Mitsubishi Concept-X

The Mitsubishi Concept-X unveiled at the Tokyo Auto Show should be able to give an insight on how the final form of the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X will look like. It looks like a sedan version of the Mitsubishi Sportsback Concept.

The Mitsubishi Concept-X is powered by an all-aluminium block MIVEC 4 cylinder DOHC engine turbocharged with an intercooler.

The car gets a new gearbox which is of the automated manual variety which is basically a manual gearbox with a computer controlled clutch. The gearbox is a 6-speed, and drivers can control the upshift and downshift using steering wheel mounted paddle shift controls.

The car also gets an updated version of Mitsubishis latest 4WD-based Super All Wheel Control (S-AWC) all-wheel drive system.

The car’s body has a fair amount of weight optimization, with aluminum being used for components like the engine hood, trunk lid, fenders, roof and door panels.

The car’s suspension features an active Roll Control Suspension technology. This combined with Active Brake Control, and Active Steering System works together with the S-AWC all-wheel drive to provide superior ride control.

Notice the wide brake pedal and the accelerator pedal. No clutch pedal as it’s an automated manual transmission.

I previously blogged about potential concepts on how the Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X would look like here.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• wow….interesting…nice…cool beb!!! How much???

• n305er on Sep 29, 2005 at 11:50 pm

It Looks like… some LED lights in front.

• SkyHigh on Sep 29, 2005 at 11:53 pm

Why does it reminds me of a Mazda RX8…

• stupid rafidah on Sep 29, 2005 at 11:55 pm

whats that in da front ?

sound proofing PLASTICS?

wheres da engine? at the rear?

• Aris Tee on Sep 30, 2005 at 12:03 am

Wow… that's uber cool… the spoiler's cool, but somehow doesn't flow with the rest of the body, no? the face is AWESOME! the interior's thoroughly modern, and the center console… wooooo! engine bay's so clean… but i doubt they'd produce that… would they? Alfa-inspired rear lamps…

overall nice nice…

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 30, 2005 at 12:16 am

I LOVING IT!! Awesome! good job!!

• Mango on Sep 30, 2005 at 12:17 am

Hmm…, the front bonnet looks like TOYOTA CELICA, front design – MIT GALANT, front bumper – MIT EVO9 (enlarge), body line – MAZDA RX-8 aka TOYOTA ALTEZA, rear bumper – MAZDA RX-8, rear spoiler – HONDA CIVIC EJ, interior – PROTON GEN2 (no drawer)……!!!

• E-Nabill on Sep 30, 2005 at 12:25 am

thats the real meaning of AWESOME!! the interior looks abit like the lotus exige,very bare n minimal,it seems all the new mitsu concepts have the audi style BIG front n bumper grill , n the rear looks like the mazda,bt wat the heck,i luv it!

• ex-mivec on Sep 30, 2005 at 12:36 am

cool mitsu!… beat subaru already

• Jeremy C on Sep 30, 2005 at 12:36 am

Man, I just love your blog.

I've always been a big fan of Mitsubishi.

Btw, I've got a friend who just can't make up his mind whether to get the new Civic or the Lancer. Any technical and expert advice on the issue?

• jeremyC: the lancer is cheaper, it's fully imported and i think it has CVT. seems like pretty good value for money to me.

• This is definately….DEFINATELY….the MOST GANAS car yet! Makes the Honda Accord Euro-R look like a toddler.

• ShaolinTiger on Sep 30, 2005 at 1:42 am

Much nicer than Evo 7 and 8…I'm still a big fan of Evo 6, this one could change my mind..have to see if it's out by the time I can actually afford an Evo ;)

• neurra on Sep 30, 2005 at 2:05 am

the seats certainly doesn't look comfortable to me..

• Verne on Sep 30, 2005 at 2:13 am

Wow. Nice. Looks very, very mean! Rear reminds me of the Mazda6 though.

• Chapree Da Grande on Sep 30, 2005 at 2:37 am

Nice…got some design brought over from 2006 Eclipse and some resembleces from Mazda 3/5/RX-8. Crossing my fingers that the final product will be more bad ass than this.

