2006 Toyota Vios Facelift

With the new Honda City facelift coming soon on the 11th this month, it’s time it’s direct competitor the Toyota Vios got updated too to keep up with the competition. This is the facelifted Toyota Vios which is already available in Taiwan, launched on the 28th September 2005.

From what I’ve gathered, this will only be a facelift in terms of looks and will not feature any updates to the capable 109hp 1NZ-FE engine found in the current Toyota Vios.

As you can see from the photos, the new 2006 Toyota Vios facelift gets new bumpers, a redesigned headlamp cluster and also a new grille. The grille is very “Mazda”-ish, or something like the Proton Gen2’s grille. The shape seems to be less round and there’s a chrome bit at the top, giving it a more expensive look.

The new bumper is more sporty than the current bumper. The current bumper has 1 grilled gap flanked by 2 rectangular-ish foglights. The new bumper has 3 meshed ventilation gaps with round spotlights integrated into the side gaps.

The Toyota Vios facelift also gets redesigned rear brakelight clusters. The design looks a bit more complicated, although it retains the same basic horizontal white and red look.

Grey colour scheme interior. Very sporty. The dashboard meter is still positioned in the center. I don’t like that. Sigh.

This colour scheme is more towards luxury and comfort. I don’t really like wooden trimmings that much. I prefer the grey interior.

This bootlid spoiler is likely optional.

2006 Toyota Vios facelift with bodykit.

Compartment under the seat for storage. The new Honda City also has this feature, except the storage is something like a glovebox under the rear passenger seats. This Vios storage compartment looks more like a tray.

Automatic flipping side mirrors.

The CD player has been updated to support playback of MP3 files.

I doubt we’ll see this particular player in Malaysia, but drooling isn’t a crime hehe.

Bee-sting antenna.

When will UMW Toyota Malaysia counter-attack the new Honda City with this model?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 03, 2005 at 10:39 am

1st to comment!

Looks better , However the middle dash still disappoints. I'd take the City over this , partly because I like Honda , and partly because the Interior is what I face everyday , not the exterior.

But I have no $$$ and that is the point , Hahaha. – Still waiting for my Myvi.

• Resurrected on Oct 03, 2005 at 11:36 am

Cool, but still pricey for an entry level Toyota. Living in the US now makes me feel we have been shortchanged when it comes to cars. Oh well. Will go back to driving my Wira when I get home or maybe a 2nd hand Japanese/European make. Wouldn't mind dishing out money on this Vios though, looking good. I liked it when I first went in one, comfy ride, enough power. I don't mind the centre console though.

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 03, 2005 at 3:47 pm

Paul, How much? Any Price down or Up? Exterior Looks abit old fashion to me!

Interior Mahmah. City is better interior design!

• Tenno on Oct 03, 2005 at 4:30 pm

look nice…can upgrade old model to this ??? btw i manage to to cucuk angin new potong satria at PLUS near t.malim yesterday night….. that car vary fast maaa..my potong wila speedo meter 120km…damm.. that car very fastt :P

• Aris Tee on Oct 03, 2005 at 5:01 pm

the rear looks the same larr… City change back alot, Vios change front alot… hehe

• I still dont like it's dashboard meters in the middle. I needs to turn my eyes to the other side….hehehe. It's so difficult to me…but some people ignoring that. The rest, the interior so nice including that CD Player…can i get that one huh??? ;D

• travis on Oct 03, 2005 at 5:51 pm

I dont see much difference copmpared to the current vios, but at least the new vios is not the ugly toyota betra as i expected, phew!

• kalen_XI on Oct 03, 2005 at 5:55 pm

it's still a small car..

haih..any chance they could put a 2.0L turbo engine in it?

HAHAHAHHAHAHAHHA…jk jk…wudnt want the engine to run off without the car

• dear all readers,

my only comment , recap Paul's remarks above " new bumper is more sporty than the current bumper".

someone somewhere some-time-ago, went around town to write "SPORTY" on all cars, now everyone who product new cars have to have the sporty word on the car, otherwise it will not sell.

the worst is the already car owner, spend $$$ $$$ $$$ to change the outlook to "SPORTY" too…. I feel it is a waste of $$.

And the car above, I love it, my machenic say the Vios have the lowest fuel consumption of all cars on the road now, Paul… do you think so.

• yeong on Oct 03, 2005 at 6:25 pm

it seem no any big different compare to it's brother altis but overall still ok.this what we call toyota power!

• I noticed a lot of people have problems with the position of the dashboard meters. Actually, that position is better ergonomically compared to the conventional position. That's because when you look down, you can't keep yur eyes on the road, but if you look to the side, you are still able to keep track of the road ahead of you with the corner of your eyes. The only reason I can think of why people don't like this arrangement is because it is unconventional.

• rainbow7j on Oct 03, 2005 at 8:05 pm

like honda city better haha

but both Honda city and Toyota vios dont have manual gear transmission model available in M'sia?

dont like auto gear:p

>_

• confused on Oct 03, 2005 at 8:13 pm

to say the vios has the lowest fuel consumption of all cars on the road today is a definitely innacurate.

but to say it has the lowest consumption in class, maybe. but thats not a proven fact also.

basically, its another facelift, and its not a large difference compared to the current model. Interior wise, i still prefer the city/jazz. in the case of the city, the many storage areas, the near flat rear cabin floor, huge boot, and clever folding seat arrangements.

• besides the dashboard meter.. position of the air con is another problem, cold air can't reach the back. sitting at the back during hot sunny afternoon can be torturing. but the new design still look very chun! new bumper makes the car look sporty, like the interior too =)

• yeahh it's still a small car..

to me it should be priced 40k to 60k only, then we can talk…

• E-Nabill on Oct 03, 2005 at 9:25 pm

interior is very small actually compare to city..cramped…bt stil dont have a WOW factor…i mean u can go to any proper acc shop n do buy all those facelift items..noting special…probably UMW is gonna charge u more than a current version…and wen wil thy ever get rid of the wood trim console…bt i must say the engine is good

• narrowband on Oct 03, 2005 at 10:06 pm

Concur with Ed. I read somewhere that that position is "practical" (actual word used quoted here). I believe that the explanation has been summarized by Ed. It takes a little getting used to. The Kancil, X-Trail, have also adopted this position. The trend's creeping in slowly, but surely..

• id go with a 2nd hand corolla or a camry anyday, but they just change the posish of the speedo and well be set :D

• vios8820 on Oct 04, 2005 at 12:08 am

VIOS IS NICE NO Compain ~~

if u own it and u will know ~~~

btw i really happy with my vios (^_^)

• albagmane on Oct 04, 2005 at 12:26 am

the vios may be a great car in many aspects. however, i dont like the center meter display on the dashboard, coz i never like cars with center meter display. so the facelifted kancil.. never comes into my mind. well, its quite disapponting that the interior of new vios still remain the same pattern.

oh ya, i see the third photo that the new vios seem to be equipped with Xenon lights??? is this really a fact Paul? if this is true, this is a great surprise to me!

