New Perodua Kancil / Kelisa coming down our alley?

[ UPDATE: The Perodua Viva has been launched! Click here for full details on specifications and pricing, as well as many clear photos of both exterior and interior! ]

Reader Syah sent me an e-mail with the following pictures of an unmarked car being tested around the Malaysian roads.

It’s definitely a car from the K-car class… and it looks very Daihatsu style. The back looks like a smaller Kenari.

I snooped around the net for Daihatsu car information to identify which Daihatsu this is and found it here.

It looks like the current generation Daihatsu Mira which is being sold in Japan.

The photos are confirmed to be taken in Malaysia as in the second photo with the back of the car shown, the car is seen to be parked next to a Ramly burger stall. I don’t know what other countries have Ramly burger stalls :P

Now what would a new Daihatsu Mira be doing being tested in Malaysia? Is this another new model up Perodua’s sleeves? It does not make sense to add an additional model to the current line-up, so will it be a Kancil Replacement Model or a Kelisa Replacement Model?

I’ll end this blog entry with a few more shots of the Daihatsu Mira’s interior as you can’t tell how it looks like inside from the spyshots.

Update: Why do I think it’s a test car and not some car from Thailand that just drove into Malaysia? Well, have a look at the Satria Replacement Model photos here. The number plate used for test cars are similiar.

Perodua Viva to launch in May 2007
Perodua Viva Photos on Forum
Perodua Viva to be unveiled mid-2007
New Daihatsu Mira launched in Japan
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) sighted in Mines
Kancil Replacement Model (Perodua Viva) spotted!
Kancil and Kelisa Replacements in first half 2007 (Perodua Viva)
Upcoming Perodua Kelisa replacement?
Could this be a Kancil Replacement Model?
New Perodua Kancil / Kelisa coming down our alley?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• dSaint on Sep 18, 2005 at 12:16 pm

maybe an updated model of the kancil? new batch, new body. or kancil SE, or LE.

• If it is the Kancil replacement, at least it's better looking than the current version. The current Kancil line looks so Eastern European you know?

• could be kenari@kelisa updated model (^_^)

• yusmady on Sep 18, 2005 at 4:27 pm

it good la. more choice espc low cc maaa

• spotter on Sep 18, 2005 at 5:22 pm

The licence plate looks Brunei-ish… So might be the actual Daihatsu Mira direct import from Brunei

• U…G…L…Y

• ewww

• teslarage on Sep 18, 2005 at 6:30 pm

The interior looks fine to me but I am not the type of guy who would like the exterior. Too early to tell anyway. Maybe later on can accept the looks :)

• Cheeli on Sep 18, 2005 at 6:44 pm

The photos are confirmed to be taken in Malaysia as in the second photo with the back of the car shown, the car is seen to be parked next to a Ramly burger stall. I don’t know what other countries have Ramly burger stalls

—————————————————

are u sure, paul? maybe it is Thailand / Brunei / Singapore car came in to Malaysia?

but glad to know if it is true, when it is gonna launch?

• izudeen on Sep 18, 2005 at 7:12 pm

i believe the picture are the CBU model that is being test drive here

if it is really a new model, for obvious reason they will wrap it with black tape like the previous Proton/Perodua models

anyway it is just my opinion

• stupid rafidah on Sep 18, 2005 at 7:30 pm

kelisa rm

• The reason I think it is a test car and not some car coming in from overseas is it has the same testing type of number plates as the Satria Replacement Model. Refer to this picture.

• Sg's number plate starts with S something, like SCH 1234 Z like that if I am not mistaken.

Thai's number plate is some siam language that you won't understand. Not quite sure if they have english version of it, but last few ones that I've seen was definitely… un-saman-able. Unless some police so pro can read and write siamish.

Brunei's number plate I have no idea tho.

Anyway, BXXXXA is not just used for test car. Quite commonly used for all sort of unregistered new cars. Seen quite a few driving around KL last time. Seems to be a temporary number plate until you get an official one.

• J: This BXXXXA is also seen on those new CBU BMWs which Puspakom or JPJ are test driving before they are delivered to new buyer.

• narrowband on Sep 18, 2005 at 9:22 pm

agree with 8555. ugly!