• aksMS on Sep 30, 2005 at 4:07 am

Mango: A design lecturer of mine use to tell the class, "tiru meniru (in designing) membawa bahagia". Now, don't get it wrong, don't be a copycat but be 'creative'. Original design? No such thing.

• the normal lancer is too bland. i hate it so much. If the next mit lancer can to have similiar headlight as this, i will give it a thumb up

• omfg omfg omfg omfg omfg… drool drool drool drooooool!!!!!

i'm so so so so in lurrrve now!!!!

am so impressed with mitsu's designing team.. love the side view..

maybe the back doesn't super match the front view, but still.. a good improvement from the current lancer bodies..

well done! (if it turns out this way la.. ) :P

• Apai Mau on Sep 30, 2005 at 7:39 am

Wah lau hey…I want that!

• Selipar on Sep 30, 2005 at 11:07 am

i nak 1 la keter tu…but anyway…the seats seem small for a "bontot besar" size….easily getting slipped-down !

p/s: i really salute to u paul for such an informative blog…it appears to me u have such a huge fans out there..congrate! :)

• the only time ill be able to afford one of these is when either proton is gone, step up their crappy quality (duh), or the government wakes the hell up and realise what is good for the people.

we want top line stuff with our hard earned money and all we get is a crappy-ass AP system built by cronies for cronies.

enough of the rant, evo x looks great, albeit it doesnt have that 'evo' look ( u know wat i mean). id still settle for a WRX though. 160,000 is too much but 100,000 maybe reasonable (screw u tax) :-(

id have to settle with 2nd hand hondas then :((((((

• cbljkkj on Sep 30, 2005 at 1:15 pm

The rear looks like an Alfa Romeo 156 married a Integra DC5 spoiler. A little odd for my taste. Like the front though. Twin paddled gear box means its gonna be a bitch for reversing (people who watch top gear episodes with the aston martin vanquish should know what i mean) but it also means there is a chance for a close ratio gear box.

• steelrage on Sep 30, 2005 at 3:39 pm

looking at the read spoiler

i think it would look better some how if the 2 'legs' just dissapear into the back of the car .. rather then having 2 mounting 'shoulders'.. don't know if u get what I mean.. hehe

• ijas_Eng.Camp on Sep 30, 2005 at 4:23 pm

what a jambu..Nice looking car..Cool..Aee…dah ada half cut ke?

• Streamyx User on Sep 30, 2005 at 4:59 pm

Wow not bad, but a bit too much copy job done.

Looks like new accord + oddysey + RX8 + DC5.

Whats with the butt aching seats?

• driver on Sep 30, 2005 at 5:49 pm

great look! but the interior somehow remind me of the new saga.

• mitsubishi copies and pastes, proton also copies and pastes, why mitsubishi nice, proton…

• December on Sep 30, 2005 at 6:15 pm

One mean looking monster, but the interior looks like a truck..doesnt quite blend properly..Just my 2 cents. :)

• Sharfox on Sep 30, 2005 at 6:22 pm

The front look reminds me of a Bulldog. So Ganasss……..

• belacans on Sep 30, 2005 at 6:53 pm

wah, just look at that front grill and lights! like a great white shark! very the garangs! i like :P

• one word "Wan Lan eh"….the first impression i tout i was lookin at Alfa Romeo 146…

• narrowband on Sep 30, 2005 at 9:41 pm

Love that meshed-front. It looks small, damn sporty. An ordinary manual stick-gear would be perfect!

• SEE FU on Oct 01, 2005 at 2:30 am

Wei…….WAh……YUuo…..ARrr……..Fuuuu…….

No words can represent it…….F****king GOOD…Man……Awesome……….YAU MO KAU….CHOU!!

• SEE FU on Oct 01, 2005 at 2:31 am

I WANT ONE!!

