Government has no plans to abolish APs

Deputy Minister of International Trade and Industry Datuk Ahmad Husni Hanadzlah has shed some light on the National Automotive Policy that is currently being formulated.

He says there are no plans to abolish APs due to the current policy of developing the domestic automotive industry through progressive liberalisation.

Husni also said investigation was being carried out on another company, similiar to the case of Amazing Tempo Sdn Bhd’s APs. He declined to mention the name of the company, but he mentioned it was to do with tune-up APs so it might be a company like Impul or Kleemann. Studies are also currently being made on tune-up marque APs.

Rafidah gave five criteria on AP issuance in a written reply to DAP Ipoh Timur MP Lim Kit Siang.

• Have a valid franchise as the sole importer with the foreign manufacturer
  • 70 percent Bumiputra equity
  • Imported car should not be already assembled in the country
  • Cars must be directly imported from manufacturer
  • Companies can afford to manage and finance showrooms and undertake after-sales-service

As reported by Business Week:

Ahmad Husni, quoted by the national agency Bernama, rejected fears that the policy has been misused, but noted the government recently stopped issuing APs to one firm that under-declared the value of its imported cars and was investigating another for the same offense.

Do I smell a scapegoat being roasted? What about the issue of a majority of APs only given to two people?

Oh well. Bring out the mint sauce…

Source: Bernama, Business Week

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• E-Nabill on Sep 22, 2005 at 11:27 am

paul,jus off topic ya,how come u dont post anyting about the frankfurt auto show curently being held,lots of new models are out…quite interesting…

• AutumnAshes on Sep 22, 2005 at 1:22 pm

sigh….guess we (the poor) will still be force to buy "cheap", lousy and "affordable" national car. May the rich be richer!!!!…..darn

• cameljoe on Sep 22, 2005 at 3:34 pm

of course the boys up the hill will not remove the AP, its a way to control a profitable business, so proton better get that VW deal completed before its too late.

• SEE FU on Sep 22, 2005 at 4:53 pm

Countinue AP, Means No hope to LATOK RA Fe DAH to be next Minister already!!…We will see the G will Spent another 5 million ringgit for her farewell party then….I think we will not to see her ULGY face in next election Lao!! BYE2

Lied me shame on YOU!!……you can't lied me Twice!! F***K You.

• FiveElements on Sep 22, 2005 at 5:05 pm

THIS IS ALL CRAP!!! BULLSHIT!!!!STUPID!!!!

AP TO HELP THE BUMI????CRAP!!! BULLSHIT!!!! ANY BUMI OR ANY OTHER RACES WHO CAN FULLFILL THE FOLLOWING CRTERIA NEEDS NO GOVERNMENT HELP:

Have a valid franchise as the sole importer with the foreign manufacturer

70 percent Bumiputra equity

Imported car should not be already assembled in the country

Cars must be directly imported from manufacturer

Companies can afford to manage and finance showrooms and undertake after-sales-service

THEY SHOULD INDEED HELP THE REST OF THE SOCIETY. IDIOT!!

• Wilfred on Sep 22, 2005 at 5:21 pm

50k for a honda city…..hmm…..still far away…

• SEE FU on Sep 22, 2005 at 5:23 pm

LIMAelement Arr!! Don't be angry So much lah!! GO get a drink…..MUst Drink ALCOHOL "XO" campur PEPSI, baru GAS dalaman boleh KELUAR!!

The G will Help you when you get MABUK time lah!!

• FiveElements on Sep 22, 2005 at 5:29 pm

SEE FU,

Sorry la…got pissed off by this early in the morning. It just too damn stupid the way they are doing. They probably think we all GILA, BLIND, or a BUNCH OF IDIOTS like them.

I will support if that helps poorer Malaysian, if this is being misused by certain party to hell with it.

• woshye on Sep 22, 2005 at 5:54 pm

This new AP system is not fair because it is just like the old one but with control and still encourages “easy money come” to those who got AP. AP holder just shakes legs and earn money. This AP system is the only system in the world that allow profit margin over 4000% easily over the cost because AP holder buy AP at RM1.00.

