How to solve Proton Gen2 door problem

I found this little gem on the Cari Chinese forums. Forumer Blackgenius007 has a solution for Proton Gen2 owners who have trouble closing their Gen2 doors. It’s pretty common. The Gen2’s door cannot be closed properly with some cars.

The reason for this is poor quality control by Proton assemblers. The alignment of the door hinge is not aligned properly. Here is the solution.

You can click the images for a bigger version.

If you look at the photos, you can see the marking lines on the lock does not line up with the marking lines on the door.

What you need to do is take a screwdriver, loosen the screw and realign the lock. You don’t have to unscrew it, just loosen it so you can reposition it.

Here is the result… the proper alignment of the door lock. Now your Proton Gen2’s doors should be able to open and close with ease.

Original Thread: Cari Chinese Forums

Thanks to Kah Soon for the pointer and translation.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• karheng on Sep 23, 2005 at 1:45 am

HAHAH i guess this is why we vilify proton. tHey can't even produce door hinges which are properly placed..

• cbljkkj on Sep 23, 2005 at 1:51 am

Man, this guy should be running Proton. Not those bloody retards they call service people and mechanics

• kalen_XI on Sep 23, 2005 at 2:01 am

…..*speechless*…we pay $50k fer a proton…and we have to repair our own door hinges…HAHAHA….they may as well..give us a box with ALL the proton parts….and call it..DIY PROTON GEN-2…..with a label on the side..*caution some parts may not fit*

• Maybe PROTON can't design GOOD door assembly or power window for GEN2 or WAJA; but they improve a lot on SAVVY.

• littlemin on Sep 23, 2005 at 3:47 am

I think if we DIY Gen-2 mayb quality better than factory…*lolz*

• gegaoff on Sep 23, 2005 at 4:02 am

oh my god… this guy really good one. engineer?

gis… i wonder how can he think out this solution? ask proton hire him for better QC ma… damm…

• DIY cars…hmmm. Anybody want to make new buisness?

• aksMS on Sep 23, 2005 at 4:53 am

Woah…that's a simple solution. How come those QC inspectors miss this? Taking small things for granted. Bekerja sambil lewa. Bravo! Keep up the good work P1!

• Verne on Sep 23, 2005 at 5:10 am

I think they have rectified the problem. A friend of mine recently bought the limited edition white hi-line model and did not have that problem. THe one I tested at the 3S Mutiara Damansara showroom did however.

Weird.

• E-Nabill on Sep 23, 2005 at 5:18 am

ya i tot the latest badge july 05 n after dont have the stupid door problem,actually alot of things are being rectified on the latest badge if u look closly

• Lainie on Sep 23, 2005 at 6:10 am

Okay I didn't understand any of that, but I'm gonna point a few of my friends over here…They HATE their gen 2 :P And the rubber lining keeps falling out of the doors.

• SRM! SRM!

• aksMS on Sep 23, 2005 at 8:51 am

Laini: Any D.I.Y solutions for the rubber lining?? :p

• hokkien lang. on Sep 23, 2005 at 8:55 am

i think they 'pakat with out side makenik.

so those at out side can cari makan………

but this is good paul, keep show us a simple DIY thing… so they can less'sembelih orang' for those do not know at all about car..

bravo! bravo! bravo!(clapping hand)

encore! encore! encore!(clapping hand)

• SEE FU on Sep 23, 2005 at 2:55 pm

So YOU Gen2 or P1 owner, if you have problems next time, make sure you all check the MARKING on the components or parts….INCluding Campro Engine too. This car is designed like a LEGO, owner have to DIY and learn the mechanic things after your bought it. Pui!!

WOW! I didn't know that P1 is so GOOD, some more got Education, teaching RAKYAT to assemble the car and FREE lesson ON-line written by AH Beng!!……..NEI HOU YEA…………YAU MO KAU……CHOU!!

What an EASY things to check!! HOW come QC or Production workers Blind on it? Unless this part was loosen after installed by worker??? Wondering…tightening torque not enough or something else??…Please confirm the new cars at SHOW ROOM first!!

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 23, 2005 at 3:05 pm

I am sure the GUY who know it is not an Engineer or Superman. It is a common sense things. So you all can see Ah beng is still better than POTONG QC. What does it means? QC POTONG = G-MUG!!

By the way, did you all know that DOOR system is part of SAFETY items? How come POTONG never check it properly? SAFETY number ??????? LAST at POTONG?? Imagine the door striker was loosen and door open suddenly in the middle of Highway drive, sure Someone will MATI.

SHAME on POTONG!!

• Jared on Sep 23, 2005 at 3:55 pm

PAUL: I hate to be off-topic, but since we have so many regular contributors/commentators to your blogs, is it possible one day you arrange "meet the fans" sesion among us? A nice teh tarik session at a mamak stall should be enough. Would love to meet up with u guys. What say you?

Jared

• yo pal, my satria have the same door problem, dun know whether can apply the same DIY to my car or not…let my try……perhaps it works………….

• rainbow7j on Sep 23, 2005 at 4:48 pm

These are the little things that can be rectified easily, however, the main issue sometimes lies in the poor design of some of the components, for example Power Window, now let's see can we DIY it ………..

• Michly on Sep 23, 2005 at 5:23 pm

POTONG. go close shop lah ….

• cameljoe on Sep 23, 2005 at 5:23 pm

hmmmm……how simple and wonderful…..this shows who is really learning and who is not……thank you Master Paul for your enlightenment teachings and guidance.

• Jazzy on Sep 23, 2005 at 5:43 pm

Sometimes I wonder… people make so much comment on proton… askin, or shall i say demanding proton close shop and this and that. Well if you aint happy with proton, you can always go for a BMW (thats if you have the cash). Its very apparent that most people dont really know the whole process of making cars… from concept design to manufacturing. Yet they slam at our nation's very own car manufacturer just like that. Rectifying problems for mass produced automobiles is not like making roti canai ok guys! Give proton a break!

