German Chamber of Commerce supports Proton-VW tie-up

The Malaysian-German Chamber of Commerce and Industry (MGCC) has high hopes for Proton and Volkswagen to form an alliance together.

The discussions between them are still ongoing. We hope they will come to a fruitful cooperation. We believe they are perfect partners together and we (MGCC) offer our support in any way possible. If you (Malaysia) don’t have Proton, you wouldn’t have such a nice and sophisticated automotive parts industry. That is merit to Proton.

… said MGCC executive director Dr Rainer Herret.

MGCC says a tie-up could give the push Volkswagen needs to get into the sector. Two other German companies are already successful in our market – DaimlerChrysler and BMW.

German automotive and food processing parts manufacturers like Lehnard GmbH are also looking for contacts to enter the Malaysian market. Malaysian-German collaboration also exists in the areas of renewable energy, especially palm oil.

Source: Bernama

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ah lim on Sep 21, 2005 at 3:58 pm

hope that the tie-up will give win win situation for both parties…… want 2 buy proSAT

• Jared on Sep 21, 2005 at 4:04 pm

What Proton need is a good partner to see them through cut-throat competition in auto market. If this deal falls through I wonder what will happen to Proton next. VW is a good partner considering their automative know-how and quality control. Remember how we used to laugh at Skoda? Look at their cars now. They are no longer considered as cheap East European car manufacturer, and the quality is up there with the big guys.

The only problem is how VW and Proton are going to work together. Will Proton be reduced to just an assembler? assembling VW cars for asian markets? That's not likely considering the money Proton have put into R&D and acquiring Lotus. Or may be Lotus is the dangling carrot that VW is after behind this tie-up?

• cameljoe on Sep 21, 2005 at 5:52 pm

Let's get on with this VW-Proton thing before oppurtunity passes. Btw, who's the next Proton CEO? Maybe a German CEO……..wishful thinking.

• E-Nabill on Sep 21, 2005 at 7:00 pm

i dont think thy will bring a foriegn ceo,i jus dont see it,othr directors will proably opose it,i tink whoeva the next ceo be,thy will be alot of red tape on him ,i dont tink he wil be truely ffree on wat ideas to bring

• This maybe potong's last chance for survival b4 perodua launched more small-medium cars like myvi and tat time will be too late for potong to crawl their way back….and maybe that perodua may became pero-satu liao :P

• gegaoff on Sep 22, 2005 at 5:35 am

perodua should change their name in fact… dua dua sounds… but not p1 also lah. not a good sign. ^_^

but really hope that VW can tie up with POTONG. new ERA for them,and our local car industry. good news in any point of view.

• andrew on Oct 17, 2005 at 6:10 am

Anybody wondered why the negotiations between VW and P1 takes so long? here's the inside scoop that i managed to hear when i flew a spy bug into their meeting room….

P1 : Hello friend! wana invest in my company ah? AFTA coming, sure u'll need a partner to sell ur Beetles in Asian market rite?

VW : u wan me to invest in ur company? ok, and that's bcoz u have Lotus, the company u snatched away from me when i wan to buy it first!

P1 : oh, we're sorry to hear that u failed to get Lotus when it's up for sale, but what to do? we have our government's backing and all my country people's tax money… so, back to main topic, ur investment will surely improve our business!!

VW : well, to improve ur business of course u'll need good managers, skilled workers and quality parts, and i cant help you if i cant oversee the operations… so, this is the plan, our first step, i'm gonna buy all ur shares…

P1 : wait a minute… wat do u mean all my shares? before u tell us ur plans, allow me to state this:

our first condition is that we still retain controls of the company,

second condition, the CEO and all directors are my own people and ur management people can only become advisors, and

third condition, we should have free, unrestricted full access to all ur money, technologies, technical know-hows, car models and platforms, marketing plan and resources and ur skilled workers to help in our factories in Shah Alam and Tanjung Malim.

this is very interesting proposal no? i'm very sure that u'd want to invest in us right away… by the way if possible we dont want u to buy our shares… let's just sign some papers, that u gives us all the money we need plus everything above, and in return we give u help in marketing and selling facilities here in Malaysia, sound great huh?

VW : err… hello…. u want my investment rite? isn't it supposed that i'm the one who have the say?

P1 : nooo…noo..no…i want u to invest in my company and i stil control the company. u contribute money, i contribute energy, perfect partnership kan?

VW : u think i'm gila ka? give u money and i cant control the company? wat kind of investment is that?

And the negotiations goes on and on and on…. TDrM, seeing things doesnt seem to turn to favourable condition, finally relented:

TDr.M : Ok la… saya tidak ada halangan… jikalau VW membeli saham P1, selagi P1 menjadi Kereta Nasional, saya tidak ada masaalah…

And the negotiation process restarted once again…

P1 : Hello friend! wana invest in my company ah? U give me all the money u have, but i still must retain control of P1…