Suzuki Swift Sport

The Suzuki Swift is a zippy little car that’s on our shores in CBU form. Now the fun little car is going to get even more fun!

Suzuki recently unveiled the Suzuki Swift Sport. The Swift Sport comes in a 5-door hatch version for Japan but is only available as a 3-door hatch in Europe. The car basically has a sportier bodykit over the normal Swift and comes with 16 inch rims standard, with an optional 17 inch upgrade.

The car also receives a performance-optimized suspension which is actually lower, but the end result is not much difference due to the bigger wheels. The front brakes are larger and the rear drum brakes on the Swift are now replaced with disc brakes on the Swift Sport.

The 1.5 M15A DOHC variable valve timing engine in the original Suzuki Swift has been stroked up to 1.6 litres and the compression ratio has been increased to 11:1. These together with other tweakings has put an end result of 125bhp and 109lb-ft of torque in a car that’s slightly over 1000kg. The cable-operated throttle has also been replaced with a drive-by-wire electronic throttle.

The Swift Sport is the base car which Suzuki will be using for it’s Junior World Rally Championship entry so expect an even more souped of that car in commemoration of the WRC entry.

More Photos:

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lawanyer..tiap2 hari gi keje naik basikal nampak swift parking tepi umah isk..geram..belum tgk yg sport lagi

• Oh wow….I think I'm falling in LOVE!

• Andrew on Sep 11, 2005 at 5:06 am

I wonder when will Perodua come up with a tuned-up version of MyVi.

• Chapree Da Grande on Sep 11, 2005 at 5:07 am

Love the dual exzos, bigger wheels and new suspension

• aksMS on Sep 11, 2005 at 5:20 am

Paul, it looks good. Love the double tail pipe. But the 'drive-by-wire' is kinda a turn off for me.

• azam@dr on Sep 11, 2005 at 5:27 am

sesunngguhnya lawar mcmane pun… we as malaysian hanya mampu membeli donkey car = proton…

• stempek on Sep 11, 2005 at 5:36 am

huhuhuh…bile la mau dpt..

• aksMS on Sep 11, 2005 at 5:46 am

Paul, I read about Alfa 159. Do you have any idea when it's gonna be launched in Malaysia? Autocar mention that, right-hand drive will be available in UK market later this year.

• E-Nabill on Sep 11, 2005 at 7:02 am

actually theres a complete review of the swift sport in EVO magazine this mnth,it seems its not as great as everybody tinks,the reviewr said chassis needs mor taut responses…..btw the car has not been lowered,jus stifed up springs,probably wil sel around 100k…

• Love at first sight, ok i'll start saving now

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 11, 2005 at 10:45 am

100k.. whoa. Nice price babe.

If it's 100k many people will opt for the Sport I guess. Since its a mere 20k more.

And it's soooo good.

Love it baby.

• Wiraone on Sep 11, 2005 at 10:56 am

This is what we call a Mini's killer ..!! If you can't afford Mini .. Swift is the answer for sure.

• cheayee on Sep 11, 2005 at 7:52 pm

The ad for Suzuki Swift sucks….(the ones they are screening on tv and the theatres).

But the car design itself is good.

• I love the Swift. Can't wait for the 2door Swift GTi!

• honourMe on Sep 12, 2005 at 4:25 am

everytime i look at it will remind me of 350z.

• honourMe: I agree with you. It's like a mini version.

• swift has just become SWIFTER… omg.. droolll

• ijas_Eng.Camp on Sep 12, 2005 at 4:30 pm

Ranggii bebb!!!

• belacans on Sep 12, 2005 at 6:13 pm

drrrooooolllllzzzzzz! sluuurrrpppssss!

• mahagurusia on Sep 12, 2005 at 7:15 pm

Yup Yup, love this baby. No worries, I have been told that the rally version will be available by year end. One just have to pay an extra 100k, road worthy. (Sheet, should not have test drive the CBU, now I am addicted!)

• Johnny Boy on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:04 pm

??? I've drove one 3~4 month ago at the Suzuki's dealer in Taipan USJ………

Nice looking, but lack of fun……good effort though……….

• amouse on Sep 14, 2005 at 12:00 am

i have enough of all this, next thing you know naza took the licence to build the swift.. or maybe not, proton will do it. That really potong stim… overall swift is a very very cute car, babe killer..

• shang on Sep 14, 2005 at 12:15 am

it is already out in Japan, check this out!
    http://www.suzuki.co.jp/dom4/lineup/swiftsport/

• mawi…. ;)

• i mean.. mawi's.. :)

• in some ways i think myvi can be modified to look like swift

yeah low cost solution to those who crazed for swift but can only afford myvi

• saw one good looking swift with black sport rims

the black colour rims seem to fit it well…

i think black myvi also nice with black sports rims..

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Sep 16, 2005 at 7:21 pm

not look so good for me.

and not sporty at all..

miss match the sport-rim.

i dont know.. i look it very ugly lah..

• i bought a swift? ;) waitin' for it… woohooo!! heheheh

• soloooooooooo on Oct 03, 2005 at 5:45 am

is this model pictured available in australia

• adele on Oct 03, 2005 at 9:07 am

I have the swift ez and was told that only New Zealand will get the sports I have replaced the front with the mesh like the sports and have had exhaust conversion looks virtually the same and I am about to have the 2nd windscreen replaced at a cost of $720.00 each time only 4 months old have contact Suzuki and they say that I neglect my car no stones just come out to go to work and the cracks start from the bottom of the left hand corner and run straight accross to the top of the drivers side window. And as I have to wait for it to come from Japan I wait 5 weeks for the windscreen totally undriveable and I have actually driven this car 5 times and have only done 180kms.

Just thought I would let you all know and I know of 3 people that own the ez models and it does the same.

• I read Adele's comment about cracked windscreens. I have one with a cracked windscreen. No apparent stone chips. Does anyone else know if this is an ongoing problem?

• lenny on Nov 22, 2005 at 8:29 am

hi

can anyone tell me the name of the song being used in the new swift advert, not the one with Christiano Ronaldo but the other one?

• wan_knox (Member) on May 03, 2006 at 1:07 am

wow!! very nice.. but the price is still high.. perhaps the gov will reduce again the prices :p

• lavenderguy on Apr 26, 2009 at 6:30 pm

any facelift for suzuki swift or new version? this car has been on the market for a few years

• vipul on Feb 12, 2010 at 7:50 am

swift is the wonderful car of the year 2010