• You guys know that the colaboration with lotus were supposed to be a means to educate and train malaysian engineers right? I think proton may have targeted beyond that. They not only wants the engineers to be educated, but as many malaysians as possible. Hence, the falling off gen2 parts and the need to know how to repair cars on your own. Clever.

• nuggyn on Sep 23, 2005 at 6:31 pm

what are those guys in the assembly line doing?

what are those buggers in the QC department doing? unless Proton's QC stands for Quick Check.

• Marmitecrab on Sep 23, 2005 at 6:39 pm

And now with the AP issue getting hotter, the P1 vendors assoc. is trying to force more Protons on the consumers. What a load of BS. Why shloud we be made to buy such crappy products and some more have to fix it post delivery.

Next thing you know, someone will figure out how to realign the windows so that the power window motor can last a bit longer. LOL.

• luckily, my first batch GEN2 didn't give me any problem( 1st 100 unit).

• Kanasai on Sep 23, 2005 at 7:12 pm

now every Gen2 user have to find them self screwing Gen2 Nation Wide…. hei… post it to the Star la… show to the public that for every proton car, they have to check the door alignment before accept delivery. Happy screwing!!!

• Can anyone juz print this and paste in front of potong service centre and let them know WHAT THE F*** are potong doing??????

really pathetic that we need to rectify this even the car is under wa'lan'ty. damn…

even they come up with the so call lucky draw but still problem like this need to be fixed the car owners…any point of doing that?? And i dun think their service charge is anything cheaper than nissan or toyota!

• And this should tell potong that their car is really "SCREWED" up!! darn

• Btw…is potong hired bangla to screw all this in order to cut cost? if it is then should be no surprise eh??! :P

• Malu…lah….PROTON

• sorry, wrong statement earlier;

actually, my first batch GEN2 didn't give me big problem. My wife enjoy driving GEN2, she drive 170km/hr, faster than me.

I face some minor problemes like seat adjuster & air-con, all repaired & alright;

they also changed the front absober.

so far so good.

I am luckier than my friend.

• To all Malaysian, if u want a reliable PROTON car, pls support PROTON.

This just a learning process.

JAPANESE, KOREAN, TAIWANESE al go through this process;

Remember we used to call JAPANESE MILO TIN car in 80's

Also lousy KOREAN car in 90's

i believe PROTON can improve their QUALITY in 3 to 5 years time.

My family's 2004 & 2005 waja have no problem.

My friend's SAVVY have no problem.

PROTON need to gain some experience to design a better car.

• albagmane on Sep 23, 2005 at 7:50 pm

i dont think proton has the potential of making cars. Its been 20 years.. 20 YEARS!!! proton still use other car engines, still remain the poor quality standard, still uncompetitive..

It's such a waste to put a substantial investment on building the ridiculous brand "proton". I think former PM had made a very wrong decision. Malaysia maybe BOLEH in other issues but not cars!

• FiveElements on Sep 23, 2005 at 7:56 pm

CW,

I totally disagree with you. PROTON has been in the industry for god's know how long (20yrs maybe). Are you trying to tell me you cant even adjust simple things the above mentioned problem after 20 yrs of experience. That is what you call RUBBISH and CRAP!!!

The MILO TIN that you mentioned about the JAP cars, they dont need 20 yrs to figure out that they still producing shit cars. Their government dont rip their citizen off merely to support their so call national car.

Look at our PROTON, spoon fed with GOVERNMENT PROCTECTION and FUNDING still produces shit box after so many years.

Can you blame us for not supporting PROTON?

• Just a simple small thing…..can spoil the name totally…….Proton=low quality?! we complain because want Proton to "grow up"….

• Apai_Mau on Sep 23, 2005 at 8:16 pm

Paul, good technical discussion.

• what is the PROTECTION?

my neighbour just show me his booking TOYOTA AVANZA, the total taxes amount is lesser than a WAJA.

I think a lot of people fooled by the car manufacturer; they keep saying PROTON is protected but actually they making big profit from proctection.

I didn't consider PROTON as a car manufacturer if PROTON can't design their own car.

WIRA, SAGA, PERDANA, or TIARA; all is others people 's car; PROTON need to pay copy right fee;

PROTON waste 10 yrs just as ASSEMBLER.

• December on Sep 23, 2005 at 8:21 pm

Proton should start selling lemang panas instead.

• nuggyn on Sep 23, 2005 at 8:27 pm

so looks like to own a Proton is all about luck.

If you are lucky, you will get a proton with less problem.

If you are "normal" (not to say unlucky), you will get a Proton with all those common problems.

Chances to be lucky is very slim.

Another problem with owning a Proton is that you have to face those buggers in the Proton S.C who are trained to tell the customers "What can I do about this problem? It's a Proton and what do you expect from the cheapest car in the market?"

• Marmitecrab on Sep 23, 2005 at 8:30 pm

CW,

This is the first time I saw someone say Proton got no protection. Even Mahathir says P1 needs protection. The controversy surrounding Mahaleel's removal was because he said govt not protecting P1 enough.

So how is P1 protected? Ridiculously high taxes on all other cars. If P1 is a national car, then the question you should be asking is, why are we paying so much taxes for a car that's produced locally?

• Jared on Sep 23, 2005 at 8:40 pm

Read in the NST yesterday, a Hyundai Accent 1.5 costs only RM25K in Korea. A Kia 1.5 (not sure wat model) costs RN5K less at RM20K.

Can Proton sell the Gen2 1.6 for RM30K at least? Don't think so.. We had enough of National this and that. We have National Monument. We have National Anthem. We have National flower, We have National Flag. Those things should be ok. But, a National Car..phleeeeezzzz… what next? National Lighter? National Rice cooker?

What's so national about car manufacturing? Unless they build car for the people at no cost or at least well below international market price..

Jared

• Dreamchester on Sep 23, 2005 at 9:11 pm

Stupid SRM!!!

• cbljkkj on Sep 23, 2005 at 9:32 pm

All in all, all of this is constructive so Proton can learn to grow up faster as it should have at this current time and age.