• albagmane: that's the taiwan spec vios facelift. i dont think we will be getting the same specs.

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 04, 2005 at 12:42 am

Who wanna to see the NEW design of Cinderella Fairy-Tale Pumpkin car?

Check this out: http://response.jp/issue/2005/1002/article74874_1…

and http://response.jp/issue/2005/1003/article74837_1…

Thanks to Nissan Designer creating such a Rubbish car for Tokyo motor show!! This concepts is REALLY SUCKs!!

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 04, 2005 at 1:12 am

If you use this car to go for dating, sure SUCKS!! Ah beng design!! WAH HA HA AH…..Ha

http://response.jp/issue/2005/1002/article74809_1…

• New Vios… no much different… but still better… even a lil bit…

• No complains wif the centralized speedometer.

Surely UMW gonna swapped the interior to a 'cheapo' interior to maximise profits….

current VIOS should have the digital speedo but itz not offer as a package here!

Anyway, a Toyota fan never regret watz his getting except the price to PAY!

• Naruto on Oct 04, 2005 at 5:52 am

I do agree generally toyota cars r more reliable than honda cars in msia….hear me right, msia. u cant bet the same thing elsewhere cus thinggs r chging. honda overcame toyota in terms of reliablity n cost of maintenance already (cheaper).

another thg, vios myb more reliable and look,the only value added n defnitly more CONVENTIONAL than honda which is always more adventurous wit its technology ,innovations and bold design for the radical mind, sporty n venturous attitude. u think cvt n vtec r petty thgs and problematic? why didnt u complain bmw, benz ,mini cooper cvt? those aside, HONESTLY, U DONT KNOW A GODAMMN THG ABT CVT N VTEC to say those thgs abt those wonderfull tech. u know nuts n only sohw how shallow minded u r …no wonder u r fit to js stuck to ur conventional vios….

ever heard of high risk high return ? im not saying vios is bad here buthonda goes further giving its fans n enthusiasts more techies and wonders of tech but as usual…tech dont come cheap (the replacement IF ANY) but the reward n satisfactions r unlimited….if u dont understd tis which is equavalent to honda…then…no wonder u chose vios. cus ur js as shallow as those who mocked honda jus becuase u know nthg abt honda and jus bc toyota IS toyota…ur a tragic…sad

myb u hv to come out more often to see honda odyssey , civic 2006 to see wht miles hav honda went….im talking abt cars on the road…not the toyota exprimental car ,frankfurt motorshow or concept X, Y or Z protoypte…..geeee

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 04, 2005 at 6:05 am

Lol , CVT and VTEC is already proven , What's more to prove?

And Honda just won the 'Less problematic (Or what it's called , read it on Star)' Car award for the 2nd year straight.

Well , Toyota… Lets just say the Middle dash is not the only turn off to Vios , the technology in Vios is a bit lagging vs City.

albagmane : As Paul said , Whether we will get the same spec here in Malaysia still remains a mystery. But I do know that the Daihatsu Sirion/Boon had HID as an option , but when Perodua ported the platform to the Myvi . the HID option was not offered here.

• HumanSanzz on Oct 04, 2005 at 6:14 am

wah lau honda has so many tech de ar??????? But why the sales of honda is still lower than toyota.As i know the sales for honda is even lower than mitsu and nissan in taiwan.Damn kelian lar.But 1 thing i can assure u that toyota cars r really damn reliable.My friend drives a year 1980 toyota coralla and this car is still in a good condition.Good means that the engine is still functioning,no leak and no white or black gases exhausted.Compared to proton ar.Haizz 10 years old car really can treat it as junk aledi.But honda sales has no encourage results because of the dealer of honda in malaysia.Is it true????I dunno lar but i heard from my dad.

I still love Toyota leh even though honda has so many tech( CVT VTEC KNN CCB FGA…….. ei dunno still have wat)

Camry 2004 owner here.Hope that my camry is still in a good cond for the 20 years coming.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 04, 2005 at 6:25 am

Wah 20 years meh. Even BMW oso cannot guarantee in 20 yrs your car won't contribute white or black smoke to the atmosphere lar.

Honda Tech ar. I oso dont know much , I only know about PGM-F1 , HESD , VTEC , i-VTEC , CVT and the common ones like …. ABS bla bla bla.

• Jacky on Oct 04, 2005 at 7:21 am

Last to comment :D

I don't prefer the meter located at the center of the dash board like the others. Why Toyota designed it like that huh?

The rear still no nice. Other than that this is a nice car from Toyota.

• Bryan on Oct 04, 2005 at 8:58 am

overall for vios is ok.. but i just dun like the meter that located at the center.. sigh….

• Naruto on Oct 04, 2005 at 8:59 am

HumanSanzz said,

wah lau honda has so many tech de ar??????? But why the sales of honda is still lower than toyota.

————-

honda is more enthusiasts oriented or in other names, fansers…theyr more niche market rather than mass i suppose tho theyr moving toward tht but u can feel theyr less inclined..due to their more futuristic and bold design eg civic 2006…u rarely expect unker to buy it than yuppie

do u think those who r more affordable in this higher priced segment aka uncle uncle will buy honda when he doesnt even know how to appreciate/operate those beauty….like odyssey impressive optitron or sthg like tht meter?? of course, bigger portion will will get nissan or toyta which it is more familiar wit…normal mechanism..nthg new…

its a damn simple concept actually tho not directly represented by tis scenario but….sthg like…is rolex inferior becuase swatch has bigger portion of market share? nope. tho rolex has less market sales is not at all means it is less popular…because it is niche .get it ?

• Naruto on Oct 04, 2005 at 9:05 am

HumanSanzz said,

But 1 thing i can assure u that toyota cars r really damn reliable.My friend drives a year 1980 toyota coralla and this car is still in a good condition.Good means that the engine is still functioning,no leak and no white or black gases exhausted

——————-

u know wht…ur one very damn funny guy….u must be blinded by the brand name toyta tht u dont realise honda over 10/15 years cars are thrashing the numbers of 'old' toyta cars on the road….the honda accord, civic, ek, eg, integra, prelude, are swarming the roads multiple times more than toyta its funny u didnt realise tht…wht, u js reach msia shore is tht wht .

those honda models r over 10 years u chek back to motor traders…and those models are so well still sought after by honda fansers…bought to be modded or stock…

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 04, 2005 at 9:10 am

o_O? Do I sense bashing?

Seriously , cool it guys. This'll be a full-blown war soon if not calmed now.

Neither have the absolute advantage , Honda have the technology , Toyota have the sales , fair?