• Thos blue plates are known as trade plate.Not only new cars, but second hand car also used this type of plates.Why?Because this car don't have road tax + insurance.Trade plate is expensive+insurance covered under it also expensive.Bxxxx,Wxxxx,following each states plates.Do you know why Perak have the registration number starts with A? Because it is the first state in our country to register motor vehicle, followed by Selangor (B), Pahang (C), Kelantan (D). After that only they start using the first letter from each states name like Wilayah (W),Melaka(M) so on and so fourth…

• NSDS3HvLDjJd on Sep 18, 2005 at 10:15 pm

Seatbelts for only two in the back seat hmm….

• dondon on Sep 18, 2005 at 11:03 pm

how come sarawak's car plate number is "Q" instead of "S"? malaysia so many state til sarawak had to queue up and get a "Q"? lolz…

anyway, i don't think the production model will look sth like this, this is too ugly. but i do believe there's sth up perodua's sleeve. coz my friend's aunt works in perodua and she said around next yr or 2 yrs from now we'll see new model of kancil, and there might even be a "sport edition" or "aerosport" edition of myvi coz the project has started.

• Am I the only one who thinks its not ugly?

• Cheeli on Sep 19, 2005 at 12:05 am

it is not ugly, but too ordinary, squarish (but better look than Kenari) and no suprise to the interior~

• awtar on Sep 19, 2005 at 2:53 am

i had heard rumour of kancil replacement model coming soon…so it is possible it bases on latest model of Daihatsui Mira.

• rainbow7j on Sep 19, 2005 at 3:33 am

the back looks exactly like the MIRA …….

• rkaru on Sep 19, 2005 at 5:42 am

The back seat looks like a sofa-bed.

• Xoomie on Sep 19, 2005 at 6:02 am

YUp… we are looking at the Kancil Replacement Model..

wonder how much it's gonna cost

• Hans 'Ti&Atilde on Sep 19, 2005 at 6:42 am

rear pillar lights are so passé..

el cheapo metal box for the masses.

• I agree with Paul. I dont think its ugly at all!

The interior is… would you agree if i said almost as good as the Myvi?

I hope that it would replace the current Kancil and not the Kelisa… not too fond of those round head-lights and that center dashboard meter..

Or do you think the Perodua could be replacing both the Kelisa and Kancil with engines that range from 660cc to 1000cc, and also different equipment levels? …. Naaaah!

• nah… i don't think it looks ugly too…

but yea, perhaps rather ordinary looking.

i quite like the interior. i like the aircon being there…

• i understand that you have been criticising our national car in those

area…..

1) Ruang sempit…? Yes i understand..but first u shd look into the

target market first…who..? middle range age… proton ceo had

mentioned WAJA is meant for family car…whereas GEN.2 is meant for

sporty…have u ever come accross sports car which is spacious..? i

reckon NO..

2) Glovebox is there..they just reposition it between the the front

seats…r u aware of this..? it is just the revolution in design that's

all..

3) ABS (with Electronic Brake Force Distribution) and air-bag (actually

dual SRS airbag)…? they do incorporate this in 1.6E model….

of course the price will be slightly higher….they purposely release it

in two version…it's up to customer to choose…they just want to make

it affordable to large range of income earner…

4)Cam Profile Switching(CPS) or Non-CPS…? this is again up to customer

to choose…it simply to say to choose between Turbo and

Naturally-Aspirated (Non-Turbo) car

5)horsepower…? just to inform u that..the CamPro prototype engine

which was unveiled back in 1998 can produce more than

200bhp…they even tested the engine on Sepang track car (Satria

GTI)..since 1999 ….they were also mentioned that for the

purpose of road use..the HP will be trimmed down….it was purposely

done..!

6)Reliabillity…? yes i admit reliability is utterly important…but

this engine has undergone series of post-prototype development and

testing for more than 7 years through collaboration with Sauber

Petronas Engineering (SPE)…in fact the prototype itself was

design by SPE…isn't this enough to convince u…?