• Lainie on Sep 23, 2005 at 10:05 pm

aksMS: I am the worst person to ask anything about cars la. I'd suggest you don't even get a gen2 in the first place :P

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 23, 2005 at 10:30 pm

When POTONG did something GOOD (Sales better in Africa) Ada orang kata BAGUS!!, When POTONG having PROBLEMS (Door cannot closed) Ada orang KUTUK!!

POTONG really MAKE Malaysian ""LOVE AND HATE""

Cantonese said: "YAU Oi YAU Hant"

PPL complaints POTONG just wish POTONG will improved and Quality Growth up. That's why nobody COMMENTS about FIAT cars!! or ROVER cars!!…..they are worst too…….. Because these cars are not our interest!! also not related to us!!

Come on take it easy! No need to CALL POLIS!!! CAKAP Baik2 OKAY!!

• I always ask my friend or my company college,

What is the Japanese famous Brand?

Toyota, NIssan, Sony, matsushita, Honda, Shimano, …………………………..

What is KOREAN famous brand?

Samsung, LG, Hyundai, ……………………….

Do we Malaysian have a Famous Brand?

………………………

the answer is "No"

• Marmitecrab on Sep 23, 2005 at 10:40 pm

Dear cbljkkj,

Unless P1 managers and directors are reading this blog site and the discussions, I don't think they have a clue what we think or want nor do they care.

All that is tops on their minds are, "What are the profits?, How many cars we sold?, What can we do to make the public buy more?, How many more years can we get protection from the govt?" and probably, "Can we get cheaper parts from the suppliers so our profits can be higher?"

Improve? Why should they when the market is clearly favouring them? Remove the protection and you'll see a marked improvement, not only in the quality but the pricing. I remember when KLIA Limo services was interested to buy cars, P1 wanted them to buy Perdanas but they wanted Merc C-Class as it was cheaper, minus the taxes. Can you imagine? MB C-Class cheaper than Perdanas.

• Marmitecrab,

I also quite "shock" when i see the vehicle order form( Toyota Avanza), Taxes only 11k++, my sister's WAJA pay taxes 14k++, why this kind of thing can happen? ask RAFIDAH.

• SEE FU on Sep 23, 2005 at 10:46 pm

Ai YAh…..BISING…..MAAAT…..7!!

POTONG still Young like BUDAK-budak, Kuality buruk, bunyi kah? Biasalah!! Kalau you Naik PREFECT!, pasang sendiri lah!!

Eh! kawak Saya ada satu soalan lah? Kalau naik jadi EXPERT dalam Badminton, berapa lama kena praktis kah?? Mesti ada orang kata 2, 3,4,,…….add kata 10 tahun pun mungkin MAH MAH!!

Kalau macam itu, macam mana KAMU semua ini boleh kata 20 tahun sudah cukup……JADI MASTER??………Formula ini depend on ORANG/bangsa!! Kami bukan KOREAN atau JAPANESE, dia orang ini bukan orang tapi ROBOT!! Kerja gila..gila…….pula…… tak ambil cuti….cuti takcuri makan…..tak curi rokok!!…….BOLEHLAND orang lepak…lepak…..Makan sini Makan SANA. Main2 saja!!

Where got same?? Bangsa lain take 30 years to build good car (Korean case) japanese more than 50 years, They work VERY2 hard one you know!!……..Malaysian lepak2 pula baru 20 years!! WHAT do you expected???

Give POTONG another 100 years!! baru boleh lah….SIAO!!

YAU MO KAO……CHOU!!

• akari on Sep 23, 2005 at 10:54 pm

i really wonder what proton doing, this is a totally basic thing, how about the other thing we cant see? they're learn to install n only learn how to install a car for 20years, then come out with a campro without campro, other tech all bought from other, well, this door prob should never appear at all, the HL get better QC is a bullshit, why we should pay more for this kinda basic quality we should get in a so called "car"? they cant just do well just a little bit only for normal line cars too, is that very hard for them? we're pay not more enough than other country's better quality proton price?

"ni cheap punya cincai la, tu mahai kasi baik sikit"

• akari on Sep 23, 2005 at 11:08 pm

Eh! kawak Saya ada satu soalan lah? Kalau naik jadi EXPERT dalam Badminton, berapa lama kena praktis kah?? Mesti ada orang kata 2, 3,4,,…….add kata 10 tahun pun mungkin MAH MAH!!

the point is ur fren spend 20 years still dont know how to screw following the line properly,

or i should give example that he still dont know how to hold badminton racket well after 10 years training?

do u get the point? the money we paid, we have to work hard every month for installment payment up to few hundred for few years, but what ur feeling when we get is this simply screw or they cant just spend more few more seconds to make it better?

• Kevin on Sep 23, 2005 at 11:44 pm

Did you guys face any problem with the air-con – weak flow? any solution on it? Another problem is the noise (wind) from outside when drive above 100km/h. Guess you know which car, right? Gen2…….. :(

• CW, about the 'brand' thing, i'm totally agreed with you, after 48 years of independent we have no world reknown brand, so what's this means, malaysian people, us, have problems (alot, and not just proton), just read the above comments then you know it already (try read the post on gen2 achievement in south africa, very quiet man!)

one thing i know, if you have problems you rectify it, salute to Paul for this tip, this is positive step that we should put priority….such as the real owners of gen2 who sit together to form gen2club and deals direct with proton on matters regarding gen2 ownership- not like people who dont even know gen2 but act like professor on gen2 and generalise even remote problems as a common gen2 problems

• and Jared, indon people or china people can do your job for less than half your earning now (whatever your job is)..so what this make you, overpricing, overcharging your employer or blood sucker of malaysian people instead (a case where malaysian eats malaysian, very classic indeed!)

• Not to post any personal attack to any of our Proton owner. Yes you may bought the car and you like it (I really hope thats from the bottom of your heart). Many of others may bought it due to lack of choice within the budget they can afford. Instead of buying a second-handed car at the similiar car, they had opted for a new car (20000 km warranty or 1st year warranty) which could cure the headache of repairing should they had purchased a second-handed car.

