Jiangling Landwind X6 Crash Test by TUV

This is TUV’s crash test video of the Jiangling Landwind X6. Bear in mind this is after Jiangling had made some adjustments to the SUV, and this test was conducted at a lower speed of 54km/h instead of 64km/h. Still looks like a disaster to me, although TUV says all’s good and the SUV passes. I wonder why Jiangling wants to sue ADAC?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• epalhead on Oct 08, 2005 at 8:04 pm

(gasps) ….is that SUV?……

• Aris Tee on Oct 08, 2005 at 9:27 pm

wow… this one looks like i hit much worse…

• Streamyx User on Oct 08, 2005 at 9:31 pm

Paul why so many topics suddenly about this jinglanciau :)

This car just sucks.

• abceff on Oct 08, 2005 at 10:37 pm

Same like ADAC, no improvement.

• mud_chains on Oct 08, 2005 at 10:42 pm

Damn piece of milo tin!!! I won't buy or drive that junkie… It disaster for them who own it…..:p

• hokkien lang. on Oct 08, 2005 at 11:38 pm

holy crab! 54! oledi dead!

can't you imangen if travel at 100km/h?

• e-Nabill on Oct 09, 2005 at 12:22 am

no guys , that wat hapens to the car wen it hits a stray cat! milo tin is alot stronger , this car is made by LEGO!

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 09, 2005 at 12:58 am

Go back to sell those car in China better lah….

don't let other people dead in your car!!!!!oh no..I mean JUNK!!

• Chinese car passes crash test in Germany

(China Daily)

Updated: 2005-10-08 06:57

THE HAGUE, Netherlands: The "Landwind," the first Chinese car to go on

sale in Europe, has proved itself to be safe after passing a crash test

in Germany, the company says.

"The result of this crash test is very encouraging," Peter Bijvelds, the

Dutch importer of the Chinese sports utility vehicle, told a press

conference on Thursday in the Hague, the Netherlands.

"The crash test measurements for both driver and passenger confirm that

this vehicle is fully compliant with current EU regulations," said

Bijvelds.

The positive result from the test, organized by German inspection agency

TUV in Frankfurt, contradicts the conclusion of another crash test by

German car club ADAC in September.

The ADAC said its crash test indicated that the driver would not survive

a head-on collision at speeds of 64 kilometres per hour or more.

The front of the SUV would crumple and crush the driver, the unofficial

organization said.

Bijvelds, however, questioned the validity of the first crash test and

even suggested the ADAC were manipulated by the powerful German

automotive industry, which could want to find a way to keep Chinese

competitors from entering the market.

Bijvelds said that it was "a great coincidence" that the results of the

ADAC crash test were published on the eve of the Frankfurt car show,

where the cheap Chinese SUV was officially unveiled. It has now been on

sale in Europe for three months.

He also said it was strange that the manufacturer was not informed of the

test results, as is usually the case to help manufacturers learn and

improve their vehicles.

"We, as the official importer, had not been informed before the test and

we were not invited to be present when the test was performed. Upon our

request for further information, there was only silence," he said.

In response to the ADAC's warning, Landwind's maker, China's Jiangling

Group, asked the German agency TUV to test the vehicle to see if it

complied with European safety standards.

(China Daily 10/08/2005 page2)

what the hell?

• What bout TUV crash test for Savvy? Got video?

• wiraone on Oct 09, 2005 at 5:22 am

Hmm, Proton was talking about TUV all along .. hmm.. now I wonder how good TUV is .. or can you pay them to make the test looks good? :)

• babyester on Oct 09, 2005 at 5:52 am

hmm…

http://media.putfile.com/savvycrashtest

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 09, 2005 at 6:25 am

no wonder potong seek TUV certification…

such 'Lan'wind could pass it….why not Savvy?

• rainbow7j on Oct 09, 2005 at 8:52 am

that is consider a pass ???????

let me skim thru the german website for more infos

• eRis-Aeir4s on Oct 09, 2005 at 9:24 am

More info pls.

• Well I like all the comments, but the Landwind is a safe car as TUV said.

TUV qualities are better than the ADAC/ANWB qualities. The Europeans car manufactures just do not want the Lanwind on the market.

They just will become better and learn about their mistakes.