BTW..the engine was design to give less vibration…therefore vibration

is not the issue here…

7)Expection..? how can u compare orange and apple….u can't compare

ours and Japanese…they are miles ahead of us in term of

technology….of course they r better furthermore they have

enjoyed Economies Of Scale for some time in their operation but we

haven't….we need to spend more on R&D to explore technology u

must remember WE START FROM SCRATCH….i'm sick of japanese who made

malaysia as their dumping area of old technology….just remember we

have been living under that situation for almost 20 years..and yet u

want to support japanese car….? We aware of this..that's is why we

took over Lotus…we don't want to be overly dependant to

Japanese….remember this is just the turning point for us to

move forward and be independant…

I can't believe we as Malaysian made such a depriving comment on our

locally produced car…If Malaysian doesn't want to support

their own car…who will…

• shah: why are you commenting about all this in my kancil replacement model post? who are you referring to? and i believe you are confusing campro with the petronas e01.

• cameljoe on Sep 19, 2005 at 4:12 pm

Yes, there have been a Kancil replacement project going on for sometime, the company i work for, was and is still involved in said project. Good job Paul on putting the puzzle together.

• automan on Sep 19, 2005 at 4:25 pm

There u go again…….Proton……again defensive just like their former CEO. Wake up Proton! Think out of the box! It is because of the whole mindset in Proton is so narrow-minded, that is why they continue to fail where others succeed. They continue to believe they owned Malaysia and sell cars to Malaysians only but we all know they can't survive out there in the global automotive market.

My last words to Proton, wake up and face reality. U guys are in the business of automotive to sell cars, not to make cars to realise own fantasies (JANGAN SYOK SENDIRI, ITULAH PUNCA KEGAGALAN PROTON!!!!)

• automan on Sep 19, 2005 at 4:38 pm

By the way Paul, sorry for having to give a piece of my mind on the Proton thing in this non-relevant post.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Sep 19, 2005 at 4:54 pm

ceh,,.. kalau proton tuh = buruk hodoh.. dashboard plastik murah .

GTH laa.. i saw this p2 pun semua ada sifat yang sama..

rupa hodoh, dashboard plastik murah, kerusi pun murah!. kerusi belakang macam papan katil! and not so sure ada ke tak cd player.. takkan cassete player lagi kot?

reallllyyy ugly design.. out of date . macam poligon dalam 3d software aku saje..

sooo ugly!

• kress on Sep 19, 2005 at 5:06 pm

Hiya paul, nice site.. keep up the good work… anyway from what i heard its a new kelisa model called kelisa mark 2. Supposed to be based off the new Daihatsu Cuore.

• evoskylancer on Sep 19, 2005 at 5:15 pm

this is a replacement model for kancil alright…perodua will be releasing it next year, if i'm not mistaken…the car in the pics above is Mira (D18), is it not? can somebody confirm the code number?

• Johnny Boy on Sep 19, 2005 at 5:43 pm

Betul ler tu, new Sang Kancil, will be out mid 06.

For me its ugly, but everybody has their own preference.

But for sure, it does not pass any crash standard anywhere around the world, so its up to u, save your pocket or save your life….( its a theory only k.)

• napps on Sep 19, 2005 at 6:03 pm

ACCORDING TO A RECENT BRIEFING BY MBM RESOURCES (20% OWNER OF PERODUA), A REPLACEMENT MODEL FOR THE KANCIL IS DUE FOR 2006 AND THE KELISA IS FOR 2007. SO METHINKS THIS IS LIKELY THE MODEL TO REPLACE THE OUTDATED KANCIL, WHICH WAS BASED ON THE DAIHATSU MIRA.

SHAH: I AGREE WITH YOU. SE ASIA IS A DUMPING GROUND FOR OLD JAP TECH!

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Sep 19, 2005 at 7:11 pm

yeah..

and many of p2 fanatic still thinking that mira is god damn great! (even this really ugly-lah) ..

Mira is a model market in japan for PAST 10 years lah!..

what an old tech.. Dont you see that p2 fan?. Proton oso.. iswara is past 15 years.. and so lucky at least campro is less than 5 year tech ( even research and build maybe reah 10 years oso) . So mira engine build and research = past 30 years? Nah! Thinking of that peopple.. how long you wanna be and support to make our market as a disposal old tech garbage?

i wont support p2. this model desgin etc su*ks.

• aiks~~ Kenari lagi ugly lah!!!! macam kereta keranda!!! hahahahaha!

don't know why the owners so pround on it~~~

• napps on Sep 19, 2005 at 11:06 pm

HAJI: Thanx for the info on license plates. so kelantan was one of the first states to register cars…that's surprising, given back in the first few decades of the last century, the state had one of the least devloped network of roads in m'sia.