However, these piece of disgraced 'screwing lesson' has just proved that its not really much different if they buying a second-handed car. The sux and sarcastic service by proton mechanic is not much different than my foreman fren ah pong who used to 'kan' his customer.

So wat has proton done to upheld they standard compare atlease…to korean car? 20 years passed and do you think the current globalization allows you another 20 years?? i doubt so la pren…

CW I respect your comment that you like your proton (i REALLY hope you do), neverthless do take note that all these ppl who vented their anger might be/could be/have been/had been/were/are owners of the poor 'potong' and they are cutting their 'meat' to pay extra in the monthly instalment just to drive a more comfortable albeit "less problematic" cars.

• BRAmBUSfan on Sep 23, 2005 at 11:59 pm

20-25k for brand new car in other country. Here we can get 10 years old POTONG WIRA, wth….

• Jake,

You are back………..totally agree. can you believe somebody here mentioned proton wasted 10 years being assembler. I guess the person started walking and talking as soon as he was given birth…..miracle child…..

• abu,

are you saying other cars dont have problems. Its just that proton car problems are elevated. Thats all. Proton seems to have door hinges problem…..kia seems to have engine problems…trust me……you chose…

• CW said,

September 23, 2005 @ 11:41 am

i believe PROTON can improve their QUALITY in 3 to 5 years time.

Thats far too optimistic mate. The so called "TUV" QC for Sawi did not really boosted any sales value on potong. This slump is not going to be cured in such short term after potong's long negative images in the local car market. The root of this problem has been shared LONG AGO with potong's direktor…but where do they go about doing it? nah…they rather stay in the aircond room and punch card on time and ambik gaji every month. Ohh ohh ohh not to forget the (in)famous quote of "Asia answer to BMW" and so called "My Pirst Lotus". This will only incur more woe to the negative image tht make potong like NATO!

Sad huh? as long as u 'tak pe' then you are ok liao fren. Merdekaaaa ~!

• rave said,

September 23, 2005 @ 4:07 pm

abu,

are you saying other cars dont have problems. Its just that proton car problems are elevated. Thats all. Proton seems to have door hinges problem…..kia seems to have engine problems…trust me……you chose…

rave i agreed with u. even estima has the common door slide problem. But the statistic and the woe from our consumer suggested wat?? now you name it…

• Whats the ratio we are talking about. no of estima which have the problem and the number of gen2 that have the problem….the percentage wont be much diffrent.

• abu, just one more to add to rave's point, proton sell..plus minus 200,000 vehicles a year, estima's 5,000? definitely, a lot more complaints from proton's owner. just wait for myvi's owners' complaints in one year's time, how many hah? (i'm not praying myvi's owner to suffer though, as i'm like you all, cars mad malaysian, a car(s) owner myself)

• hi rave! nice of you…

have you order your gen2 HL? promotions so good better than merdeka one (that is, if you cant wait for r3 version)

have a nice day mate!

;-)

• Dunno when the R3 gen 2 coming out..

• Gentleman, lets not compare Estima with whichever proton's model. I just take it as an 'example'. Well jake my man you can wait for that, the past blog Paul posted had really received good feedback from the owner that they claimed MyVi really has 'less' problem than proton.

Plus Minus 200000 cars per years doesnt really an excuse for the lousy finishing…the more u produced the better quality you should up keep as you are familiar with the production, not 'up keep' the same error you made and gip some lousy excuse such as 'cheap price la', 'malaisia be-rand la'. These are the attitudes that direct the industry no where…oops still 1 place to go –> Hell ~

Clarification: I am not a MyVi owner…we can wait though and i bet our fellow MyVi owner would have something to say though :D

• automan on Sep 24, 2005 at 1:04 am

CW

I thing u really need to understand the intricacies of tax and duty structure for vehicles in Malaysia. Body type (passenger car, MPV, CV), engine capacity, country of origin for components imported, etc. are all factors taken into consideration in determining the tax & duty structure for a vehicle. And if you look at the Avanza which is smaller in cc, classified as MPV where as Waja is a PC, it is not surprising to find Avanza having a lower tax imposed. Another very important aspect to also consider here is that most of Avanza components are sourced from Indonesia and Thailand, and unit production cost is lower there compared to Malaysia. As for Proton, having to source most of their components locally (of course this is also protectionism) which are relatively costlier than whats being produced by our neighbouring country, it is not surprising to find Proton production cost of a vehicle (with higher labor & component costs) is higher than assemblying Avanza in Malaysia. With higher cost of a vehicle (and also those other factors mentioned earlier) multiplied by a certain fixed % of tax rate, it is obvious that Proton will have a higher absolute tax to be paid compared to Avanza. That's how the whole tax mechanism works in the auto industry. I hope this clarifies matter.

• zongtwi on Sep 24, 2005 at 1:43 am

Hahaha…just as I suspected. When a Kenari burst into flames(!!!), there were less than 35 comments, and not one actually blasted P2 for that. People talked about car insurance, fires on other types of cars, etc. But about proton door problems, 68 comments already, and more than 90% of the comments blasts Proton about this. Don't get me wrong, I think it is a quality issue with a very simple solution, which shows how crap the Proton QC is. And I understand why people are mad about it, probably alot of people have experienced that problem. But you don't want to be a victim of your car bursting into flames to actually be concerned about it, do you? The double standard really shows guys. I just think if you want to blast proton because of their lack of quality, then be my guest (because they are quite crap). But don't just do it because it is Proton. I think that would be quite unfair.

• Kanasai on Sep 24, 2005 at 7:58 am

you expected us (malaysian) to be fair to proton? that's right … you are sooo right, just because it is proton. cause i do not believe that proton will improve without all these negative comments, i do not believe that proton will listen to us bashing IT, and i do not believe they will fix it for us and apologise to us (malaysian). that's wut i believe for now… and as for other brand that have many many other problems, they will fix it ASAP!!! to those other brand, only new problem can be found, but for our little child proton, is always the same problem for the same model. Next year, i bet we will still face the same door problem. cause it is proton… do u understand guys!!! I DO NOT BELIEVE PROTON WILL IMPROVE UNTIL PROTON PROVE ITSELF!!!

