Jiangling Landwind X6 gets zero in crash test

This is the Jiangling Motors Corporation’s Landwind X6 four wheel drive which was recently shown at the Shanghai Motor Show.

The 4WD has been brought into the European market for the first time lately and naturally it has to go through European NCAP tests.

You would think how bad can it be, it’s a huge four wheel drive SUV after all.

The results of the German ADAC test which is comparable to European NCAP safety standards in areas of passanger cabin protection was ZERO out of 5. It was so bad that even airbags were deemed useless. The passenger cabin completely collapsed on collision.

I hope the Dadi SUVs and trucks that are going to be released in Malaysia soon do not suffer from this poor safety.

Videos
Crash Test Video – Passenger cabin view.
Crash Test Video – Side profile view
Crash Test Video – re-tested by TUV

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• waaa ! i cannot imagine myself inside there !

Damn horrible to think about it.

at least waja get 3 stars n the cabin still intact even though the chasis bend little bit inside.

• December on Sep 30, 2005 at 6:05 pm

That's a shame, but then Paul, how did they get to produce this crap when it didnt meet the safety criteria? I think they wanna reduce the population in China, accidents would be a fun way to do it i think. This baby wobbles, yikes! -_-?

• i think they should replace the dummies with the bosses of the car company when they do the crash tests. Sure pass punya!!!! 10 out of 5 also can!

• travis on Sep 30, 2005 at 6:19 pm

i am wondering how's the safety rating for a kancil with no airbags n ABS, or a iswara with no airbags, ABS, EBD n milo tin quality!

At least china made cars still a crap compared to our cars. But soon they will catch up, C what happended to Koreans now!!!!

• monomania on Sep 30, 2005 at 6:21 pm

whos the hensem dude standing beside? thought usually chicks are promoting new car, now the chinese use mat hensem pulak? lol …. and look at his ultraman outfit……

• jinjang 4wd dohh..

• wah lau…i think i'm stronger.

• Michly on Sep 30, 2005 at 6:25 pm

Wah lau yeaaaa…… no china product….. but Travis , you are right, they will catch up very fast.. unlike POTONG..

• btw.. whos dat ah beng??

• Johnny Boy on Sep 30, 2005 at 6:35 pm

Dude, here are some results ratings based on Euro NCAP:

( of 5 )

kancil – 0

iswara – 0.5

kelisa – 0.5

myvi – 0

savvy – 4

waja – 3.5

picanto – 1

getz – 2

Chevy Spark – 2

Cherry QQ – 0

dadi trekker – 0 ( flop big time )

satria Gti – 4

ATOZ – 1

• Joshua on Sep 30, 2005 at 6:40 pm

Myvi got a 0???? hahahahaha. die lo, so many myvis out there.

• faizal on Sep 30, 2005 at 6:54 pm

hahahaha you all kutuk proton but produa safty test raitings are worse than proton …

• DOG THE WAN on Sep 30, 2005 at 7:00 pm

Hello Bro, Check this picture too….how's 5 stars feels….This is new SUBARU.

http://response.jp/issue/2005/0929/article74786_1…

• Tat ah beng = paul? sure ar?

• Streamyx User on Sep 30, 2005 at 7:39 pm

That gay guy should be the crash dummy. Duhhhh

• api-chai on Sep 30, 2005 at 8:02 pm

OMG……… walau ! *hands cover my eyes* I cant bear to watch a real one in a real accident !!

• E-Nabill on Sep 30, 2005 at 8:05 pm

cant stop loughing! this is so rediculous,i dont think thy will do anyting abt it…i tink this car shouldnt be driven beyond 70km/h otherwise the wind wil cut through the car ripping it into pieces..!

• Great Wall Of China on Sep 30, 2005 at 8:31 pm

Made in China…

what do you expect from them????

I think proton is better than them…LOL

• ex-mivec on Sep 30, 2005 at 8:38 pm

no china products please!!!

• Well it's to be advised to read and study the crashtest .Over the last 5 years other cars came out with the same results, especially small cars. I rather am involved in a crash with the Landwind than one in A Citroen, Smart,Hyundai Atos and other small cars.

The european crashtest is based on several points. In the frontal crash the Landwind failed for the driver, but for the passenger(s) it passes, also the side crash gave a result of 75%, which is good. In the categorie children safety it past the test.

If there is an extra airbag in the car and another warning light for the safetybelt, you add more points.

The European carproducers do not want the Landwind on the European roads because of the selling price( around 17000 Euro), which makes it for everybody possible to buy a SUV.

I am sure they (the Chinese) will fix the problem. By the way, also the Frontera, on which the Landwind is based did not score to high on the crashtest and was allowed on the European roads for several years.But of course that was an OPEL

• Jason on Sep 30, 2005 at 8:43 pm

Hahahah, funny. You all say Proton milo tin, look at Hyundai and Chevy, almost same.

• ah… so its based on an opel frontera. its no wonder the side profile looked so familiar.