By the way: I like the Malaysian cars and forsee a big future for them abroad, but can not find any crashtest of the Gen 2 and Savvy, although they have TUV approvals. Anyhow I rather sit in a Landwind than in a coupple of other korean and European cars with a crashtest, like the Kia, Clio and other small cars Do not worry about the Landwind. It will be a good car once it get on the Malaysian roads

• MutantTomato on Oct 09, 2005 at 10:32 am

What the FU*K la?!?!?! I mean seriously!!!! Look at that stupid ass nonsense cock bollocks sewer trash on 4 wheels! The bloody thing literally jumps up in the air after crashing! And at 54KM/h ONLY! What the hell would happen if you were to crash this shit at a higher speed, say SIXTY FOUR KM/h?!

I don't get it la…. I cannot, for the love of me, even being to understand how some of you can say this is quite a positive looking crash test… Know what? If this nonsense ever comes to Malaysia, please buy one la… And hopefully, you will be able to feel what the dummy in the crash test felt.

• Rosdi on Oct 09, 2005 at 4:28 pm

That is not a vehicle, it is a moving coffin if you ask me.

Proton's car is much better than this, if anyone is interested to view the Waja crash test video, here it is:

Edit: Re-hosted here.

Paul you may want to host that Waja video somewhere else more permanent. My disk space is rather limited, it will be gone in a few week.

• intermilan on Oct 09, 2005 at 8:06 pm

whoever said this 'thingy' (claimed and agreed by some quarters as a car) is a good and a safe 'thingy' must be sasau to the fullest. TUV-approved? ini TUV gila ka?

• e-Nabill on Oct 10, 2005 at 3:46 am

paul , y such attetion to the jiangling?? ur getting one arent u?!! ur giving thm such publicity that frankly thy dont deserve it…..btw,which one did u order!!? :)

• FiveElements on Oct 13, 2005 at 12:10 pm

TUV ah??? U think TUV no need to eat??? U think TUV will piss their bosses off???

Yeah in a million years!!! Proton and this Jiang Ling paid them la…

• I work in the US auto industry, and frankly we're pretty worried about China bringing cars into our country because they can undercut our costs so badly. I'm *praying* that they bring this garbage over now. Then it can come and go like the Yugo did.

For Pete's sake, Ford is getting sued because parked vehicles that get hit from behind at 130Km/h by semi trucks (haulers) sometimes burn. At 130Km/h you'd need a sponge to clean this thing up.

• Phantom on Oct 18, 2005 at 12:26 am

Oh my goodness!!! This is a head-on in 54kmh? Can you see the dashboard collapsing?

And yet you say that this tin can passed the test? I'm speechless.

• This is a Car for espesially suicide.

• Vamborool on Oct 24, 2005 at 7:45 am

Watch where the steering wheel goes. watch what happens to the dash. watch where the front whell goes. Passed? My **!

• anonymous on Oct 25, 2005 at 6:49 pm

i think the chinese should stick to making xmas bon bon toys….

• someone on Oct 29, 2005 at 10:27 am

Get this piece of junk out of the streets. Whoever claims it is safe, let their kids and family drive it…

• carman on Nov 10, 2005 at 11:52 pm

Very nice wheels but car not safe its worse.

• BULGARIA -VFTI on Dec 11, 2005 at 2:58 am

This shit spread all over the world. Now you can bye it and in my country…And the most annoying thing is so cheap it cost 16.000 euro(18.000 $)..And this crap for 18,000$ will cost a lot of lives:(:(:(:(Disaster! I hope to forbid it.

• car buyer on Dec 19, 2005 at 1:50 pm

There are still nearly 500 units Landwind are traped at the port and forbidden to sell to Europe. It this situation will still last for couple of months, Landwind agent in Europe will face very serious problem since such amount of money can not flow. Manager of landwind plant really need to think about that it is stupid idea to export such poor quality cars to Europe without passing test. It is the shame of Landwind.

• FirefighterRuss on Jan 08, 2006 at 12:22 am

Im a firefighter/EMT. I cut people out of cars fairly frequently… see all kinds of people and all kinds of cars in some pretty messed up situations. All I have to say after seeing that is "oh my god". No chance. especially at only 54 km/h. hyundai's dont even do that!!!!!!!!!! Hope that junk never comes here.

• rexis (Member) on Apr 25, 2006 at 6:05 pm

Wow, the dummy is totalled! 54 km/h is considered neighbourhood speed, if anything bad happened in highway, this car will turn into powder in miliseconds!

• BEN MCCULLOUGH on May 15, 2009 at 10:45 am

with this thing it is a suv— a sucky utility vehicle i would not b caught dead in this one