• akari on Sep 24, 2005 at 8:57 am

zongtwi: kenari's accident case are different, any car might burn if u damage the right thing, i even heard gen2 burn up itself as it like, it's early batch so i'm not going to blame proton, u want the pic?

• SEE FU on Sep 24, 2005 at 4:44 pm

akari said,

September 23, 2005 @ 3:08 pm

or i should give example that he still dont know how to hold badminton racket well after 10 years training?

akari arr!! If 10 years, still don't know how to grap the Badminton racket……OOooi Pergi Matilah!!……Mayak BOROOOH lah! Bangsa Bolehland tak teruk sampai itu kan?

Kalau macam itu, POTONG need another 200 years baru boleh lah!!……..YAO MO KAU……CHOU!!

• akari on Sep 24, 2005 at 10:53 pm

haha i mean hold well but not totally dont know, like they screw door for 20 years and see what happening, my wira's power windows still worse as well, n many thing… do u think that's really very hard to improve? no ma, just the matter they want to do it or not, so get the answer from them.

• Pepper on Sep 24, 2005 at 11:02 pm

feel Shame towards Potong

• zongtwi on Sep 25, 2005 at 1:40 am

The first batch of Gen2 did have problems with breakouts of fires. If I'm not mistaken, a total of three cars burst into flames. But in that case, Proton rectified the problem, and told their customers to bring the cars in for inspection and improvements. But don't get me wrong, I have no problems at all to anyone who wants to bash Proton about their quality control etc like the door problem thingy…what the hell were the QC guys thinking by passing cars with a defect like that? That's is just plain and simple stupid. But I just think that bashing Proton because it is a Proton is quite unfair. Sometimes, people even bash Proton about any single piece of news that comes out, whether it's good or bad. Example:

1. An overseas magazine gave good reviews about the Savvy, people say the tester was stupid and being paid

2. When Proton decided to export to South Africa, people said no way they can do well bla bla bla

3. When Proton actually did quite well in South Africa, people then said the South Africans don't know how to choose a good car, and have no taste etc.

I know there are a lot of frustrated Malaysians out there because of Proton, and I am one of those people. But I just think that we should be fair in judging Proton and any other company for that matter. If you still want to bash Proton up whatever they do, then probably create a blog titled I HATE PROTON, where the sole topic, as you would have guessed, is about hating Proton. Kanasai, why not do that?

• jared: i'll plan something soon when i'm free

• cbljkkj on Sep 25, 2005 at 5:43 am

Come on guys, Proton still don't know what they are doing with their cars. My Waja's power windows are facing failure. All 4 sides! This is gonna cost me a bomb considering I have to rewire some doors and replace the stupid window console and brackets. Thanks alot Proton for making my life as busy as it already is.

Regarding the Kenari incident, the car was already involved in an accident therefor the fire ensued. Whichever Proton dude thinks that it's a defect should try and ram their car into something and expect that it is bulletproof.

• akari on Sep 25, 2005 at 8:02 am

zongtwi tell me why u love proton, u got a good quality proton? or u rich enough to pay any defeat parts due to proton's low qc? or u fight for ur bowl?

• michael lee on Sep 25, 2005 at 6:37 pm

akari – fair is fair lah. All he is saying is that we should be fair – when something is stupidly wrong – hammer home the message – hope that it enters somebody's head. Like a bringing up a child, no point in simply scolding for each and every small fault, everyday … effect wears off …

Only trouble is that this " child " is already 20 years old ! … and yeah, my GTi fibreglass parts had to be repainted, one front light fell off by itself, passenger door strike plate realigned 3 times already … aaaarrrggghhhhh !

• Kanasai on Sep 25, 2005 at 7:04 pm

i hate proton just because of the quality, and the same for everyone. do you understand or not,zongtwi. if proton can provide good quality car, u think anyone here going to bash proton? fair? if u want to be fair, look at the above picture!! tell proton to be fair to us. look at other cars manufac .. how they build quality and cost. Just because people like u exist and say things like 'be fair la','small thing only', 'proton have many car in malaysia, so many problem is common','is our national car, so have to support' and the all carp. then u tell me how proton going to improve? r they improving.. HELL NO!! they are losing money. and u know waht, i don have to create I HATE PROTON just to make more people hate proton cause proton itself is a symbol of 'PLS HATE ME' for as long as they do not improve. so instead u asking the public to be fair, y not u ask proton to be fair.

• zongtwi's message is…fairplay, is it hard to understand? do i get it wright zongtwi? dont flame me…heheheeh..

actually, it's hard lah asking for fairplay, that's why we have red and yellow card…typical us, everybody wants to win!

• FiveElements on Sep 25, 2005 at 9:14 pm

Kanasai,

Totally agree with you!!!! ZONGTW , let me just ask you one question,

If you go to MAKAN at a restoran and the food taste like shit, are you going to complain??? Are you going to MAKAN there again? I mean the food tasted like shit for twenty years! Are you going to try eating there again, giving them chance as the owner is MALAYSIAN???

NO WAY MAN!!!