• Jason on Sep 30, 2005 at 8:44 pm

Forgot to mention, wat's up with using male models? Now i feel that car is gay.

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Sep 30, 2005 at 8:58 pm

joni boy..

source url please!

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 30, 2005 at 9:00 pm

Johnny Boy : LIES.

Where is the rating found dude? I went to EuroNCAP and found none of the above true. Because the ATOZ scored a well 3/5 and a 2/4 for Passenger and Pedestrian respectively.

Haha , and I found a coincidence that all the Proton makes score far higher than the other makes? Since when have Proton built upgraded Milo-Tins?

• Rosdi on Sep 30, 2005 at 9:07 pm

johnny boy.. state your source la.. dont just simply write without source.. if u copy from magazine please tell us the magazine edition etc.

I am curious to know whether myvi really scored 0 in the test.. if that is true then i wonder what these myvi buyers are paying the airbag for…

• narrowband on Sep 30, 2005 at 9:38 pm

That guy isn't a model, is he? O_O!

• Verne on Sep 30, 2005 at 10:05 pm

Geez, that's horrible man! And we always have the perception that bigger cars are safer and less susceptible to damage!

• travis on Sep 30, 2005 at 10:54 pm

u sure anot johny boy?

myvi or toyota passo or daihatsu sirion havent really tested in NCAP, so do savvy (4 stars? those proton sales claimed 3 stars loh). The waja has achieved 3 stars n to european standards 3 stars r bad enouugh/

Show solid evidence man……

• Streamyx User on Sep 30, 2005 at 10:56 pm

MyVI owners freaking out HAHAHAAHA

• rainbow7j on Sep 30, 2005 at 11:08 pm

no i am not freaking out cos i do know i dont drive like crash dummies

but without solid proof and from what i see in the NCAP website i can safely say that guy is just making up his numbers

• how come you guys are so sure that that's a man?

• rainbow7j on Sep 30, 2005 at 11:19 pm

if i am not wrong Perodua MyVi is based loosely on this platform

http://www.theaa.com/allaboutcars/ncap/ncap_car_r…

and this is the waja for export?

http://www.theaa.com/allaboutcars/ncap/ncap_car_r…

• Selipar on Sep 30, 2005 at 11:31 pm

i totally agree with those people who commented against joni boy…

don't just make up with any numbers without solid reference….u might never know…some people might feel uneasy or worry driving those bad rating cars around….be more careful & sensitive dude.. >:P

• rainbow7j on Sep 30, 2005 at 11:45 pm

there was one opinion i saw just recently about this crash test, where the chinese government is furious over the way it was published, cos the german ADAC clain the chinese made car result was the worse ever they came across ….

• Jazzy on Sep 30, 2005 at 11:48 pm

compare this to proton!

• rainbow7j on Oct 01, 2005 at 12:41 am

proton model fared better than that :p

see my previous msg about the proton impian, I couldn't find any more articles about tests being conducted on other proton models…

• To Others-than-proton car's owner; now you know how proton car's owner feel when you all said it full of crap and tin milo. Did you give any links (or proof or what ever s**t) want you said that. Typical M'sian…sight ***

• typo..sorry

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 01, 2005 at 2:23 am

If you wish to know Wira & Perdana, please check Mitsubishi models Lancer and Galant, there are the same platform. Gen2? not sure…Anybody knows?

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 01, 2005 at 2:50 am

Ayoh…..LEi chai…….Wah…..HO YAU YING woh….!!

What an Akuah Nah Yin standing beside SUV…..some more Zero Star SUV…..pui!…..Tar pau lah!!……YAU MO KAU….CHOU!!

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 01, 2005 at 2:52 am

SEE FU, this comment okay? Why no comment?

• SEE FU on Oct 01, 2005 at 2:56 am

DOG THE WAN arr!! Boleh tahanlah!….YAU MO KAU………..CHOU!! …..Steal my trade mark!

• Probably, China Car manufacturers didnt do enuff R&D on impact dissipation?

Anyway, I read abt BMW5 series getting 3/5 for their initial ADAC test. Barely passed…A retest was 4/5….high end aluminium….

• i love the cute tyre size jiangling install on landwind x6

imo, johnny boy just crap around with the result he wrote for himself, some model he mention never join NCAP too.

• Wiraone on Oct 01, 2005 at 8:27 am

I wonder where did Johnny Boy got the NCAP ratings from. Don't think Perodua has ever send it cars for the rating .. and btw, the test done by ADAC on this 4×4 is not official .. hence, there shouldn't be any rating given to it.

• Streamyx User on Oct 01, 2005 at 9:23 am

JiangLing , SanngYeong all ahbeng. After this what car, Lanchiao?

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 01, 2005 at 9:57 am

Just look at the official NCAP website and you will know what he is saying is a TRUE BULLSHIT.

http://www.euroncap.com/content/safety_ratings/ra…

Look carefully on that page and tell me what's the rating for Hyundai Atoz and Kia Picanto.