• MutantTomato on Oct 04, 2005 at 9:20 am

I own a VIOS. I must say the older Toyotas were better designed in some areas than the newer ones, like the VIOS. Here's what I personally find annoying/problematic with the VIOS:

1. Front air con vents, especially the driver side. No matter how you hold the steering wheel, the air will hit the back of your hand. So you can either raise the temp. and suffer, or lower the temp and be comfortable but freeze your hands off! :(

2. no engine temp. gauge. I think this is VERY stupid. There is a blue light for a cold engine, no light for normal temp and red light for overheating. With a gauge, you could see straight away when the car was heating up. You would notice the temp needle had gone up a notch. In this case, you can only know when the car has already overheated! :(

3. Small rear space. It is ok for people of average height but for me (I'm 6'), I have to slouch in the back seat.

4. Unstable at high speed. I think this is either due to the small wheels or the fact that the car is high off the ground (Paul, help me here bro! :)). At more than 120KM/h, the car feels a little unstable. It tends to bounce a bit and also seems like it will fly off the ground.

However, it is FAR FAR more reliable than any bloody Proton! So whatever it is, I am still happy with my VIOS. Also, before you Proton junkies decide to slag me off, I have driven/owned a Wira, Satria, Perdana and Saga. So there!!!

• If it bounces I doubt it's the tyres lah… should be suspension. My Satria also like that… too high. My housing area cannot lower.

• HumanSanzz on Oct 04, 2005 at 11:09 am

I was comparing the recently sales between honda and toyota lar.Not over the last 10/15 years.What i meant was toyota NOW is doing well compared to last few years.Last time ppl would more likely choose honda accord rather than toyota camry because older accord has a better look or something lar.I dunno.I also din say that the honda cars r not good.Who dare to say that?Did i???What i can said is toyota gains pplz hearts and they trusted it.May be!!!!!

thx for telling me the rolex and swatch story but it does not make sense for honda and toyota cars.If i have the money,i rather get a merc or bmw.Japanese cars still give a lower class feeling though.May be u can make comparison between Casio and Seiko.

• MutantTomato on Oct 04, 2005 at 6:26 pm

Paul said: If it bounces I doubt it’s the tyres lah… should be suspension. My Satria also like that… too high. My housing area cannot lower.

Paul, bro, so what's the remedy? Lowering the car? Or will changing the suspension system be adequate? I noticed when I looked under the car, that the suspension is not the typical "absorbers inside springs" type of suspension, like in Wiras. They are separate. Is this supposed to be better or something? Of course, one bloody good thing about Toyota suspension is, you get the Merc or Beemer sort of "almost all vibrations absorbed" type of feeling, but with a much cheaper car. However, if I want to compare handling, my Wira could tah pau my VIOS la…

So Paul, what can I do bro?

• You people need to realise that the world is bigger than just Malaysia and Asia.

Toyota has aced Honda in customer satisfaction surveys WORLDWIDE, for years and years.

The market trends in other parts of the world will surprise some of you. In Britain for example, Hondas have gotten the image of being vehicles for old people because the average age of Honda owners is quite high.

Honda? Niche market? You've got to be kidding. In fact, that statement is ludicrous. Do you even understand the meaning of niche? Lotus, for example, build niche cars. Honda is just like Toyota, like Ford, like GM and so on.

Technology? A Mercedes SL 55 AMG doesn't have DOHC, it doesn't have variable valve timing, it only has 3 valves per cyclinder, it doesn't have 2 sparkplugs per combustion chamber and it only has a very basic automatic gearbox. So, the Merc is inferior to a City then? What I'm trying to say is that new technology doesn't neccessarilly make a car better or your driving experience better.

• For those who are interested. The 2005 JD Power and Associates Initial Quality Study for Malaysia: http://www.jdpa.com/news/releases/pressrelease.as…

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 04, 2005 at 9:50 pm

Ed : 'What I’m trying to say is that new technology doesn’t neccessarilly make a car better or your driving experience better.' – BULLSHIT.

If you say so , better drive a carb car instead then , Why go for VVTi or VTEC?

If you said 'New technology that are not PROVEN doesn’t neccessarilly make a car better or your driving experience better.' , Then I might agree with you. Because you see , VVTi / VTEC is already proven , with VTEC proven long ago.

However I do agree with you that Honda is not aiming for the niche market with niche cars. They are a mass market producer that aims for consumers like us.

But Honda's just got the 'Least faulty part for each car produced' – or something which I read in the paper , for two years straight. And far as I know , Toyota doesn't have much to ace Honda for customer satisfaction. Because Honda owners do not frequent their SC much due to reliablilty.

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 04, 2005 at 9:54 pm

Another thing I found :

Fuel and ignition system ME 2.8 engine management. Integrated sequential multipoint fuel injection and phased twin-spark ignition includes individual cylinder control of fuel spray, spark timing and phase, and antiknock. Electronic throttle. Two high-energy ignition coils and two spark plugs per cylinder, with 100,000-mile spark plug intervals.

Intake system Helical high-pressure supercharger with liquid-to-air intercooler.

Transmission AMG-enhanced 5-speed automatic. Electronically controlled shifting. Driver-adaptive programming adjusts shift points to the driver's current driving style. Touch Shift allows driver to manually downshift and allow upshifts by nudging the shift lever left or right from the Drive position. Shift into Optimum Gear programming allows one-touch selection of the best gear for maximum acceleration or engine braking by holding the shift lever to the left of Drive for one second. Driver-selectable Comfort mode starts vehicle moving in 2nd gear or a second Reverse gear, and upshifts at lower rpm, to help improve control on slippery surfaces.

AMG SpeedShiftâ„¢ AMG SpeedShift programming provides up to 35% faster gear changes, automatically downshifts during braking, prevents unwanted upshifting while cornering and features torque converter lockup in all forward gears. Fingertip manual mode allows direct-access shifting through forward gears via buttons on the back of the upper steering-wheel spokes (left button downshifts, right button upshifts) or via the Touch Shift feature on the shift lever, and will automatically intervene only to select 1st gear when the vehicle stops. In Sport and Comfort modes, the steering-wheel buttons operate the Touch Shift feature.

Drive configuration Rear-wheel drive.

Rear axle ratio 2.82:1

———-SPECS FOR SL55 AMG———–

Proves that you are bullshitting people with this fact again. All your claims are FALSE. Read what it says , and if you are not convinced : Link

Read it twice. Maybe thrice.

• rafreez on Oct 04, 2005 at 10:03 pm

whatever it is, VIOS is for girls (Britney) n Altis is for guys (Brad Pit)…it's obvious Toyota aim this cars for career lady not guys like us even with this new sporty kind a look..Girls nowdays is sportier by the day…middle meter is to made it easier for the girls to chit chat with each other so they'll always aware of the speed (Guys always concentrate on the road, racing feeling). mirror on the driver side (obvious for girls)…so guys stick with Altis or Civic, engine wise or performance, both Honda n Toyota has it own speciality…this is my point of view, up to you guys to agree or not…

• albagmane on Oct 04, 2005 at 10:12 pm

is the new vios equipped with xenon headlights ah? coz the third photo seem to be showing that..