• if you all hate proton so much dont buy protonlah, buy kancil…

teach proton a lesson, dont buy proton, it will hurt their rice bowl, their bottomline….but u all bash, bash, curse proton but pakai proton, no wonder your proton car always broke whatever, you curse it (in addition to low QC of proton, as you all saidlah!)

as proton car owner, i prefer less protons, better service to us the real owners!

nie, you all bash proton to the extend of hysterical…come on lah it reduce my proton second hand value, pity me lah coz i need to sell it later to buy my next proton…

;-)

;-P

• Kevin on Sep 25, 2005 at 10:25 pm

haiya man… thought that i can seek some advice from you guys of my earlier post. ermmmm…… look like you guy fighting each other. Well, am oso one of the victim of Proton here. Door problem fix 4 times still the same, luckily above solution solved my problem. Unfortunately now air-con problem pulak. haihhh… just because the price is competitive eventually i became a victim just like others. Wht to do. If really dun like Proton then stop buying Proton products buy Perodua (Jake I agree with you!). What if everyone 'shoot' a suggestion or more suggestions to Proton. Lets see what will happen after that. Jake, i guess ur Proton & my proton no more second value.. kesian :P

• Kevin, here mostly people give comments general, specific whatever..and flame and fight each other after that (but you have to be a sport man, if not not funlah!)

if you wanna help better head to autoworld, wise or gen2club forums (or others?)

good luck with your problems, hope some sifu out there can help….

;-)

• There is a Proton phenomenon here where every blog post will slowly turn into a Proton bashing slugfest.

• akari on Sep 26, 2005 at 1:47 am

I know he is fair but he can protect proton until scold people "kanasai" this is what i surprise, as a proton customer, i wont just sit there quietly n eat the shit proton indirectly force me to buy it, the screw follow line QC problems i believe my kid can done better than him through that never happen on my proton, but that's not the only 1 shit proton used to give ppls. While proton is running by government and contains racially issue, he himself is a failure.

• akari on Sep 26, 2005 at 1:59 am

oh yea last friday my wira make me almost bump into nando's penang batu ferrengi while i doing tree-point-turn, it suddenly rush infront while my step is ready for brake, what the heck, this is last few month for me to be proton driver since i have order other car d, now i start thinking that still long time i still gotta place my life on a car that it's manufacturer cant screw well…

• Quest on Sep 26, 2005 at 4:00 am

I hate Proton forum seems to be a bad idea. Paul's right, you can go to any forums in the internet, whenever Proton's involved, Proton bashing is the main theme.

I don't see any Perodua bashing, sure there are a few but definitely Proton bashers totally out-number the rest. Of course all cars will have some production problems, some QC problems and quality problems. I'm sure if you googled hard enough, you'll find some people complaining about Mercs and Beemers.

However, Proton seems to have so much problems that WHOLE BATCHES can roll out with so many problems, that's you'll need 10 more forums just to cater Proton bashers' satiety to bash Proton. Do you think Proton cares? After 20 years, we're still buying Protons as all other cars are made to price out of range, does Proton care to improve? Do they NEED TO?

Sure, some people here SWEARS that Savvi's quality "REALLY GOOD" blah blah, "should be fair" when bashing Protons, but hey, you don't see anyone here starting a bash Perodua thread here right? EVERYONE here who gave negative comments about Protons have had negative or extremely negative experience in their Proton. There's nothing unfair.

• why some of the people like proton & some didn't, why always same people bashing PROTON, I really curios about this type of situation. R they really PROTON owner? I alway can fid the solution in SC, why some can't. Forget the wira or iswara, pls experience the latest; don't keep repeat the old story, it will mad us sad & not real. Today some faced door problem, but the other came to complain; I really wish to listen to the real PROTON owner come to tell; but not the gunner.

• Kanasai on Sep 26, 2005 at 8:11 am

cw.. up to now, i never hear of people like proton. most of us like Honda or Toyota, some BMW or higher class of cars. and even some are going for cheve, huyndai, produa and etc… people who own proton will tell me, 'no choice, is the best car within my budget' then later they tell me, 'shit!! y new car got this sound and that sound?my next car will not be proton!!'. UNTIL PROTON PROVE, and i mean PROVE TO US THAT THEY ARE BETTER THAN PRODUA, then there will be no bashing about proton and in fact, most of us will praise proton for it's good work.until then, pls stop asking us to be fair. cause i believe we, the malaysian public is sooo fair to proton for 20 years and still we are fair up to now.(Proton's protection) so is this fair?

• FiveElements said,

September 25, 2005 @ 1:14 pm

Kanasai,

Totally agree with you!!!! ZONGTW , let me just ask you one question,

If you go to MAKAN at a restoran and the food taste like shit, are you going to complain??? Are you going to MAKAN there again? I mean the food tasted like shit for twenty years! Are you going to try eating there again, giving them chance as the owner is MALAYSIAN???

—> My man you like to use food as a comparison…neverthless i love that and it makes me hungry faster :P

• cw we are looking forward and everytime potong launched new model (except this sawi) and u can see there were 'packed' in booking and long queue in getting their cars…wat did that showed u? we not supportive??? my man..at the end it was potong who bashed all these good works and destroyed their own image by delivered >50% of defective cars. i can recalled my fren collected his waja and need to drive back to service centre in 1 weeks time due to the clock not 'functioning'..after thats fixed, the next day air-cond not working..then the classic 'power' windows case…he sold the car in just 1/2 years time and made a loss of 10k. There onwards he has not buying any potong cars anymore and i do pity him on that…but was tat his fault for turning his interest to jap or europe cars??? that pretty much leave something for all of us to think of.

• cw said,

September 25, 2005 @ 11:19 pm

why some of the people like proton & some didn’t, why always same people bashing PROTON, I really curios about this type of situation. R they really PROTON owner?

—> Well i agreed that NOT ALL of them are proton owners but majority is. Or they have been seeing those 'tragedy' suffered by their relatives or friends. I owned a wira at 1995 and until today, these wira owners is still suffering the problem i suffered 10 years ago….was there any improvement? you name it…

• Johnny Boy on Sep 26, 2005 at 8:49 pm

Pulun yob pulun……..How come class C can tapau class b???

Two race wins and two third outright placings made round six of the Shannons Australian Production Car Championship a good one for the Thrifty Motorsport team at Oran Park last weekend.

“What a great weekend for Thrifty Motorsport!” said team owner and driver Allan (Shep) Shephard. “On top of that we take a one-two in Class B, knocking off the class winner for 2005 – and the likely overall champion.”