BTW, Does anybody no of a license plate starting with 'E'? went to sandakan recently, saw some old junks with the license plate EJA xxxx or ESA xxxx or sumthin' like that. and a few days ago, i saw a new-looking waja with the license plate EJA xxxx….can sumbody explain??

• Haji is mistaken about the number plates. In the days when Malaya existed, Singapore and Penang were the first states that registered its cars, and it was allocated S & P respectively. Later Kedah, Melaka, Johore.

Then Perak had its cars but P was taken, so it was assigned A. Similarly Selangor was the next state with cars, assigned B, Pahang C, Kelantan D. Terengganu was unique so it had its T. Perlis is the odd one out with R. Sabah and Sarawak were governed by different authorities then (they were not part of Malaya) so had different rules – I do not know how they derive their numbering system.

• gegaoff on Sep 20, 2005 at 1:20 am

for me it really not consider a good design… especially the back seat… and overall, it remind me the Savvy… emm….

• macspeed on Sep 20, 2005 at 6:39 am

mitsu_galant and napps,

yo guys, get your facts rite la…..this mira is the latest daihatsu mira la…..not the same old junk kancil generatin mira…

same thing with civic n corolla n so many cars….they r alredi so many generations, but r they junks? check properly before commenting la guys…no offence k….

by the way its sold as daihatsu charade in UK…..autocar UK gave a good review to it once….it was even published in autocar asean….

• macspeed on Sep 20, 2005 at 6:41 am

maybe i misread your comments, but i feel this car is kinda new…very new…if they launch next year, it will be another winner, just like myvi

• weilun on Sep 21, 2005 at 9:49 am

if asia is to dump old jap tech,

then what about myvi? also old tech?

• this new mira use david becham and his lovely wife for their commercial advertisement maa..i hope perodua will use nurul n ajai or m nasir n marlia musa :D

• Fizie49 on Sep 23, 2005 at 7:01 pm

About the car registration number in Malaysia, I just want you all to understand like this. We have 14 state in the country. Taking the first letter of each state name, like example Johor- so use J. Is there any state in Malaysia that have the first letter start with J? NO. Consider like this Kelantan and Kedah share the first letter of the state name right, so Kedah took the letter K for their car registration number while Kelantan cannot use K, but must use another letter. Remember Singapore was one of Malaysia, so they use S at that time while Selangor, Sabah and Sarawak cannot use S. The list like this:-

J – Only Johor

S – Singapore, Sabah, Sarawak, Selangor; S taken by Singapore

K – Kelantan and Kedah; K taken By Kedah

P – Perlis, Perak, Pulau Pinang, P taken by Penang

W – Wilayah KL , Wilayah Labuan, W taken by KL

M – Only Melaka

So the Government at that time (the Imperial British) has set a simple letter for other state who cannot use the first letter of their state name. Simple alphabet sequence is the solution. Starting from A for Perak, B for Selangor, C for Pahang, D for Kelantan. Remember at that time Sabah and Sarawak were not a part of Malaya so they do not count in the list, and Wilayah KL was still a part of Selangor.

But why Perlis use R? I also don't know. Because we are not the one who set the thing and we are not the one who made the decision. And for military, why use Z? for Johor military force (owned by Sultan Johor) they use JMF.

So guys, any comment?

• Vincent on Sep 24, 2005 at 5:48 pm

Hi, I am driving a limited edition kelisa…(yellow/black)..

anyhow, due to the scratch by other,(yellow part),So, I have to spray it back. But, I am hardly to get the same equal colour. May I know the code of the original yellow colour of the kelisa? Thanks for ur answer. Much appreaciate your early reply.

• Johnny Boy on Sep 30, 2005 at 5:04 pm

Weilun, Myvi is an old tech from the Japs…..dont be proud of it……

• Johnny Boy on Sep 30, 2005 at 5:05 pm

Just a bit of the topic, test drove an AMT Savvy just now. A few point were noted:

– handling – superb

– accleration – superb

– gear shift – excellently smooth

Dnt want to comment on appearence and other package, but the session was fun and its worth buying……..

