Volkswagen Golf GT 1.4 TSI and 2.0 TDI

Volkswagen was at the Frankfurt Motor Show with a few highlights – 2 new Volkswagen Golf models, a Volkswagen Touareg W12 and the Volkswagen Cabriolet.

Following the Volkswagen Golf GTI and the Volkswagen Golf R32, here comes the new Volkswagen Golf GT. The Golf GT comes in two incarnations, a 1.4 litre TSI gasoline engine and a 2.0 litre TDI diesel engine.

TSI is a Twin-charged version of Volkwagen’s FSI direct injection engine. TSI stands for “turbocharged stratified injection”. This little 1.4 litre monster makes about 168hp and 240Nm of torque at 1750-4000rpm. This big amount of low-end torque is achievable through a supercharger that works up to 2000rpm before the turbocharger kicked in.

I blogged about this Volkswagen SuperTurbo system previously if you want to read in detail. For normal driving, this powerful yet frugal engine gives a mileage of 7.2 litres per 100km. Comparitively, my aging 1.6 DOHC engine in my Satria 1.6 uses about 10 litres per 100km.

Performance stats? 0-100km/h in 7.9 seconds and a top speed of 220km/h.

Europeans love hatches and Europeans love diesels. The other Volkswagen Golf GT is a 2.0 TDI engine which features the same twin-charging system employing both a supercharger and a turbocharger. Power output is identical to the 1.4 litre petrol engine – 168hp, but as with all diesels – maximum torque is a massive 350Nm at a low 1900rpm.

The interior is sporty and very “no-nonsense”. I think you should be able to notice that the boost meter graphic I have on the right side of my blog’s banner at the top of this page is actually the Volkswagen Golf GT’s boost meter :)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ah lim on Sep 15, 2005 at 3:44 pm

cantik…. but no money……. the engine so compact…… base on power should B ok…. value, better by luxury cars…. besor Ckit…….

• excellent power plant & twin charged system, how good if 'potong' can have twin charge in its product. haha… super wira… waja…..—-> more accidents……

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 15, 2005 at 5:45 pm

I like the interior, simple!! and the engine layout ….clean looking and well arranged.

• rafreez on Sep 15, 2005 at 6:43 pm

engine nice also no point…unless u open the hud then only can see…:P…money money money

• Jason on Sep 15, 2005 at 8:28 pm

The Europeans love to stuff the engine into a tight space.

• akari on Sep 15, 2005 at 9:27 pm

the screen between meter just like handphone's lol

next model maybe they colour it n maybe u could set ur own wallpaper? XD

• E-Nabill on Sep 16, 2005 at 12:22 am

askari,the car alarm oso can put mp3 ringtone !

• Suresh on Sep 16, 2005 at 4:36 pm

I like this car! good mileage and interior is pretty nice.

• stupid rafidah on Sep 16, 2005 at 9:59 pm

interior sucks too airplane-ish

should be more souped

• To me, the engine in this car is one of the most significant small engines to have come out in recent years. We are talking about 170bhp from a stock standard 1.4l engine. To put it into perspective, we are talking about 2.4l power with fuel consumption similar to a 1.6l. Plus, for Malaysia, you get all this performance and get to pay at the new reduced road tax rate for cars below 1.6l.

• Wolfgang TUV on Sep 17, 2005 at 9:09 am

Excellent car !!!!!! …must buy…

• neurra on Sep 17, 2005 at 9:35 pm

huhu.. i wonder if tuners will have superturbo for national market..

• carlos on Sep 20, 2005 at 6:14 pm

Jason said,

September 15, 2005 @ 12:28 pm

The Europeans love to stuff the engine into a tight space.

WTF? thats a 1.4 4 cilinder block! they've managed to shove a 3.0 v6 in there!!

• Useng on Oct 15, 2005 at 11:16 pm

My i know the expected price of this car?

• Looks nice,but i think is bit too much for 1.4 engine.you would expect at least 2.0l engine for 170 bhp.wonder how long does the engine last if driven fast all the time.

• pmcleish (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 3:23 am

My last 3 cars have been VW's:

– a 2.3lt V5 Bora (Jetta)

– a 2.0lt Golf Sportline

and 2 weeks after they released the Golf TSI in AUS, I bought one – best VW I've ever owned!! 1.4lt, but you'd think it was a V6!! Better fuel economy, better acceleration, and great fun to drive! Haven't regretted it yet.

PeterMc

• ront (Member) on Dec 22, 2007 at 6:50 am

tested the 2.0 TDi…..engine is quite noisy while driving…..and also the noise from the surrounding is quite loud….

but its a powerful engine…..sweet acceleration….