Oran Park showed the strength of running a two car team in the Shannon's Australian Production Car Series, with the both the Toyota Celica of Steve Briffa and the Honda Integra Type R of Shephard working with each other to dominate the class and outright placings in the Handicap races.

Beating the class leading Celica of Colin Osborne into third place overall also means Shephard now has a opportunity to finish the year in second place in both outright and Class B.

Team owner Shephard also praised the skill of his team-mate Briffa. “In this category, these type of races, and in this car, nobody was going to beat him here this weekend,” Shephard asserted.

“We had a great side by side dice for the first half of the last race, until the gearbox in my Thrifty Honda Integra started playing up. We lost some pace then but recovered to repass a couple to finish a very close third behind young Leigh Mertens (Proton Satria GTi).

With just two mechanics Jason and Philip to fettle both cars, Shephard was all praiseworthy of the dedication shown by his team.

There is quite a break to the final round of the championship which is scheduled for Eastern Creek on December 3-4.

RACE ONE RESULT (7 laps)

1 David Ryan (Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo) Class A 9:39.3628

2 Nick Dunkley (Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo) Class A 9:48.8214

3 Drew Russell (Honda S2000) Class A 9:49.1441

4 John Houlder (Ford Falcon XR8) Class A 9:54.5502

5 Steve Briffa (Toyota Celica) Class B 9:55.1381

6 Veijo Phillips (Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo) Class A 9:55.9667

7 Colin Osborne (Toyota Celica) Class B 9:58.8541

8 Allan Shephard (Honda Integra Type R) Class B 9:59.3332

9 Trevor Keene (Toyota Celica) Class B 10:06.8047

10 Phil Alexander (Toyota MR2) Class B 10:06.9972

RACE TWO RESULT (12 laps)

1 Steve Briffa (Toyota Celica) Class B 17:16.6765

2 Leigh Mertens (Proton Satria GTi) Class C 17:31.4144

3 Allan Shephard (Honda Integra Type R) Class B 17:32.0269

4 Colin Osborne (Toyota Celica) Class B 17:35.5959

5 Daniel Natoli (Proton Satria GTi) Class C 17:38.7167

6 Dane Rudolph (Citroen Xsara VTS) Class C 17:42.1940

7 Trevor Keene (Toyota Celica) Class B 17:43.9680

8 Veijo Phillips (Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo) Class A 17:44.4763

9 Phil Alexander (Toyota MR2) Class B 17:45.5071

10 John Houlder (Ford Falcon XR8) Class A 18:07.4048

RACE THREE RESULT (12 lap)

1 Steve Briffa (Toyota Celica) Class B 17:26.2843

2 Leigh Mertens (Proton Satria GTi) Class C 17:31.5304

3 Allan Shephard (Honda Integra Type R) Class B 17:32.1904

4 David Ryan (Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo) Class A 17:34.3749

5 Colin Osborne (Toyota Celica) Class B 17:36.0032

6 Daniel Natoli (Proton Satria GTi) Class C 17:37.2593

7 Dane Rudolph (Citroen Xsara VTS) Class C 17:37.6659

8 Trevor Keene (Toyota Celica) Class B 17:40.1053

9 John Houlder (Ford Falcon XR8) Class A 17:43.9131

10 Veijo Phillips (Ford Falcon XR6 Turbo) Class A 17:44.1530

• wow! superb proton satria gti! as always!

Paul, off topic ok, my trainee just came back from university, uum, sintok kedah, saying at the u, there’s convo days now and as usual convo’s expo and exhibition. guess what, there’s proton/lotus booth and there’s srm also! but no picture to proof but the trainee (not a car savvy) says very very nice and the roof can be opened(?)

Paul, maybe u have kakis or readers in the north who’ve been there snapped some pictures to share with us? anybody? to confirm this?

• zongtwi on Sep 27, 2005 at 8:15 am

akari said,

September 25, 2005 @ 12:02 am

zongtwi tell me why u love proton, u got a good quality proton? or u rich enough to pay any defeat parts due to proton’s low qc? or u fight for ur bowl?

I don't love Proton, I have never bought a proton car, I am not rich to pay for defect parts, and I'm not fighting for my bowl. To be honest, I am in a position where I know more about stupid things Proton are doing, and trust me, those things are really stupid and it makes me feel ashamed of being a Malaysian. But at the same time, I also know alot about a few good things Proton are doing, really good things. I really wish I can share these information with everyone, unfortunately I can't. And I realise, hey, there are bad things about Proton (which are really unbelievebly and astonishingly bad!!!) and there are good things about them as well. So like I said, be my guest if you want to bash and criticise Proton because of their lack of quality and QC, mismanagement, or any other stupid things they are doing for that matter. Go ahead. Shout and scream and swear from the top of your lungs all you want. I give my full backing to everyone, because I understand the frustration and disapointment as a Malaysian due to this company. But don't just do it because it is Proton. If another Malaysian National company did a bad thing, criticise them as well. And if(!!) Proton does something good, then give them credit for it. Get what i'm saying?

• Chorwin on Sep 30, 2005 at 6:32 pm

I do the adjustment of the door hinge myself. You cannot just adjust it to align with the default line, as all door alignment are different. So, what is the best position? Try and error, try to adjust it, and screw it tight a bit, then try open and close several try, if you found it not satisfy, then readjust again until you satisfy.

There are some hints here:

move the hinge more outside will make the door more easy to close with less push power, but the problem is u will see the door alignment came out from the car body and this may cause some misunderstanding of other that the door not align proprely or not close tight.

Move it more inside, however, do solve the unalign surface of the door with the car body, but it will make the door tough to close.

So, try to adjust it to the best u feel.

I like the design of G2, but I hate the quality, really no quality car. The front bonnet paint crack, and easily peel off by flying stone, so if you notice the G2 car front bonnet carefully, u will find white spot, don't believe me, try find a car that around 2-3 months old and spot the white spot…..

Second, body alignment…. all the body parts seem like not manufacture with high quality, high precision shape, will find bigger line, slope………

Third, the interior material…….. will find some broke cushion…. everything.