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 05, 2005 at 2:49 am

albagmane : As Paul said , Whether we will get the same spec here in Malaysia still remains a mystery. But I do know that the Daihatsu Sirion/Boon had HID as an option , but when Perodua ported the platform to the Myvi . the HID option was not offered here.

——So it comes down to UMW Toyota , Whether they will offer HID as an option , or not.

• tagarito on Oct 05, 2005 at 3:05 am

eRis-Aeir4s:

Why are you so brash?

Perhaps you are so insecure of your brand. You wanna make others feel that Honda is better. Perhaps for you, but there are others who think otherwise.

In the Philippines where I live, Honda recalled at least 760,000 vehicles this year for faulty fuel tank mounting.

Honda City sales has been marginal in the Philippines, except perhaps CR-V. Other Hondas I see here are only the 96-99 Civics and the SiR's, and a few City Type Z. The new City is just too angular and all. Most City ads here (yes even the TV ads) are positioned diagonally with the left side mirrors on top. So I'd have too look that way perhaps to appreciate it?

The Vios does not need obscure camera angles to get your attention.

Smack dab practical.

The Vios has a center mounted console like the Echo and it gives it an arcade-game feel, because you can see the speedo and tachometer while your eyes are on the road. It's a left-to right movement rather than the up-down movement of the conventional position behind the steering wheel.

Three years on and new Vioses are still rolling out of Toyota showrooms.

Corolla just grew too big with its Altis. Vios is still really a big hit here and this new facelift hasn't even been released. My family has one, my extended family has three. Two neigbors on our block have one, and nine on the nearby neighborhood. And a day won't pass without me seeing at least three elsewhere. Like the older Corolla of the 90's, there are those who already made taxis of Vios, proof of Toyota's reliability and durability.

To think that it takes a big effort on the part of the owner to use a new car as a taxi here in Manila.

IMHO Toyota's doing well as it has been for more than 20 years.

• tagarito on Oct 05, 2005 at 3:24 am

We love it so much, even the police uses it.

http://tsikot.yehey.com/gallery/showphoto.php/pho…

• HumanSanzz on Oct 05, 2005 at 3:34 am

Opps.We can see such condition in taiwan too.Toyota really gains people hearts man.Honda really practices mass production juzz like others consumers cars but the sales is just not that encourage.May be this is so called 'strategy'.Hehe!!!But i hope toyota won't lose it quality juzz because of it results.Keep on the hard work man Toyota.

• LexusGS on Oct 05, 2005 at 10:50 am

what am i agree JAKE said is true .the vios 1.5 price still is expersive not worth it , if the price is below Rm 60K still ok i think many ppl also can effort it haha, i think the price of the car should be worth 50k something . why the car price make it up in m"sia here really no idea …

• Cars! on Oct 05, 2005 at 6:27 pm

PERFECT shape model and design REALY facinate me.

The light,grill,bumper,fog light,and the rims.

ONLY few thing dat i would mention is the rear light no change,the seats at rear is narrow.WAT ever this VIOS is still looks very nice .Even looks more perfect than the HONDA CITY

• hazard on Oct 06, 2005 at 9:19 pm

talking about older cars..i am still using my dad's nissan sunny year 1984 model and still it's doing very well…no annoying sound, perfect aircond and no black smoke from the exhaust…i can afford to buy a new Vios/city as i am an engineer but still i think i'm satisfied with the 20+ yr old nissan..why shud i be in debt for the RM80+K cars if my gf doesnt mind and a lot of chicks are not bothered with my nissan too…i guess it's the substance that's more important. :)

• epalhead on Oct 06, 2005 at 11:41 pm

i did not contribute to the government a large amount of duty and tax on cars…

only little…..so….way to guys…

The car…phewwww……if i could buy one…..really fascinates me…

• epalhead on Oct 06, 2005 at 11:44 pm

price list should shows how much they are paying to goverment…

and what really they are paying on the cars??

if they still want to buy……go on….be a good citizen….

What u all thinks guys??

• Wonder buyer on Oct 07, 2005 at 2:05 am

I was a toyota SEG owner. Now I am back to my home ground and I am looking for a car for transport. I had tested drive both VIOS (G) and Honda CITY V-TEC at their respective show room.

For the outlook, I think both VIOS and CITY are still not good. I have budget problem so I decided to compromise to the outlook problem (if I have more budget then I will get Altis or Civic or Mondeo). Then I focus on comfortability. VIOS as usual, Toyota car is better than Honda in term of suspension. Power wise both are almost equal. Interior design wise, I am very disappointed with VIOS compare to CITY. Space wise CITY out beat VIOS. and etc. After many time of consideration… I finally place booking at CITY.

I agreed with most of you here, imported car in Malaysia is too expensive due to the national car protection policy. What to do? I need a car and I really do not want to buy proton. ENOUGH IS ENOUGH!

• hazard on Oct 07, 2005 at 5:15 pm

Car prices in malaysia are really ridiculous after the 300% tax on non-national cars. Average Malaysians are doomed to huge debt if they want to get those better quality cars. Even national cars are expensive too. I cant understand this.

• only interested in the foldable side mirror….haha…the rest are small changes…not really advisable to get the facelift-ed Vios now as it don't come with the bodykit, and can't really mod anything. Still prefers my current Vios…heh heh

• Michael Chua on Oct 11, 2005 at 7:33 pm

Purely cosmetic changes. Just looks a tad neater. But Vios is a winner in terms of fuel efficiency (especially its manual version). It can pick up speed faster than the 1.6L Corolla Altis too since it has a better power-to-weight ratio. Vios has re-defined what cheap and good should be.

• nekoof on Oct 11, 2005 at 11:29 pm

just a lil changed compared to CITY. prefer the older Vios somehow. you guys can swap the new foldable mirrors on your current vios! hehe would be cool. Same thing applies to City too. auto foldable mirrors. plug and play i guess. cheers!

• beehong on Oct 19, 2005 at 12:18 am

Vios.. Plastic car of the year. Its like toys. Only bullshit who don't know about the car buy it.. So sadf.. Still have morons people buy vios & city… Waste money! Save a bit and buy sentra la..

• proton crap on Oct 19, 2005 at 11:33 pm

Proton is not at fault, it is the past government (DR M) who bring us to this situation just because of his 'pet' project to squeeze ppl money

• Maniac on Oct 20, 2005 at 8:19 am

i juz ordered the new honda city..it looks greated than vios anyway. vios still the same la.i was worried that i'll be regretted if i see the new vios. my worry subsided now.i think i made a right choice la. looking forward to get my city now.hehe..