If the government still want AP to continue they should collect all the AP profits give and 10% cut to those who manage to sell and use to rest of the money to develop the country or help the hardcore poor people which need it more.

• Whatever… I just using my 20 years old damn good Toyota car. Nak jual pun kena timbang kati. So, last 2 years already convert engine to AE101 supercharger. Next year plan for AE111 blackhead VVTi 6 speed turbo. Still better and faster than the new stock car. No need to pay for 9 years loan.

• time for Tun to appear again and produce the "letters" he mentioned before…can't wait to see whats gonna happen next..support worshye's thoughts on the AP…but this AP thing is ridiculous..causing more issues than solving any…

• E-Nabill: I got post lah, just that I have to post about the story, and get some generic images and not actual Frankfurt Show images as I could not go to Frankfurt to get my own photos. All other photos are copyrighted. The previous Daihatsu cars and etc are all Frankfurt cars.

• Huuuuuurrrrraaayyyyyyyy……….more corruption on the way…

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 22, 2005 at 8:55 pm

To all Genius and G-nius, Question??

Can anyone out there have an IDEA on HOW Malaysian will still continue buying POTONG after AP is removed?

I means: if no High taxes on Imported cars, probably TOYOTA and HONDA cars price is almost similar to POTONG let say RM50k each. So, In what situation or conditions the Malaysian will continue ONLY support LOCAL made cars?

If you all don't have any ideas, I think probably the AP system need to be implemented forever!!….until we all matilah…FOREVER!!!! happylah AP SUCKer!!

• FiveElements on Sep 22, 2005 at 9:17 pm

DOG THE WAN,

We will support if POTONG gives us good quality cars. Definately not those shitboxes they are forcing us to buy by increasing the taxes of other cars.

POTONG must learn that!!!! Take Australia for example, they are buying HOLDEN which are more expensive than the Japanese car. But HOLDEN's quality is better.

To continue with the STUPID AP is definately ridiculous. It only benefits certain parties. That is CRAP!!! F**King CRAP!!!!

If POTONG can't stand on its on feet, just sell it off, and stop burdening the RAKYAT.

• C'mon la guys…thats a golden goose which lay gold egg…why government want to kill it? After news discovered ppl like Naza under-declared the imported car's price, now i think government will monitor closely and 'suck' more from the AP king's profit margin and this…obviously will make ppl like "Nazi"mmudin earn less gua..

2 cent 2 cent :P

• stupid rafidah on Sep 22, 2005 at 10:11 pm

well u know what we should all not support proton and we should create a new automotive company yay…come on someone start

i be ur testing department

• SEE FU on Sep 23, 2005 at 12:24 am

Stupid Rafidah Arr!! SURE moh!! you can arr!!

What kind of SKILLs you HAVe?? Change TYREs or add spoilers??

Where can? CAN MEA…..Shown me lah!! BRO…even WONG SEE FU also said TAK BOLEH lah!! Pusing kepala!! WE needs High Tech enginee….Electric Cars or Hybrid and Fuel Cell not Campro……only!…………YAU MO KAU….CHOU!!

• any way this bumi still spoon feeding not gone stain by there own self, like what i say if u give a badger 1 there gone bagging always s long u all still give , that what the Malaysia minority attitude problem just like bagging n perompak style. this AP will delaying our developing in our country, at the end will become like indon at the end. this to restricts our own country business to grow.

why dont tender it up every 1 will happy.

this not a bumi equity is a business , what have to restrict our country businessmen to do business n at the end we all pay the Tex to government.

stupid government whit a stupid their own kind governing!

do a stupid thing but dont like people to say there r stupid.

if there think there good n batter government why we loss to Singapore in-term of business in these 30yers. singapore only nothing but batter then us, we only depending to our natural resources more not on do will in business n technology.

• gegaoff on Sep 23, 2005 at 3:54 am

rafidah the BULL just want to make some shit to somewhere and let us ppl change the view to else well.

she think her's shit can change everything… go HELL lah.

• Naruto on Sep 23, 2005 at 6:12 am

so funny.. ididnt know liberalism is used in such a way….

i tot cronism was it….