Fiat Seicento 1.1 —> Now that's a One-star. Look how horrible it is.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 01, 2005 at 10:09 am

Sorry for the double post .

CORRECTION : Fiat Seicento 1.1 —-> Not 1 star , But 2 stars. It got 1 star slashed off though.

Sorry sorry.

• Wiraone on Oct 01, 2005 at 11:39 am

Guess what .. even tho NCAP gives 1 star .. Seicento is still the cheapest car to insure here in the UK. And as a city car (and endorsed by Schumacher) .. it is here to stay ..

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 02, 2005 at 7:32 am

That shows that stars ain't everything , Haha.

Look at Proton's for a good example. They aren't the safest car nor they are the worst , but so many people use them , Why is that?

Better forward that question to your econs teacher.

• hokkien lang. on Oct 02, 2005 at 9:13 am

WHO WANT SAY THAT CAR MAKE FROM COLA CAN?

ANY ONE?….

• honourMe on Oct 02, 2005 at 7:20 pm

did you hear the crash dummy screaming for help?

• SEE FU on Oct 03, 2005 at 4:15 pm

HonourMe Arr!!

I think the DUMMY calling to CEO of Jiang Ling Motors Corp. to complaint why your design is SUCKs! I will sue YOU soon!

• audiokari85 on Oct 04, 2005 at 1:36 am

Jiang Ling anyone??? hahahaha

• symp54 on Oct 08, 2005 at 3:07 am

Don´t forget – the chinese are learning very fast. They will improve the land wind. Beside that the landwind is practically a copy of the opel frontera, which also scores badly in any crash tests but is supposed to be an european make. Either way, the Land wind is the only SUV I could afford right now without getting into credit or leasing. Thus i don´t care about safety when I buy a car for 15000 € , I care only about the PRICE. European car makers will sooner or later get into trouble when a typical mid size car like Opel Vectra or VW Passat costs 30.000 €, and a rather super-super mini like VW Fox costs about 11.000 €. The prices are CRAZY. Chinese cars are the way to go in the next 10 years. Maybe not right now, but remember : the Land wind is the first chinese car available on the euro market – soon OTHERS, better cars will follow. And they will be still VERY CHEAP, compared to euro crazy prices. Just look what the korean and japanese cars did to the car prices in the US. In the US for about 15.000 $ you can already buy a very decent US built car. In Europe anything which costs below 15.000 euro is crap.

Especially german car makers will have to outsource the production to eastern europe or they will cease to exist. It´s nonsense to pay the western german worker 5000 € when a polish, slovakian or czech worker earns 1000 € and delivers the same or better quality. The german industry has to outsource all the production or the chinese will crash them like peanuts.

• kkrit ilovewasa on Nov 08, 2005 at 8:39 pm

"Dude, here are some results ratings based on Euro NCAP:

( of 5 ) picanto -1"

from http://www.euroncap.com/content/safety_ratings/ra… said Kia Picanto got 3 stars

But I want to see video about Brilliance Zhonghua crash test!!!!!! If it got 4 or 5 stars from www.euroncap.com, I NEED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• kkrit ilovewasa on Nov 08, 2005 at 8:52 pm

http://paultan.org/archives/2005/11/08/mini-coope…

IF 40 mph = 64 kph……….

and then 2005 Jiangling Landwind = “2001″ Ford F-150 !?!?!?!?!?!

OH!!! "2001" , NOT "2004"!!!!!!!!!!!

• kkrit ilovewasa on Nov 09, 2005 at 12:08 am

See also http://landwind.bootnetworks.com/
    – Landwind Crash Test, Landwind Fails Crash Tests by General German Automobile Association

– Pictures of Volkswagen Touareg for Comparison (BEST)

– Pictures of 2003 Ford F150 for Comparison (WORST)

Pictures of Isuzu Rodeo for Comparison (WORST TOO) – Landwind is copycated from this car (Isuzu Rodeo/Vega/Cameo)

• weater on Dec 03, 2005 at 2:57 pm

Buy and topics related to surfline Weather forcast cannot be kcra and features. iceland is required by and topics related to jayski, , wavy and , prevailing, and kgw. More information on , nbc4 Weather forcast . Our website sells katu. I need , noa, is focused on radars The best thing about ….

• Adi lotry on Dec 13, 2005 at 1:04 am

This chinese car looks fimiliar??? i wonder where i seem to see it….is it simila with the isuzu WIZARD and Opel???

ARGHHH china ni mmg suka meniru la….ingat kn mainan MADE IN CHINA je yg meniru..rupa2nya kreta yg dorang buat pun sama…

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 19, 2006 at 1:07 am

It's obviously an Opel Frontera with different front and rear ends, and slapped with a tacky bodykit on the sides. And it still uses manual locking front hubs – how utilitarian! I suppose this Landwind (what a name!) would be good for some mild off-roading. Just don't crash in one…

• Black_Dagger on Nov 06, 2015 at 8:38 pm

truly_china_ayam_brands