Volkswagen Golf R32

After the Golf GTI, Volkswagen prepares yet another hot version of the Volkswagen Golf. The next Volkswagen Golf R32 is set to debut at the Frankfurt Motor Show this September and will go on sale in Europe by the end of the year.

The R32 will be powered by a 3.2 litre V6 making 250hp, as opposed to the Golf GTI’s 2.0 turbocharged 200hp engine. The 250hp motor will be linked to either a six-speed manual or dual-clutch direct sequential gearbox (DSG) sending power to all 4 wheels. The DSG-equipped model goes from 0-100km/h in 6.2 seconds.

The bodykit of the Golf R32 includes an aluminium grille as opposed to the honeycomb black grill of the GTI, 20 inch wheels with brake calipers painted blue and nice shiny dual exhaust outlets at the back.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cameljoe on Aug 30, 2005 at 8:26 pm

Rocket in me pocket. 3.2L on this car, the petrol will run out real fast. Is this engine variable valve? It's gonna be price the same as the entry 3 series over here. Boo! Hisss!

• wah lan eh…the rim i suppose is a 19" one…such a tiny car with a 3.2 engine. really hidden dragon..crouching tiger lei

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 30, 2005 at 9:27 pm

How much is it? Paul, do you know it?

Damm Fast, but fuel tank level also drop DAMM Fast too. Small little monster!!

• FiveElements on Aug 30, 2005 at 9:34 pm

This will cost an arm and a leg….:(

• cameljoe on Aug 30, 2005 at 9:46 pm

both arms, both legs…and the house……..might as well sell the pets and family for monthly maintenance.

• ShaolinTiger on Aug 30, 2005 at 10:06 pm

I saw a few Golf R32's back in UK before I left, the previous mark, BEAUTIFUL cars man..

• Does this Golf(or any previous Golfes) has the 5-door version?

Please, anyone who knows…

The front is partially white in the center and the grill has changed. I think the white'ish part is bit spoiling the whole look of this compact VW. Overally, however it's still looks the way auto enthusiast wants it and I love it.

A compact car with a screen inside!! Wow, the middle class European are lavish buyer nowadays. This new VW Golf comes out when the oil price per barrel hit more than 70$. I wonder is VW miscalculate or mispredict the market.

Can someone tell me if the VW starts to manufacture their product from Proton factory, would the price goes down?

Please, anyone who knows…

• DOG THE WAN on Aug 31, 2005 at 12:00 am

The local assembly VW price will be cheaper than other original VW CBU price because of TAX issue, not the local vendor made it cheaper. I think the price will be the same or even higher, just remove the TAX of 200% on the European price. I think there is no localization of parts can be acheived in short time and most of the parts are supply from overseas (VW vendors). Only items like Tyres, Glass, Rims, Air/con for sure is local made first. Door handles, grill,…bumpers seats and door trim will be local made later. (In 1 to 2 years time)

Therefore, If POTONG made VW, make sure you guys get the very first BATCH. Cause most likely the parts of 98% will be original from VW. Slowly, you all know the story lah……This case is revise to GEN-2

• To DOG THE WAN

Thank you very much for answering my question.

• hfrshah on Aug 31, 2005 at 1:21 am

paul, the rims and tyres are the same size used in the Golf GTI – 225/40/18. it didnt need bigger rims as VW thought the Haldex 4WD system should be able to produce enough traction. the brakes are bigger..

the Golf GTI is available as a 5-door version, this is not

• Someone is no one on Aug 31, 2005 at 3:06 am

wallawehh….the design is damn cun but sure the fuel consumption will be sky rocket.i read in the star the gti version managed to use rm 150 value of oil in 3 days!must be more than 120km/h in every day driving.

• Verne on Aug 31, 2005 at 7:46 am

Yummy!!!!!!

• Baboonz on Aug 31, 2005 at 8:19 am

sweet. i love golfs and have one myself. Golf GTI Mk2 8V 1989 model. Runs so much better than my old honda i had. Although only 112bhp, i can still overtake on 5th gear.

Back to the R32, the Mk4 R32 does 19miles to the gallon in city driving, which is holy crap. your pocket would be dry in no time.

Anyways, I love Golfs, and i hope that they sell them in Malaysia. Hatchbacks rule (except for the satria, which is a waste of time. even the R3 Satria. Poootoooiiii)

• hfrshah on Aug 31, 2005 at 6:53 pm

the official fuel consumption according to EU Directive 99/94 for the MK IV R32 is (miles per gallon / litres per 100km)

Urban: 17.1/16.5

Extra-urban: 32.5/8.7

Combined: 24.4/11.6

so its not tragically horrible, just about the same as my dads W220 S280.

• Maybe the next satria's model will be the rebadged Golf..

• hfrshah on Sep 01, 2005 at 1:58 am

^ haha that would be a dream come true.. unfortunately for us all, Proton has almost finished the development of the next Satria.. but theres still an outside chance that car might turn out to be good. heres hoping

• (Newbie here, dunno anything about cars)Just wondering, why European/American car manufacturers need so big CC engine to make so little HP? Evo is only 2L and it can output more than 300HP.

• The difference is N/A and turbocharged. The American big CC engines are not turbocharged.

• hfrshah on Sep 01, 2005 at 3:44 am

plus American engines are comparatively low-tech..

generally, a larger displacement engine is more powerful than a smaller one. It is the easiest method of adding power since it neither requires higher rotational speeds nor complicated auxiliaries. for a low-tech engine to be powerful, mega-displacement is needed.

during the 50's till 70's, muscle cars were the 'in' thing in America. these cars need a lot of torque, thus big engines were introduced…. Chrysler started it all, introducing a 6981cc(426 cubic inches) engine. then Ford made a 427cubic inch engine. next it became a 'numbers race' between Chrysler, Chevy and Ford. as the Americans say "There's no substitute for cubic inches"

• cbljkkj on Sep 01, 2005 at 9:56 am

Finally the reincarnation of the R32 is here..20 inch rims?? that is madness