2006 Honda Civic Dashboard

Honda’s interior for the 2006 Civic is screaming unorthodox. You thought centre dashboard meters were weird, but Honda has implemented a dual-tiered dashboard for this incarnation of the Civic.

The top tier or “level” features a digital speedometer, a fuel gauge and an engine temperature gauge. Honda says putting it at the very top closest to the windshield minimizes eye movements for the driver, letting them focus on the road more often. For the Civic Si, the top level also has an LED shift light which starts to blink red from 7400rpm onwards until the 8000rpm redline where it shines a solid amber.

The lower level is in the normal position just behind the steering wheel and it features a tachometer (RPM meter), odometer, warning indicators and in some models, a temperature gauge.

For the Civic Hybrid, the upper level also features fuel economy/mileage calculations and the lower level shows battery statuses.

For top-end models, the centre dashboard console also includes a 6.5″ LCD TFT touch screen which opens and closes to allow access to a single-slot CD player and a memory card reader which supports SD cards, CompactFlash cards and Flash ATA memory cards. The audio system can play MP3 and WMA files from these cards. You can control the navigation system and the audio system via joystick or buttons or via touching the options on the screen since it is a touch-screen.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• justanothermsian on Sep 04, 2005 at 3:16 am

Any indication when this model will be launched in Malaysia and what is the estimated price?

• sinleong on Sep 04, 2005 at 3:25 am

Its a super dash board!!!! Hope for more creative dash boards coming!

• stupid rafidah on Sep 04, 2005 at 3:37 am

OH MY GOD HAHA

cool for racers they only need to look at rpm and feel the speed

for those ahpek drivers only look at speedometer

:p

dun quite understand the concept. but still its nice

• AlexC on Sep 04, 2005 at 4:00 am

Its revolutionary… cool design coupled with state of the art technology… at least something different rather than the typical designs adopted by many…

• gegaoff on Sep 04, 2005 at 4:03 am

my GOD!! cool design!!

• hfrshah on Sep 04, 2005 at 4:21 am

that is soo friggin cool!! love the handbrake.. cute, yet sporty. genius!

• Wow!! I love the idea of putting the speedometer very close to the windshield for minimizing eye movements. It's a good mix of design between futuristic, practicality, and last-longs.

Is the RPM meters colour can be change (purple to red)?

Or it's an option for future buyers?…..

Could anyone give me the answer, please………

• such high end latest tec. when can we have it for the common good price..

wa cooler than the hottest girls i have ever seen..

• neurra on Sep 04, 2005 at 6:49 am

that's sick.. honda ppl are too damn technologic for real man

• Verne on Sep 04, 2005 at 7:45 am

I love the tacho, looks fab. Good stuff from Honda!

• littlemin on Sep 04, 2005 at 7:57 am

i think the purple RPM meter is for Hybrid model…

while red colour is for other models (or typeR model???)….

well~ tis is just my personal opinion…=)

• Next year's Japanese Car of the Year

• Well it looks like an alien space ship to me (exterior & interior) A little too "weird". But some may find it nice. It all depends on the person. But honda should follow toyota and come up with something practical and affordable ( vios, altis).

• Cheah on Sep 04, 2005 at 9:56 am

OMG… THis has got to be the best photo ever! Although i knew about the dash, these pics really show how beautiful they are. I am definately getting this car. Must save up, jump the City and go straight for Civic.

BTW, honda civic = toyota altis and honda city = toyota vios. Who said honda not affordable? City and Civic are just as cheap as vios and altis if not even more value for money.

• Hybrid??? I dont think Hybrid will launch in Malaysia, else I think we already have Hybrid civic for current model.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 04, 2005 at 2:36 pm

Unique looks! But I think this kind of weird looks can't last for long. Just after 2 years you will feel ulgy. People always say EASY like it EASY hate it! like a girls, easy come easy go!!

Honda should make something natural and long lasting image.

• Cheah on Sep 04, 2005 at 7:01 pm

We do have the hybrid in Malaysia, but in very small numbers. U need to get in touch with HQ to get it. Pricewise its almost the same as the normal CIvic cos Honda is subsidising the costs.

• hfrshah on Sep 04, 2005 at 8:01 pm

yeah the Civic Hybrid is available for RM 118,888.. ive only seen one on the road tho.. pretty sad, considering the price is very similar to Honda Civic 1.7L VTEC( RM110,000)

• Shireen k on Sep 04, 2005 at 11:59 pm

OMFG ……………….. PURPLE!!!! I LOVE PURPLE… OMFG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Stingray on Sep 06, 2005 at 10:35 pm

Same price? Wow… how about the running and maintenance costs for the hybrid?

• hfrshah on Sep 07, 2005 at 1:58 am

running cost is definitely lower, the fuel consumption is far far better.. and road tax is lower also (1.3 vs 1.7).. as for maintenance, for the first 7-8 years it would be just like a conventional cars', but after that the battery might need replacing and that is very expensive. plus second hand value is lower coz its not well known.

in the long run its more expensive… UK and US have tax breaks to compensate for the extra cost.. we dont have

• sharon scott on Nov 19, 2010 at 4:29 am

hello can anyone help i have 06 honda civic the VAS is lighting up on the dash and i havent got anowners manual with it does any one know what it means

Thanks

• Headly Thomas on Oct 13, 2011 at 12:24 am

When the IMP indicator light comes on (left of the steering wheel) what does this indicate?

• sameera on Feb 22, 2012 at 3:43 am

this is a one of my dreams….hope the dream will come true soooooonn……

• Michelle on Jun 18, 2012 at 8:59 am

on the 2006 Honda Civic, a white dot pops up every so often, but there is nothing by it to let you know what it is for. Does anyone know the meaning of the dot?

• Michelle on Jun 18, 2012 at 9:00 am

on the 2006 Honda Civic there is a white dot that pops up on the dash. Does anyone know what the dot means? It doesn’t say anything by it when it pops up. Thank you