Mazda5 Recall

Mazda has recalled their Mazda5 Mini MPVs due to a problem with the car’s exhaust system which could potentially lead to a fire. Three incidents have been reported in the US.

Recall notices have been sent out to Mazda owners and dealerships will arrange for rental vehicles for the owners to use while their Mazda5 is being repaired.

Source: Mazdaforum, Canadian Driver

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• yusmady on Sep 28, 2005 at 11:54 pm

how about myvi?

• teslarage on Sep 29, 2005 at 12:01 am

why suddenly myvi?

• not stupid on Sep 29, 2005 at 1:07 am

yeah .damn stupid.what myvi? idiot

• amouse on Sep 29, 2005 at 1:24 am

LOL.. really scarey to drive such case happen.

• Selipar on Sep 29, 2005 at 1:25 am

even well-renowned car having a technical problem…yet malaysian people still bashing our own car..esp. P1

• E-Nabill on Sep 29, 2005 at 2:22 am

y always the crap topic of myvi comes abt?? bck to the topic,toyota oso recalled abt a million cas only in US ,nostly pick up n suv thy had steering joint problems , nt sure if paul has mentioned this in the forum…

• E-Nabill on Sep 29, 2005 at 2:35 am

BREAKING NEWS….Proton recalling 3000 wajas due to weak rims that can be cracked easily,i tink its refering to the EV that comes with '16rims made by JRD…according to bernama..check bernama.com.my

• michael lee on Sep 29, 2005 at 4:12 am

… was just told this evening by a Mazda rep. in Plaza Damas, that all Premacy's ( Mazda 3 platform ) have been sold, and that the Mazda 5 would be it's successor. Anybody know anything about this ???

• Chevi_NakBerak on Sep 29, 2005 at 5:17 am

"Mazda says it could cause a fire–although none to date"

Obviously a safety precautionary measure – so whats the hoohaa?

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 29, 2005 at 4:02 pm

Biasalah!! All cars made by Human, Human made all type of Errors, mistakes, ……typo………….silap…………..malas………….tak nampak……..emossion……………Macam-macam lah…….Finally is your LUCK again!! Rights!!

• Johnny Boy on Sep 29, 2005 at 8:01 pm

Celaka le Mazda, mau bunuh orang ka……Japs sucks, like this treat customer ka…….???

No quality, dangerous car….Just like Mitsu, alwiz cover up defective parts on models……….

Boicott the Japs car, dangerous to Msian………

• rafreez on Sep 29, 2005 at 8:50 pm

7 seater if caught on fire…can all 7 people be evac safely….dont want to think about it…but still I like this Mazda5 design…P1 can come out with a 7 seater like this???? hope so…

• Johnny Boy on Sep 30, 2005 at 5:06 pm

Just a bit of the topic, test drove an AMT Savvy just now. A few point were noted:

– handling – superb

– accleration – superb

– gear shift – excellently smooth

Dnt want to comment on appearence and other package, but the session was fun and its worth buying……..

Hehehe…….

• Cindy on Oct 17, 2005 at 2:31 am

Mazda recalls my vehicle. In place of my mazda 5 they give me a gas guzzling Kia van, no thanks, so I trade for tiny Kia car, too small , trade again for not so tiny Kia car. Mazda tells me in a letter that this rental is of no charge to me, then why the hell am I making a lease payment on a vehicle that is unavailable to me?!!!