Proton doing well in South Africa

Proton seems to be doing well in South Africa. According to a report by Business Day, sales of Proton vehicles exceeded the Imperial Group’s optimistic forecasts after the launch of the marque in South Africa last month.

Proton models currently offered there are only the Proton Gen2, with the Proton Arena coming in November. Proton is distributed in South Africa by Imperial Group’s Pearl Automotive.

Analysts have said that Imperial Group might replicate the success of the Tata brand of cars in South Africa which it also distributes and is the group’s best seller so far.

Wheels24 Reviews Proton Gen2 and Savvy
Proton Gen2 in South Africa

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 21, 2005 at 2:27 pm

I hope this sales momentum no just a start, just before ppl knew the problems of cars. Hopefully POTONG already did something on Quality before sell to Africa!

If not maybe this Sales momentum will be decreased very soon. I am not that OPTIMISTIC on this!!!

• ah lim on Sep 21, 2005 at 3:52 pm

good work proton……..

• gogochaiyo on Sep 21, 2005 at 4:34 pm

why they don't introduce the "TUV" approved model: The Savvy?

It sure sell like 'goreng pisang panas' over there

• Jason on Sep 21, 2005 at 4:52 pm

Not bad.

• Jlchannel on Sep 21, 2005 at 4:53 pm

Good luck PROTON! Cheers :)

• Apai_Mau on Sep 21, 2005 at 4:57 pm

Applause given to P1. In contrast to the numerous comments on the previous blog on Gen2 review by Wheels24.

• wow, this is good man! but please be consistent and critics have to swallow hard these!

• awtar on Sep 21, 2005 at 5:44 pm

But how many units of forecast sale? No figure given on sale volume as well.

• cameljoe on Sep 21, 2005 at 5:56 pm

A ray of hope? Not much serious competition there and the local tastes for cars is less discriminate compare to the Brits or Aussie. So, a good footing in Africa is good in the long term. Should do more 4×4 models, its the right market.

• desparil on Sep 21, 2005 at 5:56 pm

good. does this mean we can abolish APs and reduce the tax on foreign marques now? no more subsidy for Proton? fairer prices for the public?

• One thing I will like to see is the Proton executives tie their salary to performance. Why is this not done? Right now they are just going through the motions, and attempting to kill everything, like removal of APs and high import duties, that will make them work harder.

• rainbow7j on Sep 21, 2005 at 6:28 pm

better load them all onto the container to send to South Africa rather than let those "Excess" endure the sun and rain back here….

• Its a high time for Proton to venture into a new market and increase their export volume, thus balance their revenue which dampened in the domestic market. Proton should send their expertise as well and not leave the business alone to the appointed dealer. Let them work there for 2 – 4 years, so they can optimize the Proton's car to the liking of African terrain and cultures. Petronas is a good example.

• narrowband on Sep 21, 2005 at 6:50 pm

I hope PROTON won't go ahead with releasing ARENA in Africa. Because once the Africans see the ARENA, their whole perception on PROTON would change in a blink of an eye.

ARENA oh ARENA, who the heck designed it!??

• E-Nabill on Sep 21, 2005 at 6:57 pm

i tink the arena wil do wel in africa since its designed while agrecultural activities in mind,ya im happy for proton too!

• cheers proton! well done!infact, with sooo many second hand cars already berlambak in m'sia, why dun they export it as a recondition cars to africa, eastern europe etc, good idea?

• gogochaiyo on Sep 21, 2005 at 7:56 pm

recondition car meaning that we refurbish the car itself or we just put some make-up to make it look good?

because when the japanese do it

they do it seriously

the car look like new accept the engine and the chassis

p1 boys, do some work, maybe even put like the eon car sales carnival

trade-in less than 5 years old car with the new one*

*of course term & condition apply

• awtar on Sep 21, 2005 at 8:39 pm

Arena is not a bad car…to be fair to proton. Maybe Family truck concept is not so popular in Malaysia. But in Australia and Thailand, family truck is popular because of its multi-purpose utility.

In fact, Arena is well received in Australia as budget truck because it is more fuel efficient due to smaller engine capacity.

I predict Arena can do well in South Africa.