• grind on Oct 23, 2005 at 5:00 pm

ha.. ha… another crappy design by toyota. Same like city.Agree with beehong. I rather buy kancil than this 2 stupid car. Waste money, just for moron only.

• lepak on Oct 23, 2005 at 9:54 pm

Dont said like that la grind. All know that vios & city are crappy design, but don't kutuk kaw kaw. It will drop the owner face la. They think that if can buy vios & city, hidung kembang already.. Thinking that they have status.. Lancau.

• tehshow on Oct 25, 2005 at 4:04 pm

What do you think proton are? Is any variants of proton can beat vios? Proton is more crappy than vios.

• hazard on Oct 25, 2005 at 7:39 pm

i think i dont like the new vios design..cos the front grille now looks like Gen2's grille….it think City new designs still macam ikan buntal…crap crap…better to buy Honda Civic. Perfect design.

• nick chan on Oct 25, 2005 at 10:18 pm

i was thinking which one to buy? city or vios? i know nothing about cars. city's interior for me is so nice and funky especially the blue exterior with biege seats. vios is a bit boring. but should i buy city? i was scared. i trust toyota more, like most ppl around the world. i dunno, maybe truly city is much better. but i'm just a follower, im buying toyota's reputation.

• Maniac on Oct 26, 2005 at 4:34 am

aiseh.. chipskat ppl who cant afford better car will just need to settle on proton..of cos…ppl who has money can choose anything..talk about buying powerla.. and btw, which has better reputation?? Proton or Toyota/Honda?? I think even the blind can tell….anyway,not for status to buy city.just take its reliability and fuel economics..don't tell me u'll still go for kancil if u have a million in ur bank. no offend to other ppl,juz replying 2 morons who use their butt to think.

• HeavyTank on Oct 26, 2005 at 6:57 pm

Hehehe, i owned one now ! Is very powerful, even normal civic eg not my enemy!!

In north-south highway the vios can go to 200kph ,cool man!!

Last time i drive waja when hit nearly 150kph i begin scared, now i can drive fasterrrrrrrr…….

Im now thinking to get the new vios sport version Hehehehe…….

• HeavyTank on Oct 26, 2005 at 7:04 pm

My dad drive toyota since i was a baby, my dad love toyota cars & me too…..

When i drive the toyota, i feel more comfort & safe, thanks for its sound & wind insulation, powerful engine & good handling

• beehong on Oct 26, 2005 at 7:18 pm

ha.. ha.. stil have moron human on the earth like maniac that say reliability & fuel economics. For your information vios & city are 3rd world car. Never ever enter europe. I think same par on proton & perodua maa.. better save your money than buy this shitty car. IMHO People who buy proton think of the car history & they are not the one who dont have money to buy better car, but they still thinking of the proton reliability. Same as Motorcycle, if u can remember Yamaha RXZ, Honda EX5, Modenas Kriss still hot in the market whether the new type of cyclone motorcylce like KIPS, TZM, Gamma etc. on the market last time. People still buy RXZ until now cause they know the history, They don't want KIPS or Gamma that have so many problem although it are Suzuki & Kawasaki new technology. Same la like city will have Gearbox problem in 2 yrs like 2 of my close friend.. Bullshit car. Its for moron who thinking inside their mother butt like maniac.

• HeavyTank on Oct 26, 2005 at 7:22 pm

to beehong & grind

of course no money no talk lo…

• HeavyTank on Oct 26, 2005 at 7:29 pm

the VVT-i open at 4000rpm it engine change sound

• hazard on Oct 26, 2005 at 9:16 pm

i think after much thinking, VIOS is more beautiful than the new CITY…i do care about beauty and i cant stand looking at a car that looks like ikan buntal or seterika.

anyway, i will buy civic 2006, got GIS and GPS for navigation..cool!!!!

• Vios9xxx on Oct 27, 2005 at 12:23 am

d old model is nicer n simple !

d body kit is too too too simple

but havin d new model with bodkit pakage is much better

i bet this will take down te new honda city !

• toyota vios waste plastic car. better buy hyundai car very strong

• hazard on Oct 31, 2005 at 6:24 pm

whatever guys, VIOS is still cool and if u dont have money, pls dont bullshit about car!…i dont have lots of $$$$ too..hahaha..so i still dont buy a new car :)

• james bong oo8 on Oct 31, 2005 at 6:57 pm

Hello car fanatics;

hey paul do you have any idea if vios philippines will get interior facelift too we're a little behind here specially interiorwise.can you come up with some more pix.

• eric pan on Nov 02, 2005 at 8:04 am

ermm….i'm driving toyota vios now 1.5g spec.aargghh….is that a new toyota vios?awesome yeah,and can i ask is any chance my toyota can add some bodykit of new toyota design?can i change my car look?and about automatic side mirror flipping,can i change to that as well?hehee

• joying on Nov 06, 2005 at 9:28 am

do you guys have any idea about the price for NEW VIOS? em…estimated when can it be launching in Malaysia? Em…and what's the Fuel consumption km/littel?

• Colin on Nov 10, 2005 at 11:21 pm

Wow…. naruto is really shallow and he's trying so hard to prove himself with all the tech mumbo jumbo and how honda's trashing toyota. You maybe right to some point, but come on, dude. Talk nicely. Toyota is always striving to improve their quality and reliability and it's well known for it. It's their motto. Recently, the papers wrote that, if Toyota can maintain their current sales record, they will overtake GM as the biggest car manufacturer next year. Sometimes, it's better to leave it to the sales to do the talking.

As for me, i'll take the cheaper Suzuki Swift anytime. Cheers.

• eric pan on Nov 11, 2005 at 12:19 am

ermm..i'm already got my toyota vios trd bodykit..so u guys out there..how u think bout that trd bodykit?nice?ermm..somemore my rim already 17 inch..awesome or wat?hehe…anyway,i'm afraid my gf see my car until like that?than she will pissed off than..aargghh..how?

• Prinz PPKN on Nov 12, 2005 at 1:25 am

nahh… the dashboard still turns me off.. while the exterior looks kinda sporty, its the interior that we face most of the time. Can't afford to divert my attention to the meter panel at the speed of 170kmh!!

i will go for civic 2.0 VTEC instead!!

• kwhye on Nov 14, 2005 at 11:56 pm

Vios? Not for me. It only for spastic person who think they're smart enough. Better buy 2nd hand car than buy this crappy car. Believe me or you will regret later

• kulitnio on Nov 15, 2005 at 4:42 am

What I don't like with the vios is it looks very ordinary sedan, looks cheap and small, very cramp inside, and lousy interior. Conservatively and passively designed. Unlike the city, it has an agressive look, very good interior, spacious cabin and trunk. Also, it has modern styling.

