2006 Chevrolet Aveo Sedan (Daewoo Gentra)

Chevrolet’s distributor in Malaysia Hicomobil does not have an entry level sedan in Malaysia at the moment, unlike Singapore which has the Chevrolet Aveo Sedan. Think of the Aveo with a sedan boot like how the City is a Jazz with a boot.

The Chevrolet Aveo Sedan or Daewoo Gentra was previewed at the Shanghai Auto Show in April. It comes with a 1.5 litre E-TEC II DOHC engine. There are also 1.4 litre and 1.6 litre engines available. Engine offerings are likely to be based on the market it’s in.

The Gentra will replace the Daewoo Kalos, of which the current Chevrolet Aveo in Malaysia is based on.

Sales are to begin on September 21 2005.

You might be wondering why I file an American marque such as Chevrolet under Koreans. Most of the Chevys here in Malaysia are actually rebadged GM Daewoo cars.

Hicomobil should bring this in and put it head to head with the Kia Rio and Hyundai Accent.

2006/2007 Chevrolet Aveo

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Look quite a bit like VIOS..

• Yup. The body shape and headlamps especially. I couldn't find any rear shots.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 13, 2005 at 11:35 pm

Shape like a PIG! hate the looks,….sorry!!

• rainbow7j on Sep 13, 2005 at 11:40 pm

My friend test drive the 1.4 Chevrolet Aveo Sedan in singapore recently and found it very under-powered. After that he went and test-drive Vios at the same day, and guess what ? He booked the Vios on the spot….

=.=

• outlook is ok but not sure the room inside the car?? VIOS, the room inside the car is smaller than a wira.

• rafreez on Sep 14, 2005 at 12:02 am

yup…agree with haji, looks like vios but from the 1st pic, we can see that the meter panel is not at the center like vios. center meter panel I believe is only suited for girl drivers…:)

• December on Sep 14, 2005 at 12:13 am

To hell with Koreans.period

• napps on Sep 14, 2005 at 12:32 am

to december

hear! hear!

we agree!

• December,

I think you mean 'Korean Cars'

• cameljoe on Sep 14, 2005 at 1:32 am

That IS a Vios. Oi, is someone set us up on a joke? Great, now the koreans just the same like the chinese. This is bad, bad…bad.

• The current hatchback Aveo looks better.

• Gentra not bad at all, quite stylish.

• Aris Tee on Sep 14, 2005 at 2:14 am

awesome… looks real nice… hope to see it on the road soon :)

• E-Nabill on Sep 14, 2005 at 2:14 am

ya i agree,koreans suck wen it comes to design,thy either look copy cat of a diff car,or jus looks terrible….for godness sake,i cant believe how many of these junk cars are allowed to our contry…

• Daewoo Gentra – Daewoo Genthree – Daewoo Gen3 – Proton Gen2!!

Anyway the Gentra's grill seems better than the Chevy Aveo Sedan one. The Chevy Aveo Sedan looks like cheap car( or Vios too) while the Gentra looks like the luxurious American Chrysler one.

Talking about Chrysler makes me miss the Chrysler Jeep that used to be in the local market.

• Agree, agree with E-Nabill

• Hans 'Ti&Atilde on Sep 14, 2005 at 4:56 am

What a goofy korien metal. Many still din know Chevy the salib marque, is actually Diewoo in disguise.

• stupid rafidah on Sep 14, 2005 at 5:46 am

nice looks a bit like vios + ascent

• 2centstot on Sep 14, 2005 at 6:34 am

….to all the Chevy drivers out there….please take note..your cars are just a rebadged Korean Daewoo….so stop thinking you are actually drivng a AngMoh brand….

…here's another shocking piece of news i head from a ex-sales person of Chevy….most of these so call imported Chevys are actually un-sold stock left under the sun for like months before they are repackage and dump to our shores…i'm not sure how true this is but there is a way to find out….please look at your RC and find out the Tahun Diperbuat and Tahun Didaftar….then go look at the seat-belt (usually on the driver's side) there must be a little piece of cloth attach at the bottom of the seat belt that shows the date it's manufacture….compare it with your RC….the date should be the same as the Tahun Diperbuat….of the car….if you can't find this cloth or the date is not there..than there must be something wrong wt the car's manufacturing date….this method is use by experience dealers to ditermine the actual manufacturing date of Merc, BMW, Japanese and even Proton cars…..so go take a look!

• ijas_Eng.Camp on Sep 14, 2005 at 4:22 pm

toyota VIOS…Daewoo ViYoSH…

• ah lim on Sep 14, 2005 at 6:15 pm

e-nabil is the best…… agree with him……

• api-chai on Sep 17, 2005 at 2:27 am

yawn………. nothing to excite about ……….. yawn

• cmq…the front of chevy aveo 2006 is very nice

• …e costerà anche poco…

• bangau on Nov 12, 2005 at 11:02 pm

huarrrrghhhh….ya lor. the chevrolets here are kinda expensive, but the Optra is nice to drive actually. It handles better than the City or the Vios. feels a bit European when it comes to that. The interior too I think looks quite nice.

Is it really a salib marque? i thought it was a bow-tie marque. Well, what do i know about cars anyway. I just drive a boring E90 330i which tends to oversteer everytime I switch off the DSC. Yawn….

– test drive them before you judge them –

• alexzg (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 8:22 am

i have an aveo, but i lost my owners manual, where can i get it in digital form?, please i need it.

• alexzg (Member) on Sep 27, 2006 at 8:26 am

Hi, i have a Chevrolet Aveo Sedan but i lost my owners manual, somebody could say to me where can i get it in digital form?, or somebody could give it to mme, please i need it

• chaos40 (Member) on Mar 14, 2007 at 7:53 am

You can get a Chevy Aveo owner's manual in PDF format from here http://www.poiriers.com