Audi Q7 Hybrid Concept

Audi unveiled it’s Audi Q7 concept together with the worldwide unveiling of the Audi Q7 at the Frankfurt Motor Show 2005.

The Audi Q7 Hybrid Concept employs the use of an electric motor together with it’s 4.2 litre V8 FSI engine. The electric motor provides 200Nm of torque, and the V8 FSI provides 440Nm of torque and 350bhp. Those are huge numbers, and they’re put to the wheels through a 6-speed tiptronic transmission with Quattro permanent all-wheel drive.

The resulting fuel consumption is around 12 litres per 100km. That’s ridiculously good, considering the car is 2410 kgs and the engine is huge.

There has been a few changes in the engine bay over the conventional gasoline-only Audi Q7. The air cond compressor and power steering have been switched to use electricity power instead of powered by the engine. This is so they would continue to operate when the vehicle is operating under electric-only mode.

The electric motor which makes 200Nm of positioned between the engine bay and the torque converter, and there is a clutch that engages or disengages so that different drive configurations of combined electric-petrol, petrol-only or electric-only can be achieved. The battery system is stored at the rear under the boot compartment. The sunroof also has solar cells allowing the aircond to operate while the vehicle is parked under a hot sunny day.

With the additional torque of the electric motor, the Audi Q7 Hybrid is 0.6 seconds faster than the conventional Audi Q7 at 7.4 seconds in the 0-100km/h test. The conventional Q7 does it in 8 seconds.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• What Biothing would says about this??

• Michly on Sep 16, 2005 at 10:23 pm

Wahlauyeaaaa…… only Rm19.44 per 100km ..Huge powerful car with this fuel comsumption… cheap cheap .. Malaysia got or not.. ..

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Sep 16, 2005 at 10:35 pm

whoaaa.. this is the THOUGH car..

hybrid oso.. local made hybric car? never heard yet.. so proton is out of tech. p2 oso..

audi look sooo though. the design oso..

if i got lot of money.. for sure i gonna buy this.. :D

buy yet. i just can afford a motorcycle and my old car only.. huhu

• cameljoe on Sep 16, 2005 at 11:12 pm

What's the diff between the Audi All-Road and this Q7? Looks more or less the same. What's up with that?

Yo, Paul, check out Daihatsu com, the D-compact 4×4 could be the next Kembara! Looks great, cute and sharp design. Very sporty, very fasiohably SUV-ish. Looks very production ready, maybe we can get that by mid-2006? No word from Daihatsu if D-compact will be in production.

• The Audi All-Road was the development car that lead to this Q7.

I know about the new Daihatsu, got it queued in my blog post. Very nice!

• awtar on Sep 17, 2005 at 12:24 am

it is amazing for its fuel consumption in view of its size and bulkiness. Hybrid technology will dominate one day. At that time i hope proton has fixed its power window problem……

• rafreez on Sep 17, 2005 at 1:14 am

I hope car manufacture espesially PROTON will rush this hybrid cars ASAP cos I dont want the moment I buy my dream car (WISH) a year later all fully petrol cars is out of date…old…scrap…obsolete….since hybrid is so fuel efficient why dont the whole world just stop manufacturing fully petrol/diesel engine and start deplying with hybrid….SAVE EARTH….sorry got carried away…

• The Audi All-Road is based on the A6 Avant (wagon variant) with adjustable ride height. The Q7 is whole different SUV platform. It is based on the Audi Pikes Peak concept shown earlier: http://www.germancarfans.com/news.cfm/newsid/2030…

The Audi AllRoad sits up to five people, the Q7, up to seven people.

• Oh yah. The height is different. My mistake.

• Paul Said:

"The Audi All-Road was the development car that lead to this Q7"

Wasnt the Q7 based on the VW/Porche Touareg/Cayenne?

• yes, same platform… but they developed it further with the Pikes Peak. the Q7 is much longer than the cayenne or touareg.

• December on Sep 17, 2005 at 10:27 am

Audi has always been my personal favourite…good shit

• Biothing on Sep 19, 2005 at 5:35 pm

yo bob!

Sorry ive been sleeping. I have to say Aayyeee! and n what will the price be in msian soil? And indeed why not PROTON or NAZA or anything else Malaysian jump on this bandwagon. Yes, instead of NAZA spending RM1 bil on new plant (since AP king has lots of money fed since Mahathir era) and nothing against Peugeuot (right spell?) why not just buy the techno from Toyota or Honda, and produce Hybrid in Msia…..!!!!

Of course Audi is owned by Volkswagon. And to think that NAZA is spoiling the whole Proton Volkswagon thing!! SAD STORY

we want hybrid (repeat many times)

we want it now!!!

• RugMuncher on Jan 05, 2006 at 10:35 pm

has anyone else nticed the rim trend latly? 5 star with double spokes.