Hehehe…….

• I have seen the org daihatsu Move which is our Perodua Kenari.

Itz different from the images posted above.

I even took a pix of it

• May i ask have your heard about the new colour for kelisa special edition? The new colour is a black colour , the car egen inform me this new , so i had order it , but until now i not get a car anymore , and i ask my car agent , he scold me i not belives him , can your find out the information for me whether got the black colour for kelisa special edition ?

• jebat on Oct 05, 2005 at 12:16 am

huduh…buruk…takde idea lain ke???

• benunited on Oct 28, 2005 at 7:15 pm

5.5/10

• benunited on Oct 28, 2005 at 7:24 pm

i also booked one kelisa SE (black)…due to get late Nov…

• Tuning_Professional on Nov 09, 2005 at 9:49 am

Here we go again. mitsu_galant_2000, PAKAR KUTUK ORANG! Forget that you EVER said that Malaysian cars are ugly. These guys have rights to use those designs. Just like a parent who tries to pass on what they have to their children. Daihatsu produce, gave to Perodua, Perodua REDESIGN the car based on our specs, whether they want to make it look better or uglier, it's up to them. Simple, huh?

• ZakiZuhdi on Nov 22, 2005 at 2:59 am

chotto omoshiroi desu. i dont know, how much aaaa ??

• bentuk saja cantik; honestly, my first model Honda accord much-much better, handling superb, confortable superb,.. 20 over years cars better than this…. ha sapa nak jawab ?

• Kancil Killer on Nov 26, 2005 at 12:36 am

Good good… more target practices for me…

• Not so bad.If is kancil replacement model,pricing

• Kancil replacement model, pricing less than Myvi, sure be the best selling car in 2006.

• hmmmm honestly i kinda like our current kancil, i know its some old junk from Japan, it uses cheap plastics (all Malaysian cars used cheapo plastics, even Vios, City, Camry and Vios — try compare to fully imported models before commenting my claim)

The thing being, it doesn't really matter much whethere manufacturers using what kinda grade or quality of plastics. It's the designing of parts, QC, and workmanship that determines the final satisfaction of customers.

For people who made some comments on us as "P2 worshippers/supporters" or "un-patriotic Malaysian car buyers". DO THIS: Try comparing the fit and finish between a Kelisa and a Wira, new models. Compare them.

I dont wanna go over all this again everytime there were new threads. I guess i'll post certain links where i have commented.

By the way, this new car thou looked boring, it portraits an image of next-door-girls; or people with jobs such as animal rights activists, or environmentalists sorta thing… I dont know why but this car just looked very un-threatening. Might appeal to certain people. (LOL~ not like some big ass muffler 1.3 Iswara with Bluelights…. )

• I agree with Paul. This car is not as ugly as they define. I feel that this car looks great. The shape is very convenient for parking. Even though 'boxy' and 'squarish', it still have nice shape.

About the car plate alphabet, KP and Fizie49 are right. As for Sabah, their car plate begin with E, about 30 years ago, but now they begin with S. For Sarawak, they begin with Q.

• weili on Nov 28, 2005 at 4:16 am

It is a nice car! small n compact….at lease its look like a CAR.not like tat 1 every thing in the middle even the tali pipe….Wat can u see if u're at the back of tat type of car????anybody pls tell me ….

• Brian on Nov 29, 2005 at 7:47 am

Can anybody send me a pic kelisa s.e & kancil s.e?? Ni betul2 nak tenguk la… waaaaa……hihihi…[ [email protected] ]

• Andy Choong on Nov 30, 2005 at 11:28 am

Looks realistic for a KRM. Speedo tops out at 140, guess the engine will not have much changes.

• Reality Bites on Nov 30, 2005 at 5:30 pm

Such a dumb dumb looking car. Retards at Perodua can only clone Daihatsu models which are retarded looking. Pityful. After 11 years is that all the can do? Disgusting people.

• Selipar on Nov 30, 2005 at 6:51 pm

Ayi said,

November 21, 2005 @ 7:14 pm

bentuk saja cantik; honestly, my first model Honda accord much-much better, handling superb, confortable superb,.. 20 over years cars better than this…. ha sapa nak jawab ?

