2006 Hyundai Sonata in Japan

Hyundai is launching it’s new 2006 Hyundai Sonata in Japan, trying to lure the Japanese with popular Korean actor Bae Yong-jun in it’s advertisements.

The car will go on sale on Sept. 10 and cost between 2.1 million yen (RM72,000 roughly) and 2.68 million yen. Hyundai has less than 1 percent of the Japanese market.

I hate the current Sonata’s looks. Looks too organic to me, but this new Sonata comes with straight lines and a solid look.

The back reminds me of a Honda Accord. Twin exhaust.

No idea when this Sonata will be arriving on Malaysian shores. If it does, I wonder if it will still give the Camry and Accord a run for their money, as the Hyundai marque has been slapped with a tax fine. I don’t think it has a price advantage over the Camry and Accord anymore. Edmunds thinks it’s a better car than the Camry and Accord. Check out their review here. The Hyundai Sonata that they’ve tested is the 3.3 litre V6 model. If it ever comes to Malaysia it will probably be the 2.0 and 2.4 model.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• E-Nabill on Sep 09, 2005 at 1:41 pm

front looks like a lexus,back like accord…i saw one the othr day in kl,had a singapore number plate…

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 09, 2005 at 3:03 pm

Best ever looking car from HYUNDAI, Thanks to New styling designer from Europe!!

• If it does come, I'll get one in silver, and slap a "Type R" sticker on the back. And a "Nismo" on one side. Just to waste 15 min of every gearhead's time at the mamak stalls being all holier-than-thou.

The thought of that somehow fills me with giggly joy.

• cameljoe on Sep 09, 2005 at 4:20 pm

Koreans kept reinventing their products all the time and they're getting good at it. This is much better looking than the current car, rather a little Cefiro-ish in the Korean mould. Another bang for the buck winner, the dash looks a little dated could do better. Look forward for the test drive here.

• hfrshah on Sep 09, 2005 at 4:35 pm

the back looks exactly like the the Accord.. Hyundai Singapore said this Sonata is moving up-market, hence only the 2.4litre engine is made available..

design so-so only la.. doesnt have the road presence of either Camry nor Accord, plus the dash is nowhere as impressive as the big two.. if they dont have a price advantage, i dont see many people choosing this over the other two

• IT. LOOKS. SHARP.

• nuggyn on Sep 09, 2005 at 7:47 pm

like the clean and elegant look of this new Sonata….the front reminds me of Audi. overall, it's a good looking car.

• FiveElements on Sep 09, 2005 at 9:17 pm

MMM…looks like the korean has improved alot…..

• stupid rafidah on Sep 09, 2005 at 11:03 pm

simplicity itself is beauty

• Mivec Gti on Sep 10, 2005 at 12:41 am

front not nice.. old fashion.. back very cantik mah.

• hauzi on Sep 10, 2005 at 1:52 am

solid look,but its back juz remind me that it looks like accord…

and its front juz looks like hyundai another series of car…i forgot wat its name oredi…

but it still worth a try

• froggy frog on Sep 10, 2005 at 2:38 am

NICE? ok lar !!! u people blind is it.

• Hans 'Ti&Atilde on Sep 10, 2005 at 4:07 am

a shameless copy cat. steering looks like a massive lump of plastik.

• Proton Perdana - Fol on Sep 10, 2005 at 4:15 am

.".Hyundai Sonata with popular Korean actor Bae Yong-jun in it’s advertisements.."

Well, maybe the new Proton Perdana's advertisement shall be with local hot chick as well…maybe with super-hot Zila Bakarin? or merdeka flag-claded model Aida? or 5-men fantasy Ning Baizura with supermini skirt? or overly-seductive hot mum Linda Rafar? or the exotic Maya Karin? Its very important to show some originality accompanied with some erotic fantasy by driving the car itself.

(Jamal Abdillah's song Gadis Melayu would be the main/theme song for Perdana advertisement/ launching. Just perfectly all-Malaysian flavour)

Sonata is very good example for Perdana to follow: pick the best from Accord, Camry n mayb Cefiro(primera)…shake it well n we got all the best sedans flavour in one juice.

• E-Nabill on Sep 10, 2005 at 1:18 pm

nt sure about this new sonata, bt the old was was not a good car drive…i mean,compare to v6 enhanced which i drove recently…seriously,u wil know how good the v6 is to drive…its jus so responsive to wateva u do…the sonata is too soft,n nt much feedback….oh n btw,check out the review in whatcar magazine,only 2 out of 5 rating…

• Paul said:

"…the Hyundai marque has been slapped with a tax fine."

Hi Paul, I'm sorry I missed this bit… when did this happen and does this mean that all Hyundai models will go up in price?

• NF: Refer here

• FiveElements on Sep 11, 2005 at 12:24 am

Wonder what is the selling price when it comes to MAL. Around RM100K -RM120K???

Aiyahh PROTON, PROTON pls wake up, produce some good quality cars for the RAKYAT pls……to protect you cost the RAKYAT money……at least give us something reasonable back la…..

• a nice car for korean…..anyway its rear like accord but its roofline like camry ler……….didnt u seeeee……………hehehehehe

• hundai sime darby hev this model d………….sp is less then 150k

• sherry butt on Nov 26, 2005 at 4:15 am

the intire car got solid nd nice features …..baq is juss like accord but its shape is veryy verryyy koool , like it ya

• lalanuni on Dec 05, 2005 at 10:33 pm

its design is simply copied from Accord and VW passat..no more no less..:)

• forget about it ….. tis baby onli comes with 2.4 cc and it costs 160k …

demo car available in PJ Giant …

i'll rather get the accord ….. wat say u?

• GZOne on Jan 05, 2006 at 12:00 am

Front of a Chevy Lumina, Rear of a Honda Accord, Side of a Camry !!!

• Badrul on Jan 06, 2006 at 12:08 am

The price is starting from RM150K. So it is expensive , I rather opt for Accord 2.0 or recond BMW 3series . However i this new hybrid of Audi A6 – Honda Accord looks . Looks elegance , don't you guys think so ?

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 11:22 pm

My dear who trashed the Sonata’s price:
    The 2.4L Sonata costs only less than RM130k, who say RM150? your infomation might be distorted. Generally the car looks fine. It should be a good car but I personally don’t like several things about it.
    1) The meter is out of date. My god, still using LED green light. Reminds me of kancil. Haha
    2) The spare parts are well known to be expensive (I am doubtful if there are any imitation parts or “Water Goods” spare parts?). But this don’t really hurt me as I am a very good car owner. Take good care of cars is my specialty.
    3) I don’t really see any Hyundai service center around Cheras? Is there any? If do so, please tell me.

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 11:24 pm

Oh ya, by the way. A good imitation job has been done by Hyundai for its replacement Elantra. I’ve seen it and it looks alike like the Altis. I am quite shure that this car can sell because the price between Altis and Elantra would be heaven and hell.

• alvin_chan88 (Member) on Aug 20, 2007 at 11:25 pm

Oh ya. Last thing. My dear P1, please follow what the koreans do. Your marketing strategy really sucks. and the design really need to improve.

• jackychoi32 (Member) on Mar 22, 2008 at 10:12 pm

wow!!! Just be honest ok…. sonata, camry & honda accord among this three i prefer sonata….WHY!!!!! First is Value For Money….secound is quality as good as those so call well know brand… camry & accord… I did go for test drive… for camry and accord…. nothing special… while i test drive sonata the multi-link suspension is excellent…… everything is so soild and the engine is so silent and so smooth…then i think why should i pay more…. always think of value for money and the reliable of hyundai…then i buy one!!!!! so simple!!!