TechArt MAGNUM

This sure takes the cake from the RUF Porsche Cayenne. The TechArt MAGNUM is a Porsche Cayenne with engine and other performance upgrades as well as a new aerodynamic bodykit.

The original 450hp V8 turbo engine (500hp if you take Porsche’s 500hp upgrade option) has been pushed up to 600hp and 865Nm of torque using TechArt’s TA 048/T3 performance kit.

The kit consists of two larger turbochargers, a high performance intercooler, the TechArt sport exhaust system as well as a redesigned intake manifold equipped with a sports air filter.

0 to 100 km/h acceleration takes only 4.5 seconds and from there the speedometer needle continues going up to a top speed of 292 km/h.

The bodykit gives the SUV a wider and lower look. Very “VIP” I must say. I just hope no one tries to put spinner bling bling wheels on this beauty. TechArt has already tastefully provided nice five-spoke 22 inch sports rims wrapped in 295/30/ZR22 Continental ContiSportContact II tyres.

The TechArt MAGNUM will debut at the Frankfurt Motor Show 2005 tomorrow.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• 2centstot on Sep 12, 2005 at 2:18 am

…this is one blardy mean looking machine man!!……if this monster ever made its way to our shores….just imagine the road tax…fuel consumption….not to mention the illegal HID…hahaha…

• daniel on Sep 12, 2005 at 2:18 am

hmm… more and more upgrade turbokits coming out these days.. trying to cash in on the brand's popularity…

• 2centstot on Sep 12, 2005 at 2:19 am

….22' rims…hmmmm…i think even without the rubbers also can't fit into my MyVi…damn!!!

• Wiraone on Sep 12, 2005 at 2:46 am

Ruf is good at turning £30K machine to £150K one .. and this one is one of the beauty that it produces. As long as there is somebody who's willing to pay .. they'll keep producing new one like this.

• OH. MY. GOD.

This is definately a killer. If he pulls up behind me on the fast lane of the highway, I'm definately gonna chicken to the left-most lane.

• i would so love to own this… drooooooooooolin!

nice ride.. and i thought the stock cayenne was alreaday spectacular..

• 22inchers makes the front discbrake looks skimpily small

and dangerous :sweat:

• E-Nabill on Sep 12, 2005 at 5:48 am

the front look like some american truck,with chrome grill everywere,imagin,federal highway,looking at rear mirror,n see one of these tailgating u!!..i wont be surprise if the price is around rm1mil

• aksMS on Sep 12, 2005 at 6:04 am

Yikes!! The front looks like an ugly frog. Deng! Other than that….ooohh…such a sexy beast. Love it!! RUF is like Opel and Vauxhall, Naza and Kia. Hmm…since RUF is the brand name for Porsche in Uncle Sam, Paul, I must say that some 'P. Diddy' will turn this thing shiny black and put a very-very huge blink-blink lah on this beast…..heheh!

• karheng on Sep 12, 2005 at 7:11 am

i think the front grill is just butt ugly….

it could do with a sleeker outlook. Seems to me that it goes against the concept of the sleek Cayenne…

• holy_cow on Sep 12, 2005 at 9:12 am

To me, the Porsche Cayenne is one of the ugliest vehicles around that isn't a Ssangyong. The TechArt Magnum at least has the benefit of being one of the most heart-clenchingly terrifying things on the road, so that it doesn't matter how it looks, everyone who sees that Darth Vader grille looming in the rear-view mirror and doesn't have a stroke right then and there will probably leap out of the way too quick to pay any attention.

FYI everyone who's interested, I can confirm that there is actually one on the road in Malaysia. Just one. It's some sort of greyish-blue that shifts colours depending on which angle its viewed from – probably kind of like the blue-green finish on some TVR Tuscans. It has a single digit number plate. Anyway, find this lone Magnum and you can check how much that road tax figure is.

• Paradoxx on Sep 12, 2005 at 9:19 am

this cayenne is a concept from TechArt, and not by Ruf.

A Porsche is a Porsche no matter where in the world..Ruf is not a brand name for Porsche in the US of A…!

f.y.i Ruf & TechArt are tuning houses..just like Brabus or Ac Schnitzer..

• AlexC on Sep 12, 2005 at 2:39 pm

I like the lowered style of this car… awesome… and imagine the blowoff generated from this engine… if only there's any test drive for this car… willing to pay just to test it out, since cant afford this beast anyway… but the interior colour, brown, dont you guys think its a little dull and bland???

• Marmitecrab on Sep 12, 2005 at 5:38 pm

Actually, Ruf is recognised as a manufacturer in their own right in Germany. That's why Ruf badged cars do not carry the name Porsche at all anywhere on the car.

• nuggyn on Sep 12, 2005 at 6:21 pm

dunno why…i hate the front look, looks like Kermit Frog (sesame st.)

and with that grill, it looks worse!

nice interior though. so when will Dr M get one of this??

• Runner on Sep 12, 2005 at 6:39 pm

How many years to coming Tanah Melayu (Malaysia)?

• Johnny Boy on Sep 12, 2005 at 8:10 pm

Too much man, never get a chance to drive on though…Any idea how…..???

Drove GT3 once, but not my type, prefer F50 and Modena still.

• December on Sep 12, 2005 at 10:54 pm

Oh man, this babydoll is pure sex, exterior is a killer, interior…warm pussy.

I'd code HTML for this man.Period

• cameljoe on Sep 13, 2005 at 1:08 am

THATS's a bling SUV if there is ever one. A euro tech german bling porsche, wot more can you ask for? Put in chrome grills, spinners, chrome sideview mirror, tinted windows, a mean ICE system with fire-engine red interior. Ya, man, that'll be one smokin bling-bling snoop dawg all right.

• cbljkkj on Sep 13, 2005 at 1:32 pm

One thing can be said bout the Cayenne. No matter how magnificent the bhp output or what they do to it, it will forever remain an ugly car. Nice specifications though

• Johnny Boy on Sep 13, 2005 at 7:36 pm

For me, not only cayenne, but all Porsche models are ugly…..but still it is selling quite well.

As i said earlier, beauty is in the eye of the beholder…….or German…..or Italian……or Chinese…..

woppssss!!!! Im getting racist again…..Sori Paul.

• koel84 on Sep 14, 2005 at 4:47 am

It's outlook looks great but how is the performance? Can the Cayenne compare to BMW X5 In term of cornering at highspeed corner likes 230 kph?

X5 is cheaper, Porsche expensive….

• Hmm… is Tun Dr M getting one soon?

I think it'd look much nicer with a different grill design. Other than that, great stuff!