———————————————————————-

U r totally out of the discussion league bro…don't compare the posted lowerclass daihatsu mira with upperclass engine capacity…doesn't make sense at all..

don't get offended though…

• [Half-Half PBâ on Nov 30, 2005 at 8:57 pm

Reality Bites said,

November 30, 2005 @ 9:30 am

Such a dumb dumb looking car. Retards at Perodua can only clone Daihatsu models which are retarded looking. Pityful. After 11 years is that all the can do? Disgusting people.

=============================================

heheh… a pot calling a kettle black… some other car manufacturer still offers a SAGA after 20 years and Wira after 15 years… who's a bigger retard?

tak kisah lah as both (P1 & P2) car makers also cloned and recycle other ppl's cars.. just as long as the car is reliable, worth the price, rakyat suka and it generate sales… so why not? and we can see very clearly which "cloned" models is the bigger success….

• deana on Dec 02, 2005 at 9:13 pm

heh…

front view looks like mira

back view looks like toyota

side view look like…honda jazzz

not bad..

not bad at all….

• lantismazdaspeed on Dec 05, 2005 at 2:50 am

apa ni macam kotak kasut,perodua buat la design sendiri,jurutera korang takbelajar habis kerrr

• bakar on Dec 18, 2005 at 10:55 am

cantik tp hodoh……hehehe.,takyer beli lah

cantik kapla otak hang……..

• syakira on Dec 18, 2005 at 11:03 am

good morning my friend's…….don't buy this car……UUUGGGLLLYYY….

• hai paul, its a good design. if that be one in the Malaysia market, it's must be the best selling. i know that R&D for Perodua spend millions for to design a new car. i know that they hv hard time to think a new design for short time period. but we malaysian people never appreciate national car especially Proton or Perodua.they always said ugly….ugly…….ugly……..

why don't they themself design a car that they want…i mean the shape…..space…..interior….any safety caution……and show the design to Proton or Perodua ppl……

but Malaysian ppl must remember…… a lot of ppl out there can't afford to buy car.thats why Proton and Perodua design car and sell it at the lowest price like RM28+++, think back. even though the quality are not so good but Proton and Perodua try they best to improve their products.not all country can produce their own car.

• ngapatt on Jan 05, 2006 at 8:37 pm

ok .. now wad importatn is how much is the price of this new kancil, any idea or any hint around?

is the size as big as myvi or as big as kancil .. (i hope is bigger than kenari)

• ngapatt on Jan 05, 2006 at 8:50 pm

silz: you know wad .. you can get vios at rm40-50k if there's no proton and perodua :)

maybe kia picanto rm25k, or suzuki swift rm50+k …

that makes a lot of malaysian angry ..

i read from other chinese article about this KRM

here's the rumoured pricelist

660cc cost RM30000 below

850cc cost RM30000 – RM35000(available only in malaysia?)

1000cc cost RM33000 – RM38000

• raptorclans (Member) on Feb 16, 2006 at 5:10 pm

Paul, I just noticed this… those rear seats are so flat! lol… but the overall car looks much more modern than the outdated kancil-kelisa

• hetfield85 (Member) on Feb 17, 2006 at 8:00 am

Well, it looks like a truely Japanese design..but it's nice though..keep the good work Perodua..

• ah_birdy (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 4:23 am

The dashboard look so pretty, but if it is a replacement of any model of Perodua….. i am very sure, the speed-meter will be the same like kelisa and Myvi. As u can see what they do on Sirion's speed-meter to Myvi's speed-meter… if u compared….it look low cost and ketinggalan zaman…..

• jtshin (Member) on May 27, 2006 at 5:05 pm

I don't think its ugly… cars nowadays are designed this way… not bad if for a Kelisa replacement… but I like the current Kelisa a lot too… not bad… This RM looks like Myvi mini version… hehe… the shape quite similar… or P2 will produce this model as new range??? hmmm… wait n see…

• raj (Member) on Jun 11, 2006 at 12:32 am

hey i some pics of d new perodua kembara @ toyota terios but i do x noe how 2 upload d photos, n juz 4 info ,its using an 1298cc vvt-i 16valve engine

• kealchg (Member) on Jun 27, 2006 at 5:37 am

For those who are not familiar with car registration in Sarawak, cars in Sarawak start with the prefix “Q”. The use of prefix “Q” started in early 90’s due to the confusion with car from Brunei, especially those form Kuala Belait.

