2006 Civic Si K20Z3 i-VTEC Engine

Honda has put a new K20 series engine in the new 2006 Civic Si. The new K20 series is called K20Z3 and has a number of improvements over the previous K20Z1 found in the 2006 Acura RSX Type S. The engine now features a bigger balancer shaft to smoothen out the revs and get rid of any vibrations. It also has a drive-by-wire throttle and electric power steering.

Every Honda owner who owns a VTEC engine-fitted car would also be raving on and on about the beautiful tone the engine makes when the cam switch to the high-profile cams. Armed with this knowledge, Honda’s engineers have actually worked on improving the sound of the engine from the 5800rpm to 8300rpm range. The Temple of VTEC calls it ‘aural nirvana’.

The drive-by-wire system in the Acura TL and TSX have been plagued by a lag which irritates drivers when they are shifting through the gears fast. Temple of VTEC notes in their test drive that this lag is very minimal now, and though it is still there it isn’t irritating anymore.

The engine is mated to a 6-speed manual transmission and good news… it has a limited slip differential!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• HondaIsGay on Sep 04, 2005 at 1:20 am

To be honest, Honda sucks and Vtec is like a big scam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
  • armandd on Sep 04, 2005 at 1:57 am

no lah…

• nohiddenagenda on Sep 04, 2005 at 2:15 am

ahah… now honda following proton.

• justanothermsian on Sep 04, 2005 at 3:19 am

Well, at least Honda engines are used in F1, see when our national pride Campro engine can be used in F1??

• stupid rafidah on Sep 04, 2005 at 3:34 am

no honda doesn't sucks,

does campro have vtec no,

that is why honda cars are always on top on endurance,it kicks in and give it the extra boost to last longer on higher revs check the MME

PROUD TO BE A HONDA DRIVER

• AlexC on Sep 04, 2005 at 3:57 am

Honda rocks!!! One of the best NA engine available with great fuel efficiency… VTEC is one of the best technology around for cars… wait till you hear the engine scream when it kicks above 6000rpm… DC5s are proven to be able to run above 6000rpm faultlessly for more than 2 hours, Honda guaranteed… doubt Mitsubishi can with their turbo evos…

• Johhny on Sep 04, 2005 at 7:42 am

I drive a one month old Honda City i-DSI. It is quiet, the ride very stable and it is fuel efficient too. It's value for money and best of all, I get 2 year's free service and 3 years warranty. 2 years free service means everything is free when I service my Honda City. Free oil filter, free engine oil, free spark plugs etc and free labour. I don't have to pay a single sen when I send my car for service during these 2 years. Isn't that great? Apart from that, I was given a Honda Privilege card where I can get 15% discount on any genuine Honda spare parts. Can Proton do this? Can Proton give 2 years free service? Honda is one of 2 most popular Japanese cars sold in Malaysia. The other one is Toyoita. Buck up, Proton! How can you beat Honda and Toyota? Honda and Toyota were given Malaysia Superbrands gold award. I bought my Honda City for RM78K++ after RM2,500 discount. The service at Honda is very good. Car owners, after driving a Proton, driving a Honda is paradise! The Honda City's interior is luxurious like the one in RM100K++ cars. Sleek looking and the boot is really spacious (500 litres).

• Verne on Sep 04, 2005 at 7:51 am

LSD on a stock Honda Civic, and it's not even a Type-R! Nice. K20s are lovely.

Guys, please don't compare CAMPRO with the VTEC-powered K20 Honda engine. It's not being fair. The CAMPRO does not yet have CPS (cam profiling system). Please do not confuse the name CAMPRO with CPS, as CAMPRO is merely the name of the engine.

CAMPRO isn't a bad engine. I don't know why people are slagging it off. The 150bhp CAMPRO at the MME proved very, very worthy even against the 1.6 Civics, doing consistent 2' 39"s laps is fantastic. And this isn't even the 200bhp that's coming out soon.

• Still toyota is way better then honda. city looks like flower horn. new civic looks like an ugly UFO. accord is nice but it is way over priced. toyota more practical and value for money.

• Cheah on Sep 04, 2005 at 10:11 am

Oh yeah, Honda's overpriced??? Go check the pricelist u toyota fanboy! Honda is as cheap and even more value for money than equivalent Toyota cars.