What can u do on this, all the salesman will answer u… no perfect car in this world, even u get mercedes also will find this matter.

That why, i saw a girl get her new Myvi, and complaint about the car paint not perfect, i understand her complaint.

anyway, a car that won't let you broke down on highway, no need go car shop every month that should be ok, this is Ah Q spirit, haha!!

• For those who can read chinese, read this article and you will know why love and hate potong:

http://www.nanyang.com/index.php?ch=29&pg=792…

• i can understand the satisfaction of ourselves when we go and collect our new cars…but when the time u drive the car back to ur home you start to hear the stupid noise…the frustration will be X2 than your satisfaction of getting your new car. get wat i mean?

dun get doesnt matter…juz wanna make it the 100th comment :P

• aahhh…abu, i miss the 100th spot…

i understand the feelings too, this quality issues….but think positive, resolve the problems….btw, new protons come with 2 years warranty now!

• You guys (with solution) really make Proton looks worst from bad…

counter action from Customer themselves…… TOTAL BullS**T

• benny on Oct 11, 2005 at 9:49 pm

Been checking out a few blogs and website. seems like u guys are the best in knowledge with national cars. so here i m. seeking advice.

Got my kelisa (yellow limited edition) in 2002. now thinking of changing it to….

satria, gen-2, wira aeroback or savvy….

my personal fav in satria.. but so expensive…

cheapest is savvy.. but not really like the butt….

but anyway.. hope u guys can advise me on the engine (good/bad/etc.) and any problems with each of those cars…

the other day i was walking and a brand new savvy cruise past me… but the engine noise is so loud!!! maybe that man was a bad driver… dragging at 1st gear.. who knows right?

do write to me at [email protected] if u hv advise to give. thanks.

– benny

• max_tst on Oct 18, 2005 at 11:30 pm

Hi. I'm owner of GEN-2, bought at mar2005, really gave a lot of problem, door hardly open la, Power windows button spoilt la, reverse sensor cannot work la, Need to go very near to CAR only can Activate/deactivate the alarm, the roof of inner part looks like want to peel off. somemore the pick up is like SHIT. During my 3rd service which i send to PESB Batu Cave, they change all the stuff, however, similar problme come back, door hardly open, when try to open my drive side window, there is a sound 'KI KOK Ki KO'. somemore the Bloody PESB service took me 8hr to finish fixing my car. I would say DAMM "TU LA'.

My Next Car won;t be a PROTON.

• galiloe on Oct 25, 2005 at 10:12 pm

proton edar service center is so painfull at the ass…. just to go and service my gen2 i have to take a day off…. then my compalints are never been done… problems will repeat after every service or complains plus i have to pay RM100+ for my 1st to third service respectively…. do they really know what they are doing or not?

• jerry e bernard on Nov 04, 2005 at 4:33 am

Gen 2 is my 1st brand new owned car and i have it for about 10 months now. When it was 1st launched, i fell in love at 1st sight and made it a point that my 1st brand new car would be this one out of the spirit of "Malaysia Boleh".

Well, 10 months has passed now and after reading your guys comments/complaints, i realised that i'm not experiencing those problems such as door hinges, electric windows/side mirror switches etc. However, what i'm experiencing now are the two front doors are shaking from the inside everytime i press the pedal and everytime i hit a gravel or uneven road, i'd hear a "thump" sound coming from behind. I suspected that the suspension or absorber or whatever were not tightly fit.

I had it checked twice during my 1st two service at the…… You guess it right!!! at the EONservice and what they told me was that it was the backseat that made the noise due to the unfit lock/hinge of the seat!!! Yeah backseat my A@@!!! I even went to a mechanic friend of mine but we couldn't seem to find the problem!..

Do You think you have a solution to these problems?

• qwerty on Nov 18, 2005 at 2:21 am

I am planning to buy the new gen 2 1.3cc. Any one has any feedback on this model? Good or bad.

• Ethan on Nov 27, 2005 at 4:28 pm

I was thinking of getting myself a Gen.2 1.3 Auto. I do heard problems about previous batches of Gen2 cars like the incident where the engine caught fire, the flimsy door …… having a Proton car in my family previously, it's quite irritating as the power windows fail now and then, the lock goes berserk, and the door wont close properly too but engine wise ( Wira ) is not bad. Havent had any problem with the engine part. I hope that there's no problem with CamPro engine. I agree with the comment that after 20 long years, we are still seeing not much improvement on the QC of proton cars. What a dissapointment. Plus the silly goverment is forcing us to support national cars by raising taxes and import duties for foreign cars. Plus Proton car designs are not that appealing at all, it's always a bad imitation of other brands. Hopefully when i got my Gen.2, it wont be of any trouble.

• pray hard Ethan, your wish'll come trough.

• chris on Dec 26, 2005 at 10:36 am

Its always the left rear door for all protons…maybe their designer got left-related problems…cannot think properly for anything rear-left..

• jabar on Jan 02, 2006 at 12:50 pm

how can't i think of that b4??r u wroking wit proton??proton sucks!!pasang pintu pun xbtl..luckily gvrmnt cover dorg,.kalau x da lama aku bli keta org jepun..baru la pandang ke timur…

• chang (Member) on Apr 08, 2006 at 9:42 pm

Ha……

i sell my potong gen2 oledi…..

now no this suck problem with my new car…

i tak nak barang with thunder cat logo!!!

• v (Member) on May 15, 2006 at 10:40 pm

I have been using Gen 2 for 6 months, no problems for me, love the ride and handling and it feels solid unlike Vios or City

• domoteka (Member) on Aug 24, 2006 at 4:15 am

Proton tak berdaya maju kerana tidak dapat pasang pintu dengan baik.

Malaysia Boleh, Proton pun Bolehlah…..

• country fall wedding invitations on May 25, 2016 at 7:16 pm

Fleas can be taught nearly anything a congressman can.

• Adey Barker on Dec 05, 2016 at 2:42 pm

I cant open both back doirs on my impian from inside or outside, any suggestions pls