Proton Volkswagen Equity Deal Unlikely

Sources familiar with the matter have said that Proton is unlikely to go with the equity stake exchange deal with Volkswagen AG, instead choosing to go with a tech agreement instead.

If the tech deal goes through, this will mean Volkswagen will take 51% control of only Proton’s engineering and manufacturing units and not a stake in Proton Holdings Berhad.

Proton had informed Bursa Malaysia on Monday that there was no significant breakthrough or developments in it’s talks with Volkswagen so far.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wilfred on Sep 17, 2005 at 12:17 am

see..seee….hoping to get the technology….but prevent foreigner from taking over control…nice step……but….will then VW put more effort on this….??? a question ahead…

• awtar on Sep 17, 2005 at 12:21 am

aiyo….if the deal fails, that means we still need to buy iswara for another 20 years.. Really bad news.

I suggest Perodua to take over proton to increase their plant utility rate. MYVI and Avanza waiting list are too long. If Myvi can be manucfatured in Proton Tanjung Malim state of act plant….it is going to benefit both parties.

Furthermore, it is face saving for proton that refuses foreigner to take over.

• rainbow7j on Sep 17, 2005 at 12:31 am

with all the internal problems back in Germany and tough competition looming ahead in China market, it is hard to foresee what is going to happen here

• hauzi on Sep 17, 2005 at 12:41 am

interesting issue huh…..

juz hope they can produce some GolfGti kind of cars..

• ooo.. Proton is become wiser!!! They're moving in the right direction at the time being for the talk with VW..Watch out!!!

Let's see if VW is more interested in their manufacturing facility.

Engineering?? yeah,,, VW yesteryear tech can still proton latest tech… Proton have to becareful for the deal…

• Ruben on Sep 17, 2005 at 12:55 am

Well, i noticed its only manufacturing and engineering. The management is still managed by cronies, which well, might not be a big diff after all.

• Pentak Sakua..... on Sep 17, 2005 at 1:05 am

PI MAI PI MAI TANG TU JUGA……EVERYTHING THEY WANT TO CONTOL,BUT THEN THEY DO NOT KNOW HOW TO CONTROL.

• cameljoe on Sep 17, 2005 at 1:31 am

This is kiasi, "afraid to die", in this case afraid to surrender all but proton motto is "dare to be different" so should take a chance, be a silent shareholder and let someone drive la like perodua.

Why not? option run out, local talent run out and time also run out, so it is really time to be different for the salvation of the company current and future well being.

Btw, minority shareholders got a say ah? How come sidelined?

• api-chai on Sep 17, 2005 at 2:16 am

kakaka……… who would wan to buy only the R&D & Engineering department of a company ?? Honestly VW's R&D + E department are miles ahead of Proton's ever gonna be……. save a few respect for Lotus, I'll bail out of this agreement if I'm VW

VW: How much u wan to sell ???

Proton: RM2 bil, but only the kitchen !

VW: RIGHT !!!…………………

• api-chai: you must remember that the division VW is supposed to be buying includes the manufacturing division. VW can use it to manufacture its own cars.

• boringest on Sep 17, 2005 at 2:38 am

They are aiming for the extra manufacturing capacity in Proton City lah i think =)

so does this deal include Lotus' engineering expertise as well?

• api-chai on Sep 17, 2005 at 3:09 am

Paul: Spot on there…… I admit I overlooked that part ! I've just read the article a 2nd time.

It seems like Proton is trying to tie VW to take their Engineering & Manufacturing unit as one. Its either VW take it or leave it kinda thingy……… VW knows they don't need the engineering unit, but they might need the manufacturing unit. Proton is trying to persuade VW that this is a marriage made in heaven.

• bumboy on Sep 17, 2005 at 5:30 am

nobody remembers lotus

• E-Nabill on Sep 17, 2005 at 6:46 am

i tink negotiations like this takes a long time,if u rememebr how long it took GM to take over daiwoo,i tik abt 2 yrs plus,bcos there are too mnay fine details to be sorted out,its such a big biz,n both parties must get wat thy want,it must be fruitful for both VW and proton….i believe proton have a national interest,thats y thy dowant to let go easily probably want more than vw wants from thm ,werseas VW s a biz corp purely with no national or political interest …will see how it goes…im stil convicned it wil go through though,knowing how desperate vw is to enter the asean mareket…fingers crossed!

• Dear Awtar,

you say "I suggest Perodua to take over proton to increase their plant utility rate. MYVI and Avanza waiting list are too long. If Myvi can be manucfatured in Proton Tanjung Malim state of act plant…."

this is a big BIG no NO, P2 quality is above P1, if Myvi and Avanza manufacture in P1 plant, die liow, Quality sure drop, and the "tidak apa" attitude will come in. :)

• why so fond of VW actually? VW = continental cars; if myvi and savvy case to take into consideration, the mass in malaysia so phobia of continental car in particular the engine i.e. from renault. what and why do you think malaysian will accept VW wholeheartily?

first thing first, change the management from khazanah (they are investors, accountants, auditors- what they know about cars) to maybe Sime Darby, Syed Mokhtar (MISC, DRB-Hicom), Naza or other real business people/groups

secondly, choose partner other than continental cars manufacturers, my best bet definitely from japan (renault/nissan can be considered since renault already have relation with proton…

;-)

• Selvenz on Sep 18, 2005 at 12:49 am

Just sell Proton and all will be OK

• Biothing on Sep 19, 2005 at 5:54 pm

Hey, Malaysia so samll we don't need too many car company. We need just ONE. The big Q is, will it be Proton, DRB, Sime Darby or ??? We are wasitn time, money amd resources if we donlt do this quickly.

Let's face it, this is a fight between TunM (through NAZA) and Daim to control the most lucrative sector in Msian economy. everbody else watching on the sidelines

Who looses, we – the tax payers!!!

we want hybrid (repeat many times)

we want it now

• Johnny Boy on Sep 19, 2005 at 7:03 pm

Jake, wise thought, pls email to P1 and make sure they listen…..hehehe….