If u like to bash Honda so much, its only fair i add this; Vios has a rear seat that's as cramped as a Kelisa, Innova has a rear bumper so high its like a girl flashing her panties, Camry has an ass larger than a pregnant woman, Avanza is noisy and has horrid gearing; 4k rpm at 110kph!

You didn't like that did you? Then support ur statements with facts and not idiotic comments.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 04, 2005 at 2:52 pm

Hei! Honda make the best Diesel engine in the world, quite like gasoline engine and higher performance than europeans Diesel engine. I like all Honda engine, Powerful, quite and low fuel consumption, in other words is closed to PERFECT!

If you guys wanna to make comparison make sure is APPLE to APPLE not APPLE to WATERMELON. Not all the model made by the same company has the same quality, it is depend on the market segment. Example TOYOTA making cheap Economy van and luxury van too. You cannot said the Cheap TOYOTA ECOMOMY van cannot keep the quality as HONDA Luxury van. Not point!! Agreed???

• stupid rafidah on Sep 04, 2005 at 7:57 pm

haha

anyway we all support toyota and honda

yang kita tidak suka yalah plotong hahahahhaha

so bad me bash proton

yup can do 2 39',

so…

we now categorizing engine by cc what extra stuff we have in engine like high profile cam is extra stuff besides have u ever hear campro rev at 5k,its so damn noisy not like sports car its like grass cutter

hahhahahahhaha

ok lah honda and toyota rocks!!!

plotong sucks for now,hope they will rock soon

• hfrshah on Sep 04, 2005 at 8:22 pm

true until the CPS(Cam Profile Switching/System) & VIM(Variable Intake Manifold) equipped Campro engine is introduced, it cant be compared to Honda's i-VTEC..

if Lotus gives Proton a hand in developing the engine its gonna rock! Lotus helped in developing Porsche's VarioCam Plus and that proved to be miles ahead of Porsche's original VarioCam.

if the rumoured 200bhp 2.0 litre engine for the next Satria GTi is true, wow thats gonna be awesome

• Pepper on Sep 04, 2005 at 10:39 pm

Honda is good at designing interior……..while Toyota is good at designing exterior,it will be excellent if they both joint venture together…..

• What a totally weird, impractical idea of 'designing joint venture', and not even realistic too…

Just raises theirs designers salary, then the problem would solved laa!!

• heybadigol on Sep 05, 2005 at 10:12 pm

Hahah. Well, nobody's perfect. Not all Hondas & Toyotas are great. The City is ugly, hands down. And some of the Malaysian Toyota's are boring to look at (but not ugly). But these 2 companies do make some great cars: Acura TSX, NSX, TL and the Lexus IS200, GS, ES, etc. Sadly, the only way to get these cars are thru the importers & u better have a really big wallet to pay for them.

• Nonstop on Sep 07, 2005 at 5:29 am

Have a question here paul do u mean the VTEc is ectivated when rpm is over 6000. i was understood that VTEC is design to save fuel, to increase fuel economy while providing high power output?

• really???? hmmm.. increase fuel economy??… hmmmm

• seamonkey420 on Sep 18, 2005 at 9:16 pm

from my exp w/my accord.. the vtec kicks in around 4000 to 5000rpm or so.. its almost like another gear or feels like and sounds like.. pretty fun.. i'm actually on planning to trade in my 02 accord for a new 2006 civic si..

really, how can one say no to such a pocket rocket for so cheap!.. the way i figure is that i get a fun, brand new car for the same payments; just gotta tack on 2 more years of paying but worth it.. but then again, i'll have to take a few test drives in dec first.. hopefully not too snowy here in mn! hehe..

• HondaFan on Oct 01, 2005 at 12:39 am

VTEC has different purposes. In economy cars of course it's more focused on providing better gas mileage. In performance oriented cars like the RSX and Civic SI it's tuned for performance. Just like in the economy Honda's the gearing is a little longer while their "performance" cars have shorter gearing for faster acceleration, while giving up gas mileage.