• Evo Master on Oct 01, 2005 at 3:34 am

The 2007 Mitsubishi Lancer Evolution X will be an all new vehicle when it is showed to the world in 2006. While the Lancer Evolution IX received a minor facelift and some other small changes when it went on sale this year, the Evo X will more or less be rebuilt from the ground up on a brand-new platform which it will share with the next-generation versions of the Chrysler PT Cruiser, Dodge Caliber, and even the Mitsubishi Outlander SUV. In addition to the new sheetmetal on the outside, the new Evo X will get more power as well. Underneath the hood, the 2007 Lancer Evolution X is boasted to have at least a minimum of 320hp to 400hp. Even a bigger MIVEC engine is in consideration, though it will be a long time before we see a true answer.

And if you're dying to know how much it will cost, dont worry, because it is already estimated to cost LITTLE more than the current Evo IX!

• KaramjitSingh@Unadul on Oct 01, 2005 at 3:36 am

I didnt get to see much mit.Lancers during my last trip to japan.mostly toyota's n nissans and.Especially GTR'S,Supra's and silvia though they are usually seen near tokyo's bigger workshops..they told me most japanese prefer toyota's and nissans..most see mit and hondas as how we see proton in terms of quality..

Cant be certain about that fact though.

Im Loving these Lancers Big Time Is All i can say!

• karim alias on Oct 01, 2005 at 5:34 am

a pretty mitsu..want one

• rajanichand on Oct 01, 2005 at 6:07 pm

yeah! Mitsubishi rulezzz…

and now mit. can eneter malaysia market..

se ya later. muach mitsubishi..

• I love the car, the whole car looks mean and aggresive, very interesting, but the back reminds me of the Alfa 156.

• cbljkkj on Oct 01, 2005 at 10:55 pm

Is it only me or do all these new cars look pretty wimpy compared to the cars of the nineties. The raw look of a Skyline GTR, Evo 6 and a Scooby WRX just look way more macho than the cars of today. Now its like all flashy tech stuff.

The raw feel of driving a car is just gone. At least Lambo still maintain the perfect raw driving experience. Nice this car is, but it just takes that feeling of nostalgia away.

• This is Wat i can say very very "Shoi "

• hokkien lang. on Oct 02, 2005 at 9:32 am

walau eh…. that engine fully cover-up! man….

if we take out that hud/bonet people whuold relizes it.

any waY……………………..

I WANT 1 TOO………………….

• Streamyx User on Oct 02, 2005 at 1:57 pm

cbljkkj:

Their target consumers are

AHBENGS

• Just amazing…!!!!!!!!

The design is very slick.

I'm really sick of people saying it has bunch of designs cues from other cars.

Comment where people compair the design to 4 other different brans does not make any sence.

I'm sure even a Ferrari and Labo lines have design elements that can be compaired to other models.

All what i care is if it looks Tight. And sure this one does.

My first impresitions are Mitsu is back with its original Design Identites it had back in the 90's. Insted of the no flavor design the CRYSLER brought in when it first baught Mitsubishi.

And this car has alot of design cues found in the 90's Galant and Lancers in the front and back and lines of FTO'S and 3000GT. So i think mitsubishi has it own identity.

The back light do have the Alfa Romeo's. But then after Subaru bringing the Alfa designer to make their car look cool when it has failed misserebly. Mitsu has an in your face design for Subaru.

In the world where EVO vs STI battle is fought…..EVO has definitly evolved to be the most original and super.

It was once said in the 90's that Mitsubishi is the BMW of Japan.

And this car has brought it very close indeed.

• Wake up guys, for the big fan of Mitsubishi……….

Mitsubishi has a big trouble in Japan. They are so short of cash that they need to borrow from Proton! Atmost nobody in Japan want to buy Mitsu, cos the value of car is so low that you can buy a EVO 8 with only RM 10000.00!

Mitsubishi even came out with EVO wagoon, can you imagine???

• proton crap on Oct 04, 2005 at 9:36 pm

vetter than proton. If proton have no govt protection, even RM10,000 will not sell even in local market. NOT to talk about overseas.

• proton crap on Oct 04, 2005 at 9:39 pm

majority here will buy mitsubushi than proton even if proton is half the price say RM5,000 or even RM2,000 compare to rm10,000for lancer anytime.