• kwhye on Nov 15, 2005 at 4:39 pm

I think city is worst than vios. If city (same car & quality) were put badge as proton, no one will buy it. People only think honda badge is good in term of quality. Yes its true if honda accord quality & realibility is high. But city? isk, isk.. no need to buy la, 3rd world car ma. Frankly speaking in term of reliability & cost better buy kia spectra or proton wira or at least hyundai accent. Its value same like that what you have pay. You can buy city if it cost 50K below. Just from my humble opinion only. dont angry with me ma..

• My opinion same like kwhye. Malaysian mentality is only for brand. They dont think about quality or reliability. The think all japanese car is good. But hey, open your eyes how honda & toyota can produce city & vios that on par with our national car? The biggest joke is, why still have people (i dont know what to call them) buy this so so car with high RM? Still cant understand till now. what happened to our citizen.. I rather buy cheapo perodua kancil, kia picanto, proton wira, hyundai atos, renault kangoo than non logic price vs quality that 2 of crappy car have. Wake up man…

• may i know the Vios 2006 de price?

Thanks`

• Well ive worked with Toyota before but its seems its still the old cheap looking VIOS its Toyotas style to upgrade not to redesign the whole package. But all i can say is City and Vios sucks still expensive pricing cheap materials used to make d car. Ford's Focus is worth buying than those two.

• Lianne Wang on Nov 16, 2005 at 6:14 pm

The body is basically the same but I like the new bumper and head lights. The new interiors are fantastic. I have the 2004 edition and It is very economical it is low maintenance and the gas consumption is low and the comfortability is amazing

• Gen 2, Vios & City. Crappy car for guinea pig. Beleive me it will have major problem later. Esp City CVT gearbox.

• gruguys on Nov 16, 2005 at 10:27 pm

IMHO Toyota Vios & Honda City are not worth buying. Its cheap material with high price. I rather buy our malaysian car like perodua & proton or any second hand car than buy this. Only guinea pig will buy it.

• Why you always kutuk-kutuk City aaa? You think you smart enough aaa? Proton are craaaaaapy car la.. The worst car eveeeeeeeeeeeeer maaa…

• kulitnio on Nov 17, 2005 at 12:50 am

City is being sold in Japan which means it meets the standards of all high quality cars in Japan. Vios i think is not. Which means its not acceptable as a domestic car in Japan. Hence the City is very good and much better than Vios, Proton and perodua which has poor quality makes.

• kulitnio on Nov 17, 2005 at 3:49 am

interiors of proton use cheap materials and does not fit very well. signs of poor quality built

• limky on Nov 17, 2005 at 8:27 pm

No need to bising-bising loh. City & vios are same, which waste your money and poor interior quality. Time has prove it. We suffer for that stupid car to help proton. Better buy another cheap car and save your money.

• Cavino on Nov 17, 2005 at 11:14 pm

to kulitnio : City exported to Japan were assembled in Thailand. Malaysian Honda City was essembled in Malaysia. Thus QC might differs. However HM QC is definitely better than Proton except for the Savvy.

To the rest who kutuk-kutuk City and Vios, there should only be 4 reasons for you to do that.

1. You're rich enough to buy >100K cars thus looking down at those below that.

2. You cannot afford to get these superb COMPACT SEDAN thus out of envy, turn to hatred. Only afford lower than that.

3. You've bad experience with these cars (unlikely) based on the way you guys responded.

4. Your car constantly got overtaken (speed) by these sedan thus feel jealous.

Yes its expensive due to government taxes but it do sell around RM50K plus in thailand thus it is actually cheaper than Proton Waja when you compared the quality. You can see gaps between bumper and a lot of jointing in Proton's car but in City and Vios, much less.

Most importantly safety standard between these sedan and Proton is wide. Proton = No safety. No cars can be proof against accident but these sedan at least offers some safety (ABS) which helps on way or another. HM and Toyota do have lemons (problematic cars), when you get a lemon from HM and Toyota, you usually say bad luck got you the car, but with Proton it is GOOD LUCK that get you least problem car. See the comparison, if you don't get it, too bad.

Btw, based on JDPower reports in compact sedan least problematic category (per 100 cars), VIOS got the least problem while City was 2nd. Wira got the 3rd which although it looks good at 3rd place but for over 10 years old model, it should have been the least problematic.

• Racer619 on Nov 18, 2005 at 4:22 pm

hi to all, i own a vios and im a member of Car club in the Phil(VCP) and also my sister owns a city type Z model 2001.

All i can say is that i love both cars… vios and city proven to be powerful and fuel efficient… to those saying that these cars waste lots of money and have poor interior, better buy 1 and im sure after a few month you'll see why people fell in love with these cars…

setting these car up to have a sporty look is not a waste of $$$ because with its stock engines it can easily out run bigger engines 1.6 even 2.0 because of its weight to power ration… imagine that a city/vios weights less than 1000 kg, compared to a 1.6 car which normally weights about 1500 kg, you'll see the difference.:D. with a record of 9.8sec 0-100, thats great for a car which cost less than 700,000 php.

so just love your cars!

• What i wanted to say is.To those hatred or so call dislike vios or city.Just sit down,free your mind,relex.By the way..forgot to say..keep quite.For those which ever afford to buy it..then buy,no money..keep quite.Buying cars is to drive by your own.Not to buy and as a gift to send over to somebody else.Complains,yes of coz they do.U point something bad to vios/city for what?your car greater then this 2 cars?p2,proton nice?i didn't say it's not nice..if my income is around rm1000+..then p2 would be my choice..if your income is higher..then buy lexus or what so ever then."no money no talk"

• Gerrard on Nov 21, 2005 at 5:15 pm

I don't like the front grill of 2006 VIOS. I prefer for the 2005 model.

• SoniqueBliss on Nov 22, 2005 at 1:28 am

You go Cavino!…Rite on….God Bless ya man…!!

• kulitnio on Nov 22, 2005 at 9:10 pm

If you say Proton is good then which part of the world it is accepted aside from Malaysia? Compare it with Toyota & Honda which is so popular globally because of its quality and reliability.

• Some may think after tax, the foreign cars are not worth to buy. But we need to understand that government needs to protect national cars. Always comment that u have to tolerance national quality due to the low price. Do I need to pay for it even for a low price?

But I still prefer the new honda city, esp the vtec version. Generally, new vios have changed but we still can see the shadow of old model.

• Lion's Den on Nov 25, 2005 at 4:42 am

I think the 2006 vios looks very good, similar to a mazda 3. Can we put the same grille to the older model vios?

• Chandran Peri on Nov 25, 2005 at 4:51 pm

I fill Vios is beeter car than other car and i wait for new model – VIOS.

• PaperClip on Nov 25, 2005 at 11:16 pm

whatever it is, i'm waiting anxiously to see the new VIOS to compare with new CITY (apple with apple rite?)