Honda builds great engines, you guys don't know what you're talkin about :P

• honda chick on Oct 06, 2005 at 7:12 pm

everyone thas talkin shit on HONDAS are haterzzzzz… y'all can't stand the "fact" that civics better said HONDAS rule the roads, and who ever is sayin something bout toyotas .. wtf? toyotas are for familys with 5 kids .. awww of course u gotta drive a toyota (grandma cars) , but if u dont drive a civic u aint shit… especially with the new si's coming out .. omg thas gonna be the shit .. we gonna just watch all u haters stareeeee …. and say " omg HONDAS are the best " not one car can compare to us … not cobalts =)~~~~~ hahaha omg.. "chevys wtf? or any domestics ..

so keep hating haterssssssssssssssss

"girl racer" si

• FUCC all JDM haterz they can lic mi ballz niggah JDM asll the way the K20Z3 iz fuccen nice

• Penis on Oct 22, 2005 at 12:30 pm

Umm, why can't they work on a new RSX, instead of the damn Civic!

Who cares about a gay old civic, just a bunch of ricers anyway.

• I own a 97 sir civic with mods Apexi, vtech controller, this is one of the fastest 4 cylinder cars i have even driven compared to other cars seem like they have no power. Imagine a lil 1.6 engine giving 1.8 and 2.0 litre cars stress! I love them fastest non turbo cars around! Built to last !

• HondaGuy on Nov 12, 2005 at 4:07 pm

V-tec is the best of both worlds. It change cam profiles and duration depending on driver response. Its best of both, because at low rpm you can have a cam set-up that is design for fuel economy and reliability. At the same time when the V-tec engages it give you bigger lift and longer duration for added horsepower and to lengthen the torque curve. And if everyone would stop arguing, you would realize that both Honda and Toyota have the same thing, just a different name. Almost no difference at all.

• shin chan on Nov 14, 2005 at 10:15 pm

ehhhhhhhh??

• CIVICSI99 on Nov 22, 2005 at 4:11 pm

fuk the honda haters i currently own 2 hondas a civic si and an accord ex i like them cauze i could work on them myself and dont have to pay a shitload of money to fix them like i did to my ford

• Anti-Rice on Nov 27, 2005 at 12:57 pm

save gas, buy a Honda…

Budlight presents, Real men of genius…. today we salute you Mr. Honda Ricer.

You have a huge wing on the back incase you get airborne…

(background corus)You are clear for takeoff!

Neon Lights, Stickers, fuzzy dice… loud farting exhaust. You stick out like a soar thumb.

(background corus) what were you thinking?

0 – 60 in 6.8 seconds.. Civic, meaning group, everyone get out and push.

(background corus) woooooo soo fast!

So crack open an ice cold bud light oh Prince of Primer. This one is for you.

Mr. Honda Ricer Guy.

• they just mad cause they have to drive their moms van thats it …

• You people are all idiots……a vtec system allows the engineers to get the most torque possible from the motor at low rpms and the most hp at higher rpms

It's not a second gear or a rocket booster you ricers. And this is coming from someone that actually owned an elite honda (Type R) ….. not some ricer b16a2

• yourmom on Dec 07, 2005 at 5:21 pm

what's all this talk about V-tech and vtech?? Its VTEC. No dashes, spaces, "h"s, and its all uppercase….naturally aspirated, honda engines make some of the best hp/liter out there…they get great gas mileage and great performance…its a fact….

• zi-tinzi on Dec 09, 2005 at 11:12 am

When is 06 SI gonna be on dealer store? Date?

I am going to get it ASAP. 20000! For this one, dude, forget RSX.

• triad on Dec 15, 2005 at 1:02 pm

anti rice you are a pice of work you have no clue what you are talking about.1 the wing on the back helps at high speeds. and yes the honda is able to reach high speeds. my 98 integra ran 13.9 1/4 mile runs on street tires. you think you are a smart guy do the math on what the 0 to 60 would be on that. i get the most pleasure out of waxing the ass,s of mustang GT,s and chevy camero,s so here,s to you Mr real man of genius.

• Stealth on Dec 26, 2005 at 8:12 pm

13.9 in a 1/4 mile? Please. Ive seen 1.6 Ford Festivas run 11's with under $6000 invested in them. Not to mention but the Ford also had over 180K on the engine. Lets see a s}{itty Honda do that. I'll never buy another Honda. The idea of driving a suped up ecconomy car seems ignorant. If you wanna build a fast car make sure its fast to begin with or youll end up spending $7500 on parts just to get smoked by a stock TT Supra. Thats why I bought a Stealth. AWD and lotsa stock power. There are faster though.

