Naza wants to manufacture more Peugeots

Naza Group managing director Tan Sri SM Nasimuddin SM Amin plans on turning it’s new Penang plant into an exclusive production facility dedicated entirely to the Peugeot marque.

Naza is currently bidding for the rights to manufacture other Peugeot cars. It already has the rights to manufacture a Malaysian version of the Peugeot 206 for the regional market.

The construction of the Bertam, Penang plant is expected to start next month and to be fully completed by early 2007. It will have the capacity to produce 100,000 cars annually. The plant cost RM1 billion and was 60% funded by the company’s own generated funds and the remainder via borrowings.

Nasimuddin said the local Peugeot 206 is to be called the Naza 206 and will have 40% local content. He is tight-lipped on the expected selling price of the car.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• huhuhu…. naza206…(^_^)

like so interesting…. just such as caren to citra (",)

• E-Nabill on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:05 am

i wonder how existing peugeot owners feel dat sudenly their cars depreciate 30-40%…jus like wat hapened to kia carnival,new one was about rm16x,xxx,thn sudenly the naza ria came out,RM99,xxxonly….oh my…

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:07 am

Hahaha just as I predicted! Albeit it's named 206 as (Two – O – Six) not Dua Kosong Enam.

Well 206 is certainly a better name , but don't you think it's a bit unfair to Peugeot 206 owners? That the name got copied. =/

• Chapree Da Grande on Sep 12, 2005 at 9:04 am

So we can look forward for a dirt cheap 407 in couple of years time by Naza? LOL.

• Hans 'Ti&Atilde on Sep 12, 2005 at 9:25 am

Nazis are marching in… Terrifying news for existing Pug owners!!

• AlexC on Sep 12, 2005 at 3:13 pm

So guys, judging by the progress made by naza, seems like they're on the right track to success, probably even manufacturing their own car in future after acquiring the right know-how… any positive thoughts of having more than 1 national car manufacturer???

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 12, 2005 at 4:37 pm

Who cares P1 or P3……PX? NAzi or POTONG or…else, if they Make good quality cars with low price, final benefits must be the consumers, WE! if reverse way, Sorry we will still buying Import cars!

• nuggyn on Sep 12, 2005 at 5:39 pm

i guess the 2o6 owners must be cold sweating now…hahaha!

just imagine the rate that the Peug 206 depreciates when Naza launches its very own 2o6.

• dear nuggyn

ask all P206 user to sell the car NOW, before they regret. The money can be save to BUY a NEW N206 on a years' time.

he he ha h a :)

• Which one Naza would manufactures? The 3-door version or the 5-door version or both?

• Whats surprising is the announcement that the cars will have 40% local content.

• cameljoe on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:38 pm

Like I've said earlier, more Naza-Peugeot cars please. Proton should follow suit doing a Proton-VW cars, lets compete then!

• Adrian on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:46 pm

Isn't Naza's plant in Pekan?

• FiveElements on Sep 12, 2005 at 9:32 pm

Nasimuddin….smart move

• Albert on Sep 12, 2005 at 11:14 pm

Bravo NAZA a bold move to assemble Peu 206 and other model in the near future Mlaysian will love it. If PROtong still struggling to partner with VW because of M pride I think she will die standing soon.Malaysian are smarter lots now. They don't want to buy poor quality cars anymore.Syabas NAZA again..

• Biothing on Sep 13, 2005 at 12:20 am

NAZA will buy over Proton in the enar future! That Tan Sri was scared when other AP Kings wanted to do it before him, so he cerated the scene with AP brouhaha and got away with it because he was prepared with good infrastructure and public cerdibility. Smart move.. cunning.

• Wow Naza 206 when are we really producing our own cars hey but let us think, guess we will not. What happen to Proton guess everyone hate Proton y got into a ride, still comparing car prices of other countries. Guess Malaysians will never sacrifice for the country or national pride, we are selfish always and y r we putting local names on other manufacturer cars Naza 206 ??? What happens to Peugeot well too bad u want to sell in Malaysia change ur name wow so when are we going to manufacture Proton Evolution well easy just bring in the parts put it together and rebrand it then is a national car status, esh esh tak malu ke… sad to Dr. M well he may be hard in things it seems that i can see it clearly y our country is so stable and robust as it is very deprssing now well i dun need to spell it every business person should fell it…