Whoever has got insider's news on the pricing, do share :-)

• damon on Nov 26, 2005 at 3:36 am

the new vios front looks like gen 2…and back not much changed. besides that, the car is small compared with city. the interior looks ugly especially the speedometer located at the center!!! i choose new city over this new vios.

• kulitnio on Nov 26, 2005 at 5:17 pm

Did you see the new VIos model? Nothing much difference with the old model. Looks the same to me. Still cramp inside and bland interior.

• revver on Nov 28, 2005 at 3:37 am

i'm ready to put my buck on this car in compare to city.

at least those at the back wont need to take antiemetic prescription.

after all looking at those city's butt really make me think; arent those city drivers feel guilty for anoying other drivers with those nausea-inducing-nincompoo-nerd-like-style rear end? pity us

• revver on Nov 28, 2005 at 3:43 am

oh! one more thing. (should be) the worst mistake in my life is; i bought a proton. DAMN IT! enough of my suffer.

• zopotec on Nov 29, 2005 at 4:10 pm

Who want to buy my city idsi? Still new, 4 month. Email me at [email protected]. Price negotiable.

• limpye on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:50 pm

Frankly speaking idsi is very lousy car. Better buy vtec version. I've xperience it & now plan to sell. Think before you buy this car or test drive first (better your friend or your relatives car than new car at showroom) You will know what i mean.

Just to share opinion…

• drag72 on Dec 01, 2005 at 12:49 am

Better buy brand new korean car or second hand japanese/continental car than buy this overprice car. Save your money for something else. Dont be fooled by branding. You are not child anymore.

When you want to buy diapers & milk for your baby, rice, or etc. You know how to choose the good and value for your money. When you buy car, you waste money for branding car to proud yourself.

For me, I rather buy insurance policy, house, saving, give to my 2 son extra money than buy this stupid low class car (vios & city)..

Just my 2 cents.

• skwah on Dec 01, 2005 at 4:42 pm

Agreed… better buy 2nd hand japanese or continental car than buy either vios or city. But.. IMHO City & Vios are more valued than any korean car. Korean car are same par with proton crappy car.

• damon on Dec 01, 2005 at 11:02 pm

revver,

you have made a first mistake of buying a proton and dont make a second one by putting your bucks into vios. u had a bad judgement afterall…

• damon on Dec 01, 2005 at 11:15 pm

Driving a good car is needed for someone who loves car and enthusiast about it. It is something like a hobby or satisfaction. It is difficult for those people who do not appreciate and understand…"drag72" u do not understand what is the meaning of life at all….

• supporter of city on Dec 03, 2005 at 12:56 am

proton is the most lousy car in the world,

vios is good at facelift, but poor interior design,

city is the best among all ! im the supporter of city at all !!

trust me, buy city, u can beat all at north-south highway with ultimate speed !

dun believe? u can try! the city, the power of dream ! yeap!!!!

• revver on Dec 05, 2005 at 8:26 pm

you'r absolutely wright damon. better go for big butt/hump with sure-lost-your-lust-forever-face then having a nice pretty and decent one. you can cover the face with paper bag and have your fun. but damon, i had undergone road test on this two chick; completely including high speed taxi and slalom test in which end up as i'm buying the vios G and not E( because E is for ERkkk!!!)

• zee25 on Dec 06, 2005 at 12:03 am

i was thinking of getting vios.but gotta have a second thought after reading all the comments.now paul i have a basic problem.which car is worth my money vios or honda . in terms of maintenance and all. i'm upgrading from wira 1.3.it guzzles down petrol like it's nobody's business,poor pick up.any tips from any of you

• zee25

Better buy secondhand car or korean than buy this 2 junk crappy car of 2005.

• tehShow on Dec 22, 2005 at 12:28 am

Why u all wasted your time to discuss about car aa? Just bear on your mind that car only human need, not luxury things today. All people can afford car now. Some people think that car is nothing to show off or for status. So they buy economical car like kancil or iswara or atos or secondhand car just to saving their money to property, insurance or fixed deposit. Only a few people think like this.

Same la like handset. Some rich people only use Nokia 3310 either they can afford better than that.

People who are lioke to show off are call poser in uk..

• blueprint on Dec 24, 2005 at 1:57 pm

Both cars are almost equally priced and have their own pros and cons… it's an endless argument if you compare the 2 of them. Obviously direct competitors from two equally established car makers will face serious competition and gain their own followers.

Vios appeals to people who like conventional sportiness whereas City appeals to those who like a touch of futuristic class. If you like Vios, go buy Vios…if you like City go buy City.

One man's meat is another man's poison…

• pika dilli on Dec 29, 2005 at 11:31 pm

I dont think the facelift can make any difference in the over-all performance of the car. the space just sucks, there's no leg and head room! I guess a maximum of 2 passengers can fit comfortably. If you're born the size of a hobbit maybe you can feel the space inside. The instrumentation is so unconventional. I can't believe toyota built a car like this. if space isnt your primary concern, then just make it a sports car instead.

• TehShow, really car is nothing to show off or for status. But…..

If u drive for a long distance like from KL to Pinang, then u ll know the difference of driving a Vios/City compared to economical car like kancil or iswara or atos or secondhand ………………..

• i bought vios b4 reading u guys comment here. btw i never like honda city coz it looks like frog in sitting position!! whatever it is, vios is for my wife..and i can ramp vios once a while.

• cringe on Dec 31, 2005 at 12:58 pm

You probably would not have driven or owned a City then, it fuel consumption is way better, especially on long highways ie from Penang to KL since you tend to travel at higher speeds along such roads.

I have owned kancil, kelisa and iswara before… i must say kelisa shines on city roads but still can run up a bill if you travel outstation/long journeys. Atos is simply terrible on fuel consumption and a disappointment for a car its class. Traveling long distance around 110-120 km/h will make the kancil/kelisa a petrol guzzler, just ask any owners out there.

• Chris on Jan 02, 2006 at 7:58 pm

Latest Price from Toyota for Order's taking from 1st December 2005 onwards

Vios 1.5E OTR with Insurance = RM 81,033.00

Vios 1.5G OTR with Insurance = RM 88,880.00

Price should be according to the latest facelift model's ,

Sighs price is already 81k for 1.5E have to work my ass off to get this sucker!

• tehShow on Jan 02, 2006 at 8:08 pm

Cringe & Cool..

Do you doing outstation everyday? If only take a journey Penang to KL to Penang 3 times a year (Gong Xi, Raya & Deepavali) , dont speak about economical here. Think rationally not emotionally.. Just my humble opinion, Dont fire me ok..

• cringe on Jan 03, 2006 at 10:06 am

My example of outstation is just in reply to a particular comment (but for the record, I do). However, driving on normal city conditions, my City clocks about 470-480 km on a full tank of petrol (about rm60+) which i think is still very very good, much better than most cars on the road nowadays.