Proton suck and is an insult to us malaysian having shit quality.

• proton crap on Oct 04, 2005 at 9:43 pm

buying a NEW 12 years model of wira in Malaysia is more expensive than buying a toyota VIOS in Thailand. why? beacuse we protect the FxcKing proton. Protect them and we all have to pay bloody high car price and now higher oil price. We have the highest car prices in all ASEAN except Singapore (however, if compare to the income of singaporeans, we are actually on the same shoe on pruchase power)

• poare on Oct 16, 2005 at 6:54 am

no more word to says…….

• Flannel on Oct 28, 2005 at 7:09 pm

what a nice from mitsubishi, maybe its a hint for evo 10, and i still using lancer gsr 1.8 dohc N/A, *sigh*, *sob*, *sniff*

• Sarah McBride on Nov 05, 2005 at 6:42 pm

It's a must have for mitsu lovers out there! Wow with aluminum roof and hood panels that lighten its load on the road, it sure will have better motive performance and better handling, one factor I primarily consider in choosing my ride. Learn more of this car: Mitsubishi Concept X Soon to Induce Droolfest

• wafies on Nov 09, 2005 at 12:53 am

wahhhhhhhh .. look like jawsssss …. :O

• Micha on Nov 12, 2005 at 1:20 am

WOOOHA This car is REALLY AMAZING!!! i love it!!

mitsubishi 4 ever

• Art Finny on Nov 18, 2005 at 5:59 am

First look it's ..gallant? but RX8, look at the tail lamps..

• Zak Hancock on Nov 18, 2005 at 12:16 pm

Great car, Mitsubishi all the way, I heard that the mitsu. needs a computer to tune it up and everything, and instead of a mechanical fault happening then its an electrical fault, is this true? anyways my dad says he is getting one as soon as it comes out, here in the UK, sometime in 2007, cannot wait

Zak Hancock

BearcubRallysport.co.uk

Droverslodge.co.uk

• this is a bad ass car i just wish i knew the price so i could buy it already

• SINNER on Dec 16, 2005 at 7:53 am

Well the outside desing is .. HELL. IT LOOKS LIKE A HUNGRY BEAST. God they finally made a great looking sports-car.

The interior is awfull. Let's hope it wont look like that.

About the Gearbox LET'S HOPE that it will be an optional 6 gear TRUE "H" MANUAL GEARBOX. At least optional. God I HATE this electronics, where the real driving spirit is killed with cold blood. It doesn't matter that the automated one is faster. It simply kills the pleasure. Thea REAL CLUCH, The REAL GEAR SHIFTING. oh God..i hate technology sometimes.

• t-rav on Dec 18, 2005 at 9:49 pm

nice ride

should be able to push some snow around in the winter

reminds me of a mazda

• serea on Jan 03, 2006 at 11:24 am

the over all body design is nice but the lights need help, the spoiler needs work, the two tone front bumper needs to go, and last the dash and interior in general is just off the wall blipping ugly! change in the cars these areas would in my opinion deeply improve on customer appeal.

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 13, 2006 at 6:44 pm

Excellent…now the old Wira was based on an old Evo, wasn't it? Okay…why don't they make a new Wira, based on the new Evo? Then we can own cheap Evos! Brilliant, don't you think? :D

• b-rad (Member) on Jul 21, 2006 at 2:59 pm

i really like the new look. the interior is definetly an improvement. i dont like how it is not a stick shift and that there is no clutch. i think there should also be a stick and clutch MR version of the new evo. i also was wondering about the price i hope it is in the same area like in the low to mid 30,000's it probably wont be but i hope it is. will the new evo be inproved in the performace catagory because if it looks that good it should be at least alittle faster the the IX evo, and stay in the same price range to keep the evo the best car ever made. im guessing that there is going to be a left handed stirring for the us right. anyways please read this.

• lee1 (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 11:05 pm

how come malaysia evo 10 different…and not cheap too almost 300k but the design light brother upgraded jinjang styre……this model are more agreesive with led light….

• alfred on Jun 12, 2009 at 10:51 am

i love this car is a my favorite car