• Naruto on Sep 23, 2005 at 6:19 am

and btw, voicing out sensitive issues by some ppl my not necessarily racism intended ,how abt the help cries by the suppressed races? racism is js too convenient coming out fr the mouth…so…dont be too quick at closing out on others….if tis is abt purely auto, why are we mocking politicians too ….so why cant i talkabt different races since we can mock the richer too…its all inherently connected…i guess u guys js cant take the real thg ….not be being racism at all….i dont think its has anythg to do wit my delivery….if a hard fact is difficult to accept…well, its js a harsh fact anyway…tis is malaysia…take it or leave right…in other word, take it or leave me…but dont delete my msg…ur js being m*r*n…at least …i censored tht word like the guy who called F**k UP too…doesnt he get deleted as well bc of profanity? well, i guess im being discrimintted here

• Naruto: which of your comment got deleted?

• Marmitecrab on Sep 23, 2005 at 6:55 pm

C'mon, guys. Lets post some intelligent articles here instead of focussing on bashing each other's race. The topic is AP's. So what if the original intent is skewed towards a particular race. That doesn't mean the other races can't benefit from it. I'm sure the salesmen, clerks, accountants, etc. employed by the franchise holders are multi-racial. And the gov. has just said that only 1k something AP's were issued for imported cars 1.6l and below so no big deal to P1, right?

I'm not defending anyone, just don't want to spend any jail-time, know what I mean? ;-)

• albagmane on Sep 23, 2005 at 8:09 pm

WHAT? CONTINUE THE AP? WAT BUMIPUTRA?

tat PIGWOMAN RAFIDAH still wana continue the AP ah? is she nuts??? terrible terrible!!!

nightmares to all the malaysians!

i deeply agree with 5 element, it is such a waste of money to invest on building such ridiculous brand of "proton".. its really a tough burden for the citizens.. its been 20 years and still no improvement, still remain on that poor quality vehicles. shame on proton!

do u think that PIGWOMAN will see this comments? i hope she should see these comments in order for her to think carefully about the AP problems.. she is a terrible mess on her job position! gosh!

resign lah u PIGWOMAN RAFIDAH!

• Be cool albagmane…even that stupid woman gone, the next one is just the same…if you ask to pick 1 good egg from the bunch of all bad eggs, what would be the result? "SAMA PUNYA"

lets see when govn 1 day decided 'we cant 'subsidize' anymore to our national car industry'…then we shall see the awakening. You bet that will happen if they still run it this away..

Btw apology paul this shd be posted on the next blog :P

• Naruto said,

September 22, 2005 @ 10:19 pm .

we not talk racism here if some 1 dont do racialism. who is how racism here, is that do business only have to be bumi only?! we only passion! we can do we can prove it not like perompak o lanun way, cannot do n miss used a government power to take what ever good business belong to some 1 that success n take away! do u think u 1 it that way to u if u wear us o any 1?! , sure u b happy cause u r spoon feeding type n depending it allot . so what happen to us, when the thing been bring up by generation n take a way just like that n say it a government policy n this n that, so this way not a racism is that?!, who is racism here, do wee pay TAX?! . if we pay TEX why we cant get equal business opportunity, racism is too convenient coming out fr the mouth but we not convenient just do it take from other people success just like that n restrict other people business to spending, is this the way good governing do a thing o good for spoon feeding that need that just same type of it kind!. just why dont u like us! then u tell me. like i say do a stupid thing but dont like other people to say there r stupid.

• SEE FU on Sep 24, 2005 at 4:50 pm

Guys go and check Mr. Lim Kit Siang BLOG lah!! Can't wait how Latok Ra fee dah……reply his questions….YAHOO>….Must be very "GeNG CAU one"….I have bought a dozen of Beers to celebrate it!!….YAU MO KAO…..CHOU

• gegaoff on Sep 26, 2005 at 7:31 am

rafidah the BULL don't know how to type lah, how can she reply?

• Lift the Bumiputera status and declare we are all MALAYSIAN.

What do you think Naruto?