My point is, though not cheap, its an excellent all-rounder and is more economical in terms of fuel consumption than many cars which i mentioned.

Anyway i feel we are all here to discuss about a car (Vios) and not make comparisons

• noname on Jan 04, 2006 at 2:59 pm

Better just save your money for investment.

• lumpy on Jan 04, 2006 at 10:47 pm

Yes! I agreed like cringe said. We are here to discuss about vios only. If we want to discuss other car or make comparison just move to other forum or discussion board.

First of all I want to say that toyota are crappy car. My cousin own one and he not satisfied with the price that he pay. Cheap material for 8ok plus.

Secondly, about vios interior. I think this car have the smallest cabin within 1.5 segment. You can paralyzed if you take a long journey.

Thirdly is overall performance. Feel goyang ma when it reach 130kmph. I think vios performance not suit with 80k++ that we have pay.

Forthly. I think tomorrow i will continue. To many to tell the truth about this car .

This car is valued for money if it price 40k only.

• noname on Jan 04, 2006 at 10:57 pm

Ha, ha. People now realized that vios are waste money car. I know it since two month it launch here. Customer service is suxx. FYI My vios have gearbox problem & it sound like rattling when it reach 70 ~ 80kmph. SC cant detect what the problem of my gearbox & they cant replace it & they said that are minor problem. I hate vios. dont sugesst to my family & friends to buy it.

• lumpy on Jan 05, 2006 at 4:19 pm

The most stupid car of 2005. Maybe 2006 onwards..

• hi to all,

i have just bought a new honda city in nov. this is the second month and it has ended up in the workshop. some1 ran into the doors at driver side in the very first day of 2006. (was it an end of bad luck, or it's just a beginning? haha).

we share informations and ideas in this forum, and we need no conclusions which car is better. we shall know what we want and what we need, then we go for it according to our affordability.

i chose city coz i like it's performance, smooth…. i dun like noisy eceleration as i have had enough from my kelisa. my city has some defects at the windows and the wipers. the wipers sometimes got stuck at the middle, and the wind insulation is so lousy. it got very noisy when i sped up to 80kmph. therefore, my city will end up in the service centre after it gets out of the workshop. sigh…

i am from the province. whether i like it or not, i need to travel a lot. travelling in small car like kelisa or kancil is very tiring, and speed/safety does matter me. i understand that city or vios are relatively expensive compared to their quality, but i am willing to buy the comfortness and safety city can provide.it's pretty heart-squeezing when i got to know that we can actually get a city in japan with just RM40k.

u can say that proton can provide the same comfortibilty or maybe, safety, somehow we do have to consider it's resell value, and also problems a lot of proton owners are facing. have u seen how they are stocked up, either new or sub-sale.

i admit that i am also buying the brand itself, not to show off, but just to deal with human psychology. undeniable people tend to judge a book by its cover (but likely professionalism, seniority and knowledgibility do counts) showing up with a kelisa or a honda city does make a difference when u are doing sales, and seeing customers, even though city is not a very branded car. so, if it's still affordable, why not. just let it work together with my sales professionalism and experience and also confidence.

cheers, irregardless what car u buy… by knowing what u want what u need and what u can do, u wont go too far. it cars only depreciate in value, add value on it. without a car, we cant even move huh?

• sazalie on Jan 08, 2006 at 10:25 pm

next week i'll book my new vios 2006. and i'll ensure i get the car in before chinese new year. i know there's a lot of speculation out there. pros and cons. but hye, i'm looking for a car than defines me as a person. i won't simply buy a car cause i know i'm going to face it everyday. problematic is totally unacceptable. plus i have not time to deal with any additional issue from my car. wira is not too bad actually. but i just don't like the fact that, if i buy a wira, i'll see another wiras surrounding me all the time. tell me how many wira we see daily? too typical. too boring. not that i'm not being supportive to our very own national car. but i just hate being typical. yes that vios is kind of expensive (relative to waja and bla bla). but hye, if you don't have money, buy wira-je-lah. my vios gonna ga-ga!

• GT27 (Member) on Feb 17, 2006 at 1:44 pm

In the US, which is one of the world's biggest car market, the honda sale always rank second after toyota for japanese car. One of the reason maybe because the honda's high interest rate of 9% compare to 3% from toyota. In US, both toyota and honda have the highest resale value, and both are the

nice car. I like both city and vios, but I like city better because of its interior space, and design. :-)

• chang (Member) on May 16, 2006 at 11:58 pm

i love VVT-i

• TheRedBaron (Member) on Dec 19, 2006 at 2:20 am

Have VOIS S Sporty and modified and it is a nice, fast little toy and

a pain to some bigger cars………

• johnyong5933 (Member) on May 23, 2007 at 9:12 pm

wtf!!

i went to the toyota retailer's store…they said have to wait for 3 months for a new vios… damn @#@@$!!

Buy honda better ar!

• wong (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 2:20 pm

almost trade in my bmw e36,to a vios..i,m happy i didn,t, because i,ve tested my brothers new vios….no comment because its a Toyota, the salesman told its the best car for that price,sorry not for me…

• wong (Member) on Jul 19, 2007 at 4:17 pm

a lot of new car models claims better fuel consumption,maybe till we don’t have to use fuel anymore,vios really looks cheap and ugly, lucky the Toyota brand is there,but its not The Toyota to me,more like a rebranded car,mainly to sell to south east asian market!!!

• bobhead on Jun 25, 2009 at 10:16 am

just buy vios 2003. feel good… buy it do to its body design… balance wise.

the car is sporty for me… engine still in good condition… lenjan sampai 180km/h, still can go on but have to slow down… nak masuk simpang ma… but new city 2009 is very beutiful… like the front very much… TRANFORM!!!!

• wendie on Jun 18, 2010 at 4:46 am

i am living in jamaica and i am thinking of buying a vios (2006). but ur comments r scaring me. toyota is a more preferred car in jamaica but honda popular bcos of their reliability. the city is new to me. any suggest to help me decide?

• wendie on Jun 18, 2010 at 4:50 am

thinking of buying a vios 2006. living in jamaica where toyota is very popular but honda is prefered. any suggestion/advice to help me decide. btw city not known here.

• alvin on Sep 16, 2010 at 4:59 pm

i have a vios 2003,but after drive for 7 years , during the automatic gearbox was changing the gear from 1st gear to 2nd gear ,it got some noise sound.may need to know whether have some have facing the same problem like me now?.

• Alex chiew on Feb 27, 2016 at 5:19 am

Yes alex chiew likes loves own from trd toyota vios blue spoiler boot rear table up. thank you chee eng chung@leonard ng@michael lam@albert darrel wong. ok. smile. how are you?