Back then, cars registered in Kuching used to carry the prefix “K”, Sibu “S” and Miri “M”. My dad’s old car (Toyota Corolla) was registered as KG 5233 in the 80’s. After which, to avoid the confusion, all the older cars added a “Q” at the back, i.e,

KH 4566 Q.

But now, Sarawak registers cars according to their divisions.

1. Kuching started with QK then QKA until QKY, when QKY ended, we restarted with QAA. (currently cars are registered as QAF a.k.a “Queer As Folk” lol! )

2. Samarahan Division started with QC, now running, QCB. (My dad’s Iswara is registered as QCB 2092)

3. Sibu, QSM.

4. Miri, QMH.

5. Bintulu, QTC.

6. Sri Aman, QBA. (My Avanza is registered as QBA 3768)

7. Sarikei, QRB.

8. Kapit, QP.

A friend visiting from Johore was appalled to see cars with so many registration in Kuching. Unlike JB where all cars start with JXX. (I own a Kancil, registered as JGH 5120 when I was studying in JB)

As for Sabah, (correctly me if I am wrong), cars are register as “SAA 1234 T” for Tawau, all Sabahan cars shares the same prefix “SAA” the last alphabet denotes the division it comes form. Like “T” for Tawau or “SAA 7191 S”, where “S” stands for Sandakan.

Where else, Labuan cars are registered as LA, LB and so forth.

• mushpop (Member) on Aug 03, 2006 at 11:32 pm

apala bongok sangat commentors dlm ni..sorry to say. but since when DAIHATSU makes BIG AND SPACIOUS cars? Even their lorry is a lil bit cramp. One must know that Daihatsu is a compact car maker so dont juz easily compare it with Proton, Honda or even BMW. I found one user ask use to compare Kelisa and Proton? whadda…juz by looking at the size u can differentiate what type of the car is…Since when P2 produce 'SEDAN' cars? none rite? Yes, their design bit ugly, pls find any nice looking DAIHATSU cars in the net. In Malaysia, we have Daihatsu Charade, Charade Aura,Detomaso…then tell me the size…so it is not weird that our P2 is like that…small, kereta mayat, wushi or whatever you may recon it. Duhh…u guys brain is cramped like those P2 cars…

• mamanini (Member) on Apr 27, 2007 at 6:13 am

100% agree with mushpop! By the way, tak da idea kah nak buat mpv sendiri?

• topoi (Member) on May 10, 2007 at 7:24 pm

keta ni dah cun la bagi aku………

depan………….cun

tepi ……………….cun

belakang…………….ha yg ni potong skit laaaaaaaa. apasal mcm kereta mayat jer……..lurus jer bonet nyeeeee…..buat la ade cuting lg cun……..

dalam……….cun kemas……….mesra pguna

meter………..kemas………warna putih tu yg cun……tp kalau seat dia buat ala-ala semi buket lagi cut…….mcm L200 ker L500 ke

tp satu la aku nk pesan kat engr's perodua………….x kn nk abik model daihatsu je pas tu ubah skit2 jer……..buat la disign ko rang sendiri………..baru laaaa rakyat malaysia rase bngga bila guna………ori m'sia beb…………

aku myvi

• lucas88 (Member) on Oct 05, 2007 at 9:02 pm

Huduh, memang huduh. Tapi saya tetap sokong kereta buatan Malaysia yg lebih murah ni, maklumlah takde duit byk. padanlah dgn kualitinya. kalau kereta Malaysia tak dapat berkembang maju mmg pengajaran supaya lebih berdaya saing. tapi jgnlah minta cukai kereta import dihapuskan supaya harga lebih murah, nanti duit rakyat Malaysia mengalir keluar negara saja untuk beli kereta import, jawabnya semua susah, kalau mampu belilah kereta import.part mahal,cukai pun mahal. harap2 kereta nasional usaha lebih lg, dont worry saya tetap beli barangan buatan Malaysia. :)

• Branda on Jul 22, 2009 at 6:13 am

May i know this is a PERODUA NEW KANCIL (MIRA)?how much for full spec & normal price,pls?

how many colour have?when the car will come out ?

thanks & best regards,

Branda :)