• aw3,

do you know their executive remu package??

anyway, good sign in south africa….hope they never rest on their laurels….

shai, totally agree with you…

• Don't worry, all export model have had excellent quality with the expense of Malaysian tax payer's money. They will do 200% ~ 300% inspection before deliver as "Export model" :)

• Johnny Boy on Sep 21, 2005 at 10:25 pm

Talk cock no fact no point, talk cock got facts waste point…….luluk liam liam……….on hibernate mode…….mmmmmmmmmmm

• good…congratulation Proton…hope when Proton already well accepted in other country,can walk by itself..our local car industry will be widely open for all slowly….thank to all reader for not bashing P1 blindly on this news…applaud to all…

• hope u will staying alive!

• hauzi on Sep 22, 2005 at 4:22 am

congrate? i hope this matter will not increase the rate of road accident in Africa

• armandd on Sep 22, 2005 at 4:42 am

come on hauzi, what is this kind of attitude…

• do proton already make sales in Indonesia? maybe the sale will be higher because the number of peoples there much bigger than Msia

• gegaoff on Sep 22, 2005 at 5:46 am

good sign to POTONG, but have to keep in constantly.

last time in UK also the good start, bad ending…

• Wiraone on Sep 22, 2005 at 2:58 pm

Proton done bad in the UK when we were in deep financial trouble way back in 1998 – 2000… and too bad, it couldn't recover back the market. Anyway, read some good reviews on the Gen2 and the incoming SRM. But .. anyhow, I wouldn't touch Proton .. I rather drive Kancil .. but owell, I'm driving C200 now ..

• SEE FU on Sep 22, 2005 at 5:16 pm

I guess Cantonese Said "only 3 minutes HOT!!"

SAM Fen CHOONG Yeet DOU!!…..When customers use it NANTI you BARU tahu!!

Kawan Saya bukan PUT COOL Water on POTONG, I am talking about reality lah!! YAU MO KAO…..CHOU!!

• FiveElements on Sep 22, 2005 at 9:19 pm

Yeah man SEE FU….U KNOW NEW TOILET SMELLS GOOD FOR THREE DAYS..(SARN SEE HUNG HEONG SAM YART).

• Chan K on Sep 22, 2005 at 11:04 pm

Arena is good what!!

I do not know what the NarrowMind person think it was bad

• SEE FU on Sep 23, 2005 at 12:32 am

Lima ELEMENT arr!! I wish to make some correction on your CantoneSE. can arr??

I think should be "SUN SEE HANG SAM Yat HEONG" sound much better lah!! Wanna to attend Cantonese class at Wong SEE FU office or not!! Give you special…..FREE 1 minutes …….YAU MO KAU…….CHOU!!!

• Paul,

things going out of hand dont you think?

• i dont really understand what's happening

• exactly my friend…..

• narrowband on Sep 23, 2005 at 4:37 am

Sorry I offended your car.

Apologies aplenty.

• michael lee on Sep 23, 2005 at 6:01 am

Paul – friends just playing the fool a bit only … nothing serious one. We all wish Proton well in Africa – but at the same time want to remind them not to let us down – malu lah.

• paul, i found a really neat picture of a savvy already fully modified. its actually a first prize object for winners of a competition.hope u could review it and let people see it and critisize it. its awsome man.

http://www.nitrodesigns.net

• nazhif on Sep 29, 2005 at 12:42 pm

SEMOGA PROTON KITA BERJAYA!!

• diale kgantsi on Oct 28, 2009 at 5:01 am

i bought Proton Saavy in August 2007, since then I experienced problems when I realised that the vehicle could not start when I turned the key on. there was however sound of a starting car but could not run the engine. I had to take the car to the dealer in Klerksdorp which is about 300km from Mafikeng where I am staying. I was told that this was a problem with the key.

The same problem was again experienced early this year where I also had to pay the same amount.

Yesterday my wife experienced the same problem where the car could not start and this means that i have to take to car to Klerksdorp again and will be expected to pay the same R2000.

When will I start to enjoy my car and speak well about proton as many people are in this website? Did I buy a "factory fault" or a used car under the impression that it was new.

please advice me on what to do.

diale

079 195 2270

• kopiO on Nov 03, 2009 at 9:27 pm

Hi daniel Kgantsi

Mrena i must say as a south sfrican sudying here in malaysia where poton is manufactured, in general only a few cars from the brand are a joy to own cars such as the Gen 2, Waja and the new Exora yet to reeach Msanzi, but then The executive Perdana has a xconsistent problem wityh the gear box, and te savy pips hardly ever complain bout it but the only problem which is persistant on this side of the earth is the Gearbox and the heavy clutch,as time goes on u will expeience a problem with the gear two(2) of the vehicle..

I also will be bringing a modified version to south africa mayb u may get to see it when i cum thru

Cheers mokoena!!!!!!!