201834. I appeal to everyone here please help. Thanks a million……..

• MR.S.S.LIM on Apr 16, 2009 at 6:19 am

Is there any one has the new stock of Toyota Fortuna/2.5 l Diesel(Manual Gear) ?

• car fan on May 03, 2009 at 8:16 am

i rather choose Alpharad than fortuner it also has 4wd also about same price. for off road i choose hilux. better look and fuel econmy.

for offroad and need to carry more passenger i rather take prado.

What do you all think…… Good deal right.

I saying fortuner is thailand made and cost like a BMW

• Malaysian on Sep 25, 2009 at 4:58 pm

In qatar 4000cc VVTi V6 is only QR120,000 (RM 150,000)…

• i want to ask why the fortuner disc pad so fast finish?
    juz 3 month only.
    i change new brake pad,juz 2 week only finish already.
    the rotor got scatch already

• The fortuner in malaysia very xpsive bcos govt imposed tax on imported car…pity 4 malaysian beside paying xtremly high tax for imported car, they also hv to bear the losses made by their national car company evry year…

• john lu on Apr 20, 2011 at 3:08 am

concerning abt the price of the auto cars matters in malaysia actually in many others country the cars price are 150 per cent cheaper than malaysia cars price. why because the govenment TAX too much. that is unreasonable for this . may be just to protect the proton saga but as eveybody can see the price of proton saga and etc the price of all these local made cars are not cheap any how.why why why ask who.

• john lu on Apr 20, 2011 at 3:22 am

haha every normal people in malaysia do not be angry and ask why the new cars are selling so expensive because of the very good govenment tax to the poor rakyat so that they can buy they own latest bmw or others luxury cars. ok no better way of these for everythings and others field to development and to compete. too dark and too much ……..everybody know all makan hapis from the bottom up to the top man.

• john lu on Apr 20, 2011 at 3:32 am

do not cry for cheaper better car because we live in the country which sell the most expensive cars only .not including oters like road tax or number plate cost . that is call malaysia boleh makan hapis. ok

• Playsafe on May 19, 2011 at 6:06 pm

FYI. In Guangzhou. Toyota Highlander SUV 2WD. Lowest version with leather seats cost you RM75,000.

• roslan on Nov 01, 2011 at 8:08 am

fortuner equipped with 2.5 turbo diesel is very bad performance specially highly mountain in sabah. Navara power is too much better. Time for Fortuner change engine to 3.0 turbo diesel.

• Steve Lee on Mar 30, 2012 at 7:07 pm

How do you RATE Toyota Fortuner braking DISTANCE??? Let’s do something, I rated it— Very VERY POOR! Too far, unable to stop effectively, very unsafe, I don’t know when I will hit some body just because of the brake performance. Should Toyota Recall this car?

• Anand on Apr 01, 2012 at 4:03 am

I totally agree with Steve. My fortuner is also having a similar problem. A couple of owners i met during my car”s service in UMW also expressed the same view. I think Toyota Malaysia should rectify this problem or at least make a statement in regards to this matter.

• Steve Lee on Apr 02, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Calling all Toyota Fortuner’s owner in Malaysia to join us and form a group to ask Toyota to rectify this problem. Please leave your email or contact details to join us, we will notify you for future action. If you don’t own a Fortuner, please inform those who own this car to join us. We do this is not only for the safety of Fortuner drivers, but also for the PUBLIC; just imaging that what if you knock down by a Fortuner just because it couldn’t stop effectively during emergency.

• Anand on Apr 01, 2012 at 1:57 am

I agree with Steve. My Fortuner has a similiar problem too. Many owners who i have met during my regular service in Toyota share the same problem. I wonder if Toyota can clarify this problem before a major mishap happens.

• exorbitant pricing