• SportCompact on Jan 04, 2006 at 12:34 pm

Stealth,

You shouldn't talk about things you obviously know nothing about. 180K on a Ford? Whoo hoo, break out the champagne, a domestic car that actually made it to 180K. Big deal. I've seen the odometers on Acura Legends (those are Hondas in case you didn't know :rolleyes:) with over 130K and 300K in rollback miles. I personally know of 6. I've, with my own four eyes (glasses) have seen an 97 Accord at a dealership with 1,000,000 miles, most of them roll back. You couldn't put all domestic vehicles together to get that. And with your logic, people shouldn't supe up Cobalts, Neons, Focus', etc, but they do. Why? Because of the love of the game. Get a clue, dude. By the way, I'm not a Honda fan. I own an 05 Mustang The Si is a hot car, especially in person.

• RugMuncher on Jan 05, 2006 at 12:07 am

I dont get wat all you guys are argueing about….

If you want to buy some domestic car go for it

if yuo want to build a festivia up to run "11's" got for it

If yuo want to make some ricer with "the wing on the back helps at high speeds" you are retarded but hey go for it

but when some kid rolls up in the 2006 Si and not only beats you he looks better along the way dont act like a biatch just take it and stop complaining

• aaronacj (Member) on Apr 18, 2006 at 1:14 am

you you buy a turd with the "SI" badge on it?

Pretty much every make of cars now days has its own version of VTEC. Sure Honda was the 1st to use it in production cars, but now in 2006 everyone has it. I really like the looks of the new Civic SI, but im disapointed with the numbers that the engine puts out. All you hear about is 197 HP at the fly, but what happend to torque? i mean all it puts out is like 137 to the fly. thats bad. Horsepower sales cars but Torque wins the races. Ya i know that some of you are going to jump out with the whole it has a 6 speed thing, but that just isnt going to cut it. from looking at dyno sheets of the new 2006 si it seems that you have to be at 6k+ rpms to really take advantage of that engine, and from a stop you really have to feather that clutch to get as much power to the wheels, while trying to get a good launch. I think that honda could slap "SI" on a turd and the honda crowd would rave and and buy as many "SI" turds as they could.

Oh they said that this new SI runs a 15.2 in the 1/4… im sorry to tell you guys thats slow. Mid 13's is quick, and i wouldnt say your fast unless you get in to the low to mid 12's. I know that there are civics that run 12's but it takes alot to get there.

• Trinity on Nov 03, 2011 at 8:54 pm

You’ve really captured all the eessntalis in this subject area, haven’t you?

• 06CivicSiOwner (Member) on Mar 10, 2007 at 3:34 pm

Dude wtf are you talking about torque wins races, honda engines acceleration is based on engine speed not torque. Lets compare, New 06 VW GTI, 207hp 207 ft lbs of torque, New civic Si 197hp 140ft lbs of torque, VW 0-60 6.7 seconds, honda 0-60 6.8 seconds, VW 1/4 mile 14.72 Honda 14.93, however in a street race the Si catches the GTI as soon as it hits 100mph, so for those of you who are so concerned that torque wins the race enjoy that.

• aural nirvana on Oct 03, 2009 at 6:16 am

my old sm4 was swapped with vtec h22A. the performance is really amazing for the stndard engine.. extremely worth of money.. after this i 'll find h23A..

• aural nirvana on Oct 03, 2009 at 6:23 am

frankly speaking,the latest model of toyota is out of my view.. e.g. avanza,vios,innova,altis. but i still bear in mind Ae86,supra,mr2,.. maybe the designers of the latest model don't have the racing spirit in their soul. i wonder they r all was nerd student with 2 inches thick of spectacle.. hahaha..

• I have a Honda Civic 2.0s manual-2006model and I have a problem eversince 2006 that still occuring in the 2010. the problem is a squeeking sound when i released the clutch in the 1st ,2nd gear and in reversed. What should the casa do to repair it or change its parts to its nice performing driving comfort . The casa try to fix it but luckily when i reach 2000km run the same problem keeps coming back, its not nice coz im driving a honda that i want to keep for good.Please help COZ my friends told me that im driving a jeep not a Honda Civic. JET