• NAZA to buy over Proton wow that is totally scam guess some really high headed ppl involve in this coupe. Proton bought over by NAZA man bio if it happens then i guess this country really something man a car seller / assembly taking over Proton now i know y Rafidah cries everytime it sees Dr. M. Big time conspiracy when NAZA takes over Proton sad if it ever happens i will start buying foreign cars and let Proton just face off from this planet, Let us be taken over maybe we should be ruled by foreigner as well. No wonder Japanese always wins in terms of economy cause they have such a pride in their country that products even bad they will improve and yet maintain a great support, That;s what i called patriotism well in the case of Malaysia cuci tangan is easier just sell or to be controlled. NAZA i would say there is some great brains behind imagine when i went to NAZA Auto Mall a sales person told me their bos told them sales ppl is a waste time as he can replace them with kiosk and from here u know how brainy is NAZA boses sad if Proton is taken over by naza…

• Petrolsaver on Sep 13, 2005 at 7:35 am

Hurm.. I've Been wondering, what happened, when all over the Malaysia, are using Proton, or Perodua… Ahakz… What Will Happened??? Huh.. Naza try to manufacture, ferrari or lamborghini… :p

• pojot on Sep 13, 2005 at 7:36 am

LLCK,

sony, toyota, honda…these japanese superbrands i believe once were objects of ridicule. even by japanese. not all japanese product are a success story. there are dozens others but now they are obsolete.

the differences between sony, toyota etc and their doomed japanese brand counterparts are that they continously make technological breakthrough, won awards and earn rave reviews in the process.

to say that ppl who don't buy proton as unpatriotic and selfish is kinda unfair. proton cannot blackmail me saying i'm not patriotic enough if my dream car is range rover. its a dog eat dog world. i work hard for my money and i expect the best product/service when i paid for it.proton should earn my respect.

• pojot on Sep 13, 2005 at 7:39 am

japan got dozens of electronic companies. thats why sony is so successful. proton needs the same level of competition to push them to the next level.

• nuggyn said,

September 12, 2005 @ 9:39 am

i guess the 2o6 owners must be cold sweating now…hahaha!

just imagine the rate that the Peug 206 depreciates when Naza launches its very own 2o6.

—> well u are damn rite…look at those kia spectra, carnival, caren, hyundai matrix, atos owner…you really pity them when they spent their $ to buy the imported unit which such a price. My fren bought a matrix 1.6 costing her abt 80k now new matrix selling at abt 66+…how she going to sell her car later?? This is something really unhealthy and unfair to the buyer. Albeit the sales for peugeot car will drop radically until Naza came up with its own 206. Doubt top range like 407 or 607 will be manufactureed here as Peugeot dunwan to spoil their name!!!!

• Chapree Da Grande said,

September 12, 2005 @ 1:04 am

So we can look forward for a dirt cheap 407 in couple of years time by Naza? LOL.

—-> still many years to come mate…i dun think peugeot wanna spoil their top range as for now…and maybe 'sacrifice' the lower range to make up the path for this top range model.

So far local assembly are mostly low range for those big names…elantra, sonata, sorento, tucson these top range models are not assembled here if i not mistake…

• naza is dumb, peugeo on Sep 13, 2005 at 11:41 pm

206 model is already been in the market for more then 5 years. I dont think peugeot will let naza build a newly design peugeot cars like 407 and 307 locally. 207 coming out end of next year, so from what i think thats why naza can affort to buy up the licence from peugeot to rebuild a expire model and enhance. It is not a lost for peugeot, i think is stupid for naza to produce a outdated model like how proton do it.

• crowded Malaysia can fit in so much cars??? Everyday will have to stuck at trafficjam like hell. how long will our auto industry survive…??

• Maybe Proton has not earn us the respect but what to do it represents how we are… agree? I work hard for my money too and i'm driving a Civic 1.7 and a Satria, i have to say they are quite a big difference in prices but my satria seems to be good even at 5years old well guess Proton need to be consistent. On the new administration as always with govt. involvement Proton will never be a good car manufacturer if u know what i mean… so we have a great piece of technology but bad corporation which is drag down by politics. So too bad i pray hard for the national car then

• LLCK,

you are right my man!

• anis neiza on Oct 03, 2005 at 7:43 pm

ALLWAYS BECAME NUMBER ONE VEHICLE IN MALAYSIA.I SUPPORT YOU ANYTIME ANYWHERE.

• ynesh on Oct 21, 2005 at 1:36 am

cool move 4 naza…but please naza..can u produce a "rock-bottom" priced peugot 407!!

• kizdman on Dec 28, 2005 at 1:00 am

One thing that im very sure, quality of material Naza Peougeot is not same as Original Peougeot from france. Believe me